Skip to main content

Full text of "Tullidge's histories, (volume II) : containing the history of all the northern, eastern and western counties of Utah; also the counties of southern Idaho. With a biographical appendix of representative men and founders of the cities and counties; also a commercial supplement, historical"

See other formats


Digitized by tine Internet Arciiive 
in 2009 with funding from 
Brigiiam Young University 



http://www.arcliive.org/details/tullidgeshistori02tull 



I 



^ 









y-i^^n^ 



^"?f tullidoe's historibs, 



(VOLUME II.) 



CONTAINING THE HISTORY OF ALL THE NORTHERN, EASTERN 

AND WESTERN COUNTIES OF UTAH; ALSO THE 

COUNTIES OF SOUTHERN IDAHO. 



^ iBtogiapljical ^ppcnMt' 



OF BErBESKNTATIVE MEN AND FOCNDERS OF THE CITIES AND COUNTIES; 



A COMMERCIAL SUPPLEMENT, HISTORICAL. 



EDW. W. TULLIDGE, Proprietor ap'd Publisher. 



148421 

FROM THE PRESS OF THE 

JUVENILE INSTRUCTOR, 

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH. 
l88q. 



DEDIC71TED 're LOI^ENZ© gN©W. 



"Friend, Brother: 

As the chief Apostle of the North, it is proper tliat I should 
.dedicate this Book to J'ou; but, in doing so, I perform the service 
of the heart as well as the duty of the historian. The everlasting 
covenant of love that exists between your angel-sister and me, as 
two poet souls of one mystical family, you, knowing thereof, can 
undei'stand; and believing that I could do nothing better to prove 
my ever living reverence for her memory than to dedicate this Book 
to her brother Lorenzo, whom she almost worshiped as a divine 
man of her sacred house, I affectionately subscribe this History of 
the North to you, and place your portrait as the frontispiece of this 
second volume of Tullidge's Histories of Utah. Hoping that you 
will receive m^' book, also, not as an unworthy tribute of my love 
for you, I remain, 

.•' • Your Brother, 

• .*•* ... Edward W. Tri.LiDciE. 



CllPYBIGHT APl-I.lKl) I'DU. 



INDEX. 



1 

14 

15 
19 



21 
22 

24 



■FOUNDING OF OGDEN CITY. 

Ogden City 

Organization of Weber Branch 

Commencement of Indian difficul- 
ties in the north 

Organization of Weber County 

Organization of Weber Stake, and 
Brigham Young hailed as Gov- 
ernor of Utah 

Organization of Ogden City 

Ogden City and surrounding coun- 
try surveyed 

Treaty with Indians— Weber County 

divided into wards 

The tenth anniversary of the Pio- 
neers 

Arrival of Captain Van Vliet in 

Salt Lake City 

The "move south" 

Growth of Weber County 

Notes of events from 1858 to 1888.. 
Municipal notes and table of elec- 
tions 

Sketch of Huntsville 

" Slaterville 

" " North Ogden and Easton 

" " Eden, Harrisville, Mound 

Fort, Riverdale, South and 

West Weber 

, DAVIS COUNTY. 



Its history 56 

Sketch of Centerville 58 

" " Farmington GO 

" Kaysville 61 

" " Hooperville 62 

Destruction of crops by crickets and 

grasshoppers 63 

The Central Canal Company 65 



29 
31 
33 
33 

45 
52 
53 

54 



Meeting-houses and mills t'n; 

The pioneers of Davis County- 
Schools and Primary Associa- 
tions 6i 

Organic formation of the county 
under the bishops 68 

Organization of the county 69 

First sessions of the county court — 
It utilizes the bishops TO 

Indian difficulties— Fort district;* 7] 

Succession of county officials and 
members of the Legislature 71 

■TOOELE COUNTY. 

Description and history 75 

Its town Stockton 76 

St. John 79 

Vernon 80 

E. T. City and Richville 81 

Lake Point— Garfield Beach— Black 

Rock 82 

Indian difficulties 83 

Civilization of the Indians 85 

Military organization and popula- 
tion 81) 

Boundaries and organization of 

Tooele County 86 

County officials and members of the 

Legislature 8i 

Its political history 89 

Tooele City— Its history 94 

The incorporated city of Grantsville 

— Its history 98 

Its incorporation and organization .. 104 

MORGAN COUNTY. 

Morgan City— Its settlement and 
growth 107 

Organization, civil and political his- 
tory of Morgan City U" 



IV 



INDEX. 



The settlements of Morgan County 

— Enterprise 113 

Peterson 11-1 

Milton, Littleton, Richfield 115 

Porterville 116 

Croyden 117 

Organization, civil and political his- 
tory of Morgan County 118 

SUMMIT COUNTY. 

Its early settlement and history 1 23 

Its towns — Henneferville 1:^5 

Wanship : 126 

Rockport 127 

Peoa — Kamas 1 29 

Railroad building in the county 131 

Indian difficulties 132 

Organization, civil and political his- 
tory of the county 134 

Politital history of the county 136 

Coalville 137 

Coal mines 139 

Indian difficulties 141 

The growth of Coalville 142 

Its incorporation and government.... 143 

WASATCH COUNTY. 

Description of the county — Its early 

history and resources 146 

Organization of the county 149 

Settlements and wards 152 

The court-house 153 

Organization of the Wasatch Stake 154 

The settlers and Indians 155 

Agriculture and stock-raising 156 

Fish and game 157 

Building material, quarries, business 

and commerce 158 

Post office and stage line — Political 

status 159 

Character of the people 161 

OGDEN CITY CONTINUED. 

Ogden as the commercial and rail- 
way city 162 

Advent of the railroads 104 

Ogden first as a commercial city 166 



Ogden journalism 168 

Ogden absorbs Corrinne 169 

Fusion between the Mormon and 

Gentile merchants 1 70 

Chamber of Commerce 171 

Ogden City to-day 172 

Educational and religious institu- 
tions of Ogden 178 

Ogden Academy 180 

School of the Good Shepherd 181 

Ogden Seminary— Baptist Church.. 182 

Methodist Church 185 

Presbyterian Church 186 

Catholic Church 187 

Episcopal and First Congregational 

Churches 188 

Swedish Lutheran Church — Mor- 
mon Church — Territorial Re- 
form School 189 

Ogden post office 192 

The municipality— City Hall 194 

The political battle — The Union 

Depot .- 197 

Ogden journalism resumed — The 

founder of northern journalism 198 
Zion's Co-operative Mercantile In- 
stitution 201 

First National Bank of Ogden 206 

Peery& Mack's Mills 213 

Utah National Bank 231 

COMMERCIAL MEN OF OGDEN. 

Ex-Mayor David H. Peery 207 

Sidney Stevens 217 

William Driver 221 

JohnS. Lewis 226 

L. B. Adams 227 

N. C. Flygare 233 

Jonathan Browning 234 

Ogden's first school teacher 235 

Judge Middleton 237 

David Eccles 238 

Judge Dec 239 

T. J. Stevens 240 

Mayor J. M. Guthrie 242 

Fred J. Kiesel -'46 

Boyle ct Co -'57 

Thomas Wilkins Jones 261 

A. Kuhn & Brother 263 



INDEX. 



Scowcroft & Sons 205 

Henry Elliott Gibson 268 

Barnard White 272 

James Gale 277 

H. M..Bond 279 

Thomas Ashley 280 

William H. Wright & Sons 281 

Marks, Goldsmith & (Jo 284 

Jesse J. Driver 286 

David D. Jones 287 

BOX ELDER COUNTY. 

Boundaries and description 289 

Its Pioneers and settlement 290 

United Order of Brigham City 293 

The famed Gentile city of Corrinne 304 

POLITICAL HISTORY OF THE 
NORTH. 

Birth of the Liberal Party 306 

Liberal Political Convention 309 

Platorm 311 

Meeting of the central committee.. 312 
The Liberal Political Party of Utah 313 

PROBATE COURTS. 

Origin of Civil and Criminal Juris- 
diction 320 

Weber County Probate Court 329 

Contest for the Judgeship of Weber 

County 337 

Box Elder Stake 341 

WiUard City-Call's Fort 343 

Kelton— Snowville 344 

THE CITIES OF CACHE VALLEY. 

The Temple City of the north 345 

Early history of Cache Valley 346 

Logan City -350 

Biography of Wm. B. Preston (see 

also Biographical Vol.) 357 

Military history of Cache Valley.... 361 
Commercial history of Cache 

County 377 

The County Chronicles — Digest of 

the County administration from 

its organization 387 

Municipal history of the Temple 

City of the north .397 

Cache Valley Stake 410 



TOWNS OF CACHE VALLEY. 

Wellsville 412 

HjTum City 417 

Providence 420 

Mendon 421 

Richmond— Millville • 423 

LewistoD — Benson — Clarkston — 

Newton 424 

Logan Temple 451 

Dedication of Logan Temple 455 

Smithfield 465 

Paradise 477 

Hyde Park 478 

ONEIDA COUNTY. 

Franklin 480 

Oxford 483 

Clifton Ward 484 

Chesterfield Ward — St. John — 

Weston 485 

Fairview Ward — Marsh Valley 

Ward 486 

The Brigham Young College 487 

Journalism in Cache Valley 490 

Logan as a manufacturing centre.... 491 

Union Roller Mill 492 

Thatcher Brothers' Banking Com- 
pany — Theater and Concert 

hall 494 

First settlers of Logan — Utah 
Northern 495 

■ BEAR LAKE COUNTY. 

Its organization and settlement 497 

Its towns — Paris 498 

Bloomington — St Charles — Fish 
Haven — Dingle — Preston — 

Ovid— Liberty 499 

Montpelier — Bennington — George- 
town—Thomas' Fork 500 

RICH COUNTY. 

Description 503 

Its towns — Randolph — Garden City 
—Woodruff .504 

PARK CITY MINES. 
The Ontario 505 



m 



VI 



INDEX. 



Robert Craig Chambers 510 

Daly Mine 512 

Description of Park City 519 

The Anchor 517 

The Woodside 528 

UTAH COAL MINES. 

The Home Coal Company 521 

Frederick A. Mitchell 524 

RAILROADS. 

The railroad king of Utah 530 

John W. Young's railroad enter- 
prises 534 

BIOGRAPHICAL VOLUME. 

Ballantyne, Richard 85 

Brown, Captain James 99 

Barnes, John R 216 

Bassett, William E 220 

Brown, GeorgeW 211 

Budge, William 329 

Card, Charles 346 

Cardon, Thomas B. .; 159 

Crook, John 207 

Cluff, W. W ■.. 228 

Call, Anson 262 

Eldredge, Alma ' 243 

Farr, Lorin 172 

Farr, Aaron F 315 

Fullmer, Almon L 112 

Farrell, George L 351 

Francis, Samuel 252 



Greenwell, Ambrose sen. &Son 90' 

Giles, Thomas H 204 

Hyde, Judge William 122 

Hatch, Abram ]S7 

Hoge, Walter 344 

Hart, James H 343 

Leishman, James A 348 

Martineau, Col. James H 68 

Maughan, Peter 35. 

Molen, Bishop S. M 165 

Merrill, M. W 348 

Osmond, George 343 

Ormsby, Dr. 0. C 47 

Preston, William B 49 

Pitken, George 346 

Rich, Charles C 344 

Roskeliy, Samuel '. j;347 

Richards, Franklin D. '..!.. 294 

Snow, Lorenzo 1 

Shurtliff, Judge ' .'. 322 

Smith, Wm. R 284 

Smith, Samuel 118 

Thatcher, Hezekiah .:....:..' 25 

Thatcher, Moses 129 

Taylor, Bishop P. G. 80 

Thomas, William N. ■.::..■. im 

Turner, Frederick ' 349 

West, Chauncey W 55 

Woodmansee, Charles ; 96 

WooUey, Hyrum S. and Edwin T.... 345 

Webster, Wm. L 350 

Z. C. M. I. •. , 363 

Do. do. Shoe Factory..., 35$ 



# 



HISTORY OF OGDEN CITY. 



CHAPTEll I. 

Ogtlcn City Founded by the Monnon Pioneers. The Cioodyier Claim. Caii- 
taiii James Brown, the Pioneer of Ojiden. The Mormon Battalion. Its 
Memliers Among the First Settlers of Weber County. 

Ogdcn, like Salt Lake City, was founded by the Pioneers, 
who entered the valleys of Utah in the summer of 1847. This was 
the year in which occurred tliat great migration of American col- 
onies, which boldly advanced fur beyond the then western boun- 
daries of the United States on to Mexican domains, securing the 
conquest from Mexico, which the war between the rival Repub- 
lics had begun, and ending forever the long cherished designs 
and hope of Great Britain to obtain possession of the Pacific 
coast. In a few years this migration resulted in the growth of 
new States and Territories on the Pacific slope. The first of 
these were Utah, California, New Mexico and Oregon; and the 
two primary cities of Utah, which grew out of the pioneer mi- 
gration of the Mormon community in 1847-8, were Salt Lake 
City and Ogdcn. 

The Provo colony, which, in 1849-50, settled in the country 
now known as Utah County, was from a later migration, as wore 
the southern colonies generally. They were supplied bv the in- 
fiux of population in the years 1849-50, and were derived from 
the parent colony of Salt Lake County, from which they were 
sent out by the heads of the community in organized companies 
under selected captains and presidents; but both Weber County 
and Davis County were settled by the pioneers of 1847, from 
whose colonial germs their cities or settlements grew. 

That part of Northern Utah where stands the flourishing 
commercial and railroad city, Ogdcn, was settled by ^Miles ^I. 
Goodyier, an Lidian trader, whom the Mormon Pioneers found 
in occupation when, in the spring of 1848, they took possession 

1 



I 






2 tullidge's historiks. 

of till' country iliivotly nortli of Suit fiiiko City, known ;is Davis 
an<l Weber counties. (Joodyier, by virtue of a Mexican <;rant, 
made to bim in 1841, by tbe government of Mexico, claimed a 
tract of land commencing at tbe moutb of Weber Canyon, and 
following the base of the mountain north to the Hot Springs; 
thence west to the Salt Lake; thence soutli along the shore to tlie 
point opposite Weber Canyon; thence east to the beginning. 
The land extended eight miles north and .«outh, and from the 
base of the mountains east to the sliores of the Salt Lake on the 
west. 

On the spot near where now stands the Union Pacific's 
present freight de]>ot, Goodyier built a picket fort and a few log 
houses, near the Weber River. At the fort he was living with a 
few mountaineers and hall'-breed Indians, when Captain James 
Brown, of the Mormon Battalion, entered into negotiations with 
Goodyier, and purchased of him, for the sum of $3,000, all the 
lands, claims and imjirovements recognized by the said Good- 
yier, by virtue of the Mexican grant. 

When the Mormon Pioneers arrived in the Valley of the 
Great Salt Lake in July, 1S47, the territory belonged to 
Mexico, from whose government the Indian trader held his 
claim; but, by the treaty of (niadalupe Hidalgo, it was ceded, in 
February, 1848, to tlie United Suites, with Xew Mexico and the 
whole of Upper California. 

The purchase of Ibis Goodyier claini was during the period 
when the Pioneers proper were making their second journey to 
the Rocky Mountains, under the leadership of Brigham Young. 
This treaty having been executed, it Avas of supreme importance 
to the Mormon colonists that the only remaining Sj)anisli title 
to this Territory should be extinguished ; and the jjurchase of 
the Goodyier claim was, theretoro, a great cireumstauco in the 
liistory of the Territory. It is certain that the Mormon colonists 
would have held occupation in the name of tlie United States, even 
by force of arms, liad it so transpired; but the claim of Good- 
yier could not bo set aside by this occuj)ation of tlie Pioneers. 
It was of a prior date, and Goodyier, too, might have set up the 
claim as colonist and pioneer, a claim the treaty would liavc con- 
firmed, rather than have extinguislicd. 

By the extinction of the Goodyier claim, Weber County, as 
it was soon afterwards named, was fairly opened uj^on the mis- 
sionary methods, which have given existence first to wards and 
stakes of the church, which afterwards, as the settlements grew, 
became incorporated as cities and counties. Weber County 
grew up rapidly. 

In the spring of the year 1S4S, Captain Brown planted a 



I 



CAPTAIN JAMES BROWN. 3 

crop of wheat, and in the fall of the year he, with his family; 
located ou the land which he had purchased. 

And here, in the introductory chapter of Ogden City and 
Weber County, should be given a few relative no-tes of the per- 
sonal history of Captain James Brown and his comrades of the 
Mormon Battalion, some of whom were among the first settlers 
of Ogden and leading men in the primitive colony. 

Captain James Brown was born September" 30th, 1801, in 
Davison County, North Carolina. He removed to Brown County, 
Illinois, in 1835, and joined the Mormon church in Adanis 
County in 1839. He was in the Mormon exodus from Nauvoo, 
and when the Battalion was called by the United States to join 
the command of Stephen F. Kearney, who was ordered to hasten 
with his force, including specially this Mormon Battalion, to 
possess California and to set up a government of the United 
States in that country, Captain James Brown and his two sons, 
Jesse and Alexander, enlisted in that service. The Mormon 
leaders, having been allowed the privilege of choosing officers 
for the Battalion below the Colonel commanding, who was to be a 
United States regular officer, Brigham Young, as leader of the 
community, appointed Jefferson Hunt, senior captain, and James 
Brown captain of Company C. The Battalion marched from 
old Council Blufls, as directed, under the command of Colonel 
James Allen of the regular army; and, without our following 
these volunteer soldiers in their famous march, we note that, in 
due time, Captain James Brown and his company arrived at 
Santa Fe. Here he was called to take a detachment of those 
who were not able to cross the plains, in consequence of some 
of his company being sick and worn out by the march, and to 
proceed with this detachment to Pueblo, on the headwaters of 
the Arkansas river, where he was sent to take care of the sick, 
and also for the purpose of guarding the place. 

After the discharge of the Battalion soldiers, on July 16th, 
18-17, Captain James Brown hastened with his detachment from 
Pueblo to the Valley of the Great Salt Lake, to strengthen the 
pioneer band of his people, which arrived in the Valley 
July 24th. 

The record of the entrance of Captain James Brown into 
the valley with his detachment of the Battalion is recorded in 
Wilford Woodruff's history of the Pioneers. In his notes of July 
27th, he says: 

" Amasa Lyman came into camp and informed us that Captain Brown's 
detachment of the Mormon Battalion would be with us in about two davs. 

" We again started on our exploring expedition. All the members of the 
Quorum of the Twelve Ix^longing to the pioneers, eight in number, were of the 
company. Six others of the brethren, including Brannan of San Francisco 
were with us. * * * * ****' 



4 TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 

"On the 29th, President Young, with a number of brethren, mounted and 
started to meet the Battalion detachment, under the command of Captain 
James Brown. 

"We met some of them about four miles from camp, and soon afterwards 
met Captains Brown and Higgins, Lieutenant Willis and the company. 
There were one hundred and forty of the Battalion, and a company of about 
one hundred of the ^Mississippi Saints, who came with them from Pueblo. 
They had with tliem sixty wagons, one hundred horses, and three hundred 
head of cattle, which greatly added to our strength." 

In his notes of the return of the Pioneers to Winter Quar- 
ters, Historian Woodruff says: 

"On the morning of the 26th of August, 1S47, the Pioneers, with most of 
the returning members of the Mormon Battalion, harnessed their horses and 
bade farewell to the brethren who were to tarry. The soldiers were very 
anxious to meet their wives again, whom they had left by the wayside for 
their service in the war with Mexico. These being, too, the 'young men of 
Israel,' had left many newly-wedded wives; and not a few of those brave 
young men were fathers of first-born babes whom they had not yet seen." 

The pertinence of these Battalion notes here will be quickly 
apparent in the statement that it was these Battalion men, w'ho 
were left in the Valley, who founded Ogden City and Weber 
County — that is to say, they formed the infant colony at the 
onset, before the return of President Young and the Pioneers 
with the body of the church, iii the fall of 1848. There were, 
also, among the founders of the Ogden colony, several families 
of the Mississippi company of Saints, of whom Historian Wood- 
ruff speaks, who accompanied Captain James Brown's detach- 
ment from Pueblo — Father Crow and his son-in-law being the 
heads of two of those families. 

After the departure of President Young and the majority of 
the Pioneers and the Battalion detachment. Captain Brown 
started from the valley for San Francisco to collect from the 
Government the pay to the men of his detachment, he having 
been so instructed by President Young, and furnished with 
powers of attorney from the men to collect for them. 

The company that left the valley for San Francisco consisted 
of Captain Brown and nine others — namely, "Sam" Brannan, 
Gilbert Hunt, John Fowler, Abner Blackburn, William Gribble, 
Lisander Woodworth, Henry Frank, and Jesse S. Brown, eldest 
son of Captain Brown. 

The company on their way went to Fort Hall, where they 
obtained animals and provisions of Captain Grant of the Amer- 
ican Fur Company, a man whose name was well known in those 
days. Thus furnished with animals and supplies, they continued 
their journey to San Francisco. 

A passage from the reports of Governor Mason, who succeeded 
General Kearney as military Governor, will here supply an official 
link. In his report to the Adjutant-General, of October 7th. 
he wrote: 



THE FOUNDERS OF OGDEN. 5 

"When on my way up to 8an Francisco, I was overtaken by Captain 
Brown of the ^lomion IJattalion, who had arrived from Fort Hall, where he 
had left his detachment of the Battalion to come to California to report to me in 
person. He brought a muster roll of his detachment, with a power of attorney 
from all its members to draw their pay; and as the Battalion itself had been 
discharged on the lOth of July, Pajiiiaster Rich paid to Captain Brown the 
money due to the detachment up to that date according to the rank they bore 
upon the muster-rolls upon which the Battalion had been mustered out of ser- 
vice. Captain Brown started immediately for Fort Hall, at which place and 
in the Valley of Bear River he said the whole Mormon emigration intended to 
pass the winter." 

Undoubtedly, Governor Mason, in several of the above 
points, misunderstood Captain Brown relative to his having left 
his detachment at Fort Hall, they having, as we have seen, ac- 
companied him to the Valley of the Great Salt Lake, and many 
of them were then at Council Bluffs, having returned to their 
families; he also, it would seem, confounded the "Valley of the 
Bear River" for the Valley of the Salt Lake, where the "whole 
of the Mormon emigration intended to pass the winter." This 
misconception was probably owing to the fact that Captain 
Brown overtook him after stopping at Fort Hall to obtain ani- 
mals and supplies. His report, however, contains all the official 
points necessary to the record of the paying of Captain Brown's 
detachment at this given date, and that payment of these Mor- 
mon soldiers has a direct suggestiveness to the first money sup- 
plies of the people in the valley, and it may be inferred that the 
Goodyier purchase also has some connection with the personal 
money of Captain Brown, accumulated while in the United 
States service, and increased, probably, by the results of this 
journey to California, in the fall and winter of 1847. 

It will be judicious here to give a passage relative to the 
character and moral status of these Mormon soldiers, who con- 
tributed so largely to the population of these vallej's at the onset, 
which obtains a special historical value in the early record of 
Ogden, from the fact that its pioneer was a commanding officer 
in the Battalion, and others of its members among its first set- 
tlers. In his report to the Adjutant-General, of September ISth, 
1847, Governor Mason wrote: 

"Of the services of the Battalion, of their patience, subordination and 
general good conduct, you have already heard; and I take great pleasure in 
adding that as a body of men they have religiously respected the rights and 
feelings of these conquered people, and not a syllable of complaint has reached 
my ears of a single insult ottered or outrage done by a Mormon volunteer. So 
high an opinion did I entertain of the Battalion and of their special titness 
for the duties now performed by the garrisons in this country that I made 
strenuous efforts to engage their services for another year." 

Of the company of ^lormon volunteers who re-enlisted, 
Bancroft says : 

"As before, the work of the Mormons was rather that of mechanics than 
of soldiers, since there were no disorders requiring nnlitary interference. Says 



6 tullidge's histories. 

the writer of one diarj-, ' I think I whitewashed all San Diego. We dfd their 
hlacksmithing, put up a bakery, made and repaired carts, and In fine, did all 
we could to benefit ourselves as well as the citizens. We never had any trouble 
with the Californians or Indians, nor they with us. The citizens became so 
attached to us, that Ijefore our term of service expired they got up a petition to 
the Governor to use his influence to keep us in the service. The petition was 
signed by every citizen in the town.' " 

Among the officers of this re-enlisted company were Captain 
Daniel C. Davis, the founder of Davis County, northern Utah; 
and Lieutenant Cyrus C. Canfield, who was one of the founders 
of Ogden, and Captain of the first military company formed in 
Weber County, in the beginning of the year 1850, to protect the 
infant colonies of the north from Indian depredations. 

We return now to Captain James Brown, whom we left on 
his return from San Francisco to Salt Lake City. 

Of the company who started with Captain Brown from the 
Salt Lake ^'alley, only two returned with him — namely, Abner 
Blackburn and Jesse Brown, son of tlu^ Captain; but on the way 
home they picked up Samuel Lewis of the IBattalion. Sam. 
Brannan had merely come to the valley to hold a conference with 
the Pioneers, whom he had met at Green River, and, ftiiling to 
induce President Young and the band of Pioneers under his 
leadership to go on with him to California, to found their pros- 
pective State, he returned to San Francisco, somewhat disap- 
pointed and chagrined at the failure of his mission, and, prob- 
ably, his influence and representation of the bright prospects 
before them in California, induced the remainder of Brown's 
company to desert him on the return trip. Be that as it may, 
thus left with only his son Jesse and Abner Blackburn on his 
journey home, with the money to pay off his detachment, Cap- 
tain Brown realized that he was undertaking a dangerous and 
very daring journey so late in the season; but he, and the two 
brethren with him, resolved to undertake it all risks, and they 
felt greatly strengthened when they picked up on the way Samuel 
Lewis, of the Battalion brethren. 

At Sutter's Fort, now Sacramento, Captain Brown and his 
two companions, Abner Blackburn and Jesse Brown, loaded their 
pack animals. They had five bushels of wheat and half a 
bushel of Spanish corn; and this was the first wheat ever sown 
in Weber County — indeed, the first sown in Northern Utah, 
after that sown by the Pioneers and the companies that came 
into the Valley immediately after them that season. 

Starting from Sutter's Fort, the Captain and his companions 
came by the Hastings Cut-Off, they having obtained a way bill 
of one of the survivors of that company which had starved to 
death in making its journey to California. It was not consid- 



THE GOODYIER PURCHASE 7 

ered possible for the brethren to make their way- hon\e by anv 
other route that season with so few in compan}'. 

Captain Brown and his companions arrived at the Valley of 
the Great Salt Lake on the I5th of December, 1847, and found 
the building of the Fort commenced by the Pioneers previous to 
their return to "Winter Quarters, considerably advanced, during 
his absence in California collecting the pay of his detachment. 

Hearing that Miles Goodyier had a desirable place on the 
Weber River to sell — namely, all those lands which he claimed 
upon his Mexican grant. Captain Brown went up to Weber in the 
latter part of December to see the claim and negotiate with 
Goodyier with the purpose of founding a settlement. He 
was accompanied by Amasa Lyman, Jedediah M. Grant and 
others, to view this important situation for the planting of new 
settlements, and to advise with him relative to its purchase. 

Having concluded to purchase the Goodyier claim. Captain 
Brown returned to Salt Lake City, and, on the 14th of January, 
1848, he paid to Miles Goodyier $3,000, in Spanish doubloons, for 
all those lands, in what is now known as Weber County, before 
described as the Goodyier Fort and claim on his Mexican grant. 



CHAPTER IL 



Brown's Settlement. Brigham'a Instructions to Captain Brown to Purchase 
the Groodyier Claim. Planting the- First Crops. The AVeber Dairy. First 
Cheese Made in the Country. Crickets and Famine. Captain Brown 
Slaughters his Cattle and Feeds his^ BreadstufTs to tlie Destitute. His 
Lands Opened to Settlers. The First Money in Circulation. 

Having bargained for the Goodj'ier lands and improvements 
of the Weber country. Captain James Brown sent up his sons, 
Jesse and Alexander, and also a brother pioneer bj- the name of 
Datus Ensign, to take care of the place and stock previous to his 
commencement to found the projected settlement on the Weber 
River, in the spring of 1848. They came up before the close of 
the year 1847, immediately after the return of Captain Brown 
to Salt Lake City, who, with Amasa Lyman and Jedediah M. 
Crrant, undoubtedly reported the prospects for northern settle- 
ments to the high council left in charge of the parent colony, 
presided over by Father John Smith, General' Charles C. Rich, 
and John Young, brother of President Young. 

For strict fidelity to the history as well as for the under- 



O TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 

standing of readers of later times, it will be here proper to sug- 
gest that this Goodyier purchase was probably made and also as 
likely projected under the counsel and direction of the authorities 
of the Church, which had been appointed by the Pioneer band, 
previous to their return to Winter Quarters. At the date of this 
purchase there were in the Valley such leaders as Apostles .John 
Taylor, Parley P. Pratt, Amasa Lyman, and other heads of the 
Church of nearly equal historical importance and rank — such 
as Father John Smith, Charles C. Rich, John Young, Daniel 
Spencer, Bishop Edward Hunter, Jedediah M. Grant, Albert 
Carrington, Abraham 0. Smoot, and others who had figured dur- 
ing the great pioneer year of 1847 as captains and presidents. 
To imagine that this initial effort to establish a system of col- 
onies in these valleys of the North, now known as Northern 
Utah, was projected and accomplished as an individual pioneer 
enterprise, would be inconsistent with the whole history of the 
Mormon community. It was undoubtedly but a part of the sys- 
tem of colonization begun in these valleys in 1847, under the 
direction of Brigham Young and his apostolic compeers. 

It is also highly proper and pertinent in the introductory 
chapters of a volume devoted to the general history of the cities 
and counties of Northern Utah and Southern Idaho, to briefly 
notice the very relative circumstance of the Pioneers sending 
an exploring party into the northern country immediately on 
their arrival in the Valley of the Great Salt Lake. 

Historian Woodruff, in his notes of the Pioneers and their 
exploration of these valleys for colonization, under the date of 
August 14th, 1847, records: 

"Four of the messengers returned from Bear River and Cache Valley. 
They brought a cheering report of Cache Valley. The brethren also returned 
who went to Utah Lake for fish. They found a mountain of granite." 

On the day the Pioneers laid off Great Salt Lake City, 
standing on Temple Block addressing them. President Young 
observed, " that he intended to have every hole and corner from 
the Bay of San Francisco to Hudson Bay known to us." 

In fact, the great Mormon colonizer and his apostolic coun- 
selors not only laid off and named the " City of the Great Salt 
Lake," sending exploring parties both north and south, but he 
sketched the general plan of the colonization of this country, 
and left well-defined instructions to those left in charge of affairs 
in the Valley, to be carried out by them during the period of the 
return of the Pioneers to Winter Quarters to bring on the body 
of the Saints. Nothing was done in their absence that was not 
designed previous to their departure. Those districts of country 
now known as Weber County, Cache County and Utah County 
were particularly marked in this colonizing sketch. 



THE GOODYIER PCRL'H.VSE. 



9 



Jesf-e Brown, eldest son of Captain James Brown, states 
that his father was instructed by President Young to make the 
Goodyier purchase. Without recording this note as an historical 
certainty, it seems consistent and according to well known gen- 
eral facts. That Captain Brown was sent by President Young 
to San Francisco to collect the pay due his detachment of the 
Battalion soldiers, we may be quite sure, for, otherwise, though 
he was their immediate commanding officer, Captain Brown 
never would have carried with him a power of attorney from 
each member of his detachment to collect their pay as a body. 
In a previous case, when the men enlisted, agents were sent by 
President Young, as leader of the community, from Winter 
(Quarters to Washington, to collect the first instalment of the 
Battalion pay: not only to supply the wants of the families of 
the enlisted men, but also to aid the leaders in the removal of 
the community from Winter Quarters to the Rocky Mountains. 
Captain James Brown was, no doubt, sent on a similar mission 
— as an agent of the Church, as well as of the men whose pay 
he was authorized to collect by his power of attorney. 

Captain Brown received from Paymaster Rich .110,000 in 
Spanish doubloons. This money he brought with him to the 
A'alley to pay off the men of his detachment. 

With the gold brought from California Captain Brown pur- 
chased the Goodyier lands; and this statement does not imply 
that it was paid from a joint stock fund of the soldiers, but 
rather from his own proportion and accumulations while in the 
service and in probable business gains on his recent trip. 

The monev thus brought into the countrv during the ab- 
sence of the Pioneers, gives an evident reason of the commence- 
ment of the colonization in the North, on the Weber River, a 
year before it began in the South with the Provo colony. It was 
the money obtained bv Captain Brown that enabled him to make 
the purchase in question, and hence to start a colony in the 
Xorth, which further strengthens the historian's opinion that it 
was a part of the colonizing plan of President Young, given to 
Captain Brown when he seut him to California to collect the 
Battalion pay. 

At this point may be also emphasized the fact that the 
Goodyier claim consisted of something more than unoccupied 
lands. There was a fort and farm stock, which furnished a very 
fair and sufficient start for a regular settlement of the Mormon 
colonists who had just arrived in the Valley, while in the South 
there was nothing of the kind, nor had the settlement, out of 
which grew Salt Lake City, so much as a Goodyier fort and stock 
to commence upon. So far Ogden antedates Salt Lake City. 

Besides the fort, described in the opening chapter, there 

2 



10 tui.lidge's histories. 

were included in the purchase for $3,000, seventy-five head of 
cattle, about a similar number of goats, twelve head of sheep, 
and six horses. 

In the spring of 1848, Captain Brown and his sons planted 
five acres of wheat from the seed wliich he brought from Cali- 
fornia, which was the first Avheat planted in the Weber country. 
He also planted corn, potatoes, cabl)age, turnips and a few water- 
melons. Goody ier and his men expected the crops would 
be a total failure, and so frankly represented the prospect to the 
Captain at the time he made the purchase. One of (xoodyier's 
men told the stoiy that he had been about four years trying to 
raise corn, and had never raised a roasting ear. This, lie said, 
was because the frost killed the corn when it commenced silk- 
ing; and "so it will be with you Mormons," he added. 

Nothing discouraged, however. Captain Brown and his sons 
put in their crops; and they raised that season one hundred 
bushels of wheat and seventy-five bushels of corn, besides 
potatoes, cabbage, a crop of fine turnips, and a few watermelons. 

Jesse and Aleck Brown plowed the first -furrow in Weber 
County; and, from the stock purchased of Goodyiej, the family 
milked twenty -five cows, and made the first cheese produced in 
Utah, several thousand pounds being the result of the first 
season's milk. Marj' Black, one of Captain Brown's wives, made 
the cheese. Their dairy was considered, in these early times, 
quite a cheese manufactorj^, from which the community at Salt 
Lake, as well as the settlers of the Weber, obtained the rare 
luxuries of dairy supplies. 

Meantime, till harvest. Captain Brown sent his son Alex- 
ander to Fort Hall to purchase flour to feed his family. Aleck 
was accompanied by Thomas Williams, one of the Battalioii, who 
was afterwards well known as one of the principal Salt 
Lake merchants, and Ebeneza Hanks. Between them they 
Ijought six hundred pounds of flour — two hundred each. Thej'^ 
loaded it on pack animals. Brown's portion furnished the family 
at Goodyier Fort; the remainder, though but a small quantity, 
was a welcome portion of that year's supplies to the Salt Lake 
colon\^ 

The condition of the community generally, in the spring of 
1848, is graphically described by Pai'ley P. Pratt in his auto- 
biography; and his touching passages are very suggestive here 
of the primitive luxuries of Brown's prolific dairj'^ at Goodyier 
Fort. Parley P. Pratt says: 

I continued my farming oporation,-^, and also attended to my ministry in 
tlie Cliurc'li. Devoting my Salil)atlis and leisure hours to comforting and cn- 
euuraging the Saints, and urging them to faith and perseveriug industry 
in trying to liroiUice a first harvest in a desert one thousand miles from the 
nearest place which hid matured a crop in modern times. 



TIIK WKHER DAIRY. 11 

We had to struggle against great difflculties in trying to mature a first 
crop. We liarl u^tt only the ditficulties and inex])erience incidental to an un- 
known and untried ciinv.ite, Imt also swarms of insects enual to tlie locusts 
of Egypt, and also a terrible drought, while we were entirely inexperienced 
in the art of irrigation. 

During this spring and summer my family and myself, in common with 
many of the camp, suffered much for want of food. Tliis was the more severe 
on me and my family because we had lost nearly all our cows, and the few 
which were spared to us were dry, and therefore wo had no milk to help out 
our provisions. I had plowed and subdued land to tlie amount of nearly forty 
acres, and had cultivated tlie same in grain and vegetables. In this labor 
every woman and child in my family, so far as they were of sutfieient age and 
strength, had joined to help me, and had toiled incessantly in the field, sutter- 
Ing every hardship which human nature could well endure. Myself and some 
of them were compelled to go with bare feet for several months, reserving our 
Indian moccasins for extra occasions. We toiled hard and lived on a few 
greens and on thistles and other roots. We had sometimes a little flour and 
some cheese, and siimetimes we were able to procure from our neighbors a little 
sour skimmed milk or buttermilk. 

In this way we lived and raised our first crop in these valleys. And liow 
great was our joy in partaking of the first fruits of our industry*. 

These passages, of the early history of the community in 
the valleys, as described with that graphic simplicity so peculiar 
to Parley P. Pratt's pen, are very suggestive of the support given 
by Brown's settlement on the Weber River, with its seventy-five 
head of cattle; about the same of goats; twelve head of sheep; 
with the milk of twenty-five cows, and a dairy that supplied sev- 
eral thousand pounds of cheese and butter. Captain Brown's 
cows, inured to the climate and accustomed to the feed of the 
country, yielded abundance of milk when Apostle Pratt's cows 
were dry; and the blessing to the community of the butter and 
cheese, made at " Brownville," as the settlement was styled in 
Captain Stansbury's book, can be readily api^reciated, at a time 
when a little sour skim milk and a pound of cheese were 
esteemed so rare a treat to the familj' of a favorite Apostle. 

Even after tlie harvest of 1848, the destitution of the com- 
munity was most distressing. In the First General Epistle sent 
out from the Mormon Presidency, in the spring of 1849, they 
write of their destitution thus: 

In the former part of February, the bishops took an inventory of the 
breadstuft" in the ^'alley, when it was reported that there was little more than 
thret^fourths of a jtoun'd per day for each soul, until the fifth of July; and 
considerable was known to exist which was not reported. As a natural con- 
seiiuence, some were nearly destitute while otliers liad abundance. The com- 
mon price of corn since har^•est has lieen two dollars; some have sold for three; 
at i)resent there is none in tlie market at any price. Wheat has ranged from 
four to five dollars, and jiotatoes from six to twenty dollars per bushel; and 
though not to be bought at present, it is expected that there will be a good 
supply for seed by another year. 

It was during this destitute condition of the parent colony 
that "Brownville," on the Weber River, was as the land of 
Goshen to the Children of Israel. At a time when Captain 
Brown might have readily sold his breadstuff for ten dollars per 



12 tullidge's histories. 

hundred, he sold it to his destitute brethren for four dollars per 
sack of flour; M'hile he slaughtered a large portion of his fat 
cattle, which he had purchased from Goodyier, to supply them 
with beef. The old settlers of Weber County, to this day, speak 
with grateful appreciation of this public benevolence of their 
pioneer to the community at large, at the onset of our colonies, 
when their little settlement grew up as a worthy help-mate of the 
parent settlement of Salt Lake City. 

In the quoted passages from Parley P. Pratt, a brief refer- 
ence is made to the " swarms of insects, equal to the locusts of 
Egypt," that came down upon their fields to devour their first 
harvest; but something further may be said of this circumstance 
in view of the comparatively fair crops raised that season on the 
Weber River. To the graphic description of Parley P. Pratt of 
those times, I may supplement the following passage from my 
life of Brigham Young: 

Then came the desolating crickets before the harvest of 1S4S. Their rav- 
ages were frightful. Countless hosts attacked the fields of grain. The crops 
were threatened with utter destruction. The valleys apjieared as thougli 
scorched Ijy fire. Famine stared the settlers in the face. All were in danger 
of perishing. America and Europe were shocked with the prospect of a whole 
cjmniunity being doomed to absolute starvation before succor could be sent, 
even liad the lienevolent Christian world been disposed to feed the outcast 
jNIornions from its overtlo^^•ing granaries. 

Tlien came a manifestation of a special providence. Immense flocks of 
gulls came up from the islands of the lake to make war upon the destroying 
liosts. Like good angels tliey come at the dawn; all day tliey feasted upon the 
crickets. Wlien full they disgorged and feasted again. Thus the gulls saved 
tlie Mormons in 1848. They were, indeed, as angels sent, and the grateful 
people treated them as sucli. This incident along with tliat of the conung of 
tlie flock of quails to the remnant of the exiles from Nauvoo, as tliey laid sick 
and starving on the banks of the ^Mississippi, will live in Mormon liistory to 
l)e deservedly compared with the feeding of the Children of Israel in the 
wilderness. 

Even as it was there was a season of famine in Utah ; but, like as in the second 
famine in 185l>, none perished from staiwation. In both cases the patriarchal 
character of the community saved it. As one family they shared the sulistance 
of the country. The inventory of provisions in the spring of liS4!) sliowed 
that there was only three-quarters of a pound of breadstufls per day in the 
whole Territory for each person, np to the .5th of July. It is evident that in 
aU these times of famine, as in their exodus and emigrations, the Mormons owe 
their preservation to their patriarchal and communistic organization. The 
people were put upon rations. Still their breadstufls were insutlicient and 
many went out with the Indians and dug small native roots, while some in 
their destitution took the hides of animals which covered the roofs of their 
houses and cut them up and cooked them. But the harvest of 1849 was abun- 
dant, and the people were saved. 

This picture is not exaggerated, and its reference to the 
affected anxiety, to say the least, of the Christian people, in 
America and England, relative to the Mormons in the valleys 
of the Rocky Mountains is strictly correct. The newspapers of 
both countries were teeming with distressing news of the Mor- 
mons; and Punch, in one of its cartoons presented to the general 



CRICKETS AND FAMINE. 13 

public, and the Mormons of England, the frightful scene, though 
a caricature, of the grasshoppers eating the Mormon children in 
the valleys. 

It is true the gulls seemed as angels sent in a miracle to save 
the Saints, but the sociologist and historian will most note the 
patriarchal example, and attribute much of the good result to 
the presiding care of Brigham Young and the semi-commu- 
nistic example of such pioneers as Captain .James Brown, who 
with an unstinted hand fed to the people his breadstuff, and his 
beef, and butter, and cheese from his bountiful dairy. 

The little settlement on the Weber River, of course, suffered 
somewhat from the ravages of the grasshoppers; yet, compared 
with that of the settlement of Salt Lake, the loss of the Captain's 
crops was light. As before noted. Captain Brown raised, in the 
season of 1848, one hundred bushels of wheat and seventy-five 
bushels of corn, besides potatoes, cabbage, and a fine crop of 
turnips. Such a crop, at such a time, when the whole commu- 
nity were famishing, was a blessing indeed; and well does Cap- 
tain Brown deserve the historical record that, wheu wheat sold 
for five dollars per bushel, and potatoes from six to twenty dol- 
lars per bushel, he sold his flour to the brethren at four dollars 
per hundred. 

Of the Goodyier claim Captain Brown retained only two or 
three hundred acres, allowing his fellow colonists, in whose in- 
terest as well as for himself the claim was purchased, to settle in 
the country without price or question of their rights. Indeed, 
at this period, the Mormon community were living strictly up to 
the tenor of the first sermon which Brigham Young preached 
in the Valley, Sunday, July 25, 1847, in which he said: "No 
man of the community should buy any land who came here; that he 
had none to sell; but every inan should hare his land measured out 
to him for city and farming purposes. He might till it as he pleased, 
but he must be industrious and fake care of it." 

So Captain James Brown, though he had purchased the 
Goodyier claim, to give the colonists undisputed occupation, was 
living up to the strict order of the community; he had no land 
to sell to his brethren; it was theirs for legitimate settling with- 
out money and without price. 

It may be also here noted, before closing these special refer- 
ences to Captain Brown and the Battalion settlers, that it was 
their soldier pay of $10,000 in Spanish gold, that furnished the 
first money in circulation in these valleys. Excepting these 
doubloons, and half-doubloons, with which Brown's detachment 
was paid oif, there was probably not a cent of money in the 
country among the Mormons in the j-ears 1847 and 1848, until 
the arrival of their companies in September, 1848, seeing that 



14 tullidge's histories. 

the community from Feljruary, 1846, had been on their migra- 
tion passage from the Eastern frontiers to the Rocky Mountains, 
and that absolutely all their money resources -were spent in out- 
fitting the pioneer companies. The next money in circulation 
was the coin of Deseret, issued from the Deseret State mint, 
coined from the gold dust discovered by some of the Battalion 
men on Mormon Island, California. Governor Young related to 
Colonel Kane, a few years later, that the first $20 gold pieces 
issued in the United States were coined from this gold, and in 
this Deseret State mint. 



CHAPTER III. 



Organization of the Weber Braneli.* Lorin Farr Appointed President. Com- 
mencement of Indian Ditticulties in tlie North. A Settler ICills the Chief, 
Terikee. Eetaliation of tlie Tribe. The Indians Tlireaten to Destroy the 
Settlement. Governor Young Sends Troops to the Aid of the Northern 
Colonists. His Vigorous Measures Avert a General Indian War, North 
and South. 

The first branch of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter- 
day Saints in Weber County was organized March 5th, 1850, and 
named the Weber Branch. Lorin Farr was appointed president. 
On the following day it was organized as a ward, and Isaac 
Clark was appointed bishop, Daniel Birch, teacher, and Bryan 
W. Nolan, clerk. 

Lorin Farr, though not the pioneer of the Weber colony, 
may very properly be considered the founder of Ogden City, of 
which he was the first mayor; and, for twenty years thereafter, 
he served the city in the capacity of its mayor, and under his 
fostering care and judicious administration the city grew up. 

The elder brother of Lorin Farr, Aaron F. Farr, was one of 
the one hundred and forty-three members of the Pioneer band, 
and he was afterAvards, for about ten years, probate judge of 
Weber County. Lorin Farr, though not one of that band, was 
nevertheless a pioneer of 1847, he having arrived in the Salt 
Lake Valley September 21, 1847, in President Daniel Spencer's 
company, which was the first company that arrived after the 
Pioneer band. 

Lorin Farr settled, during the first two years, in Salt Lake 



*For names of early settlers and other interesting items see Ogden notes 
at close of History of Ogden. 



I.NIUAX niFFiril.TIES. 



15 



City; but, soon after the return of President Youiij: and his 
pioneer compeers, with the body of the Church from Winter 
Quarters, Brigham Young, being desirous for the rapid growth 
and etficient government of the young colonies, sent Lorin Farr 
to take charge of affairs in Weber County. He accordingly came 
to Ogden, and under his direction the first company of ' the 
militia of Weber County was organized in February, this being 
done a few days previous to the organization of the Weber 
branch, on the 5th of March, 1850. Cyrus C. Canfield,who had 
served as a senior lieutenant in the Mormon Battalion, was 
elected captain of this company, and Francillo Durfee, who was 
another of the Battalion soldiers, was elected tirst lieutenant. The 
colony at this time numbered only from twenty to thirty families 
and about all the men were enrolled in this militia organization. 

This military organization was soon called into requisition 
by the Indian difficulties of the fall of 1850. It occurred as 
follows; 

On the 20th of September, 1850, Urban Stewart, who was 
opening a ranch on " Four Mile Creek," now known as Harris- 
ville, hearing in the night some one in his corn, took his gun 
and went out and fired at random in tlie direction of the noise. 
The person in the corn proved to be Terikee, the chief of the 
Weber baud of Indians; and the fatal shot fired at random killed 
the chief. 

Old Terikee was a good Indian, and up to the time of his 
death, he had been on the most friendly terms witli the whites. 
During the day before the night on which he was killed, he and 
his squaw came over to President Farr, where he was building 
his mills, and bade him and his wife good bye, after which the 
chief returned to his camp, near Stewart's ranch, where he and 
a part of his family had stopped for the night, while his band 
had gone on a hunt further north, the chief intending to follow 
on their trail. It was afterwards the prevailing opinion of the 
settlers that Terikee was not in Stewart's, corn with any intent to 
steal, but to drive out his ponies which had got into the un- 
fenced corn. 

As soon as Stewart discovered the fatal result of his rash 
act, he hastened, in alarm for the consequences, to his nearest 
neighbor, David Moore, and, waking him up, informed him of 
what he had done. Aroused to stern indignation. Major Moore 
severely rebuked Stewart, not only for killing the chief, but for 
provoking the certain return of the band to take vengeance for 
the death of their chief. Stewart next went and awoke another 
neighbor and told his story with the same result, both refusing 
to harbor him to the endangering of their own families and the 
settlement generallv. He then went to the house of President 



16 tullidge's histories. 

Farr, where he arrived at two o'clock in tlie morning and awoke 
him and told him also what he had done; whereupon President 
Farr advised Stewart to go immediately hack and hring his 
family to his place for shelter. This was done by foiir o'clock in 
the morning; but Stewart himself was rebuked by the President 
also, who realized too well, the danger of his little colony, and 
the weighty responsibilities suddenly thrown upon him, to 
preserve tlie settlers from the impending consequences which 
might quickly follow the rash, unjustifiable act of this one man, 
whom he bade to escape and hide if he wished to preserve his 
scalp, while he undertook the care of Stewart's family. 

Early on the same morning. President Farr directed ten or 
a dozen of the brethren to go north as far as the Hot Springs, 
and gather in the scattered cattle, which belonged to the settle- 
ment, directing them to keep in parties of not less than five and 
to go well armed. He, with Major David Moore, then went over 
to Captain Brown's Fort, and informed the Gajitain and the set- 
tlers with him what had transpired during the previous night. 
Realizing the danger of their little colony, and knowing that 
Terikee's band would return to avenge their chief, as soon as 
they got the news, the leading men of the colony, after consult- 
ing, resolved to send a dispatch by Major Moore to Governor 
Young, requesting him to send aid as quickly as possible, as an 
Indian raid was expected at any moment, as soon as Terikee's 
band got the news of the killing of their chief. Major Moore 
was also instructed to call on his way and communicate the mat- 
ter to Colonel John S. Fulmer of Davis County, so that he 
might be prepared with his company for an order from Gov- 
ernor Young through General Wells. 

Meantime, during the night on which the chief was killed, 
his younger son, who had remained with his father, jumped on 
to a horse and overtook the band, which had camped on Box 
Elder Creek, on the present site of Brigham Citj^, and told them 
of the killing of their chief; and immediately the band, in fierce 
rage, mounted their ponies and rode furiously back to attempt 
the destruction of the Ogden settlement, in revenge for the kill- 
ing of Terikee. 

There was also another band of Indians at that time camped 
on the Weber River. They were Utes, under the command of 
"Little Soldier." These also were provoked to great rage over 
the killing of the old chief, and they threatened to burn the set- 
tlement and kill the settlei-s unless Stewart was given up to 
appease the vengeance of the Indian bands. 

But previous to his starting with the dispatch to Salt Lake 
City, Major Moore, unarmed and alone, went over to the camp 
of "Little Soldier" to endeavor to temper his wrath. He was'at 



KELIEF SKNT TO THK COLONY. 



17 



first received with a passionate show of hostility, "Little Soldier" 
firing his rifle close over the Major's head, and his warriors 
shouting and gesticulating expressions of their wrath. Major 
Moore, however, spoke earnestly and sympathetically, touching 
the killing of the chief, and he soon convinced the band that the 
settlers were in no way chargeable for Stewart's act, but on the 
contrary, they were very indignant at the outrage which had 
brought on the difficulties and broken the peace between the 
settlers and the Indian encampments of the north. " Little 
Soldier," though conciliated, persisted in his demand for the 
person of Stewart; but Major Moore protesting that the settlers 
knew not where he had fled for safety, and that a full account 
of the affair would be sent immediately to the " Big Chief at 
Salt Lake " — Governor Young — "Little Soldier" promised that 
nothing should be done by his warriors, in killing and burning, 
until the return of the messenger. 

But scarcely had Major Moore started for Salt Lake, with 
President Farr's dispatch, ere some of the party sent out to 
gather up the scattered stock came hurriedly to Brown's Fort 
with the news that Terikee's band had returned, and killed in 
retaliation one of the party sent out that morning. The person 
whose life had paid for LTrban Stewart's act was a Mr. Campbell, 
who was the principal mechanic in building Farr's mills; and he 
was, at the time of the tragedy, .still in Mr. Farr's employ; he 
was a Gentile who intended to proceed to California, as soon as 
he obtained means to continue his journey; in the meantime he 
had been a valuable aid to the Weber colony for his skill and 
experience as a mechanic. 

As soon as the news was brought to Brown's Fort of the loss 
of Mr. Campbell, President Farr despatched another messenger — 
Daniel Birch — to Governor Young with this latter news of the 
development of Indian difficulties. 

Major jSIoore arrived in Salt Lake City just before sundown; 
and immediately Governor Young issued an order to General 
Wells, to send out in the country around to gather a troop of 
horsemen, with instructions that they should go on this expedi- 
tion well armed and well equipped with baggage wagons. 

The occurrence was just such an one to call into action the 
marvelous energy and promptitude of the great colonizer, whose 
chief anxiety at that very moment was to preserve the infant 
colonies, north and south, from Indian depredations. With that 
turbulent war chief, the famous Walker, on the war path in the 
south, who would have been only too ready to unite all the In- 
dians of Utah in a general war upon the whites, this Indian 
difficulty in Weber County was of the most serious consequence. 

Early this same year Big Elk, chief of the Timpanogas In- 

3 



18 tui.lidue's histories. 

(liauSjW'itli liis warriors ha 1 attacked the Provo colony, upon which 
Governor Young ordered out the whole military force of Salt 
Lake County, which had been just organized, under the com- 
mand of Major-General Daniel H. Wells. Tlie battle of Provo 
was fought in February, 1850, the Indians routed and Big Elk 
killed; but, about a month previous to this outbreak in Weber 
County, Walker had laid a plan to fall upon the Provo settle- 
ment in the night, and with his powerful band of warriors, then 
camped close by, massacre the whole colony. This he would 
have accomplished, had not Soweite, king of the whole Ute 
nation, threatened Walker that he and his warriors would fight 
side by side bj' the settlers. With Soweite, then, holding at bay 
his turbulent chiefs and warriors, whom Walker commanded — 
though he, Soweite was their king — and in the north Terikee do- 
ing very much the same, in restraining the Indians of the north, 
and cultivating peace with the settlers, this killing of Terikee 
was of more than ordinary consequence, threatening, perhaps, 
a general Indian war upon the settlements, l)oth north and 
south. Such was the aspect of the Indian affairs of Utah, on 
the morning when the dispatch was sent to Governor Young of 
the killing of Terikee, and two hours afterward, another dis- 
patch of the killing of Mr. Campljcll, in retaliation, by Terikee's 
band. 

In a few hours one hundred and fifty of the " minute men," 
under the command of General Horace S. Eldredge, were riding 
to the rescue of the Weber colony, well armed, with baggage 
wagons for a vigorous campaign, should it be required. The 
company reached Brown's Fort, a distance of forty miles from 
Salt Lake City, early in the morning, and after breakfast and a 
council of war with the presiding men of the settlement, General 
Eldredge, with his mounted troops, proceeded farther north, with 
a view of overtaking the Indians, to see if there could not be 
an amicable settlement made with them, in order to prevent any 
further difliculties. 

Meantime the Terikee's band, learning of the rapid np- 
proach of the troop of relief, had taken the body of their cliief, 
and with his family, made a rpiick retreat further north. Gen- 
eral Eldredge followed their trail as far as Box Elder Creek, and 
then sent scouts ahead to reconnoitre. They followed nearly to 
Bear River, a distance of about forty miles from Ogden; l>ut, 
finding that the Indians wei'e anxious to put a long distance 
between themselves and the pursuing force, the scouts returned 
and made their report, whereupon General Eldredge, who had 
camped that night on Box Elder Creek, returned to Ogden. A 
council was there lield.and the (General and his officers, with the 



OK(;.\XIZATION OF WERER COrXTY. 1'.) 

leading men of the settlement, ao;reeing in the judgment that 
the prompt, energetic measures of Governor Young, in sending 
sufficient force, had checked for the present further Indian diffi- 
culties, he. General Eldredge, went home with his troop and so 
reported to the Governor. 



CHAPTER IV. 



Great Increase of Population. Organization of AVelx-r County and Weber 
Stake. Valuable Notes from Governor Young-'s Journals. He is met with 
Military Honors ami Hailed Governor of Utah on his way from Ogden 
after Organizing the Weber Stake. Incorporation of Ogden City. 

In the fall of 1850, Governor .Young sent up a large por- 
tion of that year's emigration from the States, mostly American 
families who had gathered on the frontiers on the Missouri 
River, during the several preceding years of the removal of the 
community to the valleys of the mountains. There were over 
a hundred families of these new settlers. This large and quick 
increase of population in a few months formed the nuclei of the 
early settlements, and soon afterwards the Weber Stake was 
organized. 

AVeber County was organized by the General Assembly of 
the Provisional State of Deseret, in its first session, in the M-inter 
of 1849-50, over a year before the organization of the Weber 
Stake or the incorporation of Ogden City. 

In his private journals of that date, Governor Young has 
preserved notes of the doings of this Provisional State Legislature, 
some of which have a special interest and jjertinence in a his- 
torv of Ogden Citv and Weber Countv. In the Governor's 
journal is the following note: 

January, 18.50: As Governor of the Provisional State of Deseret, I ajn 
proved of ordinances providing for the organization of the jivdieiary; * 

* * providing for State and county commis-sioners on roads, author- 
izing the location of state roads; and provi ling for the location of counties 
and precincts. 

Another note, though specially naming Salt Lake County, 
checks about the date of the passage of the ordinances organ- 
izing Salt Lake, Weber, L^tah, Sanpete, Juab and Tooele 
Counties: 

In the Legislature of the Provisional Government of the State, on the 
24th of January, ISoO, Daniel H. Wells, Daniel Sjiencer and Orson Spencer 



20 tullidge's histories. 

were noniiuated for judgus of the 8uprciiie Court; Andrew Perkins, county 
judge (of Salt Lake County) with William Crosby and James Hendricks asso- 
ciate judges; Aaron F. Farr and Willard Snow, magistrates. 

It will be here seen that Aaron F. Farr, afterwards so well 
known as probate judge of Weber County, "was the first justice 
of the peace or magistrate created in Utah, and Willard Snow 
the second. 

The ordinance, or ordinances creating these above named 
couuties have not been, as yet, found, either in the Territorial 
archives or in the Church Historian's office, though they have 
been sought for in the latter by Historian Woodrnff, at the 
request of Judge Elias Smith. 

Some years ago the I'tah Legislature appointed a committee 
(Hon. A. P. Rockwood, chairman), for the collection of geo- 
graphical and historical information, which committee applied 
to tlie judges of counties relative to the organization of counties 
and county courts, to which .Judge Smith replied: 

The laws passed t>y the Provisional Government of the State of Deseret 
were then in force (namely, at the time the first county court was opened 
under the Territorial rc(jimc\. What the provisions of those laws were relative to 
the organization of counties, I know not, as no reference thereto is made in 
the ordinances of the State of Deseret, extant; but there are good reasons for 
believing that an ordinance was pas.sed providing for the organization of 
ciiunties, as county officers to some extent were created and the duty of i7i- 
cumbents defined. That cuunty coiu'ts were provided for there is no doulit, 
but when and how constituted,"no law nor record that I have seen indicates; 
neither ha\-e I been able to ascertain what powers were delegated to them, 
with few exc-eptions. 

The explanation of this break in the record is that tho.^e 
ordinances, laws and charters, relative to counties and cities, 
passed by the Provisional Government, were afterwards incor- 
porated in revised acts of the Territorial Legislature, or retained 
intact by a resolution of the first Legislature, as were the char- 
ters of Salt Lake, Ogden, Manti, Provo, and Parowan cities, thus, 
substantially being preserved, and the records of the Provisional 
State Legislature, passing into the hands of a succession of sec- 
retaries of the Territory, they became lost, destroyed or buried 
among the rubbish of the department. Fortunately, however, 
for history, Governor Young has preserved, in his journals, a 
few valuable notes which will substantially fill the vacuum. The 
" General Epistle of the First Presidency to the Saints through- 
out the earth," dated February .jth, LS5U,also helps to fill up the 
void. They note : 

The General Assembly of Deseret have held an adjourned session at in- 
tervals throughout the winter and transacted much important business, sueb 
as dividing the different settlements into Weber, Great Salt Lake, Utah, San- 
liete, Juab and Tooele Counties, and establishing county courts, with their 
judges, clerks and sheriflTs, and justices and constables in their several pre- 
cincts; also a supreme court, to hold its annual session at Great Salt Lake 



GOVEKNOI! YOlXc's NOTES. 21 

( ity, attended by a State luarehal aiul attorney, and institutiua' a general 
jurisprudence, so" that every ease, whether eriniinal or civil, may be attended 
to by officers of State according- to law, justice and equity without delay. 

It will be noticed that Weber County is the iirst county 
named in this epistle. Salt Lake County, liowever, was un- 
doubtedly named first in the ordinance, in which same docu- 
ment Weber County was the second named. This organization 
took place late in the year 1849. 

At its second session, in October, 1850, the Governor notes: 

The General Assembly met on the .5th, and passed a bill providing for thi' 
organization of Davis County, which I approved. 

Thus it is shown, in Governor Young's record, that Weber 
County was the first organized of all the Northern counties of 
rtah, as Ogden was the first Northern city, indeed the first city 
incorporated after Salt Lake City. 

On the 25th of January, 1851, the "Weber Stake of Zion ' 
was organized, with Lorin Farr president, and Charles R. Dana 
and David B. Dillie counsellors. At this time the Weber branch 
received the name of Ogden, and it was deemed necessary to 
organize it into two wards. Isaac Clark was made bishop of the 
first, and James G. Browning and Captain James Brown were 
appointed his counsellors; Erastus Bingham, Sen., was appointed 
bishop of the Second Ward, and Charles Hulibard and Stephen 
Perry were chosen as his counsellors. 

The organization of the Weber Stake is connected with a 
famous circumstance in the history of Utah as a Territory, 
though the circumstance has nearly faded from the memory of 
the living who took part therein. Governor Young notes: 

On the 20th (January, 1851), in company with President Hel)er ('. Kim- 
ball, Elder Aniasa Lyman, and J. M. Grant'and several others, I left the city 
for Weber County. During the trip we preached at all the principal settle- 
ments as far as Ogden; organized a l)ranch at Sessions settlement and ordained 
John Stoker bishop; and another branch at John Hess', (Farmington) with 
Brother Gideon Bromwell president; William Kay was ordained bishop of 
Kay's ward. Ogden was organized as a stake of Zion, with Lorin Farr presi- 
dent; Isaac Clark and Erastus Bingham, bishops. 

On our return on the 2Sth, Major-Geueral Wells and a large company of 
mounted men and a band from the city, met us at Judsou Stoddarcf's with 
news of my appointment by the president of the United States, Millard Fill- 
more, to the governorship of the Territory of Utah, and escorted us to the city, 
amid the firing of cannon and other demonstrations of rejoicing. 

This news came by way of California, brought by a portion 
of that same company which explored the southern route to Cal- 
ifornia in the fall of 1849, under the command of General 
Charles C. Rich; George Q. Cannon, who was then twenty-t^i^o 
years of age, being one of the company. The returning party 
consisted of Major Hunt, of the Mormon Battalion, Henry E. 
(iibson, afterwards a prominent business citizen of Ogden, and 



22 tullidgk's iiistokies. 

five othoi-y. To bear this imijortant news tliey started on Christ- 
mas da_y and traveled with pack animals from Los Angeles to 
Salt Lake City. Major Hunt stopped on the way at liis home in 
Provo; but Mr. Gibson posted on to headquarters where he ar- 
rived late in the evening of the 27th of January. Next morn- 
ing General Wells sent for him, and, having received from Mr. 
Gibson the published reports contained in the great eastern 
papers, of the setting up of the Territorial government and the 
appointment of Brigham Young as governor. General Wells 
took a detachment of the Nauvoo Legion and the Nauvoo brass 
band and went to meet President Young returning from his 
visit north to organize the Weber Stake, and hailed him Gover- 
nor of Utah. The news being certain and mouths having 
elapsed since the passage of the Oi'ganic Act, and his appoint- 
ment, Governor Young at once took the oatli of office, on the od 
of February, 185L 

Meantime since the passage of the Organic Act and the 
dissolution of the General Assembly, March, 1851, the Legislature 
of the Provisional State, during the session of the winter of 1850-1, 
had been considering acts to incorporate the cities of Salt Lake, 
Ogden, Manti, Provo and Parowan. On the 9th of January, 
1851, the act to incorporate Great Salt Lake City was approved; 
and on the 6th of February, 1851, the ordinance to incorporate 
Ogden City was approved by Governor Young, not in his ca- 
pacity of Governor of the Territory, (for there was no Terri- 
torial Legislature at that time) but as Governor of the State of 
Deseret. 

Among the ordinances passed by the General Assembly of 
the Provisional State, in its session of 1850-51, which the (Jov- 
ernor approved, he gives the following in his journal: 

"To provide for the organization of Iron County. 

"To incorporate Great Salt Lake City. 

"In relation to County Courts. 

"For establishing Probate Courts and defining the duties thereof. 

"To incorporate Ogden City. 

"To incorporate the city of Manti. 

"To incorporate Provo City. 

"To incorporate Parowan City, in Iron County." 

The charters of all the cities named, excepting Great Salt 
Lake City, Avere approved by the Governor on the same day — 
February 6th, 1851. Ogden being the first, as may be seen by 
the order in which they stand in the first jirinted volume of laws 
of Utah Territory. 

One month and twenty days after signing these charters 
Governor Young formally ainiounced to the General Assembly 



TIIK CITY srUVEVKD. 23 

the passage of the Territorial Organic Act, and recommended 
tiie early dissolution of the Provisional State government and 
the setting up of the Territorial, whereupon the General As- 
sembly resolved "that we fix upon Saturday, the 5th day of April 
next, for the adjournment and final dissolving of the General 
Assembly of the State of Deseret." 

Governor Young issued a proclamation on the first of July, 
1851, calling the election for the first Monday in the following 
August, when it was accordingly held, August 4th, and the Ter- 
ritorial Legislature duly created by the people. 

The members elected to this first Legislature of the Terri- 
tory of Utah were, from Weber County, to the council, Lorin 
Fan- and Charles R. Dana; to the house, David B. Dillie, James 
Brown and James G. Browning. Thus it will be seen that Ogdea 
(which was at that time Weber County) was represented by five 
members in this first Legislature. 

On the opening of its first session the following was passed: 

Joint R^ioluUon Lcja'izing fhr Laws of the Provhiona! Oovernmcnt 
of the State of Deseret, 

Resolved by the Lephtatirr Assemhli/ of the Ten-itonj of Uteth: That the 
laws heretofore passed by the Provisional Government of the State of Deseret, 
anil which do not conflict with the Organic Act of said Territory, be, and the 
«aine are hereby declared legal and in full force and virtue, and sliall so re- 
main until suijerseded by the action of the Legislative Assembly of the Terri- 
tory of Utah. 

Approved October 4th, 1851. 

This resolution preserved the original charter of Ogden City, 
and upon it this municipal government was administered up to 
the date of the passage of its revised charter. 



CHAPTER V. 



Mayor Farr has the Site of the City Surveyed. The People Move out of the 
Forts on to the City Lots. New Settlements— Outgrowths of Ogden. A 
Wall built around the City. Neighlwring Forts. The Last of Indian 
Difficulties. The County Divided into Wards. General Notes to 18.57. 

In the summer of 1851, Ogden City proper was laid off under 
the direction of Governor Young: Mayor Farr assisting him; 
Henry G. Sheerwood, surveyor. Immecliately following, the set- 
tlers moved out of the forts on to their citv lots and commenced 



24 tullioce's historiks. 

liuildiiig tlie city, so that in about two years the forts were 
vacated. 

In 1851-2, Mayor Farr seeing that the people were taking 
up choice spots of land at their pleasure, throwing the country 
into confusion, engaged Surveyor-General Lemon to survey those 
portions of the county, adjacent to the plat of Ogden City, on 
which new settlements M'ere now' growing up. Surveyor Lemon 
commenced the work, but dying soon afterwards, the survey was 
continued by William H. Dame and finished by Jesse W. Fox. 
The farming land was laid off in blocks half a mile wide, by one 
mile in length, the .streets running every mile north and south, 
and every half mile east and west. Fach lot contained twenty 
acres of land, ending or fronting the streets east and west. The 
survey ran from five to six miles north and south, and the same 
distance w-cst. 

This section of the country was divided up at that time 
into districts. The first district formed outside the boundaries 
of Ogden City, north of Ogden River, was called Bingham Fort 
district (now Lynn); the next district north and west was called 
Slaterville; and north of these was a large and extensive settle- 
ment named North Ogden, which extended to the foot of the 
mountains on the north, and northwest to the Hot Springs, a 
distance of about nine miles. When Ogden City was organized 
it included most of the North Ogden district, but when this 
division was made it was cut off on its north extension, leaving 
the bfiumlaries of Ogden City proper two miles north of Ogden 
River. 

By the years 1853-4, Ogden had grown into quite an import- 
ant city, while the adjacent settlements, though still small, were 
flourishing. Many farms were opened, some of them at a con- 
siderable distance from the dwellings of the owners. The male 
])ortion of the population Ijeing much of the time in the field, 
while the females and cliildren remained at home, it was deter- 
mined to build a Spanish wall around the city, as a defense, with 
a gate on each side, and port holes at convenient distances. 
This work afforded a safeguard against any sudden surprise by 
the Indians; it at the same time furnished labor and the means 
of procuring subsistance for many individuals, who otherwise 
would, at that period, have been out of employ. This wall, 
which was built by direct taxes on the citizens to be benefitted 
therel>y, probably cost about $20,000. The settlers also in the 
adjacent districts built forts; Mount Fort and Bingham Fort 
iK'ing of that date. This defense and show of constant vigilance, 
very likely, checked the turbulent dispositions of Indians from 
making frequent attempts of ho.stilities in the early days of the 
Northern settlements; but undoubtedly the universallv kind 



I 



MAJOR MOORE CAPTURES THE INDIANS. 25 

policy pursued by the settlers towards the aborigines, more than 
any other cause, resulted in the establishment of permanent peace 
in the county. The Indians became reconciled to their situation, 
and the settlers realized the wisdom of the well-known adage of 
Governor Young's Indian policy — "It is better and cheaper to feed 
them than to fight them." 

Before disposing of the Indian subject, an episode may be 
narrated of the early hostilities : 

During the latter part of the winter of 1850-51, Terikee's 
band, having returned under the leadership of Kattatto, who was a 
nephew of Terikee, located themselves about ten miles down the 
"Weber River, west of Farr's Fort. They began to make trouble 
by killing cattle and stealing, and at length became so saucy that 
it was necessary to take some action. Accordingly Major David 
Moore, with a company of about sixty-five calvary men, surrounded 
the camp one morning at day break, and took them prisoners. 
There were about fifty Xvarrioi's; and, at the onset of the surprise, 
there was a show of resistance, but soon the Indians, seeing that 
resistance would be in vain, passively yielded and not a gun was 
fired. The chief agreed to accompany, with his warriors. Major 
Moore's troop to Farr's Fort, to make terms for peace and their 
future conduct. This was done with all formality, and a treaty in 
writing was made, the Indians agreeing to pay four ponies for every 
horse they stole, and two horses for every horn creature, which was 
to be esteemed as a four fold restitution. The chief men of the 
settlement agreed to do the same on the part of the settlers. The 
band kept their covenant; made particularly solemn to their primi- 
tive minds by its being recorded in document form, bearing their 
signatures or marks, and the treaty became traditional among them. 
In 1855, the people of Weber County witnessed a very severe 
winter, losing nearly all their live stock on the ranges. 

In the fall of 1856, Weber County was divided into four 
wards, and bishops and counselors were appointed to preside over 
them. First Ward, Erastus Bingham, Sen., bishop; I. N. Goodale 
and Armstead Mofatt, counselors; Second Ward, James Browning, 
bishop; Jonathan Browning and Alburn Allen, counselors; Third 
Ward, Chauncey W. West, bishop, Winthrop Farley and Alexander 
Brown, counselors; Fourth Ward, Thomas Dunn, bishop; Ira 
Rice and William Austin, counselors. 

It is not the purpose of this history to follow the ecclesiastical 
line of the Mormon community, only so far as it underlies the 
organic formation of our cities and counties; but here it is worthy 
of the remark, for the understanding of the reader of the next 
generation, that Utah, in its pure Mormon days, was peopled and 
its cities built up on a strict system of colonization, colonies going out 
from their parent under a thorough organization, which was 
perfected in the founding and growth of each settlement; so it 
became properly regular to enact and administer the laws of a 
commonwealth "through the ecclesiastical organization and methods 
3 



26 tullidge's histories. 

of the community, previous to the granting of city charters by the 
Legislature, when the ci^al government proper came into effect. 
Indeed, the enactment and administration of civil laws, by the will 
and vote of the colonists, were necessarily done for the peace and 
order of society; and so also the militia of counties was organized, 
and brought into active service to protect the settlements against 
Indian depredations, in some instances before the counties them- 
selves had an organic existence. Thus there was seen what has so 
often been misexpounded by writers as Mormon ecclesiastic rule — 
the irregular development of the commonwealth, before the setting 
up of the regular municipal government by the Legislative enact- 
ment ; nor should we fail to note that in the defense of these colon- 
ies, in public improvements, the building of school houses, building 
of bridges, opening of canyons and the making of roads, etc., the 
expense was borne at the private cost of the settlers, by donations, 
and by the financial administration under the bishops of wards, 
rather than out of the public taxes, either of the city or county. 
Hence the organization of these bishops' wards, as noted above, is 
proper in the historical record of the growth of the settlements of 
Weber County. 

The first "Ward organized a school district, with William 
Payne, William Elmer and Milton Daley, trustees; who com- 
menced to put up a school house, which, however, was never com- 
pleted. A school district Avas also organized in the second Ward, 
and the trustees. Alburn Allen, Lester J. Herrick and James Owen, 
built a school house. 

This year, 18.56, the canal on the bench was made and the 
water taken out of the Ogden River, for irrigation and other pur- 
poses. It is two miles long and cost §22,000. The work was 
done by the Ogden Irrigating Company, under the supervision of 
I. IJ^. Goodale. The canal for irrigating the lower part of the city 
was taken out of the Weber River in 18.52, and is about seven 
miles in length. 

In the following year, 1857, other public buildings being 
too small to answer the requirements of public worship on the 
Sabbath, the Ogden Tabernacle was built on the square on the 
west side of Main Street, near the north end of the city. It was 
100 by 50 feet outside, and comfortably seated 1,500 persons. 

In 1857, the Buchanan Expedition was sent to L^tah. 



WEBER COrXTY AT THE PIONEER CELEBRATIO.X. 27 



CHAPTER VI. 

Weber Couoty at the Pioneer celebration of the tenth anniversary in Big Cotton- 
wood Canyon. Arrival of the news of the Buchanan Expedition. Pioneer 
Day rises to a second Independence Day. The people resolve to lay their 
city in Ashes. An-ival of Captain Van Vliet. 

The tenth anniversary of the Pioneers had come, and the 
citizens from all parts of the Territory were invited to a grand 
celebration of the day in Big Cottonwood Canyon. 

On the 21st of July, 1857, a company, comprising about 
seventy-five men and their wives, including President Lorin Farr, 
Captain James Brown, the pioneer of Ogden, Colonel Chauncey 
W. West, commander of the district. Adjutant F. A. Brown, and 
other prominent persons, accompanied by the martial and brass 
bands, started from Ogden to attend the celebration. The proces- 
sion, when it got into line, made a very imposing appearance, with 
banners flyingand bands playing as the company, in happy holiday 
procession style, passed through the settlements en route for Big 
Cottonwood "Canyon. They were met everywhere on the way by 
the golden harvest fields, which the industrious husbandmen had 
gathered, who like themselves were leaving the plentiful crops of 
that season, which, typical of their own great joy, were smiling up 
in the tace of bountiful heaven, while they themselves — the senti- 
ent expressions of this mutual gratitude of man and nature — 
wended their way to swell the jubilee of this tenth anniversary of 
the Pioneer Day. 

On the first night the company camped in Salt Lake City, 
to join the general procession under Governor Young, who had 
arranged to proceed to Big Cottonwood Canyon the following 
day. 

On the morning of the 22d of July, the martial and brass 
bands of the companies, which had gathered at headquarters, 
accompanied by the artillery in uniform, serenaded the capital 
"city of the Saints," after which the procession traveled on 
towards the canyon, at the mouth of which it camped for the 
night. Col. Chauncey W. West, Captain James Brown, Lorin Farr 
and others took supper with Father Winslow Farr, who lived at 
Big Cottonwood. 

At daybreak the procession renewed its march up the canyon, 
were it was detained an hour and a half at the gate of the first saw 
mill by the numbering of the wagons, horses and persons in the 
company. 

Thus numbered for the purpose of historical record. Governor 
Young led the van of the long line of carriages and wagons 



28 tullidge's histories. 

towards the summit of the chosen spot, destined to be immortal in 
the pioneer history of this country, and about noon the cavalcade 
reached the beautiful little valley at the Cottonwood Lake, which 
nestles in the bosom of the mountains, 8,000 feet above the level of 
the sea. 

Early in the afternoon, the company, numbering 2,687 persons, 
encamped, and soon all were busy with the arrangements for the 
morrow. 

There were in attendance. Captain Ballo's band, the Nauvoo 
Brass Band, the Ogden City Brass Band, and the Great Salt Lake 
and Ogden martial bands; also of the military, the first company 
of Light Artillery, under Adjutant-General James Ferguson; a 
detachment of four platoons of Life Guards and one platoon of 
lancers, under Col. Burton, and one company of light infantry 
cadets under Captain John W. Young. There were also present as 
interested persons in the military display Col. Chauncey W. West 
and officers representing the Weber military district and other dis- 
trict commanders with their officers. Col. Jesse C. Little was 
grand marshal of the day. 

Early on the following morning the peopled assembled, and 
the choir sang: "On the mountain tops appearing." 

Then, after prayers the stars and stripes were unfurled on the 
two highest peaks in sight of the camp, on two of the tallest trees. 
At twenty minutes past nine a.m., three rounds from the artillery 
saluted the First Presidency, and at a quarter past ten three rounds 
were given for the "Hope of Israel." Captain John W. Young, 
with his company of light infantry, answered to this last salute, and 
went through their military evolutions to the admiration of the 
beholders. This company numbered fifty boys, at about the age of 
twelve, who had been uniformed by Governor Young. 

At noon Abraham 0. Smoot, Mayor of Salt Lake City, who 
had been to the " States " in the interest of the mail contract 
awarded to Mr. Hiram Kimball, rode into camp with Capt. Judson 
Stoddard, 0. P. Rockwell and Judge Elias Smith. These gentle- 
men brought news that the Postmaster General had repudiated the 
Kimball mail contract, and that a United States army under Gen. 
Kearney was on the way to Utah. It was the first tidings of war. 

It was not the mere news that the United States troops were 
on the way that caused the mighty tumult of that pioneer day for 
Captain Stansbury and Col. Steptoe had both been welcomed by 
Governor Young and the people in earlier years — nor was it the 
mere repudiation of the mail contract, which had brought into 
operation the Y. X. Carrying Company at a vast outlay of money 
and home resources to equip the line; but it was the news they 
brought of the designed invasion of their homes — of the approach' 
of an army to subdue the Mormon people or exterminate them 
from the Territory which they had founded. The newspapers of 
America and Europe teemed with these anticipations. It was 
broadly suggested that volunteers from every state should pour 



148421 

NEWS OF WAR. 29 

into Utah, make short work of the saints, possess their cities, fill 
their territory with a Gentile populatioji, and take their wives and 
daughters as spoil, thus breaking up the polygamic institution. 
Such was the news which these brethren brought to the pioneers in 
the midst of their grand celebration of their tenth pioneer anni- 
versarj. 

In a moment the festive song was changed to the theme of 
war; the jubilee of a people, " terrible from the beginning" in their 
faith, swelled into a sublime declaration of independence. Never 
before did such a spirit of heroism so suddenly and completely 
possess an entire community. 

"Brigham was undaunted,'' says Stenhouse in his "Rocky 
Mountain Saints." With the inspiration of such surroundings — 
the grandeur of the Wasatch range of the Rocky ^lountaius every- 
where encircling him, the stately trees whose foliage of a century's 
growi:h towered proudly to the heavens, the multitude of people before 
him who had listened to his counsels as if hearkening to the voice 
of the Most High — men and women who had followed him from 
the abodes of civilization to seek shelter in the wilderness from 
mobs, prattling innocents and youths who knew nothing of the 
world but Utah, and who looked to him as a father for protection — 
what could he not say?" 

The people immediately broke up their celebration and 
returned to their homes, but the majority from the northern settle- 
ments, including the Ogden company, tarried over Sunday in Salt 
Lake City to hear the discourses of President Young and others of 
the leaders relative to the troops that were on the way and the 
resolve of Governor Young to call out the militia of the Territory 
to resist the "invasion." On the Monday, July 27th, the Ogden 
company returned to their city fired by the martial enthusiasm of 
the times. 

It was at the supreme moment of this general commotion 
throughout the territory- of the Mormon people to prepare for a 
determined defence of their homes, which they, as an alternative, 
resolved to lay in ashes ere they allowed "the foot of the invader" 
to cross the sacred thresholds of their domestic sanctuaries, that 
Capt. Van Vliet arrived in the capital city of the saints. He came 
to ask Governor Young to furnish supplies from his people for the 
United States troops, and to obtain his consent for them to quarter 
in these valleys. But he was boldly told that neither would be 
granted ; that the army on the way was one of invasion which they 
would resist with the militia of the territory, if driven to the 
necessity; yet they had no desire for such an issue with the United 
States. 

Captain Van Vliet, however, was personally received by 
Governor Young, Lieut. -General Wells and the Apostles with dis- 
tinguished cordiality, but with an open programme. They took 
him into their gardens. The sisters showed him the paradise that 
their woman hands would destroy if the invading army came. He 



30 tullidge's histories. 

was awed by the prospect — his ordinary judgment confounded by 
such examples. 

He returned to Washington to report to the government, after 
having pledged himself to use his influence to stay the army. 



CHAPTER VII. 



The people of Weber County move south and locate on the Prove Bottoms. The 
return home. 

The next day after the departure of Captain Van Vliet to 
report to the government on the critical affairs of Utah, Governor 
Young put the territory under martial law, and Lieutenant-General 
Wells immediately issued orders to Colonel Chauncey W. West, 
commander of the Weber County military district, also to the com- 
manders of the other districts, to take the field with their militia 
troops, to resist what was considered by the entire community as 
an unjust^ and wicked invasion of their country and their homes. 
~With the merits of their cause the historian has nothing to do in 
these peaceful chapters of the founding, growth, progress and happy 
destiny of Ogden City. We but touch the historical links in the 
chain of events, and refer the enquiring reader to " Tullidge's History 
of Salt Lake City," where the entire history of the "Utah War" 
will be found in its numerous phases and expositions. Suflice here 
to say that the Weber County troops distinguished themselves in 
the field under Colonel West, that the}' were given the post of 
honor throughout the campaign, and that for distinguished service 
their commander, Chauncey W. West, was created Brigadier-General. 
It is also to be noted that in the spring of 1858, the entire people 
of Weber County, in common with all the northern settlements, 
moved south pending the conferences for a peaceful adjustment 
between the leaders of the Mormon community and the Peace 
Commissioners whom President Buchanan sent out to Utah, under 
the advice of that great statesman Jere S. Black, who at that time 
ruled his cabinet, and through the mediation of Col. Thomas L. 
Kane. 

The following is the brief interesting narrative of President 
Lorin Farr of the "move south" of the people of Weber County, 
and the subsequent return to their homes. He says : 

" I received instructions from President Young to move the 
people of Weber County south; but previous to the move I took 
Bishop West down and we selected a location west of Provo, 



THE PEOPLE OF WEBER COUNTY MOVE SOUTH. 31 

between there and the lake, and the greatest portion of the Weber 
Count}^ people located on these bottoms. I came back and directed 
the people of the various wards, organized them under their ditfer- 
ent heads and commenced the move south. Before the 1st of 
May nearly all of Weber County were down on the Provo bottoms 
which we had before selected. Some made their quarters in 
wagons, tents and wickiups, built of long canes and flags. In 
many places the cane houses had the appearance of villages. Here 
on these bottoms the bulk of the Weber County people located 
themselves for two months, having commenced the " move " early 
in May; some, however, went further south. 

" Before leaving home I put in all my crops and raised as much 
wheat that year as I had done in previous years. A few others also 
put in grain before they went but most of them expected never to 
come back, thinking the community were about to make an exodus 
from Utah to some place not then chosen, similar to the exodus 
which they made from ISTauvoo to these mountains under President 
Young's leadership. So a number of men were detailed to stay to 
burn our homes, leaving every settlement of Weber County in ashes, 
and the country as desolate as it was before the arrival of the 
pioneers. This was certain to be done throughout the entire terri- 
tory if the Peace Commissioners sent out by Buchanan failed to 
accomplish the terms of the treaty and Johnston's army re-opened 
hostilities after obtaining a foothold in the country. 

" So all was dark and uncertain when the people of Weber 
County left their homes; but I had faith in our speedy return, and 
said to my family, when our wagons stood at our door ready to 
to start, ' In two months we shall come back again.' With this 
conviction I had planted my crops and I left two men to take care 
of them and my premises. 

" There were about three or four thousand of the people of 
Weber County camped on the Provo bottoms. As the summer 
came on the weather became oppressively hot, the water was bad 
as we had to dig holes to get water, and the people began to com- 
plain of sickness. The feed had also been all eaten off by the 
cattle, our cows dried up, flies were very bad in tormenting our 
cattle and it was with great difficulty that we controlled our stock 
from running off'. 

" I saw that something had to be done at once in moving the 
Weber County people from the Provo bottoms, or much suffering 
would naturally ensue from their condition. So I gathered up 
my stock on the Ist of July and set about moving the people back 
to Weber County, setting the example wnth my family. Having 
made my arrangements to return I went to Provo City where Presi- 
dent Young and his counselors, Heber C. Kimball, and George A. 
Smith were temporarily located, Provo City being headquarters of 
the Church during this exodus. I informed President Young of 
the condition of the people on the Provo bottoms and asked if he 
had any counsel for the Weber people; I also told him of my pur- 



3 2 tullidge's histories. 

pose to return to Ogden with my family unless otherwise directed 
by him'. After redecting a few moments he replied, 'Yes, Brother 
Farr; I want you to go and tell those in the Provo bottoms and all 
from the north to go back as quick as the}' please, and if any of 
them question the authority say that my cattle are gathered up 
and that I am going to take a portion of my family and start for 
home this night.' President Kimball wlio was with him said it 
was the first he liad heard of President Young's intention and he 
was overjoyed at the word to return home. This was at about five 
o'clock in the afternoon of the 1st of July. 

" I returned to the Weber County people and sent the word 
around to all I could that night. Some were so surprised that they 
questioned the message. I told them they could do as they pleased, 
that my cattle were gathered up and that I was going to start with 
my family in the morning. 

" On the 2nd of July I took a portion of my family in my 
carriage and started for Weber County having left orders to have 
every family notified to return home. I arrived at Ogden on the 
fourth of July, just two months to a day from the time we left, and 
found my crops in a flourishing condition, and my buildings and 
premises well taken care of. 

" The Weber County people who left their homes expecting never 
to come back, commenced their homeward journey on the 3rd of 
July, most of them coming right away, while others came scatter- 
ing back at their leisure, not having put in crops, reaching home 
in the fall. Others never came back but remained in the south and 
settled in Utah County and Juab County, while quite a number of 
families who had become weak in the faith went to the Eastern 
States and California." 



RE-PEOPLING OF WEBER COUNTY. 33^ 



CHAPTER VIII. 

Re-peopling of Weber County. Revival of its settlements. Great increase of 
population by the re-opening of emigration. Notes of events from 1858 
to 1888. 

1859. 

During the fall and spring of 1858-9, Weber County was 
re-peopled. The general histor}' of the Territory for the year past 
was common to the whole people, and is too voluminous for detail. 
Ogden was one of the first of the northern cities to revive. In 
February its regular election was held. Lorin Farr was re-elected 
mayor, and with him were elected four aldermen and nine coun- 
cilors. 

A great County improvement marked this year. In 1859, the 
Ogden Canyon road was built, at an immense labor and expense, 
considering the limited population. It cost about $50,000. It is 
about seven miles in length, and opens into another beautiful little 
valley (Ogden), which is now becoming thickly settled by a thriving 
community. Tiiis road shortens the distance between Ogden and 
Bear Lake Valley about fifty miles. The Ogden River, which runs 
through the canyon, sometimes, in the spring of the year, rises 
very high, in consequence of which the company who own the road 
have at various times sustained heavy losses by their bridges and 
much of the road being swept away by floods. This canyon opens 
into a number of smaller canyons and ravines, from which our 
citizens obtained wood for fuel when nearly every other resource 
seemed to be closed against them. A number of saw mills have 
been built at different points up this road, and a great quantity of 
good lumber has been got out each year, which has aided materially 
to build up our city, and to bring it to its present thriving 
condition. 

1860. 

Nothing of special historical note appears in the record of the 
cit3' this year. Ogden, and the county generally, were gradually 
growing and population increased. Emigration had again opened, 
from Europe, which had been suspended by the so-called Utah 
War, and Weber County received its proportion of the emigra- 
tional infusion. 

1861. 

This was the year for the regular municipal election, and it is 
worthy of note that Ogden and Weber County generally, from 
quite an early date, have presented more points of stirring interest 



34 tullidge's histories. 

than any other county in Utah. The municipal rule, however, in' 
1861, still continued under the administration of Lorin Farr, who 
was again elected mayor, February 11. 

1862. 

Richard Ballantyne organized a Sunday School, and appointed 
Robert McQuarrie superintendent. 

This year Lorin Farr built a new grist mill. 

1863. 

This year Chauncey W. West was appointed, by the Presidency 
of the Church, presiding Bishop of the County. He retained his 
counselors, McGaw and Hammond. 

On the 2.5th of October, the several wards of the Church were 
re-organized and designated districts. David M. Stuart was 
appointed president of the First District, L. J. Herrick of the 
Second, and William Hill of the Third; each appointed two coun- 
selors, constituting the presidency over the districts. 

Before 1863 there was no regular commerce in Ogden. Several 
little stores were started in Ogden in 1861, but it was between the 
years 1863-6 that the foundation of Ogden 's commerce was princi- 
pally laid. (See commercial chapter.) 

1866. 

Chauncey W. West & Co. built a large rock grist mill one and 
one-half miles north of the city. 

1869. 

On the 3rd of March, 1869, the first locomotive steamed into 
Ogden. (See chapter on railroads.) In the Legislature of 1868-9, 
Franklin D. Richards was elected Probate Judge of Weber County, 
by vote of the Assembly in joint session. Previous to this date, 
the Probate Judge of that county was Aaron F. Farr, one of the 
veteran band of Mormon pioneers and elder brother of Lorin Farr. 
In March, 1869, Franklin D. Richards removed from Salt Lake City 
to Ogden, his tamily followed in May. F. S. Richards was 
appointed clerk of probate court and in the August following 
F. S. Richards was elected county recorder, Walter Thomson liav- 
ing resigned the position. 

The first number of the Daily Telegraph was published the 
morning after the laying of the last rail on the Promontory, and it 
contained a full account of the proceedings. Early in May, 1869, 
Stenhouse shipped presses and type by wagon. T. G. Odell, a 
printer of iirBt-class repute who had worked on the London Times, 
was engaged as foreman, and he arranged the type and fixed up 
things, preparing for the arrival of the managers. The building in 
Avhich the Telegraph was published, was the old Seventies' Hall. 
The Telegraph I'an for several mouths, and then returned to Salt 



THE JUNCTION CITY. 35 

Lake City. Meantime, Jacques was sent to England on a mission 
to publish the Millennial Star, and Colonel T. G. Webber was 
called into Z. C. M. 1. Thus ended the history proper of the 
Daily Telegraph as well in Salt Lake City as in Ogden. 

1870. 

With the opening of the year 1870 the historical record of 
Ogden becomes better defined and quite sufficient in its collation of 
events, but previous to that date there is nothing compiled beyond 
the barest historical notes. This year the Ogden Junction was 
founded under the auspices of Apostle F. D. Richards and a joint 
stock company, consisting of the leading men of Ogden City. A 
few brethren clubbed together a hundred dollars each. Afterwards 
a company was formed and incorporated. F. D. Richards was its 
first editor. It began existence on Saturday morning, January 1st, 
1870, as a semi-weekly, jiublishing days were every Wednesday and 
Saturday. (See chapter on the press.) In his salutatory the editor 
said, "In ouropinion the time has come when the best interests of all 
concerned require the publication of a paper in Ogden, not particu- 
larly a religious, political or scientific paper, but such a one as shall 
best serve the interests of our City, County and Territory, to give 
the latest news, to advertise business, and to represent ourselves 
instead of being represented by others. * * * While 

our town has become the junction for railroads, it is no less a 
junction for public sentiment." 

In an article on "Our Home Line," the editor notes: "Tlie 
life, bustle and animation which pervade the junction of the three 
railroad lines, are evidences of how rapidly Ogden has grown in a 
short time, and tell of a prosperous and prominent future." 

On Monday, 10th of January, the last rail of the Utah Central 
was laid, and the last spike driven by President Brigham Young 
at the terminus. Salt Lake City, and the people of the two chief 
cities of Utah rejoiced together. Ogden was well represented on 
this auspicious occasion. 

Bishop Chauncey Walker West died at 6 a. m., on the 9th of 
January, 1870, at San Francisco, aged 4.3. His remains were 
brought home to Ogden where a grand funeral was given to him 
on Sunday, January 16th. The chief men from various parts of 
the Territory' took part in the service, the officers of the Nauvoo 
Legion and of the Weber County and Box Elder County militia all 
wearing their uniform, the deceased having held the rank of Brig- 
adier-General of militia, as well as that of Bishop of the county. 

In February, Lester J. Herrick was appointed, by the Presi- 
dency of the Church, to succeed the late Chauncey W. West in the 
Bishopric of Weber County, with Walter Thomson and David M. 
Stuart as his counselors. 

A grand ladies' mass meeting was held in the Tabernacle, 
Ogden City, March 17th, 1870, to protest against the Cullom Bill. 
Mrs. Mary West presided over the meeting. Stirring addresses 



36 tullidge's histories. 

were delivered by the leading ladies, and formal resolutions passed: 

"Resolved, That we, the ladies of Ogden City, in mass meeting' 
assembled, do earnestly protest against the passage of the bill, now 
before Congress, known as the Cullom Bill." 

The entire document was both unique and brave. Similar 
mass meetings were held in various parts of Weber County. 

April 7th, a mass meeting of the citizens generally was held 
in the Tabernacle to express the feelings of the communitj' with 
regard to the Cullom Bill. 

April l(!th. Walker Brothers, from Salt Lake City, opened a 
large merchandise establishment. 

On the 23rd of April, Editor Richards associated with him 
Charles W. Penrose in the editorial department of the Junction. 

In May, several trains convepng excursion parties came up 
from Salt Lake City. 

On the 28th, the Boston Board of Trade excursion party 
arrived in the first through train from the Atlantic to the Pacific. 

In this month Zion's Co-operative Institution rented Mr. 
William Jennings' new buildings, where it opened business several 
weeks later with D. H. Peery, Superintendent. 

Hussey, Dahler & Co. opened the first banking house in Ogden, 
in this month, in Z. C. M. I. building. 

In the beginning of June Woodmansee converted the buildings 
formerly occupied by the Overland Mail Co., for stables, into a 
theatre — a commodious building. Up to this time theatrical per- 
formances had been given in ditterent halls. 

On the morning of the 12th of June, Lady Franklin, widow of 
the famous explorer Sir John Franklin, accompanied by her niece, 
Miss Crawford, and an attendant, arrived in Ogden from the west. 
After spending the day in Ogden, visiting the cauj^on and other 
placis of interest, they left for Salt Lake City by the Utah Central. 

During the month of July chicken pox and small pox appear- 
ing, Mayor Farr declared Ogden City under quarantine regulations, 
by order of the city council. 

August 1st, the Weber County general election came off, giving 
a vote for member of Congress, William H. Hooper, 1,244; George 
R. Maxwell, 12(3; representatives to the Utah Legislature, F. D. 
Richards and Lorin Farr. 

[n December an ordinance was passed by the city council divid- 
ing Ogden City into wards. It bears date December 19th, 1870; 
Lester J. Herrick, chairman; Thomas G. Odell, city recorder. 

1871. 

Ogden City municipal election of this year, held Monday, 
February 13th, gave a new city council. Lorin Farr, founder of 
Ogden, who had been mayor of the city for twenty years, retired, 
and Lester J. Herrick was elected in his place. 

In September, 1871, a mass meeting was held in Ogden relative 



REPRESENTATIVKS OF WEBER COUNTY. 37 

to the building of the Utah Northern. The meeting was not very 
large, but was animated, earnest and enthusiastic. 

During this year tliere was considerable interest and excitement 
in Ogden over the subject of mining, and several mining companies 
were organized. The "controversy" over the "tin mines of Ogden" 
at one time was e^uite animated, the citizens were all alive with the 
prospects, but the tin mines failed to appear. 

1872. 

In February an election was held to send delegates to the State 
Constitutional Convention, which met this year in Salt Lake City 
and made a splendid record. Weber County sent as delegates, F. 
D. Richards, Lorin Farr, L. J. Herrick, G. S. Erb, F. A. Hammond, 
Henry Eudey, Gilbert Belnap and C. VV". Penrose. 

In March a State election was held. People's ticket : for repre- 
sentative in Congress, Frank Fuller; for State Senator from Weber 
and Box Elder Counties, Lorenzo Snow ; for representatives from 
Weber County, Franklin D. Richards, Lorin Farr. 

In August a general election for the Territory was held in the 
county : George Q. Cannon, delegate to Congress ; F. D. Richards 
and Lorin^Farr, representatives trom Weber County to the Utah 
Legislature. 

1873. 

Lester J. Herrick was again elected mayor of Ogden. 

At the April general conference of the Church, Lester J. Her- 
rick, mayor of Ogden, was called on a mission to England. 

On the morning of the 18th of June, Thomas George Odell, 
city recorder and, from the beginning, foreman of the Ogden Junc- 
tion printing office, expired suddenly of apoplexy. The paper was 
put in mourning for him. James Taylor became city recorder. 

On the morning of the 9th of August, a great fire occurred in 
Ogden on the Main Street, and ten stores were totally destroyed. 
The fire broke out about three o'clock in the morning. The 
Junction, in the evening, said: "All along the street store- 
keepers, assisted by the crowd, were packing their goods into the 
road; merchandise of all kinds was thrown out of Z. C. M. I., 
while the flames shot upward and the breeze carried the embers 
northward a distance of a quarter of a mile, and in some instances 
setting on fire stuit" that was being removed in wagons. Suddenly 
the wind lulled, the fire-fighters redoubled their eftbrts, and about 
six o'clock were fortunately successful in obtaining the victory over 
the destroying element.'' 

The losses wei-e heavy; that of Z. C. M. I. being the largest, 
which was the only house insured. 

1874. 

The Ogden Iron Company may be given the opening notice of 
this year, in which it began its existence. 



38 tullidge's histories. 

The completion of the Utah Northern to Franklin, connecting 
Weber and Cache Counties, was an early event of the year, over 
which the people of both counties congratulated themselves. 

The Fourth of July was well celebrated at Ogden this year in 
Farr's Grove; F. D. Richards presided, Bishop L. J. Herrick was 
chaplain. The feature of the ceremonies was the oration of F. S. 
Richards, Esq. 

In December, a fire brigade was organized by the chief, Joshua 
Williams. The fires during the past year had fairly waked the city 
up to this public need. 

1875. 

In January, in the business of the city council, the committee 
on claims reported that the Ogden Iron Manufacturing Company 
had complied with the terms ot their contract with the city, so far 
as to be entitled to the sum of $2,500, part of the bonus per articles 
of agreement, and recommended the payment of the amount. The 
recommendation was adopted. 

The city council and leading citizens of Ogden gave a grand 
reception to Governor Axtell on his first visit to Ogden. On his 
arrival they escorted him to the Beardsley House, and at the earnest 
request of the people he consented to address them. The paper of 
welcome, prepared by the city council, was read by Councilor C. 
W. Penrose, after which the Governor made a very satisfactory 
speech. 

A general county election was held in August. 

In September, the Ogden Iron Manufacturing Company sus- 
pended their works for lack of means. 

On Sunday, October 3rd, President U. S. Grant arrived in 
Ogden. He was met by Governor Emery and the committee 
appointed by the Federal officials and Salt Lake Gentiles, and by 
another party appointed by the Salt Lake City council, consisting 
of Hon. George Q. Cannon, Aldermen Alexander Pyper and A. H. 
Raleigh, Ex-Governor Brigham Young, Hons. John Taylor, Brig- 
ham Young, Jr., Joseph F. Smith, John T. Caine, H. B. Clawson, 
several city officials and other gentlemen from Salt Lake, with a 
number of ladies. Oh the part of Ogden, the President of the 
United States was met and greeted by an immense crowd of citizens 
and the Ogden Brass Band, led by Captain Pugh. The municipal 
committee and representatives of the Ogden Junction, Deseret News 
and Salt Lake Herald were introduced to President Grant by Hon. 
George Q. Cannon. On his return from Salt Lake City, while the 
train was being shifted from the Central Pacific to the Union 
Pacific line, President Grant asked a number of questions concern- 
ing the country and its resources in the neighborhood of Ogden, 
and appeared to be interested in the information imparted in reply. 

1876. 

The Y'oung Men's Literary Association of Ogden in the begin- 



PRESIDENT GRANT AND DOM PEDRO AT OSDEN. 39 

ning of the year reported itself favorably; -said it had been in exist- 
ence three winters, and instanced as the result of its work the 
improvement made in public speaking by the young men of Ogden. 

This society commenced its existence in 1873, under the 
auspices of Apostle F. I). Richards, Mayor Herrick, Joseph Stan- 
ford, J. A. West, F. S. Richards and other patrons of education 
for the young men, while the ladies" side of this educational move- 
ment was started by Mrs. Jane Richards and her aides. The object 
of the movement was the improvement in the culture of the young 
men and ladies. Lectures were delivered by F. S. Richards, C. W. 
Penrose, T. Wallace, F. T>. Richards, Joseph Stanford, Jane S. 
Richards, Harriet Brown, Sarah Herrick, Eliza R. Snow, Zina D. 
Young and others, besides several literary gentlemen and lawyers 
from Salt Lake City and the academies, among whom was Professor 
Karl G. Maeser. 

In April Dom Pedro, Emperor of Brazil, arrived in Ogden on 
his way home. 

The month of May commenced with a new directory of the 
Ogden Iron Manufacturing Company. The Utah directors were, 
Joseph R. Walker, C. W. Bennett, George M. Scott, Fred Zeimer, 
Charles Woodmansee and George T. Brown. 

The marked event of this year was the grand Centennial cele- 
bration, which, in behalf of Utah, was held at Ogden. From all 
directions thousands of visitors poured into the Junction City by 
special trains. Among those who came from Salt Lake City were 
Governor Emery and the orator of the day, C. W. Bennett, Esq. 
The societies and trades walked, illustrating their guilds and 
crafts, and Mormon and Gentile orators vied with each other to 
give a sonorous eloquence to celebrate the first century of our 
nation's birth. 

The city council, while anxious for the success of the Ogden 
Iron Works, refused to appropriate any more means, having already 
advanced $2,500 to the company. 

Small pox aflBicted the city in October. 

Early in November the central committee ot the People's 
Party of Weber County issued a circular to the electors of Weber 
Count}', urging them to duty at the coming general election. 

Ogden gave Cannon 454 votes; Baskin, 144; Weber County, 
for Cannon, 1,356; for Baskin, 200. 

1877. 

At the beginning of this year the fearful scourge, the small 
pox, which had ravaged the city had subsided. 

Maj'or Lester J. Herrick resigned and Lorin Farr was again 
elected mayor of Ogden City. 

On the 11th of June, Walter Thomson died of heart disease. 
He was for years one of Ogden's most prominent men. He had 
served as clerk of the county, and repeatedly as a councilor and 
alderman of the city, being elected to the council as early as 1861. 



40 iullidge's historiks. 

He was one of the fouude/'s of the Ogden Junction, and its business 
manager. 

In July another fire occurred, consuming a large portion of the 
business quarters of Main Street. The loss was about $17,000, sus- 
tained principally by Messrs. Gale and Boyle. 

On the 29th of August, at one minute past four o'clock in the 
afternoon, President Brigham Young died. Ogden was immedi- 
ately put in mourning. Apostle F. D. Richards had gone to Salt 
Lake several days previous, to watch the expiring life of the great 
founder of Utah. 

1878. 

On the 10th of January, an interesting history of the Young 
Men's Mutual Improvement Association of Weber County was 
addressed to G. F. Gibbs, corresponding secretary of the institu- 
tion, in which the writer, Apostle F. D. Richards, said: 

" I would now inform you that on Sunday, the 20th day of 
April, A. I). 1873, about a dozen j'oung persons, men, met at my 
house, for the purpose of taking into consideration the importance 
of organizing our young men into a society for their mutual 
improvement. President George Q. Cannon met with us and an 
organization was determined upon. Sundry rules were adopted, 
meetings were held weekly and a light assessment, by mutual con- 
sent, conveniently bore the necessary expenses for the first season. 

" In order to more freely extend the benefits of the society, and 
induce accessions to its numbers, the constitution was modified and 
only such rules adopted as appeared necessary to conduct meetings 
in an orderly manner, and its numbers were greatly increased, 
including several not more than ten years of age. With increase 
of numbers came increasing interest until our City Hall, the usual 
place of meeting, was regularly well filled on each Wednesday 
evening. 

"Feeling a deep interest in the success of this new movement 
I retained the presiding charge of the association, and have attended 
every meeting when able to be present. 

"I find the interest in these meetings has extended to all parts 
of the city, and to all the larger settlements of our country where 
societies are now organized, and a very marked improvement is 
noticed in tlie general inclinations, aims and deportment of our 
young people. While this was in progress Mrs. Jane S. Richards 
commenced to get the young ladies and girls together and to speak 
to them and they to speak to each other, with such success that 
Sister Eliza R. Snow and other distinguished ladies came from 
Salt Lake Cit}', organized and held meetings from time to time, 
with them, which extended and intensified the interest, till the 
young men wrote Sister Snow, to permit them to meet with the 
young ladies and listen to an address from her, which she cheer- 
fully consented to, and had the City Hall crowded to its utmost 
■capacity with attentive listeners. 



T. M. M. I. A. OF WEBER COUNTY. 41 

" After the cessation of the small-pox in 1877, the meetings of 
the Associations were renewed, Mrs. Kiehards and myself keeping 
charge of them until after the organization of the Weber Stake of 
Zion, when on the loth of June, 1877, the 'Young Men's Mutual 
Improvement Association' was more fully organized with a full set 
of officers." 

The following were the officers: Joseph A. West, President; 
David Kay, iirst counselor; Moroni Poulter, second counselor; 
Ephraim T. Myers, recording secretary; Robert P. Harris, corres- 
ponding secretary; Willard Farr, treasurer; William James, 
librarian. 

The society continued to hold its meetings regularly once a 
week, in the City Hall. It had engaged such prominent men as 
Hon. Thomas Fitch, Col. Akers, Judge Hagan, Apostle Orson 
Pratt, Hon. Moses Thatcher, Charles WT Penrose, Karl G. Maeser, 
David M. Stuart, William W. Barton, Joseph Stanford, Franklin S. 
Richards, Thomas II. Hadley and others to lecture to them on 
various interesting subjects. 

In the beginning of this year, Fourth Street assumed quite a 
business appearance. But a few months before this street contained 
only one or two business houses, had no plank sidewalks, and but 
little else to distinguish it frtmi any other street of the city unfre- 
quented by business. It could now boast of some twelve or four- 
teen business establishments. 

The new post office, the bank of Ilarkness & Co., the McISTutt 
store and the Opera House were among the principal of these 
buildings which gave Fourth Street this energetic start. Mr. L. B. 
Adams' new building soon followed. 

A Catholic fair was held in the interest of that society for edu- 
cational purposes. 

The title to the property known as " The Ogden House " passed 
into the hands of J. E. Dooley & Co., bankers of this city. " It is 
their purpose," said the Junction, "to erect an elegant banking 
house on the corner and anotlier fine mercantile house on the south. 
And so Ogden grows on every hand, our enterjirising citizens being 
determined to make it the great business center of the Territory." 

In February the Ogden attorneys moved in the matter of 
obtaining one or more sessions per annum of the Third District 
Court for this city. 

In May the telephone system was well established, telephones 
connecting the offices and dwellings of most of the business men. 

The corner stone of the Catholic Convent school was laid, with 
due ceremonies, on Sunday evening, July 14th. The musical exer- 
cises were under the direction of^Miss R. Devoto, of St. Mary's 
Academy, Salt Lake; the discourse was delivered by Father 
Scanlan. 

Fred Kiesel commenced building on Foiirth Street, and Farr's 
storehouse was commenced about the same time. The city was 
greatly improvinoj in its business portions. 
4 



42 tullidge's histories. 

The Junction of December 12th, published a report by L. F. 
Moiich, 8U[ieriiiteudeat of district schools of Weber County, which 
gives the following statistics for 1878: school population, 2,892, an 
increase of 16 per cent, over last year; enrollment 2,205, increase 
over last report 411, or 87 per cent, of school population enrolled. 
The amount paid to teachers was !57,731.05 (in 1878, §(3,2t32.0o). 
Number of days taught school, 1.5(i. Number of teachers, 42 (35). 

This year, also, the fine Catholic School on the corner of Sixth 
and Main Streets, a large three-story building, was completed and 
occupied. 

On December 11th, the Junction agitated the question of a sys- 
tem of street railways. 

1879. 

On Jaiuuiry 15th the Ogden Junction gave another instance of 
its'progressive spirit by calling for the electric light — which call 
took over three years to be answered. 

In March the work of surveying the proper route for the sewer 
was commenced under the direction of Joseph A. West. 

The Junction, on April 20th, advocated the establishment of a 
high school or academj-, a desideratum which was ultimately fulfilled 
in the erection of the Central School. 

In its issue of .June 19th, the Junction advocated the establish- 
ment of water works, a subject whieh commenced to occupy public 
attention and arouse increasing private discussion among business 
men and the citizens generally. 

The month July records the erection of soap works, by Batch- 
elder & Co., in Ogden. 

At about ll:-30 p. m., July 21st, a storehouse on Fifth Street, 
belonging to W. G. Child, was burned down. 

In the eveuiug of July 31st, the remains of the late Joseph 
Standing, a Mormon missionary' murdered by a mob iu Georgia, 
July 21st, arrived in Ogden, where they were paid a fitting tribute 
of respect by large numbers of his mourning co-religionists. 

The Fourth Ward Brass Band, Prof John Fowler leader, was 
organized August 12th. 

The city council, in its session of August 8th, took the question 
of the establishment of water works vigorously in hand, thus laying 
the corner stone to that great public improvement Avhich has since 
developed into so beneficial and popular a system. 

At 10 o'clock a. m., August 28th, the solemn ceremonies of 
laying the corner stone of the new Central School-house were held. 
Hon. F. D. Richards, assisted by the trustees and Superintendent L. 
F. Monch, laid the corner stone and afterwards offered the dedica-* 
tory prayer, after which suitable addresses were made on the sub- 
ject of education in genei-al and its progress and development in 
Ogden. 

October 30th, General Grant and wife passed through Ogden; 
Governor Emery delivered an address of welcome. 



PRESIDENT R. B. HAYES IN OGDEN. 43 

1880. 

January 29th, a joint committee of the county and city canals 
located the spot for the new bridge across the Weber, west of the 
depot. 

February 3rd, Thomas Heninger was arrested on an indictment 
for bigamy found bj' the grand jury of the Third District Court, 
Kovember, 1879. He was taken to Salt Lake City, next morning, 
and was accompanied by Richards iS: Williams, his counsel. 

February 19th, Dr. McKenzie started the temperance move- 
ment in Ogden by an address in the Union Opera flouse. A 
reform club was founded, which fell to pieces after a few months 
duration, the temperance cause, so-called, being subsequently resus- 
citated by the establishment uf a Good Templar lodge. 

February 20th, the bill attaching the northern counties to the 
Second District and making Ogden the seat of the new First Dis- 
trict with two terms a year, became a law. 

February 29th, Governor Murray meets with a formal reception. 

March 22nd, the ground was cleared for the new building of 
Z. C. M. I. 

April 3rd, a gold watch and chain were presented to Ex-Gov- 
ernor Emery as a testimonial of the respect of citizens of Ogden, 
regardless of party. The pleasant aftair came olf in the Court 
House. 

September 5th, President R. B. Hayes and party arrived in 
Ogden, from the east. 

September 26th, the dedication of the Central school-house 
took place. 

November 12th, the city council passed a resolution that "the 
Brush electric light be adopted on the conditions proposed bv Mr. 
Ruthrauff. 

The oificial number of registered voters in AVeber County this 
j-ear was 2,779 (1,-173 males and 1,306 females). Ogden has 1,168 
(602 males, 566 females). 

1881. 

February 16th witnessed the last issue of the Ogden Junction 
after a little more than eleven years" existence. 

On the 11th of May the Ogden Electric Light Company was 
incorporated, with David F. AValker, president ; James Horrocks, 
vice-president ; G. S. Erb, secretary; H. Schwabe, assistant secretary. 

On the l!tth, the cityliecame a party to the Ogden Water Com- 
pany, taking the controlling interest in the stock. The company at 
once set to work to develop the system, which was successfully 
operated, and the main line, from al)out one and a half miles up the 
Ogden Canyon to the reservoir on Fourth Street, was completed by 
December, and distributing pipes had been laid along the principal 
streets of the city. 

The same day witnessed the first lighting of the electric light 



44 tullidge's histories. 

tower; bands were out and the streets were crowded with people. 
The experiment was only partially successt'ul. 

June 20th, many of tlie stores were lit up by the electric light 
for the first time. 

June 21st, there was an old folks' excursion from Salt Lake City. 
Presidents Taylor, Cannon and Woodruff participated; also Bishop 
Hunter and other veterans. About five thousand people gathered 
at Farr's Grove. The recreation was accompanied with singing, 
feasting, dancing and speeches. It was the finest atiair of the kind 
ever held in the Territory. 

On the 2nd of July, appeared the following 

PROCLAMATION : 

Whereas, a great oalaruity lias befallen the Nation, its Chief Magistrate, Pres- 
ident Garfield, having been wounded (supposed to be mortally) and prostrated 
by the bullet of the assassin ; and 

iVIiernis, the citizens of Ogden City had previously arranged for a celebration 
of Independence Day. 

Be it kiKiwii that I, Lester J. Herrick, by virtue of my office as Mayor of 
Ogden City, do advise the citizens of said city to refrain from all festivities on the 
Fourth of July, 1881, the lOSih anniversary of the Independence of the United 
States, from deference and respect to the President ; that all places of business be 
closed on that day, and the proprietors of all places wherein intoxicating liquors 
are sold are hereby forbidden to open the same on the fourth day of July, 1881. 

L. J. Herrick, 

Mayor of Ogden City, 
July 2nd, A. D. 1881, Utah Territory, U. S. A. 

A circular was also sent to Mayor Herrick, signed by Presi- 
dents John Taylor, George Q. Cannon and Joseph F. Smith, rec- 
ommending the suspension of the celebration throughout the Terri- 
tory, expressive of the national mourning. 

At a later date the central committee of Ogden gave notice of 
a meeting for the purpose of returninsi' all moneys which had been 
subscribed for the cclel)ration of the Fourth. 

It was iinally, however, concluded by the various committees 
and the citizens of Ogden generally to hold a grand celebration of 
tlie Fourth and Twenty-fourth of July combined. The celebration 
came oti" in Lester Park on the 24th, and the Ogden Herald headed 
its very elaborate description of the scene and the occasion — "A 
Glorious Gala Day in Ogden History." 

1882. 

In this year Ogden put on quite a new appearance. Architect- 
urally, in some of its features, it rivaled Salt Lake City. The 
Broom Hotel rose on the corner where there has been so long a 
row of little shops which gave an insignificant appearance to the 
business part of the city, but where stands now the finest hotel 
between Omaha and San Francisco. A number of other buildings 



OfiDEN CITY INCORPORATED. 45 

of grand pretensions were erected on Main and Fifth Streets. 
During the spring and summer the busy workmen gave life and 
bustle to these streets, and Ogden in a year seemed to advance a 
decade. 

1883. 
At the election of February 1883, in consequence of the pass- 
age of the Edmunds bill, Mayor Herrick and nearly all of his muni- 
cipal compeers were retired and a new council, purely mouogamic, 
was elected by the People's Party, with David H. Peery, Mayor. 

1884. 
There was a vigorous administration during this and the pre- 
ceding year, many improvements were made by the City Fathers 
and a general growth of the city into commercial importance. Similar 
was the case in the subsequent years, under the administration of 
Mayor Eccles and his council composed of first class business men. 

1887. 
In April the Ogden Chamber of Commerce was organized. 

1888. 
This year the new City Hall was built and the Union Depot 
advanced. Thus has Ogden grown from the old Goodyear Fort to 
a first class railroad and commercial city. 



CHAPTER IX. 



Municipal Notes. Table of Elections. 

Ogden City was incorporated on the sixth of February 1851, 
by the provisional government of the State of Deseret. Like that 
of Salt Lake City its city council was brought into existence by the 
same provision as that establislied in the charter of Salt Lake 
City, approved January 9th, 18.51, which reads: 

Sec. 47. The Mayor, Aldermen and Councilors of said city 
shall, in the first instance, be appointed by the governor and State 
of Deseret; and shall hold office until superceded by the first 
election. 

Pursuant to the pronsion of its charter the first election of the 
City of Ogden was held on the first Monday of April 1851, which 
gave the following return as the original council : 



46 tullidge's histories. 

the municipal government. 

Major, Lorin Farr; Aldermen: Charles 11. Dana, Francillo 
Durf'ee, James G. Browning, D. B. Dille; Conncilors, James Lake, 
James Brown, Levi Miirdoek, Bryant W. Nowlan, Cyrus C. Can- 
field, Joseph Grover, Samuel Stiekney, George W. Pitkins, John 
Shaw, Sen. And the following city officers were appointed by the 
council: Recorder, David Moore; Assessor and Collector, D. B. 
Dille; Treasurer, Isaac Clark; Marshal, B. W. Nowlan. 

In 1853, with one exception, the same persons were again 
elected and appointed to similar positions in the city government. 

The following is taken from the minutes of the city council 
held March 17th, 1855. 

" According to a special session called by the mayor, the coun- 
cil met at Ogden City, in the school-house, at one o'clock, p. m. 
Absent of the old members: Thomas Dunn, E. Bingham. Prayer 
by Moses Clawson. Minutes of previous council were then read 
and accepted. The clerk being absent it was moved and carried 
that William Critchlow act as clerk pro tern. 

" The following Aldermen then took and subscribed the oath 
of office: 

James G. Browning, Abraham Palmer, Henry Standage, Cran- 
dal Dunn. Also Lorin Farr was sworn into the office of Mayor by 
William Critchlow, Justice of the Peace. The following councilors 
were then sworn by the mayor: 

" Ithemar Sprague, G. Merrill, B. F. Cummings, Moses Claw- 
son, G. W. Brimhall, R. E. Baird, L. D. Wilson. No reports ot 
committees nor petitions were presented." 

At this meeting an ordinance was passed "authorizing the 
assessment of a poll-tax on every able-bodied person in Ogden City, 
for the year 1855." David Moore was appointed superintendent ot 
the building of the wall around the city. 

At the next meeting held March 24th, William Critchlow was 
appointed clerk of the council, vice, David Moore, resigned. 

April 21st, James G. Browning was appointed city treasurer. 
Previous to this date a fine of $1.00 was imposed on each member 
who absented himself from the council meeting without giving a 
satisfactory reason therefor. But on this date the "fine ordinance" 
was repealed. 

On May 5th, Richard D. Sprague was appointed city marshal. 

On Jul>' 14th, 1855, an ordinance was passed creating estray 
pounds and pound keepers. 

On May 19th, an ordinance was passed regulating the size that 
adobies should be made. 

On August 11th, 1855, an ordinance was passed "incorporating 
the Ogden City Canal Company." 

On October 1.3th, 1855, Mayor Lorin Farr introduced "an ordi- 
nance regulating common schools," which was passed by the coun- 
cil. 



THE MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT. 47 

On December 29th, an ordinance was passed authorizing the 
organization of the police force in Ogden (R. D. Sprague had pre- 
viously been appointed captain of tlie police, on Xovember 10th). 

December 20th, 185.3, ''a Resolution was introduced into the 
council by Jonathan Browning, requesting Joel Ferrell to suspend 
his operations of distilling spirituous liquors until further instruc- 
tions by the council, as all the wheat in this part of the county will 
be needed to sustain the population with bread this season." 

April 6th, 1857. 

An election was held at which the following persons were 
elected : 

Mayor, Lorin Farr; Aldermen, James Brown, Edward Bun- 
ker, Erastus Bingham, Jr., Thomas Dunn; Councilors, Abraham 
Palmer, Chauncey W. West, Gilmon Merrill, Aaron F. Farr, Isaac 
N. Goodale, Robert E. Baird, G. W. Brimhall, M. D. Merrick, 
Edward Farley. 

June 27th, 1857, William G. Paine was appointed city marshal. 

1859. 

On the 14th of February, the following were elected to serve 
in the city council for two years : 

Mayor, Lorin Farr; Aldermen, James Brown, Charles R. 
Dana, Chauncey W. West, Thomas Dunn; Councilors, Abraham 
Palmer, I. jST. Goodale, Gilmon Merrill, G. W. Brimhall, Erastus 
Bingham, Jr., Edward Bunker, Jonathan Browning, Edward Far- 
ley, Lorenzo Clark. 

" They were nominated and then elected by acclammation with- 
out one dissenting vote, all being done at one meeting. 

"After which, I, William Critchlow, Recorder in and for the 
city of Ogden, declared to the public assembled, that the above 
named persons had been duly elected for a cit}- council, in and for 
the citv of Ogden, the dav and date iirst above written. 

"William Critchlow, 
" City Recorder." 

Following is the form of oath that was administered to the 
newlv elected oHicers: 

" Territory of Utah, "] 

" County of Weber, V 

" Ogden City, j " Personally came before me, an 

acting clerk in and for the city of Ogden, James Brown, who upon 
his solemn oath says he will well and trul\' perform the duties of 
Alderman, in and for the city of Ogden, according to the best of 
his skill and ability. 

" Subscribed and sworn to this loth day of February, A. D., 
1859, before me, William Critchlow, City Recorder, 

"James Brown." 

May 14th, James McGaw was appointed city marshal. 



> 



I 



48 tullidge's histories. 

1861. 

February 11th, an election was held in Ogden City with the 
following results: 

Mayor, Lorin Farr; Aldermen, Jonathan Browning, I. N. 
Goodale, Francis A. Brown ; Councilors, James Brown, Walter 
Thomson, Nathaniel Leavitt, Lester J. Herrick, C. W. West. 

William Critchlow, Recorder, ) • *. a 

James McGaw, Marshal, / '^PPomtea. 

1863. 

Election held February 1st. 

Mayor, Lorin Farr; Aldermen, Francis A. Brown, Richard 

Ballantyne, David Nelson; Councilors, L N. Goodale, Lester J. 

Herrick, Walter Thomson, Francis A. Hammond, Miles M. Jones. 

Wm. Critchlow, Recorder. 
1865. 
Election held February 13th. 
Mayor, Lorin Farr; Aldermen, Francis A. Brown, Lester J. 
Herrick, Israel Canfield; Councilors, Chauncey W. West, I.N. 
Goodale, Walter Thomson, M. H. Jones, David M. Stuart. 

Wm. Critchlow, Recorder, 
William N. Fife, Marshal. 
1867. 
Election held February 11th. 
Mayor, Lorin Farr; Aldermen, Lester J. Herrick, Israel Can- 
field, Joseph Parry; Councilors, C. W. West, I. N. Goodale, D. M. 
Stuart, Walter Thomson, Jonathan Browning. 

1869. 
Election held February 8th. 
Mayor, Lorin Farr; Aldermen, F. A. Brown, Lester J. Herrick, 
Joseph Parry; Councilors, C. W. West, James McGaw, Walter 
Thomson, Josiah Leavitt, Wm. W. Burton. 

June 6th, 1870, Alderman Parry resigned, and Andrew J. 
Shupe was appointed to till the vacancy. Same year C. W. West 
died, and Israel Canfield was appointed to fill the vacancy in the 
council. 

1871. 
Election held February 13th. 
Mayor, Lester J. Herrick; Aldermen, F. A. Brown, W. Thom- 
son, Wm. W. Burton ; Councilors, Israel Caniield, David Moore, 
Winslow Farr, Charles W. Penrose, Horatio B. Scoville. 

1873. 
Election held February 10th. 
Mayor, Lester J. Herrick; Aldermen, F. A. Brown, Walter 
Thomson, David Moore; Councilors, Israel Canfield, Chas. W. 
Penrose, Winslow Farr, D. M. Stuart, Joseph Parry. 

I 



THE MUNICIPAL (iOVERNMENT. 49 

June 21st, 1873, James Taylor was appointed City Recorder, 
vice, Thomas G. Odell, deceased. 

1875. 

Election held February 8th. 

Mayor, Lester J. Herrick; Aldermen, F. A. Brown, "Walter 

Thomson, David Moore; Councilors, C. W. Penrose, D. M. Stuart, 

Israel Can field, Joseph Stanford, Joseph Parry; James Taylor, 

Eecorder. 

1877. 
Election held February 12th. 
Mayor, Lorin Farr; Aldermen, F. A. Brown, Walter Thom- 
son, John Reeve, D. M. Stuart; Councilors, C. W. Penrose, Robert 
McQuarrie, Joseph Parry, .Job Pingree, Barnard White. 

June 11th, 1877, Alderman Walter Thomson died; and Israel 
Caufield was appointed to succeed him in the council. 

1879. 

Election held February 10th. 

Mayor, Lester J. Herrick; Aldermen, C. F. Middleton, Joseph 

Stanford, William B. Hutchins, D. M. Stuart; Councilors, Robt. S. 

Watson, Israel Canfield, W. W. Burton, Edwin Stratford, Robert 

McQuarrie. 

March 5th, 1880, R. S. Watson resigned. Richard Ballantyne 
was appointed to succeed him. 

1881. 

Election held Feb. 14th. 

Mayor, Lester J. Herrick; Aldermen, D. M. Stuart, C. F. 

Middleton, Joseph Stanford, Wm. B. Hutchins; Councilors, N. C. 

Flygare, Job Pingree, Winslow Farr, Wm. W. Burton, S. H. Hig- 

ginbotham. 

On March 15th, 1882, D. M. Stuart, C. F. Middleton, IST. C. 
Flygare, Job Pingree Winslow Farr and Wm. W. Burton, being 
disqualified by the Edmunds law any longer to serve, resigned, and 
the following persons were appointed to fill the vacancies : Edwin 
Stratford, Robert McQuarrie, Wm. H. Wright, Thomas Doxey, 
Joseph Farr, .Joseph F. .Johnson. 

April 21st, 1882, Wm. H. Wright resigned and Thomas D. 
Dee was appointed to succeed him. 

1883. 
Election held February 12th. 
Mayor, David H. Peery ; Aldermen, Edwin Stratford, X. Tan- 
ner, Jr., Joseph Farr, F. A. Miller; Councilors, Samuel Horrocks, 
John Pincock, Richard -J. Taylor, Alfred Folker, John A. Boyle; 
Recorder, Thomas J. Stevens; Marshal, Thomas H. Ballantyne. 

1885. 
Election held Feb. 9th. 
Mayor, David H. Peery; Aldermen, Angus T. Wright, Robert 



s/ 



50 tullidge's histories. 

McQuarrie, David Eecles, Thomas I). Dee; Councilors, Wm. 
Driver, John Pineock, Ben E. Rich, Alfred Folker, John A. Boyle; 
Recorder, T. J. Stevens; Marshal, Thos. H. Ballautvne. 

1887. 

Election held Feb. 14th. 

Mayor, David Eecles ; Aldermen, August T. Wright, Joseph 

A. West, John Reeve, Thomas D. Dee; Councilors, John A. Boyle, 

Joseph Clark, Charles C. Brown, George Smuin, Joseph Jackson ; 

Recorder, Thomas J. Stevens; Marshal, Thomas H. Ballantyne. 



LYNNE. 

1849. 

Lynne, a small settlement about two and one-half miles north 
of Ogden, in early times more generally known as Bingham Fort, 
was tirst settled in 1849 by Captain James Brown, Esith Rice, 
George and Frederick Barker, Charles Burke and others. 

1850. 
Erastus Bingham, S. Perry, Charles A. Dana, I. X. Goodale, 
Charles Hubbard and others located in the settlement. In Decem- 
ber, E. Bingham was ordained bishop, Stephen Perry and Charles 
Hubbard his counselors. 

1851. 
In order to irrigate the land designed to be brought under cul- 
tivation, water was brought out from Mill Creek by a small ditch 
cut under the direction of I. N. Goodale. 

1852. 
A school house was built under tlie supervision of the trustees, 
I. K. Goodale and Henry Gibson. The main water sect was made 
by the people under the direction of I. X. Goodale, from Mill 
Creek. Other families located in the settlement. 

1853. 
The settlers commenced to build a fort wall as a protection 
against Indians, who were very numerous and disposed to be trou- 
blesome and hostile. 

1854. 
William B. Hutchins and famih', and several other families 
from Salt Lake Cit\', located in the settlement in the fall. Crops 
were almost entirely destroyed by grasshoppers, scarcely sufficient 
being saved for the people to subsist upon until another harvest. A 
mild winter materially favored their destitute situation. 

1855. 
In the spring, work was resumed on the fort wall under the 
supervision of I. X. Goodale. It w^as designed to build it 120x60 



PLAIN CITY. in 

rods, six feet thick and twelve feet hi<;h, but it was never entirely 
finished tor the reasun that in the tall of this year Presidents 
YouniT, Kimball, and others, on a visit to the settlement, counseled 
the people to break up and move to Oofden, as Lvnne was not ct)n- 
sidered a fit or suitable place to Iniild a large city. The greater 
portion of the people responded to the advice and moved to Ogden. 
The few families remaining were placed in charge of Elder Thomas 
Richardson, of Slaterville,'^R..E. Baird, William B. Hutchins and 
John Laird acting as presiding teachers. 



PLAIN CITY. 

Towards the latter part of March, 1859. a number of families 
settled on a tract of land west of Slaterville and north of Weber 
river; prominent among this number were Messrs. J. Spiiers, J. S. 
Skeen and D. Collett, from Lehi, and John Carver, from Kaysville, 
and a few from Salt Lake City. The snow at this time laid deep 
upon the ground, and ever^-thing looked forbidding and wore a 
gloomy aspect, but a determination was formed by the sturdy set- 
tlers, to hold their ground until winter disappeared. They were 
gratified after a month's sojourn to see the snow disappear under 
the softening rays of the sun. A townsite was laid oti" in blocks 
twenty-six rods square, and each block in four lots of one acre and 
nine rods eaeh. A large field was also surveyed and fenced in — a 
joint enclosure. 

In the month of May, 1859, President Lorin Farr and Bishop 
C. W. West visited the settlers, organized a branch of the Church, 
appointed Elders William W. Raymond, president: l)aniel Collett 
and Jeppa G. Folkman, his counselors; J. Spiers, secretary; and 
designated the settlement — Plain City — a very appropriate name, 
for at this period the sage prairies and the distant mountains with a 
glimpse of the lake, formed the landscape. 

Plain City ranks among the first settlements of Weber County 
for her fine orchards, in all about one hundred and ten acres, apples 
and peaches in large quantities and fine fiavor, pears and plum's ot 
all kinds. The favorite occupation is the cultivation of the straw- 
berry; there is about twenty acres of that luscious fruit, furnishing 
a larger revenue to the settlers than does their entire wheat crop, as 
they only aim to raise sufficient wheat for family consumption. 
The potato is also extensively cultivated, furnishing handsome 
returns. Some fifty car loads (each three hundred and fifty bushels) 
has been shipped direct to places outside the Territory the present 
season, at fifty cents a bushel. 

Present population about seven hundred, largely Scandinavian, 
and fully three-fourths of foreign birth. Soil, a sandy loam, but 
little irrigation needed ; notwithstanding this fact about eleven 



52 ' tullidoe's histories. 

miles of canals have been made, at a cost of one thousand dollars 
per mile. From the first settling of Plain City to the present time, 
about twenty thousand dollars have been expended on improve- 
ments of this character for irrigation purposes. 



HUNTSVILLE. 

1860. 
The settlement derives its name from Captain Jeflerson Hunt, 
who, with his sons, Charles Wood, and a few others, located in this 
section of country in 18(30. The valley embraces about seventeen 
thousand acres of tillable and pasture land, is situated at an eleva- 
tion of 660 feet above Ogden, and is about twelve miles nearly due 
east of that cit}'. Captain Hunt and sons arrived early enough in 
the fall to cut hay upon which to winter stock. They found the 
Indians very troublesome and disposed to steal stock, and plunder 
and harass the new settlers. 

1861. 
As soon as the snow disappeared in the spring, crops were 
planted and a fair harvest gathered. Meetings were held in private 
houses. A branch of the Church was organized. Jefferson Hunt, 
president; Thomas Bingham and C. D. Bronson, counselors. 

1862. 
Spring opened very late; heavy deposits of snow; high waters 
followed; as a natural consequence washing away a great portion 
of the canyon road, obstructing or preventing travel, the only 
means of egress and ingress to and from the settlements was going 
over the mountains. The settlement was laid off in blocks, and a 
townsite surveyed. Joseph Grover was elected justice of the peace, 
and W. W. Bowman constable. Marcellus Monroe, Enoch Hack- 
shaw and W. W. Bronson were elected school trustees. A school 
house was built of logs in the center of the public square 16 feet 
by 20. 

1877. 

Huntsville was organized as a bishop's ward by President F. D. 
Richards and the stake presidency, D. H. Peery, L. J. Ilerrick and 
C. F. Middleton. F. A. Hammond was ordained bishop, and Wil- 
liam Halls and N. C. Mortenson, counselors. 

Two-thirds of the population are Scandinavians, the remainder, 
Americans, English and Scotch. 

The settlement is reached after a ten-mile ride from Ogden 
through one of the most picturesque canyons in the great West. 
The perpendicular walls of solid rock towering heavenwards several 
hundred feet; the deafening, rushing, dashing roar of the Ogden 
River; the narrow ascending rock-built dug-ways, at places over-look- 
ing deep, yawning abysses below, with over-hanging rocks high 



SLATERVILLE. 53 

above, make the tourist nervous for his safety, while he admires 
with astonishment the romantic situation. 



SLATERVILLE. 

Alexander Kellej and family were the first to locate in this 
section of country in the fall of 1850, and Stephen Parry and family 
joined them in the spring of 1851 and built a house. In the spring 
of 1852 they were joined by Thomas McCann, Thomas Virgo and 
John Knight, Sen. 

In 1853, Richard Slater, Jeremiah Bateman, Thomas Gorbett 
and others located in the same place, and the settlement derived 
the name of Slaterville from the family of Richard Slater. In the 
fall of this j-ear on account of Indian difficulties — the Walker war 
— the settlers moved into Bingham Fort, a settlement about three 
miles distant. Erastus Bingham, Sen., held a supervisory control 
in ecclesiastical matters. 

The people returned to their homes in 1854. 

In 1855 there was a large increase of settlers. Water was 
brought from Mill Creek to irrigate the farms — a distance of three 
miles, at a cost of $3,000 — one hundred acres of land was placed 
under cultivation. 

1858. 

The settlers participated in the general move south, leaving 
only a detail of men to guard property and look after the crops. 
When peace was made most of the settlers returned home. A few 
preferred to remain in the southern part of the Territory, among 
them being Isaac Allred and family. On September 10th Thomas 
Richardson was appointed by President Farr and Bishop West to 
preside over the settlement. 

1859 
was a year of good health and general prosperity'. Good crops 
were gathered and a few added to the number of the settlers. 

1860. 

On February 16th, Thomas Richardson chose Thomas Thomas 
and E. W. Smout as his counselors. 

A good country was opened up about 100 miles north, offering 
good facilities in fertile lands, plenty of wood, water, and good 
ranges, and several families left the settlement for this new country 
— Cache Valley. They sold out their interests, however, in Slater- 
ville to new residents, so that there was actually no shrinkage in the 
population. 

1869. 
Lands were put into market by the government. Settlers on a 
quarter-section would join and appoint one of their number, and 



54 tullidge's histories. 

pay his expenses for entering one hundred and sixty acres, and he, 
on obtaining the title would readily deed to the claimants their just 
and proper proportions. 

From this time on Slaterville has sustained the status exhibited 
in the foregoing years, but we have no notes supplied of any special 
events. 



NORTH OGDEX. 

18.50. 

In the fall of this year Solomon, Jonathan and Samuel Camp- 
bell, (brothers) with John Riddle, first visited this place (which was 
designated Ogden Hole) and pitched their tents. About this time 
an Indian was shot near the mouth of Ogden Canyon by a person 
named Stuart, who supposed the Indian was stealing his corn; this 
led to the aliove persons retiring to the fort at Ogden, as the Indians 
were aroused to take revenge. They pursued a number of the 
whites while getting up their stock, aad one Campbell was killed 
by them. The persons above named, however, returned in the 
spring of 1851, seventeen other families bearing them company. 
Thomas Dunn, the Montgomerys, S. Mallor}' and David Garner 
were among the number. In the fall of this year Thomas Dunn 
was ordained bishop of the company, by President B.. Young. 

The settlers found good land in abundance, and encouraging 
prospects for the formation of a large settlement. 



EASTOK 

1850. 

Uintah, as it is now called, was first settled by Daniel Smith, 
John M. Bybee, Lewis Hardy, Henrj' Beckstead, W. G. McMullin 
and others. It is situated at the immediate west entrance of Weber 
Canyon, on a narrow tract of land bounded on the north and south 
by the foothills of the mountains. The west end of the survey 
opens out into the Weber Valley. 

1851. 

The settlers took control of the mountain streams and utilized 
Ihem for irrigational purposes. In the fall a log scliool-house was 
built and W. G. McMullin taught school. Abiah Wadsworth, 
having moved into the settlement, which was now known as East 
Weber, was appointed president by Lorin Farr, and Ira X. Spauld- 
ing and Byron Bybee were appointed his counselors. "Several more 
families locate in the settlement. 



SETTLEMENTS OF WEBER COUNTY. 55 

EDEN". 

Located iu the center of the county and about ten miles north- 
east of Ogden, was iirst settled in 1860, by John Beddle and Joseph 
Gro.ver. There is a Latter-day Saints' Church, John Farrell, 
bishop. Mail is received Monday and Wednesday of each week. 



HARRIS VILLE. 

Located on the line of the Utah and Northern Railway, a few 
miles north of Ogden, was first settled in the spring of 1850, by Iviu 
Stewart. In the fall of this year Stewart killed an Indian Chief 
named Parrakee, mistaking him for a thief in his corn. This 
caused a general uprising of the Indians, and Stewart was forced to 
seek safety in California. The place was re-settled in 1851, by P. 
G. Taylor, W. W. Dixon, Martin II. Harris, L. A. Shurtlift' and 
others. The present bishop is P. G. Taylor. Mail is received six 
times a week. 



MOUND FORT. 

Situated within the corporate limits of Ogden City, on the 
north side of the Ogden River, was iirst settled by Ezra Chase, 
Charles Hubbard, Ambrose Shaw, William Shaw and their families; 
was organized a ward, with Erastus Bingham, bishop, in the full of 
1850; the present bishop is David Moore. The postofhce address 
is Ogden City, of which it is a precinct. 



RIVE RD ALE. 

Was first settled in 1852, by S. Graham, 0. Kilburn and C. 
Canfield. It formed a part of Ogden City until 1877, when it was 
organized a distinct ward. Sanford Bingham is bishop. Mail is 
received at Ogden City. 



SOUTH WEBER. 

Was first settled in November, 1851, by Robert Watts and 
family, E. C. Cherry, Levi Hammond, James Heath, B. Bybee, 
John Bybee, Thomas Kington, George W. Hickerson, S. Canfield 
and Hyrum Parker. Mail is received either at Ogden or at Uintah. 



WEST AVEBER. 

Was first settled in the spring of 1859, by William McFarland 
and sou, John I. Hart, John Douglass, Robert Hallwell, H. D. Pet- 



56 tullidge's histories. 

terson, William Roj'al, James Rivie, A. Greenwell, John Ilighbey, 
W. Gibson, Koljert Tilford, Ralph Blanch, James Barup and Wil- 
liam Kay, the latter being appointed president of the settlement. 
May 28th, 1877, it was orcranized a ward and Z. Callantyne is now 
bishop. Mail is received Wednesday and Saturday of each Week. 
There are besides these: Mariotts, Hooper, Wilson, Pleasant 
View, Alma and Van Zile. 



OTHER COUNTIES. 

Having recorded very fully the early history of Weber County, 
with a digest of events up to date, we may introduce other counties 
which grew up simultaneously with Weber County, or which are 
nearly related, and will return thereafter to Ogden as the Commer- 
cial and Junction City of Northern Utah. In this order Davis 
County properly follows Weber County. 



DHYIS COUNTY, 

ITS HISTORY. 

Davis County lies immediately north of Salt Lake County, and 
can probabl}' claim to be the next oldest to it in Utah. In fact, it 
is the immediate outgrowth of the immigration which followed the 
Pioneers in 1847, for Mr. Perigrine Sessions of Bountiful, was a 
captain of one of the lifties of Captain Daniel Spencer's company 
of one hundred wagons, which crossed the plains directly on the 
heels of the Pioneers. He arrived in Great Salt Lake City, on the 
26th of Septeml>er, and camped near where he now resides, on the 
evening of the 28th, the tirst Mormon that is known to have made 
wagon tracks north of the Hot Springs. The same day A. P. Rock- 
wood went from Great Salt Lake City to the Hot Springs with a 
buggy, but returned. 

One incentive to the settlement of Davis County was its excel- 
lent range for cattle and horses. The early settlers state that the 
leaders of the Church on whom entirely rested the burden of shap- 
ing the destinies of the people, thought it wisdom to settle the 
country immediately south of Salt Lake City before going north. 
However, the excellent facilities for making homes in the section of 
country now comprised in Davis County, tempted the people to 



THE EARLY COLONIZERS OF DAVIS COUNTY. 57 

take the chances. Fortunately, it has been quite free from serious 
difficulties with the Indians. 

The environment of the early colonizers of Utah was different 
from anything the}' had before experienced. This was Mr. Ses- 
sions' experience. In exploring the country around his camp, he 
found what has since proved to be extremely fertile bottom lands, 
so badly cracked up by the drouth that it was dangerous to a horse to 
go over them. Besides, it appeared impracticable, at that time, to 
get the water from the canyons on those lands, for he was com- 
pelled to go about a mile east of his camp, to the mouth of Mill 
Creek Canyon, for water for camp use. These appearances induced 
him to locate permanently near his original earap. There was 
nothing in his experiences that enabled him to anticipate the won- 
derful "transformation which the country has since passed through. 
Mr. Sessions and Mr. Jezreel Shoenuiker united their labors in 
plowing the tirst soil in Davis County for agricultural purposes. 

As Bountiful, tirst called Sessions' seftlement, was the initial 
point of Davis County, it may very appropriately take the lead in 
the histories of the towns. 

Anson Call arrived in Great Salt Lake City the 2flth of September, 
1848. Being a farmer by profession, the rich soil along the eastern 
shore of the Great Salt Lake, and north of the Hot Springs, tempted 
him to move there in a few da^^s after his arrival. Orville Co.x tirst 
directed the temporal and spiritual interests of Bountiful as bishop. 
About six months after he was installed in the office, he was called 
to pioneer Sanpete valle^^ under Father Morley. He lived in 
North Canyon, a little east of Bountiful, and came into Davis 
County at the same time as Mr. Call, who was his tirst counselor, 
with John Stoker for the second. Anson Call succeeded Elder 
Cox as bishop, with A. B. Cherry and 0. M. Duel for counselors. 
The Ward, presided over by those two early bishops, comprised the 
territory now occupied by the four wards of East, West, South 
Bountiful and Centerville. 

In nearly a central position, in what is now these four wards, a 
log school-house was erected in 1849, and Calvin Smith, afterwards 
one of the pioneers of Parowan, Iron County, taught the first school 
in it. But the first school taught in the couTity was near the mouth 
of the river Jordan, by Mrs. Hannah Holbrook, wife of Joseph 
Holbrook. It was mostly made iip of the children of families who 
went there to keep their animals in the winter of 1848-49. This 
primitive school can hardly be said to have been taught in a house. 
The character of the tenement will be best understood by the local 
Indian appellation of wick-i-up. It was a rude framework of poles 
covered with willows and cane. 

The following incident, as related by Mr. Anson Call, will 
serve to illustrate the agricultural prospects of the country at the 
time it occurred. 

"I raised a crop in 1849, and in the autumn went to Great Salt 
Lake City where I met President B. Young. He asked me how I 
5 



58 tullidge's histories. 

liked the country where I lived? I replied, ' First rate.' 'What 
about the water V ' There is water enough to raise small grain 
extensively, but not enough for corn and potatoes; to grow them 
we shall have to go nearer the mountains.' President Young 
seemed satisfied and replied, ' That is good enough. I will send up 
Brother Sessions to survey the country.' " Soon after Mr. Sessions 
surveyed that portion of the country jiresided over by Bishop Call. 

Bishop Call and .Judge Ilolbrook were the first regular dealers 
in merchandise in ]5ountiful. They opened a store on the premises 
of the former in 18G0. Their business was merged into the local 
Co-operative Mercantile Institution in 18(37. Of this institution 
John Stoker, who had succeeded Anson Call as Bishop, was presi- 
dent the first few years of its existence. lie was succeeded by Mr. 
Call, who lias since been the head of the institution. It commenced 
>vith a capital of $4,000, which has increased to .$11,000. Its divi- 
dends have averaged ten per cent, per annum. As shown by its 
dividends it has been uniformly prosperous, and it bids fair to 
increase its business with the growth of the country. 

At an early day Joseph Ilolbrook commenced the maiuifacture 
of brick in Bountiful. It was soon discovered that the county 
alibrded excellent material for this business. Market was readily 
found for a surplus in Salt Lake City, where large quantities were 
hauled with teams before the advent of the railroad. After the 
construction of the Utah Central Railroad, Zion's Co-operative Mer- 
cantile Institution of Bountiful, did quite an extensive business in 
furnishing brick by contract for buildings in Salt Lake City, nota- 
bly for the parent Z. C. M. I., and other public and many private 
editices. This made much lucrative emploj'ment for the citizens of 
Bountiful, and assisted in the development of the county. 

June, 20th, 1876, the Bountiful Ward becoming too long and 
populous for the convenient jurisdiction of one l)isliop it was 
divided into three wards, East, South and West Bountiful. 



CENTERVILLE. 

Nathan T. Porter followed the Pioneers in 1847, in the company 
of Gen. C. C. Rich. He came to Centerville in the spring of 1849. 
He found that O. ]M. and Wm. Duel, Thomas Grover, .James Brink- 
erhoof and John Everett had preceded him. Tiiere was a Held 
fenced in which were ten acres unclaimed. This he took possession 
of and commenced farming. 

Sanford Porter, the father of Nathan T., followed him to Cen- 
terville in 1850. He was the first presiding elder of the place and, 
when the ward was organized in 18.52, he was ap[)ointed to preside 
over its interests as bishop. He was afterwards a pioneer of Por- 



CENTERVILLE. 59 

terville, in Morgan County, as related in its history. In fact, Cen- 
terville furnished cjuite a numlier of the pioneei's of that county. 

The iirst school-house was built in li^fyl. Tlie tirst business in 
general merchandise was done in the house of Mr. N. T. Porter, 
and lie thinks that, from the first, it was on the co-operative plan. 

Mrs. Margaret Cherry, the widow of A. B. Ciierry, states that 
her husband followed the Pioneers in 1S47; that the fa.mily renuiined 
in Salt Lake City until the spring of 1849, when tliey moved to 
Centerville, and bought the improvements which Mr. Grover had 
made the previous year. The widow of Mr. Cherry occupies the 
old ground to-day. The house is a comfortable one and was built of 
adobies, after the first struggles for existence were over. Like many 
others in the county it now belongs to the antique aiul, in view of the 
rapid changes of the last thirty years, may almost be considered 
ancient. 

The settlement was first named after the Duel brothers, then it 
was called Cherry Creek settlement and finally (-enterville, proba- 
bly from being midway between Bountiful and Farmington. The 
few settlers on the creek considered the water barely sufficient for 
their subsistence. In fact the stream afibrded but little water com- 
pared with its volume to-day. 

Samuel Parrish, the father of Joel Parrish, who has been for 
many years a prominent num in the county, settled on Parrish 
Creek which is a little north of Cherry Creek, in 1850. He appears 
to have l)een an ingenious man, and turned his ingenuity into a 
channel to assist himself and neighbors to live. lie dressed a pair 
of mill stones out of the native rock and erected a mill. Necessar- 
ily it was a rude structure, but it served the necessities of the peo- 
ple in grinding their grain, until there was time for the erection of 
better mills. There is no doubt it was the first machine for grind- 
ing grain erected in the county. 

In those early times sweetening was scarce. Sugar and syrup, 
brought across the plains in wagons, commanded an exorbitant 
price and often was not attainable at any figure. To assist in reliev- 
ing the desire for sweetening among his neighbors, Mr. Parrish made 
a mill of wooden rollers for pressing out the juice of the cornstalk, 
out of which a primitive article of molasses was made, which, if 
poor, was very grateful to the ])ahite in the absence of anything 
better. After the introduction of that great blessing to the people 
of LTtah, tlie Chinese cane, he made an excellent article of sorghum 
molasses with his wooden mill. In 1859, Mr. Phineas H. Young 
first introduced the iron cane mill into tlie county. 

The water was (piite limited in quantity in Parrish Creek in 
the early times. In the month of August it might cross the upper 
road in the morning, but could usually only be found up in the 
canyon in the after part of the day. 

The Centerville Co-operative Mercantile Institution was organ- 
ized in 1807 or 1868 with about §2,000 capital. After astruggte ot 
several years it has been uniformly successful, having paid an annual 



60 tullidge's histories. 

dividend on its capital, of fifteen per cent. Its average sales for 
several years have been .§12,000 per annum. It is now the leading 
business establishment in the town. Wm. R. Smith has been presi- 
dent of the institution from its organization. 



FARMmGTON. 

As near as the writer has been able to ascertain Captain Daniel 
C. Davis who had commanded one of the companies of the Mor- 
mon Battalion was the first pioneer of Farmington and he has the 
honor of giving liis name to the county. If this was the case he 
must have turned up the first soil in Farmington with the plow, as 
he raised some grain there in the summer of 1848. He was also 
the first military commandant of the county with the rank of col- 
onel in the Nauvoo Legion. He was followed to Farmington in 
the autumn of 1848 by Daniel A. Miller, Wm. O. Smith and Thomas 
Grover. The latter located in Centerville in the spring of 1848, 
built him a log cabin and raised a crop of grain that season. In 
the autumn he sold his improvements and moved on Steed Creek, 
now in the south part of Farmington, where he again built a log 
cabin and went to farming and stock-raising. There his wifeLodo- 
ska Grover, on the 7th of January, 1849, became the mother of the 
first white female child, Lucy Grover, born in Davis County. In 
less than a month, the babe Lucy Grover was followed by Joseph 
E. Robinson, son of Joseph L. and Maria W. Robinson, born at 
North Canyon, February 2nd, 1849. Wm. 0. Smith did not long 
survive the settlement of Farmington, as he died there the 7th of 
Juh', 1849. It is believed that his was the first death of a member 
of the Mormon Church in Davis County. 

That portion of Davis County lying between the settlements of 
Centerville and Kaysville, was in early times called North Cotton- 
wood. Joseph L. Robinson moved there from North Canyon and 
was appointed the first bishop of North Cottonwood Ward by Apos- 
tles C. C. Rich and Erastus Snow, on the 24th of March, 1849. 
His counselors M^ere Daniel A. Miller and John Harris. At that 
time the ward included the country between Cherry Creek on the 
south and Weber River on the north. Before Christmas of that 
year a school-house was built in which the people enjoyed them- 
selves making merry during the holidays. A Mr. Greer taught a 
very good school for two months the same winter. Bishop Robin- 
son held this office and led out in shaping the organizations of the 
colony until near the close of 18.50, when he was called by the First 
Presidenc}' of the Mormon Church, to join the colony to Southern 
Utah, led by Apostle George A. Smith. He was succeeded as 
bishop by Gideon Brownell. 

As we have stated elsewhere, the county seat was located at 



KAYSVILLE. 61 

North Cottonwood and the place named Farmington by an act of 
the Territorial Legislature. The settlements of Davis County, like 
the most of Mormon colonies, have, from the beginning, been alive 
with regard to the education of their children. In the autumn of 
1849, the citizens of Farmington built a log school-house in which 
school was taught in the winter of 1849-50. 

The town of Farmington is beautifully situated, and it being 
the county seat has given it local importance. 

An early eifort was made to construct a suitable building in 
which to do the county business. It was built by contract by D. A. 
and Henry W. Miller of adobies. Considering the early eflbrt that 
was made it was a credit to the county and continues to accommo- 
date its business. 

At this date it appears diilicult to determine who was the pio- 
neer merchant of Farmington, but the leading business firm has 
been for considerable time, Zion's Co-operative Mercantile Institu- 
tion. When the co-operative wave swept over Utah a meeting of 
leading citizens was called on the 16th of March, 1869, and the in- 
stitution was organized by electing a president and board of direc- 
tors. Business commenced with a paid up capital of §3,000. Cir- 
cumstances favored its growth. The tirst four months of its existence 
it did a business of over 88,000, and conditions were very favora- 
ble for its growth for sometime afterwards. During the nineteen 
years of its existence it has been quite uniformly successful. John 
W. Hess has been continuously president of the institution from its 
commencement. Its capital stock is now over 86,000 with reserved 
profits of the business of §6,000 more. Jacob Miller has been 
prominent as secretary of the institution and John Wood and Fred- 
erick Coombs as superintendents. 



KAYSVILLE. 

The city of Kaysville is the only incorporated town in Davis 
County, and became such by an act of the Territorial Legislature 
approved February 13th, 1868, to take eft'ect the loth of the ensuing 
March. 

The first municipal officers were, Thomas F. Roueche, Mayor; 
Grandison Raymond, Joseph Allred, Rosel Hyde, James C. Taylor, 
Councilors; Robert Egbert, Recorder; Peter Barton, Treasurer; 
Wm. Blood, Assessor and Collector; Robert X. Burton, Marshal; 
Joseph Egbert, Supervisor of Streets ; John Bennett, Captain of 
Police. 

The first man to locate on the ground was Hector C. Haight, 
who kept a herd of cattle the winter of 1847-48. Edward Phillips 
came to the creek, then called Sandy Creek, the 8th or 10th of 
April, 1850. Wm. Kay followed him in a day or two, and the 



62 



TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



stream was called Kay's Creek. Early in the autumn of 1850, Mr. 
Kay was appointed bishop by President B. Young with Edward 
Phillips and John Green, counselors. 

The soil of Kaysville is very productive. Mr. I'hillips states 
that in the spring of 1850, he had only iive busliels of seed wheat 
whicli he sowed on six acres and iiurvested 250 bushels. Mr. Jos- 
eph Egbert settled in Kaysville in the spring of 1851. Besides the 
pioneers before mentioned, he found there Benjamin Hawkins and 
James Bennett. As in many other instances the water supply has 
greatly increased, as is shown by the circumstance of some persons 
applying to Bishop Kay for land and water in 1851, when he replied, 
"I should be glad to have you settle here; there is plenty of land 
but no water." 

As early as 1851 a school-house was built in the Kaysville 
Ward and a school taught the following winter by Robert Knell. 

Mr. Joseph Egltert was the pioneer hotel keeper of Kaysville. 
He began to entertain travelers in 1867, and is now the only hotel 
keeper in the place. John K. Barnes was the pioneer merchant of 
Kaysville. 

John Barton built the first brick house in Kaysville, paid |24. 
per thousand for the brick in Bountiful and hauled them fifteen 
miles. 

John Weinel moved to Bountifnl in 1848, raised a crop of grain 
there in 1840. lie afterwards located in Kaysville where be built 
the first grist mill in 1852-53. 

Kaysville in common with other Mormon towns, has its co-op- 
erative mercantile institution. Its original capital stock of $8,000 
was subscribed in 1871. Christopher Layton was its first president 
and J. R. Barnes has held the offices of superintendent, secretary 
and treasurer from its organization, .January 1st, 1873 ; its capital 
stock has been increased fifty per cent. The institution has been 
uniformly prosperous, having paid twelve per cent, per annum on 
actual capital invested. It has also carried on a co-operative black- 
smith and butcher shop. Besides the co-operative store, there are 
the firms of Stewart & Williams, Barton ct Co. and the Farmers 
Union, dealers in general merclmndise. Kaysville is the center of 
a very productive, agricultural district, with from 25,000 to 28,000 
acres of fertile land used in the various purposes of farming. The 
annual yield of small grain is about 175,000 bushels. 



HOOPERVILLE. 

Hooperville is so named in honor of Captain Wm. H. Hooper 
who, in an early day, occupied tlie ground where it stands and the 
surrounding country as a stock range. The county line between 
Davis and Weber C\)untics divides Hooperville between them. It 
was first settled in 1867, by Levi Hammond and James Hale. 



THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN CRICKET. ' 63 

The pioneers of Utah will pass away and leave many experi- 
ences which severely tested all the better qualities of man and 
womanhood, unrecorded. 

When in addition to the facts that the country as they found it, 
was parched and barren from heat and drouth; that one thousand 
miles of wilderness intervened between them and outside resources; 
that every germ of civilization, not existing within themselves, that 
every element of existence and growth had to be brought across- 
that wilderness, or produced from the elements around them, we 
also comprehend that they were often compelled to battle with 
myriads of voracious insects for the morsel that was to keep them- 
selves and little ones from perishing with famine, the/aith, the for- 
titude and self-saerihce of such a jieople reach the sublime. 

The following incidents given b}- Mr. Anson Call, more graphic 
and real as portrayed by him, than any pen-picture the writer can 
draw, will serve to give some idea of this primitive struggle for 
existence, not only of the earl}' settlers of Davis County, but of Utah 

in general. The Rocky Mountain ericket, as now remembered, ; 

when fidl grown is about one inch and a half in length, heavy and 
clumsy in its movements, with no better power of locomotion than 
hopping a foot or two at a time. It has an eagle-eyed, ^taring appear- 
ance, and suggests the idea, that it may be the habitation of a vin- 
dictive little demon. 

Previous to the time spoken of in the summer of 1849, the 
small grain in the country liad been nearly destro^^ed, including his 
own. The five acres of corn was the one hope left of keeping 
gaunt famine from the household, hence, if watching and toil would 
preserve it, it must be saved. A water ditch was made entirely 
around the piece. This caught many bushels of them as they 
attempted to cross, and tlf)ated them down in lieaps at the end of 
the ditches where they could be easily destroyed ; but many would 
succeed in getting out of the water on the inside, and with vora- 
cious appetites make for the j'oung succulent corn, when a constant 
vigilant eifort had to be kept up, with bat in hand, to destroy them 
before they could do damage. In spite of these efforts, the corn 
received considerable injur\' around the outside of the piece. 

The habits of the insect aftbrded some respite to great exer- 
tions. As evening approached they bunched together, much like 

the honey bee, on the sagebrush, where many could be destroyed by , 

firing them with any material that burned readily. They would ,. 

not scatter out to feed until warmed up by the sun, about 8 o'clock i . 

in the morning, when from that time until four or five o'clock in I J 

the afternoon, the most unremitting exertions were necessar}' to I 

save a crop. Without a day of rest, this exertion was kept up for \ 

eight weeks by Mr. Call and a son and daughter, the eldest fourteen •' 

3'ears of age. At the end of this time, when it seemed as though 
the crickets, with their undimished numbers, would gain the day, 
that kindly providence, the white gull, appeared in immense flocks 
not only for the salvation of Mr. Call, but for the struggling colon- 



TTJLLIDGE S HISTORIES. 

ists of Utah who were compelled to battle for existence with these 
insect pests. 

As cultivated areas increased, and as a result irrigating canals 
and ditches extended, they served to intercept and destroy the crick- 
ets, and they have long ceased to attract much attention from the 
agriculturist as a means of destroj'ing crops. They were soon suc- 
ceeded by the grasshopper. He, unlike the cricket, had two stages 
of existence, one when hatched out in or near the fields of the 
farmer, from myriads of eggs laid the previous year by the matured 
or flying insect, in which its ravages were curtailed by the same 
means as those of the cricket, and the second stage when their vast 
swarms in the air shadowed the sunlight. In this latter stage man 
only showed his helplessness in attempts to check their progress. 
The following from Mr. Call is an excellent illustration of this fact. 
The time, the summer of 1855, the place, his farm in Bountiful, on 
which were forty acres of excellent wheat, so nearly approaching 
maturity that the grain was "in the milk." 

About four o'clock one afternoon, the air seemed tilled with 
grasshoppers. They lighted on his premises, and to use his laconic 
expression, " They covered him up." They were a dark, moving 
mass on buildings, garden and iields. The mass was so thick that 
no wheat could b^seen. Human eifbrt could avail nothing. Man 
could only await the result of such an overwhelming calamity. 
Thej' came over the mountain from the east, and, as the force of 
their lighting was in one direction, the wheat was bent over to the 
west. The following morning between nine and ten o'clock, they 
arose in a cloud and continued their ilight westward over the Salt 
Lake. For some reason not apparent at the time, the}' were precip- 
itated into the l)riny waters of the lake, the touch of which was 
death to them. They were first gathered into islands of from one 
to several acres in extent, and sufficiently compact to bear up dogs 
which went on those close in shore. Soon after this a wind arose 
which broke up the islands and the insects were washed ashore in 
a winnow, varying from two to six feet wide, and from one to three 
feet in thickness. This winnow extended from the south end of 
Davis County, a distance of fifty miles into Box Elder Count}' on 
the north. For sometime afterwards the intolerable stench pre- 
vented the people from approaching the waters of the lake. 

When relieved from the weight of the insects the heads of the 
wheat raised partialh' from the ground. With wonderful uniform- 
ity the grain was not destroyed on the underside of the head, and 
Mr. Call was able to gather about one-third of a crop. Throughout 
the county the crops were mostly destroyed. A few, like Mr. Call, 
owing to some favoring conditions, saved a little grain. 

This will give some idea of the myriads of these destructive 
pests. The white gulls destroyed the crickets, and the grasshop- 
pers were swejtt into the waters of the Great Salt Lake. Both 
events, whether recorded on the pages of history or not, will be 
handed down by tradition through the coming centuries, as special 



THE CENTRAL CANAL COMPANY. 65 

interventions of Providence for the preservation of the founders of 
empire in the Rocky Mountains. 

There was but little corn or potatoes sowed that year and that 
was of imperfect growth and maturity. 

Experience proved that crickets were not poisonous, but grass- 
hoppers, when numerous, bite everything green and leave their 
poision. The grass, hay and straw which domestic animals were 
compelled to eat to sustain life, after the visitations of 1855, sick- 
ened and injured them, and in many instances proved fatal. 

As the result of these calamities, there was much suttering for 
food in the county in 1856, but fortunately, owing to a feeling of 
brotherhood whicla induced those who had, to divide with the des- 
titute, there were no fatal cases of starvation. 

There is a section of country lying between Kay's Creek and 
the "Weber River, known from early times as the "Sand Eidge." 
From experiments it was ascertained that some seasons, more favor- 
able than others, fair crops of wheat could be grown without irri- 
gation and considerable has been done to protit in that direction, 
but to utilize it for settlement it needed water for irrigation. 

Sometime in the '60"s it was considered practicable to take the 
water out of the AVeber, but the great expense of constructing a 
suitable canal, for a long time indetinitely delayed its construction. 
About 1878 the project received encouragement from capitalists and 
it was taken hold of with a view to its completion in the near 
future. The eastern terminus of the canal is in the canyon of the 
Weber, about four-fifths of a mile from its mouth and one and a 
half miles below the Devil's Gate. From there the main canal 
extends down the "Weber nine miles, and is three feet deep and 
twenty feet wide on the bottom. It commences in Davis County 
but is divided in "Weber County, as it gets out of the foothills, into 
three branches. One branch, tliree feet deep and twelve feet wide 
on the bottom, takes water to Kaysville, another three feet deep and 
ten feet wide, conveys water to Ogden; the third, three feet deep 
and eight feet wide, conveys water to Hooperville. Thus is not 
only the Sand Ridge utilized for settlement, but the towns of 
Ogden, Kaysville and Hooperville are directly benefitted b}' this 
quite extensive work. The company' that constructed the canal was 
incorporated in 1878, under the title of the Central Canal Com- 
pany ; in 1881 as the Davis and "Weber Counties Canal Company. 
The capital stock consisted of 3,000 shares at §50 per share. Of 
these, 2,500 shares have been paid, making the cost of the canal 
$125,000. Feramorz Little, "William R. Smith, William Jennings, 
Anson Call and William H. Hooper have been the principal stock- 
holders and have led out in the enterprise assisted by many others. 
The canal was so far completed in 1887 as to be utilized, it will no 
doubt be the means of greatly increasing the population of Davis 
County. 

In an early day the people of Da\as County manifested much 
energy in building substantial edifices for public worship. The 



60 tullidge's histories. 

East Bountiful Ward house was built wlien East, West and South 
Bountiful were one ward. It was commenced in 18,56 and iinished 
in 1802, and was dedicated March l-4th, 1803. It is 60x8.5 feet, with 
a vestr}'. It is of adobies and in a tine state of preservation. It 
was well finished and cost about $20,000. It was l)uilt before the 
advent of the Union Pacific Railroad, and the material used in its 
construction, not the product of the county, were very costly com- 
pared with tiie same articles to-day. 

The Centerville Ward meeting-house is ot native stone, the 
main building 40x60 feet, height of ceiling in the main building 22 
feet. The vestry is 25x30 feet. The ward house of Farmington is 
of hammer-dressed native rock, with corners of cut sandstone from 
the quarries near Salt Lake City. The main building is 40x60 feet, 
height of ceiling 18 feet. It has a commodious vestry 24x36 feet.. It 
was completed in 1862. 

Davis County Stake was organized in 1877, with William R. 
Smith as yiresident and E. Layton and A. Call, counselors. 

The Kaysville meeting-house was also erected in 1862, when 
wages were high and much of the material very expensive when 
compared with present prices. The main building is 42x80 feet; 
stone basement and adobies above. It has a vestry 20x30 feet 
erected in 1882. All of these ward buildings are substantial, well 
finished structures, mostly built by the voluntary labors and dona- 
tions of the people, and to-day are well adapted to the purpose for 
which they were built. They belong to the first religious period of 
Utah when, with very few exceptions, the people were members of 
the Mormon Church. With the railroad came other religious 
denominations to give variety to theological ideas and moral senti- 
ment. In the town of Kaysville the Episcopalians and Presby- 
terians have organized churches and mission schools, and are erect- 
ing creditable houses for pnl)lic worship. In fact, all the principal 
towns have mission schools fairly attended. 

The settlements between the Hot Springs and Kay's Creek 
were for many ye&va subject to very severe gales of wind. It would 
sweep down over the mountains from the east with sufficient force 
to unroof houses, and in one instance it upset railroad cars when 
running. For a few years past they have been less fierce and 
destructive. Doubtless trees, fences and buildings to some extent 
cheek their force. In 1863, when President B. Young was enjoy- 
ing the hospitality of friends in Farmington over night, he rebuked 
the wind and asserted that it never should blow so hard again. 
Many of the people believe that the prediction has been verified. 
. As has been stated, Samuel Parrish put up the first mill for 
grinding on Parrish Creek. Heber C. Kimball, of the First 
Presidency of the Mormon Church, was a pioneer mill builder of 
Davis County, for he built a saw-mill in North Mill Creek Canyon in 
1848-49, and a grist-mill on the same stream in 1852-53. About the 
same time Willard Richards built a saw and grist-mill, the former 
in Cottonwood (now Farmington) Canyon. For the fiume of this 



THE PIONEERS OF DAVIS CnUN'lV. 67 

saw-iiiill John S. Smith and John Galey sawed thu hiinher with a 
whip-saw. 

From this time mills increased in the county, perhaps rather faster 
than the wants of the people required. 

The followins; are the names of those who settled in Davis 
County prior to 18.30, but who are not otlierwise mentioned in this 
history : 

p]zra T. Clark, first locateil in Xorth Canyon, in the autumn of 
1848, and in Farmington in the spring of 1841.t, where he has been 
identified with tlie interests of the county as a farmer and stock- 
raiser; Wm. R. Rice and Jesse W. Sniitli became citizens of Far- 
mington in the spring of 1849; William S. Muir came to Session's 
settlement, now Bountiful, the 9th of September, 1848. For 
several years he grew large quantities of beets from which he manu- 
factured molasses. This was not only profitable to himself but to 
his neighbors when sugar, on account of scarcity and high prices, 
could be afforded by only a few. William Henry crossed the plains 
with the pioneers in 1847, and settled in Bountiful in the spring of 
1848. That summer he made the first adobies in the county. He 
has left a specimen of his ingenuity in the shape of a cupboard 
which he put together, for Mr. P. Sessions, without nails for the 
reason that there was none to be had in the county. Apostle 
Lorenzo Snow was also a pioneer of the count}', but does not 
appear to have remained i!i it long; Simon Baker wintered in 
^STorth Canon in 1848-49. He made a road into the canon and 
brought out a large amount of timber for the benefit of the settlers ; 
John Forsgreen, John Parry, John Barton, Sidney Kent, MosesDaly, 
Eric Hogan. Allen Burk, Thomas Ricks, Alonzo D. L. Buckland, 
Henry Eollins, John Barnard, Sam Duncan, Jonathan H. Holmes, 
William Kittleman, Zacbeus Cheney, Sandford Porter, A. Cheney, 
Robert Marshall, John Perry, Wm. B. Simmons, Jacob Secrist, Wm. 
G. Thompson, Solomon Conley, Albert Tyler. 

The pioneers of Davis County, manifested possibly rather more 
than the usual energy of the early Mormon colonies in erecting school- 
houses and employing such teachers to instruct their children as 
were then attainable. In the subsequent increase of population 
and material wealth there has been a corresponding increase of 
facilities for the education of the young. The district school-houses 
are comfortable and substantial and, where it is practicable, the 
schools are grailed. In addition to the district and mission schools, 
the young people of the Mormon population, as is usual in all their 
settlements, are organized into Young Men's and Young Ladies' 
Mutual Improvement Associations, and the children into Primary 
Associations. These are well organized, also in a flourishing con- 
dition, and form an important factor in the development of the 
risinsr veneration. The town of Farmington claims to have had 
the first Primary Association in Utah. 

The first meeting in which the subject of organizing the chil- 
dren into what is now known as Primary Associations, was held at 



68 tullidge's histories. 

the house of Mrs. A. S. Rogers, in Farmingtou, April 3rd, 1878. 
Sister Eliza R. Snow was present. 

The following e.xcerpt, from the Books of the Utah Central 
Railway, shows tlie number of pounds of the products of Davis 
County, handled by that road as freight in the year 1887. 

tt)3. 

Green fruit and vegetables 865,996 

Salt 19,614,210 

Live stock 46,000 

Lucerne seed 85,412 

Grain 6,166,885 

Wool and Hides 44,489 

The above does not show the amount of freight brought into 
the count}'. 

The following from the office of the Denver and Rio Grande 
Railway, gives the amount in pounds of freight received and for- 
warded during the year ending December 31st, 1887. 

lbs. 

Received 4,820,829 

Forwarded 2,113,732 



ORGANIC FORxMATION. 

The early colonies of Utah were located under the direction of 
presiding elders and bishops. These continued to direct aftairs 
until the counties were organized and civil jurisdiction extended 
over the people. From the thorough understanding which the 
bishops acquired of the condition and wants of the people, they 
have often Ijeen placed in important local othces, and as a rule they 
have been safe advisers in matters of importance to those over 
whom they presided in a church capacity. This condition of aftairs, 
the legitimate growth of circumstances, is exemplified in the early 
growth of Davis County. 

From the arrival of the Pioneers until December, 1850, there 
was no civil government in operation in what is now Utah Terri- 
tory, a period of over three years. In the meantime many settle- 
ments had been located and some had made considerable growth, 
among the latter those of Davis County. Even after the session of 
the Legislature of the State of Deseret in the latter part of 1850, 
and continuing into 1851, it was over a year before the organization 
of Davis County was fairly in operation. The following from the 
ward record of Xorth Cottonwood, now Farmingtou Ward, will 
serve to illustrate how business was done iu those primitive times. 

"At a conference of the people of the ward, under the presidency 
of Bishop Gideon Brownell, held March 16th, 1857, a committee 
was appointed to divide the ward into school districts, and it was 
on motion resolved unanimous!}', that there should be a tax levied 



THE COUNTY BOUNDARIES. 69 

upon all the taxable property in the ward for the support of schools, 
and schools should be perpetually kept up." Thus we find the peo- 
ple, under the bishop, exercising the functions of civil government, 
so far as was necessary for their progress, and what may appear 
strange to those unacquainted with the genius and spirit of the 
Mormon people, in this case it was energetic action in the interests 
of education. 

By an act of the Territorial Legislature, approved February 4th, 
1852, the oflice of Probate Judge was created, the incumbent to be 
elected by a joint vote of the Legislative Assembly and commis- 
sioned by the governor. Lender this act Joseph Holbrook was 
elected the first Probate Judge of Davis Couuty, the 7th of Febru- 
ary, 1852. 

By act of the Territorial Legislature approved February 5th, 
1852, the oflice of selectman was created, and each organized county 
was required to elect three at the ensuing August election. 

An act of the Legislature approved March 3rd, 1852, made it 
the duty of the judges of probate to appoint, in their respective 
counties, three men to act as selectmen until their places were filled 
by election. Although it does not appear, from the record, that 
these appointments were made by Judge Holbrook, yet presumably 
they were, and that the first session of the county court held March 
22nd, 1852, with James Leithead as county clerk, was fully organ- 
ized. The county seat of Davis County was located by act of the 
Territorial Legislature approved February 18th, 1852, and reads as 
follows: 

" Sec. 1. Be it enacted bj- the governor and Legislative Assem- 
bly of the Territory of Utah, that the county seat of Davis County 
shall be, and hereby is located at Xorth Cottonwood Creek in said 
county. 

"Sec. 2. It shall be the duty of the county court to locate the 
site for said county seat on said creek, at the most eligible point, 
who shall also cause a survey for the same, and record the plat 
thereof in the recorder's oflice: a copy of which record shall also 
be returned to the surveyor general's oflice at the seat of govern- 
ment. 

"Sec. 3. That said county seat shall be, and hereby is known 
by the name of Farmington."' In Section 2., of an act of the Terri- 
torial Legislature, defining the boundaries of counties, approved 
March 3rd, 1852, the boundaries of Davis County were established 
as follows : 

" All that portion of the country, bounded north by "Weber 
County, east by the dividing range of mountains at the head of the 
streams running towards the Salt Lake ; south by the parallel of 
latitude, running through the Hot Springs and west by tlie eastern 
shore of Salt Lake, is hereby included within the limits of Davis 
County." 

By act of the Territorial Legislature approved January 10th, 
1866, Morgan County was organized out of a part of Davis County. 



70 iullidge's histories. 

By an act of the Territorial Legislature for further organizing 
tlie militia of the Territory, Davis county was organized a military 
district, with Daniel C. Davis Colonel commanding. lie was suc- 
ceeded by Col. Thomas S. Smith. 

Although no county records have been found by the writer to 
substantiate the fact, there is evidence of a county organization 
under the laws of the State of Deseret, enacted by a session of its 
Legislature towards the close of 1850, and continuing into 1851. 
Orias Kilburn, an aged citizen of Centerville, states that he located 
in that town in the spring of 1850, and was afterwards road com- 
missioner under the laws of the State of Deseret, and as such laid 
out the county road running under the Ijase of the mountains and 
now known as the "upiier road." Furthermore, that he attended a 
meeting of the county court in 1850, held under a liaystack, in what 
is now Farmington. 

As before stated, the first session of the county court, under 
the laws of Utah, was held March 22nd, 1852. Its first few sessions 
were especially occupied in organizing the varied interests of the 
county. 

In this county educational interests have ever received prompt 
attention. In furtherance of these interests, at the September term 
of the county court, the county was organized into scliool districts. 

March ijth, 1854, tlic first record is made of all the members of 
the county court, and it reads: "Regular Term County Court, 
Judge Ilolbrook presiding. Present of the selectmen Samuel Par- 
rish, Daniel Carter, Allen Taylor." At this meeting the court 
decreed "That a court-house be built at Farmington, Davis County, 
and that a notice be published in the Deseret News for l)ids, to build 
said house, to be let on the first Monday in May next." 

December 4th, 1854, Ezra T. Clark succeeded Joel Parrish as 
selectman. 

The following is one of the many instances 07i record, in which 
the wisdom of the county court was nnmifest in utilizing the experi- 
ence and knowledge of the bishops. It occurs in the proceedings 
of the court, Decemljer 4th, 1854. "That Bishop Stoker and coun- 
cil shall select a site for a carding machine for Mr. Brown, on Kim- 
ball Creek, below his grist mill, or somewhere else where it can be 
imt to advantage, and not injure any one else." In those days they 
went direct for their jmrpose, without circumlocution. 

At the March term of the court, 1855, the disti'ict of country 
which had been set off to Davis County on the north, by Legisla- 
tive enactment, was organized into the Weber liiver precinct. 

September 3rd, 1855, James Brinkerhoof succeeded Daniel 
Carter in the office of selectman. 

In the year 1858 there was considerable difficulty with the 
Indians in the territory south of Salt Lake City. The following 
from Governor Young's Message to the Legislature, near the close 
of the year, will indicate the condition : 



"FORT DISTRICT." 71 

"In the soutliern settlements a great portion of the troops 
have been kept in almost constant service in order to preserve the 
inhabitants and their property from Indian aggressions. * * * 
During the late troubles twelve of our citizens have been killed at 
difl'erent times, and many wounded; and seven of the exploring 
party, including the lamented Captain Gunnison, have been killed 
on the Sevier." 

These facts, with a general uneasiness among the Indians, 
induced Governor Young to adopt measures to collect the people 
into forts, where they could more easily defend themselves and 
their property. In each of the settlements of the county forts were 
surveyed. The people moved together within the lines and com- 
menced to wall themselves in. This labor continued for two or 
three years, during which the settlements made various degrees of 
progress. Bountiful completed the wall with a military road eight 
rods wide around the inside, wliich still remains public land. 

At the March term for 1855, the county court laid off the 
county into "Fort Districts." They also appointed "Locating 
Committees" for these districts, who were required to file bonds to 
the amount of |10,000 for the faithful performance of their duties. 
There were live of tlie districts. At an adjourned meeting on the 
26th of March the same year, tlie court, in obedience to an act ot 
the Legislative Assembly', ]>rescribed the necessary taxes for the 
completion of these forts. The following excerpts, from the record 
of the county court, will indicate the burden the people carried in 
their attempt to construct the fortifications. 

"District No. 2. Tliat there shall be a tax of thirty dollars on 
each lot within said fort, twelve dollars poll tax on each able-bodied 
ma!i over the age of eighteen years, and eleven per cent, on the 
valuation of property within the district. 

"District No. 5. That there shall be a tax of thirty dollars on 
each lot within said fort, twelve dollars poll tax on each able-bodied 
man over the age of eighteen years, and sixteen per cent, on tiie 
valuation of property within said district." The apparent necessities 
of the times brought the people together, and these forts were the 
nucleus of the towns of Bountiful, Centerville, Farmington and 
Kaysville. This forting up originated in the great anxiety of the 
leaders of the people to preserve them from destruction. Doubt- 
less, tiie subsequent socialistic advantages of living nearer together 
have more than counterbalanced the losses resulting from the 
move. 

December 1st, 1856, Samuel Henderson and Abraham Rose 
succeeded E. F. Clark and Allen Taylor as selectmen, and March 
2nd, 1857, John D. Parker succeeded Joseph Ilolbrook as probate 
j udge. 

September 7th, 1857, Truman Leonard succeeded Abraham 
Rose as selectman, and March 7th, 1859, Judson Stoddard suc- 
ceeded John D. Parker as probate judge. 



72 tullidge's histories. 

June 6th, 1859, the county court decided to make material 
changes in the county roads. The following is from the records of 
that date: "That this court disannul all the present county roads, 
and that a committee be appointed to locate a site for one good 
road and that the public labor for the present year be applied upon 
such road so located." A committee of three were appointed. As 
the result of this action the county road was laid out nearer the 
lake and the center of population. 

The committee not returning a satisfactory report, the 
court manifested its sound judgment by appointing the iive bishops 
of the county as a new committee, as the record states: "In order 
that the people in each ward may be duly represented." It seems 
supertluous to add that the report of this committee was satisfactory 
to the court. 

March 5th, 1860, Thomas S. Smith succeeded J. L. Stoddard 
as probate judge. 

In September, 1860, 0. L. Robinson succeeded Truman 
Leonard as selectman. 

February 14th, 1861, Samuel W. Eichards succeeded Thomas 
S. Smith as probate judge, and Arthur Stayner succeeded James 
Leithead as county clerk. 

June 3rd, 1861, the court "ordered that all that portion of 
Weber River Precinct, of Davis County east of the mouth of Weber 
Canyon, shall be known as Weber Valley Precinct." This portion 
of Davis County was afterwards organized into Morgan County. 

June 17th, 1761, Rosel Hyde took the place of Anson V. Call 
as selectman. Thomas Grover was the successor of S. W. Richards 
as probate judge, January 27th, 1862. At the time Hector C. 
Haight, 0. L. Robinson and Rosel Hyde as selectmen, completed 
the organization of the court. 

September 1st, 1862, A. B. Cherry succeeded H. C. Haight as 
selectman. 

Special term, February 6th, 186-3, the court consulted with the 
bishops, and other leading citizens of the county, on the sulyect of 
licenses for the sale of intoxicating drinks. It decided that no 
licenses should be granted unless the application be endorsed by the 
bishop of the ward. This question of licenses for the sale of strong 
drink appears to have been as perplexing in Davis County as in 
other parts of the country. 

The Probate Judge appointed John Leavitt county clerk in 
place of A. Stayner, February 6th, 1863, and December 7th of 
the same year, David Hess succeeded 0. L. Robinson as selectman. 
March 7th, 1864, Hon. Joseph Holbrook again came to the front, 
succeeding Thomas Grover as Probate Judge. The organization 
was complete with Rosel Hyde, A. B. Cherr}' and David Iless select- 
men. At this term C. W. Penrose was appointed county clerk, as 
the successor of John Leavitt, and he was succeeded, at the follow- 
ing September term, by John S. Gleason. December 5th, 1864, the 
court appointed Joel Parrish selectman in place of A. B. Cherry, 



COUNTY OFFICKRS. 73 

deceased. This is the first recorded death of a member of the 
coiintj- court. 

February l-3th, 18(i5, Hector C. naio:ht succeeded Joseph Hol- 
brook as judge, with David Hess, Rosel Hvde and Joel Parrish, 
selectnieu. Also Arthur Staj-ner was appointed to succeed John S. 
Gleason as couutv clerk. 

September, 17th, 1866; Jesse N". Perkins succeeded David Hess 
as selectman. March 5th, 1867, Arthur Stayner resigned and C. W. 
Stayner succeeded him as county clerk. 

September 18th, 186!», .Tohn Ellison was appointed selectman 
to succeed Kosel Hyde, resigned. 

September 2nd, 1872, Wni. Brown succeeded Jesse W. Perkins 
in the office of selectman. This year the small-pox broke out in 
Hooperville and Centerville. Several cases proved fatal. 

March 20th, 1S74, John W. Hess succeeded Hector C. Haight 
in the office of Y>robate Judge. At the time Joel Parrish, Wm. 
Brown and Rosel Hyde were selectmen. John W. Hess was suc- 
ceeded in the office of probate judge by Wm. R. Smith, September 
21st, 1874. At the same time Joseph Barton became count}- clerk. 

September. 6th, 1875, Jesse X. Perkins assumed the duties of 
selectman, and on the 16th of the same month he resigned, and was, 
in turn, succeeded by Wm. Brown. 

February 9th, 1877, Judge Smith reported to the county court, 
that he had made arrangements with the mayor of Salt Lake City, 
for the prisoners of Davis County to be kept at the rate of 75 cents 
per day. This arrangement was made on account of the county not 
having a suitable jail for the continement of prisoners. 

Februarv 9th, 1877, Jacob Miller was appointed by the court 
to take the place of Joel Parrish as selectman, until the ensuing 
election. The 1st of September, 1879, HortinD. Haight and Chris- 
topher Lavton became selectmen, in place of Wm. Brown and Rosel 
Hyde. 

September 5th, 1881, David Stoker succeeded Wm. Brown as 
selectman. March 15th, 1882, Thomas F. Roueche was appointed 
selectman to till the vacancy occasioned bj' the resignation of Chris- 
topher Lay ton. 

August 7th, 1882, Alley S. Rose succeeded Hortin D. Harght 
as selectman, and October 1st, 1883, Joseph H. Grant took the place 
of David Stoker, resigned. 

October 15th, 1883, David Stoker succeeded Wm. R. Smith in 
the office of probate judge, with Thomas F. Roueche, Alley S. Rose 
and Joseph H. Grant, selectmen. At tiie same time Jacob Miller 
succeeded Joseph Barton as county clerk. 

December 17th, 1883, B. F. Knowlton, having been elected to 
the office of selectman, succeeded A. S. Rose. On the 31st of the 
same month, the county court granted right of way through the 
county to the "Rocky Mountain Bell Telephone Co." 

October 13th, 1884, Joseph Barton succeeded Jacob Miller as 



74 tullidge's histories. 

county clerk, also Lewis M. Grant succeeded Joseph H. Grant as 
selectman. 

September 28th, 1885, John W. Woolley took the place of B. 
F. Knowlton, as selectman, and he was succeeded by Aaron B. Por- 
ter, Nov. 8th, 1886. 

This closes the history of the succession of the members of the 
county court, as there has been no chans^es .since the above writing. 
May 1st, 1888. 

With but slight exceptions the people have voted solid on poli- 
tical questions. The greatest opposition to the People's Party hav- 
ing never, as j^et, polled as high as thirty votes. 

The following is a statement of those who have represented the 
county in the Territorial Legislature, and in the conventions for 
forming state constitutions, with a view to the admission of the Ter- 
ritory into the Union, so far as the writer has been able to ascertain. 

John Stoker was representative to the Legislature of the State 
of Deseret in 1850-51. In the tirst Territorial Legi-slature of 1851-52, 
Thomas S. Smith represented the county in the Council, and John 
Stoker in the House of Representatives and also in the session of 
1852-53. In the session of 1853-54, Thomas S. Smith represented the 
county in the Council, and Henry W. Miller and John Stoker in 
the House of Representatives. 

In the session of 1860-61, the county was represented in the 
Council by Wm. R. Smith, in the House by Hortin D. Haight and 
Rosel Hyde. 

In the session of 1863-64 by C. C. Rich in the Council, Wm. R. 
Smith and John Stoker in tiie House. 

In the session of 1864-65 by C. C. Rich in the Council and Hor- 
tin D. Haight and C. S. Peterson in the House. 

In the sessions of 1863-64 and 1864-65, Davis and Morgan Coun- 
ties were one electoral district. 

In the session of 1865-66, Charles C. Rich represented Davis and 
Morgan Counties in the Council and Hortin D. Haight and Charles 
S. Peterson in the House. 

In the session of 1866-67, Davis with Morgan County was rep- 
resented in the Council by Hector C. Haight, and in the House by 
Christopher Layton and Philemon C. Merrill. Also the same men 
represented the county in the session of 1867-68. 

Representatives in 1870-71, Wm. H. Lee and W. G. Smith. 

In the session of 1872, Lot Smith rej)resented Davis and Mor- 
gan Counties in the Council, and Willard G. Smith and W. H. 
Lee in the House of Rejiresentatives. 

In the session of 1874, the two counties were represented in the 
Council by Arthur Stayner, and in the House by Wm. R. Smith 
and Willard G. Smith. 

In 1876, the two counties sent John W. Hess to the Council 
and Anson Call and Willard G. Smith to the House. 

In 1878 both counties were represented in the Council by Wm. 
R. Smith, and by Willard G. Smith and John Fisher in the House; 



TOOELE COUNTY. 75 

and in the session of 1880, by Peter Barton in the Conncil, and by 
John Fisher and S. Francis in the House. 

In the session of 1882, Peter Barton represented Davis and 
Morgan Counties in the Council, and Samuel Francis in the House. 

1884, Jos. Barton re[)resented the two counties in the Council 
and S. Francis in the House. 

In 1886, the two counties were represented in the Council by 
Jos. Barton, and by J. 11. Stewart in the House. 

1887-88, John"^Carlyle in the Council, and Thomas F. Roueche 
in the House. 



TOOELE COUNTY, 



CHAPTER I. 



Description and History. 

It is divided from Salt Lake and Utah Counties by the Oquirrh 
range of mountains. It is about one hundred and forty miles long, 
east and west, and seventy-live miles wide, north and south. It has 
large areas of sagebrush and greasewood which have so far been 
utilized for the pasturage of slieep, cattle and horses. Owing to 
the scarcity of water, towns and ranches are long distances apart. 
There is not in any locality a sutiicient supply of water for a town 
of 10,000 inhabitants. 

Tooele valley, bounded on the north by the shores of Great 
Salt Lake was named Tule,tlie Indian name forthe water Hag which 
grew in considerable quantities along the lake shore ; but in the first 
writing the orthography was changed to Tooele which form has been 
retained. 

Rush Lake Valley was so named from a marsh in the north end of 
it once covered with a rank growth of rushes which afforded con- 
siderable feed for stock. 

For the purposes of this history the mining towns and camps 
may very apjiropriately be grouped together. The principal and 
first developed mines are in the mountains and foot-hills on the east 
side of Rush Lake Valley. When the mineral developments in 
Bingham Canjou, on the east side of this range, are connected with 
those on its west side there are at this writing, no conceivable limit 
to the possible resources of this mining region. 



76 tullidge's histories. 

STOCKTON. 

The present leading mining town of this region is immediately 
under the foot-hills on the east side of Rush Lake. Its location 
being the direct result of the prospecting of the mines of this region, 
by detachments of the California volunteers under the command of 
General P. E. Conner; the events which led to it may be appropri- 
ately noticed here. Forage being scarce around Camp Douglass, in 
March, 1864, companies of A. II. K. and L. of the Second Califor- 
nia Cavalry were ordered to Rush Lake Valley. They camped on 
the east side of the Lake and called the place Camp Relief. During 
that season, being encouraged by their officers and the ever-cheering 
hope of the miner that he has a bonanza almost within his grasp, 
they located many mineral deposits, and the miners organized as a 
part of the west mining district of which Bingluim (.'anyon formed 
the principal center. 

June lltb, 1<S64, tlie miners met and organized as the Rush 
Lake Valley District with Andrew Campbell, recorder. About the 
same time the town of Stockton was laid off, as a sort of joint stock 
enterprise, by General Conner, Major Gallagher, Johnson and Jos- 
eph Clark ; the latter doing the surveying. As an inducement to 
settlers they tendered every other lot, except corner ones, to those 
who would build a house. The location being on the old emigrant 
road, many people terajited by the prospect of great developments 
of mineral wealth, preferred to locate here instead of continuing 
their journey to the Pacific Coast. 

After the California Volunteers were mustered out of service, 
some still remained to develop encouraging prosjiects, and a few of 
these pioneers are yet residents of this mining region. But in that 
early day the camp was very much reduced as the low grade ores 
would not bear the expenses of transportation. 

In 1865 and '60, the first smelter was put up by Henrj' Monheim 
and E. P. Johnson, and in the last year General Conner built a large 
reverberator3\ By these means considerable metal was run out. Two 
Germans, whose names have passed from the memory of resident 
pioneers, first separated the silver from the lead, proving that it 
could be successfully done. In 1867, the camp dwindled down to 
ten or twelve men, but in 1870 business was again revived by the 
arrival of miners from White Pine ; among them was John Frank, 
Jr., one of the jiioneers when a memljer of the California Volun- 
teers. The mining district organized with Mr. Fi-ank, recorder. 
At that time the Rush Valley mining district included Stockton, 
Dry Canyon and Ophir. October 1st, 1870, Ophir was organized 
into a separate distrtct. At this time the mining interests were in 
a flourishing condition, employing about .500 men. 

Stockton has had three considerable flres. The two most dam- 
aging ones burnt much of tlie town on the east side of the main 
street. The last occurred the 16th of October, 1886, and destroyed 
a solid block of buildings. The business of the place decreased 



STOCKTON. 77 

again in 1875-76, but assumed a little more life in 1878, since which 
there has not been mucli growth. 

The smelter at the north end of Eush Lake was erected by 
Isaac Waterman in 1872. The Chicago smelter on the east side of 
the lake was put up by W. S. Godbe, the same year, in the interests 
of a London company. The ore for these smelters came mostly 
from the Dry Canyon and Ophir mines. These smelters run suc- 
cessfully for two or three years, when the supply of mineral appeared 
to fail. 

This with a depreciation of the market value of bullion caused 
them to shut down. The Jacobs' smelter, built by Mr. Jacol)s in 
the interests of Lily Leisenring & Company, of Mauch Chunk, Penn- 
sylvania, and situated northeast of the town, was also put up in 
1872. As a smelter it drew its ore from the Kearsage mine. Gen- 
eral Conner purchased this smelter about 1878 and changed it into a 
concentrator. It is now owned by the Honorine Mining Company, 
and it has done as successful a business as any concentrating works 
in Utah, with an ample supply of ore from the company's mines. 
These, with other neighboring mines, are developing at a depth ot 
COO feet, ore in greater abundance and of a higher grade. 

The Neidringhous Company of St. Louis have an extensive 
group of mines, the principal of which are the Calamut and Silver 
King, developed to a depth of over 600 feet with a better quality of 
ore at that depth. They are just completing a large concentrating 
mill, and to run it will utilize the water that is pumped from their 
mines. 

In 1865, General Conner built a saw-mill in Soldier Creek Can- 
yon; the first and only saw-mill that appears to have lieen put up in 
this mining region. The town of Stockton is supplied with water 
from this creek. Stockton has about seventy-five families and 500 
inhabitants, 140 of which are children within legal school age. It 
has a free district school, which is taught in a commodious frame 
school-house. There is a small, but neat, Methodist Church in 
which regular services are held. The town has one hotel, quite 
limited in its accommodations, and two saloons. It has many ele- 
ments of society far in advance of the primitive mining camp. 
There is a nucleus of a prosperous agricultural community around 
the town. 

Ten or twelve miles a little south-east of Stockton is the mouth 
of a deep mountain gorge, out of which fiows a rippling stream of 
pure, sparkling water, called East Canyon Creek. In traveling east 
up this stream we pass two or three orchards, several pieces of lucern, 
a few gardens and small fields of corn and vegetables. These give 
a pleasing variety to the bare, precipitous rocks on either side of 
the gorge and the bald peaks 1,200 or 1.500 feet above. We also 
pass a dihqiidated water-wheel, and further up, the foundation walls 
of Walker Brothers' twenty stamp mill, which made lively times in 
the gorge while it was in operation. Two and three-fourth miles 
from the mouth of the gorge we came to the lower end of what 



78 tullidge's histories. 

was once the rustling mining town of Ophir. It is now in a very 
dilapidated condition. Much ground that was occupied with stores, 
saloons, hoarding-houses, gambling dens and howling allies, now 
carries on its surface no indications of having been once so occupied. 
It still has a hotel, saloon and store, but their appearance and stock 
in trade do not indicate much business thrift. 

The town contains twenty-eight families and about 200 inhab- 
itants. The usual proportion of the families are children, and a dis- i|1 
trict school is sustained for their benefit. The principal mines are 
covered by patents. Several of these are worked on lease with pay- ». , 
ing results. One, the Gem, is worked by the owners. Taking as ' 
a guide the views of experienced men around these mines, there is 
no limit to their possible development of wealth in the future. 

The Dry Canyon mines are in the hills between Ophir and 
Stockton and are of much prospective value. In common with 
other mines in this region, they were first opened by California vol- 
unteers. The Mona was celebrated for some fifteen years. The 
first five years it was worked it is said to have yielded a million of 
dollars. The Kearsage was largely productive in early times, also 
the Deseret. The latter has been worked continuously, but late years 
with reduced results. The Queen of the Hills in early times pro- 
duced about one-half million of dollars, and is now under lease. 
The Hidden Treasure has been a very successful mine, and is still 
run with profitable results. As has been meTitioned, the smelters 
near Stockton once drew cont'iderable c^uantities of ore from this 
locality. 

At this writing, 1888, the only machinery in operation in this 
region for producing bullion is the concentrator of the Honorine 
Mining Company. JSIuch is, however, anticipated in the near future 
in this direction. 

A passing notice is due the Columbia mining district, about 
west of Ophir on the opposite side of Rush Lake valley. John G. 
Thompson commenced prospecting there about 1873. In 1875 the 
camp contained about sixty men. The following year low grade 
ores were shipped from there, but without profit. Recently there 
has been a vein found with a promising showing of copjier. Those 
still laboring there are, as usual, buoyed up with the miner's hope 
of a bonanza just ahead. 

At this writing the Clifton mining district is attracting con- 
siderable interest among mining men. It is in the western part of the 
county. A small ^[ormon settlement was first located there in 
18.5.5, of which James Worthington, Joseph McMurry, James 
Matthews and Robert Orr were the pioneers. Others followed to 
the number of fifteen families. The California volunteers first pros- 
pected the mineral deposits. Near the settlement was once an 
Indian reservation twelve miles square. Below the settlement, about 
1875-76, John W. Ilarker erected a smelter in the interests of a St. 
Louis company. It ran out considerable quantities of bullion, which 
was hauled by wagon ninety miles to Toanna on the Central Pacific 



|i 



« 



ST. JOHN. 79 

Railway. At another period of its operations it sent its bullion to 
Salt Lake City. Afterwards Mr. Harker moved it from Clifton 
and put it up at Gold Hill, principally to work the ore from the 
Gilbertson mine. It has since been sold for taxes and the remains 
of it are still on the ground. 

In the autumn of 1887, a rich gold deposit was found about 
six hundred yards from the old smelter. Three tons of this ore 
were shipped to Salt Lake City, in June, 1888, which sold for .$425 
per ton. It assayed $46.5, gold, 12 oz. silver, and 8 per cent, of 
copper, per ton. 

The present owners of these rich mines are, Woodman, ^lartin 
and Duuyan, and they contemplate putting up a gold quartz mill on 
the ground in the near future. The silver ore is high grade galena 
and assays 50 to 100 ounces per ton. These galena mines are very 
extensive, and are mostly found in granite formation. 

Deep Creek was onee an important home station for the Over- 
land Mail, Major Howard Egan was the pioneer mail-carrier over 
this route, and was Division Agent from Salt Lake City to Roberts' 
Creek, and Bolivar Roberts was Division Agent from Roberts' 
Creek to Carson City, both at that time in Utah. 

The 86-mile desert, on which the Hastings' company of emi- 
grants mostly perished in 1847, lies between Skull vallej' and Pilot's 
Peak in Tooele County, and about seventy miles north of Deep 
Creek. In 1875, Stephen S. Worthington, John Q. Knowlton and 
Daniel Hunt traveled across this desert. It was strewn with the 
bones of men and oxen, and with wagons, yokes, chains, etc., in a 
fair state of preservation. 

This sketch of mines and mining towns may very appropriately 
close with a notice of mines twelve or fifteen miles south-west of 
Grantsville, on the north fork of South Willow Creek, principally 
of galena ores. Tbe prospecting was done by Harrison Severe and 
Mark Randall. The principal mines. Wind Farm and Osceola, 
belong to the Jennings and Hooper estates. Some years ago con- 
siderable ore was shipped from these mines. The Osceola produced 
quite a per cent, of copper. A ton of the ore was taken to Salt 
Lake City and sold for .$40. 



ST. JOHN. 

This scattered country town is ten miles south-west of Stockton 
and seventeen miles from the county seat. It is in the midst of an 
immense stock range, and its people are exclusively an agricultural 
and stock-raising community. Besides owning considerable num- 
bers of horses and cattle, they now own over 30,000 sheep. 

St. Jolm is tbe outgrowth of a settlement on Clover Creek 
bottom a little below the foothills. Luke Johnson, one of the first 



80 TULLIDfiE'S HISTORIES. 

quorum of apostles of the Mormon Church, with Enos Stookey, 
John Child, his two sons, John G. and George, and a Mr. Brice, 
moved on the ground in 1855. The same year the first houses 
were built. Luke Johnson led the settlement as presiding elder, 
under the supervision of John Rovvherry, the presiding bishop of 
Tooele County. D. H. Caldwell, and probably others, located 
there in 1856. At first all the water of Clover Creek would run in 
two plow furrows. The water has increased until it now irrigates 
400 acres, but like other mountain streams, the amount of water in 
the summer depends much on the snow-fall the jirevious winter. 
When this has been light the fields sutfer for water. 

The settlement at the head of Clover Creek was first called 
Johnson and afterwards Sliambip, the Indian name for rush. When 
Shambip County was organized it was made the county seat, with 
Luke Johnson as probate judge, and George W. Burridge, William 
G. Russell and Enos Stookey, selectmen. The county was too 
thinly populated to sustain an organization, and after trying the 
experiment was again absorbed into Tooele County. About the 
year 1865, the people built a stockade fort, but being on the creek 
bottom below the level of the surrounding country, the location 
was a bad one for defence. They were visited by George A. 
Smith, one of the presidency of the Mormon Church, who recom- 
mended the people to change their location. The people carried 
out the suggestion under the direction of Bishop Rowberry, the 
majority of them moving on the present site of St. John, in the 
autumn of 1867. The new town was named in lionor of Bishop Row- 
berry. St. John contains about -300 people. The only prospect 
which now ap]iears for future growth is the utilizing of artesian water. 
No reasonable ettbrt has yet been made to obtain it, although the 
lay of the country indicates that it might be obtained as well as in 
the northern part of the county. 



n 



VERNOK 

This town is located on Vernon Creek twelve miles below its 
head waters. By the traveled road it is twenty miles south of St. 
John and is similarly situated in a large tract of country with a 
scattered population. In April, 1862, Andrew llokenson, Lars 
Larsen and Fred Hansen located farms on the rich bottoms of Ver- 
non Creek, but at first built their houses, for better protection from 
the Indians, at H. J. Fau.st's mail station on the overland road, some 
four miles away from their farms, to which they moved their houses 
in 1865. 

In 1863, Eric Anderson and E. G. and Peter Pehrson were 
added to the colony. Lars Larson was the first presiding elder, 
appointed in 1864. The settlement being weak public institutions 
were slow in developing. Elizabeth Benniou taught the first school. 



VERNON, E. T. CITY AND RICHVILLE. 81 

For many years frosts were so frequent that fruit, corn and tender 
vegetables "could not be profitably grown. The elements have so 
modified that 325 acres of rich bottom land along the Vernon, pro- 
duces an excellent variety of grain, hay and vegetables, and an 
ambition is developing in the people for planting trees. The place 
contains only one hundred people. They have done but little in 
making pleasant homes, but are wealthy in cattle, horses and sheep, 
there being 40,000 of the latter owned in the place. 

John C. Sharp was appointed bishop when the stake was organ- 
ized in 1877. He is making a striking contrast with his surround- 
ings in the way of a fine homestead, on which is nearing comple- 
tion a brick residence in elegance and solidity of construction next 
to none in the county. Doubtless the beneficial effects of his exam- 
ple will be seen in the future in liis ward. The place and the stream 
of water on whicli it is located, took their name from the circum- 
stance that a settler by the name of Joseph Vernon was shot by a 
bad Indian while cooking by his camp fire. 

Having performed our labor as historian with the agricultural 
settlements and mining towns of Rush Lake valley, we will turn our 
attention to the locations that appear to be worthy of notice, north 
and north-east of the county seat. The first of these is Lake View, 
about three miles north-east of Tooele City and a sliort distance 
below Pine Canyon, near the mouth of which the original settle- 
ment was located as early as 1850. Prominent among the pioneers 
were the Leavitts, Lemuel, Dudley and Thomas, and Perry Durfee 
and George Baker. As its name indicates, its inhabitants, number- 
ing 160, have a magnificent view of Great Salt Lake in the distance. 
The settlement was originally and is now sometimes called Pine 
Canyon. The people say that there are still some remains of the 
original settlement to be seen near the mouth of the canyon. The 
colony did not do much until 1860 when water was brought from 
Middle Canyon, three miles south. The people farm 250 acres, but 
sufier much for water after a light fall of winter snow in the 
mountains. There is a good district school-house and a frame 
meeting-house suited to the needs of the place. It is a beautiful 
location and must also be a healthy one, but no elements of much 
future growth are discernable in its surroundings. 



E. T. CITY 

is twelve miles north of Lake View. Its name, erroneously con- 
veys the idea of a considerable town, but it is simply a small farming 
community without the remotest prospect of becoming anything 
more. 

Three or four miles west of E. T. City is 



RICHVILLE. 
This name is now almost obsolete on account of the insignificance 
of the place. It is more generallj' known as "The Mill." It was 



TULLIDGB S HISTORIES. 



once designated as the county seat, but its subsequent growth did 
not warrant the important position. It is also of significance as the 
place where was put up the first saw-raill in the county. 



1 



LAKE POINT 

is the next spot of significance, where Dr. .Jeter Clinton laid out con- 
siderable money in buildings and conveniences for a public bathing 
resort. In fact, to him belongs the credit of expending the first 
money in this laudable enterprise on the shores of the Great Salt 
Lake. When the Utah & Nevada Railroad passed into the hands 
of the Union Pacific Company, controlling the means of transporta- 
tion, it ruined Dr. Clinton's project by establishing Garfield Beach, 
and monopolizing the business. This latter point- is only a few 
minutes ride on the cars, from Salt Lake City and is furnished with 
all the necessary appliances for the convenience and comfort of a 
first class bathing resort. The place is extensively patronized in the 
warm season and no estimate can be made of its possibilities in the 
future as a place of fashionable resort. The once famous Colfax 
Party first initiated the popularity of the waters of the Great Salt 
Lake for bathing purposes. The day after their arrival in Salt Lake 
City, Speaker Colfax, Governor Boss, Messrs. Bowels and Richard- 
son, accompanied by the city council and some of the leading mer- 
chants, drove over to the Lake. Mr. Bowles in his book Across 
The Continent, wrote, " We have been taken on an excursion to 
Great Salt Lake, bathed in its wonderful waters, on which you float 
like a cork, sailed on its surface, and picnicked by its shore — if pic- 
nic can be without women for sentiment and to spread table cloth 
and to be helped up and over rocks." 



GARFIELD BEACH 

received its name some ten years ago from a second visit to Utah of 
our martyred president, who, it is said, was first nominated to the 
presidential office by a party of ladies and gentlemen with whom he 
■was making a trip on the lake on board the City of Corinne. The 
boat was afterwards named General Garfield in commemoration of 
this visit. 

An act of the Territorial Legislature, approved February 18th, 
1880, changed the boundaries of counties so as to extend Tooele 
County over the south end of Great Salt Lake. 



*i 



BLACK ROCK 

is a prominent land-mark near the southern shore of the lake, and 
was one of the first objects to attract the attention of the emigrant 
as he emerged from the passes of the Wasatch on the bench east 



INDIAN DIFFICULTIES. 83 

of Salt Lake City, and took his first extensive view of the wondrous 
valiev witii its salt sea shininierinu; in the distance. It received its 
characteristic name from an exploring party of the Mormon Pio- 
neers who visited it for the first time on the 27th of July, 1847. 
Near it Charles White first manufactured fine salt from the waters of 
the lake by evaporation in sheet iron boilers, about the year 1850. 
There now appears no practical limit to the manufacture of salt 
from the waters of the lake, and the annual amount is rapidly 
assuming immense proportions. Its waters are supposed to be 
unsurpassed for bathing purposes, and its shores may yet be lined 
with places of public resorts and elegant residences of the wealthy. 
The lake aud its environments offers unparalleled attractions in the 
way of rest, comfort, saline air and the most delightful and invig- 
orating exercise. 



INDIAN DIFFICULTIES. 

The pioneers of Tooele County had their complement of 
trouble with Indians, in common with the early settlers of Utah. 
With them, for several years, the loss of cattle and horses was 
frequent and often severe. Scouting after the enemj', standing 
guard and forting up formed an imjiortant factor in their lives. 
Many incidents of interest will remain unwritten, as only a few of 
the most important events can now be gathered up and placed on 
record. 

In the spring of 1851, some emigrants on their way to Califor- 
nia were assisting Ezra T. Benson to put up a saw-mill at llich- 
ville, when a party of the surrounding Indians stole their horses. 
One of them, Mr. Custer, with Harrison Severe, Thomas Lee and 
other Mornu)n settlers, followed them, as they supposed, to the 
west side of Rush Lake, but evidently mistook the route the 
marauders had taken. However, they there found a band of Indians 
with their families, took them prisoners and started for Tooele, but 
without disarming the men. On the way the Indians and conse- 
quently the guard became separated into small S(juads. It appears 
that Mr. Custer was a little in the rear and south of the town of 
Tooele when the two or three Indians with him made a break in 
the darkness, for it was in the evening, and in the melee Custer was 
shot. Those ahead of him soon learned the fact by his horse coming 
up with them riderless. Some men went back and found his body 
on a rock where it had fallen. The blood-stained rock was a wit- 
ness of the event for many years. His body was taken to Salt Lake 
City for burial. Tliis was the first bloodshed connected with Indian 
difficulties in the county. Harrison Severe, and perhaps others, 
succeeded in getting five of the Indian warriors into Tooele City to 
a military camp prepared by Captain Wright for their reception. 
0. P. Rockwell, commonly known as Porter Rockwell, was sent from 
head-quarters and took the direction of afiiiirs in this Indian trou- 



84 tullidge's histories. 

ble. He considered it best to make another effort to obtain the 
stolen horses. He took a party of men, and with them the tive 
Indian prisoners, and went tlirough the mountains west of Grants- 
ville into ISkull valle3^ The prisoners were evidently in sympathy 
with their thieving brethren and professed to know nothing of those 
who had stolen the horses. Their assertions received no credit 
from the whites. The part}' formed camp, went on a scout, and 
left Harrison Severe to guard the Indians for some twenty-four 
hours, rather a precarious business for one man under the circum- 
stances. Rockwell aid his men not finding any trace of the stolen 
horses, deemed it unwise to turn the thieves in their power loose to 
commit more depredations and perhaps shed the blood of some 
useful citizen, and they were sacrificed to' the natural instincts of 
self-defence. 

Soon after the aljovo events the Indians stole about one hun- 
dred head of cattle from a herd kept by Mr. Charles .White near 
Black Rock, at the south end of the lake, drove them past the 
present site of Grantsville, through Skull valley into the mountains 
west. Some of the cattle, being too fat to drive, died by the way, 
the remainder were killed and the meat dried and stored in cedar 
trees. These Indians were first pursued by fourteen men from Salt 
Lake City under Captain Wm. McBride. They got track of the 
stolen cattle in the region of Skull valley, but found the Indians 
too numerous for their numbers and they sent an express to Salt 
Lake City for assistance. General James Ferguson and Colonels 
George D. Grant and Wm. II. Kimball came out i'rom Salt Lake 
City with forty men, were joined by ten more from Tooele City, 
and with these went after the marauders. After considerable scout- 
ing and several attempts to surprise bands of Indians, while on the 
march early one morning a camp was discovered in a canyon up 
the side of a mountain. It was approached as near as possible 
witliout being discovered, wlien the command was given to make a 
rush ufion it, every man to do the best he could. The Itest mounted 
were upon the Indians before they could get away, and nine of the 
warriors were killed. Several expeditions from Salt Lake City 
afterwards assisted in the defence of the settlements, but there 
being no records of these events it is now difficult to write them. 

Mr. Harrison Severe, one of the first pioneers of the county, 
had ever advocated a kindly policy toward Indians who were not 
known to be guilty of crime. The following circumstance shows 
the wisdom of such a policy, and that the despised Indian is some- 
times capable of gratitude. In the autumn of 1852 he went into 
the mountains with a wagon and two yoke of oxen for timber. 
Near his home was the wick-i-up of a friendly Indian whose life 
he had once saved from the vengeance of his irate people. This 
Indian closely followed him into the mountains where three or four 
thieving savages were watching the coming of Mr. Severe, and had 
already plotted to kill him and take his oxen. As he was unarmed 
they easily took liim prisoner, and were proceeding to carry out 



TAMING THE SAVAGE. 85 

their bloody purpose, when the friendly Indian appeared on the 
wround, placed an arrow in his bow and informed them that before 
Sespatching Mr. Severe they would be obliged to kill him. A parley 
ensued and the robbers were inilnied with a more kindly feeling. 
One of them went home with Mr. Severe, and the latter sent a 
messenger into Salt Lake City for an interpreter. On his arrival 
a personal treaty was made between Mr. Severe and the Indians, 
at^cr whifh he always went wherever he wished in safety, regardless 
of the ditJicnlties the Indians might have with others. 

The last raid made by Indians on the animals of the citizens of 
Tooele valley was, doubtless, brought about by some thieving white 
persons. Xot far from Tooele City an Indian chief, known as 
Naraquits, had a son about si.xteen years old who sickened and 
died; with him, in accordance with the custom of his people, he 
buried a ritle with some buckskins for his use. After an absence 
of several weeks he returned to visit the resting place of his sou to 
find that some sacrt- ligious white man had robbed the grave. It 
was but natural that his vengeance should be aroused. Shortly, 
some one hundred horses, mostly belonging to Naylor and Bring- 
hurst, were driven otf. It afterwards transpired that they were 
taken to Fort Bridger and sold to U. S. soldiers, who at the time 
were stationed there. 

In 1864, General Connor's command was used to protect the 
Overland Mail cuiv--h on the road from Stockton west, where the 
Indians had committed some depredations. Detachments guarded 
all the stations and a guard of two or three men traveled with each 
coach. At one time seven men were killed at what was then known 
as Bunt Station, near where the town of Clifton now stands. At 
one time thirty men were stationed at Government Creek for sixty 
days. A little west of this creek Captain A. Smith attacked a band 
of Indians and killed nine of them. The outbreak ended as usual 
with such aftairs. The barbarian wasted away, and a miserable 
remnant was glad to make peace on any terms. 

This seems a iitting place to notice a change for the better in 
the remnants of the savage Ijands who for many years exasperated 
the citizens of Tooele County by their thieving. The change is 
due to the well-directed labors of Mr. Wm. Lee of Grantsville, and 
others, who under the direction of the leaders of the Mormon 
Church commenced to live among and work with them about the 
year 1860. The}- were induced to cultivate the soil and when a 
Land Office was established in Salt Lake City to obtain lands from 
the government under the Homestead Act, two of their leading 
men. Tabby and Shiprus, each entered 160 acres of land, for which 
they have obtained patents. They have sold parcels to others and 
they own their farms in severalty. The 320 acres is fenced and 
farmed. The most of the families have houses, and they own cattle, 
horses, wagons, tools and the usual appliances of civilization. They 
now number about ninety souls. Eftbrts have been made to 
improve the condition of other remnants of the Gosliute bands on 



86 iullidge's histories. 

Deep Creek, but not with sucli pronounced success. No aid has 
been given by the government in these labors. 

Tliere are no records of the military organizations of the 
county available and consequently but little can be said on the 
subject. 

Captain P. li. Wright was the first military commander in the 
county. He was in the noted Mormon Battalion, and is remem- 
bered as an efficient, useful man. "When the militias were first 
organized as a part of the jSf^auvoo Legion, Ruel Barnes was Major 
of the 2nd Battalion at Grantsville, and .John Ro\vl)erry ranking 
Major of the 1st Battalion at Tooele City, and as such, command- 
ing officer of the county militia. When the Nauvoo Legion was 
re-organized in 1866, .John Gillespie was elected Major of cavalry, 
and as such, commander of Tooele Military District, commissioned 
by Governor Durkee, with Richard Warbtirton, Adjutant. 

From information obtained from reliable sources the population 
of the county will vary but little from -3,800. There are hut few of 
the people who are not connected in some way with farming, stock 
raising or mining. 

The county aljounds in rich mineral deposits, which railroads 
and capital must yet develop into sources of immense wealth. 

Large tracts of desert lands have been claimed under Acts of 
Congress with a view to boring for artesian water. Success in this 
direction would increase the cultivated area of the county and con- 
sequently its population and wealth. 



CHAPTER n. 

Boundaries, Organization and Civil Administration of Tooele County. 

By act of the Territorial Legislature, approved January 10, 
18fi6, the boundaries of Tooele County are defined as follows, in 
Sec. 17: "All that portion of the territory, bounded south by Juab 
County, west by Nevada, north by Box Elder County, and east by 
the west and south shores of Great Salt Lake and Salt Lake and 
Utah Counties is hereby made and named Tooele County, with 
county seat at Tooele City." By an act of the Legislature in 1880, 
the county was extended over a considerable portion of Great Salt 
Lake. 

The record of the County Court opens very appropriately with 
the first organization of the county as follows: "At the last session 
of the Legislature of the State of Deseret, an act was jjassed for 
the organizing of Tooele County, when the following officers were 



COUNTY ELECTIONS. 87 

appointed, to wit : John Rowberry, probate judge; Alfred Lee 
and Alexander Biidlara, associate judges; Peter Maughan, clerk of 
said court. Tooele City, May 10, 1851." 

"By order of the Judge of Probate, an election was lield at 
Tooele City, this tenth day of June, 1851, for the election of a 
sheriff, a county recorder, a justice of the peace, three constables 
and a ward supervisor for said county. According to the returns 
tiled in the County Clerk's ofhce, the following citizens were 
elected to office, to wit: Francis Lee, sheriti"; Peter Maughan, 
recorder; George W. Bryan, justice of the peace; Thomas Lee, 
Robert Skelton and Harrison Severe, constables; and Wilson Lund, 
road supervisor." Each of these officers was elected by 41 votes 
and without opposition. This account begins with the incipient 
stages of civil government in Tooele County. 

At the general election of August 7th, 1851, John jNI. Bern- 
hisel was elected the first delegate to Congress,' and John Row- 
berry, representative to the first Territorial Legislature. Mr. Row- 
bery was of foreign birth, and objections were made to his eligibility 
as he had not taken out full naturalization papers. The governor 
of the territory ordered another election to be held on the 12th of 
the ensuing November. In the meantime, Mr. Rowberry perfected 
his naturalization and was unanimously elected. 

By an act of the Territorial Legislature, approved February 
4th, 1852, Alfred Lee was appointed to succeed John Rowbery as 
probate judge, and Judge Lee appointed Peter Maughan, clerk of 
the probate court, and Perry Durfee, John S. Gleason and Ezaias 
Edwards, selectmen. Thus the change was made from two asso- 
ciate judges under the laws of the State of Deseret, to three select- 
men under territorial statute. The county court under territorial 
organization, held its first session at Tooele City, the 1st of April, 
1852. 

At the general election in August, 1852, John Rowberry was 
sent to the Territorial Legislature, and Harrison Severe succeeded 
Perry Durfee as selectman. At a meeting of the county court, 
March 1st, 1853, Thomas II. Clark was a[ii)ointed to succeed John 
S. Gleason, whose resignation had been accepted as selectman. 

At the general election in August, 1853, Ezra T. Benson was 
sent to the Territorial Legislature, and Peter Maughan succeeded 
Harrison Severe in the county court. 

In 1854, Tooele County was joined to Salt Lake County for the 
election of councilors to the Territorial Legislature. E. T. Benson 
was sent to the Territorial Legislature as representative. 

At a special session of the county court held at Richville, the 
17th of March, 1855, the county was divided into four forting tlis- 
tricts, and a committee appointed for each district. This action 
does not appear to have had any practical result. 

Again, at the election in August, 1855, Ezra T. Benson was 
returned as representative to the Territorial Legislature. 

A special election was held on the 7tii of April, 1856, at which j" 



88 tullidge's histories. 

/ 

the Constitution adopted by a Territorial Convention, with a view 
to the admission of Utah into the Union, was unanimously accepted 
i by the people. 

In August, 1856, Wni. C. Gallagher was elected to succeed 
Peter Maughan as selectman, and the latter was elected representa- 
tive to the Territorial Legislature. Andrew G. Blodget succeeded 
Peter Maughan as county clerk at the December term of the court, 
1856. 

By an act of the Territorial Legislature, approved January 12th, 
1856, Sharabip County was ordered to be organized out of the 
southern part of Tooele County, but the territory was again included 
in its boundaries as defined in the act approved .Taiiuary 10th, 1866. 

In the election of August, 1857, L. Gee was elected to succeed 
Ezaias Edwards as selectman, and .John Rowberry was sent to the 
Territorial Legislature. 

The county was still in the same election district for councilors 
with Salt Lake County and the candidates were usually residents of 
that county. 

The office of Probate Judge having been vacated by the 
removal of Hon. Alfred Lee from the county, John Rowberry was 
appointed to fill the vacancy, b}' Gov. A. Curaming, and presided 
at the September term for 1858. "Wm. Martindale succeeded 
Thomas II. Clark as selectman, John Rowberry was sent to the 
Legislature and Evan M. Greene succeeded Andrew G. Blodget as 
county clerk. At the March term for 1859, Ormus E. Bates suc- 
ceeded .John Rowberry in the office of probate jndge and he 
appointed Evan M. Greene county clerk. 

At the August election in 1859, the people chose Evan M. 
Greene their representative, and George W. Bryan succeeded W. 
C. Gallagher as selectman. 

In August, 1860, Evan M. Greene was returned to the Legisla- 
ture and Wm. C. Gallagher succeeded L. Gee as seleetraan. 

December .3rd, 1860, John A. Hunt succeeded Wm. A. Martin- 
dale as selectman. 

March 4th, 1861, Evan M. Greene succeeded John Rowberry 
as probate judge and he was succeeded as county clerk by James H. 
Durney. 

In the session of 1861-62, John Rowberry represented the 
county in the Territorial Legislature. 

August, 1862, Evan M. Greene was elected representative, and 
June 1st, 186-S, .John Rowberry succeeded him as probate judge and 
L. Gee took the place of James H. Durney as county clerk. 

At the general election of 1863, John Rowberry was sent to 
the Territorial Legislature, and he continued to be the favorite of 
the people for this important office from 1863 to 1872, inclusive. 

March 7th, 1864, the resignation of John A. Hunt was accepted 
and Cyrus Bates succeeded him as selectman, and in the election of 
1864, Cyrus Bates was succeeded as selectmen by A. W. Saliin. In 



M 



POLITICAL COMPLICATIONS. 89 

1865, December 4th, A. W. Sabin resigned and was in turn suc- 
ceeded by Cyrus IJates. 

June -tth, lS6ti, L. Gee resigned and was succeeded in the office 
of county clerk by Richard Warburton. In August, 1866, he was 
elected selectman and was succeeded in the election of 1869 by 
George Atkins. s^ 

By order of the Territorial Legislature an election was held on 
the .ith of February, 1872, to elect delegates to a convention to meet 
in Salt Lake City on the 19th of the same month to form a state 
constitution with a view to the admission of Utah into the Union. 
The following persons were elected : John Rowberry, Richard War- 
burton, Edward Hunter, G. W. Bryan, John Frank, George Bur- 
ridge and Doc. Stewart. 

^ For several years the political condition of the county had 
been undergoing a change, owing to the iniiux of a mining popu- 
lation which, almost exclusively, swelled the numbers of the 
Liberal Party in politics as distinguished from the People's 
Party, quite as exclusively consisting of members of the Mormon 
Church. 

To have a friendly consultation over the political interests of 
the county, twelve leading citizens of the People's Party met 
six of the Lilierals in convention in the county court-house in 
Tooele City. The latter asked for a minority representation in the 
county offices, and the subject was satisfactorily settled by a unani- 
mous decision to run the Liberal nominee for sheriff on a 
general ticket. Had matters been left in this shape it is probable 
that the ensuing election would have passed otf without any special 
antagonism. But some of the prominent members ot the People's 
Party outside of the county were not satisfied with the liberal 
action of the local citizens. A meeting of the party was convened 
at Richville, and through this outside influence the name of the 
Liberal candidate, James Lynch, fur sheriii, was crossed from 
their ticket. So unjust and impolitic did this counter movement of 
the People's Party appear to some of its members that they voted 
for the Liberal nominee at the ensuing election. The move 
roused the antagonism of the Liberal Party, we cannot say 
unjustly, but it is to be regretted that they determined to carry the 
county election, by the use of the most fraudulent measures, if 
need be. Subsequent events greatly changed the character of the 
party, for at that time it was largely composed of a reckless element 
who sought office for the sake of plunder. 

As leaders of the People's Party from Salt Lake City had 
interfered in the political atfairs of the county, their action was 
paralleled by a weighty influence brought to bear from that place 
in favor of the scheme of the Liberals. Even George S. Woods 
so far descended from the dignity of his high position as governor 
of Utah as to make stump speeches in several settlements in the 
county in favor of the Liberals. 

At this time. Wines & Kimball were running a line of coaches 
7 



90 tullidge's histories. 

from Salt Lake City to the mining towns and camps in Rush Lake 
valley. These coaches were utilized by the " Liberal Party " to run 
into the mining precincts, just before the election, a floating 
element of men and also of lewd women, who by law could then 
vote along with the respectable dames of the territory. Fares were 
paid and the saloons along the stage route were thrown open to 
this transient element. Also many miners were induced to come 
over the mountains from Bingham Canyon to assist in the nefarious 
scheme of stuffing the ballot boxes. 

In convention at Stockton the Liberal Party nominated their 
ticket and tlie cons|)iracy was well organized for carrying the elec- 
tion. Agents of the People's Party were appointed to watch the 
elections in the various precincts to prevent illegal voting, but were 
unable to control the final result. The final counting was manipu- 
lated in the interests of the radical element and, as they had the 
sympathy and support of Governor Woods and Judge McKean of 
the Third District Court, the legal voters had no means of redress. 
As a result, at a meeting of the court the 7th of September, Lawrence 
A. Brown, the candidate of the Liberal Party, armed with a com- 
mission from Governor Woods, demanded that Judge Rowberry 
vacate the office of probate judge in his fiivor. Judge Rowberry, 
presiding, asked the selectmen if they considered L. A. Brown a 
member of the court. They answered in the negative and the de 
facto ,]\idge retained his place. 

Immediately after L. A. Brown went to Salt Lake City and 
came back armed with authority to take possession of the office. 
Before adjourning on the 7th of September, the county court 
appointed the '21st of the month for examining the contested elec- 
tion cases. There was now considerable excitenient among the 
people. 

About the same time that L. A. Brown went to Salt Lake City 
a deputation of the People's Party, consisting of John Rowberry, 
Wm. H. Lee, R. Warburton and John Gillespie proceeded thither 
for advice as to the best method of procedure. On their return, 
just before arriving at E. T. City, they were met by an express from 
Tooele City with the information that Deputj- Marshal Kingsley, with 
a part}' of Liberals, had possession of the county recorder's office. 
Three of the party went to Grantsville to make some arrangements 
there. Mr. Gillespie proceeded to Tooele City, met Deputy Kings- 
ley the following morning, and took him about town with him. 
While they were absent some of the People's Party, watching for 
an ojiportunity, took advantage of the temporary absence of the 
"Liberals" and again got possession of the recorder's oflice. 

Soon after these events Marshal Maxwell appeared on the 
ground with a posse, armed with authority from the Third District 
Court to take possession of the county records, but by this time they 
liad been secreted by the citizens. Both parties were resolute and 
the excitement was intense. The center of the struggle was at the 
court-house, which was then in an unfinished condition. The 



JUDGE Mckean's ruling. 91 

interior was undividtHl, with the exception of a small room parti- 
tioned oti' in the north end of the building. In this wa.s a partv of 
citizens well-armed. This Marshal Maxwell well knew, and that he 
was not in a condition to use force to accomplish his purpose. He 
met some of the leading men ot the pet)ple in the main room of the 
building and sought, without suci-ess, to compromise the difficulty. 
The situation was precarious. Both parties understood that any 
show of using force, on either side, would be the signal for using 
rides and revolvers. At this crisis Maxwell's revolver accidentally 
dropped on the tloor, but fortunately was not discharged. Lysander 
Gee picked it up and ijuietly handed it to him. The crisis passed 
without bloodshed and without either party gaining further advan- 
tage. As Brigham Young, the president of the Mormon Church, 
about this time threw in liis weighty counsel to his people, to obey 
the injunction of the district court, the county records were turned 
over to those of the Liberal Party who claimed to have been 
elected members of the county court, and Marshal Maxwell receipted 
for them. Thus the people submitted to an outrage because sanc- 
tioned by high judicial authority. 

The ground assumed by Chief Justice McKean, in deciding in 
favor of the Liberal Party, was evidently a constructive interpre- 
tation of sections three and six of an act of the Territorial Legisla- 
ture, approved January 21st, 1859, deiining qualitications of voters. 
The tirst states that the person ottering his vote shall have been a 
constant resident of the Territory during the six mouths next pre- 
ceding such election. The second provides, "i!s^o person shall be 
deemed a resident within the meaning of the act unless he is a tax 
payer in this territory." The evident meaning of the enactors was 
that he should pay taxes on property assessed with the usual Terri- 
torial and county taxes. Judges McKean's interpretation of the law, 
that a payer of poll-tax was a tax-payer within the meaning of the 
act, and that if a man oiiered his vote who had not been assessed 
and he owned a watch it was the fault of the assessor and he had a 
right to vote, proves his evident collusion with the conspirators 
against the legal voters of the county. As a result of these events 
and decisions, when the county court met on the 21st of September, 
1874, we tind Lawrence A. Brown presiding over it in place of the 
Hon. J. Rowberry, and M. G. Chamberlain acting county clerk, by 
appointment of Judge Brown, in place of R. Warburton, whose 
election was contested by Enoch F. Martin, the candidate of the 
Liberal Party. 

At this session of the court a protest against L. A. Brown as 
probate judge, and M. G. Chamberlain as county recorder was read 
by L. Gee on behalf of the selectmen, and Avas ordered put on file. 
Enoch F. Martin presented his bonds and commission as county 
recorder. A protest against his taking possession of the office, by 
R. Warburton, was read by L. Gee. Action on these contested 
cases was postponed until the next session of the county court. 

Ezra C. Chase, a candidate of the Liberty Party, presented his 



92 tullidge's histories. 

credentials as selectman. His bond was rejected on account of 
illegality. The parties now occupied common ground and the Lib- 
erals continued to fortify their position as circumstances and the 
assistance of Governor Woods and Judge jNIcKean aftbrded them 
opportunity. 

Upon the examination of the contested election case of R. 
"Warburton versus E. F. Martin, it was found that 981 illegal votes 
had been cast for Martin. These deducted from the returns gave 
Warburton a majority of 683 legal votes. The court decided that 
he was elected county recorder. At the same session of the court, 
September 26th, 1874, the case of John Rowberry versus L. A. 
Brown, for the judgeship of Tooele County, was brought up. It 
was found that John Rowberry had received amajoritj' of 673 legal 
votes over L. A. Brown. Also the case of Wm. H. Lee versus 
James M. Lynch, for the ofHce of sheriii", was examined on its mer- 
its, and it was found that Lee had a majorit}" of legal votes over 
Lynch of 644. It was found by the county tax-rolls, that neither 
Brown nor Lynch were tax-payers. A decree of the court was 
issued in accordance with these findings. 

Ezra C. Chase demanded the ofUce of selectman as against Mr. 
Bryan but the latter refused to vacate. The case was laid over until 
a future session of the court. At a special term, November 9th, 
1874, we find, by the record, E. S. Foote presiding, having been 
appointed by Governor Woods to succeed L. A. Brown, who had 
retired in disgust. E. C. Chase had succeeded to the place of G. 
W. Bryan and, notwithstanding the decision of the court that 
James ^I. Lynch was illegal!}' elected sherift", we find him sheriff 
de facto in place of W. H. Lee. C. W. Bates, disgusted with the 
proceedings, withdrew from the court-room, and the court did busi- 
ness without a quorum. 

At the regular December term of 1874, the court stood as fol- 
lows: E. S. Foote, probate judge; E. C. Chase, C. W. Bates and 
George Atkins, selectmen. 

The following protest was read by G. W. Bryan : 

Territory of ITtah, 1 

County of Tooele, j ' 
We, the selectmen of Tooele Count}-, do hereby enter our pro- 
test against Erastus S. Foote acting as probate judge for Tooele 
County, as no judge has been appointed by the county court, 
whose right it is to appoint or fill vacancies occuring in county or 
precinct ofiices, as provided by law on page 207, Territorial Statutes. 

Signed, 

Geo. W. Byran, 
Tooele City, Utah Ter. Geo. Atkin, 

December 7th, 1874. Cyrus W. Bates. 

Critically examined this protest does not appear to state clearl}' 
the objections to the official position of Judge Foote. The reading 
of this was followed by an attempt to appoint John Rowberry judge, 



THE LIBERAL VICTORY. 93 

but as the court was equally divided on the question, the motion 
was lost. The conservative members of the court believed this 
effort to appoint a judge was authorized by section 13 of "An act 
creating the oiHce of selectmen and prescribing their duties, also 
the duties of the county courts." " The county courts are hereby 
authorized and required to appoint all county and precinct otficers 
not made elective by law, and to till all vacancies of county and 
precinct offices, not otherwise provided for, that may occur between 
elections in their respective counties." 

The right of Ezra C. Chase to the office of selectman was 
questioned, but the judge had the casting vote in his fiivor. At 
this session of the court A. B. Emery was installed county clerk as 
the appointee of Judge Foote. An eliort was made to throw out 
E. C. Chase in favor of George W. Bryan, but the vote on the 
question was a tie. 

At a meeting of the county court of April 5th, 1875, C. "W". 
Bates was ousted from the office of selectman on account of his 
bonds not being legal as shown 1)V the county clerk, and Isaac F. 
Spangler, a Liberal, was appointed in his place. 

At the special term of May 22nd, 1875, the court stood E. S. 
Foote, judge; E. C. Chase, I. F. Spangler and George Atkin, select- 
men. The court declared the office of selectman held by George 
Atkin to be vacant, reason given on the record, his neglect to quality 
according to law, and also refusing to act. Wm. C. Rydalch was 
appointed in his place. At this session Erastus Smith succeeded 
A. B. Emery as county clerk. 

September 6th, 1875, E. F. Martin assumed the duties of county 
clerk. 

In August, 1876, W. B. Schuyler was elected to succeed S. 
Foote as probate judge, and G. R. Warren was chosen representa- 
tive to the Legislature, but he removed from the county and it 
remained unrepresented. Also M. G. Chamberlain succeeded I. F. 
Spangler as selectman. 

August 4th, 1877, Thomas C. Potts succeeded M. G. Chamber- 
lain as selectman, and on the 31st of January, 1878, he in turn was 
succeeded D. W. Rench. 

At the general election of 1878, the People's Party elected 
their candidates for members of the county court, and at a special 
term of the court, March 29th, 1879, Hugh S. Gowans succeeded 
"W. B. Schuyler as probate judge, and Wm. C. Rydalch and E. C. 
Chase, selectmen, were succeeded by S. W. Woollev and D. H. 
Caldwell. 

At the same election F. M. Lyman was sent to the Territorial 
Legislature, and the following spring when the People's Party 
resumed control of the county, he took the place of E. F. Martin 
as county clerk. 

A committee was appointed by the county court to examine 
into the linaucial condition of the county. After thorough exam- 
ination they found that it was involved in debt about "§14,000, 



94 iullidge's histories. 

whereas, when it passed into the hands of the Liberals in 1874, it 
was free from incumbrance. 

The election returns of 1878, were canvassed iinder a mandamus 
from the Third District Court, Hon. Michael Shatter presiding, and 
as stated, the candidates of the People's Party were again in pos- 
session of the county oifices. 

March Ist, 1880, Orson P. Bates was appointed selectman to 
fill the vacancy occasioned by the removal of E. C. Chase from the 
county. 

At the general election of 1880, George W. Bryan took the 
place of 0. P. Bates as selectman. October 1st, 1883, E. I. Arthur 
succeeded D. H. Caldwell as selectman, and John W. Tate took the 
place of F. M. Lyman, as county clerk. 

August 1884, W. C. Kydalch was elected to succeed Hugh S. 
Gowans as probate Judge. October 27th, 1884, S. F. Lee succeeded 
S. W. Woollev, as selectman, and on September 7th, 1885, J. 
Caldwell took 'the place of E. L Arthur. September 12th, 1887, 
A. G. Johnson succeeded S. F. Lee as selectman, and at a special 
term of the court, October 26th, 1887, C. J. McCuiston was 
apjiointed to succeed J. W. Tate as ct)unty clerk. The county is 
too extensive to be convenient for the people to do business at the 
county seat, and this maAMead, in the near future, to its division. 



TOOELE CITY, 



ITS HISTORY. 



In the autumn of 1849, Apostle E. T. Benson employed two 
brothers, Cyrus and Judson Tolman, and Phineas Wright, a mill- 
wright, to go to Tooele Valley for the purpose, of building a mill. 
John Rowberry followed them on the 21st of December the same 
year. They located near the mouth of Settlement Creek canyon, a 
little south of the present site of Tooele City. Soon after Cyrus 
Call and Samuel Mecham took a trip west on the trail of the Hast- 
ings' company of emigrants who, in 1847, had miserably perished, 
with the hope of findina: some articles of value which thev miijht 
have left on their route of travel. An ax was all that rewarded 
their ettbrts, and when they returned they found that the Indians 
had stolen three oxen belonging to E. T. Benson. These were the 
first animals stolen by the ludians from the pioneers of Tooele Val- 
ley, and was the commencement of a long series of annoyances and 
losses. 

Francis Lee moved to Tooele City September 26th, 1850, bring- 
ing with him his sons Wm. H., Samuel M., John N., George W. 
and Francis C. Lee. In addition to the above the following men 
moved to Tooele during the year 1850. Thomas Lee, George AV. 
Bryan, James Broifit and Henry Jackson. They were essentially 
the pioneers of Tooele City. They built the first houses, fenced the 



TOOELE CITY. 95 

first field and first stirred a soil which had not been stirred for ages 
by the hLi^haiidmen with tlie plow, and by applying the water which 
flowed at their feet from the mountain gorge above them, made the 
barren desert produce elements of life. 

They built their houses at the mouth of Settlement Creek canyon, 
on the north side of the creek just above their field. Alfred Lee, 
Peter M. Maughan, Francis Gunnell, Benjamin Clegg, Wilson Lund, 
Thomas Atkins and a widow by the name of Smith came to Tooele 
towards the close of 1850. The 1st of April, 1851, the widow 
Smith lost a child. It was the first death in the colony. In 1850, 
the first school-house was built of logs 24 feet square. 

As the Indians continued to annoy the people, the better to 
protect themselves and their animals, in the summer of 1851, they 
built their houses in fort torm without changing their location. In 
fact the log school-house stood in the center of the fort. The col- 
ony continued to receive additions to their numbers, and in the 
autumn of 1852, they began to scatter out to suit their own views 
of convenience and interest. 

In the spring of 1853, the town site was located and it was sur- 
veyed by Jesse AV. Fox. The people commenced to locate on their 
town lots. 

On the breaking out of hostilities with the LTte Indians, which 
resulted in various losses to the more southern settlements of L^^tah, 
the people of Tooele again gathered their houses into fort form, 
but this time on their town plat. In the spring of 1854, the people 
began to construct a mud wall around their houses. The location 
of this was as follows: The west wall was on the west side of West 
Street; the south wall was on the south side of Locust Street; the 
east wall was on the east side side of East Street. It ran north two 
blocks then turned west along the north side of Green Street. The 
inclosure was two blocks square. About one fourth of the wall in 
the north-west corner was never completed. 

Elder John Rowberry first had the responsibility of shaping 
the early destinies of Tooele City as ecclesiastical president. In 
those early days it was no sinecure. When he was advanced to the 
oflice of presiding bishop over all the settlements in the county, he 
was succeeded in Tooele by Elder Eli B. Kelsey. He was enter- 
prising and led out in the cultivation of fruit and in adorning the 
public streets with shade trees. His example and influence in this 
direction early gave an impetus to true culture which has added 
much to the wealth of the town, and assisted to make it a pleasant 
place in which to dwell. 

Tooele City is of importance as the county seat. At first Rich- 
ville, an insignificant hamlet some ten miles farther north, was the 
county seat and continued so until it was located at Tooele City by 
Territorial statute. The first court-house was an adobe room, 14 
feet S(juare, in Richville. John Rowberry was the pioneer merchant 
of Tooele. 

The town sustains an excellent graded district school of three 



96 TULLIDftB's HISTORIES. 

departments and also a free Methodist school. It is anticipated in 
the near future that accommodations will be provided for academi- 
cal institutions. 

The tirst telegraph line was run to the city in 1870 by the 
Union Telegraph Company, and the Rocky Mountain Bell Tele- 
phone Company put in the first telephone. 

The city has about 1,200 inhabitants who use 1,500 acres of 
land in the various purposes of farming. The town and surround- 
ing farming lands lay on a bench near the foothills. The land is 
generally dry and warm, better adajited to growing lucern and fruits 
than for small grain. When the snows do not happen to be abund- 
ant in the spring in the mountains, there is a scarcity of water 
which seriously affects the results of the farmers' labors for the 
season. 

While drive wells are a success in the lower portions of the 
valley, it is not probable that artesian water will be obtained in this 
city without heavy expense. 

Tooele City is not only the county seat, but also the head- 
quarters of the ecclesiastical organization of the Tooele Stake of 
Zion, at present presided over by Elder [1. S. Gowans. When the 
stake was organized in 1877, Norton R. Tuttle was appointed bishop 
of the Tooele Ward. 

The city is beautifully located and has a general air of comfort 
and thrift. While there are few buildings that lay claim to elegance, 
there are many homes that have the appearance of neatness and 
good taste. 

ITS INCORPORATION AND CIVIL ADMINISTRATION. 

Tooele is one of the oldest incorporated cities in Utah, as the 
act of incorporation was approved January 13th, 1853. 

Section 1 reads: " Be it enacted by the Governor and Legis- 
lative Assembly of the Territory of Utah: That all that portion of 
country situate within the following boundaries, to wit: beginning 
at a point half a mile south-east of the mouth of Big Creek, known 
also as Settlement Canyon; thence running west three miles; thence 
north three miles; thence east three miles; thence south three miles, 
to the place of beginning, shall be known and designated by the 
name of Tooele City ; and tlie inhabitants thereof are hereby con- 
stituted a body corporate and politic, by the name aibresaid, and 
shall have perpetual succession, and may have and use a common 
seal, which they may change and alter at pleasure." 

Section 3 provides that " There shall be a City Council, to con- 
sist of a Mayor, two Aldermen and three Councilors, who shall 
have the qualifications of elet'tors of said city, and shall be chosen 
by the qualified voters tliereof, and shall hold their offices for two 
years, or until their successors shall be elected and qualified." 

The records of the city council that are now available com- 
mence in 1871. Some facts concerning the city government pre- 
vious to that have been obtained from other sources. 



GRAXTSVILLE. 97 

John Rowberry was the first mayor of the city elected in 1853. 
Wm. B. Adams was the first recorder, and continued in the office 
until the election of 1859, when he was succeeded by Eichard 
Warburton. 

Eli B. Kelsey was elected mayor in 1855, and John Eowberry 
was asrain elected in 1857. Wm. C. Gallagher was elected mayor 
in 1859, and re-elected in 1861. 

Thomas Lee was elected mayor in 186-3. Hugh S. Gowans 
was elected mayor in 1865, and was re-elected in 1867 and in 1869. 

After the election of August 7th, 1871, the city council was 
organized with Hugh S. Gowans, Mayor; Andrew Galloway and 
Robert Skeltou, Aldermen; George Atkin, Abel Parker and Wm. 
H. Lee, Councilors. The organization took place August 29th, 
1871, R. Warburton, Recorder^ 

After the biennial election the citj' council was organized 
August l"2th, 1873, with Andrew Galloway, Mayor; Charles Her- 
man and Robert Kelton, Aldermen; Abel Parker, George Atkin 
and Wm. H. Lee, Councilors. 

After the election of 1875, it was organized as follows : Wm. 
11. Lee, Mayor; C. A. Herman, George Craner, Aldermen: P. S. 
De La Mare, Peter Phister and .Tohn Gillespie, Councilors ; W. C. 
Foster, Recorder. Charles A. Herman succeeded W. C. Foster as 
Recorder December 11th, 1875. February 20th, 1877, John W. 
Tate succeeded C. A. Herman as Recorder. 

After the election in August, 1877, the city council stood as 
follows: Robert Skelton, Mayor; W. H. Lee, James Dunn, Alder- 
men; George Craner, Thomas Atkin, Jun., and Mathias Nelson, 
Councilors. John Dunn succeeded .John W. Tate as Recorder. 

The election on the 4th of August, 1879, changed the members 
of the city council so that it stood: John Rowberry, Mayor; H. S. 
Gowans, James Ure, Aldermen; M. Nelson, George Atkin and 
George Coleman, Councilors. November 3rd, 1880, owing to the 
removal of Alderman Ure, John Gillespie was appointed to fill the 
vacancy. 

After the election of 1881, the council stood ; John Rowberry, 
Mayor; H. S. Gowans, George Atkin, Aldermen; M. Nelson, P. 
De La Mare, Heber J. Grant, Councilors. March 9th, 1883, Peter 
Phister was appointed Councilor to fill the vacancy occasioned by 
the removal of H. J. Grant. 

After the August election of 1883, the city council was made 
upas follows: George Atkin, Mayor; S. H. Lee, John McLaws, 
Aldermen; T. W. Lee, John W. Tate, Peter Phister, Councilors. 

After the election of 1885, it consisted of S. W. Orme, Mayor; 
John McLaws, John W. Tate, Aldermen: Peter Phister, M. B. 
Nelson, James S. Dunn, Councilors. 

In the new city council of 1887, M. B. Nelson was Mayor; A. 
Herron, Thomas Spiers, Aldermen; A. G. McCuiston, Alvin Wal- 



98 tullidge's histories. 

ters, Joseph M. Dunn, Councilors. March 20th, 1888, A. G. 
McCuiston succeeded John Dunn as City Recorder, and was suc- 
ceeded in turn as Councilor by F. II. Lougey. 



THE INCORPORATED CITY OF GRANTSVILLE. 

The city by the traveled road is twelve miles north-west of the 
county seat, and some six miles from the southern shore of the 
Great Salt Lake, and 100 feet in altitude above the surface of its 
waters. Its water supply, until artesian water was obtained, canie 
entirely from North and South Willow and Box Elder Creeks. 
The latter was surveyed by James Worthington, James Wrathall, 
Wm. Lee, Charles Rodgers and S. S. Worthington. The ditch was 
made V)y the people of Grantsville and the water rights were 
recorded bj' Bishop F. H. Clark for the people. 

Thomas Ricks and Ira Willis iirst occupied the ground on 
which the town now stands, and the surrounding country, with a 
herd of cattle. But the first men who went there to make homes 
were Harrison Severe and James McBride, brothers-in-law. They 
crossed the plains from the Missouri River in the summer of 1850, 
and camped a short time at the Warm Springs, a little north of 
Great Salt Lake City. While considering the subject of a location, 
they heard that Apostle E. T. Benson was building a mill in Tooele 
Valley and determined to try their fortunes in that direction. They 
went to Tooele City where some families had Undated in the autumn 
of the previous year. Learning on their arrival that there was a 
stream of water on the west side of the valley, called Willow Creek, 
where there was plenty of feed for cattle, they remained in Tooele 
City but one night and the following day moved on the Creek. 
This was in October, 1850. The two men constructed a cabin of 
timber and willows which attbrded their families some shelter the 
ensuing winter. This cabin was on ground now west of the town 
but has long since disappeared. 

In February, 1851, as the winter had broken up and left the 
soil in a condition to plow, they went on the range to hunt up 
tlieir oxen and found that the Indians had stolen them. In their 
condition this was a great calamity. This incident led to the par- 
tial exploration and the naming of Skull Valley. Severe and 
McBride, assisted by Messrs. Ricks and Willis, endeavored to fol- 
low the thieves. This led them into a valley lying west of their 
location. Arriving at some water, since called Elbow Spring, they 
found several human skeletons which they concluded were the 
remains of some of the Hastings" company of emigrants who had 
died and been buried there by their companions. It was evident 
that the barbarous cupidity of the Indians had prompted them to 
dig up the bodies to strip them of their clothing. As the skulls of 



EARLY LABORS. 99 

these unfortunate people were scattered around the party instinc- 
tively called the place Skull \'aliey. 

The four men concluded that as the Indians had commenced to 
steal their cattle, and as they were too few in number to protect 
their property and the two families, they had better vacate and wait 
a more tittinij opportunity to settle the place. Messrs. Severe and 
McBride returned to the east side of the valley to Pine Canyon, 
where there were a few families, and built some cabins in fort form 
with them. The Indians had left them but one ox and a cow, 
these they yoked together, and by traveling back and forth, in time 
were moved over. Mr. McBride tilled the ground to raise food, 
while Mr. Severe purchased oxen on credit, hauled logs from the 
canyons to E. T. Benson's saw-mill, and with the lumber paid for 
his oxen and sustained his tamily. In the autumn of 1851 the two 
men moved back their families and effects on Willow Creek. They 
also hauled logs from the east side of the valley to build houses. 
About the same time six men with their families arrived on the 
ground from Great Salt Lake City. They were Thomas Watson, 
James Wrathall, James Davenport, Perry Durfee and a Mr. Davis. 
These pioneers, being still few in number, built their houses in fort 
form that they might more easily defend themselves from their l)ar- 
barous neighbors. About 1853 the name of the settlement was 
changed from. Willow Creek to Grantsville in honor of Colonel 
George D. Grant of the Xauvoo Legion, who was instructed by 
Brigham Young to look after its defence until it was strong enough 
to take care of itself. Benjamin Baker was an early settler, as he 
was the first elder of the ^iormon church who guided the destinies 
of the infant settlement as its temporal and spiritual leader. Mr. 
Lemons surveyed the iirst farming land, and Jesse W. Fox sur- 
veyed the townsite of Grantsville in 1851. 

It is believed that the first school-house was built and a school 
taught in it in the year 1853. The first-born of the settlement was 
a son of Harrison Severe and his wife Dorcas, a daughter of Father 
Thomas McBride who was killed at Haun's Mill, Missouri. Thomas 
H. Clark was appointed the first bishop of Grantsville in the 
autumn of 1852. He died October 14th, 1873, having been bishop 
over twenty years, with the exception of six years, from 185S to 
1864, in which Wm. G. Young acted in that capacity. He led a 
practical, useful life, left tlie world the better for liis having lived in 
it, and passed away lamented hy his people. These first settlers of 
Grantsville estimated that there was about water enough for two 
good farms. Today Grantsville and its surroundings sufficiently 
indicate the great increase of this uecessar}- element. For many 
years unseasonable frosts discouraged efforts to grow fine varieties 
of fruits and such vegetables as are easilj* injured by them. Time 
and cultivation have so modified the elements that unseasoaable 
frosts seldom cut short the expectations of the Hvshai'idraen, and 
now fine varieties of fruit and all kinds of vegetables that cbu be 
grown in other locations in the same latitude, are. yfo'dnee'dherc. 



100 tullidge's histories. 

The following account of a battle with crickets illustrates how 
the pioneers of Utah were soraetimes compelled to struggle for the 
bread which they expected to keep them from famine. 

In 1856, the crickets came down out of the mountains west of 
the town in immense numbers. In view of the danger, the citizens 
convened to concert measures to save their growing crops, as indi- 
vidual effort alone could do but little to avert the impending 
calamity. Concert of action was a necessity. They organized by 
appointing John W. Cowley, a leading citizen and farmer, captain. 
They separated to come together again the following morning to 
consider proposed plans. The plan suggested by Captain Cowley 
was adopted. The cattle, sheep and horses of the settlement were 
collected together and drove in as compact a mass as possible back 
and forth over the ground black with these uncanny, ill-starred 
insects. When this operation had reached a satisfactory stage, a 
field-roller was substituted for the animals and the labors of the 
day terminated with almost the entire destruction of the pests. liot 
enough of them reached the crops to do any noticeable damage, 
and the settlement has not been troubled with them since. The 
women and children as well as the men turned out to battle with 
the common enemy with brush sticks and every available weapon, 
and doubtless the day will find a 2:)lace in the future traditions of 
the people. 

The people of Grantsville have suffered considera!)ly from 
grasshoppers, in common with the county, but still the old settlers 
think that Great Salt Lake has afforded them and the county some 
protection when their flight has been from the north. Such 
immense quantities of them have perished in the briny waters that 
the wind has driven them ashore so as to form winnows from one 
to three feet in depth, and extending for several miles along the 
shore. Large quantities were pickled and rema.ined for several 
years. 

Owing to the usual difficulties of colonists, the losses of horses 
and cattle by the Indians and the necessity of expending much of 
their energies and time in scouting and guarding, in the spring of 
1854 the citizens of Grantsville were carrying a very heavy burden, 
but the circumstances, hard as they were, forced upon them the 
necessity of making still better preparations for defence. By the 
advice of their leaders, a fort thirty rods square was laid out and 
they went diligently to work during the season and enclosed it with 
a wall four feet in thickness at the bottom and gradually tapering 
to the top, which was twelve feet high. A part of the wall was of 
adobies and a part of mud laid up in a workmanlike manner. The 
amount of wall each man was to build was laid oft' to him in pro- 
portion to the space he wished to occupy. The fort was thoroughly 
completed excejit hanging the gates. Under the circumstances it 
was.a-great work and severely tried the patience and endurance of 
the people., 

In 1876, John W. Cowley, in connection with George Carter, 



THE DESPERADO HAWES. 101 

sent east for the Tipping well augur. It was set to work near the 
barn of the former gentleman, and at the depth of 85 feet a flow of 
about 90 gallons of water per minute was obtained. It was the 
pioneer flowing well in Utah. The event created consideral)le 
interest at the time. There are now seventy or eighty of these 
wells in the town and as yet there appears no drawback to their 
increase. 

Some time previous to the spring of 1870, a stranger, calling 
himself Albert Hawes, came to Grantsville, ingratiated himself 
into favor with the people, married a Mormon woman and joined 
the Mormon church. Early in the spring of 1870, circumstances 
developed the fact that he was a desperado, and had killed a man 
in Nevada and fled from justice. Papers for his arrest from Nevada 
were placed in the hands of United States Marshal Storey, of Utah. 
He arrived in Grantsville in the evening, accompanied by Mr. Car- 
ragam, the sheritt'from Nevada. Early the following morning they 
found Hawes in his corral and unarmed. The sheritf held a 
revolver on him while the marshal read the warrant, and when 
about to put on the handcutt's Hawes very dexterously disarmed the 
sheritt", and mth the pistol shot and killed Storey. The news 
spread like wild fire through the settlement and the excitement was 
intense. Those who lived in those early years well remember that 
the prejudice of those outside of the church was so great against 
the Mormon people that any tale, no matter how unreasonable, was 
easily circulated and readily received credit in the minds of most 
non-members of the church. The citizens of Grantsville saw at 
once that their honor was at stake, and the idea soon possessed 
them that they would be accused of protecting Hawes because he 
professed to belong to their church and they decided that he must 
be taken at whatever sacrifice. He fled to the house of his brother- 
in-law on South Willow Creek. He was followed by a number of 
citizens who guarded the house the following night. The next 
morning the citizens continued to gather a short distance from the 
house. Hawes sprang on a horse and fled up the creek. He was 
so closely pursued that he left his horse and took into the willows. 
He was followed by determined men. Erastus Sprague got the first 
shot at the desperado, but almost the instant got a fatal shot from 
Hawes' revolver, who received Sprague's bullet in the abdomen. 
This would have been fatal in time, but he ran a few rods and 
soon expired with a dozen bullet holes in his l)od3'. He had a 
pistol tied to his belt in such a way that when taken hold of it 
would discharge. The bullet from this killed John Padget and 
wounded another citizen, Wm. Everill, in the hand. Daring the 
fight two liullets passed through the clothing of John W. Cowley. 
Immediately after Marshal Storey was killed, Wm. C. Rydalch and 
Edward Hunter, Jun., took his body to Salt Lake City, where his 
violent death raised great excitement and the report was soon cir- 
culated that he had been murdered by a Mormon clique. When 
the excitement was at its height, John Gibson arrived with the 



102 tullidge's histories. 

body of Hawes. Ilawes was killed at a t'eartiil sacrifice, Init the 
honor and integrity of the Mormon people were vindicated. 

Previous to the advent of Buchanan's army in the spring of 
1858, the people of Grantsville, in common with many others in the 
territory, were very destitute of the necessaries of life and especially 
of clothing. In the autumn of 1858, J. W. Cowley contracted to 
feed about one thousand horses and mules for the government. 
Forage was scarce and everything that would assist in feeding the 
animals the ensuing severe winter commanded a high price. This, 
with other advantages arising from the presence of the troops in the 
country, greatly improved the condition of the people. That winter 
and the ensuing season are now looked upon as an important era in 
the history of the place. 

The fact stands well to the front in the histor\' of the founding of 
the early settlements of Utah, that the hardy pioneers who located 
them, after making some necessary preparations to raise food for their 
families and to shelter them from the elements, turned their early 
and earnest attention to the education of their children. Grants- 
ville has not been behind any of the first colonies of Utah in this 
matter. At an early period the leading citizens began to reflect 
seriously on the necessity of something better for the education of 
their children than the ordinary district school, although these were 
kept up to the best practicable standard. This desire for improve- 
ment was manifested by action of the citj' council as early as April 
25th, 1874. At that date a committee which liad been previously 
appointed to make arrangements for organizing a pul)lic institute of 
learning, made a written report, which was filed. Also W. C. Mar- 
tindale, J. W. Cowley and B. F. Barnes from the council, and W. 
R. Judd and E. Bagley, private citizens, were appointed a board of 
trustees for the institute. While the desire of the people thus found 
expression through the city fathers, it was too early for the practi- 
cable realization of the idea. 

May 1st, 1887, its practical development commenced. The 
leading citizens met together and decided to inaugurate measures 
for the building of a house by the Latter-day Saints of the Grants- 
ville ward with sutficient room and aceommodations for a first class 
graded school. 

On the 4th of May the citizens met en masse and made the nec- 
essary arrangements for the organization of the "Grantsville Edu- 
cational Association." The 14th of the following September a 
board of directors was elected, and on the IGth of September, 1887, 
the association was organized. The authorities of the Tooele Stake 
of Zion, the citizens of the ward and Apostle John W. Taylor 
especially laliored at the time to perfect the organization and to set 
it properly in motion for the accomplishment of its grand purpose. 
The 26th of the same month the corner stone was laid with appro- 
priate ceremonies, and it and the ground were dedicated. 

A vault was cut in the corner stone, and a tin box prepared in 
which to deposit a manuscript, stating the object for which the 



< 



GRANTSVILLE GRADED SCHOOL. 108 

building was erected, written by Wni. Jeft'ries and adopted by the 
assenibted people. This, with the miuutes of the dedicatory meet- 
in"-, were deposited in the tin box the following morning, when it 
was properly sealed and deposited in the corner stone. 

The following excerpts and ideas from this unique document 
are deemed by the writer worthy of a place in this history. The 
opening paragrajih is decidedly in keeping with the intent of the 
document. " To the living of a future generation who may be for- 
tunate or unfortunate enough to find and read this manuscript — 
greeting." 

The document speaks of the evident necessity for the benefit 
of the numerous rising generation of more and better school accom- 
modations. It states that the matter was talked up by the authori- 
ties of the stake and ward, assisted by Apostle John W. Taylor, 
meetings were held and the business was got into running order. 
That it was designed to erect a building 45x70 feet. That a build- 
ing spot had been obtained, that articles of association had been 
drawn up and presented at a public meeting where they had been 
unanimously adopted; that they accepted a bid from Mr. George 
Curley of Salt Lake City to erect the building, with basement, 
ground Hoor and upper story, for the sum of §14,000; that the 
leading citizens promised to subscribe liberally to the enterprise, 
and that it was expected to build the house with the voluntary 
donations of the people. The following comprehensive passage 
occurs in expressing a wish for the early completion of the build- 
ing: "For we need the use of it as soon as we can possibly liave 
it, as our youth of both sexes are increasing rapidly and merging 
into manhood and womanhood without that degree of graded 
school education which the age in which we live and the circum- 
stances in which we are at present placed can furnish them." 

"Blessing is invoked upon all who may assist in the construction 
of the building, and also upon the house when it shall be completed, 
that it may stand through the convulsions that shall precede the 
millennium, and be purilied to remain for educational purposes in 
that glorious period of man's existence." 

The city of Grantsville contains 1,000 people who cultivate 
about 15,000 acres of land. Many of the citizens are largely 
engaged in stock-raising and wool-growing. 

The city constitutes but one school district, but there are three 
school-houses for the convenience of a large school population. 

The town contains two mercantile establishments, one of which 
is a co-operative institution organized March 1st, 1869. There is a 
Methodist church and school-house combined in which a mission 
echool is taught. 

A neat and commodious ward meeting-liouse was completed in 
1866. Some of the principal streets have fine rows of shade trees, 
and on either side are many comfortable residences with a fair show 
of elegance in construction and finish. 



104 tullidge's histories. 

its incorporation and organization. 

Grantsville was incorporated by an act of the Territorial Legis- 
lature approved January 12th, 1867, Section 1 of which reads as fol- 
lows : "Be it enacted by the (jrovernor and Legislative Assembly of 
the Territory of Utah : That all that district of country embraced 
in the following boundaries in Tooele County, to wit: Commencing 
two and a half miles due east from a point known as the lumber 
bridge, situated on the county road running through Grantsville in 
Tooele County, thence south two miles, thence west four and a half 
miles, thence east four and a half miles, thence south two and one 
half miles to the place of beginning, shall be known and designated 
under the name and style of Grantsville; and the inhabitants 
thereof are hereby constituted a body corporate and politic by the 
name aforesaid, and shall have perpetual succession, and may have 
and use a common seal, which they may change and alter at 
pleasure." 

Section 3 provides for the organization of the city government 
and reads: " The municipal government of said city is hereby vested 
in a city council to be composed of a ma^'or, three aldermen, one for 
each ward, and live councilors, who shall have the qualifications of 
electors of said city, and shall be chosen by the qualified voters 
thereof, and shall hold their otfice for two years and until their suc- 
cessors are elected and qualified." 

The act provides tliat the election for city officers shall be held 
on the first Monday of March, but the time was afterwards changed 
by the legislature to the time of the general election in August of 
each year. 

The members elect of the first city council of Grantsville met 
on the 4th of June, 1867, and organized with Cyrus W. Bates, 
Mayor. The names of the members are obtained from the general 
minutes of the meeting. They were A. W. Sabin, E. Barrus, E. 
Hunter, Wm. C. Martindale, I. Wrathall, A. L. Hale, John Felt 
and Wm. C. Ilydalch. The council appointed Wm. Jetieries, 
Recorder and Treasurer; A. H. Hale, marshal; S. W. Woolley, 
assessor and collector; and James Kearl, street supervisor. The 
2.5th of the same month Wm. .Jetteries resigned his oliice of recorder 
and Thomas Williams was appointed. 

The 27th of .June, 1878, Wm. Jefferies resigned his position as 
Alderman, and A. Sce%'a was appointed in his place. 

The city council, after the election of 1869, consisted of Wm. 
Jefferies, mayor ; James McBride, E. Barrus, Wm. Lee, aldermeu ; 
J. W. Clark, H. Severe, J. Felt, G. Whittle, A. H. Hale, coun- 
cillors ; and Thomas Williams, recorder. 

March llth, 1870, Wm. Jefferies having resigned the office of 
mayor, Emery i3arru8 was appointed by the council. Benjamin 
Barrus was appointed alderman and Lyman Severe was appointed 
councillor to fill vacancies occasioned by resignations. E. J. 



CITY OFFICIALS. 105 

Badey was appointed City Recorder, March, 25th, 1870, "Wm. C. 
Martindale was appointed Alderman. 

At\er the election of Augnst 7th, 1871, the city council was 
organized with Wm. R. Judd'^ Mayor; Samuel R. Worthington, 
Aroet L. Hale and Emery Barrus, Aldermen; James McBride, 
George Whittle, Wm. C.'Martindale, John W. Clark, Thomas 
Williams, Councilors: £. Bagley, Recorder. 

AuiTUst 16th, 1873, the city council consisted of E. Hunter, 
Mayor;"G. Whittle, John W. Coalev, B. F. Barrus, Aldermen; A. 
Neflson, J. W. Clark, James McBride, H. Booth, T. Williams, 
Councilors: E. Bagley, Recorder. December 5th, 1874, E. Bagley 
resigned and was succeeded by A. G. Johnson. 

After the August election of 1875, J. T. Rich was Mayor; 
George Whittle, Wm. C. Martindale, Aldermen; A. G. Johnson, 
J. R. Clark, J. M. Worthington, A. L. Hale, Thomas Williams, 
Councilors; A. G. Johnson, Recorder. Before another election the 
following changes were made. 

October 19th, 1875, Mayor J. T. Rich resigned and W. R. Judd 
was appointed by the council, and Wm. C. Rydalch was appointed 
Alderman in place of George Whittle, resigned. October ^-Srd, 
187fi, Recorder A. G. Johnson resigned aad was afterwards suc- 
ceeded by E. Bagley. 

The election of 1877 made up the city council with W. R. Judd, 
Mayor; S. W. Woolley, C. W. Bates, W. C. Martindale, Aldermen; 
A. G. Johnson, C. W. Karlson, J. Wrathall, T. Orr, J. Ratclitfe, 
Councilors; E. Bagley, Recorder. 

September 7th, 1878. A. H. Hale was appointed City Recorder 
in place of E. Bagley, resigned, and March 8th, 1879, A. H. Hale 
resigned and Abraham Fawson was appointed for the remainder of 
the term. 

In August, 1879, Wm. Jefteries was elected Mayor. S. W. 
Woolley, Wm. Lee, A. G. Johnson, Aldermen. C. H. Karlson, 
Wm. R. Judd, A. K. Anderson, John T. Rich, E. R. Dailey, Coun- 
cilors, and A. Fawson, Recorder. 

January 8th, 1881, Councilor E. R. Dailey resigned and Joshua 
R. Clark was appointed his successor. ^larch 12th, the same year, 
Councilor C. H. Karlson resigned and was succeeded by Thomas 
Williams. 

After the election of 1881, the council was made up as follows: 
Wm. Jeflteries, Mayor; Wm. C. Rydalch, C. L. Anderson, J. T. 
Rich, Aldermen ; James Wrathall, Thomas Williams, 0. H. 
Barrus, A. L. Hale, Wm. Lee, Councilors; A. Fawson, Recorder. 

April 11th, 1882, Alderman Rich was succeeded by W. C. 
Rydalch, and May 27th, 1882, W. H. Green was appointed Alder- 
man to till a vacancy. Xovember 4th of the same year. Councilor 
Wrathall resigned and was succeeded by Hyrum E. Boothe. 

January 13th, 1883, John Eastham filled a vacancy in the coun- 
cil. April 18th, 1883, Councilors Barrus and Wm. Lee resigned, 
8 



106 tullidge's histories. 

and "W. R. Judd and James Ratclitfe were appointed their succes- 
sors. 

In August, 1883, A. G. Johnson was elected Mayor; "W. H. 
Greene, W. C. Rydalch, A. V. Milward, Aldermen; R. M. Barrus, 
C. P. Anderson, J. T. Rich, Elam McBride, George Hammond, 
Councilors; and A. Fawson, Recorder. 

May 10th, 1884, Councilor Anderson resigned, and the 28th 
of the same month John T. Rich was appointed to till his place. 
The 23rd of the following August, Charles J. Stromberg was 
appointed Councilor in the place of Elam McBride, resigned. 

September 13th, 1884, Alderman Greene resigned and was 
succeeded by Wm. M. Rydalch, October 11th, 1884. C. J. Strom- 
berg resigned and was succeeded by F. Peterson the 8th of the 
following November. 

August 3rd, 1885, A. G. Johnson was elected Mayor ; John T. 
Rich, George Hammond, R. M. Barrus, Aldermen; Robert T. 
Brown, John Gibson, Thomas Orr, Wm. G. Young, Gustave Ander- 
son, Councilors, and A. Fawson, Recorder. 

The Mayor resigned March 27th, 1886, and C. L. Anderson 
was appointed. March 26th, 1887, Councilor W. G. Young 
resigned and Wm. Lee was appointed to till the vacancy, and 
Stephen S. Worthington to fill the place of John T. Rich who was 
absent from the city. 

August 1st, 1887, C. L. Anderson was elected Mayor; S. E 
Woolley, Wm. C. Rydalch, Gustave Anderson, Aldermen; P.M. 
Anderson, Thomas H. Clark, Jr., A. G. Johnson, C. J. Stromberg, 
George R. Judd, Councilors, and Wm. G. Callett, Recorder. In 
February, 1888, S. E. Woolley resigned and was succeeded by S. S. 
Worthinstou. 



MORGAN COUNTY. 107 



MORGHN COUNTY, 

CHAPTER I.— MORGAN CITY. 
Its Settlement and Growth. 

In 1862, several settlers who owned laud in the immediate 
vicinity, commenced to build a town at the mouth of Monday Town 
Hollow, on a small piece of land between the base of the hills and 
East Canyon creek, which was owned by Thomas R. G. Welch, 
and donated by him for a town. A post-office was established and 
he was appointed postmaster. The place was called Morgan. It 
was soon found to be too small a place for the families who wished 
to settle there. 

In 1864, the people decided to look out a more suitable loca- 
tion. Many were in favor of moving to Littleton, as, by act of the 
Territorial Legislature, it had been made the county seat and there 
was plenty of room. Most of the settlers, however, owned land 
east of East Canyon creek, and were in favor of locating a town on 
the land now occupied by the first ward of Morgan City. Frederick 
Darke and sons and p]benezer Crouch had already built houses 
there. The land was ottered at a lower price than that at Littleton, 
and it being convenient to their farming land, most of the settlers 
decided to move there. 

In the summer of 1864, Jesse W. Fox, Territorial Surveyor, 
was sent for and came and surveyed the land into lots and blocks. 
Immediately Samuel Francis commenced building a log house on 
lot 2, block 27. 

In 1865-66, most of the families of the old town transferred their 
residences to new Morgan. There were also quite a number of 
new settlers in 1867, and the town began to attract attention, so 
much so, that ^Ym. Eddington built a brick store and established a 
general mercantile business. Previous to this, Charles Turner had 
commenced making brick on the farm of Samuel Francis, and good 
brick dwellings begaia to supersede log cabins. The people taxed 
themselves three per cent, to build a brick school-house, the walls 
of which were put up the same year. In the autumn these ener- 
getic settlers hauled timber from the canyon, and Xelson Harvey 
and George Iligley invented a shingle-mill and cut shingles enough 
to roof the school-house. 

lu 1868, the school-house was completed and utilized for 
schools, meetings and amusements. The history of all Mormon 
colonies shows that the very genius of their religion embodies a love 
of intelligence, religious worship and amusements, and that in all 
their settlements an early and energetic ettort has been made to 



108 tullidge's histories. 

construct a place in magnitude proportioned to their numbers and 
means where these elements of their religion could be indulged. 

When the citj was incorporated, it not only included Morgan 
on the south side of Weber river, but also the settlement on the 
north side, then called Mount Joy. It contained about eighteen 
families, some of whom had settled there before South Morgan was 
located. Their town lots were watered from springs, and they had 
constructed a large ditch which brought water out of the Weber to 
water their farming land. 

Soon after the incorporation of Morgan City and the coming 
of the Union Pacific Railroad, Morgan County appropriated $1,500 
and the territory $1,000 to build a bridge across the Weber in Mor- 
gan City. It was completed in 1870, and gave South Morgan easy 
access to the railroad. It was supported by bents of timber twenty- 
five teet apart. It proved to be very expensive in the end, costing 
about $6,000. It was not adapted to the character of the stream, as 
it caught the flow-wood in high water, which made it necessary to 
construct a bridge with a long span. 

When Weber valley was first settled there was much cotton- 
wood timber along the river of sufficient size for sawing into lum- 
ber. A saw-mill was built by Abiah Wadsworth and Nelson Arov 
where the grist-mill now stands. This cut the timber up and 
greatly assisted the new colony in improving their homes. About 
1867-68, Ezra T. Clark of Farmington, Davis County, bought the 
saw-mill, and on the spot where it stood built the Weber Valley 
Flouring Mill. 

The years 1868-69 were an epoch in Mormon history, for the 
methods of carrying on commercial business were revolutionized. 
When the foundation of Zion's Co-operative Mercantile Institution 
was laid in Salt Lake City, the spirit of the genius which inaug- 
urated it, spread like a fire through the cities and hamlets of Utah. 
The people of Morgan City caught the inspiration and commenced 
a co-operative mercantile business with the small capital of $1,300. 
Soon after, the pioneer merchant, Wm. Eddington, went with the 
current and put in his stock of goods, which swelled the capital to 
$4,000 or $5,000. The new institution occupied Mr. Eddington's 
former place of business in South Morgan until it was removed to 
North Morgan, more convenient to the railroad depot. It was 
fairly prosperous, but its growth has hardly- kept pace with that of 
the county. Its present capital is about $15,000. In connection 
with the mercantile business, a shoe factory was commenced several 
years ago, and is still carried on. 

Like most other places in Utah, Morgan City has had its share 
of afllictions from epidemic diseases. The last scourge, the diph- 
theria, commenced its ravages in November, 1887. With about a 
month of intermission, it continued until March 1st, 1888. It car- 
ried ofl' about twelve children and young people. 

The Morgan County Stake of Zion was organized July 7th, 
1877, a short time before the death of Brigham Young. The 



1 



RAILROAD TRAFFIC. 109 

presidency of the stake consists of three prominent citizens who 
have served the people in prominent civil offices, Elders Willard G. 
Smith, Richard Fry and Samuel Francis. Across the street 
from the conihined count}' court-house and city hall, stands the 
Morgan County Stake House. It is 40x80 feet, with walls of blue 
limestone. It is a plain but neat and substantial building, and is 
the direct result of the liberality of the people, having been built by 
donation at a cost of $8,000. Morgan City, in proportion to its 
resources, ^las not been behind neighboring towns in educational 
enterprise. It has three substantial school-houses, two of brick and 
one of stone. The iSTew "West Commission has established a free 
school in the city which receives a fair share of patrouage. 

A brass band was organized in 1866. At first it received some 
financial aid from the city. Through the individual energies of its 
members it has attained a good degree of excellency. 

The following schedule of freight received and freight for- 
warded during the year 1887 from Morgan City, Weber being the 
name of the station, will give an idea of the growth of business 
and indicate its futiare. It is estimated that the amount of butter 
and eggs shipped by express would double the amount in the 
schedule. Mr. Cleveland, the agent, states the business has trebled 
in the past four years. 



Agricultural Implements, 

Cement, Plaster and Lime 

Coal, 

Drugs, Paints, Glass, Oils, etc 

Drj- Goods, Clothing, Boots, Shoes, 

etc., 

Fruits, Vegetables and Seeds, 

Furniture, H. H. Goods and Em. 

Movables, 

Groceries, etc., 

Hardware Stock. Iron, Nails, etc., 

Hay, 

Lumber, .Timber, Shingles, etc., 

Provisions, Butter and Kggs, etc.,... 

Salt, 

Wagons, Carriages, Tools, etc., 

Wines and Liquors (all kinds) 

^I iscellaneous 

Hides and Tallow, 

Flour, Meal, Bran and MillstufF, 

Wheat 824,215 

Oats, Other Grain, Flax Seed, etc., 1,10S,720 



Weight of Freight 
Keceived. 


Weight of Freight 


Forwarded. 


267,545 






251,710 


641,700 




33,460 




28,395 


1,130 • 


7,505 


3,217,335 


14,fi95 


3,525 


191,350 




45,735 






692,975 


114,985 


144,000 


590 


49,950 


23,900 


1,060 


9,710 




6,540 






7,510 


46,590 


7,275 


2,260 


156,360 



110 tullidoe's histories. 



CHAPTER II. 
Organization, Civil and Political History of Morgan City. 

Morgan City lies on both sides of the Weber river, a little 
south-east of the center of the valley. It is divided into two wards, 
respectively called North and South Morgan, the river being the 
dividing line. It was incorporated by an Act of the Territorial 
Legislature approved February 13th, 1868, to be in force after the 
Ist of April following. 

Section 1 of the Act reads as follows: "Be it enacted by the 
Governor and Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Utah: 
That all that district of country embraced in the following boun- 
daries in Morgan County, to wit: Commencing at the bridge on 
the county road crossing East Canyon creek, thence down said 
creek one mile, thence north-east two miles and a half, thence 
skirting the base of the mountains in a south-easterly direction to 
where the Weber river enters Weber valley, thence skirting the 
base of the mountains on the south side of said Weber river two 
and a half miles, more or less, to the south-east corner of Bradt 
survey, thence west three-fourths of a mile to Canyon creek, thence 
down said Canyon creek one-half mile, more or less, to place of 
beginning, shall be known and designated under the name and style 
of Morgan City; and the inhabitants thereof are hereby constituted 
a body corporate and politic by the name aforesaid, and shall have 
pferpetual succession, and shall have and use a common seal, which 
they may change and alter at pleasure." 

Section 3 provides for "a city council to consist of a mayor and 
five councilors, who shall have the qualifications of electors of said 
city, and shall be chosen by the qualified voters thereof, and shall 
hold their oiRces for two years and until their successors shall be 
elected and qualified." 

Section 5 provides that "one mayor and five councilors shall be 
elected l)iennially, and the first election under this act shall be at 
such time in said city as the probate judge of Morgan County shall 
direct; Provided, said election shall be held on or before the first 
Monday in August next." 

As provided by law, the first election was held on the first 
Monday in August, 1868. 

The first city council consisted of Wm. Eddington, Mayor ; 
Richard Fry, Wyman M. Parker, Robert Hogg, Charles Turner 
and Abiali Wadsworth, Councilors. The incumbents of minor 
oflices were as follows: Samuel Francis and David Robison, Justices 
of the Peace; Thomas R. G. Welch, City Recorder; George A. 
Davis, Assessor and Collector; Philemon C. Merrill, Marshal and 
Supervisor of streets. 



CITY ELECTIONS. Ill 

A city seal was adopted with a coat of arms, an antelope with 
cliffs of rocks in the back-ground, and the inscription, "Morgan 
City, Morgan County, U. T." This was declared to be the corpor- 
ate seal by an ordinance passed March 2nd, 1871. 

A police force was first organized October 3rd, 1868, by 
appointing James Turner captain and Thomas Sewell and George 
Heiner, policemen. 

The first license granted by the city council was to Wm. 
Eddington, Mayor, for merchandizing. The second was to Timothy 
Metz for restaurant, feed stable and store. These may be ranked as 
pioneer traders and business men. 

July 9th, 1869, the city created the office of City Water-master, 
and Robert Hogg became the first incumbent. Richard Fry was 
appointed City Treasurer July 14th, 1869. 

The second city council was organized August 20th, 1870, with 
Wm. Eddington, Mayor; Richard Fry, Robert Hogg, Charles 
Turner, W. M. Parker and Martin Heiner, Councilors. 

The cit}' council experienced the usual difficulties in regulating, 
restraining, etc., the sale of spirituous and fermented liquor, and on 
the 9th of March, 1871, they took the business entirely into their 
hands by appointing Mayor Eddington and Councilor Fry their 
agents to buy and sell intoxicating drinks. Also, the same date, 
with a laudable spirit of public improvement, they appointed a 
committee to superintend the planting of shade trees. 

June 24th, 1872, they appropriated $.30 for the benefit of the 
children on the celebration of the following 4th of July. 

On the 22nd of August of the same year, the council ordered 
a survey of the land within the corporate limits, for the purpose of 
determining what land it would be necessary- to enter under the 
townsite law, and also to determine the limits of private owners. 

After the election in 1872, the third city council organized with 
Wm. Eddington, Mayor, Richard Fry, Robert Hogg, Charles 
Turner, Martin Heiner and Timothy Metz, Councilors. 

December 12th, 1872, further arrangements were made to per- 
fect the townsite entry, and it was finally consummated in 1874. 

Early in 1873, the small-pox having appeared in the town, 
quarantine was established. The disease was checked with the loss 
of five citizens. 

An agreement was made between Morgan City and Morgan 
County, on the 15th of June, 1874, to build a court-house, city hall 
and jail together. The building to be 38x46 feet, with rock base- 
ment, containing five cells for prisoners, and two stories above the 
basement of brick. 

The fourth city council was organized October 28th, 1874, with 
Wm. Eddington, Mayor; Richard Fry, Charles Turner, Timothy 
Metz, Martin Heiner and W. Kemming, Councilors. 

The fifth city council was organized August 28th, 1876, with 
Richard Fry for Mayor; Robert Hogg, Charles Turner, Samuel 
Francis, Daniel Robison, Daniel Bull, Councilors. . 



112 TULLIDSli'S HISTORIES. 

April 23rd, 1878, the city council ordered that uo tax should 
be assessed for that year, on account of the heavy losses of the pre- 
vious year from the depredations of grasshoppers. On the '2nd of 
July, the same year, two hundred citizens petitioned the city coun- 
cil to prohibit the sale of spirituous liquors. The petition was 
granted with proviso, that the agent of the corporation have the 
pi'ivilege of selling out the stock on hand. 

The people began to feel that the expenses of keeping up the 
corporation, overbalanced the benefits derived from it. The city 
council j)artook of the indifference of the people, and it held no 
meeting from the 27th of September, 1881, to the 23rd of May, 1882. 
Giving up the idea that the corporation could be dissolved through 
neglect, as the officers would hold over until tlieir successors were 
elected and qualified, on the above date they again resumed their 
official duties. 

May 31st, 1882, the city council passed an ordinance regulating 
the sale of intoxicating drinks in accordance with territorial law. 

A Congressional Act, generall}- known as the Edmunds Law, 
was passed in 1882. This created the Utah Commission with a 
controlling power over the elections in the Territory. As it failed 
to meet the requirements of the law in time for holding the election, 
it passed, and the incumbents of offices held over. 

July 30th, 1883, the proper authority reported to the council 
that two cells were prepared for the reception of criminals. This 
was the first time that the city was prepared to take proper care of 
delinquents. 

The usual August election having been lield, a new city coun- 
cil was elected for one year. It organized October 4th, 1883, with 
Samuel Francis for Mayor; Wm. Kemming, Daniel Robison 
James Tucker, James E. Stuart, Joseph E. Stevensen, Councilors. 

September Gth, 1884, the newly elected city council organized 
with Samuel Francis, Mayor; James Tucker, James R. Stuart, 
James Rawle, George Heiner, Conrad Smith, Councilors. The 
same year, September 20th, an ordinance was passed making Zion's 
Co-operative Mercantile Institution bankers for tlie city. 

The new city council organized September 4th, 1886, with 
Samuel Francis, ^Nlayor; James Tucker, James R. Stuart, James 
Rawle, George Heiner, Charles R. Clark, Councilors. 

In 1886 and 1887, two cemeteries have been fenced and 
improved, and forty acres of land have been purchased for a public 
park. 

The government of the city has evidently been administered 
by men who have labored for the general good with very little 
regard for their individual interests, any further than thej' have 
been connected with those of the people. The city is small and 
scattered, but there is abundance of room for growth and expansion. 
With an immense water power for manufacturing purposes and an 
abundance of excellent building material, with enterprise and capi- 
tal the possibilities of its future cannot be estimated. 



SETTLEMENTS OF THE COUNTY. 113 



CHAPTER III. 

The Settlements of Morgan County. 

The settlements of Morgan County are very compact, being 
mostly in Weber valley, which, including its extension up East 
Canyon creek is about sixteen miles in length by two miles in 
width. Lengthwise it lies south-east and north-west. It is well 
watered and the streams abound in fish, notably the mountain trout. 
They are also well fringed with cottonwood timber and willows. 
The valley is a beautiful gem set in a grand border of mountains, 
their sides dotted with forests of pine and fir, and capped with 
peaks which never entirely lose their mantle of snow. 

The chief of the "Weber ITtes, " Little Soldier," whose band 
considered the valley of the Weber their home, deserves a passing 
notice. Ever the friend of the white man he endeavored to keep 
his people from preying on their property. Not being able to con- 
trol them as he wished, he became disgusted with their thieving, 
moved to Ogden, and ended his days there. 

The settlers purchased the most of the valley from the Indians, 
and treaties were very well respected by both parties. 

Thomas J. Thurston of Centerville, first saw Weber valley 
from the mountains on the south-west, while getting out timber for 
his improvements in Centerville, as early as 1852. He afterwards, 
in company with others, went into and partially explored it. 

Much pleased with its appearance he concluded to move there. 
He was among the first to make a wagon road into Weber valley, 
and employed others to assist him. 

Thomas .J. Thurston and J. M. Grant made the first improve- 
ments at Littleton, which was named in honor of Jesse C. Little, 
an early pioneer. They built houses and corrals and Mr. Thurston 
raised grain as early as 1856. They and others took water out of 
Canyon Creek, just below the bridge on which the county road now 
crosses, and ran it to Deep Creek, but too late to save their grain 
that year, 1856. 

These appear to have been the first eftbrts made in settling 
Weber valley. 



EXTERPRISE. 

This village lies in a quiet nook open to the south. It is 
formed by a spur of the foothills putting out into the valley, both 
above and below the settlement. It is located on a bench which 
rises abruptly from the river bottom about twenty -five feet. It is 
about six miles by the road, below North Morgan. 

The first farming was done there in the summer of 1861, by 



I 



114 tullidse's histories. 

two brothers, Henry and Stephen Hales. In September, 1861, Jesse 

Haven and Thomas Palmer made their claim of land from the 

river to the foothills. Roswell Stevens had previously made a claim. 

He built the first house on the bottom, under the bluff, in 1862. 

Also the same season, houses were built by .Jesse Haven and Thomas 

Palmer. The town was surveyed before the land came into market, 

probably about the year 1866. At first the settlement was a branch 

of Bishop Peterson's Ward, with Elder Edward Spencer to preside j 

over its early destinies. It has decreased in population since it was 

entered under the townsite law in 1874. 






PETERSOX. 

This hamlet lies about a half-mile south of the Weber, on a spur 
of the foot hills. It is watered by a small stream which has its 
source in the mountains above the town. The name it now bears 
was given in honor of its pioneer settler, Charles S. Peterson. 
Originally it was called Weber city. The family of Mr. Peterson k 

must have been there as early as 1855, as his daughter, now the 
wife of David W. Tribe was born there in Feliruary of that year. 
The efforts of the colony to raise food in 1856 were neutralized by 
vast swarms of grasshoppers. This so reduced their provisions 
that the family were without bread for three months, and some of 
the time subsisted b}' digging wild roots. 

Mr. Peterson appears to have been well adapted to pioneering, in 
those primitive times when the necessaries of life had to be supplied 
at the enormous cost of freighting goods 1000 miles in wagons, or be 
produced from the elements by home enterprise and industry. He 
greatly assisted the development of the country. He manufactured 
considerable leather, out of which Mr. Peter Neilson made cover- 
ing for the feet of the settlers. He engaged in cattle and sheep 
raising. There was a carding machine at Ogden where his wool 
was made into rolls, from which the family manufactured cloth. 
Himself and sons helped out their neighbors by carrying on a 
blacksmith shop. At an early period a log school-house was built in 
which the young received such training as circumstances permitted. 
It was also the place where the magnates of Morgan county held 
their first court. The first post-oifiee in the valley was at Weber 
City with Mr. Peterson as postmaster. 

The ground on which the village is located was entered under 
the townsite law in 1874, by Probate Judge, Jesse Haven. It now 
contains about 90 souls Avith but little in its natural surroundings to 
promise much increase. 

Mr. Peterson appears to have been, from the first, the local 
leader in his settlement, but Thomas J. Thurston was bishop over 
the valley until 1863, when it was divided into two wards, and 
Bishop Peterson presided over Weber City, Mountain Green, 



MILTON, LITTLETON AND RICHVILLE. 



115 



Enterprise, Xorth Morgan and Round Valley. Mr. Thurston 
remaining bishop of Milton, Littleton, South Morgan, Riclivnlle 
and Porterville. 



MILTON. 

Mr. Mads Poulson arrived at this place, from Salt Lake Citv, 
the tirst of April, 1861. He found Thomas J. Thurston on the 
ground, or nearly so, now occupied by the town of Milton. Mr. 
Thurston, Mr. Poulson, X. Y. Bextrum, Ole Johnson, with several 
others, built houses in fort form for protection against Indians. 

In the summer of 1861, surveyor Jesse W. Fox laid out the 
town and the people began to improve their lots. It was at tirst 
called Morganville in honor of Jedediah Morgan (rraut, but the 
name was soon afterwards changed to Milton, in honor of A. 
Milton Musser, that the county seat might be named Morgan City. 
A held was enclosed and a fair crop of grain and vegetable raised 
in 1861. 

That earnest desire which has characterized every Mormon 
settlement, to have a place in which to start a school for their 
children, and for religious services manifested itself early in the 
settlement of Milton bv the erection of a losr school-house in the 
autumn of 1862, before families were fairly sheltered from the 
inclemency of the weather. It was supplemented in 1868, by a 
substantial building of sandstone. J. G. Thurston first presided 
over the destinies of Milton. So far as now ascertained the tirst 
liberty pole in Weber valley was erected at that place. The town 
is located about five miles above Peterson, on the south-west side of 
the valley, is pleasantly located and contains about 120 people. 



LITTLETON. 

Littleton was named in honor of Col. Jesse C. Little who was 
a prominent factor in its early settlement. It was evidently once 
expected that it would be the leading town in the county. In an 
early day a town was surveyed there by Jesse \Y. Fox, and, as has 
been stated, it was the county seat for several years by act of the 
Territorial Legislature. 

It appears that the overflowing of Deep Creek at one time dis- 
couraged people from locating there. That and other causes induced 
the laying out of Morgan City which has since proved to be the 
fortunate location. 



RICHVILLE. 

In the autumn ot 1859, David Henderson and Jonathan Hem- 
mingway located the town of Richville. It is on the south side of 
TVeber vallev, about niidwav between Morgan and West Porter- 



116 tullidge's historiks. 

ville, Mr. Henderson built the first house down by the creek below 

the present town. John H. Rich, Thos. Rich, Gillespie Waldron 

and Solomon Conley moved on to the location in the spring of 

1860. The first school-house was erected in 1863. The interests of } 

the settlement were first presided over by Thomas Rich, under T. . 

J. Thurston, bishop of the ward. 

In 1862, George "W. Taggart, from Salt Lake City, and two 
brothers, Morgan L. and H. L. Hinman from Farmington, Davis ^ 
count}', commenced to build a grist-mill in Richville. Owing to the 
usual difficulties in those early times of obtaining the necessary 
materials, it was not completed until 1864. Previous to its com- 
pletion many teams went over the south mountains into Salt Lake 
valley to mill. It is said to have been the first grist-mill erected 
in Morgan Coanty. The town of Richville now contains 135 j 
people. _> 



PORTERVILLE. 

This town received its name from a numerous family of 
Porters who first located it, and have since been a large part of its 
population. It is situated altout four miles south of Morgan City 
on East Canyon creek, and about six miles below where the creek 
is crossed by the old emigration road. 

Even before the Porter family had cast their fortunes with the 
Mormon Church, they belonged to that numerous family of Ameri- 
cans who led the "van of empire westward." Nothing but an 
intuitive love of pioneering, could have prompted them to com- 
mence the erection of a saw-mill in what is now known as Hard- 
scrabble Canyon, before there were any settlers in Weber valley to 
use lumber, or a road over which it might have been taken to a 
market. 

The Porters lived in Centerville, Davis County. As early as 
1854, they packed the necessary irons, etc., for the mill over the 
mountains from that place to Hardscrabble Canyon. On account of 
the difficulties surrounding the enterprise, the mill was not com- 
pleted until 1857. It was very expensive, costing al^out §3,000. It 
supplied Centerville with some lumber. The first 500 feet was 
taken there over the mountains, on a cart with four yoke of oxen. 
Lumber was hauled to that place, on the road down the Weber as 
early as 1850. Notwithstanding the difficulties encountered in 
constructing the mill, it being still in use indicates that it was a sub- 
stantial structure. 

Sandford Porter, sen., was the first to move on the ground 
now occupied by East Porterville, in the autumn of 1859, where he 
built the first log cabin. He was followed in the autumn of 1860 
by Chauncey W. and Sandford Porter, jun., and in the spring of 
1861, by John P. and Alma Porter. Chauncey W. Porter being the 
oldest active member of the family, very properly took the lead in 



I 




CROYDEN. 117 

the new settlement, as presiding Elder in the first stages of its 
growth. It was a part of Bishop Thurston's ward. 

So far as now ascertained, the first brick was manufactured in 
Weber valley by Thomas and Samuel Brough in the summer of 
1864, and the first structure of brick was Lyman W. Porter's house, 
laid up by Henry Rook. Tlie first school in Porterville was taught 
in a private house, by Joseph R. Porter, as earlj^ as 1863. A log 
school-house was erected about 1867. In 1870, the settlement was 
divided into two wards since known as East and West Porterville 
wards. The same year a substantial brick school-house was erected 
in each ward. At this time there are about 300 people in the two 
wards. 

The aged Patriarch of the settlement, Sandford Porter, sen., 
died February 9th, 1873, at the ripe age of 83 years, apparently free 
from disease, and in the exercise of all his intellectual faculties. 



CROYDEN. 

In the spring of 1862, George Knight, George Shill and James 
Walker, visited the branch of the valley of the Weber, which lies 
above the mouth of Lost Creek, with a view to locating there some- 
time during the year. They returned to Salt Lake City, and in 
July, with some others came back on to Lost Creek and put up 
hay which they expected to need the ensuing winter. Jesse W. 
Fox, territorial surveyor, accompanied them and surveyed their 
land and town lots. 

The location is about one mile north of the Weber river, on 
Lost or Plumbar Creek, so named on account of the water dis- 
appearing underground and coming to the surface again lower down. 

In jSTovember, 1862, George and Charles Shill, Levi Savage, 
James Walker, George Knight, Wm. Chapman, Charles Bunting, 
Abel Mitchell, Wm. Probert and Thos. Walker moved on the 
ground with seven wagons and four families. George Shill and 
Levi Savage had put up a log cabin in the summer. 

The company built their houses in fort form for protection, 
leaving a square inside where stood the log school-house. The men 
for mutual assistance, combined their labors. Eight log houses 
were constructed, corrals and sheds put up at a safe distance to the 
rear of their lines of houses; the hay hauled to cover the sheds, 
and general preparation was made for the coming winter. For- 
tunately for the settlers this delayed, as there was no storms or 
severe weather until the new year. 

George Shill was the first temporal and spiritual leader, under 
the supervision of the bishop of the Ilenneferville ward. During 
the Indian troubles in Utah, in 1866, the people through the advice 
of the Presidency of the Church, left their homes and went to 
Coalville, but returned again the same season. 

The location has proved to be very healthy, as the lirst death 
was that of a child of Mr. James Swann born there. It occurred 



118 aULLIDGE's HISTORIES. 

about eight years after the founding of the settlement. The first 
child born in the place was Victoria, daughter of James Walker. 

When Morgan county " Stake of Ziou" was organized, John 
Hopkins was appointed bishop. The hamlet contains 170 people, 
and is located in a pocket in the mountains, a high ridge dividing 
the little valley on Lost Creek, from the main valley of the Weber. 

The settlement of Mountain Green in the lower end of Weber 
valley deserves a passing notice. It was located in an earl}' day 
and was presided over by Ira W. Spaulding. At one time it con- 
tained 15 or 20 families and was considered a prosperous settlement. 
It is now reduced to about one-fourth of its former population. 

The erection and keeping in repair of bridges over Weber 
River has been a heavy item of expenditure. In 1866, a special 
tax, of one and a half per cent., was levied on the county to bridge 
the Weber near Weber City, now Peterson. It was constructed 
by Jens Hansen in a substantial form, but the timber used, proved 
to be poor and it went down in 1886. The river is now crossed by 
a temporary bridge, constructed M^ith the timbers of the old one. 

Morgan County and city by a combined etibrt have erected a 
substantial building, with rock basement in which are cells for the 
confinement of prisoners. Above the basement are two stories of 
brick constructed to accommodate both count}' and city business. 
The building has cost $8,000, two-thirds of which has been paid by 
the county, the remaining third by the city. 



CHAPTER IV. 
Organization, Civil and Political History of Morgan County. 

This county was organized out of a part of Davis County. In 
accordance with an act of the Legislative Assembly of the territory 
of Utah, to provide for the organization of new counties, approved 
January 17th, 1862, Charles S. Peterson, who had been elected 
Probate Judge of ^lorgan County by the Territorial Legislature, 
proceeded to organize the county court, on the 13tli of February 
1862, by the appointment of Ira N. Spaulding, Philemon C. 
Merrill and Joseph Bradt, Selectmen, James Bond, County Clerk. 
After being duly (Qualified, the court met at the ofiice of the Pro- 
bate Judge in Weber City, on the 17th of February 1862, at 
9 o'clock a.m., for the purpose of completing the organization of 
the county. 

The county court appointed the following county otfieers, John 
D. Parker, Assessor and Collector; Alvin M. Stoddard, County Sur- 



COUNTY ORGANIZATION. 119 

veyor; Thomas S. Johnson, Sheriff; Isaac Bowman, Treasurer; 
Philemon C. Merrill, School Commissioner, and James Bond, John 
D. Parker, and Thomas R. G. Welch, Inspectors ot" common schools. 

Thus initially, Weber City, now Peterson, became the county seat 
of Morgan County. At the March term of 1863, the county court 
ordered the business of the county to be done there until further 
action in the matter. 

The following June term the court decided that it should 
remain the county seat, but subsequent developments brought 
changes. At an adjourned meeting of the December term of 1864, 
Jonathan Hemmingway entered ujion the duties of Selectman. 

March 18th, 186.J, Judge Peterson's term of otHce having 
expired Willard G. Smith succeeded him, having been elected by 
the Territorial Legislature. 

At the September term of the county court for 1865, Mr. John 
Robinson having been elected, assumed the duties of Selectman, 
vice, Ira X. Spauldiug, whose term of ofhce had expired. The 
county court as now organized consisted of W. G. Smith, Probate 
Judge; Philemon E. Merrill, Jonathan Hemmingway and John 
Robinson, Selectmen. 

There being no Territorial statute locating the county seat, the 
power to do so appears to have been exercised by the county court 
previous to 1866. 

In section nineteen of an act of the governor and Legislative 
Assembly of the Territory approved January lOth, 1866, the bound- 
aries of the county are defined, and the county seat was located at 
Littleton. The following is a copy of the section from the " Laws 
of Utah," of 1851 to 1870, inclusive. 

" All that portion of the Territory bounded south and east by^ 
Summit County, west l)y Salt Lake, Davis and Weber Counties, 
and north by Weber County and a line running from a point in the 
eastern boundary of Weber County nearest the most eastern head 
waters of Ogden River, along the summit of the high lands or 
ranges passing around the head waters of Plumbar or Lost Creek,, 
easterly to the point where the north boundary of Summit County\ 
crosses Bear River, is hereby made and named Morgan County,) 
with county seat at Littleton." 

By act of the Legislative assembly, Morgan City was incorpor- 
ated in 1868, and by an act approved February 19th, 1868, the 
county seat of Morgan Count}- was removed from Littleton to Mor- 
gan City. 

At the December term of the county court Mr. C. S. Petersen, 
having been elected to the office, succeeded John Robinson as 
selectman. 

From 18G7 to 1870, inclusive, Morgan County was sorely 
aiMicted with grasshoppers. There being only very limited crops 
raised, by the third year the people felt heavily the pressure of pov- 
erty. In 1868, the people of Morgan City graded two miles of the 
Union Pacific Railroad, from the city eastward. 



120 tullidge's histories. 

In 1869, the road waa an accomplished fact and it opened a 
market for lumber, timber and charcoal. Thus the people found 
remunerative employment which greatly relieved them in their 
straightened circumstances. 

The Hon. Jesse Haven having been elected Probate Judge by 
the Legislative Assembly, assumed the duties of the ottice at the 
June term of the court for 1869, vice Hon. W. G. Smith. At the 
same term of court the resignation of C. S. Petersen, Selectman, 
was accepted and Mr. Joseph L. Card was appointed by the court 
for the unexpired term. 

At the September term of the county court, Mr. Joseph R. 
Porter, having been duly elected, assumed the duties of the otRce 
of Selectman. At a special meeting of the county court, December 
12th, 1870, it was organized as follows: Hon. Jesse Haven, Judge; 
Joseph L. Card, Joseph li. Porter, Wm. Eddington, Selectmen. 

The following order made by the county court, March 8th, 
1871, indicates its efficient action in the interests of the county. 
"No person or persons shall be allowed to establish'any fishery or 
use any trap, seine, net, dragnet, or any other kind of net, or any 
contrivance (except hook and line) on the Weber River or any of 
the creeks and streams running into said river, in Morgan County, 
for the purpose of catching fish, without first obtaining license from 
said court. Any person or persons violating this order will be 
prosecuted as the law directs." This order was supplemented at 
the September term for 1872, by extending the prohibition to all 
the public streams in the county. 

At the December term of the county court for 1870, Judge 
Haven appointed Samuel Francis County Clerk. His predecessors 
had been .James Bond and Thomas R. G. Welch. 

At the September term of the county court for 1871, David B. 
Bybee, having been elected to succeed Joseph S. Card in the duties 
of the office of Selectman, assumed its duties. 

At the general election of 1871, Jesse Haven and Lyman W. 
Porter were elected delegates to the constitutional convention to be 
held in Salt Lake City. 

At the March term of the county court for 1872, an appropria- 
tion of $36 was made to defray the expenses of the election of dele- 
gates to the territorial constitutional convention, and also $40 to 
defray the expenses of the delegates in attending the convention. 
It was also ordered, " That an election be lield in and for Morgan 
County to vote for or against the Constitution of the State of Deseret, 
and for the election of a representative to Congress, and also for 
members to the legislature of the aforesaid state on the third Mon- 
day of March, at the usual place of holding elections." 

At the September term of the court for 1872, W. G. Smith 
succeeded Wm. Eddington in the office of Selectman, whose term 
of office had expired. 

In the year 1873, that fearful epidemic, the small-pox, visited 
Morgan County. It first appeared in Bishop Peterson's family at 



BOUNDARY LINES. 121 

"Weber City. That place and Morgan City, where it also broke out, 
were quarantined. Through the energetic action of the proper 
authorities, its ravages were checked with only the loss of six or 
eight citizens. 

At a meeting of the county court, April 20th, 1874, it decided 
to enter into an agreement with Morgan City to build a county 
court-house and city hall together, and §2,000 were appropriated 
for that purpose. 

George Thackery succeeded David B. Bybee in the otKce of 
Selectman at the September term of the county court for 1874. 

The probate judges having been made elective by the people, 
by territorial statute, Ihrn. Jesse Haven was elected to that oifice at 
the August election in 1874, and at once qualitied and continued in 
the duties of the othce. At the same term of court $42 were 
appropriated for the support of a normal department in the Univer- 
sity of Deseret. 

C. S. Peterson was elected to the office of selectman, and suc- 
ceeded Joseph R. Porter at the September term of the county court 
for 1874. 

By act of the Legislative Assembly of the territory, 1876, the 
office of County Prosecuting Attorney was created and made elec- 
tive by the people. At the general election the same year, Samuel 
Francis was elected and at once assumed the duties of the office. 
John II. Rich was elected and succeeded George Thackery in the 
office of Selectman at the December terra of court for 1877. John 
Hopkins was elected and succeeded W. G. Smith in the same office, 
at the September term of the court for 1878. At the same term 
the Hon. Willard G. Smith presented his credentials for the office 
of Probate Judge, and entered at once upon its duties. Samuel 
Francis was re-appointed by .ludge Smith, clerk of the probate 
court. 

The boundary lines between Morgan, Davis and Weber 
Counties were not satisfactorily settled until the 1.5th of July, 1878, 
when, by previous arrangements of the county courts, the surveyors 
of the respective counties met and after due consideration reported 
their decision as follows: "We have examined into the matter of 
tlie boundary lines of the aforesaid counties, and have decided ihat\ 
the^line between Weber and Morgan Counties crosses the wagon/ 
roadTifWeber Canyon, at what is generally known as the Devil's' 
Chair, and that the north east corner of Davis County is at the/' 
center of the Weber River, immediately opposite to said point. "\ 

At the June term of the county court for 1879, the county^ 
court remitted 25 per cent, of the taxes, on account of unusal frosts 
and the depredations of grasshoppers. So heavy were the losses 
from these pests, in North Morgan and East and West Porterville, 
that the people petitioned for the remission of all taxes on their 
land, but the 25 per cent, reduction was deemed sufficient under the 
eircumstances. 

John Croft presented his credentials at the September term or 



122 ■ tullidge's histories. 

the county court for IST'J, and entered upon the duties of Select- 
man. 

Charles Turner was appointed by the county court, Selectman, 
for the remainder of the term of John Hopkins, at the June terra 
for 1880. 

At a meeting of the county court, August 23rd, the same j'ear, 
L. W. Porter presented his credentials as Selectman, and succeeded 
John ir. Rich. 

By act of the Territorial Legislature of 1880, county clerks 
were made elective biennially, at the general election. The same 
3'ear Samuel Francis was' elected to the office and continued in the 
exercise of its duties. 

March 21st, 1881, Jesse Haven was appointed Selectman for 
the remainder of the term of John Croft, resigned. Also March 
27th, 1882, John H. Rich was appointed Selectman for the remainder 
of the term of Charles Turner. 

No election was held iiiJ.88'3, on account of the passage of the 
Edmunds Law and the failure oY the Utah Commission to make 
arrangements for the election required by that act. 

Thisj'ear, by resolution of the Legislative Assembly, a conven- 
tion was to be held in Salt Lake City for the purpose of adopting a 
state constitution, with a view to the admission of Utah into the 
Union. Hon. S. Francis was elected by the people of Morgan 
County to represent them in the convention, and also to represent 
them in the convention of 1887 called for the same purpose. 

At the general election of 1883, Joseph R. Porter was elected 
Probate Judge to succeed W. G. Smith, and Ole Gaarder and W. 
H. Toone, Selectmen, to succeed John H. Rich and S. W. Porter. 
The offices filled by the special election of 1883, were again filled 
by the regular biennial election of 1884. 

Peter Anderson, who had been elected to the office of Select- 
man at the August election for 1884, having failed to qualify, tlie 
office was declared vacant by the county court at a meeting held 
October 17th, 1884, and he was appointed to fill the office until the 
next general election. July 20th, 1885, W. G. Smith was appointed 
to the office of Selectman for the remainder of the term of Peter 
Anderson. 

At the September term of the county court, 188G,Hon. Samuel 
Francis presented his credentials for the office of Probate Judge 
and entered upon its duties. Charles A. Welch having been elected 
County Clerk at the same time assumed the duties of the office. 
At the same session Joseph R. Porter succeeded John H. Rich as 
Selectman. 

The county has been represented in the Territorial Legislature 
as follows: Charles S. Peterson was the people's representative in 
the annual sessions of 1804-65, 1865-66; Philemon C. Morrill in 
the sessions of 1866-67, 1867-68, 1868-69 and 1869-70; Willard G. 
Smith in the sessions of 1870-71, 1871-72, 1872-73, 1873-74, 1874-75 
and 1875-76, and biennial session of 1878. 



SUMMIT COUNTY. 123 

Samuel Francis was elected in 187S and served in the sessions 
of 18S0, 1S82 and 1884. James R. Stuart represented ^[organ 
County in the House of Representatives in 1886, and the Hon. S. 
Francis tlie counties of Summit, Morgan, Wasatch and Uintah in 
the council. 

As yet party politics have had hut little inilaence in Morgan 
County. There has been a commendable practice in the people to 
retain taithful public servants that they might be benefited by their 
serience. 
The people of Morgan County have easy access to a good mar- 
aud they have a good soil that is being made very productive, 
increased opportunities develop energy and enterprise, this gem 
'^jji the mountains will be one of the wealthy counties of Utah. 




SUMMIT COUNTY. 



CHAPTER I. 

Its early Settlement and History. 

When Great Salt Lake valley was first colonized, the country 
along the Weber River was noted for its cold winters and deep 
snows. In those early years Quincey Knowlton, a youth of pluck 
and energy, with one companion, had charge of a herd of cattle 
with camp near the site of the present town of Henneferville. 
The snow coming deep the cattle rapidly perished. As their own 
supply of food was diminishing, his companion started for Salt 
Lake City on the emigrant route over the "Big Mountain " and 
perished. Young Knowlton, after waiting as long as was prudent 
to hear from him, saw that he mast reach the settlements in the 
valley or soon perish. He concluded to try the route down the 
Weber River. Out of the remnant of the dying cattle lie gathered a 
few of the strongest. He packed one with his bedding and the 
little food that remained, and mounting another he drove the little 
herd ahead of him to break the trail. He continued to leave the 
exhausted and use those that survived until, with excessive labor 
and hardship, he got out of the mountains. 

In this region also transpired many events that would make 
interesting history, especially near the close of 1857, when the 
Mormon Battalion occupied Echo Canyon to check the advance of 
Buchanan's army. When that army afterwards occupied Camp 
Floyd, a party of soldiers, among whom was a Dr. Forne}-, made a 



124 



TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



disturbance in Salt Lake City. In an attempt to quell it by the city 
police some shots were exchanged, one of which wounded Dr. 
Forney. One of the police was Wm. Hennefer, afterwards one of 
the founders of Henneferville. When the U. S. Army evacuated 
Utah in 1861, apart of them, among whom was Dr. Forney, camped 
near an old mail station about one mile east of Castle Rock. 

By a singular providence Wm. Hennefer, the ex-policeman, and 
his brother James camped near them. Some of the party recog- 
nizing Wm. Hennefer, under the direction of Dr. Forney he was 
tied up to a wheel of his own wagon and ilogged until it was 
judged by Dr. Forney that further infliction of the lash would 
endanger his life, and then, stripped and bleeding, was driven from 
his own camp. James Hennefer, innocent of any possible offence, 
except that of being the brother of William, was knocked down, 
kicked into a stream of water near by, where an ettbrt was made to 
drown him. His persecutors then threatened to shoot him and he 
was compelled to walk nine miles to a mail station. They were 
robbed of their property, but the oxen and wagon were afterwards 
recovered through the influence of an otficer of Johnston's army 
who had once shared the kindly hospitality of the Hennefers. 

A very large proportion of tlie arable lands of Summit County 
lay along the Weber Iviver. Henneferville is close to the line 
between Summit and Morgan Counties. The former county 
extending up the Weber takes in Echo four miles above Hennefer- 
ville. To this point the valley, from what is known as Weber Can- 
yon, lies in general east and west, but from Echo to Kamas it lies 
nearly north" and south. Three miles above Echo is Grass Valley 
Junction, where a narrow-guage road brings coal from the Grass 
Valley mines to the Park City road. The chances are that this place 
will yet develop into a thriving town. 

Two miles above Grass ^"alley Junction is the incorporated city 
of Coalville, of which a special histor^y has been written. Eight 
miles up the valley is Waiiship. At tliis point the Park City rail- 
road leaves the valley of Weber and turns up Silver creek fourteen 
miles to Park City. " Up the Weber four miles above Wanship is 
Rockport. It is four miles farther to Peoa, and seven miles from 
Peoa to Karaas. This last settlement is in the valley of the Weber, 
but it lies about midway between that river and the Provo River, 
which limits Summit County on the south. In going up this valley, 
owing to constantly increasing altitude, the average temperature 
gradually lowers. The last day of March, 1888, when the items of 
this history were gathered up, there was a marked difference in the 
advance of spring l)etween Coalville and Kamas. In the former 
the roads were dry and farmers were busy with the opening spring- 
work. In the latter place the old snow still covered much of the 
ground, and the road alternated •with snow and mud, with heavy 
snow banks along the fences. 

The Weber is a very rapid stream and when the snows in the 
mountains melt rapidly in the warm spring sun it becomes a raging 



HENNEFERVILLE. 125 

uncontrollable torrent, often making it very expensive to the settle- 
ments to build and keep in repair the l:)ridges that span it. 

Stock raising has always been a leading business of the people 
on the Weber, and for many years when the frosts frequently ruined 
their grain crops it was the principal means of subsistence. The 
range was excellent in the summer, and in the winter the dry grasses 
were nutritious and abundant when not covered by the winter 
snows, and for such emergencies the rich alluvial bottoms along 
the river produced large quantities of native hay of fair quality. 

In the early years grain raising was a precarious business on 
account of the lateness of the spring and the untimely frosts which 
often destroyed the crop, or damaged it so that it was of but little 
value. The climate has gradually modified, the winters are less 
severe, unseasonable frosts less frequent, and agriculture is pro- 
ducing encouraging results for the intelligent worker. The lireadth 
and quality of hay lands have been much increased by the intro- 
duction of red top, timothy, and lucerne. As the soil is not only 
well adapted to the growth of hay, but as well for the production in 
immense quantities of potatoes, beets, carrots, etc., for the feeding 
of cattle, the day cannot be far distant when dairy farming will 
bring affluence and wealth to an industrious and enterprising 
people. 

Park City has been a convenient market for much of the pro- 
duce of the Tipper Weber Valley, and it has given much employ- 
ment in furnisliing wood and mining timliers, more especial]}' for 
the Ontario mine. The waters of the Weber and of the spring 
branches that llow into it are pure and wholesome, the climate 
salubrious and healthy, and while there is but little increase of 
settlers from the outside, the natural increase of the people will 
gradually develop the resources of the county. 



HENNEFERVILLE. 

This town is on the west side of the Weber River, about four 
and a half miles below the mouth of Echo Canyon. The old 
Mormon emigrant road, from the latter place to Salt Lake Cit}-, 
passed over the ground on which the town is now located. 

In the summer of 1859, the brothers, William and James Hen- 
nefer, established a blacksmith shop near the place now occuj)ied by 
the town of Henneferville to do work for the overland emigration. 
They claimed the land wliere the town now stands, and built the 
first houses of logs near the river. In the autumn of 1S59, they 
moved their families on the ground. In the spring of 1860, they 
were followed by William Bachelor and a Mr. Appleby. This 
year the town plot and the lands of the settlers were surveyed by 
J. W. Fox. Wm. Hennefer first presided over the settlement, and 
was succeeded by Elder Charles Richens in 1865. 

In 1866, the people, through the counsel of the leaders of the 



126 Ti;LLID(iE's HISTORIES. 

Church, who then exercised a father!}- supervision over the settle- 
ments of their people, moved to Coalville, Summit County, for 
safety. They, however, remained there but a short time, when 
they returned and built their houses in fort form for protection. In 
this fort the iirst school-house was built, in which Mrs. Sarah 
Hennefer taught the first school. 

In conneclion with other Mormon settlements on the Weber, 
the ]ico|>le of Henneferville did considerable labor on the Union 
Pacihc Railroad. With some assistance from the county they have 
also expended much labor in keeping bridges across the Weber. 

A post-office was first established in the place in 1867, with 
Wm. Hennefer for postmaster. There are about 1,500 acres of 
land around the settlement under water ditches and fit for cultiva- 
tion. 

There are now in the town one district school-house and one 
belonging to the New North-West Educational Association. The 
people, by donation, have built a very creditable house of brick for 
public worship. 

The inhabitants of the town number 332, divided into 57 
families. The people are very healthy. While there is not much 
to induce settlers from the outside, the natural increase is quite 
rapid and the families are large. 



WANSHIP. 

This town is located near the mouth of Silver Creek on the 
west side of the Weber River. It was named in honor of Wanship, 
an Indian chief. Steven Nixon first moved on the ground from 
Provo, the 9th of September, 1859. He was accompanied by his 
daughter, Margaret, and a young man by the name of Henry 
Roper. They built a log cabin and remained through most of the 
long and tedious winter without other company. 

In January, 1860, the United States mail came through there 
for the first time on its way to Salt Lake City via Parley's Park. 
Mr. Nixon spent the winter of 1859-60 in cutting poles and timber 
for fencing and other improvements. In February, 1860, his son 
Tliomas Nixon moved on the ground with his family, a wife and 
two children. One yoke of oxen was all the team the settlement had 
in the spring of 1860. With this they broke up six acres of land 
and raised a light crop. In the summer of 1560, the family of 
Father Nixon moved to the place. 

In the autumn, Daniel H. Wells came on Silver Creek, with 
three or four men, and started work on the wagon road now run- 
ning up this creek. He labored hard with this outfit three or four 
weeks. The road was not completed until near the end of the year 
1861. Previous to this the mail coaches, which were run by 
Gilmer and Saulsbury had taken the place of the pony express and 
went into Parley's Park via Three Mile Canyon, at the mouth of 
which Rockport is located. The road up Silver Creek was an 



ROCKPORT. 127 

easier grade and shortened the distance. In the autumn of 1860, 
tlie settlement was visited b}' Brigham Young and Heber C. Kim- 
ball. In the fall of IStil, about 300 Snake Indians camped near 
the settlement, for sometime, and heavily taxed the people for food, 
of which they had a very limited supply. In 1801, Aaron Daniels 
built a house and kept a mail station for Gilmer and Saulsliury, 
contractors. It is supposed the town was first accommodated with 
a post-oifice in 1864, with Stejihen Nixon as postmaster. He was 
also the presiding elder of the place until the appointment of 
George G. Snyder as bishop in 1865. A school-house was built as 
early as 1867, in which Mr. M. D. Cook first ofliciated as teacher. 
In 1806, Henry S. Alexander and George G. Snyder opened a 
saloon which became an unpleasant institution in the little settle- 
ment. Snyder and Alexander built a grist]mill about 1807. 

A Co-operative Mercantile Institution was started in 1808, but 
has not been a success. It should be recorded that Mr. Nixon was 
the pioneer trader of the place, having commenced the sale of 
goods in a log cabin in 1804. The people of Rockport, and some 
scattering families consolidated here in the Indian troubles of 1806. 
A very creditable brick meeting-house 25 by 55 feet, is nearing 
completion. There is one district school and one New West Com- 
mission school in the settlement. There are also three stores, one 
grist mill and 180 inhabitants. There are 900 acres of land used 
for the various purposes of farming, which produced in 1887 8,000 
bushels of grain, 900 tons of hay with a considerable quantity of 
potatoes, etc. E. R. Young, juu., was appointed bishop in the 
autumn of 1884, and is still the presiding genius of the place. 



ROCKPORT. 

In the summer of 1800, Henry Seamons, Edmund Hortin and 
his son John Hortin, crossed the plains from the Missouri River and 
arrived on the ground now occupied by the town of Rockport the 
27th of August. Henry Reynolds had been on the ground several 
days before their arrival, and had commenced a log house. These 
men put up the first houses. They were followed the same season 
by H. H. Williamson, John Ames, John Smith and H. 0. Young, 
with their families. The winter of 1800-61 was very severe and 
the settlers were poorly prepared for it. They had put up but little 
hay and had much ditficulty to get their limited amount of stock 
through alive. Their co-operative Christmas dinner furnishes an 
excellent illustration of their condition. The men jointly purchased 
a piece of beef for which they agreed to pay in grain after the fol- 
lowing harvest. The mortgaging of their anticipated crop for a bit 
of fresh beef for the Christmas dinner of the colony, indicates a 
severe pressure of poverty. No doubt keen appetites gave it an 
excellent relish. 

At first Henry Reynolds presided over the interests of the 



128 'tullidctE's histories. 

infant settlement. Then for some time it was under the jurisdiction 
of Abraham Marchant, bishop of Peoa. The lands of the settlers 
were surve^yed by Jesse W. Fox in 1861. A very good school-house 
was built of hewn logs in 1864, and it still does duty as school and 
meeting house. The tirst tliree or four years the country was so 
dry that even the hay crop was light, and frosts, with short seasons, 
80 stinted the wdieat and potatoes that the first was scarcely fit for 
human food, and the latter was very small and inferior in quality. 
There has been a gradual developing of moisture in the soil until 
much of the land formerly plowed and irrigated has become too 
wet to cultivate, and now makes excellent meadow. 

In the early times the furniture for family use was rough hewn 
from Cottonwood and alder trees growing along the Weber. From 
these were improvised chairs, bedsteads and tables, and by a similar 
process, in some cabins puncheons took the place of dirt floors. 
The first lumber obtained was from Samuel Snyder's saw-mill in 
Parley's Park in 1864. For several years the settlers on the Weber 
were under the necessity of getting their flour from Great Salt 
Lake valley. To oblige these struggling settlers the mills would 
exchange them good flour for their inferior wheat at a reasonable 
discount. These trips to obtain flour were often a source of much 
hardship. Late in the autumn, after the season's harvest was 
threshed, it was often necessary to take a load to mill that there 
might be bread in the house through the long severe wintter. Fre- 
quentl}' in returning the men were caught in the early snows of 
winter, when it was often a severe labor of two weeks to travel the 
thirty-six miles between points. There were times when they were 
obliged to leave sleds and loading until more favorable circum- 
stances. These were times of much sufiering for the men who 
were out, and of anxiety for their families at home. The first grist- 
mill which helped the settlers out of this dilemma was built by Mr. 
Samuel P. IToyt at Hoytsville, on the Weber between Coalville and 
Wanship. This settlement was first called " Three Mile" from a 
canyon near it, supposed to be about that distance through it, near 
which the town is located. At first tlie old emigration road ran 
up this canyon into Parley's Park. There was afterwards a better 
route up Silver Creek. 

For several years the place was called Enoch. On account of 
Indian difficulties in 1856, the settlers were advised to consolidate 
with others at Wanship. They obtained permission to retain Enoch 
on tlie condition that they would l)uild a fort for their protection. 
The walls of this are substantially built of rock two feet thick and 
eight feet high. It still stands, a monument of the labors and 
energies of the people, and from the circumstances of building that 
rock fort, the place has since been called Rockport. 

There are now twenty one tamilies and 1.50 inhabitants. There 
are no organized religionists but Mormons, and they have Imt one 
place of worsliip. There are 600 acres of land used for forming 
purposes. The first post-office was established in 1870, and the 



1 



PEOA AND KAiMAS. 129 

first post master was Henry Seamons, and he has since held the 
office contimioiisly. When the Summit Stake was organized in 
1877, .fohu MaUn was appointed bishop. 



PEOA. 



It is said that W. W. Phelps, in company with others, came on 
the ground several years before the place was permanently settled, 
drove his stakes, and laid claim to some land. lie called tlie place 
Peoa, the Indian word tor marry. This name was retained by the 
permanent settlers. In the spring of 18o9, about the 10th of May, 
H. J. Barnhum, John Baruhum, Benjamin Miles, Henry Boyce, 
Orrin S. Lee, Jacob S. Truman, Austin Green, Daniel Rideout, W. 
Boyce, John C. Xeal, "Wm. Millinner, John Xewman and Abraham 
Marchant came on the ground with some families. The most of 
these settlers put up houses of logs the same season. A school- 
house was l)uilt the following year, but previous to this, these pio- 
neers manifested their interest in the education of their children 
b}' starting a school before the house was built. The pioneer teach- 
ers were Maria Banduim and Edmund Walker. 

During the Indian difficulties of 186(:!, the people here and at 
Kamas consolidated about one mile above Peoa and built houses in 
fort form, also good corrals, and herded their cattle during the day 
and guarded them nights, for one year, when they returned to their 
former residences. 

The lirst mail route ran through the place in 1870, with Abra- 
ham Marchant as postmaster. He was also the first ecclesiastical 
ruler and bishop of the place. He held this office until his death 
on the 6th of October, 1881. The building of the Union Pacific 
Railroad furnished much labor for all these settlements along the 
Weber, and the people did much of the grading and furnished 
most of the ties for the Park City Railroad. In the township of 
Peoa there are about -3,000 acres of land under fence, for which 
there is abundance of water. In the season of 1887, the township 
produced over 24,000 bushels of small grain, 4,000 bushels of 
p)Otatoes and 1,000 tons of hay. It contains 450 people. 



KAMAS. 

As this settlement is scattered over considerable ground, for 
the purpose of this history we will speak of the valley of Kamas, 
whiih extiends from the Weber where it comes out of the mountains 
on the east of the valley, ten miles south to the Proso River, which 
is the southern limit of Summit County. This Kamas valley, may 
however, be cojisidered the continuation of the valley of the Weber 
River. It is about five miles in width east and west. It nestles 
like a gem in the bosom of mountains that are romantically grand 
and beautiful. It is 1,600 feet higher than the city of Provo. 
Thomas Rhodes, the hunter was the pioneer of the valley. He 



130 tullidge's histories. 

reported to Brigham Young that lie had killed hears there and 
wished to settle in it. He was given the privilege of doing so on 
condition of getting others to go with him. About 2.5 men went 
with him, among whom were Wm. 0. Anderson, George Smith, 
Theodore Smith, Robert and Sandy Watson, Alfred Fullmer, Peter 
McCue, George Brown, Horace Laml), Charles Lambert, Wm. 
McClellan, George Brabbet and Horace Drake. They built a 
stockade near a spring one mile north of the town. This was 
accomplished in the spring of 1857. After the fort was built, ou 
account of dissatisfaction among the Indians, the men returned to 
Salt Lake Cit}'. John Lambert, Samuel Turnbow, .Tames Davis, 
Samuel Williams, and William and Charles Russell and others 
went into the valley in 18(!1, and found Mr. Rhodes with his family 
already there. 

For four years but little grain was produced for food and that 
was of poor quality. In the winter of lS61-6:i, the only machinery 
for grinding this poor wheat was an old cotfee mill. This, though 
kept running day and night could not supply the needs of the 
people, and some of the wheat had to be boiled to make it available 
for food. There was little to eat except the wheat, but doubtless the 
cold weather, good health and short diet gave a relish to this poor 
food. The first school-house was l)uilt on the north side of Bean 
Creek as early as 186-3, in which Mrs. Betsy Ann Deluche taught 
the first school. Wm. Russell first directed the afikirs of the 
valley as ecclesiastical president. As stated in the history of Peoa, 
Kamas joined that settlement in forting up in the spring of 1866. 
They returned to Kamas in the autumn and built a fort of hewn 
logs 20 rods square and 16 feet high. The old school-house was 
moved into the center of the fort to answer the double purpose of 
school and meeting house. The yards for animals were as usual in 
such cases arranged around the fort outside. The first postmaster 
of Kamas was George B. Leonard. 

Twice a city plat was surv^eyed and the location changed. The 
final survey was made in February, 1871, by A. F. Doremus, under 
the direction of Bishop S. F. Atwood, whose ward at that time 
included Kamas, Peoa, Rockport, Wanship and Parley's Park. A 
good frame school-house 24 l)y 40 feet, was erected in 1874. When 
the Summit Stake of Zion was organized, S. F. Atwood was 
installed local bishop of Kamas. The good morals of the people are 
evidenced by the fact, that although there have been etforts made 
to estal)lish the sale of spiritous liquors, those eftbrts have not been 
sustained by the people sufficiently to be a success. 

The character of the country insures general good health to 
the peopile and the increase of population is rapid. The Co-opera- 
tive Mercantile Institution takes the lead in business. There are 
immense pine forests in the surrounding mountains, and the making 
of lumber is a leading industry. It mostly finds a market in Park 
City. As with other settlements on the upper Weber, stock-raising 
was at first the principal source of profit to the people, but owing 



RAILROAD BUILDING. 131 

to the favoraltle change in the seasons, farming is assuming consid- 
erable proportions. Some fruit has been grown and there is a pros- 
pect of partial success in this direction. The peoiile of Kamas val- 
ley number about 1,000. 

The people of Summit County have had a large experience in 
the construction of railroads that have proved unsuccessful. Some 
of the leading Mormons, who took heavy contracts for grading on 
the Union Pacitic Railroad, were under the necessity of taking rail- 
road iron in part payment. This was used in the construction of 
the Utah Central road. At first it was believed that, when it was 
completed, there would be a surplus of iron suificient for five miles 
of road to connect Coalville with the Union Pacitic at Echo. On 
this supposition the principal owners of the Utah Central agreed to 
iron and stock a road between these points if the people of Summit 
County would grade and tie it. 

With these considerations a company was organized in 1869, 
under the title of the Coalville and Echo Railroad Company. The 
line was immediately surveyed by Joseph A. West of Ogden, the 
work of grading was commenced, and contracts made for furnish- 
ing the ties. The road was graded and the ties got out, but when 
the Utah Central road was completed there was no iron left and the 
enterprise was a failure, with great loss to the people. 

For about one year after the completion of the Union Pacific 
Railway, its supplies of coal were hauled with teams from the Coal- 
ville mines. Also, about this time, one or two silver mines had 
been discovered and were being worked on a limited scale near the 
present location of Park Citj-. With these conditions and pros- 
pects, the enterprise of constructing a railroad between the two 
points gave excellent promise of financial success. In 1872, Joseph 
A. Young and associates organized a company for the constructiou 
of a narrow-gauge road, to be called The Summit County Railroad. 
Within a year the road was completed from Echo to the coal mines 
in Spring Hollow, two miles northeast of Coalville, and the ship- 
ping of coal to Echo commenced. This second company arranged 
with the first one to use their grade and ties, and give the owners 
stock in the Summit County road in payment. It was expected 
that this road would be a feeder to the Union Pacitic, and that the 
Union Pacific Company would so consider it, but when they opened 
their coal mines on their line east of Echo, they discriminated so 
heavily against the branch road in favor of their own coal, that they 
completely throttled and ruined it. It seems needless to add that 
the people of Summit County lost heavily. The bonds and stock 
in the road, belonging to Joseph A. Young fell into the hands of 
his father, Brigham Young, and these constituted a controlling 
interest. The Union Pacific Company ofi'ered to purchase the 
interest of Brigham Young and the coal mines in Grass Creek Can- 
yon. Subsequently the proposal was accepted and the Union Pacific 
Company tore up the track and paid the people about thirty per 
cent, of their investment. 



132 tullidge's histories. 

Ill the winter of 1X81-82, a company was orgunized lor l)uilding 
a narrow-guage road from the Weber coal mines via Park City 
to Salt Lake City, to be called the Utah Eastern. The stock was 
largely subscribed Ijy citizens of Summit County and Salt Lake 
City. The following spring contracts for furnisliing ties and for 
grading were let, and the work of construction commenced. Near 
the close of the following year the road was completed from Coal- 
ville to Park City, and it commenced to supply the latter place with 
coal. About that time the Union Pacific commenced to build a 
branch line of wide guage road from Echo to Park City. 15oth 
roads were comitieted to the latter place. The Utah Eastern strug- 
gled on for a year or two, but the Union I'acific Comi)any l)ought 
up the bonds and a controllinginterest in the stock and closed it out. 
As usual the interests of the people who did the grading and the 
furnishing of the tics were disresfarded. 



INDI.\N DIFFICULTIES. 

The pioneers of Summit County were not without their share 
of Indian difficulties. Situated on hunting gi'oands of warlike 
tril)cs, they often felt to share their scanty store of provisions with 
them for the sake of peace and amity. As early as the summer of 
1865 these marauding bands began to kill and drive off cattle. 
Commencing their thieving again as the spring of 1866 opened, the 
leaders of the Saints, who exercised an energetic, fatherly care over 
the infant colonies of their people, issued a written circular to the 
people of Summit and Wasatch Counties, dated May 2nd, 1866, 
giving them wise counsel that if followed would insure the safety of 
their lives and property. 

The document is an excellent exposition of the wise defensive 
jiolicy of Prigham Young. It is evident that if its details were 
diligently carried out it would cificiently [irotect the lives and prop- 
erty of settlers among Indian Ijaiids from any great sacrifices. Tiie 
following excerpt sums up the legitimate results of tlie pjolicy if 
strictly adhered to. "Adopt such measures from this time forward 
that not another drop of your blood, or the blood of any belonging 
to you, shall be shed by the Indians, and keep your stock so securely 
tliat not another horse, tnule, ox, cow, slieep or even calf shall fall 
into their hands, and the war will soon be stopped. We wish to 
impress this upon your minds: Put yourselves and your animals in 
such a condition that the Indians will be deprived of all opportunity 
of taking life and stealing stock, and you may rest assured that 
when they find you have vigorously entered upon this lal)or, and 
tliat they can gain no further advantage over you, they will soon 
cease their hostilities." 

Experience having taught the people that the counsels of their 
leaders were the embodiment of wisdom, soon decided to act upon 
them. At or near the present location of the towns and villages 



INDIAN TROUBLES. 133 

along the Weber, the people consolidated, organized into military 
companies and adopted strong defensive measures. Great changes 
were made in a comparatively short time. As ecclesiastical was 
the motive power in their sacrifices and excessive labors, the bishops 
and presiding elders of the various settlements were important fac- 
tors in making this early history. 

In August, 1866, Wash-a-kee, the great Shoshone chief, 
appeared on the Weber with his band. lie had always been 
friendly. He told the people that if an}^ of the Utes intruded on 
them he would compel them to go back to their own countrj'. 
This threat appeared to make the Utes more cautious for a season. 

As the spring of 1867 opened raids were made on the stock of 
some of the settlements, and it became evident that the Indians 
were led by renegade white men. Captain Alma Eldredge of the 
Coalville cavalry visited them with an escort to feel of their temper 
in the interests of peace, but they were stubborn and hostile. Soon 
after this visit an attack was made on a saw-mill on Chalk Creek, 
fifteen miles from Coalville, in which two Indians were killed and 
two citizens slightly wounded. Ike Potter, a notorious renegade 
white man, was the principal leader of these Indians. His father 
lived in a dug-out about three miles below Coalville on the Weber. 
A letter from Ike to his father was intercepted by John Y. Green, 
a United States mail carrier. It was dated the 17th of July, and 
stated that Ike was camped on Bear River with a large party of 
Indians, among whom was Black Hawk, and that they were coming 
into the settlements in a few days. This report, witli other inci- 
dents, made the people along the Weber doubly diligent. 

About 4 o'clock p. m., on the 28th of July, news came into 
Coalville that Ike Potter, with fifteen white men and Indians, was 
camped at his father's below the town. A warrant for the arrest of 
himself and party was in the hands of J. C. Roundy, the county 
sheritf. His deputy, Mr. Iliiwkins, called on Captain A. Eldredge 
to assist him with a detachment of his company. In a very few 
minutes thirteen men were on the march with the deputy sheritf. 
The little force was so posted that the enemy were deceived as to 
their numbers, and the arrest was aftected without bloodshed. 
About 9 o'clock in the morning of July 29th, some thirty warriors 
came into the town of Coalville and demanded the release of the 
prisoners. Soon comprehending that the citizens were well prepared 
for defence, they became more moderate and reasonable in their 
demand, and finally ])romised to cease their depredations and be 
the friends of the whites. The Indians were released and the white 
men, seven in number, were retained for trial. In an attempt to 
escape. Potter and one of his companions were killed. The 
remaining five white men were released on habeas corpus by Judge 
Titus of the United States District Court. 

These events practically ended the Indian difficulties on the 
Weber, and the peoj^le began to resume the ordinary routine of life. 

There has been a general movement in Summit as well as Mor- 



134 iullidge's histories. 

gan Couuty to lease the railroad lands within its limits for grazing 
purposes, that the cattle interests of the citizens might be protected. 
For several years previous to this writing, sheep owners from 
various parts of the county have been herding their flocks in spring 
and summer in close proximity to the settlements on the Weber, 
and destroying the early grass so essential to the interests of the 
citizens. They have usually arrived too early in the spring to go 
back to the mountains at once, and when they did go a little later, 
have left nothing but the bare ground for the cattle and horses of 
the farmers. So great a drawback has this been that necessity has 
compelled the adoption of any legitimate means of defence. 

The citizens of Henneferville, on account of moving earlier in 
the matter, were fortunate in purchasing eighteen sections of lands 
belonging to the Union Pacilic Railroad Company. The rest of the 
county was not so fortunate, as the company declined to sell, but 
were prepared to lease, and if the people would take all kinds of 
land they proposed to rent for §15 per section annually. Under 
these conditions the citizens of the county, living between Kamas 
and Henneferville, have rented 1-34 sections of raih'oad lands for the 
purpose of protecting their leading business of stock-raising. 



CHAPTER n. 
Organization, Civil and Political History of Summit County. 

The first legal recognition we find of Summit County is in an 
act of the Utah Legislature approved January 13th, 1854. The 
following definition of its boundaries is given in Section 3. "That 
all that section of country bounded north by Oregon, east by the 
west line of Green River County, south by a parallel forming the 
southern boundary of Great Salt Lake County, and west by a parallel 
line forming the eastern boundary of Weber County is, and the 
same shall hereafter be called. Summit County, and is attached to 
Great Salt Lake County for election, revenue and Judicial purposes." 

It remained in this dependent position until the spring of 1861, 
when it was partly organized b3- Wm. P. Vance, who had been 
elected Probate Judge as provided by an act of the Legislature of 
the Territory of Utah approved September 9th, 1850. On the 4th 
of March, 1861, at the settlement of Chalk Creek, he proceeded to 
organize the county by the appointment of A. B. Williams, Jacob 
M^ Turner and Wm. Hennefer, Selectmen; Charles E. Gritfin, 
County Clerk, pro. tern. Wm. H. Kimball was the first Sherifi of 
the countv. 



COUNTY ORGANIZATION. 135 

In 1862 Thomas Rhodes succeeded Wm. P. ^'ance as Probate 
Judge, and A. B. Williams and H. B. McBride were Selectmen, 
and Wm. H. Smith became County Clerk. 

March 2nd. 1863, Joseph Stallings became Selectman. March 
9th, 1SG3, Ira Eldredge assumed the duties of Probate Judge, with 
A. B. AVilliaras, II. B. Wilde and Joseph Stallings, Selectmen. 

September 14th, 1863, Elias Asper qualified as Selectman and 
Thomas Gibbons December 7th of the same year. 

June 6th, 1864, the county court was organized with Ira 
Eldredge, Judge ; A. B. Williams, Elias Asper and Thomas Gib- 
bons, Selectmen; Wra. fl. Smith, County Clerk. 

September 12th, 18i)4, the county court stood as follows: Ira 
Eldredge, Probate Judge; Elias Asper, George G. Snyder and 
Jacob Hotfman, Selectmen. December 12th, 1864, Clarence Jack- 
son assumed the duties of County Clerk. 

June 24th, 1865, the county court stood as follows : George G. 
Snyder, .ludge of Probate; Elias Asper, Jacob Hoffman and (^rrin 
S. Lee, Selectmen. 

By an act of the Legislature of the Territory of Utah, approved 
January 10th, 1866, the boundaries of the county were defined and 
the county seat located as follows : "All that portion of the terri- 
tory bounded south bj- "Wasatch County, west by Great Salt Lake 
County, north by the summit of the range of mountains forming 
the upper canyon of East Canyon Creek, thence northerly along 
the summit of the range of mountains between said creek and 
"Weber River, thence across said river to and along the summit of 
the high land between Plumbar or Lost and Echo Canyon Creeks, 
thence to, and along the summit next north of Yellow Creek to 
Bear River, thence easterly across said river to the summit of the 
divide between Bear River and the tributaries of Green river, and 
east by the summit of said range is hereby made and named Sum- 
rait County, with count}- seat at Wanship." 

Thus the county seat, the location of which appears for several 
years to have been at the option of the county court, was located 
by statute. It remained at Wanship until the above act was 
amended February 16th, 1872, by changing the county seat to 
Coalville. 

March 5th, 1866, Reddin A. Allred assumed the duties of 
County Clerk. September 3rd, 1866, Martin H. Peck assumed the 
duties of Selectman and Ross R. Rogers September 2nd, 1867. At 
that time the county court stood as follows: George G. Snyder, 
Probate Judge ; Orrin S. Lee, Elias Asper and Ross R. Rogers, 
Selectmen. 

March 2, 1868, Thomas Bullock succeeded Reddin A. Allred, 
as County Clerk. April 27th, 1868, Arza E. Hinckley succeeded 
George G. Snyder as Probate Judge. There were no changes in 
the personel of the county court until September 4th, 1871, when 
"Ward E. Pack succeeded Orrin S. Lee as Selectman when the 



136 



TDLLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



county court stood as follows: Arza E. Hinckley, Probate Judge; 
Ross R. Rogers and Ward E. Pack and Elias Asper, Selectmen. 

Charles Richens, September 2nd, 1872, H. W. Brizee, Septem- 
ber 1, 1873, assumed the duties of Selectnjen. June 1, 1874, Elias 
Asper succeeded A. E. Hinckley in the office of Probate Judge. 

October 28th, 1872, Roliert Salmon succeeded Thomas Bullock 
as County Clerk. Se[iteml)er 7tli, 1874, James Woolstenhulm suc- 
ceeded Ward E. Pack as Selectman when the county court stood as 
follows; Elias Asper, Judge of Probate and Charles Richens, II. 
W. Brizee, James Woolstenhulm, Selectmen. 

September 4th, lS7<i, Jared C. Roundy succeeded Henry W. 
Brizee as Selectman. 

September 3rd, 1877, George G. Snj'der succeeded James 
Woolstenhulm in the county otlice of Selectman, when the county 
court stood as follows: Elias Asper, Judge of Probate; Charles 
Richens, Jared C. Roundy and G. G. Snyder, Selectmen. Septem- 
ber 2nd, 1878, John Boyden succeeded Charles Richens as Select- 
man. 

September 1st, 1879, W. W. Clutf, and September (ith, 1880, 
Samuel P. Hoyt assumed the duties of Selectmen. Also at the 
last date Ward E. Pack succeeded Elias Asper as Probate Judge, 
when the county court was organized as follows : Ward E. Pack, 
Probate Judge'; W. W. Clnlf, Samuel P. Iloyt and Jared C. 
Roundy, Selectmen. 

September (Jth, 1881, Charles Richens succeeded W. W. Cluft' 
in the office of Selectman. April 24th, 1882, Ward K. Pack, Jr., 
succeeded Charles Richens as Selectman. June 6th of the same 
year John Pack succeeded Ward E. Pack, .Jr., as Selectman. 

October 22nd, 1883, Alma Eldredge succeeded Ward E. Pack 
as Probate Judge ; Edwin Kimball assumed the duties of Select- 
man, and Thomas Alston succeeded Robert Salmon as (Jounty 
Clerk. The county court stood as follows : Alma Eldredge, Judge 
of Probate; John Pack, Edwin Kimball, .James C. Roundy, 
Selectmen. 

September 8th, 188.5, E. W. Hoyt succeeded John Pack as 
Selectman, and December 5th, 1887, the county court was organ- 
ized as follows: Alma Eldredge, Judge of Probate; Edwin Kim- 
ball, F. W. Hoyt and George Moore, Selectmen. 



POLITICAL HISTORY OF SUMMIT COUNTY. 



For some time after the founding of Park City the inhabitants 
sent tlieir delegates to the county convention for the nomiiiation of 
candidates for the annual August election. Arrangements were 
made to avoid an opposition ticket. 

About 1880, the Liberals separated from the People's Party, 
held their own conventions and voted their own ticket. They had 
two conventions in Coalville, the last, July 10, 1884, since which 
they have been held in Park City. In 1881, some prominent mem- 



i 



C0ALvn-i.E. 137 

bers of the People's Party conferred with leading men of the 
Liberal Party and proposed to them, in view of Park City being an 
important precinct in the county and composed almost exclusively 
of Liberal voters, tliat they name some suitable person of their 
party to be nominated in the people's convention for Selectman to 
represent that part of the county. 

At that time the Liberals did not exceed one-third of tlie total 
vote. The first year this proposition was made, owing to circum- 
stances not connected with an}' political bias, it failed. It was con- 
sidered by those who were approached on tlie subject, a very fair 
projiosition from the majority party. The following .year the elec- 
tion lapsed. The same proposition was again made in 1883 by the 
People's Party, which resulted in the nomination of Mr. Edwin 
Kimball. He proved an excellent choice, for he is a justan<l liberal 
man. While Mr. Kimball was elected by a full vote of the People's 
Party, he was somewhat traduced by some of the more narrow- 
minded of the Liberals. 

In 1886, the People's Party carried the election by 200 majority 
when Edwin Kimljall was re-elected for his second term. He is 
still proving himself an honorable i>ublic servant. 

In 1885, the Liberal Party carried the election in the county 
by a small majority, which resulted in sending D. C. McLaugljJin 
to the Legislature and in the election of li. F. Hoyt, Selectman 
from Park City. This equally divided the county court between 
the two political jtarties; the Judge and one Selectman of the 
People's Party, and two Selectmen of the Liberals. Tliis make-up 
of the county court proved very satisfactory, for business was done 
in a very harmonious manner, without any development of party 
discord or animosities. 

In the election of 1887 the Liberal Party put in the third 
Selectman, sent their Representative to the Territorial Legislature, 
in fact, elected their full ticket by about 150 majority'. 

The following is a list of the county's Representatives to the 
Territorial Legislature: 

Wm. P. Xonce, 1861-62; Ira Eidredge, 1862-63; II. \V. Bfizee, 
1864-65; W. W. Clutf from 1865-66 to 1869-70, inclusive; Orrin O. 
Lee, 1870-71; W. W. Clutf, 1871-72; S. E. Atwood, 1872-73: 
Ward E. Pack, 1873-74 and 1876; Samuel F. Atwood, 1878; Ward 
E. Pack, 1880: Samuel E. Atwood, 1882; John Boyden, 1884; D. 
C. McLaughlin, 1886 and 1888. W. W. Clutf represented Tooele, 
Salt Lake and Summit Counties in 1872-73, and Summit, Morgan, 
Wasatch and Uintah in 1873-74, as Councilor. 



COAIyVILLE. 

Coalville, the county seat of Summit County, is in the valley 
of the Weber River, five miles above that noted place in the history 
of Utah, Echo Canyon. In altitude it is about 6,000 feet and it is 
10 



138 tullidge's histories. 

about 1,200 feet higher than Salt Lake City. It is located some 
three-fourths of a mile east of the Weber on a low bench formed 
by alluvial deposits from Chalk Creek Canyon. The Weber River 
sweeps around to the foot-hills on the west side of the valley leaving 
a rich alluvial bottom for agricultural purposes. This gradually 
rises into the low bench on which the town is situated. 

The banks of the river are heavily fringed with cottonwoods 
and willows which, with the adjoining fields, give pleasing varietv 
to a landscape that would otherwise be monotonous. The moun- 
tains on either side of the river are rugged and broken. More 
majestic than pleasing, they afford in spots a scrubby growth of 
cedar, supplemented with white pine and balsam on the higher 
peaks in the distance. The mountains and foothills afford consid- 
erable facilities for stock-raising, which are utilized to their utmost 
capacity. The base line of the town survey is in keeping with the 
lay of the valley and intersects the meridian of the place at an 
angle of 2-3° 30'." 

The main street with its shade trees, neat public buildings and 
private residences is a pleasant avenue through the town. At the 
uorth end it crosses a substantial bridge over Chalk Creek from 
which it extends about a mile south in a direct line and then bends 
to the right. The town extends on the east a few blocks up Chalk 
Creek Canyon, and tiiis makes its greatest width east and west. 
Chalk Creek is a rapid mountain stream with an average width of 
about forty feet and a depth of twelve inches. It runs along the 
uorth side of the town into the river. 

Trifling circumstances often produce important results. This 
was exemplified in the settlement of Coalville. The idea of set- 
tling on the Weber originated in the mind of AYm. H. Smith, one 
of the first pioneers, in the circumstance of seeing some matured 
wheat, while traveling the road between that stream and Ft. Bridger, 
grown from seed which had been dropped by accident. The cir- 
cumstance suggested to him that if wheat would mature on the 
spot where that was found it would mature on the Weber. Mr. 
Smith found two other men, Alansou Norton and Andrew Wil- 
liams who also desired the advantages of a new location. 

Mr. Williams had spent a winter at the mouth of Echo Canyon, 
■ and was well acquainted with the character of the country on and 
around the Weber. He also had faith that grain would grow in it. 
He and Mr. Smith left their homes in the Sugar House ward, in 
Great Salt Lake Valley, on the 22nd of Aprif, 1859. There they 
were in the midst of budding, blooming spring. But thej' were 
aware as thej' crossed the mountains in their contemplated trip to 
the valley of the Wel)er, they must encounter snow wliich it would 
be practically impossible for animals to travel through. For this 
reason the}- packed their blankets and sutHcient food for a hurried 
trip, on their backs. In Parley's Park they found the snow about 
three feet deep, with a crust on the surface which broke through 
and greatl}' increased the difliculty of traveling. 



COAL DISCOVERIES. 139 

They arrived on the ground where Coalville now stands, on the 
2(lth of April. Their nearest neighbors were at Samuel Snyder's 
mill in Parley's Park, twenty-tive miles to the south-west, and some 
pioneer settlers about the same distance below them on the Weber. 
There was also a mail station at the mouth of Echo Canyon. In 
"Weber Valley they found the ground bare, and hardy vegetation 
putting on the green verdure of spring. They remained about one 
day on the ground selected for a location, and returned home down 
the Weber." In a few days they returned with tlie addition to their 
numbers of three more efficient men, Henry B. Wilde, Thomas G. 
Franklin and Joseph Stallings. The new colony cultivated a field 
of four or five acres, the same ground being now occupied by a 
part of the town of Coalville, including the Stake house. Although 
the sowing and planting were not completed until the Sth of June, 
a fair crop of wheat and vegetables was raised. 

Almost simultaneous with the arrival of the first settlers the 
coal mines began to be developed. About a year previous to their 
arrival Mr. Ttiomas Rhodes while hunting, found on Chalk Creek, 
about five miles from the Weber, the cropping out of a coal meas- 
ure, dug a specimen with his butcher knife, took it into Salt Lake 
City and reported the circumstance. This appears to have been 
the first coal discovered in northern Utah, which resulted in practi- 
cal good to the country. It led to the development of coal mines, 
the working of which subsequently built up the town of Coalville. 
Rhodes' discovery was followed up by Joel Lewis who joined the 
new settlement on the Weber at an early day. He dug out a little 
of the coal and brought it to the camp. 

Joel Lewis and Henry B. Wilde were the first to discover coal 
on the Weber. Andrew Johnson, a miner, was associated with 
them, and did the first labor in opening the mine on ground now 
near tiie south end of the town of Coalville. This was in 1861 or 
'62. But the Rluxles' mine was the first in order of development, 
-as well as discovery, for John Spriggs, who arrived in the settle- 
ment in May or June, 18.59, opened the mine and worked it to some 
extent, but it was abandoned on account of the coal being of poor 
quality. 

In 18G3, Andrew Johnson opened a coal bed about one and a 
(piarter miles north-east of Chalk Creek, now Coalville. He after- 
wards sold one half interest in the mine to.T. Allen, and finally Mi'- 
Johnson sold out Ins interest to Howard Livingston of Salt Lake 
City. Andrew .Johnson also performed the first labor in opening 
the coal bed in Spring Hollow, and sold out to AVm. H. Smith. 

In 1861 or '62, Daniel H. Wells, Bryant Stringham and Stephen 
Taylor first opened the mines in Grass Creek Canyon, about five 
miles north-east of the settlement on Chalk Creek. These mines 
are now worked and are known as the "Old Church mines.'' 

In the year 1865 or '66, John Spriggs opened the coal measure 
underlying the town of Coalville, a little to the north-east of the 
opening made by Wilde, Lewis and Johnson. These are now 



140 tullidue's histories. 

known as the Spriggs' mine. It is now owned bj' the heirs of Bate- 
man and Spriggs. 

The coal from tliis mine is the best in the county for domestic 
purposes, but has been abandoned on account of financial difficul- 
ties. The development of the coal beds under and around Coal- 
ville, has been much obstructed by the Union Pacitic Railroad 
refusing to conve}' the coal to market on rcasonaljle terms. At this 
writing the prospect is improving for the development of this exten- 
sive coal field. 

The only organization that has so far been able to combat 
somewhat successfully with the difficulties of the situation, is the 
Home Coal Company, formed by grouping together the mines of 
Spring Hollow owned liy different individuals. It is made up of 
citizens of Utah, with R. C. Chamliers, President, and F. A. 
Mitchell, Secretary-. It supplies the Ontario mine and Park City 
with coal, and has been shipping some to Salt Lake City. The 
working of this mine has been a very important factor in building 
up the town of Coalville. 

Since the first settlement of this place unseasonable frosts liave 
gradually become less frei|uent and severe, and agriculture, in con- 
nection with stock-raising, has assumed considerable importance. 

From the first organization of Summit County, in 1862, with 
the exception of a short period. Chalk Creek and after the change 
of name, Coalville, has been the county seat, thus enhancing its 
local importance. Like most early colonies in LTtah, the spiritual and 
temporal afiairs of this settlement for several years were under the 
fatlierly direction of an elder of the Mormon Church. In this iniport- 
alit capacity acted Henry B. Wilde, first as president of the branch 
and afterwards, when a ward was organized in 1S61, as bishop by 
appointment. He was elected a member of the fifth city council of 
Coalville, on the l.jth of February, 1875, and died on the 23rd of 
the same month. 

The following excerpt, from a notice of his death in the Deseret 
News, is a testimony of the character of the man, worthy of being 
placed on record. "He was a man of unblemished character and 
unsullied reputation and possessed, to an eminent degree, the qual- 
ities of 'God's noblest work,' an honest man. As a member of 
the Church he was earnest and sincere, full of integrity, and a firm 
believer in the religion he had espoused. He was the first bishop 
appointed over the Coalville ward, and during the fourteen years 
of his incumbency of the office he won the good-will and respect 
of all with whom the duties of his office brought him in connec- 
tion." 

The subject of education early received the attention its 
importance demanded. In the winter of 1860-(!1, before the set- 
tlers could have got their families fairly sheltered from the elements, 
a house was erected of logs, to answer the double purpose of a 
school-house and a pilace of worship. In this Mr. Wm. II. Smith 
taught the first school, without other compensation than the satis- 



I 



INDIAN FRIGHTS. 141 

taction of tloiiiij good. The log bouse was supplemented in the 
year 186.3 by a commodious stone building, at an e.xpense of t^everal 
thousand dollars. A brick school-bouse is being built in the north- 
east part of the city. One wing is now completed and is occupied 
by a district school. Also the Xew West School Commission sus- 
tains a free school in the town. 

At some period of their early history most of the colonies of 
I'tah sutlered from Indian depredations. The settlements on the 
Weber River were not among the exceptions. In the summer of 
18t)0 much stock was stolen by the Indians. Renewing their raids 
in the siiring of 186tJ, the First Presidency of the ^lormon Church, 
then the leading power in the colonization of the country, issued a 
letter of instructions, dated May 2nd, advising the scattered settlers 
to move together on the most desirable locations, that they might 
the more easily defend themselves and their property. The ground 
on which the settlement of Chalk Creek was located was selected 
for one of these locations. A town was laid out, and through the 
force of circumstances, was for a short time rapidly built up. On 
the 7th of May, 18(i(!, by common consent, the name of the place 
was changed from Chalk Creek to Coalville. 

After the concentration of the people in the spring of ISGG, 
some seven by ten rods of ground were nearl}' enclosed by a stone 
wall for protection, at considerable- labor and expense. In the 
enclosure were included the post-office and tithing house. 

In the summer of 1867, some forty Indian warriors made a 
descent from the foot-hills upon the town of Coalville. There had 
beeu no intimation of their presence in the vicinity, consequently 
it was a compilete surprise. But three men, Bishop Clutf, John 
Boyden and another neiglibor, were in the settlement. The women 
and children were much frightened and the men comprehended 
that it was a critical moment. Bishopi Clutf came from his house 
out to the street to talk, when an Indian pulled his hat off, raised 
it on a pole in the middle of the street and a war-dance was had 
around it. A fnw valuable articles that were lying arouud were 
stolen, but by taking "matters coolly the Indians were finally bought 
off with eight sacks of Hour and several beeves. 

In 1868, Mr. Alma Eldredge employed the brothers Thomas 
and Samuel Brough to come to Coalville and make brick. As they 
were not willing to run the risk, the brick being of poor quality 
on account of poor nuiterial, Mr. Eldredge contracted to pay them 
wages if the brick were a failure, and §12 per thousand if they 
proved of good quality. 

The enterprise was successful, and out of the brick Mr. 
Eldredge erected the iirst brick house in Coalville, on lot No. 1, 
l)lock 109. Since then bricks have been extensively used in build- 
ing up the town. Among the private residences are several that at 
once attract attention to their tine proportions and to their beauty 
of design and finish. Tliev are a credit to the liberality of their 



142 tullidge's histories. 

owners, and to the 2;enius of the self-taught town architect, Mr. 
Thos. L. Allen. 

The small-pox broke out in Coalville in 1869. There were 
several cases, three of which proved fatal. It was its first appearance 
in the territory of Utah, and doubtless it was introduced by the 
Union Pacific Railroad which ran throua;h Echo near the close of 
the year 1868. 

It appeared again in Coalville in the autumn of 1876. There 
were four cases, two of which proved fatal. 

In 1873-74 the county built a court-house and Jail on an emi- 
nence a little north of Chalk Creek. It is now a prominent fea- 
ture in the landscape immediately north of the town. 

Chalk Creek would furnish a large amount of water power, 
and on account of the low price of coal, steam might be made 
easily available for manufacturing purposes, but as yet little has 
been done in that direction. 

On the 5th of Decemlier 1868, the city council granted the 
right to E. H. Porter and Ilorton Jacobs, to use the waters of 
Chalk Creek, for the purpose of running a grist-mill. This was 
built and is now the only mill within the limits of the corporation. 

In the latter part of 1886, Thos. J. AVelch put up a water 
power on the north bank of Chalk Creek which runs a planer, and 
it also has a circular saw attachment. Grindstones are being 
manufactured from rock, which is abundant in tlie foot-hills near 
the town. The home market is supplied and some are shipped to 
Salt Lake Valley. Also considerable quantities of the same rock 
cut to order, are furnished for building purposes in Coalville, Salt 
Lake City, Ogden and Evanston. 

Among the early dealers in merchandise were Hawkins & 
Young, J. P. Harlan & Co. and G. H. Knowlton. When the 
Coalville Co-operative Mercantile Association commenced business 
it bought out the last two and occupied the premises which had 
been used by Harlan & Co. 

The foundation of this important institution was laid on the 
18th of November 1868, by the association of 'sixteen persons who 
subscribed stock and commenced business with John Boyden as 
manager. In May, 1869, a better organization was effected by the 
election of a board of directors. AV. W. Clutt'has filled the office 
of president of the institution continuously since its organization 
in 1869. Alma Eldredge has tilled the office of vice-president since 
the institution was incorporated May 17, 1882. John Boyden con- 
tinued business manager until the spring of 1879. Since then the 
office has been filled successiveh' as follows: by Mr. Eldredge for 
four years, Mr. Cluff for three years, then again by Mr. Eldredge, 
who is the present incumbent. Able management has made the 
enterprise successful. The institution is doing a large business, 
and its past and present promises a successful future. 

In addition to this leading house, Joseph S. Salmon & Co. 
and Smith & Wilde are doins; considerable business as dealers in 



I 



e 



INCORPORATION AND GOVERNMENT. 143 

general merchandise. The latter were heavy losers hy tire in 
January, 1888, but are now, wifh an energy* which usually insures 
success, putting up a hi-iek store (38 by 28 feet. John Boydenlit 
Son supply the wants of the people as druggists. ii,„i^)jj 

The following statements of Coalville exports and imports is 
furnished by the agent of the Union Pacific Railroad for the year 
1887: 

Coal 36,000 tons. 

Wool 14,000 lbs. 

Grain and vegetables 100 tons. 

Amount of freight on exports >>60,000 

" " " " imports §12,000 

At this writing, April, 1888, the people within the limits of the 
corporation number 1,200. 

The citizens of the Coalville have been to much trouble and 
expense in obtaining titles to their lands within the corporate limits. 
The difficulties have occurred with the claimants of coal mines and 
the Uuiou Pacific railroad. The troubles have caused an expense 
of some live dollars per acre. 

The coal mines in and around the town have been worked 
more or less for twent3'-six years with only six fatal accidents, none 
of which, however, have been the results of bad air. 

In and around Coalville are every indication of wealth. The 
homes of the people have a bright, cheerful appearance indicative 
of comfort and thrift. 

The presumption is reasonable that in the near future, the 
development of the extensive coal measures under and around 
Coalville, will build up a city noted for wealth, beauty and comfort. 



CHAPTER III. 

Incorporation and Government of Coalville. 

The city was incorporated by an act of the Territorial Legisla- 
ture approved January liJth, 18t57. The following are some of the 
leading features of the act of incorporation. 

" Sec. 1. Be it enacted by the Governor and Legislative Assem- 
bly of the Territory of Utah : That all that disfrict of country 
embraced in the following lioundaries, in Summit County, to wit : 
Commencing at the Wasatch coal bed, thence running east two 
miles, thence north two miles, thence west four miles, thence south 
five miles, thence east four miles, thence north three miles, till it 
intersects the line running east from the place of beginning, shall 



144 tullidge's histories. 

be known and designated under the name and style of Coalville 
City; and the inhabitants thereof are hereby constituted a body 
corporate and politic l>y the name aforesaid, and shall liave perpetual 
succession, and may have and use a common seal, which they may 
change and alter at pleasure. 

Section 3, defines what shall constitute the city council. 
" There shall be a city council to consist of a Mayor and iive Coun- 
cilors, who shall have the qualitications of electors of said city, and 
shall be chosen by the (pialitied voters thereof, and shall hold their 
offices for two years and until their successors shall be elected and 
(|ualitied." ******* 

Section 8, provides for the appointment and election of other 
city officers. "The city council shall have power to appoint a 
Recorder, Treasurer, Assessor and Collector, Marshal and Su])ervisor 
of Streets. They shall also have the power to apjioint all such 
other officers, by ordinance, as may be necessary, define the duties 
of all city ofiicers and remove them from office at pleasure." 

Section 5, provides for the election of the first city council : 
"One Mayor and five Councilors shall be elected biennially, and the 
first election under this act shall be at such time and place, as the 
Probate Judge of Summit County shall direct: Provided, said elec- 
tion shall be on or before the first Monday in August next. Said 
election shall be held and conducted as now provided by law for 
the holding of elections for county and territorial officers; and at 
the said first election all electors within said city limits shall be 
entitled to vote." 

The first election was held early in 1867 and ever}^ two years 
tliereafter. 

The members elect of the first city council met in the vestry 
room of the school-house and proceeded to organize, in accordance 
with the act of incorporation, with the Mayor elect, Wm. W. 
Clutt", chairman, pro tern, and John Boyden, clerk. It consisted of 
Wm. W. Cluff, Mayor; II. B. Wilde, Wm. II. Smith, Hiram B. 
demons, Ira Ilinkley and John Staley, Councilors. 

The following offices were filled by the council, John Boyden, 
Citj' Recorder; Creighton S. Hawkins, City Treasurer; John Boy- 
den, Assessor and Collector; Alma Eldredge, City Marshal, and 
John W. White, Supervisor of Streets. Thus were the supervision 
of the local interests of the settlement transferred from the bishops 
to a city council. 

The second city council organized March .jth, 1869. The 
members were Wm. W. Cluff, Mayor; li. B. Wilde, W. H. Smith, 
Henry Evans, John Allan, Alma Eldredge, Councilors. 

May 11th, 1870, on account of the resignation of Mayor Clutf, 
II. B. Wilde was appointed Mayor for the remainder of his term of 
office. 

The third city council was organized on the 4th of March, 
1871, with II. B.Wilde, Mayor; John Allan, Charles E. Griffin, 
Alma L. Smith and Edmund Eldredge, Councilors. 



CIIY OFFICERS. 145 

November 12th. 1S72, t)n account of the resignation of Mayor 
Wikle, Alma El(h'e(]irc was apiiointed bj- the city council to fill the 
office for the unex])ired part of the term. 

March 3rd, 1873, the fourth city council was organized, with 
H. B. Clemons, Mayor; Alma Eldredge, Henry Evans, George II. 
Peterson, Ilyrum Merrill. 0. L. Hawkins, Councilors. 

January 8th, 1874, Mayor H. B. Clemons having resigned. 
Alma Eldredge was appointed to fill the otfice of Mayor for the 
remainder of the term. 

The fifth city council organized March 1st, 1875, with Alma 
Eldredge, Mayor; H. B. Wilde, \Vm. Hodson, Henry Evans, C. L. 
Hawkins, Wm. W. Clufi'. Councilors. In the interim between the 
election and the organization, H. B. Wilde had died, and John Rob- 
inson was appointed to fill his place. 

The sixth city council was organized February 19th, 1877, with 
Alma Eldredge, "Mayor; W. W.'Cluff, George H. Peterson, Wm. 
Hodson, A. L. Smith, Thos. Copley, Councilors. 

The seventh city council was organized February 24th, 1879, 
with Alma Eldredge, Mayor: W. W.'Clufi", Wm. Hodson, Thomas 
Copley, A. L. Smith, Thos. Ball, Councilors. 

February 21st, 1881, the eightli city council was organized, with 
Alma Eldredge, .Mayor; W. W. Clutf, Wm. Hodson, Jos. A. Fisher, 
Samuel Faddies, Thos. L. Beach, Councilors. 

The ninth citv council was organized April 2nd, 1883, with 
Alma Eldredge, Mayor; W. W. Clutf, Henry Evans, Thomas 
Beard, James Salmon, A. L. Smith, Councilors. 

The tenth city council was organized March 23rd, 1885, with Job n 
P.oyden, Mayor; E. H. Rhead,^ John H. Williams, W. W. Clutf, 
John P. Allgood, Samuel Clark, Councilors. 

The eleventh city council was organized March 7th, 1887, with 
John Boyden, Mayor; Wm. Hodson, J. P. Allgood, John Wilde, 
Wm. H. Brough and Samuel Clark, Councilors. 



We leave the mines of Summit County to be treated in a special 
chapter on the coal and silver mines of Coalville and Park City, 
the subject of our mines being too important in the history of Ctah 
to be confined to a mere countv record. 



14G 



TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



ASATCH COUNTY, 



Descriiition of the County, Early History and Resources. 

Wasatch County embraces all of Provo A'alley, which is sit- 
uated ill the south-easteru part of the Territory of Utah, and about 
twenty-eight miles from Provo. 

The valley is beautifully located. It is so complete — so beauti- 
ful, romantic and picturesque; some of its sylvan glades, sand- 
wiched between the ancient hills, seem to almost rival in grandeur 
the home of the 8wiss. Surrounded entirely by mountains; some 
of tliem are rolling; they recede and rise gradually, while others 
ascend more abruptly, and their snow-capped peaks appear to kiss 
the sky. The valley is almost completel_y round, and is in shape 
like a deep, symmetrically formed bowl. From any of the mount- 
ain heights is obtained a magnificent view of the country, and from 
some of them the prospect is extended to other valleys north and 
south, and which are almost enchanting. This valley is located 
about twenty-eight miles south-east of Provo City, thirteen miles 
from Park City. Hy stage you travel about fifty miles, and by rail 
about one hundred and five miles to reach the capital of LTtah. 

In the summer and fall of 18.58, a road was first made through 
Provo Canyon into this valley; and in July of the same year, 
James C. Snow, surveyor of Utah County, and a company of men 
entered the valley and surveyed what is now called the I^forth Field, 
one and a half miles square. In October following, they came 
again and surveyed on the west and south of the present site of 
Heber City. In the winter of 1858, the road through the canyon 
was so far completed that teams could travel through it. 

That same year William M. Wall made a ranch in the south 
end of the valley and wintered stock there that season, as also did 
Messrs. William Meeks, Aaron Daniels, Cummings Brothers and 
others. 

The following spring opened very late. A number of snow 
slides occurred in the canyon which rendered travel through there 
very ditficult. One of the slides was one-fourth of a mile wide, 
aiul the pioneers were compelled to take their wagons to pieces and 
pack them a long distance through the snow. It took them about 
three days to make the journey through the canyon. 

On the fir.st of May, 185!i, Thomas Husband, John Crook, 
Jesse Bond, John Jordan, James Carlyle, John Carlyle, Henry 
Chatwin, Charles X. Carroll and William Giles, arrived at Wall's 
ranch from Provo. The next day they drove to Daniel's ranch; 



II 



EARLY COLONIZERS. 147 

they crossed the creek on ;i bridge of ice, and pursued their course 
three miles further to Meek"s ranch. 

In the north end of the valley the party saw three men plow- 
ing. Tliese men were James Davis, Robert Broadhead and Wil- 
liam Davidson, from Xejihi. They were the first wliite men who 
had turned over the soil in this valley for many generations. They 
had plowed one acre each. They had each of them two yoke of 
cattle to do their work. 

The company from Provo examined the land, the quality of 
which they found to be good. They selected a place near a large 
spring, about one and a half miles north of where Heber City is 
built. There they erected a large wick-i-up of willows and poles, 
which they covered with hay and dirt. 

The company made this house their residence during the time 
they were employed putting in their crops. They named it "the 
London wick-i-uji," and the spring tliey called "the London spring." 
Thirty persons ate and slept in this wigwam. 

On May 5th, John Crook and Thomas Rusband Joined teams 
and commenced jdowing. The weather was, at this time, extremely 
cold, reijuiring overcoats and other warm clothing for the body, 
and mittens for the hands, to protect them from the pitiless blasts 
that blew from the mountains. Their prospects were anything but 
encouraging. All things around them wore a forbidding aspect; 
but the hardy pioneers had strong faith in their future, so they 
worked on with hearty good will, and trusted the results to Him 
who alone could give the increase. And they were not disap- 
pointed. 

About the first of June, 18r)9, Wni. Meeks, Jesse Fuller, the 
deputy surveyor, and others arrived in the \alley from Provo, when 
the distribution of land was commcmed. In July they surveyed a 
city plat: they also laid out a fort, forty rods square, on the north- 
west corner of the city plat. This done, the settlers began the 
erection of log cabins, into which they removed their families as 
early thereafter as possible. The season proved to be propitious for 
them; providence prospered them in all their operations, and not- 
withstanding the numerous drawbacks they experienced, they 
raised over one thousand bushels of small grain and other cereal, 
and potatoes, beets, melons, etc. 

The members of the little colony now felt happy and grateful. 
The valley began to assume the appearance of civilization. Quite 
an area of the country was dotted over with grain and hay stacks, 
cattle sheds and coniiiaratively comfortable dwelling houses. 

At this time many other persons began to move into the valley 
with the intention of making it their permanent home. At the 
beginning of November snow began to fall, and soon after, winter 
closed them in for the season. Early in this month the first white 
child was born in this colony, to William and Ellen Davidson. 
They named it Timpanogos, which is the Indian name of the 
vail e v. 



148 



TULI,ID(1E S HISTORIES. 



Elias Cox and Joljii Ilaiiiilton built the iii'.st houses in this 
valley, and by Christmas of this year — 1869 — seventeen houses 
were erected on the fort line. SeventecTi families wintered in the 
fort, and others wintered on Snake Creek on the west side of the 
valley. 

In the winter of 18.59-60, William Meeks, James Adams and 
others commenced to iret out timber for the erection of a saw-mill 
in Center Canyon. The mill was completed i)y the fall of 1860. 
The same year the colonists erected their first meeting-honse. It 
was built of logs in the center of the fort. The year following 
Wm. B. Simpson and Robert JJroadhead plowed and made a large 
ditch from S[)ring Branch to the fort, ruMiiing ]iast the ])ropert3' ot 
Iioger Ilorrocks. This canal furnished water sufficient for the citi- 
zens and for their stock. 

In the autumn of 18.59, the water in Lake Creek had decreased 
very materially and did not reach the west part of tlie city. To 
obviate this difficidty, early in the year of 1860, the colonists turned 
out en masse, witii teams, jilows and other imiilements, and brought 
the waters of all the springs and of Lake Creek into one stream. 
For this purpose they made a canal from " Thomas' Springs" to 
two other springs south of these to the "Grist-mill IJranch ; " and 
these secured sufficient water for the use of the citizens of Ilcber. 

In the spring of this year many more families fi^^rn Provo 
moved into the valley, and soon thereafter all the lots on the fort 
line were occupied ; more land was taken up and cultivated, good 
crops were raised and numerous improvements were made in the 
settlement. This being a Mormon colony, it will be readily under- 
stood that the Mormons alone would lie the office-holders, all of 
which were ecclesiastical, there l>eing, as yet, no civil organization 
effected. Elder Wm. M. Wall was appointed ])residcnt over the 
people in the valley, and James Laird and John M. Murdock were 
chosen by him as counselors. Subsequently Bishop .Jonathan 0. 
Duke was sent from Provo to take the charge and oversight of mat- 
ters the same year, as bishop. 

On tlie 8th of August, 1861, Presidents Brigham Young, 
Heber C. Kimball and others visited tlie valley and established a 
tithing office at Ileber City. Wm. M. Wall was released from his 
presidenc}', and Joseph S. Murdock, who had formerly been 
ordained a bishop, and acting as such at the time, was ajipointed to 
preside over the church matters in the valley, lie chose .John W. 
Witt and Thomas Husband as counselors. Henry Hamilton was 
appointed cliief clerk. 

During this year the fence inclosing the " big field " was com- 
pleted. It ran along the east side of the river, and extended from 
the " Sessions homestead" on the north, and eighty rods south of 
the i)resent i>oundary road line to Midway, The field contained 
4,000 acres of land. I)uring the winter of 1861-62, a great deal of 
the Provo ('Unyon road was washed away, which made it impossil)le 
for teams and wagons to travel through it. At this time a dramatic 



I 



COUNTY ORGANIZATION. 149 

association was orgatiized at Ileber ; Elisha Kverett was elected 
president of the institution. The first drama jiut upon the boards 
was " Priestcraft in Danger,"' composed by William McGhie. It 
was plaA^ed three nights to large, appreciative audiences. 

The winter of 18(il-()2 was very severe. There were alteriuxte 
snows, rains, freezings and thaws throughout the season. The fol- 
lowing spring was very late in opening, and it was not until the 
month of Ma}' that the settlers were able to commence plowing. 
High waters prevailed — indeed, they were the highest the people 
in the valley had ever witnessed. In some phices where the river 
is ordinarily narrow, it became one and a half miles wide. Having 
no flouring-mill at that time, the people were compelled to take 
their grain to Provo to be ground. And for a considerable time 
they were unable to get to Provo in consequence of the canyon 
road being washed away. In this emergency, Mr. AVilliani Kej-- 
nolds improvised a small chopping machine, which he operated 
with the horse-power of a threshing machine. With this apparatus 
the people cho{)ped their wheat, made "mush" and lived on it for 
a considerable length of time. 

ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNTY. 

In January, 1862, the citizens of this valley presented a petition 
to the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Utah, asking for a 
county organization. The prayer was granted. John W. Witt 
was appointed Probate Judge, and James McNaughton was appointed 
notary public. Joseph S. Murdock was subsequently elected Rep- 
resentative from Wasatch County to the Legislative Assembly. 

On February 22nd, the county court of Wasatch County was 
organized. A special session was held on that day, at which Hon- 
orable John W. Witt presided. The following officers were 
appointed b}' the Judge : Thomas Todd, James Duke, John H. 
Van Wagonen, Selectmen; Snelling M. Johnson, Sheriff; Charles 
Shelton, County Clerk; Henry J. Young, County Recorder; John 
M. Murdock, County Treasurer; Thomas H. Giles, Sujierintendent 
of district schools : John Sessions, County Surveyor. 

At the same session all that portion of the county on the east 
side of the Provo River in Provo Valle}', was organized into pre- 
cinct Number 1, for which Thomas Rusband was appointed Justice 
of the Peace, and Zemira Palmer was appointed Constable. 

All that portion of the county on the west side of said river 
was organized into pirecinct Number 2; Norton Jacobs was 
appointed Justice of the Peace, and Sidney- Epperson, Constable. 

When the count}' was first organized its boundaries were more 
extended than they are at the present time. From time to time 
slices have been cut ofi' and attached to others, or taken to form 
portions of new counties, namely : LT^ntah and Emery Counties. 

When it was first organized its greatest distance east and west 
extended from 109° to 111° 24' westlongitudc, a distance of about 



150 



lULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



13G miles; and its greatest distance north and sontli extended about 
39° 40' to 40° 45' north latitmle, a distance of ahout seventy-five 
miles, embraeing an area of about 7,21G scjuare miles. 

In 1880, all the country lying east of the 110th meridian 
belonging to Wasatch County, was taken to form a portion of 
Uintah ('ounty; and a small portion on the south was given to 
Emery County, wliich leaves, at the present time, the greatest dis- 
tance east and west about eighty-three miles, and its greatest distance 
north and south about seventy miles, embracing an area of about 
3,612 square miles. 

The following is a brief digest of county notes taken from the 
county records: 

March 3rd, 1863, the county court located a county road "com- 
mencing at the I'rovo River, below where Charleston now is and 
running in a northerly direction following the old emigrant trail 
through the valley, passing by Melvin Ross' ranch, and terminating 
at the northern boundary of the county ; which road is hereby 
declared to be a county road." Henry McMulliu was appointed 
county road Supervisor. 

At the same time the court divided the co\inty into School 
districts as follows: 

District No. 1. — "To include all that portion not included in 
the boundaries of the other distiicts; to be known as the Ileber 
District." 

District No. 2. — "To include Centerville settlement and extend 
west to the east line of Heber City, and south to a creek known as 
Daniel's Creek, thence north to the dividing ridge, north of Lake 
Creek." 

District No. 3. — " To include the lower settlement on Snake 
Creek, bounded east Ijy Provo River, west by the base of the 
mountain on the west side of the valley, on the north by a line run- 
ning due east from the mouth of Maple Canyon to tiie river." 

District No. 4. — "To include upper Snake Creek settlement, 
bounded on the east by the river, on the west and north by the 
mountains." 

Charles Shclton was appointed County Recorder. 

April 26th, 1862, John Harvey was appointed County Road 
Commissioner. During this year a number of new county roads 
were opened in various parts of the county. 

At a special term of the court held June 22nd, 18<i3, two citi- 
zens petitioned the court to manufacture whisky, but their prayers 
were not granted. 
Wagnenen the right to use the water from Siuike Creek to run their 

December 7th, 1863, the court granted John and David Van 
grist-mill, which was located on the south-west side of the creek. 

On March 7th, 1864, another petition for the manufacture of 
whisky was rejected by the court. But Thomas C. Smith was 



DIVISION INTO PRECINCTS. 151 

granted a license on June 6tb, to sell whisky by retail, subject to 
any rules the county court might impose in the matter. 

September 4th, Johu Hamilton was appointed Sheriff of the 
county. 

November 11th, 1864, the court granted Thomas C. Smith a 
license to sell spirituous liquors in any quantity to suit his custom- 
ers. 

The same date Ileber City Precinct was divided into two dis- 
tricts. That on the east side of main street was called District No. 
1 ; and that on the west side to be District No. 2. 

December 5th, 18(!4, Tliomas A. Giles was appointed Assessor 
and Collector for the year 18ti5. 

During the year 1864 a number of herd grounds were located 
and granted to applicants for them ; several saw-mills were built 
and timber and water rights granted by the court to operate them. 

At the regular term held March 6th, 1865, James Duke and 
T. C. Smith were refused license to numufacture s|iirituous liquors. 
H. Coleman received permission to sell intoxicants for three months. 

Charles N. Carrol was appointed County Treasurer, vice James 
Duke, resigned. Wm. McDonald was appointed Road Supervisor, 
vice Z. Palmer resigned. 

This year Joseph Allen erected a shingle machine at the mouth 
of Daniel's Creek canyon, and was granted the control of water 
sufticient to run it. 

An irrigation district was organized in the spring of 18G6, the 
water for which was taken out of the Provo Hiver. 

Charleston and Wallsburg were organized into a precinct and 
boundaries prescribed for the same, March 5th, 1866. Isaac Decker 
was appointed Justice of the Peace, and Stanley P. Davis was 
a])pointed Constable. Center Settlement and Charleston were each 
organized into a school district. 

Samuel Thompson was appointed Justice of the Peace for Mid- 
way Precinct. September 3rd, W. P. Reynolds was granted a 
license to make and sell malt beer, on condition that he pay §15 per 
month into the county treasury. 

TJie County Judges up to the present date have been, tirst: 
John W. Witt, appointed by the Legislature at the organization ot 
Wasatch County in Januar}-, 1862. In 1868 Abram Hatch was 
a[)pointed Judge over the probate and county courts. He served 
in this position until 1874, during which [leriod the county oi'gan- 
ization was considerably developed as the county grew into import- 
ance in our territorial commonwealth. Judge Hatch in 1874, was 
succeeded by Thomas H. Giles, a gentleman of clerical ability, with 
a fair judicial mind and, withal, a citizen of excellent repute. He 
held this position until the August election of 1884, when he was 
succeeded by T. S. Watson, who is known as one of the most enter- 
prising of the business men of "Wasatch County. Judge Watson 
is the present incumbent. 



152 



TUl-LIDGE S HISTORIES. 



SETTLEMENTS AND WARDS. 



There are now seven settlements in tlie county, called wards; 
they are all in a Nourishing condition. They are presided over 
(ecclesiastically) by bishops. But this office is distinct from those 
of the civil autliority. 

Ileber City is the largest city in the county. It is the county 
seat. It is located about the center of the valley. Its altitude is 
5,440 feet above the level of the ocean. It has a population of 
upwards of 1,5(10. The city is not incorporated, but it is very 
orderly and well conducted. 

The residences of Heber are built mostly of rock or brick, or a 
combination of both. 

There are a number of mercantile establishments in Heber, 
the chief of which is the Co-operative Institution; it is ably and 
successfully conducted by A. Hatch \- Co. Its tinancial soundness 
may be inferred from the fact that it has never paid less than 12 
per cent, per annum to the stockboblers. The present manager is 
Joseph Hatch, who is a man of sound, practical business capacity. 

There are in Heber City three district schools, which are regu- 
larly in session and well attended. Among the al>le and experi- 
enced teachers are Henry Clegg, George Clutf and H. M. Aird. 
Besides these there are two other educatioiud institutions for the 
study and acquirement of the higher branches of learning. 

Ta.Kation is light. Twelve mills on the dollar includes the ter- 
ritorial, count}' and school taxes. In Heber is located the only 
saloon there is in the county, and that is not a lucrative institution. 

Midway is about four miles west of Ileber. It was formerly 
called Mound City. It secured that name from the numerous lime- 
stone mounds found in its immediate vicinity. These mounds 
present a truly novel and interesting appearance, nearly all of them 
being in a conical shape; some of them having a spring of water 
on tlie very top. The base of the largest of these mounds covers 
about an acre of ground. The smallest mound at its base is about 
200 feet in circumference. 

In connection with these mounds there are a large number of 
"pots." They are formed of limestone with which the water they 
contain is charged ; some of them are in the shape of a basin ; 
others are oblong. They are from seven to twent,y feet in diameter 
on the top. They are all very deep. Some of these springs are 
hot, others are cold ; some of them overflow constantly, while 
others do not. The waters of those which do overflow spread over 
a wide area of land and leave heavy deposits of concretionary 
limestones. These deposits appear to have been accummulating 
for many generations, and now make a great deal of labor for the 
farmer and gardner in clearing them otf the land before it can be 
cultivated. The material, however, is not without its benefits. It 
is utilized to build wall fences, barns, etc. 

The water in some of these "pots" is from six to nine feet 



I 



PRINCIPAL BUILDINGS OF HEBER CITY. 153 

below the surface of the eartli, while in others it rises <o the surface. 
The water varies in color in difiereut springs. Besides these "pots" 
there are several springs of pure, cold water suitable for domestic 
uses. 

Formerly, Mound City received its water supply from " Snake 
Creek," which was so called from a rattlesnake den, which was 
located in a mound in its immediate vicinity. The den had the 
appearance of an extinct volcano. This den was the harbor or 
home of thousands of rattlesnakes. As soon as their aliode was 
discovered the settlers of Mound Cit}' turned out en masse and com- 
menced a war of extermination upon the venomous reptiles. The 
onslaught was continued with such vigor and success during the 
whole summer months, that by fall very few, if any, were left. It 
is believed that part of the count}' is now free from the pests. 

Midway, the name by which the settlement is now known, 
has a population of about 800. It has two mercantile houses, 
a lumlier-mill, flouring-mill, and other institutions, including 
educational. 

Charleston is situated at the south end of the valley, and has a 
thriving population, which numbers many enterprising, intelligent 
citizens. The co-operative store is under the superintendence of 
Joseph Murdock, son of Bishop X. C. Murdock. 

There are two other settlements, Wallsburg and Woodland. 
They are all agricultural communities; and all appear to enjoy 
excellent health. The death rate in the countv is said to be very 
light. 

THE COURT-HOUSE. 

The county court-house is located at Heber. It is a three story 
rock structure, 37 feet from the basement floor to the square. The 
walls are two feet thick from the water table to the top. The build- 
ing is covered by a self-supporting roof of wood and iron, with a 
tower deck on the roof. The rock is red sandstone and is laid in 
courses from seven to nine inches thick. There is a spacious cellar 
in the basement story. There are three rooms on the second floor 
with hall and stairway. The third floor contains the court room, 
jury room, etc. The whole arrangements are neat and compact. 

There has been recently erected a large, handsome "Stake 
House." It is built of red sandstone, which can be obtained in anv 
([uantities in the immediate vicinity of the town. The buildins is 
50x95 feet with tower extending eight feet. The building is thirtv 
feet in height to the square. It is built on a heavy foundation, 
which is five feet wide at the bottom, and tapers upward to three 
feet at the top. The walls are two feet thick. Like the court-house, 
the Stake house is covered with a self-supporting wood and iron 
roof The tower is built of rock and extends about ten feet above 
the ridge of the roof From this point the tower will lie completed 
in red wood and metal, extending about twentv-flvc feet, making it 
II 



164 



TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



A large cellar iu the 



ill all about ninety feet high to the top of the weather vane. The 
tower is fourteen feet square, and has a large entrance door; also 
two large gothic windows. 

It is four feet from the level ground to the first floor of the 
house. It is lighted by five windows on each side of the building, 
which are five feet six inches by eighteen feet. The walls of the 
building are strengthened by buttresses on the sides, front and rear, 
making it an immense, massive structure 
rear of the building will contain the heating furnace 

The inside of the stake house is 46x91 feet. Galleries are 
erected on each side and end. The seating capacity is 1,.500. The 
speaker's stand has three elevations. A vestry* and council room, 
etc., are provided in the rear of the main hall. Ample means for 
egress are provided in case of danger. There are large doors in 
each end of the building, and four large stairways leading to and 
from the galleries. Provision is made for a large organ and choir 
in the east end of the gallery. The building was erected chiefly by 
voluntary contribution of the citizens, and \v\\\ cost about §25,000. 
The architect and master-builder is Alexander Fortie, Esq. Hon. 
Abram Hatch superintended the construction. It will be occupied 
for ecclesiastical and other assemblies. 

Beside^the buildings above named, there is in this city a general 
meeting house 32x70 feet, 14 feet to the square, with a plain gable 
roof. A small belfry rises from the ridge. The bell announces the 
hour of all meetings. It is a plain, unassuming building. The 
interior of the house is neatl}' and substantially arranged, with a 
seating capacity for five hundred. There is a small gallery in the 
east end. The speaker's platform, in the west end, is also used as 
a stage for the presentation of the drama. It extends the entire 
width of the room. The house is used for general meetings. Sab- 
bath schools, etc. It was built in earlier times in the history of the 
settlement of the place. 

ORGANIZATION OF THE STAKE. 

On July 15th, 1877, President John Taylor, George Q. Cannon 
and Apostle F. D. Richards visited Heber City. During their stay 
they organized the Wasatch Stake and appointed Bishop Abram 
Hatch president, and Thomas H. Giles and H. S. Alexander, coun- 
selors. The city was divided into two wards. East and West. 
Thomas Rasband was appointed bishop of the East Ward, and 
William Foreman bishop of the West Ward. 

A passage of explanation may be here given relative to this 
stake organization. 

As noticed in other parts of this history these " Stakes of Zion," 
formed by the original colonists of these valleys, gave the basis of 
the organizations of our cities and counties. The Stake is a pecu- 
liar organic feature of our peculiar Mormon commonwealth, par- 
taking of the blended nature of a social and ecclesiastical compact 
and government. It possesses the essential characteristics of a com- 



i 



WASATCH STAKE DIVIDED. 155 

Tiiunity, such as the Mormons are distinguished as being in their 
organic type, and they also being a religious people, rather than a 
body of ordinary communists, the stake organization is therefore 
in some respects a Church branch, or conference belonging to the 
general bod\' of the Saints. Over this stake organization an eccle- 
siastical functionary presides, bearing the name of President of the 
Stake, and he prompts, promotes and administers the general aitairs 
of the community both temporally and spiritually, and " everybody" 
knows how thorough the Mormon administration is, and how con- 
servative of the interests of the peculiar people in all their relations, 
which make them very much as one family. Under this president 
of a stake are the various bishops of the ecclesiastical wards with 
their official aids. Abram Hatch was the original president of the 
Wasatch Stake and is so to this day. The bishops of the wards of 
the stake are: Heber East Ward, R. S. Duke, bishop: Thomas 
Todd first, Harmon Cummings second, councilors: Heber West 
Ward, Henry Clegg, bishop, .John Duke first, Alexander Fortie 
second, counselors: Midway Ward, David Van Wagonen, bishop, 
John Watkins first, Alva Alexander second, counselors; Charleston 
Ward, X. C. Murdock, bishop, Edward Buys first counselor, no 
second; Wallsburg Ward, Frank Fraughton, bishop: Center Ward, 
Ben Cluft, bishop, Wm. Blake first, John Baird second, counselors; 
Woodland Ward, John T. Moon, bishop, Lambert and Thayne, 
counselors; Hailstone Branch, Henry Clutt", presiding elder. 

There are six churches in Wasatch County, five of which are 
Mormon and one Methodist. There are also fifteen day schools, 
which are generally well attended. During the fall and winter sea- 
sons the school-houses are filled to their utmost capacity. There 
are also Sabbath schools in each ward in the stake. 

Previous to the year 1886, Wasatch Stake embraced the entire 
territory now included in both the Wasatch and Uintah stakes of 
Zion, over which Abram Hatch presided. 

He visited the Uintah part of the stake from time to time to 
look at\er the interests of the Church there. 

In September, 1885, he was accompanied by Apostle John 
Henry Smith on his visit to Ashley; and while there, in view ot 
the isolated position of the Saints in Ashley Valley, being so remote 
from the western part of the stake, the impracticability of visiting 
them, except at long intervals, to counsel them, and set in order the 
afiairs of the Church, they recommended to the First Presidency 
the propriety of the wards in Ashley Valley being organized into a 
separate stake. Their recommendation was accepted and the stake 
was organized. In 188(3, S. R. Bennion was appointed president, 
thereby releasing President Hatch from further duties and responsi- 
bilities in that part of the country. 

THE SETTLERS AND THE INDIANS. 

There has been one serious hindrance to the progress of the 
white population in their pursuits. It is this : nearly three-fourths 



156 tullidge's histories. 

of the county is held as a reservation for about eighty Indian famil- 
ies. These aborigines, however, are now quite friendly. They are 
semi-civilized, and man}- of them apparel themselves in the fashions 
of their white neighbors. Some of them also have adopted agri- 
cultural pursuits for a livelihood. 

From 1862, forward, the population of the county increased 
rapidly, both naturally and by people coming in from other parts of 
the Territor}'. Many improvements were effected in the soil and 
in the character of tlie buildings which sprung up in every direc- 
tion. They were at peace with themselves and with their neigh- 
bors and adopted a conciliatory polic}' towards all. Their policy 
towards the Indians was to feed and help them, and not to fight 
them unless compelled to do so in self-defense. But the aborigines 
fre(iuently requited this kindness with treachery. In 1865, they 
■ made a descent upon their stock, stole a large number and com- 
mitted other depredations on the people. 

In 1866, the Black Hawk war broke out. Most of the settle- 
ments had, for a time, to be abandoned, and the people gathered 
into Ileber City for mutual protection and safety. A large stock 
corral was built in what was called Clufl's Hollow. They were 
herded by day, and at night put into the corral and guarded. 
Scouts and sentinels were posted on the hills, who kept watch by 
day and night, to keep track of the movements of the red maraud- 
ers. Thus by strict vigilance they passed through the crusade with 
comparatively little loss. 

In 1867, a large number of Indians with their chiefs came. They 
had ended their hostilities against the whites. The}' " buried the 
hatchet" and smoked the pipe of peace. A big feast was prepared 
for them beneath a large bowery in Heber, of which they partook 
heartily and enjoyed themselves exceeding!}', after which they took 
their wigwams into their own hunting grounds; and the white set- 
tlers returned to their homes and resumed their vocations in peace. 



AGRICULTURAL AND STOCK-RAISING. 

The land in the county is rich and free from alkali. The peo- 
ple at this writing have under cultivation about 20,000 acres, one- 
half of which is meadow and pasture land. There is from five 
thousand to eight thousand acres as yet unimproved, for lack of 
water, which it is thought, however, could be easily obtained. 
There are several natural lakes, and good places to construct others 
in Lake Creek canyon, which it is claimed, cannot be surpassed in 
the Territory. One lake has been utilized for irrigation purposes. 
About twelve inches of water will mature crops in that valley. 
The average yield of products per acre are: wheat, 20 bushels; 
oats and barley, 30 bushels; potatoes, 150 bushels. The hay aver- 
age is one and one-half tons per acre. 

Stock-raising is carried on extensively. There are in the county 
ten thousand head of horned stock, as many sheep, two thousand 



LIVE STOCK PROSPECTS. 157 

head of liorses and as many hogs. There are two niining districts, 
in each of which the prospects are very promising for rich develop- 
ments of the precious ores. 

In answer to the enquiries recently made by the Salt Lake 
Herald of the stock raisers of L^tah, relative to stock, Mr. Hatch 
communicated the following: 

"In answer to yours of the 6th inst. I will say: There are 
about 10,000 cattle in Wasatch County, and probably 10,000 sheep. 
Six thousand of the cattle are grazing; the balance are being fed 
on the farms. All of the sheep at present in the county are kept 
on tiie farms. Tliere are in Uintah county about 20,000 sheep, and 
(3,000 cattle, all of wliich are grazed the entire year. The condition 
of all classes of live stock is very good, and the prospects for win- 
ter are fair. Although most of the range is heavily stocked, a hard 
winter would be liable to leave us in the same condition that 
"Wyoming and Montana were last spring. I think that the tariff 
on wool is all that makes sheep-raising profitable, and if the tariff 
is removed, Utah will remain one of the best range countries in the 
west. If the tariff remains, as it is at present, it is only a matter 
of three or four years until the range cattle business in Utah will be 
a thing of the past. As the sheep will take the entire range coun- 
try, either compelling the cattle raisers to raise hay for their cattle, 
or emigrate. Except for the President's message, I think the pros- 
pect for sheep in Utah is very encouraging, but the outlook for 
cattle is gloomy, as they cannot be kept on the same range with 
sheep, and the sheep have virtually taken the ranges of the Terri- 
tory. 

"Average sheep are worth about $2. per head. Cattle in herds 
or bunches of one hundred and over, are worth at>out §20. per head. 
Beef steers run from §25. to S28. per head. 

"Yours trulv, 
"A. Hatch." 

FISH AND GAME. 

The streams of water which have their source in the mountains 
feed about a dozen other large streams in the valle}-. These latter 
abound with mountain trout and other fish. It is estimated that 
each of these twelve streams could, under the present system of 
agriculture, be utilized to water sufficient land to sustain one thou- 
sand persons. 

A large portion of the county is well adapted to stock-raising: 
the summer and winter ranges are sufficient to sustain immense 
numbers of horses and horned stock. 

The wild game is not so plentiful as it was a few years since. 
The valley is admirably adapted for raising all kinds of small grain 
and vegetables, although in some parts of it the wheat is sometimes 
injured by severe frosts. Great difficulty has been experienced by 
the settlers in their endeavors at fruit raising; yet they hope to 
fullv succeed in this matter. 



158 



TULLID(;E S HISTORIES. 



BUILDING MATERIAL, QUARRIES, ETC. 

The resources of the county are numerous. The facilities are 
excellent. About one-half the county is mountainous and is covered 
with timber, consisting of pine, cedar, mahogany, maple, quaking- 
asp and other kinds. In close proximity to Heber City there is an 
immense ledge of red sandstone. It is eas}' of access, and is easily 
worked. It can be obtained in layers fi-om one-half inch, to three 
feet in thickness, or more as may be required. Much of it is 
smooth-faced, similar to a planed board. It makes good flagging 
or coursing rock for building purposes. 

Limestone of an excellent quality abounds in the neighborhood. 
At the head of Snake Creek canyon, in the Wasatch range, there 
is a quarr}' of beautiful white marble. But for lack of capital the 
quarry has not yet been much developed. There is a mine of 
wealth in that place awaiting the action of some enterprising cap- 
italist. Lumber is abundant in the mountains and is easily procured. 

BUSINESS AND COMMERCE. 

In the month of May, 1862, David H. Van Wagoneu completed 
the erection of a flouring-mill, which obviated many difficulties 
under which the people had heretofore experience in getting their 
flouring done. 

In Wasatch Count}' there are now five steam saw-mills, which 
are capable of manufacturing five million fett of lumber annually; 
there are three planing-mills, three grist-mills, twelve blacksmith 
shops, and one blacksmith and carpenter shop combined. There 
are a dozen mercantile establishments. 

Mr. Hatch, who is the principal business man in the county, 
on his arrival in that part of the country, continued his commercial 
activities at the request of President Young, and after a year or 
two organized a co-operative store, which has constantly increased. 
This business has been conducted under the name of A. Hatch & 
Co. The institution numbers about eighty stock-holders, with a 
capital sutficient to meet its needs. 

The enterprising character and quick native energy of Abram 
Hatch was soon felt in the eastern division of our Territory, and 
Wasatch County became known as a live, progressive county and 
Heber as the Eden of the Wasatch. 

Noting the progress of the growth of that delightful pastoral 
town, it may be said that Abram Hatch built the first frame barn 
in the county, and commenced the planting of an orchard, although 
at the onset it was thought that fruit trees would not thrive there. 
He also bought and remodeled the flouring-mill in Heber City, 
which is now manufacturing one of the very best brands of flour 
in the Territory. He established a ranch in Ashley Valley, with 
Captain Dodds, for the raising of cattle and horses, and made a 
commendable eftbrt at farming. 

Thev have excellent facilities for the establishment of various 



LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATION. 159 

branches of industries — notably a tannery, boot, shoe, and harness 
nianufiKtory. The population of the county is about 3,000 whites 
and 500 Indians; and this community expend annually .?25,000 cash 
for the importation of boots and shoes, which sum might be saved 
to the people by utilizing their resources to that end. The estab- 
lishment of woolen factories, for which there is an excellent open- 
ing, would be another great financial benetit to the citizens of 
Wasatch. They own 10,000 head of sheep, and nearly three times 
that number more are summered by them. It is quite probable 
that the clip from all these sheep could be secured to the county 
and converted into fabrics that would give employment to many 
hands in the manufacture of clothing. 

The facilities for the manufacture of beet sugar are good. 
There being no alkali in the soil, the beets raised there are of an 
excellent nature, being richly charged with saccharine matter. 

Butter and cheese should be aliuudant and should tind a good 
market (in fact they have an outlet for all their produce), as most 
of the families milk from two to ten cows daily. There are large 
herds of milk cows in the county, and nearly all the summer milk 
could be manufactured into cheese. 

POST-OFFICE AND STAGE LINE. 

There is a post office at Heber City, but the mail matter for 
Wasatch County is distributed at Park City post-office. Letters 
sent from Salt Lake City to Heber reach their address a day 
sooner than a letter from Heber to Salt Lake, in consequence of 
the mail by the stage line not reaching the Park for the morn- 
ing train. Mr. Joliu Duncan is the postmaster of Heber. The 
stage line is run by Mr. T. S. Watson, the judge of the county. 
He carries the mails and also passengers and light freight to Park 
City and back to Heber. The line is efficiently and reasonably run. 

POLITICAL STATUS. 

Though Wasatch County is in population but one of the small- 
est counties in Utah, its influence in our Territorial Legislature and 
intelligent activity in our local political affiiirs have been scarcely 
second to that of any county in Utah. True, Wasatch could only 
boast of having one member in the House, but that one member 
has entered into almost every public question of interest that has 
been presented during the last twenty years, and many of the best 
measures of our Territorial Legislation have originated with the 
"member from Wasatch County." That member is Abi-am Hatch. 
We excerpt the following from our biography of this gentleman, as 
it covers the general features of the political history of Wasatch 
County : 

"During the last twenty years, Mr. Hatch has been the repre- 
sentative of his countv in the Legislative Assemblv of Utah; and 



160 TULLIDflE's HISTORIES. 

at the last election he was elected again a member of the House, 
in which he will sit in the session of the winter of 1887-88. 

" Touching the past it may be said without fear of contradiction 
that Mr. Hatch's course in the legislature has been gentlemanly and 
courteous, endeavoring to assist in the legislating for the good of 
the entire people; he holding human rights and liberties above all, 
regardless of any opinions that may be entertained, either political, 
social or religious. 

"Mr. Hatch was the meml)er who first brought forward the 
motion 'that the committee on judiciary (of the House) be instructed 
to consider the propriety of bringing in a bill, giving to women the 
elective franchise,' which became the law. It is true that act has 
since been repealed by the Edmund's Law, which not unlikely will 
at some future time be considered by the majority of the American 
people as one of the most infamous laws on the statute book of the 
nation, declared unconstitutional by the United States Supreme 
Court and execrated by every lover of human right.s and every 
true admirer of the genius of our republican institutions. When 
that time comes (as come it surely will) another feather will be 
added to Mr. Abram Hatch's plume, for the female suftrage bill 
will certaiidy be re-enacted by tlie future State Legislature of Utah 
and his name will remain in our history as the member who iirst 
moved the passage of the woman sufirage act. 

" Mr. Hatch was also the member who brought in the bill set- 
ting apart a portion of the public revenue for the benefit of the 
common schools. 

"In the financial administration of the territorial funds he has 
guarded the treasury against all unnecessary expenditure; and he 
has been chairman of the Judiciary committee for the last two ses- 
sions. 

"Relative to Mr. Hatch's future as a local statesman in the 
affairs of Utah it may be observed in anticipation as the forecast of 
probably not less than from one to two decades as he is scarcely 
past the prime of life. 

" Abram Hatch enters on the important work of the coming ses- 
sion of 1887-88 with a popularity well achieved and the experience 
of twenty years" familiarity with our Territorial affairs. That the 
coming sessions will be of the most radical and uncommon import- 
ance, the circumstances of the times clearly indiciite. The prelim- 
inary work of our future state so recently done by our State C(ni- 
vention, of wliich Mr. Hatch was a member, and which was 
endorsed at a general Territorial election by so large a majority of 
our citizens, will consistently demand from the Legislative Assem- 
bly some corresponding action, or at least some adequate expres- 
sions and views from the members both of the Council and the 
House. An attitude and measures are needed in keeping and com- 
mensurate with the vital questions of the hour and the issue of the 
most critit'al jieriod in Utah's att'airs. And taking Mr. Hatch's past 



A WORIUV COMMUXITY. 161 

conduct ill tlie House us the iiidieator of his coiuluct and action in 
the coming sessions, we may fairly anticipate the crowning perform- 
ance of his lite as a local statesman. Bold, outspoken and thor- 
oughly American as he has ever been, yet we look for from him the 
most conservative aims in grappling with the present issues, and 
withal an untiinchiug devotion to the cause and best interests of the 
people ot Utah ; indeed we believe there is no man in our Terri- 
torial Legislature who will be more truly faithful to the cause of 
the people, or who may be depiended on with greater assurance by 
the public, than the member of Wasatch County. Mr. Hatch has 
found his grandest o[iportunity, and we have no doubt that he will 
be equal to it, and that in the coming sessions he will make a strong 
and worthy mark in the history of our Territory as a legislator." 

CH.^RACIER OF THE PEOPLE. 

The general character of the citizens of Wasatch County is 
excellent in every resjiect. As business men the}' are progressive 
and enterprising. Much of their commerce and business activities 
grow out (if their trade with the mining population of Park City. 
Indeed Wasatch County principally furnishes the provisions of that 
cit}-, and supplies it with everything which the county produces. 
In their relations with the business men of the Park they have 
obtained quite an influential character, and a cordial feeling of 
reciprocity exists between the Murmon people of Wasatch County 
and the Gentile jjopulation of Summit. 

Speaking intellectuall}- and socially of the people of Wasatch 
County, they may truthfully be said to be intelligent, fair-minded and 
liberal both in a religious and political sense. In this they very 
well agree with Abram Hatch, the President of their Stake and 
Representative in the Legislature. In fine the people of Wasatch 
County form a worthy part of our Territorial Commonwealth. 



162 



TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



V H 



OMMERCE OF THE 
NORTH. 



CHAPTER I. 
Ogden as the Commercial and Railway City. 

The earliest industries and business of Ogden City and Weber 
County grew out of the primitive wants of the settlers. "When the 
county and city were i!icorporated, Utah herself had no commercial 
life. In the summer of 1849, the first train of "States goods," or 
merchandise, was brought to Salt Lake City by Livingston & Kin- 
kade, and it is worthy of note here that William Vandyke of Ogden 
came to Utah in charge of their train. Notwithstanding the enor- 
mous high figures at which these " States goods" were sold, they 
were onl}^ valued, even in this market, at $25,000 ; and, in the year 
18J0, there was only one other merchant firm in the whole Terri- 
tor}- — namely, Holliday and Warner, with William H. Hooper in 
charge of their business in Salt Lake City. Indeed, it was nearly 
a decade after this before commerce proper began to flourish in any 
of the settlements outside of Salt Lake City. . 

The first business of Ogden was that of lumber-mills and grist- 
mills, with the labor and trade by barter or exchange of home pro- 
duce which grew out of such business activities. The building of 
houses, the supplying of flour, the manufacture of molasses from 
home-raised sugar-cane, the making of homespun clothing, woven 
in the household, not in factories, and of course tlie usual efforts of 
a 3'oung colony to manufacture their own shoe leather from the 
hides of their slaughtered cattle, to make up stoga shoes and boots 
for the community, thus calling into existence the local craft of 
shoemakers — such were the only branches of trade and business of 
the early times in Ogden and Weber County. All the supplies of 
" States goods" which the settlers could obtain — a little tea, a pound 
of sugar, a few yards of calico — at a time when they scarcely ever 
saw a dollar, were purchased at Salt Lake G'ltj. There was no 
merchant's store in Ogden for ten j-ears after its existence began. 
In the summer and fall of 1850, Lorin Farr built his grist and saw- 
mills, where afterwards were erected the Ogden Woolen Mills, 
owned by Pugsley, Farr and Xeil. Previous to this the farmers of 
Weber County liad to take tlieir wheat to President Young's and 
Neff's mills, south of Salt Lake City, a distance of forty-five to fifty 



I 



EARLY COMMERCIAL VENTURES. 16J 

miles to be ground. This waste of time and labor was a great draw 
back to the young settlement : so the building and running of Farr's 
saw and grist-mills were esteemed bj- the settlers a public good. 

In the same summer and fall that Lorin Farr built his mills, 
Daniel Birch built a saw-mill on the Weber river where afterwards 
stood the tlouring-niill of President .John Taylor; and he also built 
a grist-mill at the same place. Mr. Birch took the waters out of 
the river a mile or two above at a great expense. Mr. Farr and 
Hubbard, who were partners in the mills, took out the waters of the 
Ogden River at a point south-east of where they were located to 
rmi the Farr and Hubbard mills, which stream formed what is now 
known as Mill Creek, from which many thousand acres of land are 
now irrigated. 

In 18(32, Lorin Farr built his new grist-mill east of the State 
road, south of Ogden Bridge. The capacity of this mill was a 
hundred barrels of flour per day. It cost upwards of §30,000. To 
run this mill he took out the water of the Ogden River half a mile 
above at a heavy cost, the dam being built on a bed of sand. The 
dam and race cost over §10,000, making the total cost over §-10,000. 

Before 1863 there was no regular commerce in Ogden. Rich- 
ard Ballantyne in 1861, kept a little store in the Ogden House 
where was afterwards built the bank of Guthrie, Dooley & Co., now 
known as the Utah Xational Bank. He was "called on a mission," 
sold out, and the only business that was done for some time there- 
after was in a small room in the Tithing Office. Near the year 
1863 — which year properly dates the beginning of the commerce of 
Weber County — Jonathan Browning, who owned a half-block on 
the west side of the present Main Street, sold a portion of land for 
the erection of stores, and also himself built. Mr. James Horrocks 
purchased a piece of the Browning lots and put up a store. Shortly 
after, Arthur Stayner built alongside of him, but before the com- 
pletion of his store Stayner sold out to Bishop West, who com- 
menced and did a thriving business. About the same time William 
Pidcock and Samuel Horrocks also commenced. 

About this date William Jennings established a branch house 
of his business in Ogden, in a building owned by Bishop Clarke's 
widow. From this point dates the regular commercial period of 
Ogden, Jennings being the first merchant proper to engage in the 
commerce of the city, but after that N. S. Ransohotf, the once influ- 
ential Jew merchant of Utah, started a branch house in Ogden, 
with Henry Tribe as manager. Mr. Jennings, however, did not 
continue long in Ogden business but sold out to Bishop Chauncey 
West. In the fall of 1866 David H. Peery moved to Ogden. In 
the spring of 1867 Peery was employed b}' Bishop West as clerk in 
his store. Soon thereafter he sold a farm in Virginia for §10,000, 
besides getting several thousand dollars in collection of debts there, 
which enabled him, in connection with Lester J. Ilerrick, to buy 
out Bishop West's store. There was now capital among the local 
merchant's of Ogden and first-class business experience, Peery hav- 



Ifi4 TULLIDGE's HISIORIES. 

iiii^ been, before the war, a ver_y successful Southern merchant. In 
1868, Peery and Ilerrick sohl out to the newly established Z. C. M. 
I., of which institution Mr. Peery became manager. Hhortly after, 
business calling Peery to Mrginia, S. P. Teasdel, Esq., was 
appointed superintendent. After a period of about six months, the 
gentleman returned to Salt Lake City and commenced business. 
D. II. Peery returned to the position of manager, which he retained 
until 187.3. 

In the summer of 1866 Mr. Kiesel brought a stock of goods 
to Ogden, at which date began his connection with this place, now 
known as the Railroad Junction City, but which was then nothing 
more than a principal settlement of an agricultural county. The 
first stock of his Ogden trade he, strange to say, sold to the original 
Co-operative store started in Utah. This ()gden co-operative store 
preceded any other of the kind in the Territory; and it maybe 
considered as a sort of commercial forerunner of Z. C. M. I. pro- 
per, which was organized years afterwards. The principals of that 
primitive " Co-op" consisted of McCoy, Job Pingree, Richard 
White, "old man Baker,'" Riter, " Bob" Wilson, and others. These 
purchased the stock of goods in question. 

In the winter of 1860, Mr. Kiesel followed up with another 
stock of goods brought to Ogden, which belonged to Gilbert k 
Sons, whose names must be classed among the Ogden merchants of 
that period. 

In 1866, Mr. Farr estal)lished a store on Main Street, south of 
Fourth Street, having bouglit out an extensive stock of goods of 
Morse and Woolcot of Salt" Lake City, for which he paid f. 30,000. 
This was the largest stock of goods put into the Ogden market up 
to that date. About the same time Chauncey W. West and Joseph 
A. Young started the mercantile firm of West & Young. This 
year West and Young also built a large rock grist-mill one half 
mile north of Ogden Bridge. This mill was afterwards sold to 
David II. Peery. 

In 1867, Randall, Pugsley, Farr and Neil built a woolen factory 
near the mouth of (Jgden Canyon, of rock, at a cost of $60,000. 
This was the first woolen mill north of Salt Lake City. They 
manufactured blankets, flannels, linseys, jeans and other domestic 
goods, under the management of A. Randall. 

ADVENT OF THE RAILROADS. 

The great event of the year, 1808, to the people of this Ter- 
ritory, especially of Salt Lake and AYeber Counties, was the build- 
ing of the Union Pacific and Central Pacific railroads. The people 
of Weber County, occupying a central place, did much of the rail- 
road work and were alive with the railroad interests. 

On the third of March, 1869, the first locomotive steamed into 
Ogden. At 11 o'clock a. m. the U. P. R. R. track-layers hove in 
sight of the city, and from that time continued their march with 
great rajiidity. The citizens testified the liveliest joy, as, from the 



I 



RAILROAD CONNECTIONS. 1(55 

bighblutts and every commanding elevation, they feasted their eyes 
and ears with the sight and sound of the long expected and 
anxiously looked for tiery steed. Onward and still onward they 
came, and thousands and thousands of our citizens, both from here 
and the adjoining settlements, decked in their holiday attire, gave a 
hearty welcome to the advent of the nation's great highway into 
this city. 

At four O'clock a public stand was erected alongside the track. 
At five o'clock a procession was formed under the direction of the 
committee of arangements, which consisted of the mayor, members 
of the city council, the various schools, under the superintendence ot' 
their respective teachers, headed hx the band, bearing banners, 
with numerous appropriate mottoes, among which the following 
was conspicuous: "Hail to the Highway of XationsI Utah bids 
you Welcome I" 

Pedestrians, equestrians, and crowded vehicles now thronged 
the festive scene. \Vadsworth"s artillery having arrived, a salute of 
twenty-one guns was tired, whose deafening echoes vibrated through 
the mountains, hills, and vales. 

At half-past five o'clock the rails were laid to a point in a line 
with the Tithing Othce street, live blocks north into the city. On 
the stand were Hons. F. D. Richards, L. Farr, Colonels I). Gamble, 
W. Thomson, Captain William Clayton, F. S. Richards, Joseph 
Hall, Gilbert Belknap, J. McGaw, Esqrs., Col. J. C. Little, D. B. 
Warren, and others who were invited, but whose names we did not 
learn. 

The vast audience being called to order by Hon. Lorin Farr, 
(mayor of Ogdeu City.) Hon. F. D. Richards was introduced, who 
delivered an eloquent and soul-stirring address. 

Three cheers for the great highway' were then proposed and 
given, when the wildest enthusiasm and demonstrations of joy 
prevailed, and loud shouts rent the air. Amid the alternate peal- 
ings of the artillery's thunder, the music of the band, and the long- 
continued shrill whistling of the three engines, the waving of hats, 
kerchiefs, and other demonstrations of pleasure, rendered the 
occasion such as will not soon be forgotten l>v those present. 

Addresses were also delivered by Hon. L. Farr, Colonel J. C. 
Little, Major Blair and A. ^liner, Esq. 

In the month of May, Ogden was represented at the connect- 
tion of the Union Pacific and Central Pacific roads at the Promon- 
tory by F. D. Richards, Lester J. Herrick, Lorin Farr and other 
representative men of this city. 

Besides these two national highways following the course of 
the setting sun, we have two roads of more local, but still consider- 
able importance. The first is the Utah Central, connecting Ogden 
with Salt Lake, thirty-nine miles. 0n the 17th of May, 18(39,"near 
the Weber river, tlae ground was first broken for this road, a 
creation of Brisrham Youna'. 



166 tullidge's histories. 

There were present on the occasion, the P'irst Presidency', the 
ofBcers of the con)[i;ui_v. Brigham Young, jiresiilent; W. Jennings, 
vice-iiresident; John W. Young, secretary; D. II. Wells, treasurer; 
Jessie W. Fox, chief engineer; II Young, W. Jennings, F. Little, 
C. Layton, and D. II. Wells, directors. Also Elders John Taylor, 
E. T. Benson, F. D. Richards, B. Young, Jr., President L. Farr, 
Bishop West, and a large concourse of people. President George 
A. Smith dedicated the ground for the road by prayer. The 
President then removed the first sod, and was followed by Presi- 
dents George A. Smith and D. H. Wells, W. Jennings, Esq., and 
citizens. The road -was completed and opened for travel January 
12th, 1870. 

In an article on "Our Home Line," the editor notes: "The 
life, bustle and animation which pervade the junction of the three 
railroad lines, are evidences of how rapidly Ogden has grown in a 
short time, and tell of a prosperous and prominent future." 

On Monday, 10th of January, the last rail of the Utah Central 
was laid, and the last s[)ike driven by President Brigham Young at 
the terminus, Salt Lake City, and the people of the two chief cities 
of Utah rejoiced together. Ogden was well represented on this 
auspicious occasion. A special train from this city started for the 
end of the track, at 10: 30 a. m., bearing the presiding ecclesias- 
tical and civil authorities, as well as many other iirominent citizens 
of tliis place, who, with the Union Pacific and Central Pacific 
ofHcials, had been invited to attend the celebration. An excursion 
train followed immediately after, also loaded with a great number 
of Ogdenites. 

In May several trains conveying excursion parties came up 
from Salt Lake City. 

On the 28th, the Boston Board of Trade excursion party 
arrived in the first through train from the Atlantic to the Pacific. 



0(JDEN FIRST AS A COMMERCIAL CITY. 

Commercially speaking, Ogden is to be preferred to any city 
in Utah. She is second to Salt Lake City in her jioinilation, but 
first in her commercial character and enterprise. Indeed, her com- 
mercial history stands out nonpareil, and in its salient points this is 
not only interesting liut unique. Just as we might understand its 
type character in its name — the Junction Railway City of these 
inter-mountain Territories — so we might understand its character as 
commercially corresponding thereunto; that is to say, it is the 
Junction City of the west in every respect. Ogden is also unique 
in its composite population, its genuine, warm-hearted fusion among 
the business and commercial men, its quick mercantile impulses, 
the broad aims and pur[>oses of its chief men in trade and com- 
merce, who, not content with a mere local or even a territorial 
trade, stretch out their arms to grasp a reciprocal trade relation 



JOURNALISTIC VEXTIRES. 



I(i7 



with the whole United States east and west. A few points of his- 
torical reminiscence will be both instructive and pertinent. 

Ogden City before 1868-69 was what in American character 
parlance we call a one-horse town. Salt Lakers contemptuously 
spoke other site as Ogden Hole; and her grade as a city, of course, 
suffered from the signiticaiice. " The city of Ogden was buried in 
a hole," and Salt Lakers, perhaps sensing betimes the certain rival 
destiny between Ogden and Salt Lake City, were enviously prone 
to stigmatize with the name " Ogden Hole " one of the most notable 
places on our Territorial map. 

But with the advent of the railroads — the U. P. and the C. P. 
meeting siniuitaneoLisly at this junction point in their march across 
the coutiuent — the cluiracter of Ogden became instantly and almost 
entirely changed. She was now the junction city, with a promising 
future and a decided destiny. No man saw this so quickly as 
Brigham Young, nor more keenly sensed the call to a mission in 
the atlairs of the great west which Ogden was receiving. Prompted 
by this faith in the destiny of Ogden as a tirst-class city of the 
future, and in the important part which she must jilay in "the busi- 
ness and commercial activities of these inter-mountain and coast 
countries, and withal pardonably desirous for the community of 
which he was the leader to retain their domituince in the northern 
part of Utah, he had Mr. T. B. H. Stenhouse go to < )gden to pub- 
lish his Daily Telegraph, leaving it of course to its proprietor's 
option to change its name entirely or simply from the Salt Lake to 
the Ogden Daily Telegraph. Stenhouse, though a natural journalist, 
had not the natural instincts of a colonizer, as Brigham Young 
had, nor could he sense with Brigham's almost unerring intuition 
the migration of people towards a given point, and the impulses of 
trade growing directly and indirectly therefrom; but he imagined 
that Brigham Young with a ruthless absolutism of will designed to 
sequester him and his paper from Salt Lake City to Ogden, to leave 
the entire journalistic held to the Deseret News and George Q. Can- 
non, its editor. Such was the charge of both Mr. Stenhouse and 
his wife against President Young: but the reasons that Brigham 
gave our lamented friend, the journalist, at the time he gave him a 
journalistic mission to Ogden, was that Ogden was destined to be a 
great city in the future; that he, Brigham, wanted him at Ogden to 
" hold the fort," and that Steidiouse, who had a wide reputation 
throughout America and jouriuilistic contact with hundreds of 
editors east and west with whom he was personally acquainted, 
could do more for LTtah and his own enterprise by removing to 
Ogden than he could by remaining in the capital and continuing 
the publication of the Salt Lake Daily Telegraph. In fine. President 
Brigham Young believed that Ogden was going to be a great city 
of the west, in some respects foremost and to be preferred to Salt 
Lake City, while T. B. H. Stenhouse had not at that time come up 
to that view nor sensed the destiny of Ogden, as he would today 
were ho living and an active journalist in our midst. ' 



168 tullidge's histories. 

OdDEN JOURNALISM. 

Without leaving the main subject of Ogden as destined to rank 
first in Utah as a commercial, business and manufacturing city, we 
may take a few passing notes of the early history of Ogden jour- 
nalism. 

Stenhouse having resolved to remove to Ogden, yet not to 
resign his hold on Salt Lake journalism, decided that the first num- 
ber of the Ogden Daily Telegraph should be published the morning 
after the laying of the last rail on the Promontory, and that it 
should contain a full account of the proceedings. Early in May, 
18tJ9, Stenhouse shipped presses and type by wagon. T. G. Odell, a 
printer of first-class repute who had worked on the London Times, 
was engaged as foreman, and he arranged the type and fixed 
up things, preparing for the arrival of the managers. The build- 
ing in which the Ogden Telegraph was to be pnl)lished was the old 
Seventies' Hall. On the morning of the 8th, Webber, Jactjues and 
Stenhouse went up to Ogden from Salt Lake City in the stage. On 
the day of the laying of the last rail on the Promontory, Stenhouse 
was there to greet, at the celebration of the grand meeting of the U. 
P. and C. P. railroads, his brother correspondents from the east and 
the west;Tor T. B. H. Stenhouse, notwithstanding he was a Mormon, 
was one of the fraternity that Fred Hudson matured and the elder 
Bennett " bossed." Meantime, Webber and Jacques got the outside 
of the first number of the Ogden Telegraph up, and everything was 
waiting for the return of Stenhouse from the Promontory with his 
editorial notes on the laying of the last rail. The senior editor 
came in late at night; he was worn out with the events and bustle 
of the day; he begged ofi'; Webber and .Jacques stopped up all 
night, made a good article from Stenhouse's notes and published 
next morning a splendid paper, which was No. 1 of Ogden jour- 
nalism. The Telegraph r-An several months and. was then returned 
to Salt Lake City. Meantime, Jaccjues was sent to England on a 
mission to publish the Millennial Star, and Colonel T. G. Webber 
was called into Z. C. M. I. Thus ended the history proper of the 
Daily Telegraph as well in Salt Lake City as in Ogden. 

Soon after the suspension of the Ogden Daily Telegraph the 
Ogden Junction was started under the auspices of Apostle F. D. 
Richards and a joint stock company consisting of the leading men 
of Ogden City. A few brethren clul)bed together a hundred dollars 
each. Afterwards a company was formed and incorporated. F. 
D. Richards was its first editor. It began existence on Saturday 
morning, January 1st, 1870, as a semi-weekly, publishing days 
being every Wednesday and Saturday. In his salutatory the editor 
said, "In our oi)inion the time has come when the best interests of 
all concerned require the publication of a paper in Ogden, not par- 
ticularly a religious, political or scientific paper, but such a one as 
shall best serve the interests of our city, county and territory, to 
give the latest news, to advertise business, and to represent our- 



SECOND COMMERCIAL PERIOD. 



169 



selves instead of being represented by others. * * While our 
town has become the junction for public sentiment." 



CHAPTER II. 



Second Commercial Period. 



In 1868-69, the commerce of the Territory both north and 
south, as well as in Salt Lake City, was reconstructed by the organi- 
zation of Z. C. M. I. This for awhile suspended the individual 
firms of Ogden ; but the advent of the railroads and the removal 
of the merchants of Corinne to Ogden restored the regular order 
of commerce and in due time developed into a first-class commer- 
cial city. (For the special history of Ogden branch of Z. C. M. I. 
see another chapter on commercial houses.) 



OGDEN ABSORBS CORINNE. 

For awhile after the advent of the railroad it was thought by 
many that Corinne would become the chief commercial city of 
northern Utah, notwithstanding that Ogden had been chosen as the 
railway junction city. It was claimed that Corinne was geo- 
graphically the best distributing point. At the outset all the mer- 
chandise that passed by team into Montana and Idaho went from 
Corinne, and it was also the point from which the produce of this 
Territory was exported. Nor should it be forgotten that these 
enterprising Gentiles who founded Corinne were the first legitimate 
exporters of Utah, and perhaps no city on the Pacific slope could 
show a class of more representative men than those who were 
identified with that now absorbed city which for a while stood in 
rivalr}' to Ogden. They were nearly all of them men of commerce 
and business generally. Some of them had followed the track of 
the railroad during its construction from the eastern frontiers to the 
junction point of the two great railroads that were about to unite 
the Atlantic and Pacific States. On the route they had founded 
cities periodically, pulling up their stakes and transporting them as 
often to keep pace with the ever-shifting terminus. These were 
men of indomitable business energy, ambition and push. Indeed 
many of them had been in the war, served for some years, some on 
the side of the North, some on the side of the South. Nearly all 
of this class had also been oflflcers in the army, quite a fair propor- 
tion of them having ranked as captains, majors, colonels, and 
several as generals. 



These men, just out of the war service which 



170 tullidge's histories. 

they had entered — some of them ere they had reached the age of 
manhood — were coming west to begin their individual lives and 
lay the foundation of their business fortunes, and these were to be 
met by others who had long been identified with the growth and 
enterprises of the western States and Territories. Such was the 
class of men who settled at first at Corinne and established what 
was then styled the Gentile city of Utah. 

The illusion, however, soon passed away, and these sagacious 
minds became convinced that no business energy or enterprise 
could take from Ogden its destiny as the p]mporium of Northern 
Utah. Hence they removed their business houses from Corinne to 
the Junction City ; so that it may be now said of the business and 
commercial element of Ogden they are picked men, first-class in 
every respect, more especially as touching their executive capacity, 
commercial enterprise and untiring energy. 

FUSION BETWEEN THE MORMON AND GENTILE MERCHANTS. 

The merchants of Corinne having removed to Ogden, with 
admirable sagacity dropped their distinctive character as Gentiles 
and put on the more sensible and proper character as citizens 
of Ogden. In this they set an example worthy the adoption of 
every intelligent citizen of Utah, and in time their example had 
its influence on other principal towns of Utah ; this indeed is the 
meaning of the later fusion of the business men of Utah and the 
formation of the Chambers of Commerce of Ogden, Salt Lake and 
Provo. 

Since the removal of the Corinne merchants to Ogden, both 
sections — Mormon and Gentile — have lived in fair accord as citizens 
of one commonwealth ; and considering the gulf that previously 
divided these sections, which a quarter of a century's irritating con- 
flict had made, in seeming, almost as impassable as the chasm 
which of yore divided the North and South, the bridge which the 
good sense of the Ogden business men erected between them was 
admirably constructed for their mutual advantage, and their fusion 
in a short time is really wonderful. But the best interests of their 
town and the vigor and prosperity of its commercial life was the 
common aim of every healthy minded citizen of Ogden. Indeed 
in some cases Mormon and Gentile have gone into busi- 
ness together, forming one partnership : instance the old part- 
nership that was sustained for a number of years between 
William Vandyke and L. B. Adams, who began the first 
export trade of Ogden with the surrounding States and Territories. 
In passing along Main Street, Fourth Street and Fifth Street, the 
visitor from Salt Lake ijuickly observed the neighborly feeling and 
communion that existed between the Ogden merchants and business 
men, and noticed it more perhaps because such was not the case in 
Salt Lake City as a general rule, for at the capital the demarkation 
of Mormon and Gentile merchants had been very irritatingly main- 



ogden's abvantages. 171 

tained. And thus at length this growing fraternal feeling and 
mutual interest in the welfare of their city brought into existence 
the 

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE. 

Though it would be neither proper in this article, nor interest- 
ing to give a lengthy record of the organization and doings of the 
Chamber, a few salient points may be noted in passing. 

" The Ogden Chamber of Commerce," says its secretary, "was 
organized in April, 1887, for the purpose of advancing the general 
prosperity of the varied interests of the Territory, and especially of 
the city "of Ogden and vicinity, and to promote etBcient, honest 
and economical government. 

" The necessity for such an organization was so apparent that 
within one week from the preliminary meeting one hundred mem- 
bers were enrolled, comprising a large majority of the wealth, 
intelligence and commercial interests of the city. 

"By broad and liberal methods the executive officers dissemi- 
nated reliable information concerning the natural resources and 
manifold attractions of Ogden, and their energetic and industrious 
labors have resulted in the pecuniary advantage, not only to resi- 
dents, but to those attracted by the unparalleled advantages oti'ered 
in the way of investment, residences, etc. 

" Encouraged by past successes the Chamber will, with un- 
tlagging interest and renewed zeal, continue the important work of 
makius: known throughout the length and breadth of the countrv 
the special advantages of Ogden, as a manufacturmg, shipping and 
distributing point, and will be pleased to answer inquiries, especially 
from intending visitors, concerning the opportunities for profitable 
investment in the way of manufactures, building sites, wool and 
cattle interests, railroads, mines, agriculture and fruit raising, the 
population, unrivalled climate and scenery, and the demand for, 
and consumption of difi'ereiit articles and supply of the same. 

" The Chamber feels satisfied that no other part of the country 
can offer greater inducements in any of the above mentioned mat- 
ters than this great railroad center, the .Junction City of the West." 

Since the organization of the Ogden Chamber of Commerce, 
Salt Lake City, following the example set by her progressive and 
intuitive neighbor — the Junction Cit}' — has also organized a Cham- 
ber of Commerce and inaugiirated a vigorous boom, sending to the 
Eastern States an advertising car to exhibit the resources of Utah, 
and also distribute tens of thousands of pamphlets illustrated. The 
object is to set forth the many inducements that Utah presents for 
the investment of foreign and domestic capital and for a large 
incoming population, which in a few years with the wonderful, aye, 
unparalleled resources of this counti\y must make Utah in the near 
future one of the most famed States in the American Union. The 
responsible character of the men who compose the Salt Lake 
Chamber joined \vith that of the men who form the Ogden Cham- 



172 



TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



ber may be relied upon as a fair and sufficient guarantee that all 
which they set forth and promise will be realized. 

Ogden maj^ justly boast that she organized the first Chamber 
of Commerce in Utah, and while it would not be fair to take a 
feather from the plume of the Salt Lake Board of Trade who have 
formed their Chamber and inaugurated their monuments, because 
the times and the circumstances justified and called their ettbrts 
forth, still it is true that Ogden was in the advance and that her 
southern neighbors — Salt Lake and Provo — had the example of the 
success of her commercial fusion on which to predicate the happy 
results and potency of their later organization and well arranged 
business movements. 

The first president of the Ogden Chamber of Commerce was 
ex-Mayor David Peery. The present board is as follows : 

Officers: — P. H. Emerson, President; H. S. Young, Vice- 
President; L. B. Adams, 2nd Vice-President; J. H. Knauss, Sec- 
retary; (). E. Hill, Treasurer. 

Directors: — P. H. Emerson, H. S. Young, L. B. Adams, J. C. 
Armstrong, S. M. Preshaw, John Watson, V. M. C. Silva, Da^^d 
Kay, Sidney Stevens, H. M. Bond, H. L. Griffin, Joseph Brinker, 
James Mack. 



CHAPTER ni. 



Ogden City To-day. 

na%'ing given chapters of the early history of Ogden — which 
will doubtless interest our readers from the fact that Ogden is the 
third city established west of the Missouri river, they ranking thus, 
San Francisco, Salt Lake City and Ogden — we leave the historical 
line and treat of Ogden City as it is to-day. The poetical Professor 
H;i?feli writes with pardonable warmth : 

" What Provo is to the south, and Salt Lake City to the center 
of Utah Territory, Ogden City is to the north. Indeed, the ' Junc- 
tion City' has a future almost certain to put in the shade that of 
any of her sister cities ; she is likely to become the Chicago en min- 
iature of the inter-mountain region. Nature and man alike have 
contrived and contributed to make her the 'hub' of the Great Salt 
Lake Basin. Salt Lake City may — and most likely will — remain 
the political capital of the future State of Deseret and the religious 
Mecca of the Latter-day Saints, but Ogden City will eventually 
become the central node of the trade and commerce, the gathering 
focus of the agricultural and metallurgical enterprise of the vast 



A PEACEFUL LOCATION. 173 

domain between the gorges of the Rocky Mountains and the snow- 
capped fastnesses of the Sierra Nevada. 

"Nestling close under the western shadows of the majestic 
Wasatch range, flanked by the meandering courses of Ogden and 
Weber riversT Ogden, the county seat of Weber County, is situated 
like most towns" and cities in Utah. Ogden is laid out in blocks 
forty rods square, separated by streets six rods wide which, all over 
town except in the business center, are shaded by trees which 
transform the streets into lovely adumbrated promenades in sum- 
mer. The townsite proper measures three and one-half miles from 
north to south, and three miles from east to west, while the city 
itself extends fourteen blocks (about two miles) from east to west, 
and a little less in the direction of the meridian. The altitude of 
Ogden is 4,3-10 feet above the sea level, giving the city a healthy 
climate and pure atmosphere, while the snow-fed streams from the 
rugged mountain bosom are able to furnish an abundant supply of 
the "other chief ingredient of physical well-being, water." 

Describing the city as it appears to the writer at that most 
charming period of the year in our inter-mountain country — 
between the opening of spring'and summer — Professor Hi^feli says: 

"Just at this season when the fertile bosom of Mother Earth 
begins to heave under the generous kisses of vernal Sol and the 
warm breath of spring, and the tiny shoots of grass give the ground 
a verdurous tinge ; when the winged singers on the once snow-laden 
boughs carol forth their rejoicings over the sprouting of blossom- 
promising buds and the breaking forth of timorous leaves, then 
indeed Ogden oft'ers a tine sight, as you view the lower western 
part from" the blutf ("Bench'") which rises in a smooth acclivity 
towards the east. Your back toward the still snow-clad mountain 
fastnesses, you send your glances over a beautiful and fruitful 
country, rich in farms and fields, gardens and orchards, dotted with 
thriving settlements all over, as far as the alkaline shores of 
America's Dead Sea, whose wide and placid expanse glitters with 
silent sheen at the foot of hazy hills, and under the azure canopy ot 
a cloudless sky. And nearer to you, just under your feet, your eyes 
wander with satisfaction over the peaceful homes of a population of 
7,000 people, whose neat cottages and stately residences, well kept 
gardens and fruitful orchards betoken ease and prosperity, progress 
and happiness. Neither are all the buildings humble cottages, or 
lowly huts, 'dug-outs.' lumber shanties or adobe houses, as they 
were two decades ago. Many three-story brick buildings of com- 
manding dimensions tower over their less pretentious neighbors, 
and numerous church spires point heavenward, while two proud 
educational structures — the Sacred Heart Academy and the Central 
School, the latter Utah's finest school edifice — captivate the roving 
eye, and give irrefutable evidence of the public spirit of Ogden 
City and her appreciation of the sacred cause of education. 

" And this idyllic picture is supplemented in the spirit of the 
nineteenth century by the shrill whistles and black smoke pillars 







a 

H 
P5 

o 

z 

z 

3 

o 
o 



W 



176 



TULLIDOE S HISTORIES. 



arising from the western confines of the citj', where many iron 
horses are stabled."' 

In 1882 Ogden put on quite a new appearance. Architecturally, 
in some of its features, it rivalled Salt Lake City. The Broom 
Hotel rose on the corner where there had been so long a little row 
of shops which gave an insignificant appearance to the business 




/ C. M I., OGDEN. 

part of the city, but where stands now the finest hotel between 
Omaha and San Francisco. A number of other buildings of 
imposing pretensions were erected on Main and Fourth Streets. 
During the spring and summer the busy workmen gave life and 
bustle to these streets, and Ogden in a twelvemonth seemed to 
advance a decade. 



VIEWS OF OtiDEN. 



177 



The Broom Hotel was opened on January loth, 1883, hy Mr. 
A. T). Shakespeare, under whose management it was conducted tor 
several years: it was afterwards under the personal direction of Mr. 
Broom himself, and it is at this writing under the management and 
proprietorship of Judge Gibbons. Mr. Broom, however, is still 
the owner of this grand hotel which bears his name. The house 




a 

o 

X 

O 

z 






has become popular and is well patronized by city residents and the 
traveling public. Our first engraving of views of Ogden City is 
the Broom Hotel. 

The second is a view of Main Street looking north from the 
Broom Hotel corner, well defined to the corner of the next block 
where stands a tine building occupied by the Ogden branch of Z. 



178 



TUIiLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



C. M. I. and the First National Bank. Our third view is of 
Z. C. M. I. itself, a description of which is given in a special article 
on the institution. 



CHAPTER IV. 



Educational and Religious Institutions of Ogden. 

Sacred Heart Academy, under the direction of the Sisters of 
the Holy Cross, is situated in one of the finest localities of Ogden. 
The buildings are handsome and commodious, and in every way 
well suited for educational purposes and contain special advantages 

for the physical 
health and comfort 
of the pupils. The 
salubrity of the fresh 
air and mountain 
breezes from the 
Wasatch range, un- 
der whose shadows 
it stands, makes it 
a veritable sani- 
tarium. The found- 
ation of these build- 
was laid by 
Reverend 
BishopScanlan(then 
Father Scanlan), in 
1878, and was for- 
mally opened the 
same year by a statt 
of seven Sisters, 
with a roll call of 
forty pupils. The Sisters offer the advantage of a tliurough educa- 
tion to young ladies entrusted to their care, sparing no pains to 
promote the best moral influence, as well as the health and happi- 
ness of their pupils, m.ens sana incorpore sano being one of their 
mottoes. As the hope of reward sweetens labor, crowns of honor, 
gold and silver medals and other premiums are among the many 
incentives made use of to foster study and lady-like deportment 
among the students. Pupils of all denominations are received, 
and whilst the utmost care is taken in the religious instruc- 
tion of the children of Catholic parents, there is no inter- 




ings 
Right 



SACRED HEART ACADEMY. 



EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES. 



179 



ference with the religious opinions of those of a dift'erent 
belief, although for the sake of good discipline all are 
required to attend public and religious exercises. No won- 
der the fame of the Academy has spread far beyond Utah, and 
to-day there are seventeen Sisters actually engaged in the instruc- 
tion of sixty boarders from the Territories and States of the Pacific 




o 
o 



►J 

H 

z 

O 



Ooast, and one hundred and thirty day pupils. The scholastic 
year is divided into two sessions of five months each. The first 
session commences on the first Monda}' in September and 
ends on the last of January. The second session com- 
mences on the first day of February and ends the latter 
part of June. Pupils are received at all times during the year. 
The curriculum of studies comprises languages, music, painting, 



180 tullidge's histories. 

drawing, sewing plain and fancy, and in fact all the solid and orna- 
mental requirements which make the perfect lady. This institution 
is one of which Ogden is justly proud. 

When compared to buildings used for similar purposes in the 
Territory, it is a monumental edifice, erected to the honor of the 
progressive minds that conceived it and the generous puplic spirit 
of the men who furnished the means to execute the conception. 
At the same time no people deserve special praise for erecting good 
school houses. This is one of the great moral obligations that rests 
upon all civilized men. It is a duty, and they should only be com- 
mended for performing duty. The best and most attractive struc- 
tures of all communities should be their educational institutions : 
and as Ogden has performed this duty well, words of commendation 
are appropriate. 

The Central School, as its name indicates, is situated, geo- 
graphically and in the matter of population, very near the center 
of the rapidly growing city of Ogden. 

As a public school building it stands pre-eminently artistic in 
design and noble in structure. 

The building contains four large recitation rooms, two on each 
floor — the building being two stories, of brick — with wide halls 
between, and some live small rooms, one of which is used as a library, 
containing several hundred volumes, and others for recitation and 
other purposes. 

The seating capacity will accommodate four hundred pupils. 
The rooms are large, well seated, lighted and heated, with good 
ventilation ; and also supplied with maps, charts, globes, etc. 

At present the course of study comprehends four departments, 
Academic (two parts). Grammar, and Intermediate. 

The course of instruction completes the advanced studies 
of the common branches, and introduces higher studies when 
demanded. The present higher studies are rhetoric, mental and 
moral philosophy, civil government and political ethics, physiology, 
physical geography, book-keeping and general history. A normal 
class is also instructed in the theory of teaching. Vocal music is 
taught in all the departments. 

The immediate environments of the building cannot be sur- 
passed in the Territories. A large and commodious yard, well 
shaded, affording a fine ground for recreation, is in the rear, while 
the front is Ogden's pride, in the matter of lawns, with its beds of 
variegated flowers, making from early spring to the frosts ot 
autumn, one of the loveliest spots in this charming city ; exercising 
a refining influence upon teacher and pupil, and causing the tourist 
as he passes to stop and admire. 

OGDEN ACADEMY. 

Not a more desirable location can be found in all the beautiful 
city of Ogden than was chosen by the New West Education Com- 
mission, on the corner of Fifth and Spring streets, for Ogden 



\ 



I 



I 



SCHOOL OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD. 181 

Academy. The building is of brick, two stories and basement. 
On the tirst floor are four large school rooms, with ample halls and 
cloak rooms; on the second floor, one school room, a library, and 
a hall with a seating capacity of over six hundred. All the rooms 
are arranged according to the most approved methods for school 
purposes. In the basement are the furnaces, a laboratory, rooms 
for gymnasium and other similar purposes. The heating and venti- 
lation have received careful attention, and are practically perfect. 

The course of study has been carefully prepared and includes 
those branches usually taught in Eastern academies, fitting pupils 
for college. Besides the academic department there is a graded 
course of stud}' beginning with a primary class, and continuing 
through the intermediate and grammar grades. A kindergarten 
department will be organized when the funds of the society will 
permit. The teachers have all had long experience in Eastern 
schools, and bring to their work here ripe culture of years of suc- 
cessful school work. 

The aim of the Academy is to develop intellectual, moral and 
spiritual strength by means of a thorough and sN'mmetrical educa- 
tion under Christian influences. The conduct of the pupils is the 
constant care of the teachers, who strive to inspire them with a true 
and noble ambition, and to fit them for the duties and responsibili- 
ties of mature years. Those who trust pupils to this institution 
may feel assured that no pains will be spared to train them to 
establish good characters. 

A boarding house for pupils will be opened whenever there is 
demand for it. Pupils wishing such accommodations will be under 
the immediate and constant care of the Faculty, who will provide 
for their comfort and good conduct, and will exercise a parental 
watchfulness over them. 

SCHOOL OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD. 

For the purpose of giving a Christian education to children of 
all denominations the present building was erected by the Episco- 
pal Church, and opened in the latter part of 1877. It is a brick 
structure of two stories, containing three class rooms, located on 
the corner of Young and Fourth streets. The school opened on 
the first Monday in last September with an enrollment of ninety- 
two pupils, which number has steadily increased until at present 
there are over one hundred and forty names on the books of the 
school. For the first term of four months there has been an aver- 
age attendance of over ninety per cent. The principal of the 
school has in several cases been compelled to refuse admission to 
new pupils from want of room, as the seating accommodations are 
now crowded to their utmost capacity consistent with health. 

The price of tuition in the Higher Department, which is taught 
by Prof A. C. Xewell, is §2 per month; of the Intermediate 
Department taught by Miss A. Sweet, $1..50 per month, and of the 
Primary Department, taught by Miss Mabel Cross, §1 per month. 



182 tullidge's histories. 

These tuition rates are entirel}' inadequate to support the school, as 
the revenue obtained from these sources only covers tifty per cent, 
of the expenses. In order to be able to conduct the school as it 
should be conducted, the school is dependent on the donation of 
annual scholarships of |40, which are given by Sunday schools and 
generous individuals in the east who appreciate the sacredness and 
importance of this missionary work. The course of study pursued 
in the school is modeled closely after the courses of stud}' adopted 
in the best eastern public schools, and all pupils before graduating 
can obtain a good Kigh School education from " The School of the 
Good Shepherd." As proof of this it may be mentioned that one 
pupil recently matriculated at Yale, and another at St. Stephen 
College, New York, immediately after leaving this school. The 
keen interest taken by parents in the welfare of the school, and the 
ever increasing number of applications for admission are the best 
proofs of the school's success, and strenuous etforts will in the near 
future be put forth to accommodate all pupils who may wish to 
enjoy the privilege of attending the school. 

OGDEN SEMINARY. 

The Ogden Seminary, Methodist School, is at present in charge 
of L. M. Gillilan and wife. The school proper has two depart- 
ments, besides an industrial school and instrumental music. In the 
two departments everything from the rudiments to preparatory col- 
legiate studies, such as higher mathematics, Latin, Greek, element- 
ary science, etc., are taught. In the higher department special atten- 
tion is given always to the underlying principles of the subject 
under consideration ; familiar topics are discussed, and in all the 
principles of education, educo is followed and students drawn out 
instead of stuffed with i^cts such as are only intended for encyclo- 
pedias. Test examinations are held at the end of every term to 
give parents and guardians some idea of the students' progress. The 
strictest disciplinary tactics are practiced throughout the school. 
The school year is divided into four terms of ten weeks each. A 
short vacation is given at the end of each term and also the usual 
holiday vacation and legal days. 

Imjirovements on the school premises and new regulations in 
all have been inaugurated during the year and everything seems to 
be cared for and looked after. 

Improvements in attendance is also noticeable and now the 
teachers are enabled to report good and regular attendance. 

This school seems to be on a fair road toward a healthy institu- 
tion and it is hoped the patrons and people will give it the patron- 
age it justly merits. 

BAPTIST CHURCH. 

In the corner stone of the Baptist Church of Ogden is depos- 
ited the following brief history : 

"A brief history of the First Baptist Church of Ogden, Utah, 



i 



THE BAPTIST CHURCH. 183 

up to date of laying corner stone for new ediiice, August 13th, 1882. 
The organization of the church was Uirgely due to the etforts of 
Bro. H. A. Lindley, who secured the names of all Baptists resident 
in the city, and forwarded the same to the Baptist Home Mission 
Societj' at Xew York. Upon his representations and urgent solici- 
tation, Rev. Dwight Spencer of Fair Haven, Vermont, was sent to 
Ogden by the above named society in January, 1881. After labor- 
ing for some months with the few Baptists, it was deemed expedient 
to organize a church. This was done on Sunday, May 22nd, 1881, 
in a building known as Odd Fellows' Hall. The following named 
persons constituted the church as first organized: T. C. Chamberlia, 
Mary Chamberlin, Susan Ware, W. H. Ware, Joseph Severn, 
Elizabeth Severn, Heien C. Eeed, John S. Corlew, H. A. Lindley, 
Hattie Lindley, N. B. Sebree, Mrs. E. Felshaw, Mrs. V. Taylor. 
From date of organization to the present time there has been added, 
by baptism: Fanny Reed, ilaggie Taylor, Mrs. E. L. Hartley, Mrs. 
Weaver, James Weaver, Joseph Drysdale and Ada Reed. It is 
worthy of note that the baptism of Miss Fanny Reed by Rev. 
Dwight Spencer was the first administration of * * baptism by 
Baptists in the Territory of Utah. The following have been 
received on experience, C. S. Watson, Wlft. Barry, George Rennick, 
Annie Barry : by letter, Mrs. Rixon and Mrs. Robinson. 

"In October, 1881, Rev. Dwight Spencer went to Xew York 
to raise funds for the erection of a house of worship. He returned 
in May, 1882. During his absence the church was under the care 
of Rev. Richard Hartley who was, in May, 1882, appointed by the 
American Baptist Home Mission Society, pastor of the churcli. 
Rev. Dwight Spencer having been appointed missionary of Utah 
and adjoining Territories. An efficient Sunday school, with H. A. 
Lindley as superintendent, has been maintained. All the services 
of the church are well attended, and a large measure of prosperity 
has been enjoyed in all its departments of labor. The sum of five 
thousand dollars was raised by Rev. Dwight Spencer in the east. 
This \vith an additional sum of two thousand raised in Ogden is 
now being expended in erection of church edifice. 

"The following are the officers of the church: Pastor, Rev. 
Richard Hartley; Clerk, X. B. Sebree; Supt. of S. S., H. A. Lind- 
ley; Deacons, Wm. H. Ware, H. A. Lindley, Mr. Barry."' 

Such, as is outlined in the above, is the beginning of Baptist 
work in Utah. The church succeeded in erecting a house of wor- 
ship as mentioned in the above document, locating it on the west 
side of Young street, between Third and Fourth streets. From 
the Ogden Daily Pilot of December 26th, 1882, is taken the follow- 
ing description : " The building is of brick, and is 50x45 feet. The 
style of architecture is Gothic, the openings having pointed arches 
and the circular window in front being made up in a series of 
diamonds radiating from a small circle in the center. The bodies 
of the windows are of figured glass with stained glass borders. 



184 tullidge's histories. 

The main entrance is through the tower at the north side of the 
building. This is built of brick to the height of forty -live feet, and 
is surmounted by a spire of thirty feet. The interior is neat and 
attractive. * * * Back of the pulpit is an open baptistry with 
a dressing room on each side. The choir platform is by the side of 
the pulpit. The seats are neatly cushioned, those on tlie side being 
placed at an angle so as to face the pulpit. * * * -pj^g seats 
will accommodate two hundred, and in addition to this there is 
room for one hundred and fifty chairs, which will be used for 
Sunday school purposes and, when needed, for preaching services." 

Both the laying of the corner stone and the dedicatory service 
were occasions of great interest, the latter takin": place December 
24th, 1882. 

From the time of Rev. Richard Hartley's settlement with the 
church to the time of his resignation in .January, 1885, it continued 
to enjoy great prosperity and rapid increase, the original thirteen 
growing into a membership of about ninety during the little over 
three years of his ministry. The ill health of ^Irs. Hartley com- 
pelled him to leave this his tirst and cherished work and to seek a 
more congenial clime. He is remembered with respect and love, 
both by the church and a large circle of friends without. During 
the interval between Mr. Hartley's resignation and the coming of 
the next pastor the church was supplied by Rev. J. W. Price. 

On the 5th of June, 1885, under appointment of the Baptist 
Home Mission Society and at the call of the church, F. Barnett of 
Poultney, Vermont, arrived in Ogden to assume the pastorate of 
the church, and from that date to the present writing has been the 
regular pastor. During his pastorate thus far there has been added 
to the church thirty -four, and its membership now is one hundred 
and eight. It includes prominent men of business and integrity in 
the city and is a united and progressive bod3'. 

The most conspicuous interest in its work is the Sunday school. 
Beginning with thirty scholars it has, under the superintendency of 
H. A. Lindley, its tirst and only leader, and his co-workers, grown 
to an average attendance of one hundred and forty, with a regular 
corps of teachers and officers numbering twenty-one. Connected 
Avith the church is a flourishing industrial school for girls and tem- 
perance school for boys, under the direction of lady missionaries 
appointed by the Woman's Home Mission Society of Chicago. 
The names of the five of these young ladies who have been sent 
here arc the following: Miss H. Watson, Miss M. Allen, Miss C. 
Larsen, Miss E. F. Parsons and Miss Anna Oberg. The school is 
now entirely in the charge of Miss Oberg and numliers over one 
hundred and twenty-five. Xo small portion of the Sunday school's 
success is due to the efficient work of these ladies. 

The church has secured a parsonage lot adjoining the church 
on the north and it is expected will soon build a parsonage. The 
articles of faith and church covenant are those general^ adopted 
hy the Baptist denomination. 



I 



CHURCHES OF OGDEN. 185 



METHODIST CHURCH. 



From a report given to the Methodist conference held in Salt 
Lake City in 18807 it appears that Rev. C. C. Xiehols, a local 
preacher, who, as a railroad agent at Uintah, moved into the Terri- 
tory in September, 1869, amid his railroad duties intermingled mis- 
cellaneous missionary work. About the same time Rev. L. Har- 
sough preached in Ogden, Corinne, Wasatch and Salt Lake Citv. 
Directed by Bishop Ames, superintendent of the Methodist mission 
in Utah, Rev. G. >L Peirce opened the Ogden mission with preach- 
ing in the passenger depot of the Union Pacific and Central Pacific 
Railroads, June 20th, 1870, and in the following September, A. M. 
Danley (local minister) was appointed to take charge of the Ogden 
branch of the Methodist church. Thus began the missions of the 
various denominations, which have now nourishing churches in 
Ogden City, beside the ^lormon tabernacle. 

The following additional notes from the Rev. G. M. Peirce's 
conference report will be valuable as record: 

" Ogden. — First meeting by resident missionary, O. M. Peirce, 
in passenger depot. Union Pacific and Central Pacific Railroads, 
June 28, 1870. Ogden theater building hired for four weeks, for 
meetings, at .^0 a Sabbath, September 22, 1870. When time expired, 
on October 11, Cordon's Hall engaged at §12 a month. The last of 
December, Leavitt's Hall was engaged at §18 a month. Hired 
present building owned by our society May, 1871 ; began meetings 
in this hall June 4th, 1871. Bought this property, with the concur- 
rent advice of Bishop Ames, September 29, 1871. Price, §1,700; 
the Church Extension Society paid §1,200 of this sum. A note 
was given for the balance by O. 5L Peirce and 0. D. Teall for eight 
months. At the end of this time, Eliphalet and Philo Remington, 
Ilion, Xew York, with a slight assistance, lifted the principal of the 
note and freed the church from debt. 

" Ogden graded school started January 3, 1871, with one teacher 
and six scholars. At the close of the spring term, 1872, three 
teachers and ninetj'-five students." 

This church organization has now a membership of about one 
hundred and forty persons, while the attendance at the Sunday 
school numbers one hundred. The pastor of this church is the 
Rev. J. Wesley Hill, who assumed his duties in Ogden about one 
year ago. During the past few months the membership of his 
church has increased rapidly. The accommodations of the church 
edifice occupied by this society for a number of years having been 
found inadequate, consequentlv the property owned by the society 
on Washington Avenue, and which has a frontage of forty-four 
feet, was sotd a short time ago for the sum of §12,000. With the 
proceeds another site for a new church was purchased. This site, 
which is one of the most desirable for the purposes for which it 
will be used to be found in the city, is situated on Twenty-fourth 
13 



186 tillidge's histories. 

Street, between Washington and Adams Avenues. It is the inten- 
tion of the society to build a neat and commodious structure on it 
this year. The building will be 50x70 feet in size, and will accom- 
modate about eight hundred persons comfortably. Stone will be 
the principal material used in its construction. The basement will 
contain a room to be used for Sunday school purposes, and there 
will also be a kitchen and retiring rooms, etc. A neat little parson- 
age will also be erected at the rear and a little to one side of the 
church. 

In connection with the Methodist Church organization an 
admirable choir has just been organized. It is under the able lead- 
ership of Mrs. Griffin, a lady whose musical accomplishments are 
too well known to need further comment. The Ladies' Aid Society, 
in connection with the church, is presided over by Mrs. Skewes 
Preshaw, while a branch of the Young People's Christian League 
is presided over b}- A. E. Knuckey. The latter institution holds 
regular meetings Sunday afternoons, and a meeting at which literary 
exercises are rendered is held every Tuesday evening. 

In connection with the Methodist Church here it will be well to 
mention a few facts in regard to the proposed new Methodist uni- 
versity to be erected in Ogden. When it was determined to build 
this educational institution in Utah, careful investigations were 
made by the committee in regard to the best place to locate the 
building. Ogden presented the greatest advantages and was suc- 
cessful in securing the prize. It is intended to commence work on 
this structure this season, so that a portion of it will be ready for 
occupancy by next spring. In this direction at least $50,000 will be 
expended by that time. The building will be located in the south- 
east part of the city, near the mountains. The site is an elevated 
one and commands a splendid view of the city and surrounding 
valley. 

THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

The First Presbyterian Church of Ogden is in a flourishing 
condition. This denomination is one of recent establishment in 
the Junction City, but descending from the old Scotch kirk it prop- 
erly claims rank with the superior churches. At present the society 
in Ogden is but small. It occupies a neat little church edifice on 
the corner of Twentj'-fourth Street and Lincoln Avenue. The 
membership of the church is about seventy and of the Sunday 
school about fifty. The present pastor is the Rev. Josiah McClain, 
who has carefully watched the interests of his church in Ogden 
since January, 1885. 

In connection with the Presbyterian Church there is a Ladies' 
Aid Society, which is doing a good work under the superinteudency 
of Mrs. L. C. Richardson. 

The Presbyterian Church, conscious of its growing mission in 
such a city as Ogden, has designed a fine edifice to be built this 



THE CATHOLIC CHURCH. 187 

season, a cut of which was recently given in the Ogdeu Standard, 
illustrative of the future of this denomination in its booming city. 
The structure, when completed, will be one of the finest and most 
commodious edifices in the west, and the cost of it will be about 
.^30,000. Its location is on the corner of Twenty-fifth Street and 
Adams Aveuue. It will be 85x95 feet in size. Brick will be used 
in its construction, and the seating capacity will be eight hundred. 
This includes the accommodation which a superb gallery will afford. 
It is the intention of the trustees to construct in the building a mag- 
nificent organ; for this purpose the very best talent to be obtained 
will be employed. The building will be heated with hot air, the 
apparatus for this purpose being placed in the basement, where also 
will be located a kitchen. On the west side of the building a lec- 
ture room will be constructed to accommodate about two hundred 
persons. Suitable vestry rooms will be provided for the pastor. 
The plans for this building were prepared by Mr. G. A. d'Heme- 
court, architect, of this city. 

THE CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

Next to the Mormon, the Catholic Church is the oldest in its 
establishment in these valleys. Its mission commenced in Salt 
Lake City, by Eev. Father Kelly in 1866, and in 1871, it built a 
neat structure in the Gothic style, at a cost of 810,000. In 1875, 
St. Joseph's Church, Ogden, was built on Fifth Street, between 
Young and Franklin Streets, Eev. Father Cushnahan became the 
rector. Under his pastoral charge the Catholic branch of Ogden 
assumed a character worthy the grand old Mother Church that 
([uarried Christian empires from barbaric states and races and 
brought civilization down through the ages. In 1878, the Sacred 
Heart Academy was founded under the direction of the Sisters of 
the Holy Cross, and the handsome, imposing edifice of the Sacred 
Heart Academy, the foundations of which were laid by Bishop 
Scanlan, was one of the first architectural embellishments of Ogden 
City. Of St. Joseph's Church to-day the Ogden Standard says: 

"The number of Catholics in our growing and prosperous city 
is increasing to the extent that the pastor, the Rev. Father Cushna- 
han, in order to accommodate them all, has to celebrate two masses 
every Sunday: one at 8:30 a. m., and one at 10:30 a. m. The 
church is crowded at both services. The present church, which is 
situated on Twenty-fifth Street, between Grant and Lincoln Ave- 
nues, is to be supplaced bj- a new, handsome and commodious brick 
one. The site for the new church, ou the corner of Twenty-fourth 
Street and Adams Avenue, the finest in the city, was purchased 
recently for the sum of §^10,000. It is the intention to begin work 
on the structure as soon as satisfactory arrangements can be made. 
The building, when completed, will be one of the finest church 
edifices in the Territory, and something that our citizens, irrespec- 
tive of class or creed, may justly be proud of." 



188 



TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



THE EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 



" The Episcopal Church in Ogden was organized in the year 
1870, a Sunday school being inaugurated at the same time by the 
Rev. James Lee Gillogly, who was the first pastor. In the same 
year, also, a day school, under the auspices ot this religious organi- 
zation, was commenced, Mr. Mahlon N. Gil])ert, the present Assis- 
tant Bishop of Minnesota, being the first teacher. In the year 1874 
the present church building, which is known as the Church of the 
Good Shepherd, was built, the site for it on the corner of Twenty- 
fourth Street and Grant Avenue having been secured three years 
previously. The church is a memorial of Mrs. Catherine L. Liv- 
ingstone, daughter of John W. Hammerslev, Esq., of New York 
City, and cost §11,000. In 1881, the Rev. Mr. Gillogly died, and 
was succeeded by the Rev. S. Unsworth, who is rector at the pres- 
ent time. The communicants number one hundred and twenty, 
and a surplicedboy choir, composed, with one exception, of scholars 
from the school of the Good Shepherd, has just been introduced. 
There are four missions in the neighboring villages, all of which 
receive spiritual care from the Church of the Good Shepherd." 

THE FIRST CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

"On January 4th, 1884, twelve persons united together and 
organized the First Congregational Church of Ogden, Utah. The 
Rev. H. E. Thayer at that time acted as pastor, and during his 
incumbency eleven more persons identified themselves with his 
church. In 1886, after getting the church started and well on the 
way to success, the Rev. Thayer resigned, and the Rev. A. J. 
Bailey, the present minister, came to take his place. The present 
church membership is forty-eight. A church edifice has been 
erected on Adams Avenue, near Twenty-fifth Street. The building 
is not quite completed on the outside, and it is not yet permanently 
seated. This will be done, however, in a short time. The cost of 
the church building and the lot is about $7,000. The property joins 
the New West Academy, the land being purchased jointly with that 
society that the work of the two societies might be as near together 
as possible. 

" The pastor of this church has maintained regular preaching 
services, in connection with the New West school work, at Lynne, 
Hooper and Slaterville; but the work has grown to such propor- 
tions that an assistant has been found necessary, and the work at 
Hooper and Lynne is for the present under the care of the Rev. T. 
G. Lewis. A Ladies' Aid Society is maintained in connection with 
the church, which, besides doing much for the social development 
of the people, has rendered substantial financial aid to the church. 
Mrs. P. H. Emerson is president of this society. A large Sunday 
school is maintained. Dr. J. M. Armstrong being the superintendent. 
In addition, a society of Christian Endeavor is maintained among 
the young people. In all its departments of eiibrt the church is in 



THE KEFORM SCHOOL. 189 

a prosperous condition. It grows with the growth of the cit}', and 
in man}' ways is accumuhitiiig influence as a religious institution." 

THE SWEDISH LUTHERAN CHURCH. 

"In October last the Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Augustana 
S_ynod of JTortli America commenced mission work in Ogden, Rev. 
F. A. Linder, of Colorado, being the appointed missionary. On 
the 2nd of January, a fine lot on the corner of Jetferson Avenue 
and Twenty-third Street was purchased by the Church Extension 
Society of said synod for the purpose of building a church and a 
parsonage on it. The parsonage is under construction, and a neat 
and commodious chapel, with audience room, lecture room and 
class room, will be erected this summer. The meetings are now 
held at the Presbyterian church every Sunday afternoon. The mis- 
sion work has prospered greatly, and its promoters look for a bright 
future." 

THE MORMON CHURCH. 

The history of the organization of Weber County by the Mor- 
mon people forms the principal suliject of the foregoing chapters; a 
few organic notes of the " Weber Stake," under the head of Ogden 
Churches will complete the classification. 

The first branch of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints in Weber County was organized March 5th, 1850, and named 
the Weber Branch. Lorin Farr was appointed president. On the 
following day it was organized as a ward and Isaac Clark was 
appointed bishop. Daniel Birch, teacher and Bryan W. Nolan, 
clerk. As fast as settlements grew up in Weber County other 
wards were organized with bishops and their councils of elders, 
priests, teachers, deacons, high priests, seventies and high councils, 
which constituted the Stake over which Lorin Farr presided. 
Schools were also established throughout the county and efficient 
school trustees selected from time to time. On the 25th of October, 
186-3, the whole of Weber County was organized into one ecclesias- 
tical ward, though divided into districts with a president over each, 
and Chauncey W. West was appointed presiding bishop over all, 
while Lorin Farr retained his position as president of the Stake. 
Franklin ]). Richards succeeded Farr. In 1877, David H. Peery 
was appointed president of the Stake : his counselors were Lester 
J. Ilerrick and Charles F. Middleton. Lewis W. Shurtlitf suc- 
ceeded Peery in 1883: his counselors were C. F. Middleton and N". 
C. Flygare There are five ecclesiastical wards in Ogden : First 
Ward, B. C. Critchlow, bishop: Second Ward, Robert McQuarrie ; 
Third Ward, Winslow Farr; Fourth Ward, Edwin Stratford; 
Fifth Ward, Thomas J. Stevens. 

TERRITORIAL REFORM SCHOOL. 

For some time past the people of the Territory of Utah have 
greatly felt the need of an institution for the correction and educa- 



190 TULLIDfiE's HISTORIES. 

tion of juvenile oifenders, but not until 1888 was any provision 
made for such an institution. During the Twenty-eighth session of 
the Legislative Assembly, an act was passed appropriating money 
for the erection of suitable buildings and providing trustees for the 
management of this institution, to be known as the Territorial 
Reform School. Ogden City, the county seat of Weber County, 
being readily accessible from any part of the Territory on account 
of so many railwaj's centering at this point, was chosen as the place 
for these buildings. Under the provisions of the act referred to for 
the construction of the reform school, the governor and secretary of 
the Territory, and the prosecuting attorneys of the counties of Salt 
Lake, Davis, Box Elder, Weber and Utah, and their successors in 
office, were constituted the trustees. On the 22nd of March, 1888, 
these several officers, at the call of the governor, met at Ogden City 
and qualified as trustees by tiling bonds as required by law. On 
the following day an organization of the Board was eftected. Gov- 
ernor Caleb W. West being elected President; Henry H. Rolapp,. 
of Ogden, Secretary ; Hyrum S. Young, of Ogden, Treasurer ; and 
William C. Hall, Secretary of the Territory; James H. Moyle, 
Prosecuting Attorney of Salt Lake County; Joseph Barton, Pros- 
cuting Attorney of Davis County; Ric}' H. Jones, Prosecuting 
Attorney of Box Elder County ; Charles C. Richards, Prosecuting 
Attorney of Weber County ; and Samuel R. Thurman, Prosecut- 
ing Attorney of Utah County, by virtue of their respective offices, 
l)eing trustees. 

The first business of the Board was the selection of a suitable 
site for the proposed buildings. After much careful investigation, 
a tract of land which had been generously tendered to the trustees 
by the people of Ogden City, by and through the Mayor and city 
council, was accepted. This tract of land, which is situated within 
the corporate limits of the city and consisting of about thirty-five 
acres, was turned over to the trustees for the purpose mentioned for 
the sum of one dollar. At a later date, for the further sum of one 
dollar, additional tracts of land adjoining that already given, and 
consisting of three acres, were given for the same purpose. The 
land was duly accepted by the trustees for the purposes of a reform 
school and grounds, the estimated value of the land at the time of 
the acceptance being about sixt}' thousand dollars. The trustees 
have since purchased additional land from private parties, making 
an aggregate of over fifty acres of land surrounding the same. 

A committee composed of members of the Board of Trustees 
went east and visited all the notable institutions of a similar charac- 
ter to that which it was proposed to erect, in order to obtain 
information in regard to the class of buildings to erect, the manage- 
ment of the institution; and in regard to any facts which could be of 
any benefit to the Board in the performance of labors devolving 
upon them. Upon the committee's return, and the filing of their 
report and recommendations, steps were taken to procure suitable 



I 



INTERNAL PLAN OF THE SCHOOL. 191 

plans for such a building as the committee recommended. Several 
plans were in competition, among these were plans prepared and 
submitted by Messrs. Dallas & Hedges, architects of Salt Lake 
City ; these were accepted, being considered by the Board the most 
perfect in arrangement and appearance. 

The site is in the north-eastern part of the town and com- 
mands a splendid view of the whole city and surrounding valley. 
In the background are the Wasatch Mountains, with the beautiful 
Ogden Canyon, from which there is always, evea during the warm- 
est period of the year, a most refreshing and healthful breeze. The 
building is approached from the corner of Twentieth Street and 
Monroe Avenue, through grounds beautifully laid out in lawns, 
drives and walks, trees, etc., dotted here and there. The structure 
is 142x60 feet, is 50 feet high to the square, the tower being 1-40 
feet high. There are three stories, with attic and basement. Pass- 
ing through the entrance, which is fifteen feet wide and twelve feet 
high and constructed of grey stone, beautifully carved, with mas- 
sive columns, we are on the tiled lloor of the lobby. Leaving 
the lobby, we come to the main hall, a spacious place, from whence 
access to any part of the building may be readily obtained. On the 
left of the hall are the general offices, fronting on the ornamental 
grounds to the south-west, and on the right the general reception 
room. Immediately in front of the main hall is a grand staircase 
constructed of Spanish cedar, with carved posts and balusters. 
This staircase runs up four steps to the stained glass window of the 
officers' dining room, and then branches to the right and to the left 
to the second floor. The officers' dining room, just mentioned, is a 
well appointed apartment with suitable pantries, closets etc. The 
building is divided into two parts for the accommodation of male 
and female inmates, the section for the males being in the south 
part of the building and that for females being in the north part. 
Each section is the counterpart of the other, therefore a description 
of one portion of the building gives an exact idea of the arrange- 
ment of the other. On the first floor, there is a school room with 
accommodations for fifty students; the room is well lighted and well 
ventilated and is pleasant in every particular. Rooms are also pro- 
vided for the officers of each famil}', these are located on each side 
of the general reception rooms and the superintendent's rooms. 
Passing up the stairs, one comes to the dormitories each of which 
will accommodate twenty-five inmates. The rooms are sufficiently 
large to give each occupant, if the rooms were full, fifty-four square 
feet of space. Across the hall from the dormitories and immedi- 
atelj' over the attendants' rooms, are bath-rooms for the attendants, 
also, on the second floor and over the dining room are bath-rooms 
for the officers and guests. 

On the third floor in the main building is the hospital ward 
with a well-lighted, well-ventilated, sick ward which can be thor- 
oughly isolated from the rest of the building, if necessary. 



392 tullidge's histories. 

On the attic floor there is a spacious room which will be used 
as a lecture room or as a chapel. It is 40x60 feet in size. And on 
this same floor are rooms for the workmen and emplo^'es. Here 
also are the hot and cold water tanks, with a capacity of six hundred 
and one thousand gallons respectively. The building is fitted 
throughout with hot and cold water service, and the sanitary 
arrangements are the best that can be secured and the experience of 
similar institutions can suggest. Coming down from the attic to 
the basement we find tlie large plunge baths, 20x24 feet, and four 
feet deep. These are surrounded with steam coils for heating pur- 
poses and are so arranged that they can be plentifully supplied with 
hot and cold water. In the basement is the boiler from which steam 
for heating the building is generated. The whole of the arrange- 
ments on the interior are of the ver}' best of convenience, and the 
proper carrying out of the objects for which the building is con- 
structed. Every inch of space is utilized for some purpose, and the 
building abounds with useful closets and cupboards. The interior 
certainly is conveniently arranged, the exterior is certainly- imposing 
in appearance. The building contains in all two hundred and twenty 
windows. 

The location is favorable to fruitgrowing and farming. There 
is a plentiful supply of water, and bj' the careful attention which 
will be given to this department of the institution, it cannot fail to 
be a great success. 

The total cost of this building will be about $50,000,00. The 
contractor is Mr. Joseph Jackson of Ogden City. Work was com- 
menced on the building in the early part of October, 1888. The 
whole of the work is under the careful supervision of Hon. Joseph 
Barton, who is one of the Trustees. The gentleman has been 
appointed as the Superintendent of Construction, and he has filled 
his position faithfully. The beautiful appearance of the grounds, 
even at this early period, is due much to this gentleman's persever- 
ance and energ}'. Under his direction, what was a short time ago 
almost a barren patch of sagebrush, is now transformed into a 
smiling and beautiful garden. 

There are three approaches to the building. The main approach 
as stated above, is situated on the corner of Twentieth Street and 
Monroe Avenue, the other two are at the north and east of this 
main approach respectively. 

This building is less than one mile from the business center of 
the city, and is a structure of which the citizens of Ogden are justly 
proud. Architecturally it is beautiful. For the purpose for which 
it is intended it is convenient. In location it is healthful. Its scenic 
attractions are superb. 

OGDEN POST OFFICE. 

The first post oflice was established in 1852. Mr. Isaac Clark 
was appointed postmaster. The mails reached but once a month, 



THE POST OFFICE. 193 

and were meagre in quantity. In 1854 Mr. Clark died and was 
succeeded in the office bv the hite James G. Browning. He con- 
tinued in the incumbency until 1856. During his admini^itration 
the population increased, as also did mail matter and mail facilities. 
In that year he went out of office and General Chauncey W. West 
was appointed his successor. Mr. C. B. McGregor, Cols. Walter 
Thompson and Daniel Gamble were successively assistant post- 
masters to Mr. West, during whose incumbency the mails greatly 
multiplied, and the means of conveyance were much facilitated. 
General West continued in the office until the latter part of 1869. 
(He died in January, 1870.) During the above-named periods the 
post office in Ogden was only fourth-class, and the tirst postmaster 
only received from eight dollars to twelve dollars per annum. On 
the retirement of Mr. West, Mr. Isaac Moore was appointed post- 
master;* the institution became a third-class office and the appoint- 
ment was by the President of the United States. lu 1872 the 
office was reduced to that of fourth-class, with, of course, a cor- 
responding decrease in salary. In the summer of that year Mr. 
Moore resigned, and on the 10th of August Mr. .Joseph Hall was 
appointed postmaster by the Postmaster General. His assistant 
was his daughter, Miss Thirza A. Hall. Hon. Lorin Farr and 
Charles Woodmansee, Esc^., became Mr. Hall's sureties. By Octo- 
ber of the same year the business and patronage of the office had 
increased so rapidly and to such an amount that Mr. Hall obtained 
a special re-adjustment, (the office was again raised to that of third 
class) and in December he was re-appointed by President U. S. 
Grant. 

On the •22nd of November, 1875, Mr. Hall retired and Neal J. 
Sharp entered on his duties as postmaster. He continued in office 
until the spring of 1877, when he was removed and Major L. B. 
Stephens was appointed in bis stead. ^liss Cora B. Stephens, his 
daughter, remained in the office as his assistant during his incum- 
bency. In September, 1879, he was removed and General Nathan 
Kimball was appointed postmaster, with Mr. Hall as deputy. Miss 
T. A. Hall, John S. Corlew and J. N. Kimball as clerks. The mail 
service had now become vastly extended, and the mails received at 
the Ogden office were immense. The registered matter was dis- 
tributed here through Utah, Idaho, ^lontana, Arizona, Wyoming, 
many parts of California, Nevada, and other places on the Pacific 
Coast. The office was enlarged, the force and the services were 
increased, and Ogden became one of the most important postoffices 
between New York and San Francisco. 

General Kimball continued in office until the 12th of February, 
1883, when he retired. Mr. E. A. Littlefield was appointed post- 
master. His assistants were: Mr. John S. Corlew, deputy post- 
master. Miss Cora B. Stephens and Mr. W. H. Smith, clerks. 

January 24th, 1887, Mr. John G. Tyler succeeded Mr. Little- 
field, and continued the incumbency until .Tune 17th, 1889, when he 



194 tillidge's histories. 

was succeeded by the appointment, again, of General Nathan Kim- 
ball. 

The Money Order business of the Ogdeu office is very exten- 
sive, and orders can be sent to and received from Canada, Great 
Britain, Germany, France, Italy, Sweden, Switzerland, Algeria and 
other countries. 

THE MUNICIPALITY. 

Three capital events of the year 1889 in the history ot Ogden 
have marked a new era for the Junction City. Those events are the 
opening of the grand City Hall, the February election, which gave 
the municipal government for awhile into the hands of the Liberal 
Party, and the opening of the Union Depot. First in the order 
was the dedication of the City Hall. The speeches made on the 
occasion partook of the character of brief historical reviews of the 
growth and progress of the cit}' with an ingenuous touch, happily 
thrown in ever and anon, relative to the municipal aims and motives 
of the late administrations. For the salient points of the subject 
and the occasion the report from the Ogdeu Standard of Feb. '9th, 
1889, is worthy embodiment in historical form. 

THE CITY HALL. 

" All day j-esterday the citizens of Ogden feasted their eyes 
upon the new City Hall, erected in ten months at a cost of $50,000. 
All day a stream of people flocked to the grounds, the hall being 
thrown open to the public for the flrst time, preparator}- to the 
dedication services to be held in the evening. 

"As evening approached an unusual bustle was noticeable on 
the streets, the good citizens of Ogden flocking from all parts of 
the city towards one center — the new City Hall. 

" Shortly after seven o'clock the Ogden Brass Band appeared 
in full force on the streets, dressed in their magnificent uniforms; 
and while the majority of the people sought the hall to make sure 
of a seat, a vast throng gathered on the streets, eager to hear the 
music proceeding from the twenty instruments manipulated by this 
band of bands. 

"A look into the new building revealed the fact that the large 
folding doors, dividing the north and south halls, had been thrown 
open, and both rooms were crowded by people to their utmost 
capacity. 

"On the stand were seated the members of the Cit}' Council, 
Prof. T. B. Lewis, Hon. C. C. Richards, Messrs. X. C. Flygare, B. 
White, E. Stratford, F. J. Cannon, N. Tanner, Jr. and a number ot 
the various officers of the city government. 

" The hall was brilliantly lighted b}- electricity and presented a 
most beautiful appearance. 

" Mayor Eccles arose and calling the assembly to order 
addressed them as follows: 



THK CITY HALL. 19/> 

"' Friends and fellow citizens, it is with pleasure that 1 wel- 
come you here on the occasion of the dedication of the most beau- 
tiful public building in Utah. Your representatives went to work 
unanimously to erect a better building for its representatives, full 
well seeing as they looked into the future, that the progress of the 
city demanded it. When the corner stone was laid with appropri- 
ate ceremonies some months ago, it was said that it was the iirst 
corner stone laid on any public building in Ogden City, but that 
before the year went out the corner stones of the new depot and 
Reform School would be laid. That prediction has come to pass. 
I bespeak tor Ogden a glorious future. We have striven to per- 
form our duties in the past, and whatever party may occupy this 
place in the future they will find a clean record left by the present 
administration. 

E. H. Xye, chaplain for the evening, pronounced the dedicatory 
prayer. 

"Prof. Lewis was introduced by the mayor amid cheers. He said: 

"'The dedication of this building should call forth every citizen 
of this commonwealth without regard to party or creed.' 

"The speaker dwelt upon the growth of the city — from the log 
cabin to such a building as that in which his listeners were at that 
moment gathered. 

" 'It is not only in the City Hall," the speaker said, 'but in the 
unity of a government that is marked the progress of a common- 
wealth. I long to see the day, when associated with the City Hall, 
in all its architectural beauty and nobility of structure, the dome of 
the college and university will rear its head heavenward to make our 
sons and daughters mightier. I long to see Ogden take that high 
and heavenward position w^here she will be second to no city in the 
whole west.' 

"Hon. C. C. Richards was next introduced by Mayor Eccles. 

"He said: 'We have come here to-night, not as politicians, nor 
as co-religionists, but as citizens and taxpayers, to dedicate and 
declare open to the public this magnificent building, which, it has 
been truly said, is the finest public building in the Territory. It is 
but proper that it should be so. It is the public talk. Everywhere 
it is spoken of and that Ogden is coming to the front. The best 
is therefore not too good for her. Without progress and energy 
she would be as nothing. 

" 'Ogden's growth, her progress and wealth demand at this time 
no less than such a structure as this. It is time we had it and just 
in time. Until eleven mouths ago no council had ever had power 
to construct such a building. They could not borrow money to 
perform such a work. What little they could Itorrow was obtained 
in a kind of homeopathic way and then they could not do anything 
but by the unanimous consent of the citizens which was impractic- 
able. The last Legislature authorized the City to borrow money 
and the sale of the bonds made possible the erection of such a build- 



I 






196 tullidge's histories. 

ing as this. The Council has taken the watchword given by the pro- 
gressive legislative body and at once constructed this building now 
rearing its lofty head on this main thoroughfare.' 

"The speaker then dwelt upon certain features of Ogden, which 
stamped her as a lirst-class city. In all her buildings she had no 
false .front or rears. Every block had been built to stay. The citi- 
zens of Ogden had built so that posterity could follow their traces. 

"He further said : 'We have the grandest depot in the western 
country, the tinest institution of its kind — the Reform School; our 
best streets; commerce and trade is the most progressive in the Terri- 
tory. Upon this square in its center the people of Ogden will need 
and will see a city hall in ten or twenty years that will cost, not 
$50,000 but §200,000. The business will be adequate to require it. 
When people abroad see that we have confidence in our own future, 
this place will be chosen by them as the spot they wish to live and 
die upon, and thus in the ne.xt two years the advertising this hall 
will give the Citj' will bring capital here that will pay the City more 
than it ever paid for this hall.' 

"Mayor Eccles, arising said: 'Ladies and gentlemen, permit 
me to introduce to j^ou the oldest man in the Council, not in years 
but in municipal matters. He has sat the longest in the council 
chamber, a man who is a financier. I take pleasure in introducing 
Hon. John A. Boyle.' 

"Mr. Boyle arising said: 'I am glad to meet with you. The 
work we have done has been honest. This hall has been honestly 
reared. _ 

" 'In regard to public work we have our opinions. When it was S 
decided that this building should be built every member went to " 
work with a will and here is the result. I will say that whoever is 
elected mayor cannot help but feel proud at being elected mayor 
over such a City as Ogden. Her citizens are Ijright and progres- 
sive. When soliciting trade in the surrounding country we meet 
with a warm geeting 'because', they say 'we can depend upon j'ou 
and your prices.' Salt Lake was a city when Ogden was a village, 
yet she is now ranking among the foremost cities in the West. 
Our mayor is an upright man and the incoming council upon 
searching his record will find it clean and that is something indeed 
to be proud of.' 

"The mayor then introduced Thomas D. Dee. Mr. Dee upon 
arising said: 'It is with feelings of pride Hook around on this build- 
ing so well filled with the citizens of Ogden. It has been a source 
of gratification unto us to see this building completed and presented 
to our constituents. I wish to say that the building we are in has 
been designed and executed by a boy, born and reared in Ogden. 
And when another hall is needed there shall be found in Ogden 
young men who will step forward and do the work. Inasmuch 
as the water cannot rise above the fountain head, so it is impos- 
sible for the administration to rise above the desires of their con- 



THE POLITICAL STRUG(5LE. 197 

stituents, and it is to you that we are indebted for the support which 
has built this hall." "' 

THE POLITICAL BATTLE. 

Immediately after the dedication of the City Hall came the 
municipal election. John A. Boyle was the most available man 
the People's Party had to bear the standard in the important battle 
which was expected to decide so much of political atiairs, not only 
of Ogden, but of Salt Lake City and the entire Territory, while 
Fred J. Kiesel was the Liberal Party's best n^an. Undoubtedly the 
leaders of both parties expected that the election would be carried 
for the Liberal side; and all equally realized that it would be the 
hardest political battle ever foutiht in Utah. The People's Party 
leaders showed great tact in the campaign, which was illustrated 
by the City Council dedicating the grand City Hall on the eve of 
the election ; and it was a happy insinuation of candidate Boyle 
that the outgoing council had built a municipal temple worthy of 
their rivals to sit in as public servants. The Liberals won I The 
following is the list of the members of the present City Council and 
oflicers: 

Fred J. Kiesel, Mayor; Aldermen, Thos. Whalen, A. G. Fell, 
H. T. Snyder, S. M. Pi'eshaw, W. X. Shilling. Councilors, W. H. 

Turner, Anderson, Frank Hurlburt, Chas. Corey, Geo. Doualas, 

Fred Zeiraer, Wm. Chapman, H. L. Gritlin, H. V. Blaisdell, C. R. 
Hank, J.W.McXutt, Recorder, James Cassin, Assessor and Collector, 
T. A. Perkins, City Engineer, Wm. Farrell, Superintendent of Water 
Works, J. A. Coolidge, Supervisor and J. W. Melcalf, Marshal. 

THE CNION DEPOT. 

The third grand event of the year — the opening of the L^nion 
Depot — took place on the 31st of July, 1889. Governor Thomas 
and the Utah Commissioners came up from Salt Lake City to cele- 
brate the occasion, t?-. M. Preshaw, president of the Ogden Cham- 
ber of Commerce gave the opening address. He said: 

"Ladies and Gentlemen — We are here to night to celebrate 
the opening to the public of this beautiful and commodious LInion 
Passenger Depot, the iinest building of its kind between the Mis- 
souri River and the Pacitic Ocean. 

"After long years of anxious waiting we have at last secured 
the great prize and the people of Ogden are happy." 

Governor Thomas said : "The building of any depot is a credit 
to any city and especialh- when it is a union depot and is attribu- 
table to the force of energy common activity and pluck of the 
people where such a depot is built." 

Col Godfrey Chairman of the Utah Commission was called on 
for a speech. He said: "You have had many improvements in 
residences, schools and other buildings, but I am surprised to lind 
such a building as this. I ask myself what has secured this ? Surely 



198 TULhIDlJE'S HISTORIES. 

the activity, energy and pluck of the people of Ogden. The rail- 
roads have not done it alone. * * Continue to build, to rear 
beautiful homes and work for the progress of your city as you have 
done and Ogden will be one of the greatest cities on the continent." 

Governor Robertson of the Utah Commission said: "In look- 
ing around this beautiful depot I wonder if our young men think of 
the growth and improvements of this country. When we were 
young on our schools hung maps which showed nothing but the 
Great American Desert beyond the river. The wise men said that 
travel could not be sustained across the desert. The iron horse 
found its way here preceded by hardy pioneers and to-day the Great 
American Desert does not exist. 

"To-day Utah stands as one of the brightest tei'ritories and it is 
because of the wave of civilization, and all who stand in the way of 
that civilization will be crumbled to pieces. On this civilization 
will come another and that the civilization of the 20th century and in 
that century is insured the future greatness of Utah." The company 
then retired to the spacious baggage room and indulged in the dance. 
At 1.20 a. m. the guests from Salt Lake returned by special train. 

OGDEN JOURNALISM RESUMED. 

After the suspension of the publication in Ogden of the Salt 
Lake Daily Telegraph, which had given otfence to the Ogden 
people in consequence of its not having changed its name identi- 
fying it with the Junction City, Weber County was again without 
a newspaper which soon became intoterable. The Ogden Junction. — 
In December of 1869, the Ogden Junction Publishing Company was 
organized and on January 1st, 1870, the first number of the Semi- 
Weekly Ogden Junction was issued, with Hon. F. D. Richards, Editor, 
C. W. Penrose, Esq., Associate Editor, Mr. Joseph Hall, City 
Editor, and Mr. James McGaw, Business Manager of the new 
journal ; with also the same foreman and a number of the same com- . 
positors that worked on the Telegraph. On the retirement of Mr. 
Richards, Mr. Penrose became the Editor-in-Chief The Junction 
gained a large and extensive circulation in Utah, Wyoming, Idaho, 
Nevada, etc. In the month of September, 1872, the issuing of the 
Daily Junction was commenced. The Semi-Weekly was also con- 
tinued. In 1877, the company sold out the establishment to Mr. 
Richard Ballantyne. Mr. Penrose removed to Salt Lake City and 
became the Editor of the Deseret News, and Mr. S. A. Kenner was 
engaged as Editor of the Junction. 

THE FOUNDER OF NORTHERN JOURNALISM. 

The honor of this name belongs to Charles W. Penrose. No 
one will question this in the history of Utah journalism. A Bio- 
graphy of Editor Penrose will be found in Tullidge's History of Salt 
Lake City, from which the following passage is culled: 

"In January, 1870, he resigned his position in the Co-operative 



I-ITERART VENTURES. 



199 



Institution, bade adieu to Logan and took up his residence in Ogden, 
having been invited by Apostle F. D. Richards to take editorial 
charge, under his supervision, of the Ogden Junction, which had 
just been started as a semi-weekly. This was an occupation for 
which he was peculiarly well fitted, not only by nature — which 
undoubtedly designed him for a journalist — but by education and 
experience; and the paper which he did so much to build up and 
render popular, and which lived and prospered as long as he was 
connected with it, will be long remembered for the interest and 
pointed vigor, the 'snap and ginger' of his pungent writings. He 
was assistant editor one year, and was then made editor-in-chief, 
and afterwards business manager as well. He started the Daily 
Junction in September, 1872, and much of the time was its editor, 
local, business manager, and traveling agent, and — to use his own 
terse expression — was 'worked half to death.' 

" Having previously become naturalized, he was elected, Febru- 
ary 13, 1871, a member of the Ogden City Council. He took 
active part in all the aflairs and improvements of the municipality 
as long as he remained in Ogden, and he was re-elected to the 
council every term ; his name was found on both tickets whenever 
there were two parties in the field. He served, in all, four terms, 
and before the expiration of the last one had removed to Salt Lake 
City." 

In 1878, Mr. Ballantyne sold the Junction to a company, who 
enlarged and made it a morning paper but subsequently changed it 
to an evening paper again. In March, 1880, Professor Leo Haefeli 
became the editor with Mr. George G. Taylor city editor. In 
February, 1881, the Junction was suspended. For several months 
the People's Party were without an organ to represent their inter- 
ests; but on the 2nd of May 1881, a company having been organ- 
ized the first number of the Ogden Daily Herald was issued with 
Mr. John Xicholson editor, Leo Haefeli city editor, Joseph Hall 
as agent and traveling correspondent and E. H. Anderson business 
manager. The paper bore the strong pronounced character of its 
chief editor. In October, 1881, Mr. Xicholson retired to take a 
position on the editorial stalf of the Deseret News; he was succeeded 
by Joseph Hall and Leo Haefeli, and these by Frank J. Cannon and 
Alfred W. Millgate. 

Meantime a number of Gentile papers had sprung up in Ogden, 
some of them of a very pronounced anti-Mormon character ; of 
these was first the paper started by Mrs. Freeman bearing her 
name. On the 1st of January-, 1879, the Dispatch, a daily paper 
was started by the Dispatch Publishing Company; Mr. F. B. Millard 
was editor, and Charles L. King city editor. The Rustler succeeded 
it under the same management. The Rustler soon died. Early in 
March, 1881, the Ogden Daily Pilot was issued by E. A. Littlefield, 
formerly editor and proprietor of the Post, Elko, Nevada. These 
papers having fulfilled their mission, doing faithful service to the 



200 tullidge's histories. 

cause of the Liberal Party of Ogden City, were suspended; but 
they have their successors: the first to be named is the Daily Union. 

The Daily Union is an evening journal, and was first issued in 
May, 1888. The editor-in-chief is Charles S. King; Leo Haefeli 
is on the stall'. It is a strong anti-Mormon journal. 

The Ogden Argus is a semi-weekly journal. It was first issued 
May 23, 18"S8, by Percival J. Barrett and Leo Haefeli. It is devot- 
ed to mining, agriculture, railroad, legal, church and society news 
generally, and has little to say in politics. Mr. Barrett is the pres- 
ent editor and proprietor. 

The Daily Commeixial is a new venture in the journalistic field. 
Its first number made its debut on April 4, 1889. It is a strong 
anti-Mormon paper, and professes to he the representative of the 
"Liberal" Party in the city of Ogden. In politics, it is Republi- 
can. A. B. Johnson is managing editor, and 0. A. Kennedy city 
editor. 

The crowning eftort of Ogden journalism is the Standard. No 
sooner had Frank J. Cannon taken the editorial chair of the Ogden 
Herald than both sides were made to comprehend that a journalist 
had " risen in Israel," after the regular order of that independent, 
self-willed fraternity who have made the press the power of the age, 
above churches, governments, or political parties. Like your true 
journalist, Frank J.' Cannon took the editorial sceptre, which 
belonged to him, and shaped a policy and created a typical charac- 
ter for his paper. Like a true journalist he began to "meddle" in 
public affairs and to "talk" to the Cit}' Fathers, the Chamber of 
Commerce and the leading men of Ogden generally, concerning 
the commonwealth, and what the citizens of both parties ought to 
do to accomplish the magnificent destiny which was before Ogden 
as a commercial and junction railroad city. The very character of 
such a paper required a new and typical name; 60 "the boy," evi- 
dentl\- remembering his great father as the founder of the Western 
Standard, prevailed on his company to change the name of the 
Ogden Herald to the Ogden Standard. 

The last number of the Herald was issued December -Slst, 1887, 
and the Standard succeeded it Jan. 1st, 1888, issued by the original 
publishing company, with a few other stockholders added. Already 
in has earned the place as one of the leading journals of the west. 
Rising above parties, political or religious, the distinctive policj' of 
the Standard is — '^ All for Ogden;" its pronouncement — "first and 
last, and all the time" — is, "all for Ogden City and her grand des- 
tiny .'" 

The present statt" consists of Frank J. Cannon, editor, John 
Q. Cannon, associate editor, John V. Bluth, city editor, Alfred W. 
Millgate, business manager. 



ZIOX'S CO-OPERATIVE MEP.t'AXTILE INSTITUTION. 201 



ZION'S CO-OPERATIVE MERCANTILE INSTITUTION. 



I^H 111 the foregoing chapters,on the commerce of Ogden City 

r^^ only a brief mention has been made of Zion's Co-operative Mer- 
cantile Institution, as a connecting link of the general historj' 
as we have passed along. But this institution of the Mormon 
community has such a peculiar and special importance in the 
commercial aifairs of Ogden, that we must now devote to that 
institution a distinctive chapter. 

When Brigham Young saw the near approacli of the Union 
Pacific and Central Pacific Railroads towards our borders, he not 
only engaged as a chief contractor in building those railroads," 
directing his leading men, such as John Sharp on the U. P. 
road, and Benson, Farr and West on the C. P., but he also un- 
dertook to re-construct the commercial affairs of the Territory. 
This latter movement of the Mormon President was absolutely 
necessary to preserve the people intact, and to keep in their own 
hands their commercial interests and business enterprises, and 
the money potency resulting therefrom. This had to be done or 
the community, which he and his compeers had brought to these 
valleys, and controlled, here, almost absolutely, for twenty years, 
were about to go into the hands of the merchant class, through 
the various changes — a social revolution, indeed, especially in 
the commerce of our Territory — which the advent of the rail- 
roads were certain to bring. In fine, the question of those times 
was, whether the Mormon people should still retain their semi- 
communistic power, Mhich had characterized them from the 
beginning, or whether it should pass out of their hands; whether 
he — Brigham Young — should control, through them, the material 
resources and commercial affairs of the Territory, or the out- 
siders, who would be certain to use the increase of their money 
power to the breaking up of the Mormon community in their 
distinctive character as a commonwealth; or who, to say the 
least, would not be the conservators of the Mormon dominance 
in the Territory — a future State — which this same Mormon peo- 
ple had founded. There could be but one decision to such a 
man and leader as Brigham, and it was embodied in the organi- 
zation and growth of Zion's Co-operative Mercantile Institution, 
which has been now, for nearly twenty years, really the commer- 
cial commonwealth of the Mormon people. 

And, as touching Ogden City, the case was even more vital 

26 



202 tullidge's histories. 

and the questions of the hour more salient in its potential 
points, than in the case of Salt Lake City. 

On the line of the Union Pacific Railroad, the Founder of 
Utah saw, daily approaching toward our horders, a line of trav- 
elling Gentile cities — small, to be sure, but daily removing from 
point to point as the railroad advanced, so that which seemed as 
many on the route was in reality but one — now a Cheyenne, now 
a Laramie, now a Green River; but, call it by what name you 
may, that Gentile city was soon al^out to take up its quarters at 
the grand junction of the Union Pacific and Central Pacific rail- 
roads. It also soon became evident that this railroad junction 
would be made at or near Ogden City; but the Gentiles preferred 
a city to themselves, bearing their distinctive name; hence grew 
up Corinne, the Gentile city. 

Now it happened, and very naturally, that the men who 
founded this Gentile city of Northern Utah were nearly all 
men of commerce and business generally; and the very fact that 
there were a class of men on the route founding cities almost 
dail}', and pulling up their stakes and transiiorting them as 
often, to keep pace with the ever-shifting terminus, gave abun- 
dant signs that there were migrating to Utah men of indomi- 
table business energy, ambition and push. Indeed, many of 
them had been in the war — served for years — some on the side 
of the North, some on the side of the South. Nearly all of this' 
class had also been officers in the army, and quite a fair propor- 
tion of them had ranked as captains, majors, colonels, and sev- 
eral as generals. These men, just out of the war service, which 
they entered — some of them ere they reached the age of man- 
hood — were coming west to begin their individual lives and lay 
the foundation of their business career; while others, like Gen- 
eral P. Edward Connor and Mayor J. W. Guthrie, had long been 
identified with the growth and enterprises of these Western 
States and Territories. 

It was such a class of men as these who Avere migrating 
toward a junction point of Northern Utah, aiming to found the 
new junction city, to build it up and control it, and thereby to 
obtain the supremacy of the commerce of the whole Territory, 
if possible, and if less than this, still the supremacy of the 
northern division of Utah outside of Salt Lake City. This part 
achieved, and it was expected, to a certainty, that the Gentiles 
would politically dominate two counties of the north — Weber 
and Box Elder — at an early period. Indeed, it is the action of 
these two forces — the commercial and political elements — brought 
in by the railroads, that has gone to make up so much of the 
history of Utah since 1868-9, and especially of Northern Utah — 



zion's co-operative mkrcaxtile ixstitction. 203 

producing social changes amounting almost to a radical social 
revolution. 

Now Ogden City was the very point where this new force — 
the Gentile element as the men themselves delighted to name it 
— was about to strike, in 1S68-9, as a commencement of a social 
and political controversy with the ^lormon community, Some 
communistic resistive force was, therefore, necessary to be created 
at once, in the interest of the Mormon people, at this junction 
point, which was Ogden itself, or near thereto, M^hich at first 
seemed to be indicated as Corinne. Such a resistive commu- 
nistic organization of the people of the north was nascent in 
Zion's Co-ojierative Mercantile Institution; and had it not been 
for the prompt establishment of a branch of that institution at 
Ogden City the Gentile element would soon have controlled the 
commerce of Northern Utah. This view of Z. C. M. I. in the 
north has not, we think, been fully realized by the Mormon peo- 
ple themselves. 

In 18G7 the firm of AVest & Hopkins was the principal 
mercantile house of Ogden City, and the onlj' one, indeed, 
that possessed any approximate strength to resist the commer- 
cial inroads of the rising Gentile power. Even David H. Peery, 
since known as one of the commercial magnates and capitalists 
of Osden, was but a clerk in this firm. It is true, Mavor Lorin 
Farr was potent in the civil government of the city, and socially 
and ecclesiastically influential throughout the county. He also 
owned a store and carried on mercantile business, had from the 
beginning ran saw and flouring mills, and carried on a branch 
of home manufactures at his woolen factory; and at that very 
time, the company' of Benson, Farr & West was building a large 
division of the Central Pacific Railroad, but Lorin Farr was not 
pre-eminently and distinctively an Ogden merchant. The com- 
mercial combination needed by the ]\Iormon community had, in 
fact, to be created, and this M'as done in the organization of the 
Ogden branch of Z. C. M. I. 

At Salt Lake City the Mormon merchants would, it is true, 
have been strong enough to have resisted the commercial inroads 
of the Gentile merchants. They may have retained the bulk of 
the retail trade of the Mormon community, and several of the 
merchant princes of the capital would have reached after the 
control of the wholesale trade of the Territory. But, as we have 
seen, there was, in the prospect of 1868-9, about to spring up as 
in a day a Gentile merchant city near Ogden, located at a capi- 
tal distributing point for commerce with the surrounding Ter- 
ritories with the produce of this northern country. That Gen- 
tile city was about to come into direct and sharp competition 
with Ogden City; that Gentile city was the first to boldly claim, 



204 

and for awhile sustain the character, as the S23ecial export city of 
Utah; and, had Corinne also become the junction railroad city, 
it must inevitably have controlled the commerce of Northern 
Utah, and Ogden would have been overshadowed by the com- 
mercial dominance and population of her ambitious neighbor; 
and, even as it is, the merchants of Corinne have transported 
their commercial base of operations to Ogden, where they still 
strive with the Mormon merchants for the mastery in the north- 
ern country. 

In this view of the case, it maj' be pertinently said that 
Z. C. M. I., at Ogden, had a mission to perform for the Mormon 
community; and that, too, more markedly than in any other city 
of Utah, in a similar way. Its Ogden Branch has been this re- 
sistive bulwark needed by the Mormon community in the early 
years after the completion of the Union Pacific and Central 
Pacific railroads; and the simple fact of its subsequent history 
is, that instead of destroying local Mormon merchants, it has 
created and fostered them, notwithstanding for awhile it seemed 
to have absorbed them in the co-operative combination. This 
we shall presently see, in climaxing this chapter with the names 
and number of Mormon merchants and storekeepers that exist 
to-daj' — the spring of 1887 — in Ogden Citv, in the colossal pres- 
ence of Z. C. M. I. 

The amalgamation of the Ogden Branch of Z. C. M. I., by an 
organization of a small " co-oji." compaiay, which was started in 
1865, and the firms of Peery and Herrick, and the mercantile 
estal^lishment of ex-Mayor Farr. In March, 1869, after D. H. 
Peery had sold out to Z. C. M. I., the directors of this insti- 
tution ai^pointed D. H. Peery superintendent of the Ogden 
Branch, which position he held till the following June, when 
Peery resigned and went to Virginia to attend to unsettled busi- 
ness of his own, left so during the war between the No.rth and tlie 
South. S. P. Teasdel was appointed to succeed him as superinten- 
dent. Early in the spring of 1870, Teasdel resigned and Peery, 
having returned, was again appointed superintendent, which posi- 
tion he held till October, 1875, when he finally retired and Robert 
S. Watson was appointed. This affable gentleman and efficient 
manager, who also served the city in its municipal council dur- 
ing his superintendency, was retired for other service for the 
parent institution, as its Eastern purchaser, and Mr. S. W. Sears 
succeeded him, in the spring of 1880, as manager of the Ogden 
Branch, and so continued until he was appointed one of the di- 
rectors and assistant superintendent of the general institution, 
when Mr. -lohn Watson was appointed manager of the Ogden 
Branch, June, 1883. At the present date — the spring of 1887 
— Mr. John AVatson is still iu the management of this branch 



ZIOX'S C'0-Ol'ERATIVE MERCANTILE INSTITUTION. 205 

house, and this gentleinau is higlily acceptable to the directors 
and popuhir with the Ogdeu public. 

At a director's meeting, held February 16, 1880, the matter 
of erecting a suitable building for the Institution's business at 
Ogden, upon the lot purchased from the Church, was discussed. 
The discussion resulted in the following resolution: -'That the 
board of directors deem it expedient to at once put up a suitable 
building at Ogden upon the lot purchased from the Church, and 
that the superintendent be, and is hereby, authorized to proceed 
to procure bids and let contracts for carrying out this purpose." 

This resolution was unanimoush' adopted, and immediately 
thereafter work was commenced by excavating the basement 
story and laving the foundation of the Ogden Branch of 
Z. C. M. I. 

The style of architecture is the medieval Corinthian, with 
a slight indication of the Tuscan, and is highly suited to the 
business carried on. It is one of the handsomest business blocks 
in the Territory, and is beautifully located at the corner of Main 
and Fourth streets, facing east and south; and if it is possible 
for the mind engaged busily in mercantile pursuits to blend with 
his business an appreciation of the highest taste for nature, this 
.site aflbrds such an one the best opportunity for its cultivation 
and development. The building is 133 feet long by 100 feet 
wide, and consists of basement and three stories. Entering by 
the south door the eyes are at once greeted with immense stocks 
of clothing, hats, gents' furnishings, fancy and staple dry goods, 
notions in countless variety, boots and shoes, and groceries of 
every description. Further on are the departments containing 
queensware, glassware, fancy ornaments, lamps, chandeliers, 
carpets, linoleums, wall paper, stoves, farming tools, and every 
conceivable article of shelf hardware. This floor is devoted 
exclusively to retail trade. The second floor is used as a jobbing 
sales and store room, at the east side of which is situated the 
clerks' and manager's offices. These offices are well appointed 
in every respect; and constitute as pleasant a counting house as 
any in the country. A fine large vault is built at the south end 
of the office, as a repositorj- of all the valuable books and papers 
relating to the business of tliis gigantic institution. The third 
floor is used wholly as a storage room, where huge cases and 
bales are stacked; a spacious loft is also here to be seen. The 
basement is where the immense stocks of groceries, consisting 
of car-loads of meats, sugars, soaps, canned goods, etc., are con- 
veniently kept, as well as a stupendous quantity of heating and 
cooking stoves and ranges. The floor is of Portland cement, and 
it is said that this cellar has no rival in the West. The store is 
warmed by a steam heating apparatus, lighted at eventide by the 



I 



206 ti'llidge's historiks. 

electric light, and is fitted up with every modern convenience 
both for the comfort of those engaged in it and for those doing 
business, and of these a Morse elevator, driven bj- water power, 
running from cellar to third story, is not the least important 
feature. The erection of the building was commenced in March, 
1880, and Avas completed at an estimated cost of )|!70,000, during 
the superintendency of Mr. H. S. Eldredge, of the parent Insti- 
tution at Salt Lake City, who contributed in no small degree to 
tlie making up of the plans, and under whose immediate direc- 
tion the details were carried out. There were 800,000 brick and 
250,000 feet of lumber used in its construction. It is fitted with 
water and gas pipes throughout, as well as speaking tubes con- 
necting each floor and compartment. The design was the work 
of the late Mr. Obed Taylor, architect, of Salt Lake City; while the 
supervision was entrusted to Mr. N. C. Flygare, of Ogden, who 
had also the contract for the carpentering. The building was 
dedicated on Friday, February 4th, 1881, and the following dis- 
tinguished gentlemen took part in the ceremonies: President, 
-John Taylor: Directors, Joseph F. Smith, H. S. Eldredge, Wm. 
Jennings and D. 0. Calder; and D. H. Peery, Esq., Apostle F. D. 
Richards, and ex-Mavor Lorin Farr. 



FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF OGDEN. 



As the First National Bank of Ogden is connected with this 
branch of Z. C. M. I. in its place of business, and also in it 
financial unity with the grand commercial institution of the 
Mormon community, it may be here very properly noticed. 

The establishing of the First National Bank of Ogden was 
originally and specialh* the project of the banker and superin- 
tendent, Horace S. Eldredge. It was the firm of Hooper & 
Eldredge, indeed, that maj' be said to have originated the whole 
banking system of Utah belonging to the Mormon community. 
They started the bank of Hooper, Eldredge & Co., in Salt Lake 
City, in 1869, the firm being composed of themselves and 
Cashier Lewis S. Hills; and, in 1871, Hooper, Eldredge & Co. 
were succeeded by the Bank of Deseret, with Brigham Young as 
president, which was afterward succeeded by the Deseret National 
Bank, with Brigham Young president, and H. S. Eldredge vice- 
president; and when Brigham Young resigned as president, AVm. 
H. Hooper was elected president, and so remained until his 



KX-.MAYOll DAVID H. PEKKY. 207 

death, and was succeeded by H. S. Eldredge. Subsequently it 
became imperative to preserve the fiuaucial unity and potency 
of the community that a bank of a simihir cast should be estab- 
lished at Ogden City. "Gentile banks " were already established 
there; and at length the Directors of the Deseret National Bank, 
urged by Horace S. Eldredge, who was particularly desirous and 
earnest iu the matter, resolved to establish the Ogden National 
Bank, in which project they were joined by certain of the capi- 
talists of Ogden belonging to the community. 

The First National Bank of Ogdeu opened business on 
January 1st, 1SS2, with a paid up capital of |100,000, and a 
board of directors that would inspire conuuercial confidence any- 
where The board, at at its origin, consisted of the following 
persons: H. S. Eldredge, president; William Jennings, vice- 
president; John Taylor, Wm. H. Hooper, John Sharp, F. Little, 
L. S. Hills, S. W. Sears, N. C. Flygare, directors; H. S, Young, 
cashier. 

The First National of Ogden has its offices in the southeast 
corner of the Z, C. M. I. building. The entrance to it is from 
the southeast corner, leading from fine granite steps. The door 
is massive, and on either side are large Corinthian iron columns, 
fluted and cast at Davis & Howe's foundrv, Salt Lake Citv. 



EX-MAYOR DAVID H. PEERY 

Comes of an old Virginia family. He was born in Tazewell 
County, Virginia, on iLxy IGth, 1824. His early years were 
spent on his parent.s' plantation. He Avas educated at Enery & 
Henry college. 

The Honorable Davitl H. Peery commenced life as a com- 
mercial man in his native county in 1845, continuing for seven- 
teen years of almost uninterrupted success, becoming possessed 
of considerable wealth; but civil war came, the South was in- 
vaded, calamities fell fast upon his family and death swept in a 
few daj's, wife, cliildren, father, mother and other members of 
his familj-. Here we must notice his wife specially, for in hejr 
is the chief interest of the narrative. 

The maiden name of this lady was Nancy, dau ghter of 
William and Louisa Higginbotham, of A'irginia. The parents 
came into the Mormon Church in 1841, under the preaching of 
Jedediah M. Grant, and gathered to Nauvoo the next year, 
where they remained until the expulsion in 1846, when they 



208 tullidgk's histories. 

went west with the Saints as far as Winter Quarters. Their 
daughter Nanc}' at that time was eleven years of age. She was 
born in 1835, and was baptized into the Cliureh when slie was 
eight years old. 

Learning, in 184H, that Mrs. Higginbothara's parents were 
dead, the family returned to Virginia in 1848, to get their por- 
tion of the estate, expecting soon to gather with the Saints to 
the Rocky Mountains. This return to A'^irginia was as a fate in 
Mr. Peery's life. He soon afterward became acquainted with the 
daughter, who drew his affections at first sight: but she was a 
Mormon, and his prejudices were unusually strong against the 
Mormons. He believed them to be, as rumor described them, a 
disreputable people, all excepting the Higginbotham family, 
and a few others in his vicinity, who had also joined the 
Church. Erroneouslj- thinking that, if he married the Mormon 
maiden, it would be detrimental to his social standing and suc- 
cess in life, he put off the alliance from year to year, till 1852, 
when he concluded to marry her, feeling he could never be 
happy with unj other woman. Having resolved to brave the 
consequences, he designed to sell out his possessions and go to 
Texas or some other land, where no one would know he had 
married a Mormon wife. But instead of the alliance being a 
detriment, it tended to his further commercial success, through 
the excellent advice and management of his wife, while her con- 
stant hospitality and uniform kindness to all, enhanced his own 
social standing. His wife thus proving a blessing, he became 
more than ever desirous to convince her of the " delusion of the 
Mormon religion," and to this end he labored incessantly. Fail- 
ing to convince her bj' his own arguments, he called to his aid 
the services of the best divines of the Methodist, Baptist and 
Lutherian churches, but she still held to her religion with a 
faith intensified. 

The war came on. Up to this time, 1861, no man born in 
his vicinity had better success and prosperity than Mr. Pcery; 
but, for the next four j^ears, no man of that part of the country 
had worse luck both in his family and financial affairs. At the 
onset of the war he had due to him $60,000 in solvent debts, be- 
sides valuable landed estates, two flourishing mercantile stores, 
and 110,000 in ready money, while he himself was free of debt. 
The first calamity that befell him was the death of his eldest son, 
of whom he had great hopes. This was the first real grief of 
his life. The death occurred in May, 1861. But this grief 
softened his heart, in regard to the religious consolation of his 
wife, as he now consented for her to be re-baptized and renew 
the connection with her people. 

Financial calamities quickly followed the family bereave- 



*! 



DAVID H. PEERY. 209 

ment. The $10,000 iu hand became of little value by deprecia- 
tion, through the worthlessuess of the Confederate issues; and 
all the money he further obtained by the collection of debts, the 
sale of merchandise, of property, of stock, etc., became also 
nearly worthless. It was now that the intuitive wisdom of his 
wife saved a portion from the ruins of his fortune. At the onset 
of the war she earnestly persuaded him to convert two thousand 
dollars of bank notes into coin, at what he considered at the 
time a great sacrifice, but which proved one of the best invest- 
ments of his life, as it enabled him afterwards to commence to 
rebuild his fortunes. She foresaw what would be the result 
of the war just then begun. 

The earnestness of Mrs. Peery prevailed, and her husband 
sent .1i'2,000 to Richmond and converted it into $1,400 of coin, 
Afterwards, when all the rest was apparently swept away, and 
the devoted wife who thus counselled was sleeping in a grave in 
her native State, Mr. Peery brought that $1,400 to Utah, in- 
vested in a farm on Cottonwood, which he afterwards exchanged 
for the property on Main Street, Ogden, where now stands the 
Peery Block. But now to return to the South : 

In the spring of 1862, Mr. Peery volunteered iu the Con- 
federate army, and was appointed assistant commissarj' under 
General Humphrey Marshall, of the army of Eastern Kentucky. 
In June, 1862, his brother-in-law, Simon Higginbotham, having 
been attacked with typhoid fever, he removed him in an ambulance 
from the army to his own father's house. Mr. Peery's mother had 
died only a few weeks before. He was next taken down with the 
fever himself, and was laid at the point of death. His father and 
father-in-law — Mr. Higginbotham — were also attacked, both of 
whom died; and soon Mr. Peery's wife and all his children, save 
one daughter (Lettie, now the wife of Mr. Charles C. Richards, 
of Ogden), succumbed to the fell destroyer. 

At this point the narrative of D. H. Peery's life becomes so 
interwoven with that of the family of his wife, that we will in- 
troduce the beautiful sketch of Mother Higginbotham, from an 
obituary of this venerable Saint, as recently published in the 
Woman's Exponent: 

Louisa, daughter of William and Nancy Thompson Ward, was born at 
Ward's Cove, in the famous Tazewell County of Mrginia, March 12th, 1808. 
She was wed September 8th, 1831, by William Higginbotham, scion of another 
famous Tazewell family. For ten years following they dwelt at Burkes Gar- 
den, enjoying wealth and jiublic esteem. Elder Jedediah M. Grant carried 
the gospel into this region in 1841. Louisa Ward Higginbotham was his sec- 
ond convert to the gospel. Her humble obedience in accepting baptism was a 
type of her entire life. She had been surrounded by worldly influences — 
pride of blood and arrogance of wealth; and yet she was able to cast aside the 
prejudices of birth, to brave the reproaches and even the disdain of kindred 
and friends, and to accept the gospel in gladness and humility. Once con- 
27 



210 TUr.LIIXiK's HISTUKIKS. 

viinfd of the truth, uothinj; foulil compel her to reUnquish it. Her husbaiul 
was impressed by her steadfastness, and soon demanded baptism from Elder 
Grant. 

lu 1842, William and I..oiiisa Higghibotham s:ierificed their property and 
all their prospects of rich inheritance, by leaving Virginia and removing to 
Illinois. In addition to the moiety which they realized from their eonsider- 
alile pos-sessions, they carried with them the angry pity of all their old asso- 
ciates. In 18-13, they and their little ones, Nancy and tSi'mon, were at Nauvoo. 
There they oft'ered their all to (>od, and partook with other of the Saints of 
the persecutions now historic. In the month of the suldinie martyrdom, a 
daughter was born to them, but died after a brief and troubled existence, while 
Loui.sa herself was helpless with anxiety and bodily suffering. On the lolh 
day of January, 184G, another daughter, Elizalieth Letitia, was given to them; 
and before Sister Higginliotham had rcovered her strength, they took part in 
the exodus of God's people from Xauvoo. They journeyed with the Saints 
to Council Bluffs, and were prejtaringto proceed into the unknown wilderness, 
when a message came to them that Louisa's father had died, leaving her a 
cansiderable estate in Virginia. They desired wealth for no selfish purpose; 
but, believing that it could lie made to bless their children, to aid the needy 
and advance the work of God, they decided to return to Tazewell before add- 
ing to the further difticulties of the Journey by further progress westward. 
Their return to their old home was a pilgrimage. The natural difficulties of 
travel were intensified for them, because they had no heart to turn their Ijacks 
upon their suffering friends, e^■en for so good a purjjose as they had in view. 
In Missouri they were delayed liy Louisa's serious illness, and by the subse- 
((uent birth of a son — Francis. 

The settlement of the estate was a tedious matter. While the affair wa.s 
pending, Xancy Cambell, (the eldest daughter of William and Louisa) was 
won in marriage l>y David H. Peery, a young, but noted merchant of Burkes 
Garden. Xancy was devoted to the gospel, but her husban<l was then a 
bitter opponent of the Church. He knew little about his wife's faith; and he 
knew much aliout the loss of prestige, the loss of money and the gain of con- 
tempt which followed an avowal of belief in Mormonism, among the aristo- 
cratic people of Virginia. Nancy was Sister Higginbotham's ahnost idolized 
child: she was the eldest living, and she had licen liaptized at Nauvoo; besides, 
.she was in delicate health. When the property was secured William and Louisa 
could not depart from Tazewell. The prospect of leaving their best beloved 
behind them was too grim; even though she might l>e in the care of a MX'althy 
husliand, indulgent to her in all things except in the matter of her religion. 
Sister Higginbotham then joined with Nancy in an effort to convert Mr. 
Peery to an understanding of the truth. They were engaged in this effort, 
and had won him to a consideration of the gospel requirements, when the fire 
of war broke out, enveloping \'irginia in its fiames. Sister Higginbotham and 
her family met a long .series of appalling disasters: 

Nancy's eldest child died May 1st, isol. Then David H. Peery and Simon 
(Sister Higginbotham's eldest son) odisted in the Confederate army. In the 
spring of 1802 Simon was struck down by army fever. He was brought to the 
house of David's father, which was nearer the scene of conflict than was 
Burkes Garden, and there William and Louisa hastened. They found him 
almost dead; but he soon recovered and re-entered the army. The" fever spread. 
David H. Peery 's father and mother were attacked, and died in the .summer. 
William, Sister Higginbotham's husband, was seized, and died in July, 18()2. 
The destroyer also took Nancy in a fatal endjrace. She suffered for three 
months, and then gave liirth to a son. Nine days later, on September 30th, 
1802, Nancy died; and on the 12th of October her little baby was buried by her 
side. 

Thus, by a series of calamities, unforeseen as they were terrible. Sister 
Higginbotham found herself robbed of her dearest treasures. Without a de- 
fendant, she was far from the jieople of God; in a country war-cursed; her 
wealth was fast vanishing; and she and her little ones were in'daily peril of their 
lives; while every hour she feared to learn that Simon had met his death in 
battle. Her son-in-law had encountered a fate no less sad. Parents, wife, and 
all his children liut one, had been taken by death; and of his vast possessions 



DAVII) II. PEEUY. '211 

but little reiiirtiiied. However, there was one treasure which was loft of the 
beloved Xaiu-y; this was a daujrhter two years old — Loiiissi Letitia. Through 
this little i-liilil, the one link now existing between I^ouisa Ward Hijiginbothani 
and David H. TetiTV, nuieh good was aeeoniplislied. Througli all the woes of 
war and devastation, Sister Higginliothani had keytt herself and lier remain- 
ing children lirui in the faith. .She now made a fervent appeal to Mr. Peerv, 
begging him to accept the go.«pel, and to migrate to I'tah with her. .She eould 
not leave the little Louisa, but she made her also a petitioner. Mr. Peery had 
not forgotten tlie gentle sermons of his wife; his bitterness left him, and soon 
conviction was wrouglit in his soul. He acceptetl the gospel and was baptized 
in the spring of IStio. Having accomphslieil this work, so dear to her heart. 
Sister Higginbotham would have been glad to tind a refuge with tlie ])eople of 
God; but she was hemmed in l>y the raging strife. In ISliS, David H. Peery 
returned to the army, and in his alisence the I'nion troops descended upon 
the place and tired his palatial residence and stores of merchandise. After 
this sueees-siou of disa.sters, he found himself still further reduced. His goods 
were gone; his landed po.«sessions were rendered comparatively ^■alueless; and 
his tens of thousands of dollars in buok accounts and notes were either de- 
stroyetl, or rendered temporarily worthless by the death or financial ruin of 
his ilebtors. .So situated, the spring of ISiU found them. 

By this time Mrs. Higginbotham had been able to impress upon the mind 
of her son-in-law her own anxiety to emigrate to Zion. After nnieh anxious 
pleading on her part, he consented to go with her, and she determined to take 
the tin-t opportunity, because her previous delay had been attended by sucli a 
s-;"ries of awful disasters, that she would no longer provoke fate. David H. 
Peery's f.iith in the gospel had now grown active and enthralling. He and 
youiig .'-'inion withdrew from the army and sent substitutes; but the conscrip- 
tion in this last epoch of the struggle had become so universal and so strict in 
the South, that if they departed itinust be by stealth. Mrs. Higginbotham 
gatheivd the few remnants of her own property and aided her son-in-law in 
aeeunuilating his available means; and then under her advice, David and 
Simon left Burkes Garden in the night on horseback, to travel to t'atlettsliurg, 
Kentucky, where they were to await her coming, .she secured two wagons, 
into which she packed all the valuables belonging to Mr. Peery and herself 
which she could safely carry; obtaineil a considerable number of good horses, 
and secured a nephew of Mr. Peery, a young boy below the draft age, to dri\e 
one team, while her son Francis was to drive tlie other. She packed away 
under the f;\lse bottom of a trunk ?1,400 doUai's in coin, belonging to ^Ir. 
Peery; and S;iiK1 in gold, belonging to herself, she secreted on her own j>erson. 

One night, just Ijcforeshe was going to depart, envious neighbors broke into 
tlie stables, loosed her horse* and drove them away. Undaunted by this dis- 
aster, she soon replaced the stock, and this time, in order to make her departure 
a certainty, she went to one Col. Swan, a Confederate ofticcr of her aciiuainl- 
ance, and frankly told him of her trouliles. She said that she \\as a Mormon, 
and that she desired to leave for I'tah with such little property as the calam- 
itous war liad left to her. The Colonel gave her a military escort of tifteen 
men to accompany her through the Confederate lines; and she journeyed in 
s.ifety to the banks of the Big Sandy, where the soldiers were obliged to lea\e 
her. " This was one of the most dangerous s])ots inuiginable, for it was directly 
on the line between the two opposing forces; and this was an hour, twi, of 
peculiar peril, because all the original bitterness of the strife had been inten- 
sified by three long and bloody years. Besides, the region between the two 
armies was infested by guerillas, who .spared neither friends nor enemies, and 
who had no regard for age or sex. 

.Sister Higginbotham was a heroine as great asany sungof in classic story. 
Without shedding a tear, she saw her escoi't depart and lea\-e her with one 
dear daughter, just blossoming into girlhood, one precious little grandchild, and 
two young boys, to fai'c all the dangeis of that guerilla-infested region. The 
first "night after her escort left her, her party camped on the banks of the Big 
Sandy. In some mysterious way she received an intimation that robliers hail 
hovered about her path, and that they were intending to descend upon her 
camp, murder the boy.s, steal the horses, and e.scai)e with all the portables of 
value. Without a moment's hesitation she instructed Ixr son and his com- 



212 tullidgk's histories. 

paniou to take tlie horses up the river, autl there seeiire a trustworthy gui<k' 
who could lead them through the mountains over to C'atlettsburg, a distance 
of seveutv-five miles, where they were to unite themselves with David and 
.Simon. When Francis remonstrated against leaving her, she told liim that 
she and lier two girls would stay with the wagons and the property, and with- 
out any earthly protector they would still be kept in safety, and that they 
would'join him at Catlettsburg. 

Some hours after the boys had departed the guerillas assailed the little 
camp. They ransacked the two wagons, but failed to find any of the money. 
They took such things as they wanted, and Sister Higginboiham otlcred no 
resistance and solicited no favor, since she believed that either would be friiil- 
less. But finally in overturning a trunk the robbers discovered the clothing 
and jewelry of her dead daughter Nancy, and these things appearing valuable, 
they exultingly seized and apportioned them among the members of their 
gaiig. This outrage was more than she could bear, and she screamed with 
pain and anger. Fortunately, she was heard by a Mrs. Blackburn, Mho lived 
in that vicinity, and who hastened from her residence to answer the call of 
<listress. Tlie robbers, fearing to be identified by one who could expose them 
to the vengeance of the military authorities, fled. Sister HigginVjotham 
found entertainment at the Blackburn residence for a day or two, until a Hat- 
boat came down the river; and upon this she took passage with her two girls 
and such of her property as was remaining after the assaidt of the merce- 
naries; and then she journeyed in comparative safety and comfort to Catletts- 
liurg, where she found David, Simon and Francis in good healtli, but very 
anxious concerning her. 

The ]iarty went to Omaha by boat, having previously disposed of their 
horses. They expected at Omaha to join a company of Latter-day Saints ami 
proceed w itli their friends across the plains; but they were disappointed in 
their hope. They purchased oxen for their wagons and united with a com- 
pany of JNIissouri jjeople, who were strangers to them and not of tlieir faith. 
They traveled in i)eace for some days, but their companions (some of whom 
were from the mobocratie regions of Missouri), discovered that Sister Higgin- 
botham and her family were Mormons, and the cruel people, having horse 
teams, deserted the little party upon the plains and left them to tight their 
way across unprotected and alone. Our friends proceeded pluekily, though 
slowly; and but a short time after they were deserted they found the remains 
of the horse train. ISIost of the men had been slain, the wagons plundered, 
and the stock stolen by Indians. Only a few people survived, and they were 
very glad to rejoin the party of Mr. Peery and travel with his ox-teams" to tiie 
mountains. 

After reaching Utah, Sister Higginboiham resided at Provo for a brief 
period, and then came to Ogden. In the meantime the strong ties which had 
existed between her family and David H. Peery were doubled by his marriage 
with her only surviving daughter — Elizabeth Letitia. 

Soon after his arrival in Utah — namely, in the winter of 

1864, Mr. Peery taught school at Mill Creek, and in the spring of 

1865, he bought Dr. Lees' farm on Big Cottonwood, and went to 
farming. On the 10th of April, 1865,' he married Miss Letitia 
Higginbotham, sister of his deceased wife, who is still his only 
living wife, he never having been in polygamy. In the fall of 
1866 he moved to Ogden; M'here he soon began to thrive, and in 
the spring of 1867 he was employed by Bishop West as a clerk 
in his store. Soon thereafter he sold a farm in Virginia for 
$10,000, besides getting several thousand dollars in collection of 
debts, which enabled him, in connection with Lester J. Hcrrick, 
to buy out Bishop West's store. In 1860 Peery & Herrick sold 
out to the newly established Z. C. M. I., of which itistitution Mr. 



PEERY & mack's mills. 213 



PEERY & MACK'S MILLS. 



The Phcenix Mills, owned by Messrs. Peery & Mack, have 
quite an interesting history, and considerable industrial impor- 
tance in the agricultural commerce, not onh- of Weber Countv, 
but also of Utah generally. 

A brief history of the Weber Mills, built by Bishop 
Chauncey W. West, has already been given in the City history. 
These mills, after the death of Bishop West, were sold to William 
Jennings, who ran them for several years when ho also sold 



Peery became manager, retaining his position until the fall of 
1875, when he went to the Southern States on a mission. 

Returning from his mission in 1876, Mr. Peery began sell- 
ing goods at the Weber Mills, with Messrs. Herrick, W. W. Bur- 
ton and the Higginbothams; and soon after they started a 
branch store in Ogden City, on Fourth Street. After a very suc- 
cessful business, Mr. Peery sold out his share of the institution 
to his partners, in 1878, having been appointed, by Brigham 
Young, President of the Weber Stake of Zion in ^lay, 1877. In 
June, 1879, Mr. Peery went on another mission to the South, i 

accompanied by fifteen young missionaries, his wife, and four of j 

his children. Since that time he has been active in the general ; 

affairs of Weber County, which he represented in the Legisl;.- 
ture for eight years. In the House Mr. Peery was known for i 

the soundness, practical features and honesty of his measures. j 

In the later period of Ogden's commercial growth, Mr. 
Peery has done his full share. In 1S81, he built a handsome I 

block on Main Street, at a cost of $25,000; and in 1883, he built ^i 

another brick block on Fourth Street, Hill Side, at a cost of '^ 

,$•25,000. On January 8th, 1884, he was elected one of the di- 
rectors of the First National Bank of Ogden; and on January 
19th, 1886, he was elected vice-president of the bank. Thus his 
historj'^ shows that Hon. David H. Peery is a fitting representa- 
tive of the material interests of a country; he is of the old Vir- 
ginia stock, and is a man who never turns away the hungry from I 
his door, nor refuses to help the deserving in time of need. 

He is an unostentatious man, but strong in his points of char- 
acter and decision — a man of great probity and ju.stice; one 
whose experience in life has taught him to respect the rights of 
every class and to be exceedingly tolerant to his fellow man. 



214 tullidge's histories. 

them, D. H. Peery being the purchaser, he paying .'i!25,000 for thi- 
property. By numerous and extensive improvements, the mill 
was put into excellent condition, and Peery's Mill became 
known as one of the finest in the Territory, having a grinding 
capacity of four hundred Ijushels of wheat daily, besides corn. 
This mill ran with a very successful business until the summer 
of 1882. 

On the oOth of .July, 1882, Peery's Mill was burned down. 
In April, 1883, Mr. Peery entered into partnership with Mr. 
James Mack, the enterprising miller of Smithfield, Cache 
Valley, and present owner of the Smithfield Mills. The experience 
of Mr. Mack, as a practical miller and a successful merchant in 
his line of business, was a valuable acquisition, both to Mr. 
Peery, as a partner, and to Ogden as a great shipping mart for 
Utah flour. In Cache \'alley, Mr. Mack had already made a de- 
cided mark as a flour merchant and exporter of Utah flour to the 
surrounding Territories, and the combination of two such men 
as David H. Peery and James ilack was a guarantee from the 
onset that Ogden City was about to own the finest merchant flour 
mill in the Territory and that it would, with such a combination, 
hold the lead again.<t all rivalry. 

The partnership having Ijeen eff'ected, they commenced pull- 
ing down the ruins of the old mill; and, while this was being 
done, Mr. Mack went East to purchase the machinery and 
to contract for the millwright work. The contractors for the 
machinery were the Gratiot Manufacturing Company of Chicago, 
who took the entire charge of putting in the machinery, undei- 
the supervision of their chief millwright, Mr. Race, and to start 
it and run it for thirty days, under Mr. Lally, their expert miller. 
Accordingly the projjrietors commenced, in July, to build the 
now Pha?nix Mill, and in November it was completed; it com- 
menced to run on the 15th of November, 1883, from Mhich 
dates the history of Ogden's exportation of flour, consequent on 
the existence of the Phoenix Mills, and there also came an apprecia- 
tion abroad of the superior quality of our Utah wheat, as exhibited 
in its manufactured condition, when delivered from these now 
celebrated mills. 

The now celebrated mills are situated on Main Street, on Mill 
Creek, which is a branch of the Ogden River, and the new build- 
ings are on nearly the same ground as were the old. As their 
name implies, they have risen from the ashes of the old mills, 
which were burned down, thus symbolizing a poetical fancy 
(juite rare in every-day business affairs, but David H. Peery is 
decidedlv classical in his predilections. The building on tin- 
ground floor is forty-four by forty-five feet, and five stories in 
height. Its first two stories are of rock, with walls five feet thick 



I 



t-. 



PKEKY A mack's mills. 215 

at tlic fomi<latioii and thirty inclies on the second story. The 
tliird and fourth stories are of brick, with walls two feet and 
twenty-one inches thick respectively, and the fifth story is a frame 
completely covered with iron. The machinery is of the latest 
improvement, tlie wliole being wliat is known as a roller mill, 
and on the gradual reduction system; indeed the Phtenix was 
tlie first roller mill in the Territory. 

The basement of the building is occupied by the main line 
shaft, boots, wheat sinks, bran packer, etc. The second or grind- 
ing floor is occujiied by the wheat scales, where the wheat is re- 
ceived, and also four Gratiot rolls and four OdcU double rolls, 
two flour packers, water-wheel governor and oflice. The third 
floor is occupied by flour bins, wheat bins, and one Smitli puri- 
fier. The fourth floor is occupied with two six-reel bolting chests, 
and one six-reel scalping chest; three Smith purifiers, aud each B* 

lias the "Peerless" dust collector attached; one wheat separator, 
one brush machine, and one bran duster. The fifth floor has 
one grading reel, one dusting reel, three Smith purifiers with dust 
collectors attached, one wheat receiving separator, and one Mor- 
gan smutter. In connection with the mill is a Avheat elevator, 
liolding twenty thousand bushels, and a brick fire-proof ware- 
liouse forty-five by fifty-five feet, in whioli the flour is all stored 
as fast as packed. 

The motive power of the Phcenix Mills is water, driven by 
a forty-four inch James Letfel special water-wheel, giving one 
liuudred and twenty liorse power, about half of which they are 
using. Adjoining the mill is a find pond including about six 
acres of ground artificially built, with a good wagon road around 
on the top of the banks, which are planted with a row of young 
poplar trees on each side. The pond is a fine, extensive basin 
of water from the Ogden River and is plentifully furnished witii 
fish, both German carp and native trout; the former being culti- 
vated, tlie latter coming into the pond from the river. 

The plant of the Phtenix Mills cost $50,000, and they have 
a capacity of production amounting to thirty thousand pounds 
of flours per day. The enterprise of Messrs. Peery A Mack is 
fully equal to this capacity, and they are shii^ping to all parts of 
rtah, and into the surrounding Territories of Wyoming, Idaho 
aud Montana. Their exportations for 1880 were three million, 
one hundred and fifty thousand pounds, or thirty-one thousand 
five hundred sacks of flour; besides, they have ground 30,000 
bushels of grist work for the farmers during the year, and the 
mill is only running half of its capacity; but the owners expect 
to put everything to its full capacity as fast as the ojiportunities 
otter for the exportation of Utah flour. 

That there are ob.'^taele.s to the shipment of vxcw as fine 



2If) TUr,LI[)GE's HISTORIES. 

Hour ;is tlio mills make, is part of the controversy inherent in 
railroads as they have lieen liitherto conducted, and which inter- 
State legislation is intended to remedy. 

. Tlie shipment of flour is naturally preferable to shipping 
wheat, Utah fanners need their own offal, and freight for flour is 
thus less than for the wheat to make it; yet the mills of Denver 
are not anxious to sec our flour in their market; local supply of 
wheat will not keep their machinery continually running, so 
they look this way not only from choice but of necessity. Peery 
& Mack were entitled however th the Northern trade, if enter- 
prise could always secure its own; but railroad discrimination 
steps in to the detriment of local trade, for flour from Minnesota 
lias passed through Ogden and via the Oregon Short Line into 
the Montana market at less rates than could be secured from 
Ogden or Logan. If legislation remedies this anomaly then the 
Plioenix Mills and their indomitable proprietors will have what 
expenditure and personal ambition really deserves. There are 
no such mills in Montana as the Phoenix; yet the Montana peo- 
ple, like all Western communities, want the best of everything, 
and no doubt they will now welcome that which equals the Min- 
nesota product, and avoids some two thousand miles or more of 
travel. As for their ability as capitalists, Messrs. Peery & Mack 
are able to undertake the greatest enterprises, in the manufac- 
ture and exportation of Utah flour; and, while they are both men 
of rare prudence, they are well known to be sufficiently bold for 
gigantic enterprises which shall promise safety for their invest- 
ments, and a fair success of their efforts, in developing the na- 
tive resources and industries of our Territory. 

Messrs. Peery & Mack to run their fine well-appointed mill, 
Avith their practical sagacity, engaged a first class miller to super- 
intend their works. This gentleman — Mr. Fred. W. Dre3'er — is an 
experienced miller from Minnesota, who has been with this firm 
and successfully running their mill for several years. 

In thus engaging a foreman from the great flour-producing 
State of America, the proprietors have shown the excellent judg- 
ment of thorough business men, who rank efficiency in the man- 
agement of large concerns, as only second to sufficient capital to 
accomplish desired results. Mr. James Mack, himself, is also 
equal to manage the mills, but his time is divided between the 
Phoenix and his Smithfield Mills; so, with young James Mack 
and Mr. Dreyer at Ogden running the Phcenix, and the elder 
Mack superintending the whole, it may be said that the manage- 
ment of the Phcenix is of the ablest character. 



n 



i 



I 



ll 



SIDNEY STEVENS. 217 




SIDNEY STEVENS. 



Sidney Stevens, of Ogdeu City, is known as one of the most 
substantial and enterprising men of Utah. He has done much ' 

in the building up of Ogden City, and in the business enter- 
prises of Northern Utah generally, he has for years been one of I 
the foremost men. • j 

Sidney Stevens was born in the town of Nunney, Somer- ; 

shire, England. His father was James Stevens, an influential 
business man of the above named county; his mother's maiden I 

name was Hannah Martin. They had six sons and two [ 

daughters. Sidney was their youngest child but one. 

The homestead of the family was adjoining Nunney Castle, ! 

which was one of those famous old castles of England that with- i 

stood the assaults of the guns of Oliver Cromwell's army. Mr. 
Stevens, the father of Sidney, purchased his property, called 
Castle Green, when he was a young man. He was a leather 
dealer and manufacturer of boots, shoes and harness; and on 
his property there were a number of houses, a store and his 
factory. 

His son, Sidney, was educated at the Turner Institute, l 

which was a school of high reputation in the county; to which 
school the sons of the yeomanry and lesser gentry were sent by 
their parents from the neighboring villages and towns, to obtain 
their education, as well as the young men of the town of 
Nunney. None were taken at this school at less than the ages 
of from twelve to twenty j^ears. 

In this connection a circumstance may be named, which 
occurred in the school days of Sidney, which indirectly led him 
into business for himself a few years later. The following is i 

substantially Sidney's narrative of his school days and early life: 

It happened, on one occasion, the professor of the school went to London 
to attend his sister's funeral, leaving the school under the cliarge of his assis- 
tant. The latter having liut little of the controlling character possessed by the 
absent professor, the scholars were left without their usual restraint, which 
nearly led to a disgraceful and somewhat dangerous irruption among the 
scholars. There were two factions in the school, one of the young men from 
the town of Wanstrow, and the other of Nunney, to which the' school belonged. 

The Nunney youths looked upon those from Wanstrow as interlopers of a , 

neighboring town, who were rivaling tliem for honors in their own school. 

Hence a feud had grown up between them, which the absence of the professor 1 

brought to an issue. The students of Nunney were more numerous than those 
from Wanstrow; and this stronger native force formed a conspiracy to thrash 
the weaker party, and by intimidation drive tliem from t^ieir school before the 
jirofessor's return. 
28 



218 tullidge's histokies. 

On the Friday evening iireceding one Saturday's vacation, when theWan- 
strow lioys usually returne(l home to spend the Sabbath with their parents, 
Sidney learned from one of his school mates what was to occur next morning, 
in the" assault upon the ^^'anstrf)w youths, as they were about to start for home, 
and he resolved to be on hand to prevent it, if possible. There was a boarding 
house near the school, where the obnoxious students boarded; and near by the 
assailants had gathered, the next morning, to fall upon their rivals, when' they 
came out of the gate on their way to their own town. Sidney was also there, and 
just as the assault was about to begin, as the others approached, he lept upon 
the iron fence of the boarding house and addressed the Nunney boys, apiteal- 
ing to their honor and love of fair play, urging that, if they conquered the 
weaker party, it would liring no credit upon them f(^r courage, and that it 
would lie a disgrace upon the school, which the professor would chastise them 
for on his return, by expelling the ring-leaders from the school. His address 
brought the young men to reason, and peace was effected between the two 
parties, who were l»oth present. The result was that the circumstance was 
made known to the parents of the threatened youths, and the professor, on 
his return, so warmly approbated the conduct of Sidney, that he became a 
great favorite in the neigiiboring town of Wanstrow, where he was on several 
occasions invited to spend his vacations by the parents of the boys whom he 
defended, and who afterwards invited him to their town to couimeuce busi- 
ness on his own account. 

At about the age of fifteen Sidney Stevens left school, his father needing 
him in his business, the elder sons having set up for themselves. He remained 
with his father from that age till he was eighteen, keeping up his friendly 
relations with his Wanstrow schoolmates, who prevailed upon him to leave his 
native place and start for himself at Wanstrow, sujiported by the i^atronage of 
their parents. He accordingly accepted the opportunity, and set up in that 
town as a manutacturer of boots and shoes, and as also a grjuii dealer. His 
business grew fast and was very profitable, his patrons being the leading 
citizens of the town and yeomanry of the surrounding country. He employed 
a number of hands. 

His business thus increasing, it was necessary to advertise for more men, 
and strangely this circumstance was the means of leading him into the Mor- 
mon Church, and ciinsecpiently to emigrate to Utah. 

One of the applicants for employment was a young Mormon. He was 
engaged; his young master knew nothing of his religious connections imtil 
nearly a year afterwards. It was brought to his knowledge liy a controversy 
raised in the shop against the disciple of Mormonism. One of the employees, 
who possessed a control over his shopmates, had infiuenced them to .join him 
with threats to lea\'e the employ, unless the Mormon was dischared; and so 
the foreman reported the case to his employer, and recommended the dis- 
c'large as reiiuired. This aroused Sidney Stevens' indignation, and he forth- 
with relinked the men, telling them that they had no right to Interfere with 
the young man or his Mormon religion, n<">r he with theirs; and if they 
wanted to leave his employ they might, t:)ut that he woukl not discharge the 
Mormon on account of his religious faith. The men, ashamed of themselves, 
yielded and the schism in the factory eniled. 

Thus it continued until the young Mormon was about to emigrate, when 
he went to Mr. Stevens and told "him honorably, giving the month's warning 
usually requireil; whereupon, Mr. Stevens, who valued him for his excellent 
conduct while in his employ, offered him an increase of wages and to make 
him his foreman. The reply of the Mormon was, "No, sir; not if you will 
treble my wages." Nothing" could induce the Mormon to alter his mind, but 
he embraced the opportunity of preaching to his employer the gospel of the 
gathering, and bore his testimony to Mormonism in general; he also left 
with Mr. Stevens some of Orson Pratt's tracts, on faith, repentance, and 
baptism. 

This devotion of the young Mormon, and the absolute confidence mani- 
fested in his thus leaving "his native land, rejecting the offered prospects, pre- 
ferring to gather to Utah with the peoi)le of' a kinilred faith, so impressed Mr. 
Steveiis that he commenced the perusal of Orson Pratt's tracts. While thus 
engiiged, one evening, the minister of the Methodist church where Mr. 



SIDNEY STEVENS. 219 

Stevens attended, called upon him on a usual visit. This minister was the 
father of two of Sidney's sclioohnates, wlio with others liad persuaded him to 
come to Winstrow, and who also fre juently visited him to spend an liour. 
Seeing Pratt's tracts on the table, the minister at once beeauie alarmed, and 
forthwith urged his young friend to put those pernicious tracts in the fire; and 
if any more were brought to his door to refuse to take them in. He also de- 
clared that the Mormons did not believe in the Bible; but Si<lney answered 
that in this lie was mistaken, and showed the minister a numbi-r of passages 
from the Bible quoteil in Pratt's tracts. Tlie minister, however, persisted in 
his denunciations of the Mormons, and said that tliey quoted Scripture to fur- 
ther their delusions, and to easier lead tlie unwary into their trap. 

But by this time Mr. 8te\ens h.id, liy his readings, become somewhat ac- 
quainted witli the subject of Jlormonism, and the warning of the minister did 
not deter him from the perusal of these and other Mormon works, and a few 
months thereafter he joined the Church. 

For awliile some of his patrons forsook him in consequence of the step 
which he had taken, yet his business declined not, as it drew new customers, 
and soon his old friends returned to him; and, notwithstanding his espousal of 
the obnoxious religion, the personal respect of the townsmen towards him re- 
mained unimpaired; and even the aggrieved Methodist minister, though he 
lost in Sidney one of his congregatton, refrained from using his iulluence 
against him, remembering the honest defense which Sidney had given his 
sons when they were at Xunney scliool. 

Mr. Stevens was baptized into the ^lornion church on the 21st day of De- 
cember, 1861. In the fall of l.st)2 he advertised to sell out his business;' in Feb- 
ruary, 1SG3, he sold it; an<l in the following month of May he eiuigrated to 
Utah, assisting also about a dozen familes to emigrate tliat sea.sou. 

Previous to his departure from his native land, Sidney Stevens married 
Mary Jane Thick, a niaiden from the town of Hallwell, Dorsetshire. They 
were married at Liverpool May 22, 1863. 

Here we end the narrative of Sidney's early days, and there- 
after simply follow his business career in Utah. 

Arriving at New York, Mr. Stevens and his wife stayed 
there a short time, and then proceeded to St. Joseph, where Mr. 
Stevens also tarried a while, making purchases of a load of tea 
and sugar to give him a start in Utah's commerce. Having 
sent his merchandise up the river to Florence, he followed to 
that place, which was then the rendezvous of the emigrants, to 
outfit for the journey across the plains to Utah. From this 
point he started with two wagons, four yoke of cattle and two 
cows, and traveled in an independent company, ivhich joined 
Captain McArthur's train, sent down to the frontiers for the 
poor by the Perpetual Emigration Fund Company. They ar- 
rived in Salt Lake City about the middle of October; and there 
Mr. Stevens stayed during the winter to look around the country 
to see where to locate. 

Having thus remained in Salt Lake City awhile, he started 
for Ogden, but on the way, being met by Bishop Layton, of 
Kaysville, he was jjersuaded to stop at that place, to strengthen 
the business force of that settlement. The Bishop said Kays- 
ville needed just such a man as Sidney Stevens to develop its 
business and commercial interests, and, that if the latter would 
stay and open a store, he would do all in his jiower to help his 
patronage. 



220 tullidge's histories. 

Thus induced, Mr. Stevens stopped at Kaysville, where he 
bought a situation in the centre of the town, with the expecta- 
tion of going into merchandise at that place. There he stayed 
for a j'ear, and sold the goods which he brought from the States; 
holding himself in abeyance, however, for a permanent location, 
and finally he chose North Ogden. 

In 1865, Mr. Stevens came to North Ogden, and purchased 
a piece of property in the centre of the town, where stands his 
fine country store and residence, occupied by him at the present 
time. Here he built a tannery, and went into the purchasing of 
hides of the northern country, manufacturing them into leather, 
which he made up into boots, shoes and harness, also selling 
leather to the trade. This branch of home manufacture he 
carried on with fair success, for a period of seven years, until 
the importation of States' leather, of a superior qualitj', and at 
a cheaper rate than it could be manufactured at home, made this 
branch of home manufactures an impossible line of successful 
business, the home trade not being able to compete with impor- 
tation from the States by the railroad. 

Mr.Stevens, during the years of the growth of his business 
at North Ogden, had sold plows and other farming implements. 
He acted as a commission agent for the people of this 
county, sending East to purchase farming implements and ma- 
chinery for them every season. This was one of the methods 
of Utah commerce in the earlier days. 

But when the railroad was completed, Mr. Stevens went to 
Ogden and there .started the line of business in which he has 
become so well known, not only throughout Utah and surround- 
ing States and Territories among his agents and customers, but 
to the great houses of the East, and the commercial agencies, 
where he is rated as one of the most solid and enterprising bus- 
iness men of the West. 

In the building up of Ogden City, Sidney Stevens had so 
much faith in its future, that he invested largely in real estate. In 
1878, he built on Main Street the Stevens Block, a fine three story 
building, of improved modern style, where he intended to carry 
on his machinery and implement business, but rented it for other 
purposes, continuing his machinery and implement business on 
Fifth Street at the old stand. He has purchased and shipped thou- 
sands of cargoes of Utah produce, bringing much money into the 
hands of his patrons, the farmers; and he has paid out to the peo- 
ple of North Ogden and vicinit}', for the products which they have 
traded at his stores, tens of thousands of dollars in cash, which 
has distributed much money among the jjeople, in settlements 
where money is scarce. For this Utah produce, he has looked 
up markets on his trips east and west, in Wyoming, Colorado, 





^■^;- 



r-V"^ 



WILLIAM nUIVER. 221 

Kansas and Nebraska, and north in Montana, being widely 
known as the hirgest shipper in Utah. He has also opened a 
lumber yard in Ogden City; and he disposes of the product of a 
number of saw mills in the North, which mills lie sold to the 
purchasers, taking lumber for his pay, thus giving employment 
to a great number of men. 

In fine, Mr. Sidney Stevens ranks in the business history of 
Northern Utah as an enterprising man second to none, and in the 
building up of Ogden City and its business stability, he has been 
an influential factor. 

XoTE. — In 1S.S5, while celebrating Washington's Birthday, Mr. Stevens's 
store at North Ogden was burned down. The natal day of the illustrious 
father of our country came on a Sunday. On the Monday Mr. Stevens gave all i ; 

his hands a hoUdaV to celebrate the occasion, he being a sincere lover of 

American institutioiis, and, therefore, patriotically appreciative of the day of i 

Washington's birth. The celebration of the day lieing over, one of his em- ' 

ployes, after dark, went into the upjier story to draw down the United States j 

tlag, which floated on the top of a pole over his store. It is supposed that in 

doin^ this, he dropped a match into five hundred pounds of cotton batting, :( 

which resultetl in the destruction of aU the stock in the upper story, and the I 

greater portion of the stock below, and ruined the brick Duilding; but Mr. i' 

Stevens rebuilt a much finer structure, and the following year — 1886 — again ; 

celebrated George Washington's birthday in the same place." 

Mr. Stevens also, in reconstructing it, built a tine conmiodious hall over ;i 

his store, for the social entertainment and moral and intellectual recreation of i 

the young folks of North Ogden, into the enjojTueut of which the old folks 
as agreeably partake. This hall— called "Stevens' Hall" and "Stevens' 
Theatre" has greatly added to the social Ufe and entertainment of the settle- 
ment where Mr. Stevens' family resides. | 

i 



WILLIAM DRIVER. 



Mr. AVilliam Driver of Ogden ranks among the principal 
business men of our Territory. 

He was born at Bury St. Edmunds, in the county of Suffolk, 
England, May 3d, 1S37. He is the son of George Driver and 
Mary Killingworth. His mother descended from the old family 
of the Russels, and, as her maiden name shows, the town of 
Killingworth bears her family name. 

The family birth place of the Drivers was Feltwell, in 
Norfolk, but Mr. Driver's father, who was a builder and con- 
tractor, having taken a contract at Bury St. Edmunds, with his 
wife moved there for awhile, and thus it was the birth place of 
their son; but when he was eighteen months old his parents re- 
turned to Feltwell. 



222 tullidge's histories. 

In his youth Mr. Driver attended tlic common school of 
Feltwell, where he received a fair education. Of the religious 
persuasion of the parents, it may be briefly noted that his mother 
was a Methodist, while his father was a liberal thinker, not 
bound to any sect or creed. 

At the age of twelve years Mr. Driver heard Mormonisni, 
and at fourteen he was baptized into the Church by Elder 
Thomas Stayner (now of Ogden), on the 25th of November, 1851. 
Soon after his l)aptism he was ordained to the office of a jariest 
by the celebrated Elder John Hj^de, and he occasionallj' presided 
over the meetings of the Saints; and, on account of his extreme 
youth, he drew many people to listen to his exposition of the 
principles of Mormonism. 

When he reached the age of fifteen he lost his father, who 
died on his sou's birthday. At the age of seventeen he left Felt- 
well and went to London, where he was employed at Price's lab- 
oratory, at Battersea. In this employ he sta\^ed two j'ears, and 
joined the Chelsea branch of the Church. There he was or- 
dained an elder, in 1854, by Elder John Lloyd Baker. In this 
employ and local ministry in the Church, he remained till 1856,^ 
when he was sent out into the regular ministry to travel in the 
Kent conference under John M. Browne. 

While laboring in this capacity, as a traveling elder, Mr. 
Driver was taken with cholera; and, after suffering excruciating 
agony, he was pronounced dead by his attendants. Such, how- 
ever, was not the case, as after an absence of three weeks, he 
has so far recovered as to be able to return to his field of labor 
in the Arundel district. From there he was transferred to the 
Hastings district, where he first met Miss , Charlotte Emblen 
Boulter, who soon afterwards became Mrs. Wm. Driver. 

In 1857, Mr. Driver's mother died, and he applied to his 
friend, Squire Buckworth of Cley Hall, Norfolk, to use his in- 
fluence to obtain him a position whereby he could render pecu- 
niary assistance to his young brothers, who by the death of their 
mother had been rendered orphans. Through his influence 
with Bagge, member of Parliament for West Norfolk, William 
Driver received a nomination for a position in the general post 
office, London; but he was disqualified for physical disability. 
The fai;e of a young Mormon elder at that time was not calcu- 
lated to develop strength or render him very robust. Failing to 
obtain this position he continued to travel in the London con- 
ference, over which Elder Wm. Budge at that time was president. 

Shortly after this date Mr. Driver ceased to travel in the 
ministr}', and was married at Holy Trinity Church, Brompton, 
Middlesex, to Charlotte Emblen Boulter, of Hastings, on the 
16th of August, 1858. He lived at Islington. At this time he 



WILLIAM DRIVER. 223 

was in view of an office under Government, as a custom house 
officer, througli the influence of Mr. Headlam, Solicitor-General 
of England, the Duke of Argj-le, Bagge, member of Parliament 
for West Norfolk, Sir W. Jolliffi, and his friend Squire Buck- 
worth, all of whom had signed the recommendation for the ap- 
pointment of Wm. Driver to the custom house service. This 
influence advanced his name over thousands, but through his 
mistake, in going to the treasury for his examination, instead 
of the Custom House, and the consequent ill-nature of the ex- 
amining officer when he reached the custom house — notwith- 
standing he explained the cause — an excuse was found to dis- 
qualify him. On informing a friend of his in the civil service 
commission, he exclaimed: "You fool, didn't you know that 
two guineas would have made the matter all right." 

After meeting with this disappointment, Mr. Driver went to 
work in the London Messenger office as a reporter and general utility 
man. The Messenger was a religious paper. Mr. Driver's wife 
was the niece of the then celebrated revivalist, Wm. Carter of 
London, who obtained for him the situation; but the proprietor 
soon found out that Driver was a Mormon elder and discharged 
him. After his discharge he went to Brighton, when his son 
George, who is now his partner in business, was born, at W'indsor 
Street, August 9th, 1850. There Mr. Driver worked as a painter, 
and presided over the Brighton Branch. But he soon returned 
to London and made application for employment at Price Chem- 
ical Works, Battersea, where he was employed until a short time 
previous to emigrating to L'tali. During the time he was in this 
chemical factory he was president of the Wandsworth Branch 
of the London conference. 

Mr. Driver, with his wife and four children, left London for 
New York, on board the CaroUrie, May 5th, 18ti6, and arrived in 
New York on the 10th of June. On the voyage Mr. Driver lost 
a little boy, two and a half years old, whose name was William. 
His death was the result of an accident caused by the rotten 
condition of the conveyance which they hired to transj^ort their 
luggage to the docks. The child was buried at sea. 

After landing they pursued their journey, and on their way 
by rail their luggage was burned at St. Albans, near the Cana- 
dian frontier. They were conveyed in cattle trucks from Mon- 
treal. On their way, at Buchanan, their train parted: six cars, 
loaded with Mormon emigrants, were capsized and smashed. 
The railroad official telegraphed three hundred killed, and urged 
assistance. When everything was straightened out, it was found 
that not one soul was killed. The officials declared it was a 
Mormon miracle. 

The company crossed the Plains in Captain Halliday an'd 



224 tullidge's histories. 

Patterson's ox train, and reached Salt Lake City, September 25, 
1866. During this trip across the Plains, Mr. Driver was sick 
with fever, and for several days his life was despaired of, but 
through the kind attention of his noble wife, who, notwithstand- 
ing she had three young children who needed her attention, and 
being destitute of means to obtain nourishment for her sick hus- 
band, did washing for some families in camp. This, with the 
arduous labors of travel day after day, finally broke down her 
robust frame, and, at Hardy's Station, she fell insensible, over- 
come with fatigue and exhaustion. Mr. Driver owes his life to 
the noble woman's constitution and wifely devotion. 

Mr. Driver was employed at the Western Union Telegraph 
Office, Salt Lake City; and next by the Deseret Telegraph Com- 
pany. Under the superintendence of A. M. Musser, Esq., he 
built the telegraph lines from Chicken Creek to Gunnison, and 
put the line in repair from Logan to St. George. A notable in- 
cident occurred while Mr. Driver was employed by the Western 
Union. He was knocked from the top of a pole about twenty- 
five feet high, turned three somersaults in the air, and struck the 
ground square on his feet, without receiving any injury. 

While in the employ of the Deseret Company, he received a 
telegram from Salt Lake City, which read: "Your wife is dying; 
do you want to come home to see her?" He was at Cove Creek 
Fort, over two hundred miles away. " Thanks to Dr. Sprague 
and President Brigham Young and other kind friends," says Mr. 
Driver, " she still lives." 

After this he was employed to do team work for A. M. Mus- 
ser. He went out on the Plains to assist a company of emigrants. 
He was next employed to work on President John Taylor's con- 
tract, at Mountain Green, on the Union Pacific line. While 
waiting for work provisions ran out, and he walked to Salt Lake, 
a distance of thirty-eight miles, without breakfast. 

He returned with a team belonging to A. M. Musser, and 
continued rock hauling until the middle of November, when he 
returned to Salt Lake City with the team. Mr. Musser gave him 
a letter of recommendation to Wm. S. Godbe, who read it and 
said, "Brother Driver I feel well impressed toward you." Godbe 
gave him employment in his office the next day. He worked in 
Godbe's office, as clerk and cashier, till December, 1869, when 
he was sent to Ogden to assist in running Godbe's Branch Drug 
Store, with Octave Ursinbach. After Ursinbach was removed 
Driver was retained to run the business alone, which he did suc- 
cessfully, reviving the almost ruined business, making for Godbe 
& Co., in seven months, about five thousand dollars. When 
Godbe sold out their Ogden branch to Wright, Peiry & King, 
they wrote him the following: 



WILLIAM DRIVER. 225 

Office of Godbe & Co., 

Salt Lake City, July lith, 1871. 
Mr. Wm. Driver, Ogden: 

Dear Sir — As a mark of our appreciation of your attention to our Imsinoss 
in Ogden, at time? under difficulties, beiua; without sufticient help, when 
at great personal discomfort you remained at your post, and the business now 
being sold out, we deem it proper to express to you our thanks, which we 
know you will appreciate more than the money. We also desire to add that 
we have placed §50 to your credit here, subject "to your order, of which we insist 
on your acceptance. Truly yours, 

Godbe & Co. 

Wm. S. Godbe offered ]\Ir. Driver a position in the drug 
store in Salt Lake City, wliicli he did not feel that he could 
accept. 

Wm. Stoker and Doctor C. S; Nellis suggested that Mr. 
Driver start business on his own account; Stoker offered a loan 
of one thousand dollars to Driver to assist him, while Dr. Nellis 
offered to invest one thousand dollars. A copartnership was 
formed, between Driver and Nellis, to exist for two years; at the 
expiration of that time Driver bought out Nellis, the transfer 
being mutual. 

In 1874 Driver built the first three-story brick building in 
Ogden. The upper story was occupied by the Masonic frater- 
nity. At the dedication the speaker declared it to be the finest 
Masonic Hall between Omaha and Sacramento. The Masons 
occupied the hall nine years. In 1878 he took as partner his 
eldest sou, George. Since that his business has greatly in- 
creased, extending over Northern Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, and 
Nevada, with branch stores at Logan, Utah, and Montpelier, 
Idaho. 

Mr. Driver went to England on a mission, in 1879, leaving 
his business in charge of his son. Previous to his starting he 
was ordained to the office of a seventy by Uncle .Joseph Young. 
He crossed the Atlantic in the steamship Arizona, which made 
the quickest time on record — 7 days, 8 hours and 57 minutes. 
He was gone a year on this mission; and before his return he 
visited France and Scotland. 

Mr. Driver was one of the incorporators of the Ogden Street 
railroad, and was elected a director of the same. He was also 
elected a director of the Weber and Davis County Canal Com- 
pany; also of the Molecular Telephone Company — a rival of the 
celebrated Bell Telephone Company; also a director of the Og- 
den Building and Savings Association. In 1874 Mr. Driver was 
nominated in convention as alderman for the First Municipal 
Ward, which nomination, however, he declined in favor of E. 
Stratford. In February, 187G, he was nominated for councilor 
for the First Municipal Ward, and received the votes of the 
whole convention, with the exception of two blanks. He was 
29 



226 tullidge's histories. 

elected at the polls and served as chairman of street committee. 
How he performed his duty in that capacity is left for the great 
public to judge. 

Mr. Driver has had a large family born to him by his esti- 
mable wife, Mrs. Charlotte E. Driver, who is a lady of consider- 
able character, but they have met many bereavements; of their 
seventeen children, eleven daughters and six sons, only six survive, 
one having died in England, one at sea, and nine in Utah. 

In the future of Ogden, Driver & Son will most likely con- 
tinue to grow in commercial Aveight. That William Driver is a 
man of push and capacity is seen in the fact that it was he who 
set the example in building lofty structures in Ogden, which 
was quite a mark in the business growth of the city; for no town 
or city can assume a first class business importance that can only 
boast of low, one-story business houses. His rapid rise also, 
from "bed-rock" to commercial opulence, in but little over a de- 
cade, further illustrates his push and capacity, entitling him 
fairly to the rank of a representative man. As for his partner 
and .son, George Driver, he is the decided pillar of the house, and 
quite capable to sustain its increasing business in Utah and ad- 
jacent Territories. 



JOHN S. LEWIS. 



John S. Lewis — one of the most esteemed and influential 
citizens of Utah — who, in 1883, was chosen candidate of the Lib- 
eral party for the mayorship of Ogden City, is the son of Zadock 
Lewis and Maria Smith Lewis. He was born at Jonesborough, 
Washington County, East Tennessee, June 17, 1830. Early in his 
manhood he started in business for himself. In 1852, he went to 
Cleveland, Bradley County, in his native State, and in the follow- 
ing year he removed to Centreville, Iowa, where he opened a 
jewelry establishment. Soon afterwards he married Mrs. Mar- 
garet Young, the mother of his son, the promising, enterprising 
young business man of Ogden, who is now with him in partner- 
ship, under the firm name of J. S. Lewis & Co. 

In 1860, Mr. Lewis left Iowa and went to Colorado, to which 
place and others of the young mining Territories, a host of 
enterprising men in their youthful prime, like John S. Lewis, 
were migrating to tlie West from the Eastern States to find ex- 
pansion for their laudable ambition and native capacity. At first 



JOHN S. LEWIS. 227 

Mr. Lewis went into mininj^, but in 1862, he opened a store of 
general merchandise. In the following year he went to Denver, 
where he worked for one year at his trade, as jeweler; after 
which, in 18G4, he removed to Virginia City, and opened a store 
there, and, in 1865, he also opened a branch store in Helena. 

In 1869, the trans-continental railroads, having attracted 
enterprising men of his class toward the junction point of the 
Union Pacific and Central Pacific railroads, and Corinne seeming 
at that time to be the "City of Promise," in a business point of 
view, Mr. Lewis came to LTtah, and for awhile settled at Corinne; 
but, Ogden soon becoming determined as the junction city, he 
soon removed from Corinne to Ogden, where he resumed his 
own occupation as a jeweler. In 1870, he opened a jewelry es- 
tablishment in this city, and, finding favorable opportunies here, 
lie soon made his business very prosperous. 

In 1880, Mr. Lewis associated with him in his profession 
and business his son, Hyrum D. Lewis, under the firm name of 
J. S. Lewis & Co. In 1881, the firm erected a two-story brick- 
building, 60 by 20 feet, near the centre of the main commercial 
part of the town. The establishment contains a choice variety 
of gold and silverware, chronometers and other time pieces, and 
other varieties of the trade. The establishment of J. S. Lewis & 
Co. is the largest and oldest of the kind in Ogden. 

John S. Lewis, besides being one of the principal business 
men of Ogden City, is regarded by all classes as a representative 
citizen, of excellent moral and social cpialities, which rank him 
far higher in grade than the mere successful business man; and, 
as a mark of that appreciation of his character, (as already 
noted) he was chosen, by the Liberal party, in the municipal 
contest in 1883, as their candidate for the responsible office of 
mayor of Ogden City. 



L. B. ADAMS. 



Utah has supplied with her produce every one of the Terri- 
tories and States that has grown up on the Pacific slope. She 
first fed the emigrants to California on the latter half of their 
journey, furnished with grain the Overland Mail Company, 
raised food for Nevada, Montana and Idaho, and sent her tons of 
dried peaches everywhere; yet, until L. B. Adams came to Utah, 
following the track of the Union Pacific Railroad, there was not 
as much as one commercial man engaged as a legitimate exporter 



f 



228 tullidge's histories. 

— that is to say purchasing directly from the country its produce 
for money, and exporting it as his special line of commerce. 

L. B. Adams, the senior member of L. B. Adams & Com- 
pany, was born in Saxony, Germany, October 16, 1841. He came 
of good stock, as his appearance shows. He was educated in 
Europe till he reached the age of thirteen, when he came to 
America with his mother and two sisters, his father having 
already preceded them to this country. They arrived in the year 
1854, and went immediately to Rochester, in the State of New 
York, where thej"- permanently settled. 

In 1861, on the breaking out of the war, Mr. Adams, who 
was then not twenty years of age, enlisted in the Twenty-seventh 
New York Regiment. He was at the famous battle of Bull's 
Run, and in several other battles of which the nation can boast 
with honor. Remaining south till 1865, he returned on a visit | 
to Rochester, where his father still dwelt. After this he went 
to the oil region, in Pennsylvania, which at that time filled 
the country with a great sensation. He returned, however, to 
Rochester the same season, and immediately afterwards started 
for the West. It is at this point that the biography of L. B. 
Adams begins its local interest iii its relations with the com- 
merce of Utah. 

Mr. Adams, senior, at that period, sagaciously forecast that 
in the wake of the Union Pacific, which was now vigorously 
pushed forward, there would spring up new cities, and that this 
rapid development of the Great West would afford men of enter- 
prising characters extraordinary opportunities. His son also en- 
tertained the same view. Leaving his father and two sisters at 
Rochester, they designing to follow, the subject of our sketch 
started to make his mark in life in the development of the enter- 
prises of our western Territories. Mr. Adams, senior, was sick 
at the time, but, when his son left, hopes were given of his re- _ | 
covery. However, when the son reached Laramie, he received ^ I 
letters announcing his father's death and burial. 

From the start Mr. Adams followed the fortunes of the 
Union Pacific Railroad. He remained at Laramie only a short 
time and then went to Bryan, which was the winter terminus of 
that year of the Union Pacific. From Bryan he went to Echo. 
This all occurred in the year 1868. 

Mr. Adams remained in Echo about three months. There 
commenced that business which has grown into great account, 
and put into the people's pockets tens of thousands of dollars 
from our Utah exports. 

Mr. Adams purchased a wagon and periodically made 

a trip to Salt Lake City, going through Parley's Park over the 
Divide. These journeys were made for the purpose of purchas- 



II 



*l 
II 
II 



L. B. ADAMS. 220 

ing eggs, butter and early vegetables. These articles were high 
at that time in Salt Lake City, but they sold out at Echo at fab- 
ulous prices; a dozen of eggs fetched a dollar and a half, while 
butter on several occasions commanded a dollar. This was the 
starting of his business as a forwarding merchant and exporter 
of Utah produce. 

April, 1869, found Mr. Adams at Corinne, having been 
drawn there by the prevailing desire of the Gentile population 
of Utah at that date to make Corinne the capital commercial 
city of the North. He had already chosen his commercial line, 
perhaps following the natural instincts of a born exporter. 
Branching out with the same enterprising spirit that we have 
seen characterized him when he made his trips in his light M'agon 
to Salt Lake City for eggs and butter, he extended his operations 
over several counties of the north, establishing himself as a reg- 
ular dealer in Utah produce and forwarding merchant. He re- 
mained in Corinne till the spring of 1872. By this time he was 
thoroughly convinced that no city of Northern L^tah could pos- 
sibly rival Ogden as its commercial centre — Ogden that was des- 
tined to be the junction city of railroads from all quarters. He 
resolved to remove to Ogclen, which he did in the spring of 
1S72. Ogden was the exporter's proper point of operations, 
made so now geographically by this junction of railroads. More- 
over, he could not fill his proper commercial line as an exporter 
without free contact with the people of the northern counties, i. e., 
with the Mormon community. He now made quite an innova- 
tion in Utah commerce, by going into partnership with an enter- 
prising Mormon, who himself also dared the innovation. There 
were united in the export business two partners, one a Gentile and 
the other a Mormon. It was a most sagacious combination for 
such a commercial enterprise. The partner was Mr. AVilliam 
Vandyke, an Ogden citizen. The denomination of the firm was 
Adams & Vandyke. Mr. Adams, during his career in Utah, has 
also had very extensive and satisfactory relations as an exporter 
with Apostle Moses Thatcher, of Cache Vallej', of whom he 
speaks in the most cordial terms of respect for his business ca- 
pacity, and the free and sagacious part that this young Apostle 
of the North has taken in the development of our Utah exports. 

When Mr. Adams came to Ogden and formed partnership 
with Mr. Vandyke, there were not a hundred dozen of eggs sold 
in a month. But the firm of Adams & Vandyke was estab- 
lished on purpose to handle and export the produce of the 
country, not by the barter of States' goods for Utah products, 
but by direct j^urchases from the community, also from the mer- 
chants and co-operative stores. Thej' started by paying cash. 
Soon their line of commerce grew into importance and was en- 



230 tullidge's histories. 

couraged by the bishops and presidents of stakes, for the busi- 
ness gave direct returns of money to the country and distributed 
it among the people upon the regular equitable principles of 
commerce. 

But a preparation had already been made by Mr. Adams for 
an extensive business as a forwarding merchant and exporter, 
previous to his forming a co-partnership with Mr. Vandyke. In 
the years 1869-70-71 he established relations with Cache and 
Bear Lake Valleys and with most of the co-operative stores of 
Weber and ]\Iorgan Counties, and also with Salt Lake City. 

The business of Adams & Vandyke grew rapidly. Wagon- 
loads of eggs came to them from Cache Valley. Moses Thatcher 
was head and front of this export business from his stake, and, 
with his encouragement and push. Cache Vallej^ yielded vast 
supplies. President Peery, of Weber County, also encouraged 
this export trade. 

These Utah supplies from the various counties over which 
they had now established their business upon a large scale, 
Adams & Vandyke sent to all the principal railroad and mining 
towns in Nevada, and the surplus of the eggs and butter they 
sent to San Francisco. During the years of their copartner- 
ship, they encouraged the fanners to raise vegetables for ex- 
portation to these same points. They obtained openings for 
Utah potatoes in Colorado, where they sent car-loads upon car- 
loads. They also sent car-loads of potatoes into California. 
This grew into the potato boom some years ago, and our 
farmers for the first time began to realize what this legitimate 
exportation of Utah's produce was doing for the country. 

Business continued to increase more than one hundred per 
cent, from year to year. Meantime some dozen commission 
houses sprang up, proving that Utah exportation, of which 
Adams & Vandyke were the pioneers, was most successful, and 
that it was very much altering our Utah system of commerce. 
In the old time it was, so far as the masses were concerned, 
simply a system of barter, and, to them, discount upon every- 
thing which the agricultural districts produced. 

In the spring of 1877 Adams and Vandyke dissolved part- 
nership, each establishing himself on his own account, and fol- 
lowing the same line of business. 

The export trade is as yet only in its infancy. Ogden, as 
the junction city of the two great railroads passing tlirough our 
Territory, and the terminus of the Utah and Northern, will nat- 
urally develop extensive commercial enterprise on the export 
line, and L. B. Adams and William Vandj^ke will be classed in 
tlie history of Northern Utah as the pioneer forwarding mer- 
chants and exporters. 



p 



ITAH NATIONAL BANK. 231 



UTAH NATIONAL BANK. 



The Utah National Bank is really the oldest banking in- 
stitution in Ogden City. At the time of the advent of the rail- 
roads in this place, Warren Hussey had a bank here for a short 
time and then moved it away. It was not until May, 1875, that 
a regular banking house was established in this city hj J. E. 
Dooly and E. H. Orth, under the name of J. E. Dooly & Co. 
This institution continued until 1880, when the firm was re-or- 
ganized with new elements introduced, under the firm name of 
Guthrie, Dooly & Co. M^hen Dooly & Co. first began banking, 
the Ogden merchants were purchasing their bills of merchandise 
at Salt Lake City. This firm now rendered them facilities which 
enabled them to transact their extensive mercantile operations 
with Eastern houses direct, instead of through other channels, 
and the credit of our business men soon became firmly estab- 
lished, as Dooly & Co. readily endorsed them. 

In 1878, the firm built the Dooly block, in which the busi- 
ness of the house is still conducted. With the erection of these 
structures, together with the Stevens' block, there were inaugu- 
rated new and improved styles of architecture, and which has 
since added greatly to the material wealth of our city. 

In 1882, this institution became a national bank, and the 
business of the house has expanded, and contributed greatly to 
establish the present commercial and financial importance of the 
Junction City. 

Mr. Guthrie and Mr. R. M. Dooly have withdrawn from the 
bank, and new elements have been added to the strength of the 
firm. 

The present officers of the Utah National Bank are : J. E. 
Dooh', president; AVatson N. Shilling, vice-president, Louis B. 
Adams, cashier; these, with Caleb R. Hank, and Reese Howell, 
constitute the board of directors. 

The Utah National Bank block is a three story brick build- 
ing. It is thoroughly lighted, fitted up in excellent style with 
all the latest improvements and appointments. The upper rooms 
are used for offices of professional men. They are well arranged 
and provided with all the modern conveniences needed by the 
occupants. 

As an institution, the L^tah National Bank stands A 1, in 
its stability, its relations, and in the well known integritj^ and 
experience of the gentleman at its head. J. E. Dooly, in fact, is 
a name now fairly historical among the bankers of the Pacific 
States and Tei-ritories. 



232 tvllidge's histories. 

Mr. Shilling was born in Stark County, Ohio, in 1840. In 
1852, he moved with liis parents to Michigan, where he spent 
his life on the farm until the civil war broke out. In 1861, he 
enlisted in the army on the Union side, and served until 1865, 
After the close of the war Mr. Shilling came West, as did sa_ 
many young officers, who had already shown the latent capacity 
of leaders of men ; for no part of American domains were they 
so fitted as these youthful Pacitic States and Territories, where 
their native energies and ambition could find ample scope. Com- 
ing westward to Colorado in 186G, Mr. Shilling engaged in the 
telegraph service. From thence he went successively to Wyo- 
ming, Utah, Montana and Idaho in the same service, and as 
agent for the Overland Stage Company. From 1867 until 188.5 
he was a citizen of Utah, varying his business pursuits from tel- 
egraphing to merchandising, stock-raising, etc. Mr. Shilling 
furnished the first telegraphic message to T. B. H. Stenhouse's 
Daily Telegraph, published in Ogden in 1869. Since 1885 he has 
made Ogden his permanent home, where he has risen to the 
responsible position of vice-president of the Utah National Bank. 
Of this gentlemen's prominence in public affairs, it may be noted 
that, in 1884 he was elected one of the delegates from Idaho to 
the republican convention at Chicago, which nominated James 
G. Blaine for the Presidency of the United States ; and of his 
appearance in Ogden public affairs we note that in 1887 he 
was one of the nominees of the Liberal party for alderman to 
the city council. 

Of Mr. L. B. Adams, the cashier of the Utah National Bank, 
it may be observed that he has sustained a very prominent part 
in the development of the commerce of Northern Utah, as will 
be seen in our biographical sketch of him as one of the chief 
originators of the exportation of Utah products. 

Mr. Hanks is a native of West Virginia. He was born in 
Monroe County, March loth, 1836. When quite young he re- 
moved with his parents to Michigan. In 1859 he went to Call- . 
fornia, where for three years he was engaged in mining opera- ' 
tions. In 1862 he went to Nevada: in 1864 he went to Idaho 
and stopped there till 1869. In 1871 he went to the State of 
Missouri, where he was married to Miss America Brown. He 
subsequently made Ogden his home, and in 1885 became con- 
nected with the Utah National Bank. Previous to the last date 
he has been much engaged in mining and stock-raising. 

Mr. Reese Howell, another of the directors of the Utah 
National Bank, Ogden, and who is also one of Utah's successful 
commercial men, is of Welsh descent, but he was born in Amer- 
ica, where the whole of his life has been spent. He is the son 
of Wm. Howell and Martha Williams of Cefnpennar, Glamor- 



N. C. FLYGARB. 233 

shire. Mr. Howell has been a resident of Utah Territory since the 

year 1849. He commenced a general merchandise business in Kel- JH 

ton in the year 1872, and was been following the pursuits of a • m 

merchant continuously since that time. In 1886, having transfer- 
red considerable of his other interests to Ogden City, Mr. Howell ivi 
determined to move here altogether, and continue his business in | 
what he could see would quickly become one of the most prosper- i 
ous cities in the inter-raountain region. 



K C. FLYGARE. 



N. C. Flygare second counselor in the Presidency of the Weber 



« 



I ' c 



IN . \j. r lygare seconci counselor in tne rresiaency ot tne w eoer jj 

Stake was born on the 3d of February, 1841, near the city of Ystad, | 

on the south coast of Sweden. On his father's side he is descended 
fi'om a military family. His grandtather fought under Marshal 
Bernadotte in the allied armies, against the great Napoleon. ]'■ 

In his early boyhood, N. C. Flygare worked partly at farming 
and learning the trade of carpentry. He learned the architectui'al 
branch and iitted himself as a practical builder in Sweden. 

At the age of fourteen he was confirmed into the Lutheran 
Church ; and at the age of seventeen he heard the Mormon elders 
and joined their Church. This was on the 5th of September, 1858. 
Shortly after joining the Saints he was selected as a missionary. 

Elder Flygare was released to emigrate in the spring of 1864. 
He left Stockholm on the 28th of March, crossed the Atlantic in 
the Monarch of the Sea, and journeyed to Utah with a thousand 
emigrants, six hundred of whom were Scandinavians. He crossed 
the plains in ox teams, walking from the Missouri River to Salt 
Lake City in Captain Preston's company, arriving on the 15th of 
September, 1864. 

He settled in Ogden, where he followed principally building. 
He had shops and a planing mill. He worked at his business 
about ten years, when he was called by President Young, to fill a 
mission to Scandinavia in the fall of 1874. 

Returning from his mission he arrived in Ogden in the latter 
part of September, when he again entered upon his duties as bishop 
of the Fourth Ward of Ogden, which had, during his absence, 
been in the charge of his counsellors. 

At the municipal election of Ogden, in 1881, he was elected a 
member of the city council, in which ofiice he served one year and 
then resigned. 

At the organization of the First i!^ational Bank of Ogden, on 
the 2nd of December, 1881, being a shareholder, he was elected a 
30 



M I 

i 

! I 



234 tullidob's histories. 

director of that iustitution. He has also been connected at times 
with Z. C. M. I., having charge of ditterent departments. 

Bishop Flygare is at present established as an architect and 
builder in Ogden. He has been a large conti'aetor of buildings, 
not only in Ogden, but also in Salt Lake City. 



JON^ATHAN BROWXING. 



The late Judge Jonathan Browning was the son of Edmund 
Browning and Sarah Allen, and was born October 22d, 1805, near 
Nashville, Sumner County, Tennessee. In his youth he was steady, 
thoughtful and devoted to the acquisition of useful knowledge. He 
married Miss Elizabeth Stalcup, November 9th, 1826. 

In 1834, removed with his family from Tennessee, locating in 
Adams County, Illinois, where he invested largely in land, and car- 
ried on agricultural pursuits in connection with his trade — viz: gun 
and blacksmith. In 1842, moved to Nauvoo, he having previously 
been converted to Mormonism. Here he built a nice brick resi- 
dence, gunsmith shop, etc., on Main Street, which he subsequently 
left without a cent's remuneration, emigrating west, in 184*3, in 
common with the general Mormon exodus from Nauvoo. He 
settled and remained in Western Iowa, near Council Bluifs (then 
called l^anesville) on the Missouri bottoms, close to the little village 
(of Indian Traders) called Sarpy's Point. Here he again engaged 
in manufacturing guns, wagons, etc., making several improvements 
and inventions in fire arms. He also carried on farming, and dis- 
charged the duties of magistrate, which offifee he had previously 
held in the states he had left. In 1852, he resumed his journey, 
crossing the Plains, of three month's travel, by bull teams. He was 
captain of a company in crossing the Plains ; and, being an expert 
marksman, he frequently furnished the camp with meat from the 
vast quantities of buffalo along their I'oute of travel. 

Arriving in Utah, Jonathan Browning settled in Ogden, where 
he continued to reside until the time of his demise ; and, in the 
history of this city, he is recorded as one of its founders and princi- 
pal business men and property owners. Much of the real estate 
on the principal business street — now known as Main Street — once 
belonged to Judge .Jonathan Browning. He owned four city lots 
on tlie west side of this street, beginning at what was afterwards 
called Jennings' corner, running south to where the Peery block 
now stands, and where some of the finest buildings in the city have 
since been erected. 

During his residence in Ogden City he held many civil and 
ecclesiastical ofiices. He also, at an early age in manhood, before 




I 



„^v?w/t/-v^ "^^ 



C-^x 





ogden's first school teacher. 235 



OGDEX'S FIRST SCHOOL TEACHER. 



An interesting and illustrative fragment of the early history ot 
Ogden will be found in the following biographical sketch of Mrs. 
David E. Browning the first school teacher of Northern Utah. 
The lady's name at the time was Charilla Abbott; for in Ogden 
civilization, as in the civilization of all nations, it is the "school 
marm"' who begins the education of the young. Taking up the 
thread of her family narrative at the salient point we read : 

" We arrived at what was called Goodyier's ranch or Brown's 



he gathered with the Mormon people, was a representative man in ij 

society, he having been a justice of the peace in Sumner County, :'j 

Tennessee. Soon after his arrival in Ogden — which was in the fall |i 

of 18.52 — he was elected a member of the Ogden city council. He jl 

has also held the various positions of justice of the peace, probate '| 

judge of ^yebe^ County and a member of the Legislature of LTtah. 
In the ecclesiastical sphere he was a bishop's counsellor, member of , 

the High Council and president of the High Priest's Quorum. In ; 

all of his othcial capacities Jonathan Browning proved himself to 

be a man of honor, truth and integrity. As one of the founders of jj 

the city he did much in developing its resources and business. He [' 

had a blacksmith's shop, and made the first iron-roller molasses mill ii 

in Ogden; and he also gave the first importance to the gun-making 
establishment of this city, since- made famous by his sons. 

In the family of the Brownings there seems to be a large vein I 

of native talent: Edmund Browning, the father of the Judge, was .^j 

a tine musician in his day (a violinist) : and Jonathan was a cousin -'l 

to the late Honorable Orville H. Browning, the famous lawyer of H 

Quincy, Illinois, and ex-Secretary of the interior; and he was also , 

a cousin to Dr. Browning, of Xashville, Tennessee. In fine, Jona- 
than Browning was very respectably connected in Illinois, as well 
as Tennessee, and was, himself, all his lifetime, called Squire or 
Judge. He was a prominent man among his fellow-citizens ; uni- 
versally respected : an untiring advocate of temperance; unswerving. 
and true to his convictions as the needle to the pole ; he was one of 
Grod's noblemen — a truly honest man. He died at Ogden City 
June 21st, 1879. He passed away in peace, surrounded by his 
large and devoted family, on whom he left his blessing and final 
farewell, in the seventy-fourth year of his age. 

Note. — Judge Browning had three families and numerous sons. His first 
wife was Elizabeth Stalcup; his second. Elizabeth C. Claric, and the third, Ann 
Emmett Browning. His son, John M. Browning, is now a celebrated inventor of 
fire anus. 



236 tullidge's histories. 

Fort now called Ogden, on the 27th of October, 1849. ^ly moth- 
er's family was the fourth family, Captain James Brown's was the 
first. Daniel Birch camped on Birch Creek, from whom it derives 
its name. Mr. Shelton on Shelton Creek, afterwards called Can- 
field Creek. There had been more families who wintered here the 
winter before, but they went to California. Captain James Brown 
went to Salt Lake and invited relatives and acquaintances to come 
and help in the colony. 

" There being a small log house, about half a mile from the 
Fort, vacant, left by one of the families that had gone to Califor- 
nia, the colony wished me to keep school, which in our meager 
circumstances I undertook. Finding a chicken's feather, I made a 
pen, and never having seen a school article or schedule I made a 
trial at it. Next our school room had no floor but the ground. 
The school had slab benches with no backs; our books were very 
limited, we had to gather the alphabet from scraps of paper, or old 
books and paste them on paddles for the ABC classes. 

"In the winter we went to singing school taught by Mr. Com- 
stock; and in the spring of 1851 I taught school. In the fall of 
1851, I went to school for a few weeks to Mr. Eccles Truly. In the 
summer of 1852 I worked for Mr. John Tompson, and fi'om there 
I went to James Browning's and wife, whose name was Olive. 

"January 27th, 1853, I was married to David Elias Browning, 
by Lorin Farr, Mayor of the city and President of the Stake. 

"A Relief Society was formed and I assisted in making the 
poor comfortable, in making bedding, clothing etc., and in fitting 
up companies going after the emigration. Mrs. Parmer was the 
first president of our society, Mrs. Nits, and Abigail Abbott, her 
counsellors; Phoebe Brown, secretary and treasurer. Mrs. Abbott 
was my mother, Mrs. Brown my sister. The Relief Society was 
reorganized in December, 1867, Mrs. Mary West president. I was 
put in as a teacher over the ninth district, in which I visited forty- 
five families. 

"We lived in our house, where we had eight children born, 
whose names are Charilla Emily, David Elias, Stephen Abiel, Jon- 
athan Abbott, James Smith, Wesley Myron, Arbarilla Fastday, 
and Abigail Elizabeth. 

"In 187-1 and 1875, we built a brick house on ninth street, 
between Wall Street and Pacific, where we moved and rented the 
old place. Wishing to give our children employment, having a 
large piece of land, in 1881, we purchased a farm situated on Birch 
Creek which keeps us quiet busy." 

This genuine and industrious lady, whom we have recognized 
as the first " school marm " in Northern Utah, Charilla Abbott 
Browning, is the daughter of Stephen and Abigail Abbott, was born 
in New York State," town of Howellsville, Stewfen County, July 
4th, 1829. Her parents moved into the state of Illinois. In 1839, 
her parents and oldest sister, Emily, joined the Latter-day Saints. 



JUDGE MIDDLETON. 237 

In 1842, her parents moved to Commerce, afterwards called the 
"City of Joseph" and Xauvoo. In 1843 she herself, then fourteen 
years of age, joined the Church. She was a member of the Relief 
Society atXauvoo. In the spring of 1846, the family started with 
the Saints for the Rock}- Mountains. On Mosquito Creek she 
worked for Mr. James Browning, while her mother taught school. 
July 7th, 1849, her mother with seven children started for |the val- 
leys of the Rocky Mountains and arrived at Brown's Fort, now 
Ogden, as already noted, on the 27th of October, 1849. 



JUDGE MIDDLETOX. 



Charles F. Middleton formerly Police Judge of Ogden, and 
now first counsellor in the presidency of the Weber County Stake, 
was born in Washington County, Illinois, February 24th, 1834. 
He has descended directly from the fathers of American independ- 
ence. His father's name was William, his grandfather's Reuben, 
who was the son of Xuke, their ancestry running back to Arthur 
Middleton who signed the Declaration of Independence. His 
mother's name was Mary H. daughter of Charles Butler, and 
Rebecca Sillc«'ood. 

Judge Middleton's parents joined the Church in the fall of 
1834. They participated in all the troubles of Missouri and Illi- 
nois. They arrived in Salt Lake City September 22nd, 1850, and 
settled in Ogden the same fall. 

Charles F. Middleton in Ogden's early days went out with the 
Ogden members of the colony on what was known as the Salmon 
River mission, when it was broken up by the Indians. He after- 
wards spent one short mission in the states of Illinois, Missouri and 
Iowa. On August 2nd, 1869, he was elected Constable for Ogden 
Precinct. In the spring of 1870, he was appointed to the office of 
a Selectman for Weber County. August 7th, 1871, he was elected 
Justice of the Peace for Ogden Precinct. May 26th, 1877, he was 
chosen second counsellor to President Peery. February 10th, 1879, 
he was elected an Alderman for Ogden City and soon after select- 
ed by the council to act as Police Judge. January 21st, 1883, he 
was chosen first counsellor to President Shurtliti. His father, Wil- 
liam Middleton, was a patriarch of the church in Ogden and bore 
the name of Patriarch Middleton. He died at Ogden, Utah, on 
the loth day of February, 1889, honored by the entire community. 
In the truest sense of American Independence it may be said that 
Charles F. Middleton comes of " good blood." 



238 tullidge's histories. 



RETIRING MP:MBERS OF TflE CITY COUNCIL. 



Of the principal members of the retiring Council a few bio- 
graphical notes may here very properly be given. 

JOHN A. BOYLE. 

whose biographical sketch, will be found in another chapter, as 
written two years ago, was born in Glasgow, October 7th, 1846. 
(An error occurred in his biography', page 260, making bis birth- 
place Edinburgh.) The family emigrated and settled in Ogden in 
1855. In 1872 the father, Peter A. Boyle with his son John A. 
founded the firm of Boyle & Son, which, after the death of the 
father, became Boyle & Co. The firm is now composed of John 
A. Boyle, McLaren Boyle, James Boyle, and AVallace Boyle. Their 
house bears the highest repute, both for integrity and capacity, 
John A. Boyle was chosen by the People's Party for his eminent 
fitness, and should that party return to oflice, if he lives, then 
John Boyle will be the Mayor of Ogden. 

DAVID ECCLES. 

David Eecles, ex-Mayor of Ogden City was born in Pasley 
Ranfreshire, Scotland, Maj' 12tli, 1849. He is the son of "William 
Eecles and Sarah Hutchison. 

In 1842 his father joined the Mormon church in Pasley under 
the ministry of Elder "\Ym. Gibson. 

When David Eecles was fourteen years of age he emigrated 
with his parents. There were seven children in the family. At 
Florence, John, the elder brother, returned to the old country and 
went to sea. The rest of the family came to Utah ; David crossed 
the sea in the ship Sunnishure, whose company of Saints was under 
the care of David M. Stuart, and crossed the plains in Captain 
Haight's company, and went from Salt Lake direct to Ogden. For 
the first winter he lived in a little room at the back of the Council 
House on Tabernacle Square, and the next year moved to the north 
end of <;)gden Valley and when Eden was established he moved to 
that place. 

Like many other self-made men David Eecles commenced 
business in a humble way and at an early age. His father, who 
was a woodturner and become blind, made his wares and the boy 
David peddled them. In 1867 he went to Oregon with his father's 
family in the support of which he aided. He used to go to timber 
and cut cord wood, with which he supplied the Oregon woolen fac- 
tory. He returned to Eden after an absence of two years, but in '70 
he left again for Evanston and worked for the Evanston Lumber Co. 
getting out logs on Bear River. In the summer of '71 he came 
back home and worked for David James getting out logs. In 1873 



JUDGE DEE. 239 

he started in the lumber business in partnership with H. E. Gibson 
of Ogden and a Mr Vanne}'. They first engaged in sawing and 
making lumber up in the mountains about fort\' miles east of Og- 
den. In '74 they established a lumber yard in Ogden under the 
firm name of Gibson, Eccles & Co. In '76 Vanney drew out and the 
firm ran till '80 as Gibson & Eoeles when they disolved. 

Thus David Eccles started in life and continued until he has 
become one of the greatest lumber merchants in these western 
Territories, where he has lumber yards and saw mills in every de- 
sirable direction. He is one of the Directors of the First Xational 
Bank of Ogden; also of the Commercial of Ogden ; one of the in- 
corporators of the Home Insurance Co., a director in the company 
and connected with numerous great business enterprises in which 
Ogden is interested. 

David Eccles was elected Alderman of the Third Ward, Ogden 
in 1885; in 1887 he was elected Mayor of Ogden and during his 
administration Ogden advanced a decade in the path of progress 
and reform. 

JUDOE DEB. 

Thomas Duncombe Dee, the second son of Thomas H. and 
Elizabeth Dee, was born in Llanelly, South Wales, November 10th, 
1844. He migrated to Utah with Captain J. D. Ross' company in 
1860 and settled in Ogden City. In 1870 he was elected school 
trustee for the Third School District of Ogden City. During his 
term of office the trustees erected the present schoolhouse in that 
district. He served as trustee for six years until the district was 
consolidated with the other Ogden districts. In' 1877 he was 
appointed by the city council Assessor and Collector of Ogden 
City, and was reappointed in 1878. In February, 1879, he was 
elected to this position for two years, the law having been amended 
making this position elective. He was re-elected in 1881 and 1883 
filling the position in all eight years. In 1881 Ogden Cit}' pur- 
chased a controlling interest in the Ogden Water Co. and appointed 
Thomas D. Dee, James Taylor and W. G. Child its representative 
in the board of directors of the company; these with E. H. Orth, 
W. X. Ortou and Joseph Stanford were the officers of the water 
company. Mr. Orton and Mr. Dee had charge of the practical oper- 
ations of the company. 

In a year the company established a water cistern at a cost of 
about §65,000, laid eleven miles of mains, constructed two reser- 
voirs, the water from which supplied two hundred and fifteen taps, 
three motors, two railways, thirty-four tire hydrants, five drinking 
fountains and two horse troughs, producing a revenue of §8,000 
per annum. 

At the August election in 1883, Mr. Dee was elected Justice of 
thePeace of Ogden Precinct, and was re-elected in 1885 and 1887, 
occupying this position for six years. 



240 tullidge's histories. 

In February, 1885, Mr. Dee was elected Alderman for the 
Fourth Municipal Ward of Ogden Cit}' and re-elected in 1887, dur- 
ing these four years he officiated as police judge; he was a member 
of the committee of the council on municipal laws, water supply, 
lire department and public land, and he was a member of the build- 
ing committee under whose direction the city hall was erected and 
furnished. 

RECORDER T. J. STEVENS. 

Thomas J. Stevens, the present Recorder of Ogden City, was 
born at Bristol, England, January 24th, 1848. He received a com- 
mon school education in his native town, and when fourteen years 
of age, he was apprenticed to learn the blacksmith trade. 

On June 3rd, 1864, in company with his father, mother, brother 
(W. H. Stevens of Fifth Street), he left his native land in the sail- 
ing ship Hudson, bound for New York. The ocean voyage was 
completed in six weeks and four days. From New York the party 
journeyed to the frontier, and at a place called Wyoming, Nebraska, 
preparations for crossing the plains were made. A start was made 
in August, and the subject of our sketch enlisted as a teamster and 
drove two yoke of cattle. Pie arrived in Salt Lake City on the 3rd 
of November, 18<i4. The following spring he commenced work at 
his trade in the capital, and continued the business a number of 
years. 

On December 27th, 1871, Mr. Stevens was married to Maria 
Stringham, daughter of Briant and Harriet Stringham, and in 
June, 1878, in connection with two brothers, he started the " Ogden 
Foundry and Machine Shop," under the firm name of Stevens 
Brothers. One of the many creditable productions of this firm is 
the iron fence which surrounds the court house, and which weighs 
something over eleven tons. 

In May, 1882, being proffered the position of Collector of 
Licenses and Assistant Recorder, he accepted the offer, and re- 
tained the office till February 12th, 1883, when he was elected City 
Recorder for two years. In August, 1883, Mr. Stevens was elected 
Sheriff of Weber County for one year, and at the last municipal 
election he was again returned to the Recordership, a position 
which, in connection with all others, he has filled with credit to 
himself and to the entire satisfaction of his constituents. February, 
1887, again elected as Recorder for two years. May 29th, 1887, 
ordained Bishop of the Fifth Ward, Ogden City. 




CORINNE AND ITS FOUNDERS. 241 



COHINNE AND ITS FOUNDERS. 



As we have seen in the general history, the subject of the 
two cities — Corinne and Ogden-:— are nearly identical; and, there- 
fore, in the biographical treatment of their merchants and ban- 
kers, we keep up the unity of the subject, transposing the 
founders of Corinne to Ogden of the present day : hence we 
introduce Mayor Guthrie among the founders of Corinne as 
well as being one of the founders of the banking system of 
Ogden City. 

Perhaps no city on the Pacific Slope could show a class of 
enterprising men more representative as its founders than those 
who were identified with Corinne. Indeed, they were quite un- 
common as a class, being nearly all men of enterprise, and some 
of historical reputation. To-day, many of them are known 
among the principal business men of Utah, while others flourish 
in the surrounding Territories. 

The importance of Corinne in its earl)' history was in the fact 
that it was, geographically, the best distributing point; all the 
merchandise that went by teams to Montana and Idaho went 
from Corinne, and it was also the point from which the produce 
of this Territory was exported; nor should it be forgotten that these 
enterprising Gentiles were the first legitimate exporters of Utah. 

Prominent among the representative men of Corinne in the 
early times were those named in the following list: 

Gen. P. Edward Connor, Creighton & Munro, J. W. Guthrie, Alexander Toponce, ]. W. 
Graham, ]. W. McNutt. W. T. Field, N. S. Ransohoff, Col. Kane & Brother, I.. B. Adams 
A. Kuhn& Brother, F. J. Kiesel & Co., H. Liewes & Co., J. W. Lowell, Geo. A. Lowe, O. L 
Hollister. J. M. Langsdorf, Nat. Stein, Samuel Howe, Julius Malsh, A. Greenewald, Sisson, 
Wallace&Co., John A. Gaston, O. D, Cass, L. Lebenbaum, John McCornick, H. Hardenbrook, 
K. P. Johnson. L. De Mers, L. D. Newman, W. C. (ohnson, D. H. Spencer, D. D Ryan. 'WV 
W. Watkins, M. E. Campbell. R. J. Osborn, R. G. Welsh, E. R. Hadley. J. A. Kramer, Wm. 
Hensing, Samuel Tibbals, John Gerrish, M. Cohn, John Montgomery. Hurlbut Brothers, L. 
Keggel, Wm. Hyndman, J. M. Walker, T. J. Black, H. J. Faust, A. C. Babcock, Victor Cor- 
delia. J J. Gordon, Hiram House. E. C. Jacobs, David Short, B. Lachman, George Butter- 
baugh; George L. Holt, J. & G. W. Stanley, John A. Nickum, H. H. Smith, A. B. Dibble, M. 
Aroshler, John Kupfer, John P. Van Valkenburg, W. A. Hodgm.in, D. Earhart, W. N. Ellis. 
S. G. Sewell. H. C. Merritt, J. E. Chase. H. H. Chase, Judge Spicer, Judge Toohy, S F. 
Nuckolls. Samuel Holt. E. F. Ferris, William Yearian, John Closser. M. F. Kosman, J. V, 
Alexander, Al. Stubblefield, Wm. Larimer, M. T. Burgess, John Tiernan, Tim Henderson, 
Thomas Gordon, E. P. Ferris. Geo. Montgomery, C. Duchenau, Ed. Conway, M, D. Ochil- 
tree, E. M. Quinby, Dan. Heffron, H. Lubus, Kfike Fuller, John Eaves, Billy Wilson. H. W. P. 
Spencer, C. R. Barratt. Milton Barratt, F. H. Ciurch, E. P. .■\dams, and Messrs. Beadle and 
Adams {newspaper men). 

On the 25th of March, 1869, the town of Corinne was laid 
out; early in 1870 it was incorporated as a city. The first mu- 

31 



242 tullidge's histories. 

uicipal election took place on tlie first Monday in March. The 
following constituted the council: 

Maj'or, W. H. Munro; Councilors, Hiram House, J. \V. Mc- 
Nutt, J. W. Guthrie, S. L. Tibbals, John Kupfer, Samuel House, 
•J. W. Graham. 

W. T. Field was the first recorder of the city. 

J. W. Guthrie was first elected mayor of Corinnc August 
7th, 1878; was re-elected in 1880, and he holds the office at the 
present date. 

Though there is no longer a desire among the Gentile por- 
tion of our population -to build up a city bearing their distinc- 
tive name, nor the possibility of its rivaling Ogden as a commer- 
cial centre, yet w« may reasonably prophecy for it a future. 
Gorinne may survive. It is situated in one of the best valleys 
in Utah, on the west bank of Bear River, which is one of the 
largest streams between the Missouri and the Sacramento Rivers. 
At the expense of a hundred thousand dollars water could be 
brought out to irrigate the entire valley, and this would have 
been done before now if titles could have been obtained of the 
Central Pacific Railway Company. 

Corinne is on the Central Pacific line; and, though to-day 
but the relic of what it was, there are some good buildings still 
standing, while the Guthrie property itself remains in excellent 
condition. 

MAYOR .T. W. GUTHRIE. 

We present to our readers a magnificent steel engraving of 
J. W. Guthrie, mayor of Corinne, and a founder of several bank- 
ing houses of Ogden and Corinne. He may be properly ranked 
among the representative men of Utah, for though not ojic of 
the early settlers of this country, he is one of the founders of 
the financial institutions of our Territory, the principal owner 
of the City of Corinne as it stands to-day; and should that city 
revive to more than its former importance, as he firmly believes 
it will, J. W. Guthrie more than any other man will be named 
in Utah's history as the founder of Corinne. 

Of Mr. Guthrie, the Ogden Pilot, a paper now extinct, said: 

"Among the prominent men of Utah who have been suc- 
cessful in business and done much in the interest of Ogden, the 
name of J. W. Guthrie should occupy a prominent position. 
Mr. Guthrie came to Corinne in January, 1869, and took part in 
laying out the town. In March the sale of lots began by auc- 
tion, and he soon became one of the leading merchants of the 
place. He established the first business in shipping produce 
from Utah over the Central Pacific to points westward. Engag- 




I 



MAYOR J. W. GUTHRIE. 243 

incj ill merchandise, he enjoyed an extensive trade during the 
pahny days of Corinne, when all the freight and travel for Idaho 
and Montana landed there. In 1875 he added to his already 
large business that of banking, which he still carries on in 
Corinne. He is still engaged in the business of general mer- j| 

chandise, besides which he does much in the way of forwarding. ' 

During the past year he forwarded by teams to Montana and 
Idaho 240,000 pounds of powder, and 125.000 pounds of case 
goods. He has always had strong faith in the town of Corinne, 
for which he has done so much, and of which he is now mayor 
for the second term. During the past year his business increased 
fully 100 per cent, over that of the preceding year, and now that 
tbere is a prospect of railway extensions from the East, he hopes 
to realize largely in the sale of town lots, of which he owns the 
greater proportion of the town, upon them being located many 
of the best buildings of the place. He is one of the incorpora- 
tors of the Central Pacific of Utah, lately incorporated for the 
purpose of building from Corinne, Utah, to Yankton, Dakota. 
^Ir. Guthrie is a large stockholder iu this new enterprise. In 
1876 he purchased lots on Fourth Street, Ogden, and started the 
banking house of J. "\V. Guthrie & Co., in the building now oc- 
cupied by Harkness & Co. Then Fourth Street was simply 
composed of vacant lots, and this new enterprise of the bank 
attracted business in that direction and made it a business 
thoroughfare. He caused numerous brick blocks to be erected 
there. Two years ago he drew out of that banking institution 
and a few months later became the senior partner in the pros- 
perous banking house of Guthrie, Dooly & Co., of this city. As 
a business man and social gentleman he is widely known and 
respected, and his name in commercial circles stands among the 
very best. All who have watched the progress of Ogden for the 
past six j-ears, as we have done, know that Mr. Guthrie has aided 
very materially in this prosperity. He is a large property 
owner in this city." 

Our subject thus introduced, we maj^ take up a more regular 
sketch of Mr. Guthrie and his family. 

The great-grandfather of Mr. Guthrie, on his father's side, 
came from Scotland to America about the middle of the last cen- 
tury, which signifies that he was in this country during the 
struggle for American independence. He settled in the State of 
Virginia, and his son, William, the grandfather of our Utah 
banker, was born in that State. William moved from Virginia 
to Kentucky in its early settlement, and took his full share in 
the toils and hardships borne by the Kentucky pioneers. His 
eldest son, William, father of our Mr. Guthrie, was born in 



i 



t 



244 tulltdge's histories. 

AVoodford County, Kentucky, in the year 1804. His brother 
John went to California in 1849 and settled in Napa County, in 
the spring of 1850, where he accumulated much wealth. He 
was well known in California. He died in Sonoma County, in 
1866. Thus we find the Guthries early identified with the his- 
tory of the Pacific States and Territories. 

William Guthrie, the father of the Utah banker, was mar- 
ried to Elizabeth -James, the daughter of John James, an owner 
of considerable real estate and slaves in Kentucky and Indiana. 
He was well-known as a remarkable mathematician, and was 
frequently consulted by the professors of Wabash College. He 
died near Loganspoi't, Indiana, at the age of seventy-two, Init is 
still remembered by the survivors in Crawfordsville, Indiana. 

AVilliam, Mr. Guthrie's father, was an overseer of the plan- 
tation of his vincle, Caleb Guthrie, an extensive slave-owner. 
He remained in Kentucky till the year 1833, when he emigrated 
to Crawsfordsville, Indiana, M'here he died in 1874. 

John William Guthrie was born in Shelby County, Ken- 
it tucky, January 23d, 1830. He was the eldest son, but he had two 
sisters older than himself, three younger brothers, and one 
younger sister, who are still living in Crawfordsville, Indiana. 
In his youth Mr. Guthrie assisted his father in farming. He 
had received a fair education in the seminary at Crawfordsville, 
and was competent at the age of sixteen to engage in business 
on his own account, but most of his earnings were given to his 
father. In 1851 he, like so many others who have since been 
known among America's most enterprising men, caught the Cal- 
ifornia gold-fever, and left homo for San Francisco January 
22d, 1852. He went by tlic way of New York and Panama, in 
the steamship Ohio, on the Atlantic side, and continued in the 
steamer Panama, on the Pacific side, arriving in San Francisco 
on the first of April. From San Francisco he went to the 
northern mines and engaged in the butchering business in Yuba, 
Butte and Siskio Counties. In Siskio County, with the pick 
and shovel, Mr. Guthrie did his first and only mining, at the 
cost to him of many thousand dollars, after which he resumed 
his legitimate business. In August of 1855, he left California 
for his native home, going by the Nicaragua route. He arrived 
at San Juan Del Norte on the second day after William Walker, 
the notorious fillibuster, arrived in that country. Mr. Guthrie 
was one of a party of twenty-five that guarded the shipment of 
treasure, amounting to ui)wards of a million and a Cjuarter of dol- 
lars, across to the Atlantic side. After spending a short time in 
New York, he arrived at Crawfordsville on the 25th of Septem- 
ber, and remained at lionie till the 6th of May, 1856, when he 
returned to California, arriving there in July. He went from 



MAYOR J. W. GUTHRIE. 245 

San Francisco to Napa County, where he purchased one hun- 
dred acres of land, which is now within citj' limits, and com- 
menced the occupation of a farmer; but, soon becoming disgusted 
with this slow way of making money, he sold his land and left 
for the northern part of the State, bringing up at North San 
Juan, Nevada County, California, in March, 1857. There he again 
engaged in the butchering business, and in three years made 
$00,000, most of which, however, he lost during the next three 
years through the depreciation of property, he having put up 
several nice brick buildings and a iin6 residence, and by busi- 
ness transactions with men who failed 'him in meeting their 
financial obligations. 

On the 2oth of September, 1862, Mr. Guthrie was married 
to Miss Mary B. Gaynor, and on the 22d of August, 1863, Lizzie 
M. Guthrie was born. In 1864, Mr. Guthrie went to Idaho; 
thence to Montana, from Montana to Green River, Wyoming, 
from which point he followed up the line of the Union Pacific 
Railroad during the process of its building, doing business at 
several points and bringing up at Corinne in Januar}^ 1869, be- 
fore the town was laid out. He established the first produce 
shipping business in Corinne, is the oldest shipper in Utah, and 
for several years controlled almost the entire shipping business 
of the Territory. He dealt principally in eggs and butter, and 
to such proportions did this business increase, that it required 
not less than a capital of $30,000 to handle it, with a store 132 
feet in length by 22 feet in width, a cellar under the entire build- 
ing, also an ice-house in the middle of the store extending from 
cellar to roof, with a capacity to hold one hundred and fifty tons 
of ice. 

Having been overtaxed with this vast business he retired 
from it several years ago, and on July 1st, 1882, he also retired 
from the general merchandising business, having closed out in 
favor of John W. Kerr & Co. He is now confined to general 
banking business both at Corinne and Ogden. He is a large 
owner of real estate in both cities. 

Our magnificent steel plate of the banker Guthrie himself 
will suggest to any reader of character that he is a solid man 
with a weight of money in him; yet, withal, generous, big 
hearted, just the one to build up a country, — a man munificent 
in his dealings with society. 



246 tullidge's histories. 



FRED. J. KIESEL. 



I 



The great wholesale firm which bears the name of Fred. J. 
Kiesel & Co. now stands without a peer in all Utah. It is second, 
of course, to Z. C. M. I., that being an extraordinary mercantile 
corporation of a community, which no private firm could expect 
to rival, but next to Z. C. M. I. is the wholesale business house 
of Kiesel & Co., which was founded by Mr. Kiesel. 

It is the only exclusive wholesale grocery house in Utah, and 
does a business aggregating the enormous sum of $1,000,000 an- 
nually. Indeed, when Kiesel & Co. are shipping, the centre of 
Fourth Street, where their business is located, presents quite a 
metropolitan appearance, and all is alive and bustling around. 
Their large store, extending far back in length, two stories high, 
with a cellar as ample as the upper floors, is laden with goods 
from the floors almost to the ceilings. Mr. Kiesel himself is 
a man of great push, executive ability and commercial ambition, 
and is even j-ounger than Mr. .J. R. AValker, though he has been 
nearly as long identified with the commerce of Utah as the 
Walker Brothers. He was with Gilbert & Sons in 1863; he went 
to Corinne in 1873; has been nine years in his present business, 
and during the last twenty-four years has done business at 
nearly every point in this Territory. The retiring of the AValker 
Brothers from the wholesale trade of Northern Utah leaves 
Kiesel & Co. a still better opportunity. The firm has its com- 
mercial travelers duly making tlieir circuits all over these West- 
ern Territories. 

Thus prominently introduced into the commercial affairs of 
Ogden City, we will briefly sketch i\Ir. Kiesel's life. 

Frederick J. Kiesel was born ]\Iay 19th, 1841, in Ludwigs- 
burg. Kingdom of Wurtemburg, Germany. He left home in 
January, 1857, for America. He first engaged in commerce at 
Memphis, Tennessee, in 1858, and afterwards went to St. Louis. 
At • the time Mr. Kiesel was engaged in the wholesale dry goods 
house of Hurd, Hellmers & A'oorhees at St. Louis, H. W. Lawrence 
and others of our Salt Lake merchants dealt there, through 
which circumstance ilr. Kiesel was led to his subsequent rela- 
tions with our Territory. It will be remembered that in the 
years 1862 and 1863 the gold findings of Montana created a great 
interest in the country, and large quantities of its gold dust foimd 
its way to the principal commercial cities of the East through 
the hands of our Salt Lake merchants. One day it happened 
that Mr. Robert Sharkey, of Salt Lake City, having business 



FRED. J. KIESEL. 247 

with the house where Mr. Kiesel was employed, entrusted with 
the latter a tin box filled with this gold dust for deposit in the 
firm's safe. This circumstance whetted the desire of the young 
commercial aspirant — now our great Ogden merchant — to en- 
gage in the fruitful enterprises of the growing Western States 
and Territories where the precious metals seemed to be yielded 
in abundance, awaiting the adventurous seeker. 

Thus attracted towards the Pacific slope, Mr. Fred. J. Kiesel 
came to Salt Lake City in one of Henry W. Lawrence's mer- 
chant trains; but he designed at the starting to proceed to Mon- 
tana. However, on his arrival in Salt Lake City, he was engaged 
by Abel Gilbert, who is properly named the "pioneer Gentile 
merchant of Utah," though Livingston & Kinkade were before 
him in date, but themselves were not resident Salt Lake mer- 
chants, in the sense that old Abel Gilbert is styled, "the pioneer 
Gentile merchant." 

Mr. Kiesel came from St. Louis to Salt Lake City in the 
spring of 1863: and in the fall of the same year he was sent by 
the firm of Gilbert tt Sons to run a store at Soda Springs, as a 
suttler for Fort Connor, which had just been established by Gen- 
eral P. Edward Connor and his California volunteers. 

The following spring, Mr. Gilbert tt Sons having sold out, 
Mr. Kiesel returned to Salt Lake City and continued to work for 
the firm. He next, in the fall of the same year, opened a store 
at Manti in connection with Fielding H. Lewis. He stayed at 
that settlement till the next spring, when he sold out and again 
returned to Gilbert in Salt Lake City, and thereupon went to 
Cache Valley and opened a large store for that firm at Wells- 
ville. This store he sold out to Benson, Robbins tt Saddler, 
and went back to Salt Lake City and brought another stock of 
goods to "Wellsvillc. which he immediately sold out to " old man 
Allen" in Wellsvillc. 

In the summer of 1866 Mr. Kiesel brought a stock of goods 
to Ogden, at which date began his connection with this place, 
now known as the Railroad -Junction City; but which was then 
nothing more than a principal country settlement of an agri- 
cultural county. This first stock of his Ogden trade he, 
strange to say, sold to the first co-operative started in L'tah, as 
this Ogden co-operative store preceded any other of the kind in 
the Territory ; and it may be considered as a sort of commercial 
forerunner of Z. C. M. I. proper, which was organized several 
years afterwards. The principals of that primitive "Co-op." 
consisted of ilcCoy, Job Pingree, Richard White, "old man 
Baker,'" Riter, " Bob " Wilson and others. These purchased the 
stock of goods in question. 

In the winter of 1866 Mr. Kiesel followed up with another 



248 tullidge's histories. 

stock of goods brought to Ogden, which, as the one before, be- 
longed to Gilbert & Sons, whose names must be classed among the 
Ogden merchants of that period. This latter stock of goods he 
afterwards himself purchased of the Gilberts, and with the stock 
removed to Paris, Bear Lake, in the summer of 1867. At this 
place he conducted business for about a year; and he also opened 
a branch store at Montpelier. In the winter of 1868 he closed 
up his business at Paris, but he ran the other at Montpelier. 
He also opened a store at Echo City, following the railroad to 
Corinne, and stayed at Echo until he disposed of his stock, in 
the spring of 1869. He continued his business in the north, 
Mr. Fred. Wisner in charge — who was killed in the spring of 
1869 by some unknown jiarties — after which he sold out entirely 
at Bear Lake. 

Meantime Gilbert & Sons had failed at Ogden, and Mr. 
Kiesel now assumed their business. He stayed in Ogden until 
the summer of 1871, conducting business on Main Street, in a 
house since torn down, where Driver & Sons' drug store now 
stands. 

In the summer of 1871 business was prostrated in Ogden 
City on account of the small-pox epidemic. It was a terrible 
time in Ogden, not only to the citizens in general, but also to its 
merchants. In consequence of this Mr. Kiesel concluded to 
transfer his business to Ophir — then a rising mining camp; at 
the same time he bought out the business of Isadore Morris in 
Bingham. He subsequently closed out these branches of his 
business to advantage and took a trip to Europe. While in 
Europe he married an estimable lady of his native country. 

Mr. Kiesel returned to Utah in the fall of 1873, and bought 
out Lebenbaum & Co. at Corinne, and associated himself with 
Mr. Goldberg — now deceased — under the firm name of Fred. J. 
Kiesel & Co. Thej' conducted a wholesale and retail grocery bus- 
iness with considerable success until the Utah Northern rail- 
road had crossed the Bear River, which necessitated a change 
of base. They, however, continued the forwarding business, 
together with banking, until the Utah Northern had reached 
Blackfoot, in Idaho, when they sold out their wholesale business 
at Blackfoot, to Sebree, Ferris & Co., and retired on Ogden, 
establishing the first and only exclusively wholesale grocery 
business in Utah. In this line Mr. Kiesel remained with Mr. 
Goldberg for thirteen months, during which time he established 
communications with the surrounding Territories, by traveling 
himself for this business, which is to-day the strength of that 
mammoth wholesale establishment, under the name of Fred. J. 
Kiesel & Co., wdiich has made Ogden known as the distributing 
centre of this inter-mountain country. Having run with Mr. 



FRED. J. KIESEL. 249 

Goldberg for thirteen months, he sold out to his partner and 
went to Toledo, Ohio, where he established another wholesale 
business. This he conducted successfully for twelve mouths, 
when the death of Mr. Goldberg induced him to return and buy 
back the old business at Ogden. 

During the year 18S2 the firm established branch houses at 
Hailey, Ketchum, Vienna and Pocatello, in Idaho, and at On- 
tario, in Oregon; and the commercial operations of the company 
have largely increased since that date. They carry a large gen- 
eral stock of groceries and liquors. They sell only in original 
packages, and are, therefore, able to handle goods on a small 
margin, their immense sales enabling them to distance compet- 
itors in their prices. Their annual sales, together with branches, 
amount to about $1,000,000 a year. The firm has three traveling 
men out constantly canvassing the country, and to-day, in their 
peculiar line, theirs is the largest and only exclusively wholesale 
business in Utah. 

Mr. Fred. .J. Kiesel is personally the manager, and to him is 
the credit ascribed of having chiefly contributed toward the 
gigantic business success of his company, bj' his enterprise, sa- 
gacity and long experience in the commerce of this inter-moun- 
tain country. Mr. Theo. Schausenback is the secretary and 
treasurer of the company. 

In closing the personal part of this sketch, pertinent at this 
time, we briefly refer to Mr. Fred. J. Kiesel as a chief factor in 
the political affairs of Ogden City. Though himself ambitious 
simply to be known in history as a successful merchant of 
recognized integrity of character, it is nevertheless a fact that 
during the last few years he has been placed in the front by the 
Liberal party as their local standard bearer in the municipal 
affairs, he having been twice run by that party for the respon- 
sible office of Mayor of Ogden City. 

The political situation of Ogden City is peculiar, important 
and interesting in all its aspects. As we have fairly and suffi- 
ciently shown in our political chapter of the general history, 
Ogden is both chosen and destined to be the battle ground of 
our Utah politics, no matter whether the parties remain under 
the present organizations, as the People's party and the Liberal 
party, or become reconstructed under the regular National 
organizations of Democrats and Republicans. Quickly following 
the contest of 1882 between Philip T. Van Zile and .John T. 
Caine came the municipal election of Ogden City, when the 
Liberal partj^ placed Mr. J. S. Lewis in nomination for the office 
of Mayor. In this the party expressed its well-considered policy, 
namely, that a citizen was needed for this post of honor, whoee 

32 



^50 tulltdge's histories. 

personal character and social standing could be looked up to with 
respect and confidence by the citizens of both parties as their 
mayor, in the event of the election of the Liberal candidate. 
Such a man the pai'ty undoubtedly had in Mr. Lewis. 

In the second distinctive contest, in the year 1885, of the 
Liberal party for the city's control, notwithstanding the undi- 
minished respect of the party for Mr. Lewis, the political action 
was continued in Mr. Fred. J. Kiesel. He was fixed upon, we 
should opine, as the most fitting man of his party to continue 
the struggle from year to year till the issue was won; for Kiesel 
is a man of remarkable energy and push in everything he sets 
himself to perform, as seen in his business career; he is also in 
the very prime of life, a man of undoubted courage, so necessar)' 
in all conflicts, and endowed with abundant aspiration of char- 
acter, which we naturally associate in our conception of the 
chief magistrate of a city. The Liberal party aims for a perma- 
nent control of the city, which it is likely to possess for a num- 
ber of years, should they once obtain the victory; hence the 
necessity of the hour calls for a man like Mr. Kiesel, who is in 
the verj' prime of his manhood and reputation, to continue the 
conflict till that issue is fairly won and permanentlj' secured. 

It is at Ogden as in the political affairs of Salt Lake City. 
Evidently a J. R. Walker or a Henry W. Lawrence is needed at 
the capital to fill the post of honor and responsibility in the great 
and important changes which the party anticipate and resolve 
upon in the reconstruction of the affairs of our Territory. Those 
changes will vitally concern our citizens — more in fact in the 
management of our cities than even in the general control of the 
Territory by the Legislature. In the affairs of Ogden, then, Mr. 
Kiesel is exactly what J. R. Walker or Henry W. Lawrence is to 
Salt Lake City. His personal connection with Utah is now nearly 
at its completed course of a quarter of a century ; and he fairly 
ranks as one of the founders of the commerce of Utah in general, 
as well as of Ogden in particular. Mr. Kiesel bristles with the 
views of his jjarty. He is, therefore, at once both a commercial 
and political antagonist of the dominant party that has hitherto 
ruled our Territory; and his own personal mission, so to speak, 
resides in the struggle to overthrow that dominant party, and in 
the consummation of victory for the gentile side. He is one of 
the vice-presidents of the Loyal League ; he was candidate for 
mayor of Ogden City in 1885, when he received 946 votes to 
D. H. Peery's 1085 ; and he was candidate in the great contest 
of the present year, described in a foregoing chapter, when he 
received 1254 votes. Should the Liberal party, in a future elec- 
tion, carry Salt Lake City, Henry AV. Lawrence, if living and 
capable as he is to-day, will undoubtedly be mayor of the capital 



JOHN BROOM. 251 

city, as Mr. Fred. J. Kiesel will be of Ogden City, unless he him- 
self declares otherwise, contrary to the wishes of his fellow citi- 
zens and party compeers. 



.JOHN BROOM AND THE BROOM HOTEL. 



" For many years," says the Ogden Directory, " Ogden, the 
railroad centre of the Rock\- Mountain region, suffered from 
lack of appropriate hotel facilities, and thousands of travelers — 
both pleasure-seeking tourists and business men — passed by the 
the city after a few moments' stop at the depot, who otherwise 
would have remained a day or two in the town. This deficiency 
was supplied by Mr. .John Broom, an old time citizen and a man 
of enterprise, who, in April, 1S83, commenced the excavation 
for the foundation of the Broom Hotel on the corner of Main 
and Fifth Streets, where formerly a row of low wooden struc- 
tures had served as permanently dangerous firetraps." 

Thus introduced, to lead up to the circumstantial narrative 
of Mr. Broom's enterprises in the building of Ogden City, which 
were crowned with his erection of the Broom Hotel, an architec- 
tural ornament of the .Junction City worthy of boast — we may 
here fitly sketch the biography of its builder and proprietor. 

•John Broom was born March 22, 1823, at Sheffield, York- 
shire, England. He is the son of .John and Frances Broom. His 
father was a steel refiner, and followed his profession iu the same 
town. He was a good, moral man, but made no religious pro- 
fessions, and never became attached to any religious denomina- 
tion. He believed in full religious toleration, and that all men 
had a right to follow their own inclinations, and worship at the 
shrine of Almighty God according to their honest convictions. 
His mother was a true lieliever in the Scriptures as contained 
in the Old and New Testament. She presided with dignity and 
love in her domestic department; she was devotedly attached to 
her home and her endearing love for her children — twelve in 
number — Avas rewarded l>y their filial and lasting affection. She 
was born at Bristol, England. 

Mr. Broom's parents both died when he was about eleven 
years of age, and he was then left to fight life's battles alone. 
Soon after the demise of his father and mother he became an 
apprentice in the large wire drawing and needle manufacturing 
establishment of Samuel Cocker, at Shadow More, near Sheffield. 



252 tullidge's histories. 

In this institution he mastered his profession. After the term 
of his apprenticeship expired he followed his profession as jour- 
neyman for a gentleman of the same name. AVhen about nine- 
teen years old Mr. Broom, being of a serious turn of mind, and 
believing in a Supreme Being and a hereafter, felt it his duty to 
unite with some body of religious worshipers. He therefore be- 
came attached to the Methodist church, and continued his mem- 
bershij) with that body about six years. At that time, in 1848, 
he heard Alfred Cordon, Crandal Dunn and others preach the 
principles of Mormonism. These gentlemen, Mr. Broom says, 
preached with a power that left an influence on his mind that he 
never before experienced in all his religious career. He con- 
tinued his investigation of the doctrines they taught for several 
weeks, when he became convinced that they proclaimed the true 
gospel of Jesus Christ, or the Scriptures could not be true. In 
the spring of the same year he was baptized into the Mormon 
church, by Elder Samuel Wood. Shortly afterwards he was or- 
dained to the office of teacher, in which capacity he labored in 
the Rotherham Branch until he emigrated in 1849. 

On the 12th of January, of this year, Mr. Broom sailed 
from Liverpool, on the ship Ashland, bound for New Orleans; 
there were 450 Mormons on board. The voyage was a verv- 
tedious one — the storms which beat them about on the ocean 
were terrific, and after battling with the elements for twelve 
weeks, they reached their destination about the 12th day of 
April. 

Mr. Broom tarried about one week in New Orleans, and then 
proceeded to St. Louis, Missouri, and from there he went to Coun- 
cil Bluffs, which latter place he reached in May. Here he settled 
down, bought a farm and commencedto cultivate the earth, v»-hich 
yielded him rich returns for his labor and outlay of capital. 

In the spring of 1851 Mr. Broom left Council Bluffs with 
his family, ox team and wagon, and started with a company of 
Mormon emigrants, under the supervision of Captain Alfred 
Cordon, for Salt Lake City, which place they reached early in 
October of the same year. He made but a brief stay in the city, 
when he came up to Weber County, and settled in Ogden. A 
little northwest of the Ogden river he purchased some land and 
resumed his agricultural pursuits. 

At that time there was scarcely a house of any consideration 
to be seen in Ogden City. The roads were almost impassible 
and frequently teams were mired deep down in the mud when 
hauling nothing but the running-gears of a wagon on the Main 
Street. In 1854, IMr. Broom moved on to a large ranch which 
he had acquired at the place now known as "Broom's Bench" — the 
place being named after him. Here he accumulated considerable 



I 

4 



JOHN BROOM. 253 

\ 

wealtli, which he realized from the sales of the products of his 
farm. On this ranch, for several years, he put up large quanti- 
ties of hay, which he made secure from the storms, and when in | 
1869, the trans-continental railroads came through to Ogden, Mr. !] 
Broom found ready sale for all the feed for animals, and for J 
other farm produce he could raise, and all of which coumanded 
high prices. With an eye to the future growth and importance 
of Ogden as a railway centre, he took advantage of every legiti- 
mate opportunity thus offered to secure real estate, which, up to ^ 
this period, was of but small value. In the Summer of 1869 he M 
purchased a city lot on the east side of Main Street, on to which !l| 
he moved his family. The same season he purchased city 
property on the corner of Main and Fifth streets, on which he 
put a frame building thirty by fifty feet, which was occupied for .< 
several years by Wade (t Co. as a druggist establishment. He i 
also erected a number of other business houses adjoining this |j 
establishment, from which he derived considerable revenue in if 
the shape of rents. 

In 1872 Mr. Broom severed his connection with the Mormon 
church. He did not secede because of any malice he entertained 
toward the people with whom he had been associated for so 
many years. He became dissatisfied with some of the tenets of 
the church ; he could not fully subscribe to them any longer, 
and, therefore, concluded to withdraw his membership He still 
entertains feelings of kindness, and great respect for the people, 
and expects to continue to reside, and spend the remainder of his 
days amongst them in this city. 

He has never associated himself with any other religious 
community since he withdrew from that of the Mormons. He is 
in no way hostile — but is a "free thinker," and considers that all 
men have a perfect right to follow their honest convictions in re- 
ligious matters without interference from others. 

Of his' standing in office in the Mormon chui"ch it may be 
here noted that in 1853 he was ordained a member of the 38th 
quorum of the Apostles of the Seventies. 

After leaving the church Mr. Broom, in 1872, went to San 
Francisco, where he jiurchased a handsome city residence, three 
stories high, in which his familv resided for several vears. Just 
previous to the erection of the Broom Hotel he disposed of his 
property there and returned to Ogden. 

In the spring of 1882 Mr. Broom commenced the greatest 
enterprise of his life, and which will transmit his name " down 
the ages " and will ever remain as a memorial of his energy, en- 
terprise and public-spiritness. It was a want which had been 
long felt and deplored by all our capitalists — that of a large, re- 



254 tullidge's histories. 

spectable hotel in the Junction City — but none of them dared to 
engaged or invest their money in the enterprise. 

It remained for Mr. Broom to not only attempt, but to con- 
summate this purpose. In the year named above, he tore down 
all the other buildings, and commenced the erection of the noble 
structure which now bears his name, and adds lustre and wealth 
to our town. The " Broom Hotel " is an elegant three story build- 
ing. It covers an area of land 66 feet on Main Street, and ]50 
feet deep on Fifth Street. On the first floor on the corner is a 
fine, well filled drug establishment; immediately north of that 
is an elegant book and stationery depot; and still north of it is 
the mercantile house of Grix. On the first floor on Fifth Street 
are tonsorial establishments, bath houses, billiard hall, reception 
rooms and offices of the hotel. On the second floor are located 
35 rooms which will average in size 20 by 14 feet, and include 
in their number the spacious, splendidly appointed dining 
and banqueting hall, 60 by 33 feet. The third floor also 
contains 35 rooms of the same dimensions as those of the sec- 
ond. The structure is of brick material — contains among others 
18 fine bay windows. The building is from a design by Mat- 
thews & Son, Oakland, Oalifornia. The time occupied in the 
erection was about nine months, and the total cost was about 
$75,000, and is equal to any other establishment of the kind be- 
tween Omaha and San Francisco. 

The Broom Hotel was opened on .January 15th, 1883, by 
Mr. A. D. Shakespeare, under whose management it was con- 
ducted for several years; but at the present date it is under the 
personal direction of Mr. Broom himself. 

The house has become popular and is well patronized by 
city residents and the traveling jjublic. This could not be ex- 
pected to be otherwise, it being a first class house in every par- 
ticular, and the proprietor is careful as far as possible to prevent 
any disreputable characters finding entertainment or lodgment in 
his establishment; and this regardless of money. He desires to 
make a home or resting place for the sojourners in this city. 

Of his family it may be noted: 

.John Broom was married to Miss Elizabeth Haywood in the 
spring of 1845, by whom he had two girls. She died in the city 
of St. Louis, Missouri, in May, 1849. He married again the 
same year at Council Bluffs, Iowa, to Miss Hester Dunsdon, by 
whom he had three children, all girls — two of whom are dead. 
He has had ten grandchildren, eight of whom are living. 

Of John Broom as a man and a citizen it may be accept- 
ably said that he is honest in his dealings with all men, a char- 
acter simple and unostentatious, a man of truth on whom his 
fellow citizens can always rely, benevolent, intelligent, free- 



GEORGE H. TRIBE. 255 

thinking, and yet with all his rare simplicity of character, a man 
with sterling independence of mind. As a citizen he is respected 
by all who know him, both Mormon and Gentile — a citizen in 
fact of whom it may be said for his work and enterprise, as well 
as of his purity of character and general propriety of life, 
Ogden City may deservedly thank and honor. 



GEORGE H. TRIBE. 



George Harrison Tribe, one of the leading merchants of 
Ogden City, was born in London, July 2nd, 1844. He is the son 
of Joseph Tribe and Sarah Ann Mates, and is a younger brother 
of Henry Tribe, a well known commission merchant of Utah 
and a citizen of Ogden. His father was the proprietor of a large 
livery establishment in the British capital. 

The family emigrated in the year 1854. They embarked 
with a company of Saints on board the ship Germanicus; Richard 
Cook was president, and James Hart was his counselor. The 
ship was twelve weeks on her voj'age to New Orleans. They 
continued their journey to St. Louis. When the company landed 
there at the quarantine they were all well, but the cholera broke 
out and a large number died; James Hart himself came near to 
death. In consequence of the breaking out of this terrible dis- 
ease, Father Tribe hired a skiff and took the mother and family 
over to the city, leaving Henry to take care of the baggage, he I 

having had the cholera in London. But the father did not long 
survive the voyage, he dj-ing of brain fever, caused by the 
intense heat in the summer of 1854. 

The elder brother, Henry, started west in the spring of 1855, 
to pioneer the way for the familj' ; but he crossed the plains 
without them, having engaged in the merchant train of Living- 
ston & Kinkade, bound for Salt Lake City. 

George H. Tribe, who was at the time but a youth, eleven 
years of age, with his mother, his sisters Mary Ann and Emma, 
and his brother David, followed the same year. They tarried for 
a while at Mormon Grove. On the 2d of August their company 
struck their tents and started on the arduous journey across the 
sandy plains and the Rocky Mountains, meeting on the way 
several perilous experiences from hostile Indians, who that sea- 
son were fighting witli U. S. troops on the track over which the 
emigrants were passing. Milo Andrus was captain of the 



256 tullidge's histories. 

company, and Mr. Joseph Hall, of Ogden, caj^tain of the guard. 
They arrived in Salt Lake City October 28th, 1855. 

The family settled at first in Salt Lake City, and the mother 
afterwards married Thomas Colburn, father of Mrs. Rosina 
Godbe. 

At about the age of fifteen years George re-crossed the plains 
to the Missouri River, in company with his brother-in-law, Em- 
erson Shurtliff, to fetch to Salt Lake City a train of merchan- 
dise. The trip engaged one season. In the fall of the following 
year he also made a trip by the southern route to California for 
another train of merchandise. Thus commenced his commer- 
cial career. 

Mr. George H. Tribe has had an excellent commercial edu- 
cation and experience. He graduated in business in the firm of 
Ransohoff & Co., in Salt Lake City, and during his engagement 
with them he had charge of a branch of their house at Moroni, 
San Pete County. He was with the firm about five years and 
afterwards with Godbe & Mitchell. 

While in the employ of Ransohoff he did some military 
service for the Territory, he being one of Heber P. Kimball's 
command that went to the relief of San Pete at the time of the 
Indian troubles. 

When the telegraph line was opened he went south with 
.John Clows, and helped to establish every office on that line 
down to St. George, opening the offices as thej' went at each set- 
tlement. He took charge himself of the office at Toquerville, 
where he stayed four months as the operator. It was after this 
that he was connected with the firm of Godbe & Mitchell. 

After the dissolution of partnership between Godbe & 
Mitchell, Mr. Tribe came to Ogden and established a branch 
store for Mr. Mitchell, l)ut in 1869 he commenced business for 
himself, having bought out Mitchell's stock of goods. For a while 
he kept his business on the old stand on the east side of Main 
Street, but afterwards moved to the opposite side, leased a build- 
ing lot of L. W. Shurtliff and built a store. There he continued 
in business till 1878, when he moved on to Fourth Street in the 
centre of the block, where he put up his present fine store, which 
is one of the best in Ogden City. He also carries on the liquor 
business on Main Street. He does a good business, carries a 
fine stock of well assorted goods, and is properly considered one 
of the leading merchants of Ogden. Of Mr. George Tribe per- 
sonally it may be said, he is a man of considerable business 
capacity, quick to push forward into new business lines, and the 
building of his fine store in the central spot has tended not a 
little to make Fourth Street what it now is, a first class business 
part of Ogden. 



BOYLE * CO. 257 

George is in the prime of manhood, and should Ogden grow 
iinto a great citj', as it fairlj' bids to do, Mr. George Tribe will 
very likely rank, by and by, as one of the rich and influential 
men of Utah, as he does now as one of the representative business 
men of Ogden City. He is a man of good moral character, is 
quite intellectual, liberal in his views and tolerant to others. 
He is in fine a representative citizen, as well as an enterprising 
young merchant. In the commercial future of Ogden, few have 
fairer promise than Mr. George Tribe. It is worthy of note, in 
the commercial history of our Territory, that there is at present 
a lot of young merchants growing up from the community who, 
though they will not make colossal fortunes as rapidly as did our 
early merchants, such as Jennings, Hooper and the Walkers, are 
nevertheless destined to make considerable mark in the mercan- ,, 

tile activities of the future. Mr. George Tribe is of that class. 1 

Of his immediate family it may be noted: H 

George H. Tribe was married April, 1870, to Miss Anna -I 

M. Foulger. She was born November 14th, 1852, in London, \. 

England. She died January 27th, 1878, leaving four children, i: 

three boys and one girl; the oldest boy, George Wallace, died 
January 12th, 1880. The others are living at the present writ- 
ing, iiay 22d, 1879, Mr. Tribe was married again to Miss Eliza- 



_ I 

beth H. Foulger, the sister of the deceased wife. By her Mr. , ! 



BOYLE & CO. 



Peter Adams Boyle (the father of John A. Boyle, who is 
established as one of the ablest members of Ogden Citj' Council) 
was the founder of the firm of Boyle & Co. Father Boyle, 
though now dead, will still be remembered by many of the early 
settlers as one of the first inaugurators of home manufactures in 
Weber County. 

Peter Adams Boyle was born at Glasgow, Scotland, in the 
year 1824. He was the son of John Boyle and Christina Adams. 
He was left an orphan at a very tender age — being only about 
five years old when both his parents passed away to the spirit 
land. When ten years old he entered on an apprenticeship to 
Mr. J. H. Brown, a cabinet maker. He served six years and 
acquired a good understanding of his profession. At the expira- 

32 



I 



Tribe has had four children, two boys and two girls, all of whom 
are now living. 



258 tullidge's histories. 

tion of his time he continued to work as journeyman in the 
same establishment. On January 1st, 1848, he was married to 
Miss Elizabeth McGregor Sinclair. They had both, ere this, 
became members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints. In 1848 they bade farewell to the land of Burns and 
sailed for America. They went to St. Louis and stayed there 
two years, and then moved up the river to a town called Tarley, 
near Weston, Missouri. While there he worked at his trade and 
also took contracts for buildings, etc. Finding his vocation 
remvmerative he remained in that place till 1855, when he 
crossed the plains to Utah in Captain John Hindley's company. 
On arriving in this Territory he came to Ogden and continued 
to reside here until his death. He, with his family, participated 
in the "hard times" experienced by the people here in the win- 
ter of 1855-6, caused by the destruction of the crops by the 
grasshoppers the previous summer. For several years following- 
he engaged in farming in the spring and summer months, and 
in the fall and winter he worked, when he had opportunities, at 
cabinet making. In 1882 he commenced the manufacture of 
spinning wheels, shoe pegs, furniture, etc. Subsequently he built 
a molasses mill, to which the farmers rushed with their cane to 
be expressed and converted into sorghum. 

In 1872 he formed a partnership with his son, John A. 
Bojde, and continued operations under the firm name of Boyle 
& Son, furniture dealers, etc. For two years John A. superin- 
tended the business, during which time the father continued to 
make the wheels and pegs. At that period coin or cash of any kind 
was not very plentiful in Ogden City, and some of the business 
men found it difficult to meet promptly their money payments. 
But by rigid economy this firm was enabled to answer all their 
monetary demands and keep their credit good. By promptitude 
and assiduous attention to their patrons' wants, in a few j^ears 
they built up a thriving, prosperous business, and which to-day 
is hardly second to any other similar one in the Territory. 

In 1876 they erected a new two story brick building, 25 by 
75 feet, which was soon well stocked with goods bought by the 
junior member of the firm in the Eastern markets. Their busi- 
ness had now grown to large proportions, and a demand was 
created for their goods in distant towns. The Boyles now ap- 
peared to be on the high road to prosperity, but the future, in 
part at least, was hidden from their ken. In 1877, afire occurred 
in their establishment, which destroyed about .$10,000 worth of 
their property; about $3,000 of which was insured, tluis making 
them suffer to the amount of seven thousand dollars. Undaunted, 
but somewhat depressed by their reverses, they soon commenced 
the erection of another building suitable for their enterprise and 



BOYLE & CO. 259 

resumed business, which, by patient, persistent perseverance, 
soon became again jjrosperous. 

In 1881, after a lingering ilhiess which had prevented his 
activity for some time, the respected head of the firm passed 
away. He died in the month of August, in the fifty-sixth year 
of his age. The funeral took place on Sunday, August 15th ; the 
services were held in the Second Ward assembly rooms. All the 
leading church authorities of this city were present and took 
part in the obsecjuies. At the close of the ceremonies an im- 
mense cortege was formed, consisting of seventy-eight vehicles, 
which was headed by the Ogden City brass band in full uniform, 
and which rendered effectively appropriate dirges during the 
march to the cemetery. While the remains were being deposited 
in their narrow home, the choir, under the direction of Prof. 
Max Boyan, sang the beautiful anthem, " Peace, be Still." 

But few men in this community had as much, and none had 
more, respect shown to their memory after their departure than 
Peter Adams Boyle. " It was a j^leasant fact," said the Ogden 
Junction, "to notice, at the funeral services of the late Mr. P. A. 
Boyle, that all denominations were represented. This speaks as 
well for the general esteem in which he was held, as for the 
humane feelings of the participants." 

The estate of the deceased was duly administered and the 
firm was continued under the same name, there now being four 
members instead of two, all sons of the deceased head. 

In 1882 the concern had been so successful and had assumed 
such large proportions that it necessitated more room for their 
accommodations in the transaction of their thriving vocation. 
A two story building was put up, 25 by 85 feet l^asenient. Two 
years later more reverses visited them. Another conflagration 
in their establishment destroj-ed a great amount of their furni- 
ture and injured their buildings. The total damage this time 
was estimated at $11,000; but fortunately they were insured for 
$9,000. Bj' 1885 their success had been unprecedented, and to 
meet all the demands of their patrons they were compelled to 
build an extension 30 by 70 feet, with four floors, making a 
grand total of 20,000 square feet of flooring apportioned to their 
several rooms. The erection is occupied as warehouse, work- 
shops, etc. The monetarv business of this firm has increased 
since 1872 from $10,000 annually, to about $100,000 annually at 
the present time. Their trade extends throagh all Northern 
Utah, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Wyoming, Colorado and other 
places. To-day the firm of Boyle & Co. is, with one exception, 
the largest of the kind in the Territory of Utah. The names of 
the members composing it are John Adams Boyle, McLarens 



260 tullidge's histories. 

Boyle, James Boyle, and Wallace Boyle. The present head of 
the firm is John A., and it is greatly to his sagacity and 
energy, combined with the general business integrity of the 
house, that the firm owes its present prominent commercial 
standing in Junction City. 

Councilor John A. Boyle was born October 7th, 1846, at 
Edinburgh, Scotland. He left there in his infancy, and, with his 
parents, came to Utah. He has been raised in Ogden, has grown 
up with the city, and is appreciated as one of her most enter- 
prising sons. 

It scarcely need be said that Mr. John Boyle is a member of 
the church in which he was born — namelj" the Church of Latter- 
day Saints. He is a member of the sixtieth quorum of the 
Apostles of the Seventies, and in October, 1881, went on a mis- 
sion to preach the gospel in his native land. He labored there 
successfully, acquitted himself honorably, and, in September, 
1882, returned to his home in Ogden. 

In February, 1883, he was elected by a large majority a 
member of the municipal government. He served on several 
important committees. He was chairman of tlie committees on 
finance and fire department. In February, 1885, he was again 
elected to the City Council, and again in February, 1887, he was 
elected to serve in the same capacity. He inherits the persevering 
characteristics of his Caledonian race, which have done much to 
aid him in his hitherto successful career. He is the senior member 
of the firm. During his absence in Europe he visited a number 
of large furniture establishments in Edinburgh, Birmingham, 
London and Paris, from which he obtained valuable information, 
and which, on his return, was utilized to enlarge and consolidate 
the business of the firm. 

The other members of the firm are McLarens, James and 
Wallace; all efficient in their several departments of the house. 
McLarens is chief accountant and superintends the purchasing 
for the establishment. The other two attend to the general bus- 
iness department of the concern, including their extensive ship- 
ments, etc. John A. has the general oversight and superinten- 
-dency of the whole. 

In the affairs of Ogden's future, both commercial and muni- 
cipal, Mr. John A. Boyle maybe reasonably forecast for a conspicu- 
ous and honoralde place. He is in the prime of manhood, having 
only just passed his fortieth j'ear, and is possessed of sufficient of 
that laudable ambition, so becoming in a representative citizen, to 
accept the" responsibility of public duties when honored with 
their trust by his fellow-citizens. In fine, we should name John 
A. Boyle as one of the available and most acceptable men of 



THOMAS WILKIXS JONES. 261 

Ogilen ou the side of the People's party as a future mayor of the 
Junction City, in the due succession which these Democratic 
times demand to hecomingly fill the office of chief magistrate of 
a live, progressive city. 



THOMAS WILKIXS JONES. 



Among those men of enterprise who have, by the wealth of 
their ability and industry, contributed to build up Ogden City, 
is the subject of this sketch. He came into this place when 
there was scarcely a decent resident tenement to be seen. He 
has thus become identified with the growth and has aided to es- 
tablish its material prosperity and solidification. He is a man 
of energy, persistency, ability, and strict probity, and, as sue I"-, 
he is respected and honored by all who know him. 

Thomas W. Jones was born September l'2th, 1834, at Quebec, 
Canada. He is the son of James Bray Jones and Elizabeth Brown 
Wilkins. His father and mother were born in Caerphilly, Glamor- 
ganshire, Wales. They were married March •23d, 1832, and shortly 
afterwards emigrated to Quebec. The father was well educated 
and his parents designed him to be a druggist. His tastes and 
inclinations, however, were opposed to this profession and he was 
consequently allowed to choose a profession for himself, and in 
time he became an eminent engraver and copperplate printer. 
On arriving in Canada he opened an establishment and followed 
his profession until his demise, which occurred September 12th, 
1841, the day the subject of this sketch was seven years old. 
The mother is still living in Ogden, and is hale and hearty in 
the eighty-first year of her age. 

After the death of his father, the widow with her three children 
returned to Wales, where Thomas W^., in March, 1846, entered 
the tailoring establishment of Mr. Wm. James, under whom he 
served his regular apprenticeship. At the expiration of his term 
he commenced as journeyman in the town of Cardiff. In 1850, 
having heard the elders of the Mormon church preach, and being 
convinced that the doctrines were true, he was baptized by Elder 
Wm. Willis, in the river Taff", at Cardifi', Wales. Three years 
later, on the 5th of February, Mr. Jones sailed from Liverpool 
for New Orleans on the ship Jersey, Captain Day. After six weeks 
pleasant voj-age he reached his destination. He then took steam- 
boat, via St. Louis, for Keokuk, Iowa. At this point he fitted 



ii 



'262 tullidge's histories. 

out an ox team and came in C. V. Spencer's train to Salt Lake 
City, arriving there September 19tli, 1853. He spent the first 
winter in Kaysward. In 1854 he came to Ogden, which place 
has been his permanent residence from that time to the present. 
On July. 23d, 1855, he was ordained a member of the Seventh 
Quorum of Seventies, and in company with a number of others 
was sent on a mission to Fort Supply, then Utah, now in Wyo- 
ming Territor3\ 

On the 7th of March, 185G, with several others, he started on 
horseback for Ogden. They had not yet learned of the deep 
snows that had fallen in this valley during the winter, until they 
reached Bear River, when they saw the snow piled up in 
large banks, and the further they travelled the deeper they dis- 
covered the snow to be. On reaching Weber Canyon they were 
compelled to leave their animals to shift for themselves, and Mr. 
Jones and his companions had to travel on foot the remainder of 
the journey. The entire journey occupied ten days. The trip 
could, under ordinary circumstances be made in from two to 
three days. On the 3rd day of April, 1856, Mr. Jones was mar- 
ried to Miss Sarah Jane Foy. The bride's father performed the 
marriage ceremony. He returned to the fort with his wife and 
remained there until the approach of Johnston's army, when the 
fort was broken up and he returned to Ogden. In the fall of 
1857 Mr. Jones was mustered into service in the Nauvoo Legion 
and marched north with his brigade to Marsh Valley. On his 
return he was detailed with the companies to go to Echo Canyon 
and took part in the famous " bloodless war." On the 4th of 
December the same year, he arrived in Ogden. In the following 
year he participated in the "move south." He went as far as 
Spanish Fork. After the arrival of the peace commissioners he 
returned and settled down to make a permanent home for his 
family. He was a member of the Home Dramatic Association 
for a])0ut ten years. 

In 1870 he opened a merchant tailoring establishment on 
Main Street. His beginnings were small, but they have since, b)' 
his business integrit}', grown to large proportions, and now is the 
largest house of the kind in Ogden, and, indeed, in Northern 
Utah. He enjoys a good home jiatronage, and is extensively 
supported in numerous other towns along the lines of the rail- 
roads, east to Wyoming, west to Nevada, and north tlirough 
Idaho into Montana. His business includes men's furnishing 
goods, but he carries none but first class articles. His wares 
give ample satisfaction to all who have business transactions 
with him. 

His house is located on the east side of Main Street, on the 
centre of the block Ijetween Fourth and Fifth Streets. He gives 



A. KUHN A BROTHER. 263 

constant employment to a number of skilled workmen in his 
establishment. 

On the 10th May, 1873, Mr. Jones had the misfortune to lose 
his wife by death. She left him with seven children. On March 
2nd, 1874, he again entered the marriage estate, being united in 
wedlock to Miss Louisa Goodale, daughter of Isaac N. Goodale, 
Esq. 

As a man and a citizen Mr. T. W. Jones is honored and re- 
spected by his townsmen. He is true to his convictions politically, 
civilly and religiously, and while he makes no special show of piety, 
he has been ever true to his party and his creed. That apt popular 
phrase, by which a sagacious, common-sense public hits oft the man \\ 

worthy of his fellows-citizens' trust will fitly apply in this case: 
"His friends always know where to find him." In tine, we may ; 

justly and acceptably write the name of Thomas W. Jones in this 
history as one of the representative men of Ogden City. 



A. KUHN^ & BROTHER. 



In every commercial city of the civilized world the race of 
merchants from which A. Kuhn & Brother sprang, have been dis- 
tinctively prominent in establishing the commecre of the country; 
and among the most thrifty and enterprising of the merchants of 
Ogden City, may be named A. Kuhn & Brother. 

Adam Kuhn, the principal of the firm, was born in Weisen- 
heira on the Berg Rhein-pfalz, October 23d, 1844. He is the son 
of Joseph Kuhn and Fanny Eichhold. Abraham, his partner and 
elder brother, was born at the same place in 1838. 

Soon after his marriage, the father of the Kuhn Brothers, be- 
fore they were born, left his native land and came to America, and 
went into business at Mobile ; but after an absence of two and a 
half years, he returned to his family in his land, where he died at 
the ripe age of eighty-four. Their mother, also, died in her native 
land at the age of seventy-eight. 

Abraham Kuhn, the elder brother, came to America in 1852. 
and lived for awhile at Vincennes, Indiana, and commenced bus- 
iness as a vendor of merchandise on a small scale. In 1853, mov- 
ing westward in his business course, he reached Council lilufts, 



264 tullidge's histories. 

Iowa, and opened out a stock of merchandise in that place. In 
1860 he closed out his business in Omaha, and went to Denver, 
Colorado, where be opened another mercantile establishment, and 
enjoyed a prosperous career for three years, when the gold fever 
broke out in Montana, which drew him farther west. He next 
opened business at Salt Lake City in the spring of 1864, where he 
remained about two years, then sold out and went into business at 
Montana, where he stayed another two years and again sold out. 
He next made a visit to Europe to see his parents, and stayed about 
a year and a half, when he returned to America in the fall of 
1869. 

Mr. Adam Kuhn, the principal of the firm, came to America 
in the spring of 18-54. He came alone, yet he was only twenty 
years of age. At the onset of his business life in the new world, 
he was employed in the firm of J. and I. Kuhn, his kinsmen, who 
carried on a wholesale clothing and dry goods business at Des Moines. 
He stayed with this tirm live years, till 1862, when he moved 
west to Colorado, where he started freighting, transporting goods 
from Denver and Utah and also to Montana until the year 1868. 
He made a business of freighting, running mule trains. Meantime 
he carried on a merchandise business of his own, in charge of assist- 
ants, at Virginia, Montana and Bannock. On the return of his 
brother Abraham, from his visit to Europe, be sold out his trains 
and his stores at Virginia and Bannock, and, in partnership with 
his brother, came to Corinne and opened business in the Fall of 
1869. The firm remained at Corinne until 187(i, meantime they 
carried on branch houses at Evanston, Wyoming and Ogden. 
With their characteristic sagacity they soon perceived that Ogden 
as the junction point was destined to become the City of Merchants, 
to Utah, and by establishing a branch business there at an early day 
the}' had prepared for the removal of their principal house to that 
Junction City ; this they effected in 1880. The firm opened first 
in the Woodmansee building, and soon afterwards they opened a 
large wholesale dry goods and clothing house in the Stephens Block. 
Here they realized a great expansion of their trade, which extended 
into other Territories and States. 

In 1886, having purchased a large plot of real estate on the 
west side of Main Street, immediately north of Z. C. M. I. they 
erected one of the finest blocks in Ogden City, and which bears their 
own name — The Kuhn Block. It is a brick structure, three stories 
high, and fifty-three by one hundred feet. It has noble iron 
columns, which were manufactured in Salt Lake City ; it has a 
beautiful walnut front ; with magnificent French plate glass win- 
dows and doors. One of the marked features of this fine establish- 
ment, which customers will be sure to highly appreciate, is the full 
and clear light that pervades the store both day and night, in every 
department the proprietors having in the construction and appoint- 
ment of the building, paid especial care to this great desideratum of 



SCOWCROFT A SONS. 265 

a mercantile house, where customers may select their goods at the 
best advantage. In the day time the store has all the light the sun 
can furnish, with scarcely an obstruction, more than the mellowing 
of the too dazzling glare of the sun re<iuires, while at night the 
place is illuminated with the electric system. 

The appointments of the stories are in keeping therewith. The 
counters and tables in all the rooms are uniform in size and color, 
and are made of walnut; the elevators from the basement to the 
upper room, together with the balustrade, are nearly all ensconced 
in good casings ; in the counting room is a very handsome English 
tire grate, and burglar-proot vault ; in tine, the apartments are 
complete and unexcelled by those of any other house in Utah. In- 
deed, this tine Kuhn block is a credit to Ogden City, and adds to 
its material wealth, as well as being a monument of the enterprising 
spirit of the proprietors. It is, moreover, extending the Main Street 
of the city, drawing a liveh^ business in the north direction, con- 
tinuing now the well-defined business block opened by the erection 
of the Z. C M. I. buildings ; and other fine stores are rapidly rising 
adjoining the Kuhn block. 

Note. —Mr. Abraham Kuhn is typically a family man. He married the 
■daughter of Abi-aham and Fredrica Rosenbaum, a native of (rermany, by whom he 
has four sons and two daughters — Carl, Arthur, Oscar, Leda, Selma and Paul. He 
is patriarchal in his love for his children of whom he is very proud. 



SCOWCROFT & SOXS. 



The senior member of this enterprising and thriving house 
is one of the best and acutest calculators and iinanciers of which 
the Junction City can boast. Coming, as he does, from the " nation 
of shop-keepers,'' he brought with him a fund of experience 
which he acquired in his business in his native land, and which 
has been of great value to him in this the land of his adoption, 
in establishing a mercantile career. 

John Scowcroft is the son of .lames Scowcroft and Hannah 
Fairbrother Scowcroft. The father was born at Tottington, 



266 tullidge's histories. 

Lancashire, Eugland, December 24th, 1797. He was a hand- 
loom weaver, and worked at his trade the greater part of his 
life. He died January 5th, 1875 ; and the mother died in June, 
1857, in their native land. Thej' had two sons, James and John, 
the latter, who is tlie prominent character in this sketch, was 
also born at Tottington, England, December 9th, 1844. When 
eight years old he was put to labor at his father's occupation,, 
and continued so to do until he was twelve years of age, when 
he was placed in one of the large cotton manufactories. He fol- 
lowed that business until the inauguration of the civil war in the 
United States, when for the lack of cotton the factory was forced 
to close, and young John was necessitated to seek other sources 
of revenue. He now engaged with his brother in the green 
grocery and fish business, which he followed for several years. 
In 1861, he was baptized into the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints. He had previously attended their Sabbath 
school, of which he subsequently became the superintendent. 
In 1863 he was united in wedlock to Miss Mary Fletcher, of his 
native town. The same year he was ordained a priest in the Mor- 
mon church, and as such, spent what time he could spare in preach- 
\ng the gospel to the people in his native place and in the towns and 
villages adjacent thereto. On June 18th, 1868, John Scowcroft 
was ordained an elder and was appointed to preside over the 
Tottington branch of the church. He filled this responsible 
position for a number of years. 

Having acquired a knowledge of confectionery and the 
bakery, in 1872 he entered on these vocations for himself. By 
his characteristic energy, determination and fair dealing, he soon 
secured patronage that built up a good, flourishing business in 
the town of Haslingden, near his native place. He introduced 
machiner}' into his establishment, and steam power was needed 
to perform the work that manual labor alone could not accom- 
plish. At this time Mr. Scowcroft was acquiring a competency 
that would soon have made him independent in pecuniary mat- 
ters, and which he never could have been induced to close, 
except for the desire, and what to him was an imperative duty, 
namely, to gather with the great body of the people with whose 
destinies his own had become identical. For this people, and 
for the principles they had embraced, and which he had accepted 
as his religious creed, there was no sacrifice that at that time he 
was not willing to make. He then stood alone in the Mormon 
church. None other of his kindred or father's family were with 
him in his religious faith. His determination being fixed and 
unalterable, on the 5th of June, 1880, he bade farewell to his 
famil}', relatives and his other legion of friends, took passage on 
board the good ship Wisconsin, Captain Bently, and sailed for 
New York. There were over one thousand passengers on board 
of various nationalities. About six hundred of them were 



SCOWCROFT A SON. 267 

Latter-day Si^uts, who, like himself and family, were e?i route for 
their home in Zion. They had a delightful time while on the 
ocean. It was more like a pleasure trip than anything else. 
They landed in the American metropolis on the IStli of the 
same month, and on the following day took train for the West 
and arrived in the Ogden City, June 24th. After a few daj^s' 
visiting he settled in this city and found employment in the 
establishment of R. P. Harris. He continued in his services for 
about six months, during which period he experienced much 
kindness from his employer, and mutual friendship was ce- 
mented between them, which continued until the demise of 
Mr. Harris, which occurred in 1S87. 

In 1881, Mr. Scowcroft again embarked in commercial pur- 
suits for himself. He rented an establishment for this purpose 
on the west side of Main Street. He began, at first, by the manu- 
facture and sale of confectionery to the wholesale and retail stores; 
and besides his home trade he supplied various other dealers 
both East, West, and North of this place. To this business he 
soon added general merchandise, such as is found in all the large 
mercantile houses in this city. He now has associated with him 
as partners, his sons Joseph and AVillard, both of whom are shrewd 
business men. Joseph is an excellent calculator and finan- 
cier. They own their establishment and their business is wide- 
spread, and extends far into localities in all the cardinal directions. 
Their present house is 33 x 100 feet, well filled up and appointed. j 

It has an iron front, the windows and doors being of French 
plate glass. The store is thoroughly stocked with the completest 
assortment and choicest selection of goods, foreign and domestic. 

,It has been briefly mentioned in the foregoing that in Eng- 
land Mr. Scowcroft was a presiding elder of a branch of the 
Church. This position held by a Mormon elder in England's 
principal cities, signified that the incumbent was esteemed both 
by the local members of the branch and conference as a man of 
considerable intellectual and business capacity, as also of well- 
tried integrity of character. The standing law of the British 
mission was strictly applied that the president of a principal 
branch of any conference should be fitted, if required and ap- 
pointed, to preside over the conference itself. These presiding 
elders of branches periodically met in their district quarterly 
councils, at which the general affairs of the whole work — mis- 
sionary, financial and emigrational — was well considered, dis- 
cussed and directed by these councils of presiding elders, at which 
there would, as a rule, be present not only the president of the 
conference, but also frequently the presidency of the European 
mission; so that the capacity of the branch presidents was quickly 
determined, and those approved were considered men of mark 



268 tullidge's histories. 

and ability in the British Mission. Elder Scowcroft was one of 
these ; and he possessed the confidence of his compeers in his 
native land as a man of good personal character and presiding 
ability. This character he has fully sustained as a citizen and 
business man of Ogden in his sul)sequent career. 

Relative to his present position in the Wel)er Stake, it may 
be noted, in closing this sketch, that Mr. Scowcroft Avas ordained 
and set apart as one of the presidents of the Seventy-sixth 
Quorum of the Apostles of the Seventies, on the 30th of Decem- 
ber, 1SS3. On the 24th of April, 1S84, he was elected superin- 
tendent of the large Sabbath school of the Second Ward, which 
jjosition he still holds. By the teachers and pupils he is held in 
high esteem; and he is respected by the community generally, 
as one of Ogden's most upright and enterprising citizens of tlie 
present day. 



HENRY ELLIOT GIBSON. 

[HIS I.STERESTING NARRATIVE OF THE EXPLORATION OK THE SOUTHERN ROUTE INTO 
CALIFORNIA.] 



This gentleman, who is one of the representative business 
men of Ogden, in the lumber line, was among the early settlers 
of this Territory, and also one of the gold diggers of California. 
He is an American by birth, of Scotch descent, and was born in 
the town of Otsego, Otsego County, in the State of New York, 
January 14th, 1527. 

His grandfather, John Gibson, came from Scotland before 
the American war, being a 3'Oung man at the time of his emigra- 
tion to this country. He was a revolutionary soldier, and for his 
services drew a pension all his lifetime ; his wife did the same 
after his death. This grandfather, John Gibson, settled in west- 
ern New York in the early settlement of that part of the coun- 
try. He located in Livingston County, where a great many 
Scotch settled, but he married a German Avomen. His social po- 
sition in life was that of a successful farmer. 

John Gibson, the father of the subject of this sketch, in his 
youth, went to Canada, where he remained for nine years, and 
then returned to the LInited States and settled in Otsego. There 
he became acquainted with Elizabeth Wade, whom he married. 
Henry Elliot Gibson was their third child. His earliest recollec- 
tion was at the town of AVheatland, Monroe County, where his 



HENRY ELLIOT GIBSON. 269 

father locatetl. In his youth Mr. Gibson had delicate health, in 
consequence of which his mother kept him at school longer than 
she otherwise would have done, so that he got a good com- 
mon school education. 

It was a singular circumstance that brought him into con- 
nection with the Mormons. In company with a lot of wild lads 
he went to a Methodist camp meeting, where the lads created a 
disturbance. The next day several were arrested, but young 
Gibson fled to his parental home, in Wheatland. His mother 
had been a Mormon for iive years, and sometimes the elders of 
the church held meetings at her house. His brother and two 
sisters were also in the church. Thus the young man who fled 
to his mother's home, in consequence of being one of the dis- 
turbers of a camp meeting, was brought under religious influ- 
ences He became convinced of the truth of Mormonism an i 
was baptized at Wheatland, on the 29th of March, 1S47. He was 
sincere, became strict and conscientious in his religious duties, 
and would not have broken a commandment for anything. But 
Mr. Gibson is not naturally a religious man, though he has been 
ever since identified with the Mormon peojile, and is still a mem- 
ber of the Mormon church. It is as a representative business 
man and as one of the early settlers of this Territory that we 
sketch his life. 

After his baptism young Gibson went to work at a wagon 
shop at Leroy, Tennessee County, and while there visited Batavia 
to attend a Mormon conference. There he became acquainted 
with Miss Eliza M. Gibbs, daughter of Horace Gibbs, one of the 
first settlers of Batavia, a prominent citizen who had been in the 
hotel business twenty years. Mr. Gibbs was a Mormon and he 
willingly gave his daughter in marriage to Henry Gibson. Soon 
after the marriage, in the spring, Father Gibbs, his wife and two 
daughters, and his son-in-law, Gibson, started for Salt Lake City.* 
The first part of the journey from Council Blufts was made in 
the company of Heber C. Kimball, but they changed into Presi- 
dent Brigham Young's company, and travelled with him 500 
miles. This was on the second trip of the Pioneers to the valley 
of the Great Salt Lake. On the journey Mr. Gibson's eldes 
daughter was born, 130 miles from Salt Lake. 

Father Gibbs having brought with him a full set of saw 



* Mr. Gibson has been twice married, having entered into wliat is termed 
in the Mormon church plural marriage. On the 30th of July, 1876, his first 
wife died. 8he had been aftected with epilepsy for ten years" previous to her 
death. She was an amiable woman, and a dutiful, kind' hearted, aflfectiouate 
wife and mother. She was the mother of ten children— five boys and five 
girls; eight of whom sun'ive her. Mr. Gibson's second wife is still living. 
She is the daughter of Archibald Kerr and Nancy Frast. She ha.s had seven 
ehiUlren, six of whom are living. 



no tullidge's histories. 



mill irons from New York State, Mr. Gibson, with his young 
wife, went up on Mill Creek soon after his arrival, to take charge 
of the building of a mill aiid to live there. He built a log house 
and lived there about a year. During this period gold was found 
in California by the discharged soldiers of the Mormon Battalion 
at Sutter's Alill, while in the employ of Colonel Sutter under 
their foreman, Thomas Marshall, once famous in history as the 
goldfinder' of California. 

This event led to an expedition to California of a company 
of Mormon elders, who started from Salt Lake City, in the fall of 
1849, designing to work for awhile in the gold mines, after which 
some were to proceed on missions to preach the gospel. The 
company consisted of General Charles C. Rich, Major Jefferson 
Hunt, of the Mormon Battalion, Captain Flake, captain of the 
company, George Q. Cannon, Joseph Cain, Thomas Whittle, 
Henry E. Gibson and his brother Edgar, and others of a similar 
reliable class. Of this journey Mr. Gibson says : 

"We were the first company who ever undertook to go to California by 
the southern route. We started with only aliout tliirty days' provisions, vet 
we were sixty days on tlie road. We went with pack animals, and in crossing 
the desert had often to turn l)aek and retake up our journey in another direc- 
tion. This made the journey ^ery long and severe, kilUng nearly all of our 
animals, so tliat the last 350 miles were mostly performed on foot. But it was 
a splendid company of brethren; so we were enabled to survive one of the 
liardest journeys ever made to tlie State of California. 

"Before we got 300 miles from liome tieneral Rich's mule gave out — a 
mule which won for itself ((uite a historical reputation. General Rich, whose 
humane nature every Mormon knows, left liis worn out mule on the way to 
recover, while the company went on; liut every night the mule regularly came 
into camp, having followed as fast as its strength would ])ermit. Thus it re- 
covered and went through to California, and became limnorously famous for 
its utility, while many others died and left their bones on the road. Tlie 
mule's name was Sim. The brethren in General Rich's mess, whose mules were 
mostly worn oiit, were in the habit of hurrying off before the General, loaded 
down with tlieir blankets and utensils, while the kind, eccentric General 
would talvc his time and follow on leisurely with '.Sim,' but the nmle in an 
hoiu' or two would catch up witli the t)rethren liearing their loads, when 
Charles C. Rich was sure to hail them with, 'Oh, take that ofl' and put it on 
t) Sim.' Thus Sim was a ludicrous pack animal to the company and survived 
tliis most arduous journey, ilhiistrating what tlie innate human kindness of 
Gieneral Rich effected even in perverse mule Hesli. 

"Tliis journey w;is full of incidents whicli, as they are properly historical, 
may some of them be touelied upon. 

"When our company was about GOO miles on the way, being a little south- 
west of ^\ here Pioehe now stands, we traveled thirty-six hours without water 
or grass, nor did we see any signs of either, or a prospect of soon finding that 
for which we were perishing. But on the second day, aft^r traveling all night, 
at about four o'cloclv in the afternoon, a tremendous rain storm came on; 
streams of water came running down the ravines, when we unloaded our ani- 
mals, and filled every vt^ssel we had with water. Our thirsty souls thus re- 
freshed in the desert by this providential rain, as Mormon elders always do, 
we saw the Divine watchcare over us. We went on our way thankful to Him 
who had sent the refreshing rains in the desert. 

"After wandering about in that regit)ii, finding that we could not possibly 
get thrt)Ugli to California by the westerly coui'se, we turned about and followed 
the 1 ed of a dry creek in a southeasterly direction, till we struck an old Spiin- 



I 



HKXRY KI.I.IOT GIBSON. 27) 

ish trail from S uita Fe to La>» Anjrcles, which we foUowi-rl into ("aliforniii. 
We struek near tlie famous ranch of San Bernardino, where we arrived hare- 
footed aiui nulled, and without any provisions, iiere may he told an incident I 
of our privations just before we re.iclu'd the firet settlement in California. 

"We arrived late one nijrht on the Mohave without food. Next day we 
divided, one-half keeping tlie trail with the animals, while the other half 

8eattere<l for the hunt, but we only managed that day to kill one rabbit and an ' 

owl. My brother Edjjar killeil an owl, wiiich was eaten. Next day, from the j 

apiwaraiice of the country, we concluded that we were in the neigliliorhood of ll 

deer, and as a snow storm liad (H'curred over ni<rht, making the ground too I, 

soft for travel, we c included to lay over for a general hunt for food. But ' 

George Q. ("annon was sick that morning and I was left to take care of him. 

AH the rest went out to hunt for food. On the first day, this lieing the second l 

ou the Mohave, Captain Flake had shot at and wouiuled a deer, which had 
esMpcd. About noon of the .second day we in camp heard some one calling, 
and looking up I saw General Rich beckoning. Going to his help I found 
that the General had dragged a dead deer on" the snow as far as he could, 
which was supposed to be the animal wounded by Captain Flake the day 
before. I relieved General Rich and dragged the deer into camp, and before 
sundown there were seven deer lying aroiiud camp. That night we made a 
feast of venison, but it was so poor that under other circumstances we would 
not have eaten it. We had no salt to season it, yet we looked upon this as 
another godsend, and this food lasted us until we got into the first settlement. 

" We went directly to Colonel Williams' ranch, about twenty-tive miles 
from the San Bernardino ranch. Peter Fife and Henry Bigler, of the Mor- 
mon Battalion, had barracked at Los Angeles and they knew Colonel Wil- 
liams. The company went to work for the Colonel, repairing his grist mill. 
We stayed with him a month. The company had no animals, provisions or 
clothes to pursue their journey, l)Ut Colonel Williams titted us out with two 
ox teams, one three yoke and the other two, furnishing us with gmeeries, 100 
bushels of wheat, and ?1,000 in money as a loan, to take us to the gold mines. 
General Rich was responsible for the "debt. After we got to work at the mines, 
in three days we made enough money to pay the debt. General Rich foi- 
warded it to Colonel Williams, who afterward" told us on our return that he 
had helped to fit out many of the gold-findere' companies, but that this ]Mor- 
mon company was the only one which had faithfully discharged their debt. 

"Before we left Colonel Williams' ranch Howard'Egan l^ad joined us with 
a company, and during the summer, Egan followed up our ^lormon gold- 
finders, from one claim to the other, establishing stores for their supplies. 

" >Iyself and George Q. Cannon worked together on the same claim, thir- 
teen of the brethren having remained together as a mining companv under 
Captain Thonuus Whittle. 

"George Q. Cannon was a very diffident young man, who never put him- 
self forward, listening thoughtfully to tlie convereations of his elders, but sel- 
dom taking part in the conversations, and never attempting to show smart- 
ness as young men so often do. Tlie first idea I got of his smartness was by 
his letters to his uncle and friends at lumie, which he used to read to me. 
They were beautiful letters, the composition was chaste and eloquent, and the 
purity of mind and nobility of soul of George Q. Cannon shone out in everj' 
line. I am always indignant when I read anything in the jiajiers against the 
purity of George Q. Cannon's life and character. 

"Of General Rich I may say: He was held in reverence by us all. He 
was as a father to us throughout the journey. After we had reached Williams' 
ranch he was offered means, Ijy several who possessed money among the 
brethren, to proceed with them direct to the gold mines; liut he answered, ' no, 
I shall stay with these boys.' This fatherly care was returned by us with grat- 
itude, for when the debt was discharged" to Colonel W'illiams we gave the 
teams to (General Ricli. 

"After working in the mines three months, Gieorge Q. Cannon went and 
clerked for Howard Egan, but held his claim and furnished a man, until he 
was called with others to go on a mission to the Sandwich Islands. These 
elders, called at that time liy Amasa L\nnan and Charles C. Rich, were Thos. 
Whittle, George Q. Cannon, John Dixiiii, Henry Bigler, William Farrar, and 



272 tullidge's histories. 

Edgar Gibson; but at tliis place, on the middle fork of the American River, 
at Slap Jack Bar, my brother Edgar died, at the age of twenty-one years. He 
was a good and smart boy, quite a preacher, and was much rwspecte'd." 

Mr. Gibson left California in company with Major Hunt and 
five others, and returned to Utah by way of the southern route, 
arriving in Salt Lake City on the 27th of January, 1851, bring- 
ing the first news of the appointment of Brigham Young as 
governor of Utah. They started out on Christmas day and 
traveled with pack animals from Los Angeles to Salt Lake in the 
dead of winter. 

Mr. Gibson has also been a pioneer in the settling of Utah. 
He came up to Ogden, took up a farm, and was one of the first 
settlers of what is called Bingham's Fort. There he remained 
two years, then returned to South ilill Creek and went into the 
manufacture of shingles and lath. He was afterwards one of the 
first settlers of Richmond, and one of the first city council of 
that place. He was elected twice. He came to Ogden in 1873, 
and started in the lumber business. He was one of the principal 
lumber men of this Territory. Mr. Henry E. Gibson may be 
very properly considered as one of the representative men of 
Ogden, and is well known for his sterling character, both as a 
citizen and a business man. 



BARNARD WHITE. 



In the growth and building up of Ogden City its lumber 
merchants and lumber business have occupied a very prominent 
and even a foremost position. The gentlemen engaged in this 
line are among the capitalists and chief promoters of enter- 
prises, not only of Ogden City, but of the whole of Northern 
Utah; their base of operations, indeed, extending into the sur- 
rounding States and Territories. Several of these gentlemen 
of the lumber merchants of the Northern counties, notably 
Barnard White and David Eccles, have served with credit in our 
municipalities — David Eccles being the last elected mayor of 
Ogden City; while Barnard White has also served in the Ogden 
City Council, and he properly ranks as the principal lumber 
merchant of Northern Utah; indeed, it may be said, Mr. White 
is second to none in the whole of Utah Territory. In the first 
nlace, then, of the lumber merchants of Utah, we introduce Mr. 
Barnard White, with a biography and a fine steel plate portrait. 




I 




BAKXAUD WHITE. 273 

eiigravotl for this history, hv our matchless portrait engravers, 
H. B. Hall et Sons, New York. 

One of the most prosperous and solid of the business men 
of Ogilen is the lumber merchant, Barnard White. He is also 
historically one of the founders of the cities of Utah, being the 
first man on the ground in the settling of Paradise, Cache A'alley. 

Barnard White was born in the City of London, on the 9th 
of November (the Lord Mayor's day), 1839. His father died 
wlien he was two years of age, leaving him to be brought up by 
his mother, who came into tlie Mormon Church in 1854, and who 
lived with her son in Ogden, till her death, she having reached 
the great age of over ninety years. » 

Mr. Barnard White joined the Mormon Church on the 22d i 

of May. 1854, and emigrated to America the same year, arriving J 

in New York on September 5th. Though not then fifteen j-ears 1 

of age, he embarked alone from his native country ; so far as his ■ 

family is concerned he was the pioneer. At first he worked as ' 

an errand boy in the ^formon office, the well remembered church ' 

paper published at that date by Apostle John Taylor; but as the 
Mormon staff had very much to run upon the gospel law of " with- i 

out purse or scrip," the youth had to support himself by other i 

labor than that of the office. His self-reliance, however, carried ' 

the youth over the next two years, during which time the family 
arrived from England, and Barnard, not even yet more than J! 

seventeen years of age, prepared to emigrate them to Utah. It I* 

was the year of the handcart emigration. They came in U 

John A. Hunt's wagon company, which suffered from the terrible A 

journey of that season as much even as the handcart companies, .t 

arriving as it did as late as the 13th of December, being in the 
rear of Captain Martin's handcart company. Mr. White has 
never forgotten the practical lessons of life which that journey 
taught him in his youth. • 

He settled at Draperville with his mother and went into 
farming life. There he remained two years, when, having got ' 

himself a team by farm laboring, he resolved to move into Cache 
\'alley, which at that time was greatly attracting the attention of 
enterprising settlers from various parts of Utah, especially those 
newly arrived in the country, among whom were the Thatchers, 
Bishop Preston, Bishop G. L. Farrell, and others who founded 
the City of Logan. Barnard White, with J. G. Crapo, A. B. Mon- 
teith and William Smith started from Draperville early in the 
spring of 1860, and settled Paradise, Barnard White driving the ', 

first team on to the ground. David James, another of our enter- ' 

prising business men, who has shops in Salt Lake City, Ogden 
and Logan, was soon afterwards induced to join them, and these ' 

34 



•274 tuludge's histories. 

men may be named principally as the founders of Paradise, 
Cache Valley. 

Mr. White, with his compeers, bore the heat and Imrden of 
the day in the early growth of that settlement, fanning being 
his princii)al pursuit. He was also a public man and one of the 
members of the Minute Company, under Col. Thomas Ricks, that 
protected Cache A^iUey from the Indians during that trouble- 
some period of Indian difficulties, before General Connor and 
his men fought the famous battle of Bear River. In 1SG4 he 
also drove a team to the Missouri River and back, going for the 
emigrating Saints, in Captain W. B. Preston's train. 

But Barnard White was better adapted for the business of 
larger cities, he being decidedly a business man rather than a 
farmer, and the completion of the Union Pacific and Central 
Pacific gave him the o})portunity of finding an oj^ening for his 
enterprise in Ogden. He removed from Cache Valley to the 
.lunction City in 18G0, and for awhile followed the freighting 
business. 

In 1870 Mr. White engage<l in the lumber business, starting 
witli 10,000 feet of lumber, on Fourth Street, opposite his pres- 
ent extensive lumber yards. David James & Co. having located 
saw mills in the mountains near Ogden, he became the agent of 
that company and remained so for three years, when lie bought 
a half interest in the mill. He also purchased from other mills 
in the neighborhood, and imported all kinds of building ma- 
terial from the Eastern and Western markets. Pie continued the 
mill in partnership with S. McMurdi, and year by year he has 
eularjied and advanced his business until he ranks chief among 
the lumber merchants of Utah. He has extensive lumber yards 
and one of the best planing mills in the Territory, situated on the 
corner of Wall and Fourth Streets, near the railroad depot. He 
has a railway track of his own running from tlie mill around the 
yard to distribute the materials in their different stalls when 
manufactured; everything on his premises is in keeping there- 
with, and his mill is run bj' a forty-horse steam power. He docs 
an extensive business in doors, sash, windows, glas.s, etc.; and 
his business dealings extend to Sevier in the south, Kelton in 
the west, Rock Springs in the east, and in the adjacent vallevs 
of Utah. 

Mr. Barnard White, besides being a successful and now 
quite a wealthy business man, is recognized in social standing 
as one of Ogden's leading citizens. He served as a member of 
the City Council one term, from 1S77 to 1879. He has done 
considerable also in advancing the growth of the city; in fact, 
to Messrs. Guthrie, Langsdorf, Barnard White, L. B. Adams. 
William A'andyke, and Charles ^^'oodmansee, Fourth Street is 



1 



HAii.NARi) wiim:. 275 

iink'btod for its present eoiiiinereiul existence. He is also a 
memlier of tlie fiourisiiinji' tirm of Burton, Herrick & Wliite, 
whieh does a large business on Fourth Street, and deals exten- 
sively in wagons and agricultural nuichinery. In addition to 
Ills other business, Mr. White is engaged in raising Holstein, 
Fricsian and Durham thoroughbred cattle, on his extensive stock 
farm in Box Elder County. 

In tine, in closing it may be said that Barnard White is a 
very solid man, both in his character and social and business 
standing, while as a citizen he is known to be tolerant and 
liberal in his views and sentiments, the reverse of a .sectional 
man. Of his present standing in the church it may be noted 
that in May, 1S77, he was set apart as counselor to the bishop of ( 

the Third Ward, which office he still holds. 

Having closed the review of Mr. White's business career, 
we may very pertinently speak of his marriage relations, he 
being one of the intluential Mormon citizens indicted under the 
Edmunds Bill for unlawful cohabitation. 

In March, 1863, Mr. White was married to Miss Elizabeth 
Ann Walters, by whom he had three children. She died in Oc- 
tober, 1867. 

On March 7, 1869, he was married to Dinali M. Williams. 
She was born July 19th, 1841, at New Market, Wales. She re- 
ceived the gospel when young, and came to Utah with her 
parents in 1854. She died at Three-mile Creek, Box Elder 
County, January 28, 1886. Her illness was induced by the pros- 
pective prosecutions against her husband for the practice of his 
religious convictions, and from which she never recovered. Mrs. 
White was one of God's noble women. She was ever active and 
zealous in the service of her Maker; in searching out the poor, 
ameliorating their condition, and administering to the needs of 
the indigent. She was a working member in the ladies' relief 
societies in Ogden City, and when, on January 2d, 1879, the 
ward institutions were organized, Mrs. Dinah M. W. White was i 

appointed by the liishopric, and set apart by the presidency of 
the Weber Stake, to be the president of the Third Ward relief 
society, which position she magnified with ability, credit and 
honor to herself, and beneficially to the members and officers of 
the association. Her death was deeply lamented by her wide 

circle of friends, which extend tliroughout the count}-. Her i ; 

memory is dear to and is embalmed in the hearts of thousands. 

On May 1st, 1876, he was married to Miss Sarah Jane Fife, 
by whom he has had five children. The lady is living at this 
present time. She is the daughter of Col. Wm. N. Fife, one of 
the early settlers in Ogden City. 

On Januarv 9th, 1886, two indictments were found against 



i 



I 






276 tullidge's histories. 

Barnard White bj' the grand jury of the First Judicial District 
of Utah. The indictments charged liim with unhiwful cohabi- 
tation. As soon as he heard of this matter he surrendered him- 
self in the District Court, heard the indictments and pleaded " not 
guilty." On the 18th of the same month, he was tried, con- 
victed on one indictment and acquitted on the other. He was 
tried before Judge 0. W. Powers. 

Mr. White was sentenced to six months imprisonment in the 
Utah penitentiary, and to pay a fine of three hundred dollars 
and costs of court. He took an appeal to the Supreme Court of 
the Territory, on the ground that the legal wife was not com- 
petent to testify against her husband in this case. The appeal 
was heard at the June term of the Supreme Court. The decision 
of the lower court was reversed and a new trial ordered. .Judge 
Powers delivered the opinion, which is as follows: 



In the Supreme Court, Utah Territory. 



'ED States | 

•s. \ 

White. ) 



The United States 

vs. 
Barx.\rd 



orixiox OF the coruT. 



Powers, J. — The defeiulaut ami appellant was indicted by the grand jury 
of the First District on the Oth day of January, 1S86, and charged with the 
crime of unlawful cohaliitation during the year 1884, with Dinah White and 
Jane Fife White. He was arraigned on the indictment on the 6th day of 
March, 1880, and plead not guilty. The case coming on for trial, Jane Fife 
White was called and offered as a witness for the government. The appellant 
objected to her being sworn as a witness against him, on the ground that she 
was his legal «ife, and, therefore, incompetent to testify against liim. There- 
upon the appellant introduced testimony in support of his oV)jection. 

It was de\eloped by the testimony that Dinah White was the first wife of 
the defendant and that the defendant contracted a plural marriage with the 
witness about ten years ago. Subsequently, and about the month of January, 
1886, Dinah White died. The defendant continued to live with Jane until 
.\pril 12th, 1886, when a marriage ceremony was performed between them by 
P. F. ^Madsen, of Box Elder County. It transpired from the testimony that 
the sole oliject in having the marriage ceremony performed was to close the 
mouth of the witness and to prevent the Government from obtaining her 
testimony. 

The court was clearly in error in ruling that the witness should testify. 
The witness not having been the lawful wife of the defendant at the time of 
the alleged offense of cohabitation, there was no crime connnitted against her 
\\liich might possibly, although Me do not determine the i)oint, make her a 
competent witness under our statute. Besides, it makes no difference at what 
time the relationship of husljand and wife commences, the principle of exclu- 
sion applies to its full extent, whenever the interests of either are directly con- 
cerned. 1 Greenleaf Ev., U. 334, 336. ■\^'hen one married a witness already 
subpoenaed by his opponent to testify in the apjjroaching trial she was ex- 
cluded. Pediey vs. Wellesey, 3 c. aiid p. .5.58. See State vs. Armstrong, 4 
Minn. 2.55. 

It is argued that it is contrary to pulilic jiolicy to permit parties to defeat 
the ends of justice liy entering into the marriage relation ft)r the .sole purpose, 
as in this case, of suppressing testimony. But when the marriage ceremony 
was perfornjert, no matter what the motive was, the witness became beyond 



JAMES GALE. 2/ / 

all question the lawful wife of the defendant, and, in this case, she could not 
not testify ajrainst hiji objection. 

The judgment of the court Ix^lovv is reversed and a new trial ordered. 

Zane, C. J., eoucui-s. 

BoREMAX, A. J., concurs. 

Up to this writing the ease lias not been called up again in 
the First District Court since the above decision. The matter is 
still pending. 



JAMES GALE. 



Prominent among the early settlers of Ogden, and those 
who have distinguished themselves by their activity in build- 
ing up Ogden City, is the subject of this sketch. He is the 
son of .James Gale and Sarah Tavender Gale. He was born at 
Warminster, Wiltshire, England, May 14, 1829. His father was 
a carpenter and builder, and a good practical mechanic. He was 
born .July 12th, 1801. He died in 1872. James' mother died in 
1851. By the time James Gale was ten years of age he was 
able, by his earnings, to pay his father's rents, and otherwise as- 
sist his parents. When seventeen years old he went to London, 
and remained there about two years. He then returned to War- 
minster to spend the Christmas with his parents and relatives. 
While there his father broke his leg which detained James until 
he recovered. 

On September 19th, 1847, James Gale was united in wedlock 
to Miss Emiua Blake, in his native town. She bore him thirteen 
children. Shortly after his marriage he again went to London 
and took contracts to build a number of cottages in Rochester 
Road, in whicli he was assisted by his father. 

In the spring of 1850, he heard the principles of Mormon- 
ism preached by Elders William and H. E. Bowriug, and shortly 
afterwards was baptized into the Church of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints. On January 1st, 1851, he left London with his 
family, and on the 11th of the same month he sailed for New 
Orleans on board the ship George W. Bourne. After a passage of 
ten weeks he reached port, March 27th. When within three days 
of their destination, while in the Gulf of Mexico, Mrs. Gale gave 
birth to a little boy. Subsequently he removed to St. Louis, 
arriving there April 12th. While at that place thev lost two 
children by death. On the 12th of May, 1852, he left St. Louis 



li 



ti 



I 



278 TrLLIDGE'.S HISTORIES. 

for Salt Lake City, driving an ox team the whole distance. Wlicn 
at Elm Creek, on June 19th, his wife gave birth to a girl. After 
three months on the Plains they reached Salt Lake City, August 
26th. :Mr. Gale then went to lahor on the Public Works. He 
also built a house and provided his family with a comfortable 
home. 

In 1S55, he came to Ogden and worked for some time on 
the Tabernacle. For seven years he kept in repair the old flour- 
ing mill of President John Taylor, and superintended the build- 
ing of the new one. He walked to and from his work during all 
this time — about six miles per day. James Gale made the first 
new wagon that was made in Utah — he also made the first coffin 
that was made in "Weber County, and assisted in the erection of 
the buildings here in the early history of Ogden. After the ad- 
vent of the railroad and during the rapid growth of Corinne, in 
1870, he was sent for specially to build the chancel window in 
the Episcopal church in that place. From thei'e he was suddenly 
summoned to the death-bed of his wife, Marj^ Ann Derrick. On 
August loth, 1871, he went on a brief visit to England. The 
same year he formed a partnership with W. H. Pidcock, iu the 
furniture trade. In 1872, a fire occurred in the establishment 
destroying property to the amount of .'i!l,400. Shortly after this 
event the partnership was dissolved and Mr. Gale continued the 
business alone. In 1876, Mr. Gale was the victim of another 
fire, in which his losses amounted to $7,000. In 1881, he pur- 
chased a large two-story brick building adjoining Boyle & Com- 
pany's, where he continued the furniture trade until 1884, since 
which .time he has been exclusively engaged in the undertaking 
business — indeed he has been connected with this business ever 
since he came to Ogden. One of his hearses is the finest and 
best finished of any that has been imported to Utah. 

Note — ^James Gale i.s a firm believer in plural marriage, and January 1, 1.S54, 
he married a plural wife— Mary Ann Derrick. She Iiorc him nine children, 
two only of whiiin survive her. She died in Xovenilier, 1870. 8he was lie- 
loved in life, and lamented in deatli liy all who knew her. As a wife she wa.>» 
faithful, dutiful and kind; as a mother, affectionate and devotedly attached to 
lier home and offspring. In the fall of 18.52, James Gale was ordained a mem- 
ber of the Eighteenth (Quorum of the .\postles of the Seventies. He was a Sun- 
day school teacher here for t\\elve years, and for fifteen years he was a teacher 
in the liishop's ward. Now, in his fifty-eighth year, he is hale, hearty, and 
strong beyond the average men of his age. He is the father of twenty-two 
children; aiul has had twenty-six grandchildren. 




II. M. BOND. 279 




11. M. BOND. 



Henry M. Boud was born at Galveston, Texas, Mareli ITtli, 
1841. When about five years old his father died; and death be- 
reft him of a mother's care before lie was eleven years of age. 
He was now left to the guardianshi]i of Henry R. French, a jour- 
nalist and printer, — a man of excellent parts and disposition, — 
of whom young Bond speaks with tenderness and profound 
respect. 

Henry M. Bond was raised l)y his step-father, and under his 
tuition received his education in the printing office of the paper 
— the Georgetown (Ky.) Herald — of which his father was editor 
and proprietor. In this establishment his stepfather and him- 
self were the whole working force of the institution. Subse- 
quently they removed to Ashland, in Northeastern Kentucky, 
where Henry assisted his father to inaugurate and run another 
weekly newspaper, the Ashland Kentuckian. In ISoG, Mr, 
French died, when Henry Mas fifteen years old. He mourned 
deeply the loss of his friend and benefactor, but being a youth 
of energy and self-reliance, he determined to meet life's vicissi- 
tudes manfully. 

The next place to wliich Henry M. Bond went was Gatlotts- 
burg, Ky., where he became foreman in the office of the Big 
Sandy Advocate. He continued there until the civil war broke 
out, when he joined the Union army, Company C., 14th Infan- 
try. He fought bravely during his services. In September, 
1865, he was honorably discharged, when he returned to Cat- 
lettsburg and became a journalist. He published the Big Sandy 
Herald, a weekly Democratic newspaper, which attained a large 
circulation. 

In January, 1867, he was married to Miss Xanoy Josephine 
Harris, of Johnson County, Ky., by whom he had five children. 
Mr. Bond subsequently made up his mind to go West. In April, 
1874, he came to Utah. On arriving in Ogden he worked for 
some time as compositor on the Ogden Junction. He then went 
to Salt Lake City, and, for a few weeks, was engaged in the Salt 
Lake Herald. He also went to Evanston and worked on the 
Chieftain.* 

In 1875, he returned to Ogden and opened a job printing" 
office, and subsequently formed a co-partnership with L. R. Free- 
man, in publishing the Ogden Freeman. His next pursuit was 
that of commerce. He opened an establishment in tliis city, and 



280 tui.lidge's histohies. 

through his industry and perseverance his new venture succeeded 
beyond his expectations. He has added to his general merchan- 
dise the shipping business, which extends far in the direction of 
the four points of the compass. Mr. Bond has also recently en- 
gaged in other commercial pursuits, which will add to the ma- 
terial wealth of the Junction City. Henry M. Bond is a mem- 
ber of the G. A. R., attached to the .John A. Dix Post, No. 3. He 
has done considerable in establishing the commercial affairs of 
Ogden, and he is much esteemed bv his fellow townsmen. 



THOMAS ASHBY 



This gentleman has done much to build up the home manu- 
facturing interests of Ogden City. Thomas Ashby is the son of 
Samuel Ashby and Hannah Ward Ashby. He was born October 
15, 1S49, at Leicester, England. After leaving school in his native 
town, he was sent to a large boot and shoe manufacturing estab- 
lishment to learn the trade. At eight years of age he was baptized 
into the Mormon Church. Wlien twenty years old he left his 
native land and emigrated to the United States. He settled for a 
short time at Lynn, Massachusetts, where he worked at his trade 
and made himself thoi'oughly efficient to carry on the manufac- 
turing of all classes of goods in the boot and shoe line. In 1870, 
he was married to Miss Rachel Hill, of Leicester, England. In 
1871, he came to Utah, and settled in Ogden City, where he has 
continued to reside ever since. 

After his arrival in this city he was engaged for a short time 
by Mr. Joseph Tyrrell in his cutting department; and, in 1877, 
he commenced business for himself, as manufacturer of, and 
wholesale and retail dealer in boots and shoes. He purchased 
machinery of the latest and most improved styles and entered 
on his business on a large scale. By steady industrj' and busi- 
nes.5 integrity he has built up a solid trade. 

Mr. Ashby employs a number of skilled workmen in his es- 
tablishment. He labors constantly to promote the growth of 
home industries in the Junction City. His establishment is a 
brick structure on the west side of Main Street. In the front 
part he has a show room; in the rear is his manufactory. 

Mr. Thomas Ashby is well and extensively known and is 
among Ogden's most respected citizens; and he is considered of 
sufficient importance among our business men to be one of the 
organizers of the Ogden Board of Trade. 




WILLIAM II. WHKiHT & SONS. "281 




WILLIAM H. WRIGHT & SONS. 



•1 



Self-made men in Ogden City will compare favorably, 
with those of any other city of similar size in the country. 
Many of them started with no capital except native talent, 
industry and indomitable will-jjower. And such have been 
the forces which have created for this family firm its present !' 

position and solid status in the commerce of the Junction CitJ^ j 

William Henry Wright, the head of this house, is the son ? 

of Edward Stubbs Wright and Esther Wright. He was born at | 

Birmingham, England, March 11th, 1827. What education he 
had, he obtained in his native town — the great manufacturing j 

and commercial centre of England. His learning, however, in * 

his youth, was but limited; for at the early age of nine years he 
commenced to fight the stern battles of life, and to earn his own 
living. 

He entered the services of Mr. Frederick Field, with whom 
he learned the trade of gold and silver chaser. . Indeed, he had 
been in this situation but two years when he could execute his 
work equally well with any of the journeymen workers in the 
establishment. At an early age he was quite an adept in the 
business. Mr. Field was anxious to secure him as an apprentice, 
but to this proposition the boy objected, and his parents did 
not insist. However, he stayed with his employer thirteen 
years, until he had obtained his majority. By this time he had 
acquired a thorough proficiency in his profession. 

Early in the spring of 1844, a j'oung man, William Wright, 
a near relation, introduced the gospel to him. He was very kind 
but impressive in his manner, and Mr. Wright was convinced 
that the young preacher believed the doctrines he advocated. 
During the last interview they had on this subject, the young 
Mormon bore a powerful testimony, declaring that he knew the 
gospel he had embraced was true. And, in closing, he added: 
"William, it is my firm impression that you will receive this 
gospel, and if you do, you will do a great work in the Church of 
God." Mr. Wright was deeply impressed and much affected by 
these declarations. In a short time afterwards Mr. Wright was 
at the couch of his dying friend. He remained with him through 
the night and saw him breathe his last and close his eyes in 
death. He passed away in peace, with a heavenly smile 
upon his countenance. Shortly after this episode Mr. William 
H. Wright united his destinies with the L.itter-day Saints. 
35 



282 tullidge's histories. 

On March 11th, 1841, he was baptized by Robert Denliam. 
Soon afterwards he was ordained a teacher iu the church, and 
labored in that office faithfully in the Birmingham Branch for 
about two years, when he was ordained a priest, and received 
appointments, with others, to preach on the Sabbath day in the 
towns and villages adjacent. His chief labors, however, were in 
visiting among the Saints in the branch, comforting, and 
strengthening their faith with words of cheer and encouragement. 
At this time Mr. Wright had began to think seriously of 
changing his state of "single blessedness" to that of wedlock. 
Having found a young lady of his choice, and been accepted, on 
the 26th of September, 1846, he was united in marriage to Miss 
Emma Taylor, who bore him two children while he remained in 
his native town. In 1855 he was ordained to the office of an 
elder, and on the 2Cth of April, of the same year, on board the 
good ship William Stetson, he bade farewell to home and early 
ties and sailed for New York, where, after a pleasant voyage, he 
landed on the 27th of ilay. Elder Aaron Smithers was f)resi- 
dent of the company and Elder Wright was one of his coun- 
sellors. Shortly after disembarking he went to Philadelphia, 
where he again worked at his trade. . He remained there four 
years — two years of which he was president of a branch of the 
church in that city. His house was continually opened for the 
missionaries going from and returning to Utah. He was also 
agent for the Mormon, published by Apostle John Taylor in New 
York. Many financial inducements were offered Elder Wright 
to stay in Philadelphia by his employers; but these he could 
not accept. His interests were too closely identified with those 
of the Mormons in Utah to longer remain away from them. He 
was earning from forty to fifty dollars per week. Among other 
reasons he gave for leaving the States was his firm belief in the 
prediction of the Proj^hct Joseph Smith, relative to the civil 
war that would convulse the nation from centre to circumfer- 
ence, and terminate in the "death and misery of many souls." 
For the bold declaration of these things, one of his hearers said: 
"You look like a smart man, but you are a fool to believe 
such things." But the}' soon saw verified the truth of all he 
had told them. Peter Simmons, the eldest son of one of his em- 
ployers, was shot through the head and killed in the fratricidal 
strife, with which all are too sorrowfully familiar. In May, 1859, 
Elder AVright, as captain, started with a company of Saints for 
Florence. They were the first who went thither via the suspen- 
sion bridge which spans the Niagara Falls. In the latter part 
of June following, he left Florence in the companj' of Captain 
James Brown for Salt Lake City, where he arrived in the follow- 
ing September. His outfit consisted of a wagon, two yoke of 



I 



WILLIAM H. WRIGHT * SONS. 283 

cattle and one cow. He had with him his wife and three cliil- 
dren. He and his wife walked the whole distance across the 
plains. Shortly after his arrival he went to Alpine City, where 
he traded one yoke of cattle for a log cabin, an orchard, and five 
acres of land. That fall, by working, gleaning, and following ] 

the threshing machine — and his wife "shucking corn" — they 
earned bread and provi.-^ions enough to last them until the fol- 
lowing spring. 

In the spring of 1S60 he moved to Cache ^'alley and settled 
at Richmond. In 186"2 he was ordained and set apart as one of 
the Presidents of the Sixty-fonrth quorum of Seventies. On 
October 2Vlth, 1800, Elder Wright was set apart and sent on a 
mission to Philadelphia, Penn. He met many of his former 
acquaintances, who acknowledged that what he had previous!}' 
testified concerning the civil war had been fully verified. He 
remained there eight months, and then returned to Utah with a 
company, of which he was captain. While on this mission, 
Elder William Gibson, who was laboring with him, became ter- 
ribly afllieted with epilepsy. Elder Wright nursed him all 
through his affliction while there, brought and cared for him 
across the Plains to Utah, and when he arrived at Ogdeu, deliv- 
ered him to his friends. Elder Gibson remembered with grati- 
tude these acts of kindness until the day of his death. 

Elder Wright remained in Richmond thirteen years and 
followed the occupation of farmer. In 1873, he removed to Ogden, 
and obtained employment as clerk in Z. C. M. I. In 1875 he com- 
menced merchandising for himself. When his eldest son, Angus 
Taylor, obtained his majority on the 24th of July, 1877, his 
father associated him with him as partner in the business ; and, i 

as his other sons arrive at age they are received in the firm as » 

partners. April 7th, 1882, Elder Wright was called, and four ^ 

(lays later left on a mission to the States and to Europe. He J; 

labored in Wisconsin about five months. August 30th following 
he left the port of Xew York, for his native land, on board the 
Abyssinia. There he labored nine months in the Birmingham 
oMiference, two months in the Isle of Wight. In July, 1883, he 
was appointed to preside over the Sheffield Conference. In March, 
18S4, he was released from his labors. He arrived in Ogden on 
the 27th of April of the same year. During his absence his mer- 
cantile affairs were superintended by his son Angus T. assisted 
by his brothers, and which the father found in a flourishing con- 
dition on his return. c 

This prosperous firm at present is composed of William H 
Wright: his three sons, Angus T., Parley T., and Charles Henry. 
In 1885 the concern had expanded and grown to large propor- 
tions. They purchased real estate on the west side of Main 



I 1 



284 tullidge's histories. 

Street, between Third and Fourth, on which they erected an 
elegant two story brick building, 25 by 100 feet in the clear. 
The appointment of the establishment combine the latest 
modern improvements; with heating apparatus, and all requisite 
conveniences for the working force in a first class mercantile 
house. Their business transactions of 1886 amounted to about 
$90,000. The working force of the house is twelve, inclu- 
ding six sons of the head of the firm. Mr. Wright served a 
short term in the City Council. His son, Angus T., has been 
twice elected Alderman in the city government. He is now- 
serving his second term in this capacity. This rising young 
merchant possesses talent, and much business tact and penetra- 
tion. He superintends the operations of the firm. Parley T. 
attends to the general purchasing department; William C. is 
head book-keeper and general accountant; the other sons are 
salesmen. 

On February 26th, 1887, the head of this house was or- 
dained a High priest in the church, by Armstead Moffit. He 
has had eleven children, two of whom are dead, eighteen grand- 
children, and one great-grandchild. In his sixty-first year he is 
hale and hearty, and with his beloved spouse he is enjoying life 
in his declining years. This excellent couple are beloved by 
their offspring, and highly respected in the community they have 
done much to consolidate. Elder AVright has been for many 
years, and still is, a Sundaj' school and home missionary in 
Weber Count v. 



MARKS, GOLDSMITH & CO. 



The mammoth clothing establishment of Marks, Goldsmith 
& Co. is one of the commercial notables of Ogden City. The 
gentlemen composing the firm are Hebrews, and are proud 
of their race and the distinctiveness of their people. Mr. 
Isadore Marks, the senior member, is the sou of Joel Marks 
and Adelaide Brock. He is a native of the Province of 
Poeen, Germany. He was born June 1st, 1845. His father was 
an agriculturist and merchant. At the age of fifteen, Isadore 
Marks left the academy where he was educated and remained at 
home for some time. When eighteen years of age he emigrated 
to New York, where he obtained a clerkship in a dry goods es- 
tablishment in that citv. 



MARKS, GOLDSMITH & CO. 285 

He afterwards followed several pursuits in places west of 
New York, until, in the spring of 1869, he reached the cap- 
ital of Utah, and found employment with "Walters Brothers. 
In the following December he was sent by them to establish a 
branch house in Ogden. In 1870 he went to Corinne, where, for 
three years, he was in the employ of Louis Cohn. He next 
moved to Toano, Nevada, and opened the firm of I. Marks & Co. 
Three years later he closed out the business, came to this place, 
and opened a clothing house on his own account. He did a 
thriving trade until 1881, when a partnership was formed under 
the name of Marks, Goldsmith & Co. 

Mr. Louis Goldsmith is a native of Bavaria, Germany. He 
came to this country when a young man. He has traveled a 
great deal in the United States, and was among the pioneer mer- 
chants of the West. He finally settled down to business in Bal- 
timore, Maryland. 

This is now a large and an extensively known wholesale and 
retail clothing establishnent. Its business transactions are enor- 
mous, and extend through Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and 
other States and Territories. The qualitj' of their goods maybe 
equalled, but none are superior to them either in the East or in 
the West. They are made at their own manufactory, in Balti- 
more, where they employ a large force of operators for this ex- 
press purpose. Mr. Goldsmith personally superintends the 
works, which is one of the largest clothing manufacturing estab- 
lishments in the United States. Mr. Marks, the senior member 
of the firm, superintends the house in the -Junction City, which 
is located in the Walker building. This commodious house is 
fifty by one hundred and twenty-five feet. It is kept continually 
replenished with ready made goods of the latest and most fash- 
ionable styles. Their assistants are well remunerated — hence 
the house commands the most reliable, courteous, and attentive 
clerks. The Ogden house carries a stock of from $65,000 to 
$75,000, including an immense amount of first class gents' fur- 
nishing goods, of a vast variety of styles and patterns to suit 
their numerous patrons. In addition to this large stock of 
clothing they carry a full line of boots and shoes, all of which 
are of the best make and warranted, as is every other article in 
the house. 

During the many years that this popular firm has been be- 
fore the public in this city, they have established a reputation for 
honor and fair dealing with all with whom they have any busi- 
ness transactions. Their spacious store in Ogden in the arrange- 
ment of their goods is a model of neatness, order and attrac- 
tiveness. 

The members of this excellent Hebrew firm are"" heads of 



286 tullidge's histories. 

families. Mr. Goldsmith was married over twenty years ago, to 
Miss Esther Siegel, a Hebrew lady, of Baltimore ; but Mr. 
Marks Avas not married until November 19tli, 1873, to Miss 
Selina Bornsteen, a Jewish maiden, at Corinno, Utah. 



.JESSE J. DRIVER. 



•Jesse .James Driver is the tliird son of George Driver and 
Mary Ivillingworth Driver. He was born at Feltwell, December 
•29th, 1840. When ten years old, his father died, and at the age 
of thirteen he was an orphan, his mother being then dead. After 
the death of his parents he hired to a farmer, Mr. Jacobs. He 
worked for him five years, during which time he acquired a good 
knowledge of the science of agriculture. At the age of fifteen 
years he was baptized into the Mormon Church by Elder Charles 
W. Stayner, in the month of June, 1855. 

In 1859 he left the farm and went to London, where he 
found employment in Bonds' Rifle Manufactory. Here he 
labored for five years, and gained much skill and proficiency in 
his j^rofession. In 1864 he entered a grocery establishment and 
studied that business for two years. On the 13th day of August, 
1865, Jesse J. Driver was united in the bonds of marriage to Miss 
Mary Hardy Prior, second daughter of Robert and Mary Hardy 
Prior, She was born at St. George's Borough, London, February 
14, 1842. In 1866, he again went to Norfolk, accompanied by 
his wife, and entered the service of C. W. Goodson, as gardener, 
with whom he remained five years, then removed to Wymond- 
liam and engaged as floriculturist and horticulturist to Sir Wil- 
liam Atkins Bignold. Three years later he went to Buckstone, 
and for five years more followed the same occupation. 

Thus it will be seen that the nomadic inclinations and love 
of change led Mr. Driver from one place to another for a num- 
Ijer of years, during which time he obtained a vast amount of 
useful knowledge on manj' subjects, that lie found valuable to 
him in subsequent years. After his many meanderings and 
changes of occupations he resolved that the next move he made 
should be to the New World. .Vecordingly, in May, 1875, he 
took passage on board the ship Wyoming and sailed for America. 
The ocean trip was a very pleasant one. About the 25th of 
the same month thev disembarked at New York, where he took 




DAVID D. .JONES. 287 

train and coiitiiiueil hi.s journey westward to Utah, arriviiiji in 

Ogden on tlie "id of .June. He has ever since made the Junction 

City his permanent home. After hi.s arrival he entered the 

druggist establishment of William Driver & Son, as clerk, with . 

whom he remained for several years. In 1878, he made a short 

business trip to England, and was absent about three months. j 

In ISSl Mr. Driver decided to commence business for him- 
self. , For this purpose he opened an establishment on the cor- ; 
ner of Fourth and Young streets. Here he did a thriving trade 
for one year and a half. He then moved to ^lain Street, on the | 
west side, a few doors north of Z. C. M. I. Since that time 
his business has expanded, and his establishment has become ^ 
popular, and he has continued to increase in favor witli his J 
patrons. j 

As a man, Mr. .Jesse J. Driver is honest, peaceable, Indus- j 

trious; as a citizen, he is loyal, law-abiding and patriotic; and as ^- 

a nian of business, he is energetic, prompt, and courteous. t 



DAVID D. JONES. 



The Ogden Herald, in its New Year's issue for 1SS6, writing 
the current record of business men and business firms which it 

deemed worthy to represent Ogden's business character for the ;i 

year, places the Idaho Lumber Company and its manager, David j 

D. Jones, conspicuously to the front. It notes the business, with > 

a descriptive character-touch of the manager, as follows : ;! 

"The Idaho Lumber Company was established in Ogden in \ 
1882. It is a very enterprising and progressive concern, and has 

already taken a foremost place among the leading dealers in lum- ( 

ber in this and adjoining Territories. This company carries an im- ( 

mense stock of lumber of all sorts, doors, sash, blinds, lath, shin- i 

gles, pickets, flooring, rustic siding, stair railings, brackets, balus- / 
trades, glass, oil panels, etc. The Idaho Lumber Company not 
only handles lumber on a large scale, but it also manufactures 

everything in the lumber line kept in stock. The company does ,; 

a very large business, both wholesale and retail, not only througli- , 

out Northern L'tah, but with the adjacent country as well. ■ 

" The manager of this company is the well and favorably 
known D. D. Jones, a gentleman distinguished for his conserva- 
tive and puldic business policy, and also widely known as a first- ,} 
class, able and enterprising architect and builder. Personally t' 



288 • ttixidge's histories. 

Mr. Jones is distinguished for liis amiable and philosophical 
penetration. He makes no pretense to display, is not ostenta- 
tious or supercilious, and is not only a very pleasant man to deal 
with, but he is also most agreeable and instructive to converse 
with. He has a carefullj' stored mind and is a trained thinker. 
As an architect he has a high order of genius and skill." 

David D. Jones was born in Monmouthshire, England, and 
is of Welsh origin. He was regularly apprenticed and learned 
his trade as a builder, and, so early did he manifest his charac- 
teristic energy and self-reliance, that he was a contractor in New- 
port, a place of 30,000 inhabitants, before he was nineteen years 
of age. His constitutional love of adventure and breadth of life 
led him into the British service. He Avas two years and two 
hundred and nineteen days in the British army and navy on 
foreign service, after which he returned to England and carried 
on business as a builder. He again left England and traveled in 
Ireland, and engaged as a carpenter on board the National Steam 
Navigation Companj', in which service he made several trips from 
New York to Liverpool. In 1864 we find Mr. Jones in the 
United States service. He went south in that year and served 
the United States till the close of the war, after which he re- 
turned to the sphere of a civilian. Still manifesting his native 
love of adventurous service, he now lectured in the interest of 
the Trades' Union in New York. At a subsequent date, he spoke 
in the interest of the strike on the New York Central, New York 
ifc Erie, and Lake Shore railroads; and while speaking in Buffalo, 
he was engaged by the Union Pacific Railroad to hire men in 
Canada to chop the first ties for the Union Pacific road. 

In 1865 Mr. Jones crossed the Plains, intending to go 
through California to India and Australia. On the way he was 
snow bound. He arrived at Bridger in December, 1865; and 
being financially exhausted he was compelled to seek employ- 
ment. He "boiled salt" on the Island of the Great Salt Lake, 
chopped wood in the mountains, herded stock, broke horses, in 
fine, put his hand energetically to the work which was presented 
in his way. 

In March, 1866, he came to Salt Lake Citj'; and from that 
time he became a regular settler of the country. Here he fol- 
lowed the business of a contractor, and formed a partnership 
with J. Groo and S. Richards. This company built several miles 
of the Union Pacific road, under the firm name of Jones & Groo. 
Since that he has been constantly engaged as a contractor and 
builder, and a lumber merchant until the present time. 




BOX ELDER COUNTY. 



i 



In several respects Box Elder County has presented a very 
peculiar historical cast and record. Here grew up as the capital of r 

the county the only incorporated communistic city of the age, 
whose unique history we shall presently review; here, also, flour- 
ished for a while the only "Gentile City" of modern times. ( 

The Utah Directory gives the following brief sketch: 

" Tliis is one of the largest of the northern counties. It is 
bounded on the east b}^ Cache County, on the west by the state of 
Nevada, on the north by Idaho Territory, and on the south by 
Weber County, the Great Salt Lake and Tooele County. The Cen- 
tral Pacific Railroad enters Box Elder County at the Hot Springs, a 
few miles north of Ogden, and runs westward along the lake shore 
to Nevada. At the same point the Utah and Northern Railway 
diverges to the northward, passing through the county on its way 
to Cache. A large district in the south-western portion of the 
county is rendered a blank by the Great American Desert, but to 
the north-west the range is excellent, and in the mountainous dis- 
tricts are some valuable mines and tine timber. The mineral 
resources have not been largely developed, but there are indications 
of silver, lead, copper, iron, and even coal that may prove valuable 
on more complete investigation. The portion of the county which 
has the largest population, and which is being fully developed in its 
agricultural features, is the region basing the Wasatch. Here a 
number of thriving settlements give a large yield of the fruits of the 
earth, grain and other cereals being raised with remarkable success. 
Experiments have proven the soil to be suitable for every variety of 
small grain, and no other county has paid so much attention to the 
raising of rye, buckwheat, flax, etc. The county seat is Brigham 

Box Elder County was at first a part of Weber County, and it 
was so represented both in the Provisional State of Deseret and in 
the Legislature, until 1855, when it was divided from the parent 
county and given a separate organization under the name of Box 
Elder County, deriving its name from Box Elder Creek. It was 
also part of Weber Stake of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter- 
day Saints, one of those grand ecclesiastical organizations as we 
have before explained through which this entire Territory was col- 
.36 



290 tullidgb's histories. 

onized, and out of which its cities and counties have grown. This | 
"Weber Stake, as we have seen in the foregoing history of "Weber ■ 
County, was presided over by Lorin Farr, including what is now 
known as Box Elder County, and thus it remained until 1855, when 
Ajjostle Lorenzo Snow moved with his family into the settlement 
then called Box Elder, but now Brighani City, and soon thereafter 
the Legislature created Box Elder County, and the authorites of 
the Church organized Box Elder Stake, over which the Apostle 
Lorenzo Snow was appointed to preside. 

Colonization began from the Mormon pioneers in the Box 
Elder division of the county, nearly simultaneous with that of the 
"Weber division, so that "Willard and ]>righain cities were founded 
about the same time as the city of Ogden. In the winter of 1849-50 
Weber County was organized by the Provisional Government, an<i 
the "Weber Stake in 1851. 

Of the settlement of Box Elder, now Brigham City, the Ogdcn 
Directory says: 

" William Davis, James Brooks and Thomas Pierce arrived on 
the ground March 11th, 1851, and settled as the first settlers; and a 
number of families soon followed, and a fort was built called Box 
Elder." 

There seems, however, to be some error in this date and there- 
fore it is proper to notice the discrepancy between our dates. We 
give the following from the statements of M. L. Ensign and George 
F. Hamson, two of the early settlers of Brigham, as furnished for 
the writing of this historical sketch. The pioneer Ensign states 
that Bishop Davis first came up to Box Elder from Salt Lake City 
in the fall of 1849, and he is certain that he was there with his 
family settled as early as 1850. George F. Hamson says Bishop 
William Davis came with his family in 1850, and Thomas Pierce 
came with the family. Merritt Rockwell, Ijrother of l^orter Rock- 
well, also came about the same time. The probability is that the 
pioneer Davis came up in the fall of 1849 to "spy out the land," 
that he returned and wintered in Salt Lake City and in the spring 
of 1850 removed with liis family into Box Elder. 

In 1851 about eight families had gathered to this settlement, 
the above named and the second arrival of the pioneers of the 
county — namely, George F. Hamson, several families of the Clif- 
fords, the Dees, and Eli H. Pierce, and the last named soon became 
the presiding spirit of the little colony. During the year 1851 a 
child was born — George F. Hamson, Jun. ; he was born in Decem- 
ber, 1851, being the first native offspring of the settlement. 

At this time there was in Box Elder County about five hun- 
dred Indians whose presence was anything but pleasant to the 
little band of settlers, for it was in the years 1850-51 when the 
Indian tribes, both north and south, threatened the general exter- 
mination of the small colonies which from time to time left the 



I 

1 



EARLY SETTLERS. 291 

parent of Salt Lake to people the Territory. This was the cause of 
the settlers building forts to aftord them a defense from the hostile 
Indians. The lirst fort built at Box Elder was the Davis fort, called 
the Old Fort. William Davis was the first presiding officer 
appointed; he acted as president in the first place, and was after- 
wards ordained a bishop. 

It was in the year 1850 that Porter Rockwell took up Porter 
Springs on Three Mile Creek, which still bears his name, but 
Porter, daring as he was, did not locate in consequence, it is 
thought, of the forbidding presence of the Indians. His brother, 
Merritt Rockwell, took up a large tract of land at Box Elder, but 
in 1853 he sold out 115 acres to Simeon A. Dunn and went to 
California. 

The country was surveyed by Jesse "W. Fox in 1851 as a part of 
Weber County. 

In the spring of 1852 the settlers broke up the Old Fort and 
moved out to their farms which had been surveyed by Surveyor 
Fox; each man's farm ranged from 40 to 80 acres. It was a primi- 
tive settlement of farmers and stock raisers. 

In July, 1853, an order came from President Young for the 
settlers to tro ajrain into fort, so a second fort was made about two 
blocks north and four west of the present center of Brigham City, 
or from the court house. This fort occupied what is now about a 
block and a half 

The families who occupied this second fort were William Davis 
and his three sons, also mother and daughters; Eli Harvey Pierce 
and family; George F. Hamson and family; Simeon Carter and 
family; M. L. Ensign and family; Stephen Kelsey and family; 
Cadwalander Owens and family; Benjamin Thomas; Richard 
Jones and family; Captain David R. Evans; Thomas Mathias and 
family; William P. Thomas and family; Simeon A. Dunn; 
William Harris; John Gibbs and family; four families of the 
Ristons, whose right name was Clifibrd, a very large family of 
them; William Dee and family; Benjamin Toleman and family; 
Jefierson Wright and family; David I'eters and family and Henry 
Booth and family. 

These were about the whole of the settlers of Box Elder fort at 
that date, but the following year as many more came into fort, 
most of them from a little Welsh colony which came from Salt 
Lake City, and the fort was extended a half block larger. There 
was a school house built on the south end of the extension. 

At the fall conference of 1854, Apostle Lorenzo Snow was 
called to take fifty families to locate at Box Elder. As we have 
seen, a few settlers were already there, but the settlement in its 
condition and appearance, was of the poorest kind. When Lorenzo 
and his colony arrived. Box Elder was still merely a " fort " with two 
strings of houses running from north to south, enclosing a strip of 
ground about six rods wide and fifteen rods long. There were a 



292 



TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



few log houses with ground floors and roots covered with willows 
and dirt, while through the enclosed strip ran a stream of water, at 
which the settlers washed their children and obtained their tea 
water. 

But a man had now come who was equal to the task of found- 
ing a city. Choosing a new site, Lorenzo Snow and the surveyor, 
Jesse W. Fox, laid off the city in half acre lots. The place was 
named Brigham, and the county of Box Elder grew up with the 
model city as its capital. 

At the time Apostle Lorenzo Snow was sent up to Box Elder 
with the fifty families, to give to the little languishing settlement 
new infusions of colonizing life and energy, he had just returned 
from his Swiss-Italian mission. 

And here, in passing, it may be well to observe that the Box 
Elder settlement was the farthest of our northern settlements. 
Cache County had not even began an existence, nor that now 
famous valley received its first germs of colonies from the inpouring 
emigrations. Some years later a few stock raisers, or rather, stock 
herders, in the employ of President Young, Daniel H. Wells and 
others, went up to the Cache Valley from Salt Lake City to herd 
stock, which was the commencement of the Church farm and occu- 
pancy in that valley; but it was not until Peter Maughan founded 
"Wellsville, in 1857, that the first gerjn of colonies was planted in 
Cache Valley, nor till after the -'move south" and the return of the 
people to the northern settlements, that the cities ot Logan, Smith- 
field, Eichmond, etc., were founded, in 1859-60. At that date emi- 
gration from Europe was renewed, after the close of "the Utah 
War," and Cache Valley became as a land of Canaan to emigrants 
eager for the possession of land, willing to risk the dangers of set- 
tling in a country invested by the Indians or to drive out the hos- 
tiles who from time to time came upon their settlements. But the 
narrative of the settlement of Cache Valley is fully told in follow- 
ing chapters ; suffice here to say the above gives the view of the 
northern country, in 1854-5, when Lorenzo Snow went up to Box 
Elder with fifty fiimilies, Ijroke up the little fort of primitive set- 
tlers, temporarily built to protect them, and laid off and commenced 
the building of a regular city. 

Undoubtedly the appointment of Lorenzo Snow, by the fiill 
conference of 1854, to the mission of extending the wonderful 
Mormon system of colonization over the more northern parts of our 
territory, was the immediate cause of the creation of Box Elder 
County, giving to him a place in the Legislature, as a local states- 
man, and creating, also, the Box Elder Stake of the Church, thus 
establishing new ecclesiastical wards or branches to receive the 
emigrants from Europe, or settlers removing from southern places 
for the purpose of obtaining more land in the northern country. 
When Box Elder County was organized, by the Legislature, he 
was elected a member of the Legislative Council to represent the 
district composed of the counties of Box Elder and Weber, in 



I 



» 



THE UNITED ORDER. 293 

which capacity he served until retired bv the Edmunds bill, having 
been several times President of the Council. Thus Box Elder 
County from the onset became an important factor in our Territorial 
commonwealth. 

The very name which Lorenzo Snow chose for the city which 
he has founded — for he is really the founder of Brigham City — 
gives in a type-name the character, aims and purposes of Lorenzo 
Snow as a colonizer. Bris^ham Younar was the jjreatest colonizer 
that the world has seen in a thousand years, and the type name — 
Brigham City — signiiies that Lorenzo Snow was patterning after 
the examples of Brigham Young. 

On his mission to Europe this Apostle had visited the great 
cities of the old world, and traveled in the most classical countries 
of Europe; and in their description — especially of the cities of 
Italy he had written to the Millennial Star, and to his sister, Eliza R. 
Snow, a series of letters that which, for their fascination, eloquence 
and poetry, there is scarcely anything in epistolic literature in the 
English language that surpasses them; he had established the Swiss- 
Italian mission, sent a mission to Malta and laid out a grand design 
for the evangelizing of India, intending to go himself to labor in 
that land where empires had cradled, but which was interrupted by 
his being recalled home to Zion — and now he had come into north- 
ern Utah, with his colony of litity families, to prove himself a worthy 
disciple of Brigham Young as a colonizer and city founder. Such 
was the man and such the signiiicance of the type-name which he 
gave to his social work — Brigham City. Thus, as we have said, 
Brigham, the capital of Box Elder County, grew up a model city 
from the beginning. 

THE UNITED ORDER OF BRIGHAM CITY. 

Then came that unique social period of our Territory which 
saw the birth of Zion"s Co-operative Mercantile Institution; but 
those familiar with our social history will remember that Brigham 
Young aimed to establish the United Order, which was designed to 
bring the entire community into a condition of co-operation, but 
his grand social experiment was not realized, excepting in the city 
which bore his name. Eliza R. Snow, describing successive periods 
of her brother's life, wrote the following for the author's previous 
sketch in Tullidge's Quarterly of Lorenzo's social work in Brigham 
City: 

" But the great work designed to bring into exercise the gigan- 
tic powers, and exhiliit this entirely devoted man in the higher 
plane of practical engineering as an organizer, statesman and finan- 
cier, was yet to come. 

" Prompt to the suggestions of President Young, in an order 
designed to firmly cement the bonds of union among the Saints, 
thereby laying a foundation for mutual self-support and independ- 



f 



294 tullidge's histories. 

ence, through a combination of temporal as well as spiritual inter- 
ests, on a general co-operative basis, Hercules-like, Lorenzo put his 
shoulder to the wheel, and, although he saw at a glance the magni- 
tude of the undertaking — that it required almost superhuman skill, 
and the labor of years, his duty was the watchword, and success the 
ultimatum. Present results show that no difhculties were too great 
for him to encounter. 

" His first step in the co-operative movement was in the mer- 
cantile line. In 1863-4 he commenced by establishing a co-opera- 
tive stora, with stock in shares of $5.00, thus making it possible for 
people of very moderate circumstances to become shareholders. 

"Many difficulties occurred in the start, and the progress was 
slow, but it steadily gained in the confidence of the people, the 
stockholders realizing from twenty to twenty-five per cent, per 
annum in merchandise, and in five years it was an acknowledged 
success. Then, aided by the profits from the mercantile depart- 
ment, an extensive tannery was erected at the cost of ten thousand 
dollars ; the people having the privilege of putting in labor as capi- 
tal ; and soon after these departments were in successful operation, 
a woolen factory, at a cost of nearly forty thousand dollars, was 
brought into working order, again taking labor as stock. 

"A co-operative sheep-herd, for supplying the factory, was 
soon added — then co-operative farms, and to these a cheese dairy. 
Thus one department of industry after another has been established 
until now between thirty and forty departments are combined 
— all working harmoniously like the wheels of a grand piece of 
machinery. 

"In 1872 he accompanied President George A. Smith on a 
tour through Europe, Egypt, Greece and Palestine. "While in 
Vienna, on his return, he received information of his appointment 
as assistant counselor to President Young. 

"As a missionary, he has traveled over one hundred and fifty 
thousand miles. Probably none of his compeers have been longer 
in the field, or traveled more, in preaching the gospel among the 
nations of the earth." 

In the following letters the reader will find a condensed his- 
tory' of the United Order of Brigham City, which shows the work 
of a great social reformer well and successfully done, notwithstand- 
ing a series of calamities which for a while have partly suspended 
the combined operations of this model connnunity: 

"Brigbam City, October, 1875. 
^'Bishop Lunt, Cedar City: 

"According to your request I send you the following brief, 
account of the rise, progress and present condition of Brigham 
City 'Mercantile & Manufacturing Association.' 

" We commenced over twelve years ago by organizing a mercan- 
tile department, which consisted of four stockholders, myself includ- 



INDUSTRIES ESTABLISHED. 295 

ed, with a capital of about $3,000. The dividends were paid in store 
goods, amounting, usually, to about twenty-tive per cent, per annum. 

" As this enterprise prospered we continued to receive additional 
capital stock, also adding new names to the list of stockholders, 
until we had a surplus of capital or means, and succeeded in uniting 
the interests and feelings of the people, and securing their patron- 
age. We resolved then to commence home industries and receive 
our dividends, if any, in the articles produced. 

" Similar notions and fears were entertained b}' the stockholders 
when this was proposed as you stated agitated the minds of your 
capitalists, viz: a possible diminution of diN^dends. It required 
some etfort on the part of our stockholders to reconcile their feel- 
ings with a knowledge of their dut}- and obligations as Elders of 
Israel and servants of God. A good spirit, however, prevailed, and 
a desire to build up the kingdom of God and work for the interest 
of the people outweighed all selfish considerations; hence, consent 
was granted by all the stockholders to establish home industries 
and draw dividends in the kinds produced. 

" We erected a tannery building, two stories, 45x80, with mod- 
ern improvements and conveniences, at a cost of $10,000. Most of 
the materials, mason and carpenter work, were furnished as capi- 
tal stock, by such persons as were able and desired an interest in 
our institution. 

" The larger portion of this work was done in the winter sea- 
son, when no other employment could be had, one-fourth being paid 
in merchandise to such as needed. We gained by this measure 
additional capital as well as twenty or thirty new stockholders, with- 
out encroaching much of anyone's property or business. This tan- 
nery has been operated during the past nine years with success and 
reasonable profits, producing an excellent qualit}' of leather, from 
§8,000 to §10,000 annually. We connected with this branch of in- 
dustry a boot and shoe shop, also a saddle and harness shop, drawing 
our dividends in the articles manufactured at those two departments. 

" Our next enterprise, was the establishing of a woolen factory, 
following the same course as in putting up the tannery, procuring 
the building materials, doing the mason and carpenter work in 
the season when laborers would otherwise have been unemployed. 
This also added to ovir capital, increasing the number of our stock- 
holders without interrupting any man's business. The profits of 
the mercantile department, with some additional capital, pui'chased 
the machinery. During the past seven years this factory has done 
a satisfactory business and we have not been necessitated to close 
for lack of wool, winter nor summer, and have manufactured 
§40,000 worth of goods annuallj-. This establishment with its 
appurtenances, cost about §35,000. 

" With the view of probable difficulty in obtaining wool we 
now started a sheep herd, commencing with 1,500, supplied by 
various individuals who could spare them, as capital stock. They 



296 



TULLIDGE S HISTORIES. 



now number 5,000, and prove a great help to our factory in times 
like these, when money is scarce and cash demanded for wool. 

"Our next business Avas the establishing of a dairy; so having 
selected a suitable ranch, we commenced with sixty cows: erected 
some temporary buildings, making a small investment in vats, 
hoops, presses, etc., etc., all of which has been gradually improved; 
till, perhaps, now it is the finest, best and most commodious of any 
dair}' in this Territory. The past two years we have had 500 milch 
cows; producing, each season, in the neighborhood of $8,000, in 
butter, cheese and pork. 

"Next we started a liorn stock herd, numbering, at present, 
1,000, which supplies, in connection with the sheep herd, a meat 
market, owned by our association. 

We have a horticultural and agricultural department, the latter 
divided into several branches, each provided with an experienced 
overseer. 

"Also, we have a hat factory, in which are produced all our fur 
and wool hats. We make our tinware: have a pottery, broom, 
brush and molasses factory; a shingle and two saw mills operated 
by water power, and one steam saw mill; and also blacksmith, 
tailor and furniture department and one for putting up and repair- 
ing wagons and carriages. 

"We have a large, two-story adobe building occupied by 
machinery tor wood-turning, planing and working mouldings, 
operated by water-power. 

" We have established a cotton farm of 125 acres in the south- 
ern part of the Territory, for the purpose of supplying warps to our 
woolen factory, where we maintain a little colony of about twenty 
young men. This enterprise was started about two years ago, and 
ha-i succeeded beyond our expectations. The first year, l)esides 
making improvements in buildings, making dams, constructing 
water sects, setting out trees, planting vineyards, plowing, scraping, 
leveling and preparing the ground, they raised a large crop of cot- 
ton, which produced in the neighborhood of 70,000 yards of warp. 
More than double that amount has been raised this season. 

" We have a department for manufacturing straw hats, in 
which we employ from fifteen to twenty girls. Last year we 
employed twenty-five of them at our dairy, and have them in con- 
stant employ in our milliners' and tailors' departments, also in 
making artificial flowers, as hat and shoe binders, as weavers in our 
woolen mills, and clerks in our mercantile department. 

" Many of our young men an<l l)oys are now learning trades; 
their parents being highly pleased vi^ith their being furnished 
emjiloyment at home rather than going abroad, subject to contract- 
ing bad habits and morals. 

" We have erected a very elegant building, two stories, 32x63 
feet, the upper part devoted to a seminary and the lower occupied 
as a dancinsj hall. 



I 



DIVIDENDS DECLARED. 297 

" I have considered it of the highest importance to the interest 
of our community to provide for and encourage suitable diversions 
and amusements. 

" We have a department of carpenters, and one of masons, 
embracing all in the city of that class of workmen. 

"Our association now embraces between thirty and forty 
industrial branches, a superintendent over each, who is responsible to 
the general superintendent for its proper and judicious management. 

"The accounts of each department are kept separate and dis- 
tinct, stock taken annually, separate statements and balance sheets 
made out and kept by the secretary of the association, so that the 
gain or loss of eacla may be ascertained and known at the end of 
the year, or of\ener if required. 

" At the close of eaeh year a balance sheet is made from the 
several statements, giving a perfect exhibit of the business. 

" From this exhibit, a dividend on the investments or capital 
stock is declared. 

" The protit or loss of each department, of course, is shared 
equalh^ by the stockholders. 

" We aim to furnish every person employment wishing to 
work, and pay as high wages as possible, mostly in home products. 
The past two or three years we have paid our employees live-sixths 
in iiome products, and one-sixth in imported merchandise, amount- 
ing in aggregate, at trade rates, about §160,000. . In the year 1875, 
the value of products (in trade rates) from all our industries reached 
about §260,000. 

"All these figures which I give you indicate our trade prices, 
which are less subject to change than when arranged on a cash basis. 

" The employees in the various departments are paid weekly, 
at the secretary's office, in two kinds of scrip; one of which is 
redeemed at our mercantile department, the other is good and 
redeemed at our various manufacturing departments. 

"These checks are printed on good strong paper, in the form 
of bills, from five cents up to twenty dollars, and constitute the 
principal currency in circulation. 

"Through this medium of exchange our employees procure 
their breadstufis, pork, mutton, beef, vegetables, clothing, boots 
and shoes, building material, such as lumber, shingle, lath, lime, 
adobies, brick, etc., and pay their masons and carpenters, school 
liills, admission to concerts, theatres, lectures: also jpay for Deseret 
Neivs, Salt Lake Herald, Juvenile Instructor, etc., besides many other 
things that are unnecessary to mention. 

"The following is the form of our checks. First class: 
No.— ^ ^ _ _ S 

Brigham City Mercantile tO Manufacturing Association. 

Good for 

In Merchandise. 

Secretary. 



298 



TULLIDOE S HISTOKIES. 



Second class: 
No.— _ _ $ 

Brigham Oily Mercantile & Mawufacturing Association. 
Good for 

Payable at our Retail Trade Prices, in an assortment of Home 
Manufactures. 

N. B. — Goorl only to .Stockholrlers aii<l Etni)loyees of Brigham City. 

Secretary. 

"Last year it cost $30,000 cash to carry on our business: half 
of this paid to employees, in imported merchandise, the other for 
imported material, such as iron, horse shoes, nails, furniture, boot 
and shoe trimmings, paints, dye-stutis, warps, etc., necessary in our 
business. 

"Labor is received from employees for capital stock, and 
dividends paid in home products, averaging about 12 per cent, per 
annum since starting our home industries. 

" Trusting this brief review will satisfy your inquiries, I close 
with the most sincere and heartfelt wish that you may prosper and 
succeed in establishing principles of union and brotherhood in the 
hearts of your people. 

" Respectfully, 

"Lorenzo Snow." 

"Briouam City, Nov. 1st., 1879. 
''Pnst. F. D. Richards: 

"The deep interest you have taken in our efforts to unite the 
people of Brigham City in their financial interests, induces me now 
to give you a statement of some of our misfortunes and difficulties 
with which we have been struggling. 

" Two years ago to-day, about two o'clock in the morning, we 
were aroused from our slumbers by the ringing of bells and start- 
ling cries of fire! fire! fire! Our woolen factory was all in flames, 
and in less than thirty minutes, the whole establishment with its 
entire contents of machinery, wool, warps and cloth lay in ashes. 

"This involved a cash loss of over $30,000. While viewing 
the building, as it was rapidly consuming, my mind became agitated 
with painful thoughts and reflections, whether the people could 
sustain the severe jtressure which would bear upon them through 
this unforeseen calamity, or lose heart and courage in supporting 
our principles of union. These misgivings, however, were 
unfounded; for the people resolved at once, to try again, and went 
to work with a hearty good will, and by extraordinary exertions, in 
less than six months had erected another factory, and in operation, 
superior to the one destroyed. 

"But this involved us in a large indebtedness. In view of 
liquidating this liability, we engaged a large contract to supply 
timber and lumber to the Ftah & Northern Railroad, incurring a 



UNITED ORDER LO^ES. "^99' 

heavy expense iu building a saw mill in Marsh Valley, Idaho, and 
moving there also, our steam saw mill, and were employing abt)ut 
100 men, everything moving along prosperously: when, suddenly, 
through the intluence of iipostates, aided 1)V a niobocratie judge, a 
raid was made upon our camps, thirt}' or torty of our workmen 
were arrested and imjirisoued and our operations stopped. And, 
although the eml)argo on our business was witlidrawu and the men 
liberated by order of the President of the United States through 
the intluence of Jay Gould, it came too late, so we were compelled 
to abandon this enterprise, sell our saw mill for one-fourth its value, 
ami move back our steam mill, etc., the whole involving an exjiense 
and loss of §t!,000, besides the vexation in our disappointments in 
raising the money to pay our indebtedness. 

" The tollowing July, a tax of §10,200 was levied on our scrip, 
by 0. J. llollister, U. S. Assessor and Collector of Internal Eer- 
enue. Though illegal, unjust and highly absurd, the payment 
could not be avoided ; therefore we borrowed the money and paid 
this assessment. Through these aiul other unfortunate occurrences 
we became greatly embarrassed in our business. This embarrass- 
ment, as may be seen, is not the result ot the natural pressure ot 
the times, nor financial crisis which has broken up thousands of 
banking institutions and business lirnjs throughout the world: 
neither that of mismanagement nor any defect in our systems ot 
operations; but, as before mentioned, it has been brought about, 
through a succession of calamities, unparalleled in the experience 
of any business firm in this or any other Territory. 

" The following is a showing of our losses, including the assess- 
ment, all occurring in the space of about nine months: 

Crops (le:=tro_ved by grasshoppers $ 4,000 

Crops destroyed by drought, 3,000 

Burning of Woolen Mills, 30,000 

Losses in Idaho, fi.oOO 

By Assessment on Serip, 10,200 

Total, .$53,200 

"We were now compelled to raise, within eighteen months, 
830,000, independent of the §45,000 required during the same time 
to carry on our home industries. 

"There appeared now but one course left for us to pursue, viz: 
curtail our business, close several of our departments, lessen the 
business of others, and dispose of such property as will assist in 
discharging our cash obligations; thus using every exertion to out- 
live our misfortunes and save ourselves from being totally wrecked. 

"Accordingly, we have labored faithfully to this end, and, 
although no one has made any abatement of his claims against us, 
except" Zion's Co-operative Mercantile Institution, in cancelling the 
interest on what we owed them, we are now nearly out of debt, 
having but one cash obligation to discharge of §2, .500, to Z. which 
will be paid this fall. 



300 tullidge's histories. 

" Our checks in tlie hands of employees or other parties, have 
now all been redeemed, with the exception of a very few, which we 
are prepared to settle whenever presented. 

"We now have eleven industrial departments in operation; the 
business, however, is not carried on quite so extensively as 
formerly. 

" The mercantile department is doing three times the business 
it was previous to the curtailing of our home industries; and has 
the patronag-e of nearly the entire people of Brigham City and 
surrounding settlements. 

" It has been our uniform practice to submit all business mat- 
ters involving important interests of the people to the council of 
the United Order, where the most perfect liberty and greatest free- 
dom of expression of thought and opinion have always been 
allowed and always indulged. 

"The council is composed of sixty members, those most 
influential in the community, selected on account of their integrity, 
faithfulness and willingness to labor and assist in promoting the 
cause of union and brotherhood. 

" Notwithstanding our severe reverses and the fiery ordeal 
through which we have passed, the confidence of the people in our 
principles of union has been preserved and they feel that we have 
worked earnestly and unselfishly to secure their interests and 
promote their general welfare. 

" Respectfully, 

"Lorenzo Snow." 

" The following shows the elaborate organization of the 
United Order, exhibiting the names of the principal men of the 
county : 

ORIGINAL DIKECTORS. 

Lorenzo Snow, President: Samuel Smith, Abraliarn Iliuitiaker, James Pett, Alvin Nioliols, 
H. P. Jensen, G. W. Ward, J. D. Reese ; W. L. Watkins, Secretar}'. 

TTNITED order COUNCIL. 

Lorenzo Snow, Samuel Smith, Alvin Nichcils, H. P. Jensen, Wm. Box, John Welch, 
James Bywater. N. C. Mortensen, A. Hillam. L. Mortensen, J. Jeppason. W. Wrigbton, John 
Ohristen'sen, Joseph M. Jensen, G. W. Ward, M- L. Ensign, J. C. Wright, Mads C. Jensen, S. 
N Lee, J. C. Nielsen. David Boothe, Ejihraim Wight, Paul Stork, Jacob Jensen, Carlos Love- 
land, John Johnson. B. Morris Young, R. L, Fishburn. 0. N. Stohl, Alex. Baird, Abraham 
Hunsaker, Oliver G. Snow, J. D. Burt, Charles Kelley, .James Pett, Henry Tingey, Adolph 
Madsen, L. C. Christensen, Wm. Horsley, T. H. Wilde, A. Cliristensen, Geo. Reader, P. F. 
Madsen, H. E. Bowring, E A. Box. Wm. L. Watkins, P. A. Fosgreen, Willaid Hansen, N. H. 
Nelsen, A. A. Jansen, Nels Madsen, Jr., P. C. .Jensen, Ijars. A. Larsen, Nels Madsen, Luoious 
A. Snow, Jonah Evans, J. D. Reese, J. C. Wixom, C. Hansen, Charles Wight, Geo. Facer, 
F. Hansen, 

Relative to the fire referred to in the foregoing letter, the Dcs- 
eret Aews at the time said : 

" The intelligence of the destruction, by the devouring ele- 
ment, a few days since, of the Brigham City woolen factory, caused 
a general profound feeling of regret and sympatly in the minds of 



A REUNION OF WORKERS. 301 

the Latter-day Saints. That little communit}- in the northern part 
of the Territory have been engaged for a little over a dozen years 
in demonstrating a principle of intense importance — feasibility of 
a self-sustaining co-operative policy. In this direction they stand 
in advance of the people of the entire we^t. In fact, considering 
the numerous disadvantages under which they have labored, we 
doubt if a more satisfactory development of material interests exists 
anywhere on this globe. 

" The eyes of the Latter-day Saints generally have been turned 
in the direction of the people of Brigham City, and their co-opera- 
tive system has been watched perhaps more closely than was 
imagined. It was thought that the burning of their excellent 
factory would retard the development of their home industrial pur- 
suits, and delay the further demonstration of the great truth that a 
community, even a small one, can exist and flourish in a condition 
of measurable independence of the changes and fluctuations in 
operation outside of it. Apparent misfortunes are, however, not 
beneficient of benefit. This seeming calamity exhibits perhaps as 
much as any other circumstance could, the extraordinary vitality 
and consequent power existing in a comparatively united commu- 
nity, whose business is done on a co-operative, mutual protective 
system. Nothing daunted, those good people, inspired by the 
example of their leaders and advisers, and by the spirit of the Gos- 
pel, say, 'we will build another factory,' and at once commence 
preparing to carry their commendable resolution into eftect. Coup- 
led with this determination is another to provide labor and the 
means of subsistence, in the meantime, for the operatives thrown 
out of employment by the burning of the factory. 

" Such a community shows its independence in the true sense of 
the word, and every right-thinking person cannot do otherwise than 
wish such a person well. We understand there are between forty 
and fifty home industrial branches of business carried on under the 
Brigham City co-operative system." 

Here is another clipping from the Deseret iVews; 

"Brigham Ciiv, Jan. 3, 1881. 

" Editor Deseret News : 

"On the last day of the old year (1880) the council of the 
United Order of this Stake, about sixtj' in number, had a grand 
re-union at the Social Hall, in which they met and were seated 
around one large table spread with the abundance of earth's pro- 
duction in good style. Having partaken of a first-class lunch the 
time was spent for several hours by the brethren in making brief 
speeches, singing, toasting, and relating remarkable incidents. A 
very warm feeling of friendship and brotherhood was manifest, 
which will long be remembered. Bishop John D. Burt, at the begin- 
ning of these exercises, read a lengthy address in behalf of the 
assembly, to Apostle Lorenzo Snow, setting forth in emphatic 



302 tullid(;e's histories. 

language the firmness, faithfulness, love, and indomitable energy of 
the Apostle in his long years of labor in the good cause, at home 
and abroad, his tribulations and victories. And as a fitting testi- 
monial of the love and esteem in which he is held by the brethren, 
the Bishop handed him a gold watch and chain which had been 
bought at Mr. Asmussen's establishment at Salt Lake City, for 
S24.3, and was a gift from a number of the brethren ; after which 
Brother Snow arose, and with feelings of emotion thanked his 
bethren for this token of esteem, which came to him by surprise, 
and said he valued the respect and good feelings of the brethren 
above all earthly considerations. The scene was impressive by 
reason of the spirit that was present. 

"A. C." 

Coupled with the following address, the foregoing will show 
that this interesting community still retained its vitality and enthu- 
siasm, and the high regard in which Apostle Lorenzo Snow is still 
held by his people as a social reformer. 

" Beloved President Lorenzo Snow : 

"We have met here this evening in a social capacity as 
friends and brethren in the common cause of truth, to wile 
away a few hours in social communion together, and to con- 
gratulate each other for the peace surrounding us in our mount- 
ain home, and for the rich and abundant blessings of a kind, 
indulgent and beneficent Creator, which have so eminently 
crowned our efforts during the past year, and for the favor- 
able and glorious prospects foreshadowing us in the future. 
When we contemplate the scenes of poverty, sorrow, persecution, 
deprivation, suffering and death heaped upon the Saints by their 
Christian (?) friends of this generation, and contrast the present 
with the past, our hearts swell with feelings of deep emotion, thanks- 
giving, and gratitude beyond expression, to the Giver of all good, 
for the many and peculiar favors so graciously bestowed upon us, 
since we have resided in these valleys. And, while we are ever 
ready, and always willing to acknowledge the hand of our God, and 
tender unto Hini our most sincere thanks for all the blessings 
we enjoy, we also recognize the fact, that a meed of praise, and 
much honor is due to His servants — the Apostles who, through 
their indomitable energy, untiring zeal and earnest devotion to the 
cause of truth, have been the favored instruments in the hands of 
God to bring about and make possible these happy results. 

"Beloved President: As one of these honored ones, you have 
occupied a very prominent position. You have traversed sea and 
land without purse or scrip, to proclaim glad tidings to an erring 
and fallen world, and for nearly half a century, you have labored 
incessantly, at home and abroad, in the interest and common 
cause of humanity; and, in the prosecution of this labor, you have 
been required and have cheerfully made many sacrifices for the 



BRIGHAM CITY. 303 

<5ospers sake. You have also been a pioneer, and to-day stand in 
the front rank of co-operative enterprises in this Territory, devoting 
your time, talent and means for the good ot the people, thus seek- 
ing to elevate the poor, and bring about an equality and union 
among the Saints in Zion. Many and arduous have been your 
labors in this direction ; and, although the adversary has been per- 
mitted from time to time to make invasions, commit depredations, 
impose and levy special, grievous, unjust and unconstitutional 
burdens upon you, thus aiming to undermine and strike with 
paralysis and death the noble enterprise yon have so zealously and 
industriously fostered and erected in the midst of your brethren iu 
this city, you have never faltered, but with sterling lidelity, 
untiinching purpose, and unshaken confidence, you have faced the 
frowning billows of adversity, and the howling tempest of anti- 
Christian hate, and, in divine strength, and with heroic fortitude, 
and God-like determination, you have met and withstood the shock, 
weathered and outridden the storm, and in an eminent degree, have 
been successful in the achievement of the grand object in view — 
the union and consolidation of the interests, eflorts and feelings of 
those whom God hath entrusted to your care. 

'• Xow, in consideration ot the many and valuable services you 
have rendered this community, and for the frequent acts ot 
courtesy and kindness bestowed upon us as individuals, permit us, 
beloved Brother, as a humble testimonial of our regard, to present to 
you this watch and chain, which we trust you will condescend to 
accept as the grateful and voluntary ottering of a few of your friends, 
who have clustered around you on this occasion, desiring to manifest 
their approbation and to recognize your past services in'their behalf. 
Earnestly hoping that your life may be spared, and that you will be 
permitted to wear this sliglit token of our esteem for many 3-ears 
yet to come, we will still continue to invoke the blessings of the 
Just One to rest upon you and yours forever and forever." 



Generations hence when its illustrious founder shall be sleeping 
with the fathers, Brigham City will be a unique interesting subject 
for the study of the sociologist and the review of the historian. It 
will stand as an example of a city that grew up on a pure co-opera- 
tive plan; it will prove that socialistic commonwealths are possible 
and it will historically perpetuate to the Latter-day Saints them- 
selves the social Gospel of the United Order that the Prophet 
Joseph revealed as the basis of a Millennial society. Truly is r>rig- 
ham City a great social monument in the age; its apostolic founder 
is worthy of immortality for the social problems that he has solved for 
our Latter-day Zion. and the people who have so nobly wrought 
with him are worthy of remembrance in the pages of history. 

Leaving the special subject ot the social institution which has 
typed Box Elder County, we come again to the general review of 
the countv. 



304 tullidcjk's histories. 

Brigham City is beautifully situated, being on a gentle rising 
plain near the mouth of Box Elder Canyon. Its houses are very 
neat and comfortable, and many of them were built by the United 
Order and have come into the possession of their present owners as 
the results to them of the co-operative movement of which they 
were members. In the matter of property and real estate the Insti- 
tution has conferred upon many their " inheritances " to perpetuate 
its memory. There is a tine Court House and like that of Ogden 
it stands on a bold elevation and is suggestive to the eye, even of 
passengers dashing along the Utah and Xorthern Railroad, that the 
pretty city in the distance, near the base of the mountains, is the 
county seat. There is also a fine new Tabernacle, built of stone, 
which will seat between fifteen and sixteen hundred. Brigham is 
the railroad center for the county and much shipping business is 
done here. The depot is quite a first-class affair for a country 
town, decidedly one of the principal points on the line north, and 
the local superintendent — Mr. Eli Pierce — is an efficient and experi- 
enced railroad agent. Connected with this depot is a telegraph 
office of course. The post office of this city ranks fairly, having a 
money order department. There is a Presbyterian Church and 
also a school connected therewith; the Rev. L. S. Gillispie is the 
pastor, and a lady sent on by the Presbyterian Association is at the 
head of the educational department. But there is nothing in the 
capital of Box Elder County so imposing as the fine new stone 
Tabernacle, and the fact that it will seat nearly two thousand and 
is on Sundays crowded with members of the Mormon Church, 
suggests that the Latter-day Kingdom still survives. 



THE FAMED GENTILE CITY CORINNE. 



As a social and historical unique, though of a very different 
type to Brtgham City with its United Order, Corinne, the once 
famous Gentile city of Utah, may very properly be placed side by 
side with Brigham in the history of Box Elder County. The con- 
trast is striking and their social significance very marked and sug- 
gestive: we must, however, confine ourselves to the historical vein 
in touching Corinne rather than continuing a sociological review. 
The Ogden Directory epitomizing the record of the principal towns 
of Box Elder County up to 1878 thus describes the rise, growth and 
progress of the City of Corinne : 

"Corinne, called by many the "Burg on the Bear," was settled 
in February, 1869. A number of Gentiles who had found their 



THE CITY corrin:se. 305 

way into the Territory and spent a portion of the winter in Salt 
Lake City, wandered to the west bank of Bear River, in Box Elder 
County, took a survey of the magnitieent valley that lay stretched 
out before them, and eoneliiding that here would be the point of 
crossing of the Pacific Railroad", camped and commenced the work 
of building a city. The land was secured, and a contract made 
with the Union Pacific Railroad Co. to survey and lay out the 
town, giving alternate lots for compensation. After concluding 
this contract the townsite company felt that fortune and tame were 
theirs. With so powerful a corporation as joint owners with them 
in a town located on the line of their road, and a location com- 
manding the trade of Montana and Idaho, accessible to the largest 
and most fertile agricultural districts of lair own Territory; why 
should they not hope for success? More than 300 lots were dis- 
posed of at prices ranging from §5 to §1,000 each. In the two 
weeks following, more than 300 frame buildings and tents were put 
up, the town containing at this time more than 1,500 inhabitants; 
a temporary city government was organized with mayor, council and 
police force. On the 18th of February, 1870, the Legislative 
Assembly of Utah incorporated the town under the name of 
"Corinne City." the charter granting the necessary powers to 
enable the council to protect citizens. 

The fortunes of the town have been vacillating. Depending 
principally upon freighting to Montana and Idaho as its means of 
maintenance, it has received a hard blow in the extension north- 
ward of the Utah and Xorthern Railway. It is not lacking in 
enterprising, public- spirited citizens, who have ever been willing to 
do all in their power to make that place a business center. The 
present population is about 600, though it was once perhaps four 
times as much. It has three fine churches, and public and one 
private school, and a public hall. 

This is the historical view of the Corinne of the past when it 
was the capital city of the Gentiles. To-day there is no longer such 
a Corinne. Ogden has superceded her ; but still she has an his- 
torical importance and interest, as will be further illustrated in the 
following chapter on the political history of the north. See also 
the article on " Corinne and its founders," in which are preserved 
the names of most of the men who built up that city. 



.3V 



306 tullidge's histories. 



POLITICAL HISTORY OF THE 

NORTH, 



Beginning of Political Controversy. Birth of the Liberal Party. Record of 
its first Convention at Corinne in 1 870. Fred J. Kiesel Represents Weber County. 
Ogden Succeeds Corinne Politically. The First Platform of the Liberal Party. 
Grand Campaigns in 1882-83. Subsequent action. Mayors Peery and Eccles 
" Hold the Fort" for the People's Party. Triumph of the Liberal Party in 1889, 
■with Fred J. Kiesel, Mayor. 

Having in a previous chapter given a sufficient review of the 
municipal government of Ogden, and the progress of that city 
under its various administrations, we may very properly in this 
chapter of a more general character, give the political history of 
the north, commencing in Corinne and culminating in Ogden. 



The history of political action in the north, between the 
People's Party and the Liberal Party, commenced at Corinne, in 1870, 
but was soon afterwards transposed to Ogden. Just as it has been 
in their commerce so in their politics — the history of these two 
cities interlap and became one : Ogden in her course of "manifest 
destiny " absorbed Corinne ; the merchants of Corinne became the 
principal merchants of Ogden; the men who formed the nucleus 
of the Liberal party at Corinne in 1870 carried the municipal elec- 
tion of Ogden in 1889 ; and the man who represented Weber 
County at the Corinne Convention — Mr. Fred J. Kiesel — is now 
Mayor of Ogden city. 

r"'''^ Before the birth of the Liberal Party, in 1870, there was no 
Ipolitical action of a controversal character in Weber County, nor 
indeed in any part of Utah. The citizens of Ogden, from time to 
tiine, had elected Lorin Farr as Mayor, not only because he was 
the founder of the city and its first Mayor, but for his integrity and 
capacity. In the Legislature he was classed among the tirst of our 
local statesmen, and he bore the character of a liberal man in all 
political aiiairs — a friend of the "common people." Hence his 
party chose Lorin Farr without controversy, until it was deemed 
wise, with his own consent, to retire him for awhile in favor of 
Lester J. Herrick. 



BIRTH OF THE LIBEBAL PARTY. 307 

But in 1870 an era of change had come over Utah. The rail- 
road was here. The Gentile was a factor in the land ; and the 
Gentile was an hereditary politician, with a manifest destiny. He 
had come to Utah to rule her politically and reconstruct her into a 
Gentile state, or as he worded it, an American state versus a Mor- 
;mon theocracy. This is the kernal of the politics of the Utah 
Gentile, locally considered : hence the coalition of Republicans and 
Democrats as one party in Utah for the issue as above stated. 

/Indeed the Liberal party has been a coalition party from the 
beginning. 
Just previous to the birth of the Utah Liberal party, there 
occurred a schism in the Mormon Church, known as the Godbeite 
Movement. In itself it may have seemed insignificant as a spiritual 
movement ; but in its coalition with the Gentiles, the Liberal 
party was given birth, and to-daj- the Liberal party is not insignifi- 
cant. 

I In the beginning of the year 1870, in January and February, 
a political plan was devised to unite the Godbeites with the Gen- 
tiles. Both were few in number ; even when united they were but 
an insignificant minority, compared with the party since known as 
the People's party. The coalition, however, was considered 
promising and prospectively formidable. On the one side, the 
schismatic Mormon elders and merchants were likely to have a large 
following throughout the Territory, or, at least, it was expected 
that the schism would increase greatly and extend to every settle- 
ment, even though it should lack cohesionA Nothing seemed more 
probable than that there were thousands-of men and women, who 
had grown up in the Mormon community, or been long connected 
with it, apart from any spiritualistic "New Movement" incubated 
at nightly seances at New York, who occupied similar positions, 
and entertained similar views regarding Mormonism, to those of 
Mr. Godbe and his compeers, and the Walker Brothers, Chislett 
and their class, who had left the Church j'ears before. There were 
also many infiuential men who remained in the Mormon Church 
who said to Mr. Godbe and his friends, "You should have remained 
in the Church and fought out your issues. It was a great mistake 
to set up a new church." 

And thus the "New Movement," or new " Church of Zion" 
was soon generally looked upon to be in and of itself a failure, 
while to the faithful Mormons, whose head of the Church was so 
prominent and sound, whose will so strong and organism so match- 
less, this church of Zion without a head, or even the power to 
organize a quorum of elders, was a thing of scorn. Henry W. 
Lawrence keenly felt this and forecasted failure in the object of the 
schism. [The only resolution of any social potency was in a quick 
uniting of the Godbeites with the Gentiles, and the formation of a 
political party by such a coalition. 

The design was projected, and early in February, 1870, a 
political caucus was called, of the leading men concerned, to give 



308 tullidge's histories. 

birth to the party now known as the "Liberal" party. The meet- 
ing was held in the Masonic Hall. Eli B. Kelsey was chosen chair- 
man, whereupon the leaders made their preliminary speeches, for- 
mulated methods tor the city election close at hand, with Henry 
W. Lawrence at the head of their ticket for Mayor of Salt Lake 
City. The Gentiles, with political sagacity, kept in the background, 
merely playing the parts as advisers, helpers and voters. Of course 
the object of this mana^uvre was to make their coalition party a 
political entering wedge into the Mormon Church, by calling out 
the Mormon friends of the men on the ticket. The preliminary 
work having been done, the meeting adjourned to be held next at 
Walker Brothers' old store, where the " iSTeAV Movement" held its 
service and public meetings ; Eli B. Kelsey was continued as 
chairman, and a committee was appointed to make a public call for 
the ratification of the Liberal ticket. 

For a full account of this ratification meeting and first contest 
of the Liberal party with the People's party, the reader is referred 
to Tullidge's History of Salt Lake City; tlie aim here is merely to 
give the connecting links of the convention at Corinne, and the 
opening of political action in Xorthern Utah between the parties 
at issue. The first Liberal ticket, however, and the number of 
votes cast by the party at this election will be interesting items to 
here record : 

"Independent Ticket. — Mayor — Henry W. Lawrence; Alder- 
men — First Municipal Ward, Samuel Kahn ; Second Municipal 
Ward, J. R. Walker; Third Municipal Ward, Orson Pratt, Jr ; 
Fourth Municipal Ward, E. D. Woolley; Fifth ^Linicipal Ward, 
James Gordon. Councillors — Nat Stein, Anthony Godbe, John 
Cunnington, John Lowe, Marsena Cannon, Fred. T.Perris, Dr. W. F. 
Anderson, Wm. Sloan, Peter Rensheimer; City Recorder, Wm. P. 
Appleby ; City Treasurer, B. F. Raybould ; City Marshal, Ed. Butter- 
field." ■ 

-''^The August election of 1870, gave the Utah Liberal party the 
opportunity of contesting for the Delegate's seat in Congress. 
Hon. Wm. H. Hooper was the nominee of the People's party. It 
was not for a moment thought that any worth}- opposition could be 
made, as regards the relative voting strength of the parties. In 
1870 the People's party could poll 20,000 to 1,000 of the opposi- 
tion. The specific object of the Liberal party in the contest was to 
create an opportunity to send their nominee to Washington, to 
contest the seat, and from time to time to send one there, whether 
victorious or not. Indeed this party from its birth entertained the 
P' — belief that Congress would, upon some cause, give the seat to the 
/ anti-Mormon Delegate, and that Utah never would be admitted as 
/ a State, until the" absolute political control was placed in their 
<.,.^__ hands. Nothing, however, in 1870, had been conceived by them of 
so radical a character as the disfranchisement of the whole Mormon 
people, unless some overt act should occur to give the administra- 
tion the cause to place the Territory under martial law, for which 



THE LIBERAL POLITICAL CONVENTION. 309 

object the anti-Mormons constantly aimed. The ground of this 
contest in Washington for Utah's seat was to be made on an accu- 
sation against Mr. Hooper of disloyalty, having taken part against 
the Government during the "Buchanan war;'" and also as being 
unfitted as a delegate to Congress, by reason of having taken the 
' endowment oath. ' 

The aims thus laid down, the Central Committee of the 
Liberal party issued the following call : 

" ' CONVENTION. 

" ' The citizens of Utah residing within the several counties of 
said Territory, who are opposed to despotism and tyranny in Utah, 
and who are in favor of freedom, liberality, progress, and of 
advancing the material interests of said Territory, and of separa- 
ting church from state, are requested to send delegates to meet in 
convention at Corinue, Utah, on Saturday, July 16th, 1870, at 10 
p.m., of said day to put in nomination a candidate to Congress, to 
be voted for at the Territorial election to be held on the first Mon- 
day in August next. 

" ' By order of the committee, 

"'J. M. Orr, Chairman. 

" ' S. Kahn, Secretary, 
" ' S. L. City, June •2-4, 1870.' " 

The reason of the transfer of the political action from Salt 
Lake City, where the Liberal party was born, to Corinne was a 
political move well considered by the party managers, and designed 
for the capture of one of the counties. It was evident from the 
recent contest, in the municipal election of Salt Lake City, that no 
effective opposition could be made at the capital. On the other 
hand Corinne was rising as a Gentile city, and though since nearly 
a deserted place, its founders believed that it would become the 
nucleus of the Gentile force, and be not only able to carry Box 
Elder County, but also to greatly influence the elections in Weber 
County. Hence the managers of the party selected Corinne as its 
center of operations in its first Territorial contest with the People's 
party, rather than Salt Lake, where it had met such an overwhelm- 
ing defeat." 

The following report of the Convention at Corinne is copied' 
from the " Salt Lake Tribune,'' (weekly): " organ of the Liberal Cause 
in Utah." It is from Mr. Harrison's editorial file. Vol. II., Xo. 30, 
which is, we believe, the only paper or document in existence 
where the record can be found ; and it will doubtless have a peculiar 
interest to the members of the Liberal party to-day. 

THE LIBERAL POLITICAL CONVENTION. 

We publish the following minutes and platform of the "Liberal political 
party of Utah," with the same willingness that we will those of any other political 
body. The reader must judge for himself as to the soundness of the views ex- 



310 tullidoe's histories. 

pressed. We are free thinkers on all subjects, political or otherwise, and cannot 
be bound to endorse the special views of any party. 

CoRlNNE, July KJth, 1870. 
The Territorial Convention met, pvirsuant to call at the Fitch School House in 
Corinne, and was called to order by J. Milton Orr, chairman of Central Committee. 
On motion of Major C. H. Hempstead, of Salt Lake City, Gen. P. Edward 
Connor was elected temporary chairman. 

On motion of O. H. Elliott, Wells Spicer, of Corinne city, was elected tem- 
porary secretary. 

On motion of R. H. Eobertson, the Chair appointed the following Committee 
on Credentials, viz : — 

R. H. Robertson, S. L. Co. F. J. Kiesel, Weber Co. 

Ben. Bachman, Utah Co. J. F. Haller, Piute Co. 

J. Majch, Bx)x Elder Co. 

1'he committee, after consultation, reported the following delegates present. 
Salt Lake County 10, viz : R. H. Robertson, J. M. Orr, R. N. Baskin, T. D. 
Brown, Jos. Silver, C. H. Hempstead, W. S. WoodhuU, Peter Clays, Frank HoflF- 
man, and S. Kahn proxy for W. Sloan. 

Box Elder County, 15, viz : E. P. Johnson, Wells Spicer, N. S. RansohoflF, 
S. G. Sewel, Harry Ellsworth, J. S. Riley, Julius Malch, Tim Henderson, Wm. 
M. Johns, proxy for Alex Dupont, N. Kennedy, proxy for W. S. Riley, Henry 
Monheim, T. J. Black, 0. H. Elliott, John Sheahan, F. Rheinbold. 

Weber County 5, viz : F. J. Kiesel, Oliver Durant, Wm. Gilbert, M. Meyer, 
S. Bamberger. 

Tooele County 3, viz : Gen'l P. Edward Connor, 0. J. Saulsberry proxy for 
John Paxton, Geo. B. Parker proxy for J. K. Smedley 

Utah County 3, viz : Ben. Bachman also proxy for Henry W. Wilson and 
Richard Martin. 

Piute County 2, viz : F. Haller also proxy for E. H. Reynolds. 

Millard County 1, C. Diehl. 

On motion of Major Hempstead the report of the committee was adopted. 

On motion of R. N. Baskin, Box Elder County was allowed to cast 15 
votes in this convention. 

On motion of R. H, Robertson, a committee of five on permanent organiza- 
tion was appointed as follows : J. M. Orr, T. D. Brown, Harry Ellsworth, E. P. 
Johnson, Simon Bamberger. 

The committee, after consultation, reported the following permanent organiza- 
tion, viz : 

President, Major C. H. Hempstead, of Salt Lake County. 

Vice-Presidents, Wm. M. Johns, of Box Elder Co. ; W. S. WoodhuU, of Salt 
Lake Co ; Wm. Gilbert, Weber Co. ; Gen. P. Edward Connor, Tooele Co. ; Ben. 
Bachman, Utah Co. ; C. Diehl, Millard Co ; J. F. Haller, Piute Co. 

Secretary, Wells Spicer, Box Elder C >. 

On motion, the report of the committee was adopted and the oflScers took 
their seats. 

On motion of S. G. Sewel, a committee of five on resolution was appointed as 
follows: Gen. P. Edward Connor, Tooele <'o. ; R. H. Robertson, S. L. Co.; 
Wells Spicer, Box Elder Co. ; R. N. Baskin, S. L. Co. 

On motion of Gen. Connor, the Prest., Major Hempstead was added to the 
Committee. 

On motion of Col. Wm. M. Johns, a committee of five on order of business 
was appointed as follows : Jos. Silver, S. L. Co. ; W. S. WoodhuU, S. L. Co ; W. 
Gilbert Weber Co. ; S. G. Sewel. Box Elder Co. 

On motion the convention adjourned to 3 p.m. 



The convention met and was called to order by the President. 
The Committee on order of business then reported as follows : 
1. Report of Committee on platform and resolutions. 
'2. Nomination of candidate for Delegate to Congress. 



3—30 p. M. 



LIBERAL PARTY PLATFORM. 311 

o. Selection of the Territorial Central Committee, as follows : Box Elder Co. , 
4 members ; Weber, 2 ; Salt Lake, 4 ; Tooele, 1 ; Utah, 1 ; Piute, 1 . Millard, 1 ; 
and recommend that the Committee have power to fill vacancies and appoint 
new members for counties not represented. 

On motion, the report was received and adopted. 

The Committee on platform and resolutions then reported the following : 

PLATFORM. 

This convention, composed of delegates from the Counties of Box Elder, 
Weber, Salt Lake, Tooele, Utah, Millard and Piute, duly elected by the loyal and 
law-aJDiding citizens of the Territory, declare the following as the platform of 
principles which we present to our fellow citizens as worthy of their support : 

Resolved J. That we are unalterably opposed to any union of Church and 
State and to that system whereby the rights of citizEtfS, in a free repnbHc, have 
b'een ignored by an irresponsible priesthood, and the political and temporal aifairs 
of the Territory made subservient to a Church hierarchy. 

2. That we are unalterably oppos ed to the doctrine of polygamy, as taught 
and practiced in this Territory under the guise of religion, as being m conflict with 
the spirit of the age, contrary to good morals, and prohibited by the laws of the 
land ; and in favor of such early action by Congress as will suppress a growing 
evil, and the enactment of such measures as will secure the enforcement of the 
laws of the United States throughout the length and breath of the land, and 
especially in the Territory of Utah. 

3. That we revere the Constitution of our Fathers, and insist that its pro- 
visions, and the acts of Congress as the supreme law of the Nation, shall be 
respected and obeyed by all men, high or low, throughout the Republic, and that 
while we acknowledge and fully appreciate the sacredness of the Constitutional 
guarantee of the free exercise of religion, we deny that this guarantee either 
authorizes or protects the practice of polygamy or other crime. 

4. That while we accord to all people perfect freedom in religious matters, at 
the same time we claim the same privilege for ourselves, and protest against the 
practices of the established Church of LTtah as being intolerant, proscriptive and 
destructive of the true principles of republican government : that its assumptions 
of an infallible priesthood constitutes it a theocracy, which, by usurping the 
authority to direct in temporal matters, becomes a despotism subversive of every 
right and privilege of a free people. 

5. That the mineral resources of this Territory present an ample field for the 
energy and industry of the people, and our mines of gold, silver, lead, iron, copper 
and coal, only need the fostering care of proper legislation to greatly advance the 
interests of the Territory ; and that we favor tJie_d&Yelopment of our exten.sive 
mineral and agricultural resources, depreciating at the same time the efforts of the 
heretofore dominant party to discourage the development of the mines of the Ter- 
ritory. 

On motion the resolutions were acted upon, sustained and adopted by accla- 
mation. 

Wells Spicer then offered the following : 

Resolved: That in the selection of J. Wilson Shaffer, as Governor of Utah, 
we recognize an appointment eminently fit and proper ; that his past services in 
the cause of his country, and his firm, upright, wise and judicious course in this 
Territory, since he came among us, commend him to the confidence of this conven- 
tion and the people it represents ; and we pledge ourselves to yield to him a con- 
tinued, unwearied, and we trust efficient support in the performance of his high 
duties and the enforcement of the laws. 

This Resolution, on motion of Gen. Connor, was adopted, with three cheers 
for Gov. Shaffer. 

On motion of R. H. Robertson, the Convention then proceeded to nominate a 
candidate for Delegate to Congress from the Territory of T'tah. 

Gen. Connor nominated General Geo. R Blaxwell, of Salt Lake County. 

On motion of E. P. Johnson, the nomination was made unanimous by accla- 
mation, with three cheers for Gen. Geo. R. Maxwell. 



I 



312 tullidge's histories. 

On motion of Wells Spicer, the Convention then proceeded to elect a Terri- 
torial Comtaittee as follows : 

J. Milton Orr, S. L. Co., Col. S. Kahn, S. L. Co., Jos. Silver, S. L. Co., R. 
H. Roberton, S. L. Co.. Col. Wni. Johns, Box Elder Co., Wells Spicer, Box Elder, 
Harry Ellsworth, Bo.x Elder, G. Goldbrugh, Box Elder, Wm. GiUent, Weber Co., 
Fred. J. Kiesel, Weber, J. N. Haller. Pinte Co.. Ben. Bachman Utah Co. 

On motion of Wells Spicer, Mr. J. Milton Orr was declared the chairman of 
the Committee in honor of his past services. 

On motion the thanks of the Convention were tendered to N. M. Fitch, for 
use of school-house and to 0. H. Elliott for stationery furnished. 

On motion, the Secretary was requested to furnish copies of the proceedings 
of this Convention to the Corinne Reporter and Salt Lake Tribune for publica- 
tion. 

On motion of Wells Spicer, the Territorial Central Committee were instructed 
to prepare, publish, and distribute an address to the people of Utah, in behalf of 
our principles and candidate. 

On motion of E. P. Johnson, the organization was called the Liberal Political 
Party of Utah. 

On motion of O. F. Strickland, the thanks of the Convention were tendered 
to Maj. C. H. Hempstead, President of the Convention, and to Wells Spicer, 
Secre'ary, for their services as Officers of the Convention. 

On motion, the Convention adjourned, with three chers. 

C. H. Hempstead, Prest. 

Wells Spicer, Sec. 

MEETING OF THE CEiNTRAL COMMITTEE. 

Corinne, July 16, 1870, 

At a meeting of the Territorial Central Committee of the Liberal Party of 
Utah, held at the ^Metropolitan Hotel, on the evening of July 16, 1870, present : 
J. Milton Orr, chairman, 11. H. Robertson, Col. S. Kahn, Jos. Silver, Col. Wm. 
Johns, G. Goldburg, Wm. Gilbert, J. F. Haller, Ben Bachman. F. J. Kiesel, N. 
S. Ransohoff proxy for Harry Ellsworth, and Wells Spicer. 

On motion, AVells Spicer was elected permanent Secretary of the committee. 

On motion the committee men from each county were instructed to act as county 
committees in all cases where no county organization exists. 

On motion a sub-committee on finance was appointed as follows : 

Jos Silver, S. L. Co., G. Goldburg, Box Elder Co., J. F,, Haller, Piute Co., 
F. J. Kiesel, Weber Co., Ben. Bachman, Utah Co.. Capt Stover Tooele Co., 
John Chislett, Summit Co. 

On motion, John Chislett, of Summit County, was added to the Territorial 
committee. 

On motion of J. Milton Orr, was elected Treasurer of the committee. 

On motion, a special committee of three was appointed to prepare and publish 
an address to the people ; to wit : Wells Spicer, R. H Robertson, Wm. Gilbert. 

On motion, J. M. Orr, Wells Spicer and F. J. Kiesel, were appointed an 
executive committee to call meetings, arrange speakers, and draw funds for general 
purposes. 

On motion the Committee adjourned, subject to the call of the Chair. 

Wells Spicer, Sec. 

It may be noticed that Box Elder was allowed to cast tifteen 
votes at the Corinne Convention, while Salt Lake Connty was only 
allowed ten and Weber Count}' five. This signified, what has been 
already suggested, namely, that the design of the Liberal Party was 
to make Corinne the center of potitical action; and the aim was 
first to carry Box Elder County and afterwards Weber County. 
Corinne, however, failed as a city to fulfill tlie high destiny cast for 
her by her founders, and the mantle of her promised future glory 



THE tribune's EDITORIAL. 313 

and power fell upon Ogden, to which place her principal citizens 
soon afterwards migrated. 

It may also be noticed that at this Corinue Convention the 
part}" received its name — The Liberal party of Utah. It had pre- 
viously been called by various names, — the National party — the / 
Independent People's party — the Loyal Citizen's party; bat up to / 
this date the name of the Xational party of Utah was preferred. ,' 
At Corinne the first Territorial Central Committee was elected, of 
which committee F. J. Kiesel, the present Mayor of Ogden, was a 
member; and there that Central Committee held its first session. 
At Corinne the Liberal party nominated its original candidate for 
Congress and constructed its first platform, which is a unique and 
valuable document to be preserved in Utah's political history, but 
not more so than the following editorial of the Salt Lake Tribune 
on the platform, which to-day will be read with interest and aston- 
ishment. 

"THE LIBERAL POLITICAL PARTY OF UTAH. 

"We present in this issue, by rer4uest of the Committee, the 'Platform' of the 
Convention by which Gen. Maxwell was nominated as Delegate to Congress at the 
next election. As our readers will obser\'e, there are some excellent points in this 
platform both with respect to the development of our mineral lands, as well as \^ith 
reference to the supremacy of the United States Government in Utah, on both of 
which subjects we believe all intelligent and right minded persons will heartily 
endorse the sentiments of the Convention. .lustice and fair dealing, however, 
require us to state that we do not agree with the views expressed by the ' party ' in 
reference to Governmental interference in the question of polygamy. 

' ■ Our views on the subject of polygamy;have been set forth repeatedly. Eoliig- 
amy as practised in Utah to-daj-, as also the whole marriage question as presented 
by the orthodox priesthood, are our special horror : but we believe in the right ot 
all men and women to decide their own marriage relations. We consider marriage 
purely a moral question, and we go in for unlimited freedom of thought as to what 
is moral or immoral. When we once allow political parties to define morals for us 
we are open to be hampered and chained to the views of any religious section that 
may have the greatest amount of influence. We are for removing all religious 
and moral (|uestions without the limits of political jurisdiction. In our opinion all 
that mankind need is sufficient education, literature and the refinements of art, 
and every man is thereafter a ' Congress ' in himself as to what is pure or impure. 

"For ourselves we see no necessity for legislative interference. Built, as 
polygamy is in a majority of cases, on a cold sense of religious duty it needs no 
blow against it— it is coming down of itself The mothers of Utah are against it, 
and that i.< sufficient ' legislation ' on the subject. This rushing to Congress to tear 
down a falling house is a work of supererogation in our opinion. Let Congress 
understand that there is no question whether polygamy can be revolutionized in 
Utah — it is being clone. A wide-spread change in public sentiment is working. 
You meet it. already, on every corner. You almost sense it in the very air. It 
needs but to be let alone to do its work, and it will do it effectually, and without 
heart-burnings or bitterness to the Government, and far quicker than any compul- 
sory enactment can ever bring it about. 

" We hold that the people of Utah are appealable to by reason as much as any 
other people, while they are just as hard to convert by legislative enactments. We 
want to see reason alone brought to bear on this question. That which cannot be 
effected by an appeal to the judgment, we are very willing to go without. 

" On these grounds we object to that portion of the Platform of the ' Liberal 
political party of Utah,' which relates to legal interference in the Utah marriage 
question. We take precisely the same view of the case that a large proportion of 
men and journals east, do — that all such measures are anti-republican and behind 



314 



tullidge's histories. 



the age, and calculated only to embalm error and superstition in the minds of their 
devotees. But while we are thus opposed to submitting questions of morality to 
legislative decision, we believe in honoring the law-making department with all 
that respect which is due to the exercise of its important functions ; at the same 
time claiming the right to object to and constitutionally set aside all laws we con- 
sider infringements on individual rights, as do all other American citizens. 

" As a jMovement we endorse no particular nomination. Our business is to 
free the people — teach them to think for themselves and encourage them to the 
fullest use of that freedom, uninfluenced by religious leaders of any kind. Like 
all men we have our personal influence, and that we shall use, as we advise all 
others to do, in supporting these men who believe most in upholding individual 
freedom of judgment and action." 

This editorial is from the pen of Mr. E. L. T. Harrison. Apart 
from the necessary admission from a member of the Liberal Party 
that Mormon polygamy was abominable, this manifesto of Godbeite 
political doctrine simply meant, — that as the Mormon people in 
their religious sincerity and good faith had entered into polygamic 
family relations, the American people in their great constitutional 
consideration ought to allow the Mormons time — say one generation 
— to abolish those relations themselves. 

It was just upon this anti-polygamic plank of the Liberal plat- 
form that the coalition between the Gentiles and the Godbeites 
split in 1871, after their grand celebration of the Fourth of July, 
at the Liberal Listitute, which the Godbeites built. The fact was, 
Wm. S. Godbe and his compeers, Harrison, Kelsey, Lawrence, 
Shearman and Tullidge, too deeply sympathized with tlieir Mormon 
brethren and sisters to enter into an organized crusade against them 
in their family relations. From this digression over the platform 
of the Liberal Party, we must return at once to the special subject 
— the political history of the north. 

After it became manifest that destiny had chosen Ogden as 
the junction and commercial city of the north, and after the removal 
of the enterprising merchants and bankers of Corinne to the junc- 
tion city, the political battle ground was also transposed to Ogden. 
The political action of the Liberals of "Weber County began early 
in the year 1871. 

The year 1882 was the grandest occasion in the political history 
of our territory, for the People's Party and the Liberal Party alike, 
both contesting gallantly for the laurels of the day. Hon. John T. 
Caine and Judge Philip T. Van Zile were the champions and the 
seat in Congress the prize. 

Ogden's great historical mark of the year was made in the 
political campaign, which opened a new era in Utah politics. She 
gave a foremost account of herself in the convention of the People's 
Party held in Salt Lake City in October. The Weber delegation 
held quite a controlling political influence on that occasion, just as 
Ogden did in the subsequent campaign. The delegation consisted 
of F. S. Richards, Judge li. K. Williams, Joseph Stanford, L. W. 
Shurtlitf and N. Tanner. 

The convention opened with Judge Williams as temporary 



THE people's ratification AT OGDEN. 



315 



chairman; iti tlie whole busiuess of the convention this delegation 
took a most active part, and when the balloting came for delegate 
to Congress, F. S. Richards was the first nominated. He, however, 
declined and himself nominated the Hon. John T. Caine. Thus 
Weber County held this year the balance of power, and when the 
action came Ogden was made the great l^attle field for both parties. 
There the grand ratification began, and there the action, so far as 
the leaders were concerned, may be said to have ended in a splendid 
demonstration on both sides, on the night of the 6th of JSTovember, 
previous to the casting of the votes of the citizens the next day. 

We give the opening of the grand campaign on the side of 
the People's Party in the following sketch from the Ogden Herald: 

" On Saturday night, at seven o'clock, numerous lights in the 
City Hall yard betokened some extraordinary occasion. Soon the 
lively strains of music gave tone to the preparations and amidst the 
flaming torchlights a long procession, preceded by a mighty banner 
of the Stars and Stripes, and formed by the Ogden Brass Band, 
Fireman's Brigade, and Fourth Ward Brass Band, (all in full and 
gorgeous uniform) passed down Fifth Street to near the corner of 
Franklin, where in front of the residence of Hon. F. S. Richards, 
a halt was made and after several fine performances by the bands, 
the procession formed again, now including Hons. George Q. 
Cannon, F. D. Richards, John T. Caine, D. PL Peery, Lorin Farr, 
Judge Dusenberry, S. R. Thurman, Charles W. Penrose and other 
distinguished citizens. The cortege, brilliant and dignified, amid 
the stirring sounds of martial music, then passed to Fourth Street, 
to Young, thence to Fifth, up to Main, and thence to the Tabernacle, 
being followed by an ever-swelling multitude. 

" On arrival in the Tabernacle the Ogden Brass Band dis- 
coursed the stirring tune of the 'Star Spangled Banner,' while the 
distinguished gentlemen took seats on the platform. The vast 
edifice was not only crowded to its utmost capacity but hundreds 
stood outside, while hundreds had to return with disappointment. 

"The audience was called to order by the chairman, Hon. D. 
H. Peery, who was thankful for the honor shown him, and stated 
the object of the meeting, to do good to all men, irrespective of 
creed and denomination. After referring to the people's candidate 
for the Delegateship of Utah Territory to the Forty-seventh and 
Forty-eighth Congresses who would receive the suffrages of the 
people from the Rio Colorado in the south, to the Bear Lake in the 
north, he gave way to Hon. F. S. Richards, who, in a strong and 
impressive voice read the Declaration of Principles, which he pre- 
mised by a vigorous and eloquent introduction, in which he indi- 
cated the right of the sovereign people, eliciting loud and hearty 
applause. The reading of the platform of the People's Party was 
interrupted with frequent and powerful signs of approval on the 
part of the audience." 

Then came great and thrilling speeches to the People's party 
from Hon. Samuel R. Thurman, Hon. Charles W. Penrose, Candi- 



ii 



316 tullidge's histories. 

date John T. Caine, Judge Warren N. Dusenberry, and Ex-Delegate 
Hon. George Q. Cannon. The Ogden Herald's sketch closes 
thus : 

" Hon. Geo. Q. Cannon was introduced amid a storm of 
applause. He was pleased to meet on this occasion for the ratitica- 
tion of the nomination of Hon. John T. Caine and endorsed it 
warmly as a wise and patriotic selection. Taking up the suggestion 
of Judge Dusenberry — to judge a party by its fruits — he referred 
to the action of a certain oflicial in the territory in depriving the 
people of their choice and vote. He could not conceive how any 
true American citizen could abide by it or sanction it. By tiie 
experience of many years the speaker knew it was the object of the 
opponents of the people of Utah to entirely subjugate them and 
subject them to vassalage. He himself had fought such schemes in 
the halls and committee rooms of Congress and fought them suc- 
cessfully, with fair means, without spending one dollar of money. 
Then the enemies of the people had to resort to foul means and an 
othcial of the Government in the Territory had to perjure himself 
in order to accomplish their fell designs. 

" The principles of the people are eternal. Men may come and 
men may go. We have seen many corps of Mormon fighters, who 
derived all their notoriety from their opposition to the people of 
Utah. But we are contending for rights that are eternal. We may 
be deprived of them for a time, but they are still ours. 

" Vote for Hon. John T. Caine! The other side means plun- 
der, means increased taxation, means a bonded debt for Utah." 

"On motion of Hon. Charles W. Penrose arousing, unanimous 
vote of confidence and thanks was expressed to Hon. George Q. 
Cannon for the able and faithful manner in which he had for many 
years represented Utah Territory in the National Legislature. 

" Hon. James Sharp in a few hearty, pointed words endorsed 
the People's platform and the People's candidate, recommending 
him to the vote, not only to every member of the People's Party, 
but to every lover of Constitutional liberty. 

"On motion of Joseph Stanford, Esq., a rousing, unanimous 
endorsement was given to the People's platform and to the nomina- 
tion of Hon. John T. Caine for Delegate from Utah to Congress. 

"Hon. D. H. Peery, with a short, vigorous address, endorsed 
the nomination of John T. Caine 'from Texas to Maine.' 

" Votes of thanks of the chairman and speakers, on motion of 
K Tanner, Jr., Esq. 

"Three cheers to the People's delegate — Hon. John T. Caine! 

"The bands and firemen, with their torches, again formed in 
procession to escort the distinguished gentlemen to the depot, where 
Hon. John T. Caine expressed his thanks to those who had con- 
tributed to make the occasion such a brilliant success. The special 
train then carried away the honorable gentlemen, amid strains of 
the music. 

" The vast audience, which had been uniformly orderly, atten- 



I 



• 



JUDGE VAN ZILE'S SPEECH. 317 

tive and genial, slowly dispersed, the great majority unswervingly 
determined to go to the polls on November 7th and deposit their 
ballots for the people's choice — Hon. John T. Caine." — [Ogden 
Serald-I 

The Liberal party also held their first rally at Ogden. Indeed, 
the able candidate of the opposition and his lieutenants were fore- 
most in opening the campaign. The majority of tliose of that 
party who went out to stir up the people of this Territory to a 
lively interest, touching the imperative duties and vitiil issues of 
the present and future, were experienced political leaders and able 
electioneering orators. Though, of course, they could neither 
carry the Territory on the Liberal side, nor hope to do so, yet they 
fought through the campaign with as much courage and genuine 
party zeal as if victory were certain. Their grand assumption has 
rang out trumpet-tounged that this is but the beginning of the end. 
We cannot follow either party in this stirring campaign; but, as 
illustrative of the Liberal tone and the weight of the conflict in its 
present and future action, we present to our readers a passage from 
the great speech of Judge Van Zile, delivered at the grand rally in 
Salt Lake City, in the closing of the campaign: 

" Something has happiened in the Territory of Utah. A change 
has come over the spirit of our dreams. An interest that seems to 
know no bounds has been and is being awakened in this fair Terri- 
tory, and from all sides it is sending up the crj' like that of one of 
old — ' What shall I do to be saved V and the answer is going l)ack 
from the great Liberal part^' of Utah, for it is no longer a weakling, 
' Repent and be baptized every one of you;' ' Come out from among 
them.' Stand on our side for liberty, for good government, and for 
'Uncle Sam.' 

"I am anxious here to-night, as I have been throughout this 
entire campaign, to discuss simply and purely the political issues 
that divide the people of Utah. I have not attempted so far in this 
controversy, nor shall I to-night, to make a theological argument. 
I have no sermons to preach. I have a political argument to make 
— it's politics and not theology that I am going to talk about, there- 
fore I shall not stop to ask you what church you belong to ; 
whether you are a Methodist, a Presbyterian, a Congregationalist 
or a Mormon. So far as I am concerned I grant you the right, and 
it is your privilege to belong to any religious denomination you 
please. I have no quarrel to make with you upon your religious 
belief; and allow me to say further that I have no abuse for man, 
woman or child — unless you consider it abuse to disagree with j-ou 
upon the political issues of this cam2:)aign. I leave abuse and low- 
bred slurs entirely to those of my opponents who have so far been 
so prompt to use them, for they seem to be their only weapons. It 
is their natural diet, and I hope they will not change, for it would 
injure their health, and they are so weak now that a slight injury 
would certainly carry them off. No, leave the abuse to the few 



318 tullidge's histories. 

would-be leaders of the People's party. We have so many argu- 
ments and good reasons for the position we occupy that we have no 
time, if we had the disposition, to stop and notice the low flings 
and personalities that some of our opponents have tried to bring 
into this canvass, and those who are doing the dirtj' work ought not 
to expect it. I haven't time to go about stepping on insects, I 
want to talk to the people — the men and women of two great 
parties. I want to appeal to their brains, not to their passions. I 
want to convince them if I can that the Liberal party is right in 
this struggle. I want to show them that the great Liberal party of 
Utah is the only true friend the people of LTtah have. I want to 
convince them that this Liberal party is opening up the way to a 
great and glorious future for Utah. That it is a partj- of progress ; 
and that the People's party has been and is to-day just the reverse. 
In order to do that I appeal to your judgment, to your thinking 
faculties, not to your passions ; and though some would-be news- 
papers and would-be leaders may stand by the wayside and howl 
with rage, and heap upon me abuse, and try to exasperate the 
people — I say to you that while I pity them because they have 
nothing better to meet us with, I cannot spend time to quarrel with 
them ; life is too short ; and if the march is as rapid in the future 
as it is now, we shall soon be entirely out of the range of guns of 
such calibre. 

"Now, in this campaign there are some things that we must all 
admit. There is some common ground. I desire to-night to start 
upon this common ground. As I look into the faces of this vast 
audience I recognize men and women who I know have left the 
shores of foreign countries where they had home and friends and 
have come here to America, and renouncing 'all allegiance to every 
foreign king, prince, and potentate,' have adopted this country as 
their home. Others I see who have been born upon this soil, and 
are citizens — native born citizens. The former class are American 
citizens because they had heard of the fair fame of this country 
and had caught up the inspiration away across the seas : the latter 
have breathed it in the very air, and been taught it at their mother's 
knees. I therefore assume as a settled fixed fact — a fact about 
which there is no dispute — that all of us, whether we be of the 
Liberal party or the People's party, whether we be Gentile, apostate 
or Mormon, believe and know that this is the best, the grandest, 
and the most magnanimous government that God has ever per- 
mitted to live. 

" Is there any dispute about this ? Can't we all agree to it ? 
Well, I take it, then, that on this we can stand side by side. We 
can't aftbrd to obstruct the Government." 

The political action of 1882 found its resolution early in the 
year 1883 in the municipal election of Ogden. All through the 
late campaign for Delegate to Congress the Liberal party liad their 
€ye on the forthcoming Ogden City election in February, which 
was doubtless one of the principal reasons of that party making 



DIVISION IN THE OGDEN PARTY. 319 

such splendid efforts to rival the People's Party in the Ogden 
demonstrations of the great campaign. Xone expected that Judge 
Van Zile would carry the election throughout the Territory against 
John T. Caine, who marshaled "Young Mormondoni" and took 
the field, while the veteran founders of the Territory sat back in 
their easy chairs, confident of the result, notwithstanding their own 
disfranchisement; nor were the Liberal Party much surprised that 
John T. Caine carried a majority over Van Zile nearly equal to the 
entire vote of the Hon. George Q. Cannon at the previous election. 
But it was quite possible for the Liberal party to carry Ogden at 
the municipal election of 1883, and to this end they bent all their 
energies. Moreover, when the February election came, for a 
moment a seeming eruption in the People's party enhanced the 
promise of victory for the Liberal party. Mayor Herrick and the 
men who had served in the cit\- council were undoubtedly both 
popular and able men, but the Edmunds bill rendering it necessary 
for Mayor Herrick to retire, one division of the People's party 
resolved on an entirely new ticket for the Ogden City council. 
Effecting quite an unexpected coup d' etat at their primaries, this 
division sent a majority of delegates to the nominating convention, 
and the new ticket was constructed with Hon. D. H. Peery for 
Mayor. 

From this date it would seem the star of the Liberal party 
entered its ascendant. It was the first year (1883) that the party 
had chosen a distinctive candidate. The honor fell on Mr. J. 8. 
Lewis, a man of integrity and character, entirely destitute of anti- 
Mormon malice and respected by all classes of citizens. In the 
second contest of the parties, in the j'ear 1885, the Liberal party 
chose Mr. Fred J. Kiesel for its standard bearer, when he received 
946 votes to David Peery's 1085 votes. So rapidly did the Liberal 
party grow that in 1887 Mr. Kiesel received 1,254 votes. The 
party was quite confident of victory, but the People's party carried 
the election, with David Eceles, Mayor. A political "mani- 
fest destiny," however, was on the side of the Liberal ; Ogden 
City had been greatly built up by the Gentiles, and their 
time had come to rule. Confident of victory, the Liberal 
part}" rallied to the polls at the municipal election of February, 
1889, and won the issue by a majority of 545. Fred. J. Kiesel's 
head to-day wears the laurel crown of L^tah politics. True he is not 
the first Gentile mayor in ftah, for Park City has given the first ; but 
the Park is, after all, merely an incorporated mining camp, which can 
little affect the politics of Utah, though the rainingpower mayyetgive 
us members to Congress. Ogden. on her part, is the second muni- 
cipality in our State (for State Utah will be) ; and Ogden City, in 
1889, has given the Gentiles the victory. Should Salt Lake City, 
in the near future, follow the example, as the Liberals hopefully 
anticipate, it will change the whole face of U^tah politics. There 
must then be a reconstruction of parties, dissolving both the 
People's party and Liberal party, giving place to the great 



320 tullidge's histories. 

national parties— Democrat and Republican ; a consummation 
devoutly to be wished. Meantime, Fred. J. Kiesel, of Ogden wears 
the crown of our municipal politics, conferred upon him by the 
Liberal Party.* 



PROBATE COURTS. 



CHAPTEE I. 

Origin of the Civil and Criminal Jurisdiction of the Probate Courts of Utah. 
Correspondence of Judge Snow with the Governments. 

The subject of our Probate Courts, and the extraordinary 
jurisdiction, civil and criminal, that was given them by the Utah 
Legislature, at the very organization of the judicial branch of our 
Territorial government, is worthy of a sufficient exposition in this 
volume. And for this purpose, the historian cannot do better than 
to choose the Probate Court of Weber County, during the adminis- 
tration of Judge Franklin D. Richards, whose portrait heads these ] 
chapters, opening the subject with a general historical review of 
our Probate Courts and their jurisdiction prior to the passage of_^ 
the Poland Bill. 

Li July, 1851, four of the Federal officers arrived in Great 
Salt Lake City, and waited upon his Excellency Governor Young. 
They were Lemuel G. Brandebur}-, Chief Justice, and Perry E. 
Brochus, and Zerubbabel Snow, Associate Justices of the Supreme 
Court of the Territory, and B. D. Harris the Secretary. Governor 
Brigham Young, United States Attoruey Seth M. Blair and L^nited 
States Marshal Joseph L. Heywood were all residents of Great 
Salt Lake City. 

At this time there had not been any session of the Legislative 
Assembly of the Territory under the Organic Law. The newly- 
arrived Federal officers enquired the reason why the legislature had 
not been organized, upon which they were informed that there were 
no mails from the States during the winter season, and that the 
official news of the passage of the Act did not reach this city till 
March of that year. Soon after their arrival Governor Young 



I 



*Fur Mr. Kiesel's career in Utah, see my biographical sketch of him in this 
volume, written in 1887, in which he was forecast as the future mayor of Ogden. 



PROBATE COIIKTS. 3:21 

issued a proclaniatiou,as provided iu Section IG of the Organic Law, 
defining the judicial districts of the Territory, and assigning the 
judges to their respective districts. His other proclamation, calling 
for an election in August, brouglit the Legislature into existence, 
and the two branches of the Territorial Government were thus duly 
established. Early in the following September, a special conference 
of the Mormon Church was held in Great Salt Lake City, one of 
the purposes of which was to send a block of Utah marble or 
granite as the Territorial contribution to the Washington Monument 
at the Capital. It was the first time that the Federal othcers had 
found the opportunity to appear iu a body before the assembled 
citizens, as the representatives of the United States, since the organ- 
ization of the Territory. An excellent occasion surely was this, in 
the design of the leaders of the community, who called that special 
conference, and there can be no doubt that harmony and good will 
were sought to be encouraged iietween the Federal olhcers and the 
people. Chief Justice Brandebury, Secretary Harris and Associate 
Justice Brocchus were honored with an invitation to sit on the plat- 
form with the leaders of the community. This association of ^lor- 
mon and Gentile on the stand was very fitting on such an occasion, 
considering that Governor Brigham Young, Associate Justice 
Zerubbabel Snow, United States Attorney Seth M. Blair, and 
United States Marshal Joseph L. Heywood, though Mormons, were 
also their Federal colleagues. But it seems that one of their num- 
ber — Associate Justice Brocchus — had chosen this as a fitting time 
to correct and rebuke the community relative to their peculiar 
religious and social institutions. 

Having rendered themselves unpopular and being neither able 
to arraign a whole comnuinity for their religious institutions, nor 
strong enough to set aside Governor Young and his three Federal 
colleagues, who stood with the people, Chief Justice Brandebury, 
Associate Justice Brocchus and Secretary Harris resolved to leave 
the Territory. But previous to their leaving, they called a Supreme 
Court, which was held in Great Salt Lake City, though no law had 
been passed fixing the time and place for holding it. At this court, 
as an original suit, an injunction was granted. Associate Justice 
Snow dissented. He said the bill, he thought, was a good cause 
for the injunction, yet he opposed it on two grounds: 

1st. — There was not any law fixing the time and place of hold- 
ing the Supreme Court. 

2nd. — The Supreme Court had not original jurisdiction in 
chancery, and the District Court had, which was provided for in the 
Governor's proclamation. 

Chief Justice Brandebury and Associate Justice Brocchus left 
Great Salt Lake City together. Soon afterwards Secretarj- Harris 
followed their example, carrying away with him the 824,000 which 
had been appropriated by Congress for the per diem and mileage of 
the Legislature. 

A full review of this controversy of the Federal Judges with 



322 tullidge's histories. 

the Mormon commuinty will be found in my history of Salt Lake 

City- 

Previous to the departure of the Federal ofhcers in question, 
Associate Justice Z. Snow wrote to President Fillmore stating, that 
he had earnestly labored with his compeers to prevail upon them to 
re-consider their resolve, which being in vain he had remonstrated 
with them against their leaving the Territory without a full judicial 
branch of the government; further stated to President Fillmore 
that he should remain at his post of duty to aid the executive and 
legislative departments of the j'oung Territory, unless otherwise 
directed b}' the general government. Governor Young also wrote 
to President Fillmore a lengthy and an extraordinary letter which 
is in itself a chapter of history. 

After the departure of these Federal officers from Great Salt 
Lake City, Governor Young appointed Willard Richards Secretary 
of the Territory pro tern. This appointment, and several other 
informal acts, which had become necessary in the absence of the 
regular officials in a newly organized Territory, was duly reported 
to the Department of State. Daniel Webster sustained them, and 
the bills of Willard Richards, which were signed " Secretary pro 
tern., appointed by the Governor," were allowed by the Department 
and paid. 

The Utah Legislature also, finding the United States Judiciary 
in the Territory inoi)erative, passed the following act authorizing 
Associate Justice Zerubbabel Snow to hold the courts in all the 
districts: 

"an act concerning the judiciary, and for judicial purposes. 

''Sec ]. Be it enacted hy the Governor mid Lepislntive Assemhly of the 
Territory of Utah, That the first Judicial District for said Territory, shall consist 
of, and embrace the following counties and districts of country, to wit : — Great 
Salt Lake, Davis, Weber, Tooele, and Utah Counties, and all districts of country 
lying east, north and west of said counties in said Territory. The Second Judicial 
District shall consist of Millard and San Pete Counties, and all districts of country 
lying south of the south line of latitude of Utah County, and north of the south 
line of latitude of Millard County, within said Territory. And the Third Judicial 
District shall consist of Iron County, and all districts of country lying south of the 
south line of latitude of Millard County, in said Territory. 

"Sec 2. The Honorable Zerubbabel Snow, .\ssociate Justice of the Supreme 
Court of the United States for the Territory of Utah, shall reside within the First 
Judicial District, and hold courts in the following order, viz.; on the first Monday 
in January and July at Great Salt Lake City; on the first Monday of April at 
Ogden City, in Weber County ; and on the first Monday of October at Provo 
City in Utah County, in each year : Provided, the said Zerubbabel Snow, Asso- 
ciate Justice, shall hold his first court on the first Monday of October in the year 
eighteen hundred and fifty-one, at Great Salt Lake City, and omit said court dur- 
ing said year at Provo, in Utah County. 

"Sec 3. The Honorable Zerubbabel Snow is hereby authorized and required 
to hold two courts in the Second Judicial District in each year, to-wit: on the first 
Monday of November at Manti, in Sanpete County : and on the first Monday in 
May at Fillmore, in Millard County. 

"Sec. 4. The Honorable Zerubbabel Snow is further authorized and required 
to hold one court for the Third Judicial District, viz: on tlie first Monday in June 
of each year, at Parowan City, in Iron Count3' : and each session of said court in 



THE FIRST SESSION OF THE UTAH DISTRICT COURT. 323 

its several districts shall be kept open at least one week, and may adjourn to any 
other place in each of said districts respectively : Provided, the business of said 
•court shall so require. 

" Sec. 5 The foregoing acts are, and shall be in force until a full Bench of 
the Supreme Court of the United States for the Territory of Utah shall be sup- 
plied by the President and Senate of the United States, after which the said Zerub- 
babel Snow shall serve only in the First Judicial District. 

"Approved October 4th, 1851." 

This officer afterwards, in a letter upon the first United States 
Courts held in Utah, thus states : 

"The Legislative Assembly met and, as the other judges had returned to the 
States, a law was passed authorizing me to hold the courts in all the districts. At 
my first court I examined the proceedings of the Governor in calling the Legisla- 
tive Assembly, and held them legal, though somewhat informal. This was reported 
to the Department of State, the Honorable Daniel Webster being Secretary, who 
sustained Governor Young and myself This was the commencement of my judi- 
cial services." 

The first United States District Court was held iu Great Salt 
Lake City. 

At the first term Judge Snow made use of the United States 
Attorney and United States Marshal, for Territorial business, there 
having been at that time no Territorial fee bill passed, which led to 
a correspondence l>etween the Judge and the Honorable Elisha 
Whittlesey, Comptroller of the Treasury, the former asking a num- 
ber of questions relative to the practice of the United States in 
defraying the expenses of the Territorial courts, which was 
answered by the latter that the United States simply defrayed the 
expenses of its own business iu the courts. The answers closed thus: 

"Lastly, I will observe that if the clerk, marshal, or attorney render any ser- 
vice in suits to which the Territory is a party the officer must obtain his pay from 
the Territory or from the county in which such suit may be prosecuted. It should 
appear affirmatively on the face of every account that every item of it is a legal 
and just claim against the United States ; and the details and dates should be 
stated, as required by my circular of December 5th, otherwise the marshal should 
not pay it. ' ' 

This led to the passage of a Territorial fee bill. 

But U. S. District Courts with only one judge present to 
administer in all the districts, were inadequate to the judicial wants 
of the young Territory whose counties were so widely scattered; so 
February 4th, 1852, the law was passed giving jurisdiction to the 
Probate Courts in civil and criminal cases. The following sections 
of the act will show its intents : 

Sec. 1. Be it enacted hjj the Governor and Legislative Assemhhj of the Terri- 
tory of Utah. 1 hat the District Courts shall exercise original jurisdiction, both in 
civil and criminal cases, when not otherwise provided by law. They shall also have 
a general supervision over all inferior courts, to prevent and correct abuses where 
no remedy is provided. 

Sec 'I'i. There shall be a Judge of Probate in each county within the Terri- 
tory, whose jurisdiction within his Court in all cases, arises within their respective 
counties under the laws of the Territory ; said Judge shall be elected by the joint 
vote of the Legislative Assembly, and commissioned by the Governor ; they shall 
hold their offices for the term of four years, and until their successors are elected 



324 tullidge's histories. 

and qualified. They shall be qualified and sworn by any person authorized ta 
administer oaths, and give bonds and security in the sum of not less than ten thou- 
sand dollars, to be approved by the Clerk of the I District Court or the Judge 
thereof, and filed in his otiice. 

Sec. 24. In case of a vacancy occurring in the office of Judge of the Probate, 
the (rovernor may appoint and fill such vacancy until the next succeeding Legisla- 
tive Assembly, or some subse(|uent one, shall elect one ; said Judge of I'robate so 
appointed shall qualify and give bond as above provided. 

Skc. 125. The Probate court shall be considered in law as always open ; but 
the Judge shall hold regular sessions on the second Mondays of March, June, Sep- 
tember and December of each year, and shall continue at each session one week, or 
until the business ready for trial shall be disposed of. 

Sec. 20. When the District court is to sit in a county on any of the days 
appointed in the preceding section for the sessions of the Probate court, the latter 
shall be held on the Monday preceding, and when the Judge is required by law to 
perform any duty which takes him from the county, on one of the appointed days, 
the session of the court shall be holden on the following Monday, or such day as 
the Judge may appoint. 

Sec. 27. The Judge of Probate has jurisdiction of the Probate of Wills, the 
administration of the estates of deceased persons, and of the guardianship of 
minors, idiots and insane persons. 

Sec. 28. The Probate records shall be kept in books separate from thos& 
of the other business of the court. 

Seo. 29. The several Probate courts in their respective counties, have power 
to exercise original jurisdiction both civil and criminal, and as well in Chancery as 
at Common law, when not prohibited by legislative enactment ; and they shall be 
governed in all respects by the same general rules and regulations as regards prac- 
tice as the District courts. 

Sec. 30. Appeals are allowed from all decrees or decisions of the Probate to 
the District courts, except when otherwise expressed on the merit of any matter 
affecting the rights or interests of individuals. * * * * 

Sec. 32. The Probate Judges in their respective counties shall appoint a 
Clerk, who shall keep his office at the county seat, and who shall attend all sessions 
of the Probate Court, as also sessions of the County Court, for the transaction of 
county business. It shall be the duty of the Clerk of the Probate Court to keep a 
true and faithful record of all the proceedings in the Probate Court in session, 
entering distinctly each step in the progress of any proceedings ; but such record 
shall be e<|ually valid if made by the Judge. 

Sec. .vi. The Clerks of the District Courts and of the Probate Courts respec- 
tively, are hereby required to report to the Secretary of the Territory, on or before 
the first Monday in November of each year, the number of convictions for all 
crime and misdemeanors, in their respective courts, for the year preceding such 
report. * * * 

Sec. 34. The Probate Judge in connection with the selectmen, is hereby 
invested with the usual powers and jurisdiction of county commissioners, and with 
such other powers and jurisdiction as are conferred by law, and in this connection 
they shall be known as the County Court. 

*.ii- ** * * ** 

Sec. S.'j. This court is authorized and required to take the management of all 
county business. * * * 

Sec. 43. The Judges of the District and Probate Courts shall be conservators 
of the peace in their respective districts and counties throughout the Territory, and 
it is their duty to use all diligence and influence in their power to prevent litigation. 

Simultaneous with the passage of this act in relation to the 
judiciary, an act was passed creating the oiiices of attorney-general 
and marshal for the Territory. 

Notwithstanding the controversy which afterwards grew up 
between t?ie U. S. District Courts and the Territorial courts, relative 



POWERS OF PROBATE COIRTS. 325 

to this jurisdiction and business of their respective officers, which 
was at length settled by the Poland Bill, it is evident from the his- 
tory of the case that these acts of the Legislature were necessary to 
meet the exigencies of the times. Consider for a moment that until 
1853 there was no United States Supreme Court sitting in the Ter- 
ritory and only one U. S. Judge to till the duties of all the districts. 
But without a lengthy argument of the case, it is sufficient for the 
historian to affirm that the Legislature deemed it imperatively nec- 
essary for the general interests of society to confer civil and crimi- 
nal jurisdiction on the Probate Courts and to create Territorial' 
officers for the execution of the Territorial business. It is a per- 
version of the history to affirm that this was done either to set aside 
the IT. S. District Courts or to institute a conHict with them. ^ ,' 

The reason in tine was the desertion of the Chief Justice and 
one of his associates, accompanied by the Secretary of the Territory 
and Indian Agent, carrying away all the government funds. It is 
not necessary to again review their conduct, or to re-affirm the jus- 
tification of Governor Young and the Mormon community, but 
simply to repeat the connecting cause of the powers which the Leg- 
islature conferred upon the Probate Courts and the creation of the 
Territorial officers. Associate Justice Snow was not set aside by 
the Legislature, but an enabling act was passed authorizing him to 
hold Ignited States Courts in all the districts; at the same time 
jurisdiction was given to the Probate Courts in civil and criminal 
affiurs in the interest of the commonwealth, lest it should be left 
altogether unable to administer in the departments of justice, which 
would have been the case at that moment had Associate Justice 
Snow died or left the Territory. Mr. Magraw himself, at the time 
of the "LTfah War,'' unintentionally illustrated this point, when he 
told the President that the Probate Court was the only existing tri- 
bunal in L^tali, ''there being but one of the three federal judges 
now in the Territory." This was the exact case at the onset when 
the Probate Court was created. 

Already extracts have been made from the correspondence 
between Judge Snow and the Hon. Elisha Whittlesey, who drew a 
long line of demarkation between United States and Territorial 
business, making it absolutely necessary for the Territory to assume 
the responsibility and cost of its own business. This, however, the 
Legislature did against its own judgment, holding that tlie Terri- 
torial District Courts were really United States Courts.] /Judge 
Snow, continuing the correspondence, discussing the sirbfect with 
the Comptroller of the Treasury in behalf of his Ncourt and the Leg- 
islature, said in his letter of February 8th, 1853:) 

To enable you to fully understand the present situation of things, before pro- 
ceeding further, I will inform you that the Legislative Assembly passed an act, 
approved October 4th. ls.il. authorizing and requiring me, for a limited time, to 
hold all the courts in the Territory, but said nothing about jurisdiction, api)ellate 
or orisinal. (See I tab Laws, p 37.) 

February 4th, i.so2, another act was approved, giving jurisdiction to the dis- 
trict courts in all cases, civil and criminal, also in chancery. (See ili., p. .'iS, sec. 2.) 



326 tullidoe's histories. 

The same law gave jurisdiction to the Probate Courts, civil and criminal, also in 
chancery. (See ih., p. 42, sec. 36.) An act was approved March .3rd, 1852, pro- 
viding for the appointment of a Territorial marshal, attorney-general and district 
attorneys, to attend to legal business in the district courts when the Territory should 
be interested. (See i'/j.. pp. 56, 57.) 

I do not intend to be understood as expressing any opinion in relation to the 
legality of these several enactments, but I only mention them to enable you to 
understand the present views of the Legislative Assembly, as expressed in a report 
to which I shall soon refer. This report was called out by reason of the non-pay- 
ment of these costs. I having referred the claimants to the Legislative Assembly, 
they procured my certificate of their correctness and petitioned for payment. The 
petition was referred to a committee on claims, and to enable that committee to 
understand the subject, the council passed a resolution, requesting me to inform 
them of the amount of costs of holding the courts for the past year, distinguishing 
those which in my opinion should be paid by the general government from those 
payable by the Territory. 

With this request I complied, and gave the reasons of my opinion, acting on 
the principle that the reasons of an opinion are often of iar more value than the 
opinion itself In so doing I laid betore them my correspondence with you, and 
referred to such of the laws of the I'nited States as in my opinion had a bearing 
on the subject, and to the enactments. I also went minutely into the usual officers 
of the courts and expenses attendant upon them, and showed how these officers and 
courts are usually paid, in both civil and criminal cases, together with the payment 
of the incidental expenses, making my answer quite lengthy, too much so for inser- 
tion in this communication. 

This committee reported adversely to payment by the Territory, but upon 
what principle I have not been informed. The subject was then referred to a 
judiciary committee, composed of some of the best members of the council. This 
committee reported adversely to payment by the Territory, and gave their reasons. 
This report was adopted, therefore 1 proceed to notice the positions taken by them. 

They commence with what they call the equity of the principle involved in the 
question presented, saying that nearly all the costs of courts here have accrued by 
reason of emigration passing through here to California and Oregon, and that jus- 
tice requires the United States to pay such expenses. 

My experience in the courts thus far justifies the firm belief that the facts here 
assumed are correctly stated. See my concluding remark in my letter of July 10th. 
But with this equitable consideration, I am unable to see what I have to do, though 
I can see its bearing when addressed to the political branches of the government 
by whom and to whom that matter was then addressed. 

They further take the position that the United States and the Territory of Utah 
respectively must sustain and bear the exxienses. direct and incidental, of the 
officers and offices of its own creation, that the supreme and district courts were 
created, not by a law of Utah, but by a law of the United States ; and as such, by 
the Organic Act, they have jurisdiction, civil and criminal, in all cases not arising 
out of the constitution and laws of the I'nited States, unless such jurisdiction should 
be limited by a law of tlie Territory ; that Congress, by extending the constitution 
and laws of the United States over the Territory, and creating courts and appoint- 
ing officers to execute these laws, had done what was her right and duty to do. but, 
as she had seen fit to go further and give jurisdiction to her courts and require her 
officers to execute the laws of the Territory, it had become her duty to sustain 
these courts and officers, and bear their expenses ; that the Territorial Legislature, 
by giving jurisdiction to these courts and dividing the Territory into districts, had 
done nothing but discharge a duty which Congress had required at their hands, but 
this did not require them to bear any part of the expenses ; that these courts took 
jurisdiction in all cases, not by virtue of the Territorial laws, but by a law of Con- 
gress ; that the Territories, by their Organic Acts, are not independent govern- 
ments within the meaning of the term that all just powers emanate from the gov- 
ernment, but are subordinate, de)iendeiit branches of government ; that Congress 
did not intend to give any court jurisdiction in civil and criminal cases at common 
law and in chancery, but the supreme and district courts, and, as she had reserved 
the right to nullify any act of the Legislative Assembly, she could enforce obedience 



CREATION OF THE TERRITORY OF UTAH. 327 

to her mandates : that, with such a state of things, it is contrary to every principle 
of justice and sound legislation to require so dependent a branch of government to 
bear any_ part of the expenses of enforcing the laws ; that the officers, having 
charge of that branch of public service, ought not to so construe the acts of Con- 
gress as to produce such results, so long as the laws will admit of a construction 
consistent with justice and sound Iegi^lation ; that, in their opinion, the acts of 
Congress did nut require such a construction, but on the contrary, they strongly 
indicated, if they did not require, the construction contended for by them ; and 
that the same principle which would rci|uire such dependencies to pay -a jmrt (of 
the expenses) would require them to pay the whole, and with that construction 
Congress might, at the expense of the Territories, impose upon them any embodi- 
ment of officei-s she, in her discretion, might see fit to send, which never could have 
been intended by the framers of the constitution. 

- — V This report concludes by recommending that these costs be referred to me, 
with the opinion of the council that they are payable out of the annual appropria- 
tions made by Congress for defraying the expenses of the circuit and district courts 
of the United States, and by recommending that the laws of Utah be so amended 
as to take away the jurisdiction of the probate courts at common law, civil and 
criminal, and in chancery, and abolish the offices of Territorial marshal, attorney- 
general and district attorneys, so that the United States, by her judges, attorneys 
and marshals, may execute the laws of the Territory. But. as this report was not 
made until a late day in this session, the laws were not so amended. Should the 
next Legislative Assembly in these matters concur with this, the laws above 
referred to will either be repealed or modified. 

'~ It will be seen bv this report of the committee that the Utah 
Legislature, as early as 18.52-53, desired to do what, after twenty 
years of conflict, was accomplished, — namely, to limit the jurisdic- 
tion of the Probate Courts and to abolish those Territorial oilices 
which had been created, from necessity, "so that the United States, 
by her judges, attorneys and marshals, may execute the laws of the 
Territory." 

In reviewing the history of our Probate Courts we discern the 
following facts : 

1st. That on the 9th of September 1850, Congress passed aa 
organic act creating the Territory of Utah with the three branches 
of government namely the Executive, Legislative and Judicial. 

•2nd. That Governor Brigham Young having received the 
news by way of California through special couriers on the night of 
January 27th, 1851, immediately summoned the General Assembly 
of the State of Deseret and that Assembly being informed of the 
creation of the Territory of LUah forthwith dissolved itself to give 
effect to the Territorial Act, thus evincing a loyal desire to build at 
once upon the foundation which Congress had laid even though it 
set aside their beloved State of Deseret. 

3rd. That on the third of February, 1851, Brigham Young 
took the oath of office and thereupon issued his proclamation 
calling for a general election in August to set up the Legislati%-e 
branch of the government. 

4th. That the Federal Judges and Secretary- did not arrive 
until July, 1851, when several of them reproached the governor 
for not sooner setting up the Territorial government whereas both 
the governor and the people had nearly consummated every part of 
the work excepting the Judicial branch of the government before 
the arrival of the Federal Judges. 



328 tullidoe's histories. 






5th. That soon after their arrival Governor Young issued a 
proclamation defining the judicial districts of the Territory and Jl 

assigning the judges to their respective districts, and that both the 
Governor and the Legislature repeatedly sought the co-operation of 
said judges to organize the judicial branch of the government. 

6th. That two of the j udges and the secretary by evident design 
made an issue between themselves and the entire community after 
which they deserted their post of duty leaving the Territory without 
U. S. Courts, no quorum of U. S. Judges, no original District 
Court having been held giving either organization precedent, no 
secretary of State or Territory and all the funds to pay the expenses 
of the government carried away l)y the absconders. 

7th. That under these extraordinary circumstances the governor 
appointed a secretary pro tern, and the Legislature created Probate 
Courts with civil and criminal jurisdiction, and passed a Territorial 
fee bill; that Daniel Webster, the then Secretary of State, justified 
the work thus done, and allowed the bills of Secretary Willard 
Richards, and caused the "runaway'" judges and secretary to be 
dismissed from oifice. 

8th. Thatinstead of the Territorial Legislature having attempted 
or desired to set aside the U. S. District Courts, by the creation of 
extraordinary' Probate Courts, we have positive evidence, that from 
the correspondence between F. S. Judge Z. Snow and lion. Elisha 
Whittlesey, Comptroller of the treasury, that the Utah Legislature, 
as early as 1852, recommended to the department at Washington 
"that the laws of Utah be so amended as to take away the juris- 
diction of the Probate Courts at common law, civil and criminal, 
and in chancery, and abolish the office of territorial marshal, attor- 
ney general and district attorneys, so that the L'nited States, l)y 
her judges, attorneys and marshals may execute the laws of the 
Territory." 

9th. That the United States did not take her own business 
into her own hands; that until 1853 there was no Federal Supreme 
Court held in Utah; that even up to 1870 there were seldom more 
than one or two U. S. judges in the Territory at the same time ; 
that they were constantly "running away" or l)eing removed by the 
President of the I'nited States ; that oftentimes they would simply 
visit their districts, open court, adjourn on the first and second day 
and go home; that the U. S. department did not furnish sufficient 
money "to run" U. S. Courts; and the Mormon community, set- 
tling nearly all their cases in their Bishops' Courts and High 
Councils, gave not their "carcass" to the courts to pick; that this 
was the real cause of complaint against the Probate Courts; that 
as late as even James B. McKean's time the Third District Court 
came to a "dead lock" for want of funds and the Chief Justice in 
consequence thereof discharged the jury and dismissed the court 
with his docket full of cases of the most im[iortant character; that 
since the judicial "crusade" as it is styled, began against the poly- 
gamous Mormons and the ehurch the U. S. Courts of Utah have 



WEBER COUNTY PROBATE COURT. 329 

flourished as the "green bay tree;"' that in consequence thereof, 
with rich and powerful District Courts, a troop of marshals, judges 
and prosecuting attorneys who constantly reside in their districts 
and an able and eloquent bar, Probate Courts are no longer needed 
as clothed with civil and criminal jurisdiction. 

10th. And tinally: That the Probate Courts of Utah as 
created by the Legislature, were at the onset absolutely needed for 
the causes set forth in this chapter; that had it not been for such 
courts with such jurisdiction these colonies of Utah would have 
been for the first quarter of a century almost destitute of any 
administration in civil and criminal affairs, depending wholly on 
their ecclesiastical courts, the people being a religious community ; 
that these Probate and County Courts did their work faithfully to 
the commonwealth at comparatively little cost; and finally that the 
Poland Bill confirmed and made valid the previous powers and 
administration and decrees of the Probate Courts. 



CHAPTEE II. 

The subject eonsidered with the I'robate Court of Weber County. Organization 
of that court. Historical links of its judjjes and list of officers. 

Weber County was organized by the provisional government 
of the State of Deseret in the latter part of the year 1849, but the 
exact date is not known, nor the organic act extant which brought 
the first counties into existence. 

Judge Elias Smith, in his report to the Utah Legislature, 
answering the inquiries of its special committee relative to the 
organization and history of the counties, said : 

"I did not arrive here till September, 1851, shortly after the 
commencement of the first session of the Legislative Assembly. 
Tlie laws passed bj- the provisional government of the State of 
Deseret were then in force; what the provisions of those law^s were 
relative to the organization of counties I know not, as no reference 
thereto is Tiiade in the ordinances of the State of Deseret extant, 
but there are good reasons for believing that an ordinance was 
passed providing for the organization of counties, as county offices 
to some extent were created and the duty of incumbents defined. 
That county courts were provided for there is no doubt, but when 
and how constituted, no law nor record that I have seen indicates, 
neither have I been able to ascertain what powers were delegated to 
them, with few exceptions. If any record was made of the organi- 
zation of Salt Lake Countv or of the doings of its otiicers and 



330 tullidge's histories. 

courts during the existence of the State ' of Deseret, I have never 
been able to discover it." 

Similar is true of Weber County and its courts; but the " Third 
General Epistle of the Presidency of the Church to the Saints 
throughout the earth" will throw some light upon the subject. 
Noting the business of the session in the winter of 1849-50 they 
wrote : 

" The General Assembly of Deseret have held an adjourned 
session at intervals throughout the winter and transacted much 
important business, such as dividing the ditferent settlements into 
Weber, Great Salt Lake, Utah, Sanpete, Juab and Tooele Counties, 
and establishing covinty courts, with their judges, clerks and sheritfs 
and justices and constables in their several precincts ; also a supreme 
court, to hold its annual session in Great Salt Lake City, attended 
by a state marshal and attorney, and instituting a general jurispru- 
dence, so that every case, whether criminal or civil, may be attended to 
bv otficers of state according to law, justice and equity without delay." 

In his personal journal, date Januar}', I80O, Governor Young 
notes : " As Governor of the Provisional State of Deseret, I approved 
of ordinances providing for the organization of the judiciary." 

Undoubtedly those ordinances and constitution of the County 
and Probate Courts of the Territory were afterwards re-enacted by 
the first Territorial Legislature, and compounded in that very act, 
(Chapter III, Utah Laws) which gave to these courts civil and crimi- 
nal jurisdiction, and from which we have (quoted in the previous 
chapter. The " running away" of the U. S. judges made it neces- 
sary, it would seem, to continue this jurisdiction with which the 
Provisional Government had clothed the County and Probate 
Courts for a thorough administration of justice in the young com- 
monwealth of these colonies then in fornuxtion. 

The following act will show the re-orgahization of the County 
Courts by the Territorial Legislature in the first election of Probate 
Judges : 

" Sec. 1. Be it enacted by the Governor and Legislative 
Assembly of the Territory of Utah, in joint session assembled: 
That we do hereby elect the following persons for judges of probate 
in the several counties for the Territory of Utah, viz.: for Weber 
County, Isaac Clark; for Davis County, Joseph IloU^rook; for Great 
Salt Lake County, Elias Smith; for Utah County, Preston Thomas; 
for Tooele County, Alfred Lee; for Juab County, George Bradley; 
for Sanpete Count}-, George Peacock; for Millard County, Anson 
Call : and for Iron County, Chapman Duncan. The same are 
hereby elected for the terra of four years, unless sooner removed by 
legislative enactment, or by removal from the county, or by death. 

"Sec. 2. In case of any vacancy occurring by removal, death 
or otherwise, of one or more of the above mentioned judges, the 
Governor is hereby empowered to fill such vacancy, until the next 
sitting of the Legislature. 

"Approved February 7th, 1852." 



EARLY JUDGES OF PROBATE. 331 

The historian having solicited the kind service of ex-Judge F. 
D. Richards in collecting the historical links of the Weber Oonnty 
Court, from the time of the passage of the above act, has received 
the following from the present Couuty Clerk. 

Ogden, Utah, March, 23rd, 1889. 
Hon. F. D. Richards, 

Salt Lake City, Utah. 

Your inquiry of the •21st inst. to hand. Replying to same will 
say that the sources of information on the question you inquire con- 
cerning were very meagre in the early history of the county, and I 
am unable to furnish complete data in that regard. However, I 
submit below all the information which my office contains in regard 
to the matter: 

The first entry I find is the following, recorded in County Book 
A, page 1 : 

" Isaac Clark was elected by the Legislative Assembly of Utah 
Territory to the office of Probate Judge." 

This must have been prior to April 1st, 1852, for I find the fol- 
lowing entry on the same page : 

*' The selectmen were appointed to that office by the Probate 
Judge, April 1st, 1852." 

The first session of the county court was held at the residence 
of the Probate Judge, April 24th,' 1852. 

Judge Clark served until his death, as I find the following in 
County Book A, on page 36, under date of February 11th, 1854: 

"Hon. Jonathan Browning having been appointed (by the gov- 
ernor) to the office of Probate Judge for Weber County (and to fill 
the vacancy caused by the death of the Hon. Isaac Clark, deceased) 
came forward, gave bonds and was duly sworn according to law." 

The next entry I find is the following, recorded in County 
Book A, on page 62, under date of March 9th, 1857: 

"Probate Court, March Term, 1857, 

" Hon. C. W. AYest, Judge, 

" Appointed by Legislature successor to Judge Browning." 

The next intimation which appears on recoril that a change of 
Judges had taken place is the signature of Aaron F. Farr, attached 
to a decision in the Probate Court, in Probate Record A, page 75, 
under date of March 5th, 1859. 

The last entry which I find referring to Judge Farr is the fol- 
lowing, recorded in Record Probate Court A, on page 157: 

" City Hall, Ogden City, January 10th, 1861. 

"Probate Court, Webe'r Co. Special Term, 1861. 

"Hon. A. F. Farr, presiding." 

On the opposite page appears the following: 



" City Hall, Ogden City, 
"Januarv 19th, 1861. 



In the Probate Court of Weber 

County. 
Hon. Frances A. Brown, presiding. 
The last entry referring to Judge Brown is his signature to the 



532 tullidge's histories. 

proceedings of the Probate Court, recorded in Probate Record A, 
on page 185, under date of April 18th, 1863. 

On the opposite page (186) appears the proceedings of the 
Probate Court, under date of May 9th, 1863, signed "Aaron F. 
Farr, Judge." 

Judge Farr's successor was yourself. Your commission is 
recorded in "Record Probate Court B,'" page 1, and is dated Feb- 
ruary 23rd, 1869. 

The first session of the Probate Court held by you was on 
March 8th, 1869, and the first session of the County Court held 
after your appointment as Probate Judge was on March 1st, 1869. 

The following appears recorded in County Book B, on page 2, 
under date of March 1st, 1869 : 

"Judge Farr called the Court to order and introduced His 
Honor Judge Richards as his successor in office, who was prepared 
to present his credentials. 

" The commission of Judge Richards was read, setting forth 
his appointment as Probate Judge of Weber County bj' the Legis- 
lative Assembly of the Territory of Utah, and his being commis- 
sioned as such by His Excellency, Acting Governor Edwin Higgins. 

"By request of Judge Richards, Judge Farr took part in the 
proceedings of the daj'." 

Lewis W. ShurtlifF was your successor. His commission is 
dated September 25th, 1883, and is recorded in Record Probate 
Court C, on page 64, under date of October 1st, 1883, which was 
the first session of the Probate Court held by him. The first ses- 
sion of the County Court at which Judge Shurtliff presided was 
held on the 2nd day of October, 1883. 

Judge Shurtlitt" server! until the appointment and qualification 
of Roljert W. Cross, wh.o was appointed by President Grover Cleve- 
land, under the Edmunds-Tucker Act. Mr. Cross' commission is 
dated January 19th, 1889. Mr. Cross' ofiicial bond is dated Feb- 
ruary 1st, 1889, and he assumed charge of the office on Monday, 
February 4th, 1889. He is the present incumbent of the office. 

The following is a list of county officers from the beginning: 

B. F. Cummings, SheiifF. November 2is IS.il ; Jonathan 8. Wells, Select- 
man, March, ol, 1852 ; Lewis Hardy, Selectman, Miroh ;^1. 1X52. (I find in the 
minute book of the County Court that Erastus Binaham is mentioned as one of 
the selectmen present at the first session of the County Court, with the statement 
that Erastus Bingham, Lewis Hardy and Jonathan S. Wells were appointed select- 
men by the Probate Judge, April 1, 1852. I have not been able to find the bond 
of Erastus Bingham. On the same page of said book is a statement that D. 
Moore was appointed to the office of Clerk of the County Court "under the 
Deseret Provisional Laws ' ' on the 1 1 th of December, 1 852 ) 

To proceed : Crandall Dunn, Prosecudng Attorney February 28, 1853; Lumon 
A. Shurtliff. Prosecuting Attorney, June 11, 1855 ; Clilton S. Browning, Sheriff, 
October 4, 1855; Abraham Palmer, Selectman, September 1, 185i'i'. Ira N. 
Spaulding. Selectman, September 1, 1856; William Critchlow, County Recorder, 
August 22. 1856; Henry Beckstead, Sheriff. December 20, 185(i ; Lester J. 
Herrick, Sheriff, August 16, lSo8 ; E. C. Richardson, Prosecuting Attorney 
August 9, 1858. 



LIST OF WEBER COUNTY OFFICERS. 333- 

D. Moore signs the record of the Court as County Clerk for the last time 
March 7, 1855. 1 am not able to find the boud of his successor, but J. A. Brown- 
ing signs the record as Clerk of the session held June -I, 1855 

To proceed: William Critchlow, County Kecorder. August L'O, 1860 ; Lester 
J. Herrick, t^electman, September I. ImH': Richard Bullantyne, Selectman, Sep- 
tember I, ISiii! ; Gilbert Belnap, Sheriff, August :il, ISIJL' ; John Spiers, Select- 
man, September 5. 18ii4 : William Critchlow, Countj' Recorder, September 5, 
18611: Richard Ballaniyne, Selectman. September :l, iSM; Henry Holmes, 
Selectman, August 10, 1&T0; William Brown, Sheiiff, August 20, 187(» ; Lester J. 
Herrick, Selectman, August l'.», 1871 ; William Brown, sheriff, August lo, 1872, 
Gilbert Belnap, Selectman, April IS, 1873; ( harles F. Middleton, Selectman, 
May --, 1873 ; F. S. Richards, County Recorder, August 13, 1873. 

It appears from the condition of the records that James A. Browning was at 
one time (-ounty Recorder. I can find no bond given by him for that office, nor 
can I find that he signs the record as such officer. The records, however, are writ- 
ten in his handwriting, and I presume he was the immediate successor of WiUiam 
Critchlow. Walter Thompson, evidently, succeeded Mr. Browning as County 
Recorder, although I can find no bond given by him as such officer : still he signs 
the records as County Recorder, the first date which I can find being November 18, 
1868, F. S. Richards was Mr. Thompson's successor. I do not find his first bond, 
if any was ever given, but he signs the record as Recorder under date of August 
27, 1869. 

To proceed : F. S, Richards, County Recorder, August 13, 1873 ; Gilbert Bel- 
nap, Selectman, August 13, 1873 : Aaron F. Farr. Selectman, September 6. 1873; 
F. S. Richards, Prosecuting Attorney, December 1, 1873; Lester J. Herrick, 
Selectman, August 5, 1874 ; William Brown, Sheriff, September 19, 1874 ; William 
Brown, Sheriff, August 19, 1878; F. S. Richards. Prosecuting Attorney, August 
10, 1878: P, G, Taylor, Selectman, August 7, 1878: Lorenzo M. Richards, 
County Clerk, August 9, 1880 ; F. S. Richards, Prosecuting Attorney, August 10, 
1880; William Brown, Sheriff, August 23, 1880; Lester J. Herrick, Selectman, 
August 31, 1880. 

Joseph Stanford signs the record for the first time as County Recorder, 
August 20, 1877, and continues in that office until succeeded by C. C. Richaids, 
who gives bond for that office August 3, 1881, Mr. Richards held the office until 
succeeded by F. J. Cannon. August 11, 1884, Mr. Cannon was succeeded by Ben 
E. Rich, September 14, 1885. Mr. Rich's successor is Joseph Stanford, Septem- 
ber 24, 1888, the present incumbent. 

Pleasant G. Taylor, Selectman, August 5, 1881 ; Thomas Wallace, Selectman, 
March 15, 1882 ; Lewis W. Shurtliff, Selectman, March 15, 1882 ; Robert Mc- 
Quarrie, Selectman, September 26, 1883; Nathaniel Montgomery. Selectman, 
■•"eptember 26, 1883 ; Brigham H. Bingham, Selectman, September 27, 1883 ;. 
Charies C. Richards, County Clerk, October 2, 1883. 

Mr. Richards held the office of County Clerk until May 1, 1888, at which time 
he was succeeded by Daniel Hamer, who is the present incumbent. 

F. S. Richards, Prosecuting Attorney. September 26, 1883; Thomas J. Stevens, 
Sheriff. September 26, 1883 ; F. J. Cannon, County Recorder, appointed August 11, 
1884, to fillthevacancycausedbythe resignation of C. C. Richards; Gilbert R. Belnap, 
Sheriff', September 22. 1884 ; George Halls, Selectman, October 3, 1884 ; Charles 
C. Richards, Prosecuting Attorney, September 15, 1884 (Mr. Richards is the pre- 
sent incumbent of the office of Prosecuting Attorney) ; Thomas Wallace, Select- 
man, September 4, 1886 ; Gilbert R. Belnap, Sheriff. September 6, 1886 ; Joseph 
Stanford, Selectman, September 'J, 1886; Ammon Green, Selectman, September 
12, 1885 ; Thomas Wallace, Selectman, November 2, 1885 ; Ben. E. Rich, County 
Recorder (successor to F. J. Cannon.) September 7. 1885 ; Thomas Wallace, Select- 
man, September 19, 1887 ; G. R. Belnap, Sheriff, September 12, 1888; L. W. 
Shurtliff, Selectman (appointed to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of 
Joseph Stanford,) February 5, 1889 ; W, W. Child, Selectman. September 17, 1888. 



334 tdllidge's histories. 



CHAPTER HI. 

Primitive Administration. The Court Assumes Importance on the Advent of 
the Railroads. Judge Richards' Administration. The Poland Bill. 

As may be well conceived, during the first periods of the 
Probate Court in Weber County, the administration was of a very 
primitive character and confined chietl}' to probate business. The 
early settlers of that county existed in a semi-family capacity, and 
the high council of the church and the bishop's courts administered 
justice between brother and brother — neighbor and neighbor. But 
with the advent of the railroads, and the growth of a mixed 
society, the County Court of Weber suddenly grew into importance, 
exercising similar functions to tliat of a United States district court. 
Previous to that time civil and criminal jurisdiction had not been 
so much required as in Salt Lake City, where a mixed society 
existed, and litigation was carried on in the courts, both the U. 
S. District Court and the County Court. 

Expounding the social situation and problem of those times 
the biographer of .J udge Franklin D. Richards says : 

" In the legislature of 1868-69 Franklin D. Richards was elected 
Probate Judge of Weber County, by vote of the assembly in joint 
session. Previous to this date, the Probate Judge of that county 
was Aaron Farr, one of the veteran band of Mormon pioneers and 
elder brother of Lorin Farr. In March, 1869, Franklin D. Richards 
removed from Salt Lake Cit}' to Ogden, where he located with his 
family. Ilis gifted son, Franklin S. Richards, soon became prose- 
cuting attorne}', having first served as clerk of the Probate Court, 
and Recorder of Weber County, in which offices he was succeeded ■ 
by his brother Charles C. Richards. ' 

"Judge F. D. Richards was sent to Ogden by President Young 
for a specific purpose and at a most important juncture in the 
history of xiorthern Utah. Thenceforth, from the advent of rail- 
roads, the administration of spiritual and temporal aftairs of Ogden 
was to be second only to that of Salt Lake City. Society also in 
the Junction City was about to be rapidly mixed and the control of 
the commonwealth and business of the city, and indeed their entire 
commerce depeniling on northern Utah, was to be very nearly 
divided between the two great factors of Utah — the Mormons and 
the Gentiles. It was imperatively necessary therefore, that Weber 
Stake should be placed under an Apostolic administration and the 
dignity of the county government made to correspond therewith. 
The Gentiles required this not less than the Mormons, for, ditt'er as 
we may, there is in society a natural respect for high legitimate 
authority. The destiny and future of Ogden then, at that time 



F. S. RICHARDS ADMITTED TO THK BAR. 335 

requiring that Weber County should be elevated to an Apostolic 
See, Franklin D. Richards was the best man in the whole eburch 
to be chosen and equally fitted to represent the county as Probate 
Judge." 

Such was the view of the biographer of the social transition of 
those times, and of the eminent fitness of Judge Richards to pre- 
side over the jurisprudence of that county. 

(Quickly now the Probate Court of Weber County assumed a 
dignity scarcely less than that of the United States District Court, 
and the regular legal profession grew up, beginning among our 
native lawyers with the brilliant career of that able constitutional 
lawyer, F. S. Richards. 

He tried his first case in the Probate Court in September, 1873, 
and was opposed by two able and experienced attorneys, but his 
skilful management of the case not only won the suit, but evinced 
such talent for the profession and complete knowledge of the legal 
points and principles involved, that his friends predicted for him 
the success that has since crowned his eftbrts in the courts of Utah 
and at the bar of the Supreme Court of the United States. He 
acted as public prosecutor in the Probate Court as long as it exer- 
cised criminal jurisdiction, and conducted all kinds of cases, from 
murder down. Since then he has had an extensive practice in the 
District and Supreme Courts, in civil and criminal cases. In the 
Supreme Court of the United States he has argued many cases, 
involving some of the most important questions of constitutional 
law, both as to personal liberty and rights of property, that have 
ever been presented to that court. His analytical reasoning and 
irresistible logic, with his earnest zeal for the right, have won for 
him a high place in the respect and personal esteem of the members 
of that exalted tribunal. 

The foregoing personal reminiscences will not only illustrate 
the practice of the Probate Court of Weber County, and the growth 
of the native bar, but is worthy of record in this judicial history of 
one whose name is an honor to the court in which he practiced. 

Reviewing the career of Judge Franklin D. Richards himself 
his biographer says: 

When he first came to examine the records and the condition 
of public and private business in the county offices he found almost 
a chaos. This state of aftairs was due more to community careless- 
ness than to incapacity of officials. But reform was aVjsolutel}- 
necessary; for public lands were coming into market; the Probate 
Court had general civil and criminal jurisdiction; the county was 
rapidly increasing in wealth and varied population; and legal ends 
must be accomplished by legal means which would bear careful 
scrutiny. He gathered the best help available and proceeded with 
the good work. 

He was Probate and County Judge of Weber County continu- 
ously from the 1st day of March, 1869, until the 25th day of Sep- 
tember, 1883. During this period of more than fourteen years, 



•336 tullidge's histories. 

liundreds of suits for divorce and cases of estates for settlement 
were brought before him. In no single instance has his decision in 
these matters been reversed by a higher tribunal. He adjudicated 
all tlie land titles in the important city of Ogdeu and the populous 
towns of Huntsville, Xorth Ogden and Plain City. No one of these 
adjudications has ever been set aside by any court. For the first 
five years following his induction into office, his court had original 
and appellate jurisdiction in all common law and chancery cases; 
before him were tried numerous civil suitt*, habeas corpus cases and 
trials of offenders charged with all crimes from misdemeanor to 
murder. Xot one single judgment or decree rendered by him in 
all this lengthy general judicial service was reversed on appeal. His 
justice and humanity, united with keen legal sense, made his name 
proverbial. 

In his administration of county financial affairs he was no less 
successful, aided by associates of shrewdness and integrity. During 
his ?-e5'ime the finest courthouse in Utah was erected in Ogdeu; roads 
and bridges innumeral